(2007/02) February

Saphira,

what was your reading for your blood test the last time?

u mean gynae is asking u to go for similar blood test again?

Ah ger, so go and get light blue lah... Hahaha

Jas, your EDD so zhun on the 9th day of CNY? Usu we pray on the eve of 9th day so hopefully you only give birth after you pay the Tien Gong.

ck, you also sending bb off after 3mths?

Gig - TB on the col. Hb nt keen on light blue. I m more concern on maintenace wise. Cos I know hb sometimes only 3mins of hardwk.

My gf's son born on the 7th day of CNY - Ren Ri!

Jas, can start telling bb liao.. hehehe

Ah ger, and you hope that your son will come out on the 1st day of CNY hor? Hehhee

Gig - yeah lah, so long as pass CNY can already. Bt I dun wanna b greedy, 9 days enuff le, cos I wanna c hw my bb looks like. :p

Ah Ger, light blue is not as nice as silver lah but less common

ck, usually baby will only switch over to big milk bottle after 6 months so u will definitely need small bottles for milk, not just for water!

Me also sourcing for holidays but so last minute - 'cos I'm moving out on 25 Nov, then hubby gotta see when he can take leave in Dec 'cos he is also travelling in Dec.. hopefully first wk of Dec can go to Perth or something.. dying for a holiday before I pop!!!

Charis, the 8th day thing is true lah but waaaah, when I saw the video of the 2 methods of circumcision, I cried lor. Cannot tahan.. anyway, medically it's not proven 100% advantageous so I will wait to see if Tim needs circumcision when he's older. Trust me, it's too painful to bear. When Tim was on the double phototherapy bed for jaundice, I cried my eyes out!!!

Jas, I didn't really lose my weight fr the 1st pregnancy and I'm well over 60kg already so hehe.. 1.5kg is OK, particularly since bb is growing well *phew*.. if I put on more weight, alamak, I'd be FAT!!!

i just realised i develop a sweet tooth recently. ice-cream, yogourt, soft drinks, sweets. dun let me see them or else i will want to eat them

bad bad, blame on being deprived on such foods last time

oh i uploaded some photos again, taken from the wedding studio shoots. those who wanna view, please leave email address again :p

tat day I was asking mum hw many btls req, she said maybe 2med 2 small, no need big ones.

I will b 32wks after mid Dec, so I wun b travelling already.

Perhaps this article may help for those who are thinking hw much they should put on.

http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/aboutpregweightgain.html

Those who are lazy to click on the link:
Facts About Weight Gain:
- The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists recommends a weight gain of 25 to 35 pounds during pregnancy, for women who were a normal weight before pregnancy
- Women who are underweight should gain between 28-40 pounds, unless your health care provider says differently
- Women who are overweight should gain between 15-25 pounds, unless your health care provider says differently

Eating low fat meals will allow you to gain weight correctly for your pregnancy. Putting on weight that is unnecessary is easy to do when eating junk food and foods that are higher in fat

Eating a well-rounded diet is important. According to the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, pregnant women should have 3 servings of milk yogurt and cheese, 3 servings of protein, 3 servings of fruits, 4 servings of vegetables and 9 servings of whole grain products

Weight Distribution:
- 7 1/2pounds is about how much the baby will weigh by the end of pregnancy
- 1 1/2pounds is how much the placenta weighs
- 4 pounds is attributed to increased fluid volume
- 2 pounds is the weight of the uterus
- 2 pounds is the weight of breast tissue
- 4 pounds is because of increased blood volume
- 7 pounds is attributed to maternal stores of fat, protein and other nutrients
- 2 pounds for the amniotic fluid
Total: 30 pounds

On a Trimester Basis:
First trimester: 3-5 pounds
Second trimester: 1-2 pounds per week
Third trimester: 1-2 pounds per week

Remember this is just an average; you and your health care provider need to decide what is best for you.

There are alot more articles frm American Preg, so feel free to read thru.

gig, have been telling my bb since some time ago. Hope she a good gal, listen to mummy. But if she comes out early then i will sayang her as much also lah.

Catz, guess as long as bb is growing well then our weight is secondary.

smurfy, i wanna see. [email protected]

Btw, anyone ready to share preggie photos?

Smurfy - my sis said she also grew to like sweet stuff as she grew, towards the end her sugar level went up abit. My gf's hb also said some ppl will turn to like sweet stuff, bt to me so far I m still fine. My gf, kept eating roti prata + sugar @ her last tri. Ha ha ha.......

Smurfy - I wanna c! [email protected], bt I can only c them over the wkend.

bt then I tot if you have sent to us b4 ur album acct will hv our addy inside?

Oh, think tat time u posted the link instead of emailing us.

Ah ger,
my diet is all-rounded and healthy, except that I cannot stop snacking on sweet stuffs once I see them. This album is those pictures taken from the wedding studio WHEN I WAS SLIMMER!! hahaha. Now I look at myself, I feel so sad

catz,
i oso hope to go for a short trip, other than malaysia. but fiances quite tight now

i called liao ..
the nurse was like hot spring !
wat hot spring ..
then i was tellin her .. hot water basically
ha ha ..
then she put me on hold .. asked dr ..
then she came back said nope lo...
she said 'boss' said no no ..

catz,
hmmn .. wait this weekend i go and buy with my mum see wat she say again ..
cause i thought i need to get 2 of each ..
like 2 small and 2 medium ..
but she said 1 small and 1 medium enough lo
i have no idea le ..
maybe last time i also survived with 1 small and 1 medium bottle .. hehe ..

giggler,
my mum not in singapore ma ..
so bring bb back for her to take care
i can't put to nanny ..
cause me and hubby working and studying ..
so is best to put with my mum ..
after my hubby finish his course then we'll consider if we want a maid or put to nanny ..
my MIL also working .. so she won't be taking care ..

Smurfy - I snacked more las time bt ever since I got preggy, I reduced cos I dunno if I will b the one receiving all the 'unwanted' wt or bb will b taking. @ leats time when I was alone, I knew all will cme to me, & I can wk out if I put on wt. Nw cannot go on diet mah.......

My coll was also saying, tis wk my stomach grew bigger, like suddenly ballooned up.

ck,
hot temperatures, like hot spring, steam bath and jaccuzzi, or even soaking urself in hot tub is not recommended as it might affect bb's brain development or spinal. read that last time.

ah ger,
last time i no snack, coz whole life on diet. but tis time round, lose control oredi.

everytime passes by colleagues, instead of looking at me at my face, they look at my stomach, very irritating i feel.

I'm so sleepy at the office and dozing off. Any suggestions how to not give in to coffee and yet refresh myself?

PVL/ CK: You both going to Taipei? That's so fun. I love Taipei man.

CK - u dunno who is the asst who spoke to u arh? Hw cme hot spring she dunno? U tell her in Chinese wen quan she also dunno?

Yes, suspected cannot liao cos soaking in too hot temperature mah, nt very gd.

Nx time arh Dr Tham sure scratch head. 1 say wanna dye hair, go Bkk foot massage, the other wanna go hot spring. Ha ha ha.......

CK - mum said 2 small 2 medium. So that when u use one the other one for standby. Or something like tat.

PVL, what type of travel cert?

I'm travelling to HK during my 27-28 weeks, i was told to just get a ltr from my gynae or something indicating my pregnancy week in case i encounter prob. before entering the airplane.

finally got time to log in liao..

regarding sweet stuff - i also got craving for that!! normally i dont like sweet stuff, dunno my gal will have sweet tooth or not

re - pray to tian gong

my own hse, my parents, my inlaw all pray to tian gong. so this yr my mum will not pray cos she going to help me, hb says he will still pray cos he dun believe having bb is dirty.

actually hor its a misconception that woman who gives birth or having menses cannot pray. We have checked with those temple people,they say its ok one cos those things are natural. This misconception comes from those era where woman are belittled by the society, it is not related to the teachings of taoism. Anyway, still alot of older folks got say cannot lor.

Catz..Yup definitely painful lah..haha..n sa a mother our heart sure pain..but we obey GOD, so I believe baby will be given supernatural ability to go thru..jus like my church mate, she circumcised her son on 8th day..he cry a bit then ok already..next day wound heal liao.

Ck, enjoy yr trip ok..make sure u rest well n eat properly..careful with the food..cos dont want to get food poisoning..jus precaution..

Im starting my antenatal class today..630pm at Mt. Alvernia..hope its interesting.

travel cert - to certify the MTB is fit to travel. Hwever I think if b4 wk 32, dun need bah.

Stella - yeah alot of ppl say cannot pray. Bt then tare was once on TV they say god shld understand..............

Ah ger, as long as it's Piggy bb rite? Hahaha.... Bigger size mummies like me dun need to have too much wt gain. So qiao... I like roti prata now also leh. hehehe...

smurfy, I also like to eat ice-cream now but I control lah. Didnt want to take too much cold stuff. Maybe can go to Bintan/Batam for short holidays?

catz, so nice that you gg to Perth.

ck, I feel so sad when I heard that you and Koh sending your kids away leh.

mag, I want to know how to perk up without using coffee too. I've been drinking coffee almost everyday and feel so guilty after that. Sigh..........

stella, you also Hokkien? I also think that having menses is natural and shant regard us as "unclean" lor.

ah ger/giggler

i am not hokkien but my hb is. my mum also hokkien and we followed her customs since young.

the "unclean" thing is a misconception. Still can go praying.

charis,
u got mail.

ai yoh, talking abt praying, must ask boyboy to pray for smooth delivery and healthy baby arr.. if not costs wil increases.

Ah Ger,
yah by 27th week should hit 1kg liao..gynae say after 8th month bb will grow very very fast..now still slow...my last visit 22wk bb was already 621gram..now the increase very small...quite upset...

Charis,
if your fren giving you playpen liao then dun waste money on cot..not very practical le. some bbs sleep awhile like 2 or 3 months then graduate to bed liao..my daughter end up sleeping in the yaolan instead of the cot..unless you invest in those cot that can be change into a kids size bed lor..

giggler,
my total weight gain is also 5kg so far..put on less this pregnancy compared to last one..hope can maintain less than 12kg..will be very happy

giggler,
i still take cold stuffs ar :p. sooo happy whenever i eat ice-cream or dessert :pppPp husband give up oredi :x . i tell him ice-cream good coz got milk, then milk got calcium :p

With regards to praying.. i think religion can help us to "calm down" and sort of help us spiritually , irregardless of wat religion.

i also prayed to the gods for safe delivery and must protect my bb.

Smurfy..thanks for the photos..wow u look slim n nice in the indoor shoot gown..the cut really flatters yr figure..When was that taken? I know yr ROM was in July right? U put on a little bit already at that time..but its ok lah..I also the same..I see my wedding photos I also sian..was definitely slimmer then..Well all for baby!

Hey, I like yr hb's cream suit..he looks good in it.

Fat babe..I think I buy cot better, cos we will teach baby to sleep there until he's around 2..no excuses..haha. Also the cot will be used for diapering..a playpen is a bit difficult cos no pull down rails. Then around 2 or 2 plus, graduate to junior bed..Yup i guess its more worth it to buy those kind that can convert to junior bed.

stella, giggler and those who pray,
do u all steer off from beef? my hubby say beef brings bad luck. haiz, since this child is both of ours, i guai guai, dun eat beef during whole of pregnancy leh, but at times keep thinking of beef (xin zhong mei you fu hahhaa)

charis,
pictures taken when i was 10wks pregnant, rom pics is like 16wks pregnant oredi :X

cot,
hypermart got sell those that can be converted to junior bed, price ard $299. then they got sell a board that can be attached to the cot so that we can actually stand and change diapers there as well. quite like it as we dun need to sit down or change diapers on our bed (which may strain our back)

kekeke me oso going off liao, going to view a 5rm flat in serangoon nrth later onz near rosyth primary , new requirement now is that must be near good primary schools hahahaha

Smurfy..oic..u 10 weeks still very slim leh..some ppl 1st trimester already put on a lot..SO yr studio shoot was in June-July, then yr ROM in Sept right? Well u still look good in yr ROM leh..put on a bit only lah..but more busty n rosier too! Good wat..hehe.

Smurfy..if u dont eat beef, make sure u have other kinds of protein. I definitely must eat some beef..cos my blood count low, I need the iron..hehe.

So hypermart sells good cots too huh..
My hubby wants to go robinsons to see leh..he say got nursery sale ending this weekend..

Anyway, im off ladies..have to get ready to go to Mt. A for my classes..Will update u all tmrw on how my 1st lesson went...hehe!

charis, giggler, yah hopefully the perth trip works out 'cos my hubby's schedule is always so tight. I told him i hv not been on a plane since i flew by at 8 months pregnant for my 1st child leh!!! We've been to M'sia and Batam a few times but tak shiok lah... finances are tight but he says should go on holiday lah.. with 2 kids, dunno when we will ever go on holiday again!!! Heh.

Charis, I do believe that God gives us strength lah but I've seen quite a few of my friends' kids who are very easily upset and so happens tt they went through traumatic times at birth - hernia op, swallowing meconium, circumcision.. so I cannot bear it lah. Anyway, at 7 days, Tim was warded for jaundice therapy so wouldn't hv worked out anyway.

playpen- i leave it at my parents's place as a back-up cot for my son.. and we bring it on holiday with us 'cos usually hotel cots are so rickety and dirty. mine's a Graco pack n play.. i really like it 'cos it's super idiot proof and for child safety, graco playpens are the best on the market.

aiyoh, i also got sweet tooth nowadays :p must try to control...

stella, your dad not hokkien but still pray Tian Gong? I go to Guan Yin every other week to pray for smooth delivery too.

fat_babe, me opp leh. Put on more wt this time round. Now praying hard that I wont exceed 10kg for the whole preg. You getting massage lady? I still thinking who to call.

smurfy, I feel that cold stuff is not gd for bb so try to refrain from taking. I compare my fren used to take soft drinks, esp coke during preg and her gal is quite weak. So I try to refrain from cold stuff and my gal is ok.
I still take beef outside lah.

Catz, its true that it'll be more difficult to travel with 2 kids.

smurfy, can send me the link? [email protected]
yes, when looking for a place, it is best to look for one within 1 km from good schools. My hb was from rosyth so as long as we do not insist on all-boy school, my baby should have a place in the school in future, who knows our kids will be classmates 7 yrs down the road, haha.

Giggler,
i also nvr engage massage lady le...coz C-section last time..had pain for 2-3 weeks..then lost form to do any massage liao..i dun really intend to this time also...although my mum encourage..

haha you like me, i also always go Guanyin temple to pray for healthy bb..

smurfy,
can i see ur pics too?? [email protected]

starlite,
sorry ahh...nvr log on forum these few days.... cos i not working lar...so wont be online everyday... somedays nuaing & watching video tapes at my mum's place....hehee..
yup, i went for the GTT.... they make u drink on huge cup of sweet sweet drink then take ur blood after 2 hrs...my blood glucose reading was higher than the acceptable range wor after the 2 hrs... so they said i got GD .... must monitor once a wk...poke fingers 7 times, b4 & after breakfast, b4 & after lunch, b4 & after dinner, & before sleeping time...reading cannot be more than 7.8 for the 2 hrs after meal...so far i monitor for 3 wks....reading is ok... tom going for gynae appt.....

charis,
i also going for antenatal class at Mt. A but mine is on sat.... first lesson is fri 3 nov 6.30pm...subsequent ones on sat 1.30-3.30pm

hi smurfy

can i see ur photos? [email protected]

re beef: me & my hb dun take beef, since we pray to guanyin. Our thinking is that since we belief in her , we shld oblige the dos and donts.. but we still have not reach the stage of being vegetarian lah.

just to share wat happened during my first tri.. i got staining and fresh red bleeding , gynae says most prob is cannot make it..so we go to guanyin temple and pray.. draw a lot and the lot says must faithfully pray. so during the first tri, we took vegetarian for abt 1 or 2 mths.

giggler,

my dad is not hokkien , but we follow mom's custom.

Starlight, Ah Ger, Charis,
Yah, the travel cert is like a letter. I have no idea what it says. But last visit to my gynae, I asked him about travelling, and the nurse straight away took out some form or piece of paper from the file drawer. Dr quickly told her no need yet. Wait til next visit (week before I go). So I assume that was the travel cert. He said that travelling is fine up to 35 wks.

charis,
Yah. I trained Sarah to sleep in her own cot in her own room from 7 wks. Actually, at that age, not much training involved. They don't know the diff. It's more like training myself to sleepwalk over to her room for her feeds, sleepwalk my way through diaper changes, sleepwalk back to my own bed. But one thing is, I avoided breastfeeding her in bed from the start. I always sat in a chair to feed her. I know that feeding in bed is convenient cos you end up lying down and bb sleeps latched on, and you sleep too. But I tahan it, and to me personally, it was worth it.

playpen: Personally, I prefer the cot. It's much sturdier and can last til bb is a toddler. Now Sarah has graduated directly to a single bed. No need toddler size bed in between. Save $$ buying furniture. Cot is waiting for Benjamin to pop.
We have a playpen in the living room. Essential for busy mums. Provides a safe play environment for the young child. (Right now, Sarah's playpen has become a toy pen. Must clean it up soon)