(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

nana, maybe u can let her choose the books she is keen? we alys let ah bian choose by himself. My hb is damn siao lor...he read "San Zi Jing" to ah bian on sat nite. Then when ah bian tried to recite, he sounded so cute.

huingee,

Since there is going to be a new addition to our family and my nephews may be coming to SG, to save my PIL the trouble of bringing YT too far, I'm looking only at the schools around my area. So far, I have shortlisted Zion Kindergarten and Trinity Church Kindergarten. Will most probably send her there for Pre-Nursery all the way to Kindergarten 2 lor since both are within walking distance.

Just now went to Trinity Church Kindergarten to look see, wah, the P talked to me for so long until I don't have time to see Zion Church Kindergarten.

Re: Picky eater

Speaking of picky eaters, creative parenting also applies here. That day we went to Singapore flyer and YT only wanted to eat the macoroni plain and refused to even take those that I have cut up cuz I mix the fish in with those. So in the end, I feed her the whole macaroni piece by piece but stuffed the fish and veg inside the macaroni without crushing the macaroni.

AstrO: wha he can eat so fast, for rae, if i missed her luncha nd hit her nap time, iwillget a super fussy baby who will not eat. ya i think better tweak his time, i think he is too hungry liao thats why eat so fast. Hey how about u bring his lunch there an dfeed him immediately after class, then when he comes back, can nap liao, just like how he eats lunch immediately after GUG every sun?

Carol, Star,
wow, so good... read story books to A and Rae... i wanna start this w Xavier, he no patient lah, every time will grab the books and play... sigh, i also sian..
so how did you all do it huh? can share? i intend to do this, concurrently w transiting him to his own room... hehehe... Me terrible, tryin to achieve so many things at one time

Nana,
no lunch for tiff on weekends? cos u all had brunch is it??? hmmm, i thot still ought to hv lunch leh.. sometimes, if i'm really busy, xavier eats sandwich, or whatever that i ta bao for myself, cos is also suitable for him lah... He loves to eat my food, and always finish everything without fail. I wanna give up cooking for him on weekends liao.....;p

Re: cooking meals for toddlers
do u all still cook meals for your toddlers and bring them out huh? my boy prefers to eat our food now..

today at purple train, teng was super engrossed in his montessori tasks.. and was ultra focused and very difficult to distract him. the teachers asked him if he is having a good time , he just went 'hmn.' and nodded his head.. then teachers said want to stop? he shook his head.. and continue with whatever sorting, scooping he is doing..

then teachers asked me , ' he is very silent, can he vocalise?'

i said' yes..'

they asked ' in single words, phrases or sentences?'

i said.. 'phrases and sentences'.. they said.. 'he is not doing that'. i replied 'maybe later.. now he is doing something which he is enjoying a lot.. hence giving monosyllabic responses'..

and the following scene took place. when teng was asked to move to around room.. with lesser montesorri toys to play. and more group story and singing times.

Teacher: Rayner, put away your toy and come join Lao Shi in front to sing songs?

Teng: *shook head no*

Teacher: Rayner, come *removes the toys*

Teng IMMEDIATELY: no no no! i want toy! i want toy!'

teacher *stunned*, (i was trying to dig a hole to hide liao..)

teacher tried again: Rayner come..

Teng ran to the door and pointed out, he said: I don't want! go out! chu qu! wo ya chu qu! out! out! out!

then teacher commented: wow! u are right. he can indeed VOCALISE what he DOESN'T want..

i could only manage a weak smile :S

star: i think difficult leh coz that would mean that teng will have his lunch outside all the time liao.. (When he starts 5 days)..
and this boy. at home. he guai guai eat. (except veg) coz no choice... outsdie. he has a hcoice.. and he will reject whatever ellie has cooked for him.. miser and i made up our mind liao. told ellie, dun have to cook his lunch on weekends when we go out liao. he will eat outside with us.. save the food.. else wasting a lot of food..
and then ellie cannot cook lunch for my mum also.. my whole house schedule messed up! :S

mist : yea lor.. not always la.. but often.. *guilty* hahaha.. becos sometimes i wake up 10+ den let her eat bread with me.. den by time i wanna cook.. she need to drink milk and take her nap.. so i skip lunch for her lor.. hahahaha..

she eat dinner outside on weekdays.. so i TRY.. still trying very hard.. hahaha.. to cook for her on weekends..

nana: u mean tiff wakes up at 10am with u? why dun u ta bao if u dun have time to cook for her.

Astro: i have kinda stopped cooking a few meals during the weekend, but sunday i still prep lunch for her lah.

Mist: just start, no special technique one lah.

mist: got to trial n error on reading books. i suggest, if he snatches the book away and play with it, is he turning to some of the pages he likes only? mayb you can start telling him interesting things in those pages 1st. then slowly turn the pages together & read along. point your fingers to the words as u read.

nana: at the room where they were doing the montessori tasks. teng was so focused and so obediently doing all the tasks. when he is done. he will stand up and take the tray of objects and returned to the self. and take another one. to amuse himself with..
teachers commented 'wah. so focused, good..good scooping, good sorting..' etc etc..
then teng looks very smug. looked at me, nodded his head and smiled. i smiled at him. and thought 'great! just teng's cup of tea!'

nightmare begin when asked to go sing song and sit in circles.. teng became 'autisitc' again. dun want to sit in the circle.. stand on another side of the room and continue rammaaging thru the self, fiddling with all the montessori toys he can see! haiz..

teacehrs say. slowly.. the boy is reserved by nature. most of the time, kids dun like the monetessori part, but like singing .. teng is exact opp.. aiyoh..

ash, yes rec'd ur email. i hv sent to my gf but she still hasnt responded. Maybe i call her later.

astro mei, teng is realli cute!

before i go...star, does rae's poo poo leaked backwards when u bf her? I hv tried 3 brands of diaper till fed up cos D's poo alys leak backwards and stain his clothings. haiz. Todae just rec'd the fitti diapers...hope it wont leak!

ok i log off liao...D is making lotsa of noise. think he wanna nap liao.

nana/bbjie: cute meh?! headache. i think need to send him for tests on possible autism liao! he is exactly like miser!.. that kind of focus on task. and anti social behaviour.. gosh..

tonight i am going to tell miser '腾真的是你的儿子!‘ :S

mist : nope.. if i zzz til 10... she wakes up at abt 8+ - 9.. den she will start pestering me.. and den help herself with watever she can find in the room.. dvds, toys, controller etc.. hahaha.. den she will tell me "wake up! wake up!" she will try all methods to wake me up by kissing me.. jumping on me.. beating me.. telling me she wanna potty or she poo poo.. until i give up.. i will wake up and make milk for her and den go back to zzz again..

yes.. am lazy mum.. hahaha

astro : takes time.. just worried that he will get bored with the sorting and scooping after sometime..

another thing.. so when the kids vacnt their chairs.. to go in front for their circle time.. teng still there and refused to join in right? rummaging thru the cupbaord right?
so what he did.. when he realised all the chairs are messy and he doesn't have space to move.. he went round the big circular table and pushed all the chairs in! and then when he had enough space to move. he smiled and continue rummaging thru the cupboard/shelves..
one of the teachers. commented 'wah. so cute! how sensible!'
again.. i dunno where to hide..

ash: dunno if it is long attention span. but he has been like that since young. never that kind who will run around too much.. he enjoys fiddling with small objects..
in gug.. he will literally STARE at the teachers doing things.. BUT he never recite after them.. but come home.. he will do.. today. he woke up.. and 'bonjour-ed/ola!' everyone again..
he went. 'bonjour nana!' *bows to nana the teddy bear*.. bonjour lucy!.. etc etc.. then he came to me.. and salute ola!
but at GUG class. he just stares at teachers.. wun do anything! :S

astro,
Teng is so cute. Mmm, some kids are like this bah. Will concentrate on doing things. Stares at teacher singing, actually he is absorbing but just didn't do. Might take a while for him to be able to sing and dance.
For school, after sometime he will get use to the routine like when to play toys, when to stop, when to sing song etc.

Mejo,
Normally church kindergarden are very hor. Zion kindergarden i like heard before. Maybe you also ask the teacher to children ratio and see YT like the place or not.
So creative, stuff the fish inside macaroni.

yo, i m back from my huan-dao-zui-zui-zui. went to AA's house to collect SB stuff and went to Edde's house to collect thermometer. both their homes put me to shame le.. especially edde's - super neat! like showflat that type. I told edde if she ever come to my house, she will faint on the spot! hahaha..

Mejo,
do u like Trinity Methodist kindy? u know something.. many many moons ago, i used to go to church there! when i was a teenager. haha.

mist,
Haha, i also didn't read to Dylan. Only read to Esther. But nowadays Dylan also want me to read to him. Will bring a book to me, then when i start to read he will flip the pages and close the book and said, 'the end'. Everynight he saw us reading book and then 'the end' close the book. Think he only enjoy the 'the end'.

astro : nope.. me long long time no see teng liaoz! the last time i saw him was like.. erm... at the bt batok JWT trial? is the one at bt batok call JWT?

huingee: yep. bingo. the teacehrs keep assuring me.. telling me all normal. and dun have to force teng to participate. coz this is his first day.. and his focus is very good liao. let him get into the routine and open up more..

i said 'ya. i understand.. for all the classes he has been to.. he is always like tat.. takes a super long time to warm up'.. like father like son.. hmm sometimes like mother as well. ha

teng definitely not those sociable kids who will hug a stranger when we are not around.. guess what today in class.. the same boy , ryan, came to me twice to hug me and wants me to carry him! he is light so i can manage.. ha.. teng also never get jealous. continue with his montessori tasks. Ryan was all distracted with his montessori tasks.. running around. but he enjoyed singing.. see the contrast. haiz..

autum : no need to be ashamed la.. my house also.. since moved gonig to 1 yr liaoz.. haven organised the place.. i told my hubby.. must start to organised liaoz.. finally my house looks like a house last sat.. cos got tv console, and coffee table.. hahaha.. all the while.. my tv is on the coffee table.. haha

astro,
Esther is those kind cannot concetntrate, keep running around. Cannot sit still also, last time at cc teacher always complain.
Teng will slowly open out lah. Haha, like father like son.

astro,
Haha, at least he let me read one page. Then he flips a few pages then 'the end'
Nowadays try to get daddy to read to Dylan while i read to Esther.

mejo/huingee: that is what ellie does.. when teng spots the veg.. she stuffs it inside the big spirals or penne.. BUT teng has gotten one level higher than ellie. he will INSPECT the food before accepting the food.. he literally see thru the food.. and once he sees greens or carrots or what.. he shakes his head.. and say 'no vege!'

astro: teacher ask me if A is quiet at home. she afraid tt he is anti social. cos she realised if its an activity tt A dun like, he will retreat 1 corner. but if its something he likes, he will dance & jump around. as long as we know at home he is not like tt then ok la. they are normal. juz super sensitive boys

ash: guess so that's is how they are like.. and must accept it .. gosh. another silent 'man' in my house..

hmm. i actualy like flamboyent men as well leh.. haiz.

#2 more likely a scorpion.. alamak. another slient kid.. like that i am the only chatterbox in the family?! :S

nanabear,
Teng looks like a 3 year old kid instead of a 2 year old kid. Tall and good size. Hb saw Teng before, very surprised Teng only 3 months older than Dylan.

SQ,
How is YE today?

Ash: chick peas.. can get from the dried goods section. but takes a long time to prepare if u dun want ot use the canned ones.. there is a brand.. soaked in just water kind. i forgot the name liao..

SQ: ha.. dun think so.. he so SHY.. gosh.. but he got a gemini moon leh. let's see if he can become the social butterfly that geminis are :p
how's YE in CC today?

huingee: ya.. u told me that before..

and today at purple train. they do the choo choo train, line up one after another to go to different rooms.. by height one.. so teng was the last again..

star: today at purple train. they got a matching activity.. teng.. didn't participate coz he was rummaging thru the the shevles lah..

the teacher laid two sets of chinese chacters of 1 to 5.. then toddler take one set.. and attempt to match in the order of one to five. i thought how cool. wanted teng ot try. but i couldnt drag him away from the monetessori self! :s then i thought of racia.. racia will ace this man!

astro
she cries in the am as her papa turns into the avenue leading to the school. then she will insist that i go inside with her. then she will anticipate that i'm gonna leave, so she will cry and cry and scream and scream. then i will leave and she will still be crying. when i come back one or two hours later, she will still be screaming her head off.

do you know that she's lidat in kindermusik and GUG too when her papa takes the class? just that the extent is not so bad. but her papa always feel damn paisei, machiam he's the evil stepfather.

the good thing is now when i'm in CC, she can an1 xin1 play when i'm around. and she will sing and dance and be yaya. this is an improvement from last week cos she was crying uncontrollably even though i was there last week.