(2007/02) February

mag,
Any suggestions for things to see and do around Taipei? I've never been before, and I'll be alone with Sarah for 2 days while my hb attends the conference. I'm looking at things to do mostly in the mornings and evenings, and hopefully, things that are child-friendly, cos I'll probably go back to hotel in the pm for Sarah to nap and me to rest.
Are the streets in Taipei stroller-friendly? Or should I not bother to bring the stroller at all? She can walk, but sometimes she tends to run all over the place and I have to leash her. Stroller is easier to go places faster.

cherryale, doggy, nana, stella,
u got mail!

charis,
i have been putting on a lot of weight in 2nd trimester arr.
. i eat other red meats like pork and duck alot oso. yah, saw the cots in hypermart, quite like them lor, those made of cherry wood are more sturdy and makes less vibrations when adjusting the side oso.

stella,
for the same reason, the hb is trying to refrain me from eating beef. see how lar, after bb pops out then decides.

cherryale,
and must make sure we do some volunteering work in those schools as well hahahaha.

giggler,
i think by the time the cold drinks enter our digestive system, it would oredi be ard our body temperatures oredi leh

Morning Ladies...

Smurfy: Can I see your pics too? [email protected]

PVL: The streets in Taipei are pretty all right. Mornings, I usually hunt for a soyabean and you tiao place to have breakfast. They make really good ones. There is this place, "Ximending" for shopping. A lot of youngsters shop there but of course we can too. At nite, surely you have to go to the night markets. They are superb. I think there are at least 4 you can go to. Taking taxis are pretty convenient. O... and sogo in Taipei is like one of the places to go to as well. Taipei 101 surely you noe about... it's better you bring the stroller cos kids get tired at the wierdest times and with our condition now, it's not wise to carry them. ANyway, the stroller can also be used to stow your shopping...Hee

smurfy,
wow, your arms are so slim yet you are busty! Envy envy. You mean parents who studied in the pri school still must do volunteer work? Thot its only for those who have no relationship with the school? Aiyoh, very sian to do volunteer work, my gf is helping out in RGPS, must do all kinds of stupid things for the sch.

fat_babe, though I had c-section the other time, I still got myself a massage lady lah. Cos I scared that I cant lose wt leh. Hehehe... But this time round, got too many recommendations so still cant decide which one to get.

nana, what series are you watching now? My niece just passed me "Goong" but having hard time to catch up the show.

stella, I always turn to Guan Yin whenever I've problems. And she always manage to give me an answer.
Pray Guan Yin cant take beef?

PVL, I thot of placing bb in cot so that Vane can continue to sleep with us. But I scared that I too tired waking up to carry bb out of cot for feedings leh.

smurfy, hahaha... I not sure that lah but I refrain from cold drinks as much as poss.

Giggler,
Boyboy say so long as got pray, pray to buddha cannot oredi.

cherryale,
just to be on the safe side lor. roysth is a very popular sch. err i use to do manual work after i left poly lar, that's why the slim arms (manipulating big valves in chemical plants)

massage lady
can we engage one after confinement? still can see results? i hate the idea of being oily when i am oredi hot and sticky from "less bath" and feb, march is approaching hot season.

giggler

same here, i always turn to guanyin when i need assurance or answer. She serves as a guidance..heehee.

yup if pray guanyin cannot take beef.. will go home and ask my hb for the exact reasons. he is expert in praying..like old uncle

Ah ger,
where did u get the princess hours ringtone? I also want it! I am left with 5 more disks, will watch them all tonight...aiyoh, the plot is so stupid with the emperor and the mother of lu.

Gig, u can watch at night, I watch at least 3 disks per night and make it a point to sleep by 12am.

So on baby cot, the final verdict is to get baby cot rather than playpen right? should I get Cot Bed (convertible to junior bed) or just normal cot? Which brand is good?

smurfy, oic... so you stop taking beef for now? It's best to do asap after you give birth and to see good results got to massage continuously for maybe 5-7days?

stella, ok... let me know if you got reason..

cherryale, what time do you start watching? By the time, I settled my gal it'll be 10plus liao. My sil got cot from Robinson and it seems good leh.

morning to all...............

Gig - yeah, so long as Piggy can le. *pray*

Fat babe - dun worry abt the wt, afterall it's also an est only. Bb sure will put on quickly. There was once I also tot my bb was slow, then b4 I knew it, the nx chk up, he boomed. So dun worry.

Stella - everytime when hb & I go Bugis, we will make it a pt to go pray. Be it to Seiyu, or to Sim Lim. Cos already tare mah...... Then my hse I din put deity cos we always 4get their festivals, so mum also say dun put, go outside pray can le.

Gals, I bought my car already.

Jas/ Mag - Actually, nothing much to bargain for since their basic bodykit is already incl, then their normal 15" sports rims come w/ it. Las time dun hv reverse sensor (acc to Aug price list) bt then tis time they added on, then deduct frm agt's comm direct already. So again no need to bargain. We asked for window film, then ask for reduced insr. I dunno exact amt bt then I know it's reduced lor.

They hv dunno rebates like instant $700, then another dunno wat $500. Then we r tying up w/ DBS they hv tis instant 10 + 10% rebate, so overall, rebates we enjoy are abt $3.9k+, which means car is abt $50k only. Then deposit compulsory is $3k (we use tat as dwnpayment). The DBS rebate will b refunded back to us in terms of chq upon collection of car. My gf's sis said tis DBS one tie up only for 3yrs, after tat we wanna sell car also can. Bt if we take the 2.85%, mthly installment is lesser by abt $30, bt then u wun drv the car for 10yrs, so nt worth.

Per mth we will b paying is abt $600 nt incl insr. Rd tax 1st 6mths free. I think upon collection of car, we will need to poay 1st mth's installment + insr + dunno wat. I can't rem. Bt the docs signed will be mailed to us w/in 10 - 14 wking days.

We ordered black cos hb wanted only dark cols cos he said he wanna do car body art. Dark metallic blue cars will b in ony end Feb, black cars end Jan. All est delivery date only.

Morning...

On beef, i thot beef is good for preggy women as of rich in calcium and not as heaty as mutton?

Pvl, it's good to teach the kids to be more independent since they were young. Saw many parents their kids still sleep wif them even though in Primary school oredi.

Just upload some photos taken recently. Anyone interested to see the fat preggie me?

Cherry - I hv no idea hw my sis got the ring tone. I can email to u tonight though....... then u use your cable to load into ur hp then. wats ur email addy? Each song I think is 3 - 4MB so I will send you 2 separate emails.

yeah lor, the plot is damn silly.

Ha ha ha, I also watch 3 disks every night tat time, so w/in 1wk I finish them all. Wkends can watch longer cos u dun hv to wk + dun hv to slp so early.

Yes, beef is gd for preggies. Try to eat alittle if possible. It's high in iron, nt calcium right? I also dun eat red meat bt ever since preggy, I made myself eat a little. Otherwise, another alt is duck meat w/o skin. Or else broccolis.

Jas - I def wanna c pics! Email me. [email protected]. Thks, will c them 29!

ah ger, congrats on ur new car! U have finally got a black one.
Thanks for the details info on the purchase. So u have paid the downpyt of $3k oredi? Is the downpyt fixed for most of the car agent? We shall wait till my hubby to come back dunno when then decide. But first need to pass our basic theory test.

smurfy, nolah, just thot i share first then later u all share wif me mah. Just send a photo to my hubby this morning and he said my stomach grows a lot in a week.

I think i will have a doggie bb lei as this week i have dreamt of doggie twice...

Ah ger,
thanks! my email is [email protected]

Since the car is 50k, how come the monthly instalment is $600 plus? Did you put any more down payment beside the 3k? I am looking for a car that is 50k and below for myself, so this means jazz is within my reach now. All my cars are black and hondas, so I will get it in black too! One thing though, black stained easily esp after rain, so your hb got to be more conscientious in cleaning car.

Gig, I start around 9, each disk about 45mins to 1 hr. If u can only watch after 10, then maybe 2 disks a night and catch up on weekends. It is a nice show..aiyoh, I love Xin leh, so cool but he is super thin, in one scene, you can see his legs are as slim as gals.

Jas - thks. Yeah lah, hb lor......... I know he wants black rather than blue. Cos he said do body art nicer. Suan le, give in bah. I surrender! Anyway he'll b the one supporting the car & washing & maintaining.

It is actually called a deposit. Then in turn if we decide to use the $3k as a dwnpayment, then once a car is cfm, they will contra it over lor, offsetting our car loan. However if we decide nt to put dwnpayment, then upon receiving the car, the $3k will b refunded back to us. Bt we tot, nvm kah, just dwn lor, nt alot of $$ also.

Jas - wah so fast u dream of doggie arh? I haben dreamt of anything yet. Bt I've bn telling bb I wan a healthy piglet.

I dunno hw the % goes. Bt it's $571 per mth, so I round it up to $600. Then insr nt included mah. For hb 1st timer insr is $2k (bt we managed to neg for a disc), so I think per mth we also hv to set aside of abt $100+. So which makes it $700+ per mth also. We din put anymore dwnpayment besides the deposit of $3k. The subsequent yrs' insr will also depreciate so will b lesser.

If u down more then gd lor. Lesser mthly installment.

Yeah, hb is aware, so I told him, he better b the hardwking one, dun expect me to do so. He said he will. I said nt to car wash! he said he will wash himself. So I shall c lor....

Ah ger, we can opt not to put downpyt? Ur $600 pm if for how many years loan?

Yaloh, first time dreamt of 3 big dogs a few days ago i just blushed it aside. Then last nite i dreamt of a cute white puppy who always want to cling on me, then in the train i thot cld this be an omen that me gg to have a doggie bb? Told hubby just now, he is fine wif doggie or piggie as long as bb is healthy.

Jas - yes, if u opt nt to go for dwnpayment, which means the deposit of $3k will b refunded back to u interms of chq after tat when u collect the car. Base on my calculation abv, I think per mth is $605 per mth, slightly more exp by $34. Insr nt incl lor, must rem.

Gals, let me repeat.

UP $54900
Less rebate 700 + 500 = $1200 (the KAH & dunno wat rebate)
Less deposit = $3k (we will convert tis to dwnpayment)

So overall loan is 50,700. Mthly installament is $571. hw tis amt came abt I dunno hw to calculate. Hb said they use % then dunno multiply by dunno wat.

The DBS rebate 10% + 10% = abt $2.7k+ is refunded interms of chq, CANNOT b trsf to offset for the loan.

Good morning gals...

just finish reading yesterday's posting.

Wow...ah ger...so fast chop chop cfm ur car liao....congrats on ur new toy. Honda Jazz is very nice & sporty....
Among the Japaness car.....i think Honda is the best.

Oh ...on my yesterday visit. did the urine test also show some high side of sugar. But My gynae never say anything leh...also never ask me do extra test.

Anyway...the whole visit was short & sharp. Scan & ask do u feel bb kicking alot & any other problem then finish liao....think less than 10 min.
I asked abt my bb wt...she said is abt 600g...din give me an exact wt too. cos she said at this stage avt is abt 600 - 700g.

As for wt wise, so far put on 8 kgs liao.

I was asked to decide on hospital pkg already. How abt u gals. hv decided single or double?

Ah ger, congrats on your purchase of car! In the end, your hb prefer black? Happy that you got one issue settled liao.

Jas, dun scare me leh... I hope my gal wont be sleeping with me till Pr Sch. I interested to see the fat preggie you.
You so cute leh... dreamt of dog means will get dog bb?

cherryale, hope I got time to watch during weekends. Hehehe...

JC, I'll go for 2-bedded cos co subsidised for it.

JC - hw many wks r u nw? Glad tat bb is growing well.

I guess alot of gals tend to hv abit of high sugar level hor. Hw cme arh?

My gynae arh, always asked hw I feel everytime I c him.

I dunno when I will b asked to choose the pkg, maybe soon bah. Bt anyway no hurry. I will choose dbl - save $$, though majority can b claimed thru Medisave. bt it's the lit extra cash tat I can save to buy other things.

jc,
my last visit dun even got scan. just measurement of stomach using a measuring tape.
has to wake another 3 wks later to see bb during scan.

i am taking the package from tmc. is considering 2bedder. but many ppl tell me 70-80% of those who opt for 4 bedders in TMC will end up free upgrading to 2 bedders. Dunno whether want to take the chance or not :/

Gig - he all along prefer black cos dark base can do more 'things' on the car. So the leather seat we chose full black also. Unless we get blue then we will select dual tone.

yeah finally 1 issue settled. Nw just concentrate on saving $$. Ha ha ha......

Gig, my brothers' kids still sleep wif them even though they are oredi quite big. Then my aunt's boy sleep wif them too until think Pri 5. They are like no bed, just a few big mattresses lying on the floor then all sleep together loh. Think many family do the same too... On the doggie bb, heihei, never dreamt of dogs, now one week dreamt twice so thot an omen loh.

mummy2b and gig, sent...

Mag, thanks for the Taipei tips. So should I bring the Citisport Graco stroller or should I bring an even lighter 'umbrella' stroller that can fold up and be carried in one hand? Is the MRT stroller-friendly? What do you think of going to places like Yangmingshan?

JC, the nurse also asked me during my last visit whether I want single or double as they need to reserve. I am taking single and hope that they will upgrade me to a suite, hehehe.

Jas, Gig,
My friends also. They have 3 kids. Oldest is P2. ALL of them have been sleeping in their 2nd bedroom on mattresses on the floor. The whole room is a 'bed'. The master bedroom is unused except for the bathroom. They were even thinking of renting out the master bedroom to a friend last time.

Smurfy - hw cme must use measuring tape????????

Smurfy - since u r due in Feb, take 4 bedded lah. My sis was upgraded to 2 bedded leh......... Then u save costs also. bt even if really nt fully occupied then just hope tat ur other beds are nt really taken lor, so u still hv 1 rm by urself. Take the risk lor, ur bb will b a lucky bb.

ah ger,
measuring tape is too measure bb's growth. my gynae dun scan for all visits liao lor :/ sianz but okie lar, think on positive side, too much scanning might not be that good oso lor. will talk to boyboy abt me toying for 4-bedder and hoping for free upgrade. haiz, now is trying to save money. u buy car, but i need to buy flat ...

confinement food,
a friend sent me this link and said it is quite good. looks quite professional with explanation done on the menus.
http://www.natalessentials.com/confinement.html

I am wondering did anyone experience some discharge at the nipple with glossy surface (looking moist with oil)? Especially if you are very hot and sweating.

smurfy - I once asked my gynae on the scanning, he said it is perfectly fine cos tis is thru those dunno wat waves, is unlike x-rays.

Ha ha ha, yeah, we all hv our commitments.

Smurfy - I've seen tis Natal Essentials b4, bt then dunno y leh, I still prefer to take Neo. More reliable bah. Bt then I heard Natal Essentials are able to cater to ur needs like eg if u dun take certain thing then they wun add into ur menu. I may consider it if need to. Hv u heard abt the portion? Since I m thinking of saving costs.

Ah ger,
going to GlenE, hehe, got a bit of connections, so the person asked me to inform him when I am there. But of cos depends on whether they are full. Anyway, I am happy with a single ward so that hb can be there overnight, anything additional is bonus.

smurfy, flats within 1km from rosyth will be expensive, it may be a good idea to try for upgrade instead. Last time i used to stay within walking distance from the old rosyth primary before they moved to serangoon.

bad news for those considering 4 bedder, free upgrade to 2 bedder..

i was told by clinic assist that now tmc is building more 4 bedder wards, so the chances of free upgrade is very low by our time.

i will choose 4 bedder to save cost.

Ah ger,
thank you for your response. I have been having that since my 4th month I think. I thought it was normal. There is a smell too. Nipple always looking gloosy with a layer of oil.

cherryale,
I am also delivering at GlenE. Single ward very expensive. I am still deciding. Don't know if I can go through the night without my hubby if I take up the 2 beded ward.

cherryale & Saphira....me in GlenE too. Mine is c-section so single ward is the most exp. Am still thinking 2 bedded or single.
Diff is about 1k.

Smurfy....FYI . Rosyth is a good sch. My girl is there. I stayed outside the 1km range. SO for me i din take any chances...i do volunteer work for the school.

Wah Cherry - so gd........... I will choose 2 bedded to save costs. If I get upgraded to single will b a bonus.
me also GlenE bt doubt I will hv tat bonus lah. Hee hee...

Stella - build more 4 bedded bt then when will it b completed?

Lunch time! Cont later.

JC, yah C-section will be expensive but I dun think I can handle without hb staying over. Scared of sleeping in hospital ward alone. Since your girl is now at rosyth, then no more worries for your other kids next time. It will be Phase 1A for those with siblings in the school right? Which one comes first after that, old boys or staying within 1km?

Ah ger, u can get upgraded if you deliver on midnight for CNY, maybe should tell your boy to come out at that time starting from now.

Sap, how much will it cost for single ward (assuming natural with epi) in GlenE?

So besides robinson, anywhere else can I check out the cot? I want to do the scouting during weekends now when its still not so heavy and then buy in Dec. Hopefully got sale at that time. Based on experience, do cots ever go on sale??

smurfy, thanks for the photos. U looked great and like the v-neck WG. Simple and nice. I also like the photos of u and ur hb in traditional chinese costume. Very sweet.

Jas, got ur photos. U look good leh. But ur tummy a bit small. When did u take those photos? Overall a slim and pretty mommy-to-be.

mummy2b, not big mei, now like half a watermelon liao.
I put the date of photo taken so u can see from each photo. The 1st one was taken 2 weeks ago, and the last one was taken this morning in my office, heihei... ;) Will slowly update photos as time goes by then can see more obvious changes.