(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

my sis is in NY! LSS outlet! so damn cheap!

edde
??? did u say no good? no lah... it's torture if anthea doesn't like the class... i agree, it provides good foundation to music..

pax,
you sis work or travel there? can tompang your sis buy LSS??? thick skin. ;P

I want to send Elisha to seimpi too, found she like music, but I can't accompany her in the class so have to postpone

pax: ya.. whitesand..
hmm. eager beaver also has a website??

i am exploring this seimpi website.. this might be the early music training that i want to sign teng up for.. culminating to ABRSM and learning an instrument!.. hmmm

pax: care to share? do u think it has benefit M/Jo??

pax, i find ah bian likes music alot alot. He is v simulated by it. Any gd recommendations whr i can send him to besides kindermusik? Is Seimpi gd?

huajing, i tot anthea wld love seimpi coz she likes music too.. but on the contrary..
maybe seimpi is a bit dry coz they teach music theory, like musical notes..

pax
is lorna whiston very ex?
where is eager beaver? maybe i can consider after i shift to the west.

astro
we tried to make them sit next to each other, remember? but nothing comes out of it leh.

i think leia likes cheeky boys, the bride's brother, should be about 10yrs old, kept scaring her by shouting and making faces at her, instead of being scared, she kept giggling away!

autum, i also told the staff abt this.. too advance for anthea.. but u wld be surprised that kids who followed thru the prog since young can do all those things required!!! and those kids are only a few mths older than anthea.. but they are so advance already. i even saw this mummy making her own flashcards to teach her kid!

edde,
Anthea is in jumpstart right? I check with them before for this class only theory no hands on. Think it quite boring and kind at this age wont understand theory.
I want to enrol/start Elisha with Playtime instead cos this class will have hands-on on the keyboard should be more fun.

edde,
can u define/explain what is "advance"? not that i m doubting Seimpi, but it's hard for me to visualise because i have not seen it.. when I brought EJ for the trial class, honestly i felt it was a waste of time. Cos it's just singing.. no theory or music lesson per-se..

huajing, she is in playtime.. got theory and hands on.. for hands on, its not anyhow play one leh.. must follow teacher's instruction.. like for the last few lessons they learn the note C, so the kids are required to identify C and play them on the keyboard, the teacher also teaches how to curve yr palm correctly when playing.

AIYA! i lost my post!!!

pink
lorna whiston is very exp.. 1300 region.

edde
Jo started in a brand new class. u can request for a completely new class instead of joining an existing class.

HJ
kids our age is still not able to play on the keyboard. it's only for them to play play n be familiar. that's all.

pink: hahahha..

autum: what kind of singing did the teachers make EJ do?

Edde: care to elaborate why u feel anthea is not interested in the programme?

edde,
thot the other time you told me she is in jumpstart. ;P
ya that is what is want, maybe I'm not a theory person (see note will fall sleep type ;P) so I expect the lesson to be more hands on ;P

edde: what u described to huajing.. is for semipi or something else?

bbjie: i would be going for the course review.. before deciding to sign up or not...

Astro,
the teacher didn't make EJ (or the kids) sing per-se.. the teacher was the one singing. the kids were all too small to follow.. when i went for trial class, EJ was around 19mths perhaps (i can't remember).. i didn't feel it was beneficial because there was nothing special about the lesson.. cos all along EJ is in a CC so there are already tons of such-singing every day.

pax,
Ya that why I dun prefer theory class, especially like Elisha, she is those can’t sit still type how to get her sit and learn theory? :p
So it is good they can play/hands on on the keyboard, it won’t be so boring. then I can learn too heehee

autum there is theory and hands on.. i say they are advance for anthea coz of a few activities..

1. the teacher intro the notes ABCDEFG, then gives the kids cards of these letters and asks them to arrange them in order.
Advance coz anthea doesnt even noe her ABC, let alone arranging them in order.

2. in the workbook, kids are required to trace a straight line from pt A to pt B.
Advance coz anthea only scribbles, how to expect her to trace straight line??

3. learn to identify and play note C on keyboard.
advance coz anthea is more interested to anyhow press and will kick a fuss when i "force" her to play as required.

4. must know how many counts semibreve, dotted minim, minim and crotchet have, what is treble and bass clef.
advance coz i dun do homework to reinforce.

but i must clarify that i say these are advance to anthea coz perhaps other 2YO can do all these.. and anthea cldnt catch up coz i dun do homework with her. so ultimately, nothing is wrong with the prog, just that we are not suited for it

i re-org my thoughts...

Seimpi is not kindermusik. liking music doesn't mean an inclination to learning music. for jumpstart, Seimpi teaches the fundamentals of music. beats - crochet, minum, dotted minum, semibreve. notes - C, D, E, F, G, A, B. pitch - high, low. musical symbols. muscial instruments. singing. dancing.

Jo is in jumpstart. she can recognise the C note on the musical stave. she has also started to "sing" more often.

M is moving to Encore class after 1 year in In Me. he learns to read music and play on the keyboard.

to be honest, it might be a better idea to send kids to such classes when they are older and can decide what type of classes they wan to go. some may choose art, some choose music, some choose ballet. at our kids' age, they go whichever classes we decide they go. no choice for them. Jo actually asked to go. for 1st 2 mths, it seems like a torture to send her. we were on the verge of pulling her out. fr Feb onwards, it was evident that she was enjoying her lessons and look forward to music class, so we continued...

Autum: ok.. i see.. what was the rationale of asking the students not to sing along? and only the teacher singing?

honestly.. i am quite impressed by the what the programem aspires to acheive.. and the credential of the teachers.. the FAQs are interesting to read.. now i know teng is not ready for the piano. coz .. he cannot seperate his fingers yet! ha..

anyway.. will go for the MIM course preview.. before committing..

miser is tentative.. though he sees the good in such programmes.. as usual lah. he tells me.. 'dun tink too far; yet :p

huajing, maybe i was confused with the names the other time so told u wrongly! pai say!

pax, its a new class wor.. but 2-3 kids among the 6-7 are old students.. they follow the teacher to this outlet coz apparently this teacher is very gd.

astro, the descriptions are for seimpi.. the answers to yr qn is in my reply to autum

HJ
Seimpi teaches fundamentals before keyboard playing, i.e. must know and understand music before learning the instrument itself. this process, i totally agree.

pax: me agree too..
coz anyone can play an instrument.. but to really appreciate it.. and bring it to another level. u need to understand music..i totally agree .. coz i am like that. i can play. but i cannot play by ear! ha.. and i think that is one of my fundemental flaws in my introduction to music

edde,
thanks for the explanation. everything u describe, I am sure EJ can't do that too! haahahah.. ok maybe he can recognise A, B, C, D, E.. but i think that's about it. :p

I agree with Pax's post about sending the kids to such classes later on. In fact, that's what Mr Wong concluded. He didn't think Seimpi is no good or anything.. he just feel EJ is too young for such classes now.. In future, we would definitely want to send him for some music class too.. cos i have a piano at home! waahahahah.. and nobody uses it.. was a passed-down from his BIL.

pax gives a very gd overview of the prog
in fact, anthea still has to attend another 4 lessons as the "notice period".. hopefully after 2 mths then, she will show interest bah..

edde
i think i did mention to u that i asked M's teacher (who's also Jo's teacher) wat is taught in playtime. she said the kid must know how to "draw" lines etc. i stuck w Jumpstart...

paxx: ur post (after reogranising ur thoughts. is useful :p)..
hey.. ask u again.. they teach kids to identify the notes as 'A', B, C.. and not.. do re mi???

so C should be DO.. and not recognise as C leh.. hmmm

Wah edde,
Think it advance for Elisha too.

1. the teacher intro the notes ABCDEFG, then gives the kids cards of these letters and asks them to arrange them in order.
advance: Elisha can say A to G but she will mess the card instead of arrange them.

2. in the workbook, kids are required to trace a straight line from pt A to pt B.
Advance: same Elisha will scribbles, instead of trace straight line

3. learn to identify and play note C on keyboard.
advance: Elisha might follow for first time but she will anyhow press afterit

4. must know how many counts semibreve, dotted minim, minim and crotchet have, what is treble and bass clef.
advance: coz i dun even understand what is this.

So conclusion, should not send her to seimpi till she get older.

pax, U alys give very gd advices and reviews. i can still let ah bian try out seimpi? How's the fees like?? Ex?

astro, which branch will u b gg? I will choose funan...the rest all too far for me.

Astro,
erm, it's not that the teacher didn't ask the kids to sing along.. err, she didn't ask, but I think she expects the kids to sing along. But the thing is, the songs are all very foreign (to me at least).. and if it's the first time you are hearing something, you can't sing-along right..

Ok, what happens is, the trial class i attended, is not a "trial" class.. it is an on-going real class but somebody couldn't make it for that lesson, so they have an empty slot.. a bit like GUG when people go for trial, they attend a real class right.. anyway, in this Seimpi trial class, some of the other kids can sing-along cos they have been attending for a while.. but nonetheless I still see many are just walking about and not following.. for that lesson, EJ was the only 'trial'.. so the rest have been attending for some time.

pax, ya.. i asked the teacher abt it.. i asked her if the class is too advanced for anthea from wat her observation. but she said anthea is doing ok leh.. she said its normal for kids to react this way for the first few lessons.. perhaps i shld try jumpstart for the remaining 4 lessons and see how anthea reacts.

huajing, dun let my subjective view affcet u!! maybe u can bring elisha to a trial class and hv a feel yrselves.. maybe elisha will like it leh??

sometimes.. we need to let the kids go thru a few sessions.. before we come to a conclusion.. this is my humble thoughts
what they cannot do now.. doesn't mean they cannot do it.. with training and coaching

bbmar
for Jo, it's 120. u can let ah bian try, but dun put ur expectations too high n it's not kindermusik. for M, i'll be paying 140 come April. he has graduated to next level.

Astro
salah! that's why i din send M to Y***** music school. i was taught by a private piano teacher. the correct way of learning music is learning to identify the notes by CDEFGABC..

astro,
ya, i saw (the chair). I went back to finish packing today (altho i m on leave).. haha. oh by the way, i left the little snoopy cushion there for u. must have cushion mah. can use it as a neck pillow.. cos the original one I find it at an unsuitable height for me.

Astro, bbmar
the fees vary depending on which teacher is taking the class. they have master teacher etc etc, diff seniority. i think M & Jo's teacher is master teacher, so pay more.

bbmar
u can ask for Teacher Siew Pei. she's quite good. Jo is attending Sunday 930 class.

astro,
just to add, if u worry about hygiene of the cushion, u can throw it away (no worries).. but it's quite clean la. or use it as a back-cushion.. :p

sometime I feel stress and sorry to Elisha, she is the only child that not going to CC or attending any enrichment class amoung the kids I know. and I still keep complain she is slow.

HJ
they learn to understand music from nothing, jus like how we learn everything. once they learn, they know and understand. u know wat i mean...

Huajing,
nothing to feel stress and sorry about. if u are really worried, then just send her for some 2-3hr program to try out.

pax: how come? if u learn by identifying the notes.. as in ABC.. u wun be able to sing in tune leh.. like me.. wherelese.. learn is as do re mi.. and for each scale.. associate the do to the letter.. u can sing the entire tune wor..

coz u can‘t sing the letter per say.. and it is not helpful to develop the recognition of the pitch difference.. 五声音阶 (ok.. i dunno which jie it is.. but i think u know what i am saying?)

not true?

Mummies, my concern now is not to "force" or "torture" ah bian by enrolling him into these classes. We stopped kindermusik for so so long and sometimes i find ah bian is bored though he can play wif toys by himself.

One thing we are glad that MIL teaches ah bian alot alot of stuffs...now ah bian can tell u the sound an animal makes(eg, a bird chirps, a sheep mehs etc, can count 1-40(still skip sum nbr)but he noes the sequence. Maybe he memorise?? Although he is quite "advanced" in his speech now but he is alone wif MIL most of the time...doesnt get to mingle wif other kids except wif my nephews who come by twice a week. Thats the reason after considering for sooo long(since darius is now 2mths old), we decided to enrol him back to some weekend classes. Music is something both hb and myself cant teach and since ah bian is so simulated by music(he can dance and sing along wif the nursery rhymes) so enrol him into a music sch will be a gd idea.