(2007/02) February

Gig - I scared later hb complain too tiring then mum also complain then I'll die man! Hw to get maid by then? No supervision, worse right?

Anyway yest I was calculating the costs. Either getting maid or getting a car will also eat into 5-digit.

U c if u get a maid, say $600, then bb expenses $200 (milk powder & diapers), then if I ask SIL to monitor during daytime maybe another $1 - 200, is already $1k.

if we let mum look after, it's +/- tare also.

Haiz............. I've done a spreadsht yest bt more to edit.

Sohpie, thks I hv the same bk as u.

Jas - finally u change to maternity bottoms. It's so much more comfy & the material is lighter.

CK - so exp leh.......... So far, I hv stretchmarks @ the buttock area cos las time super fat! Dun think I will get them, still hv 2 tubes in my drawer, will just use watever I hv..... Thks for informing.

CK - the curry vege hor fun might b 2 jer lat for u, then bb doesn't like. Try eat something light 1st.

me nw sore throat again after drinking milo for 3 days. Haiz.......... bt luckily I finished my bread le, so I wun b drinking milo for the nx fw days to cme.

CK - I started to monitor bb's timing. Every night 11+pm sure move one....... abt 3 - 4 times then stop, then another 10mins later move slightly again, by then I think bb KO le cos I was also dead beat tired. ha ha ha........ Same slping time as me.

talking abt confinement food catering, is anybody getting the trial? $25 leh.... tat day mum asked if I need her help for confinement, I said c hw I can't decide yet. Anyway if mum is cooking I dun mind, cos I've seen wat sis ate & I m ok.......... though those fw dishes bt then @ least nt pigs' trotters. *puke*

Ah Ger,
That Patsie Cheong book not bad hor?

Neo Garden variety does look better than Natal Essentials, but think I will still not cater, cos MIL and hubby will probably not eat those stuff, then I cannot finish by my own - very wasted.
Will prob just eat the veges that my MIL cooks, then add 1 extra confinement dish to my meal... maybe can get my mum to cook that extra dish in the first 2 weeks.

sophie, ah ger,

yep i work around town. ok..in tat case i will keep a lookout for the patsie cheong one...since both of u have it...

saphira,

Gynae suggested u to go for the OGTT? Did he give u an option whether to take or not to take the test?

Do u know how much it cost?

Sophie, I can't rem the writer, bt I think is the same book, since we hv similar descriptions.

Sohpie, I was thinking if I wanna save $$, I can just order for lunch. then evening reheat them & eat. Though abit boring to eat same food day/ night bt then can save 1/2 of the amt leh. Then esp mine is CNY period, I dun wish to hinder anybody lor...... I wonder if I can ask them to hv mine to replc pork stuff instead.

Starlite - I dunno if tats the same one, bt I know it's $10+ only, less than $20. The bkfair @ Emerald is by Big Bookshop.

Starlite,
I have to go home to check how much it cost. He ask me to do the test because I told him my grandmother (very old) have diabeties. Did u have your first child with the same gynae? How was it? Was he good?

giggler,
ya felt much much better after vomitting ..
is definately not ms .. is just indigestion ..

ah ger,
ya .. shall eat light now ..
scared of yesterday ... whole afternoon till nite dun feel good ...

sophie,
ya i think is the coconut ..
this pregnancy can't take curry liao ..

ah ger,
so how your leg got feel better now or not ?
must massage more .. to prevent the next few days of aching ..
yesterday bb was pretty quiet .. until i vomit all the curry .. then he started moving ..

CK - my leg nw still hv those soring pain as I walk, so I hv to walk slowly.

Dunno y 2day I m super tired...... I din even get up to go to the toilet las night, I just endured till tis morning.

My bb yest whole day was ok, abit peaceful then @ night the 'dancing' came lor.

I think my bb is the opp of u all, he/ she loves curry alot man! Whenever I eat curry, I get super satisfied. Ha ha ha..... Bt I also try to eat less lah.

giggler,

intend to send to m'sia after 3 months maternity ..
but not to worry .. think my mum will bring bb to me often .. so i can see ...he he ..
but will tired my mum and dad lo ..

he he .. very tempting rite ..
i should have gotten my first tube from guardian too .. i bought the 1st tube at 44 !!!
eeks ..
the avent one .. though is oily ...
but seems like not lasting .. and when i spray seems like dripping ... he he ..

ah ger,
the elancyl one .. smells nice
and cooling after application ..
i dun use as much as when i use mothercare cream and avent ..
cause more exp .. so i use very conservatively ..
ha ha ..
want to use but also stingy .. hah a ...
the lady was also saying .. use it after giving birth wor ..
like tat need to use how many tubes ?
really exp leh ..

ah ger,

u use some lotion and massage massage your calf ..
else will pain for next few days ..
i'm a bit paranoid of the pain ...
i'm also lazy ... after vomit last nite .. just had a cup of yogurt then went to sleep ..
then also stomachache before sleep ..
so vomit + stomachache ..

ya .. either way for u ..
mum or maid .. also cost marnee ..
for me also .. allowance for mum for taking care of bb ..

CK - cos it's liquid form, tats y it drips? Heng I buy 1 btl to try, haben open ceremony yet, bt soon lah.

I think ultimately I will still prefer cream/ lotion type, easier to apply.

After delivery still apply? Can lah, apply 1st fw mths lor..... then stop after tat. Bt post-application no need to b as much as when u r preggie cos u r nt expanding as much. Instead u r contracting bac. Tats my theory lah......

CK - yeah lor, alot of $$ involved leh......... Dunno lah, hv to go & tok to hb again. Bt these fw days super tired & slpy + he's nt free to tok so we KIV again.

CK - the las time I also experienced tat then ached for fw days. So I just let it be.....

29 go hme must do leg exercise, haben bn doing these fw days. Ha ha ha...

Ah ger, I also got legs cramp quite freq leh, gynae gave me calcium pills for that. If that's the case, maybe your mom will be a better choice compared to maid? But you got to take into acc the travelling time, etc. Why must take bread with milo? Me thot of getting trial to see how. I also feel that Neo Gdn got more variety lor. You can make special rqt to the caterer, eg if have c-section then cant take eggs & chix the first 2 weeks, etc. Me also thot of catering for lunch only and eat the left-over for dinner leh.

Sophie, ya, I try not to take curry nowadays. You using Elancyl cream now? I used it for my 1st preg and I got no stretchmarks. I more worried abt marketing part lor, dun want to trouble my mom too much cos she still need to take care of 3 other kids. So most prob, I'll get cf caterer unless I can find someone to do marketing for me. Dun think your mil/hb can take the food cos it'll be too heaty for them?

ck, same as me lor... cant take curry this preg. Ok, at least your parents will bring your bb to see you often.
How many bottles of Elancyl did you get in the end?

ah ger,

ya the avent one drip cause of the spray ..
so i spray in the toilet ..
my breast seems to be harder lately ..
do u experience the same ?

very fast leh the spray one .. i spray quite generously .. so i think can only last 1 + month or so only ..

ah ger,
ya .. see how la ... buy slowly .. whenever i see sale then buy 1 tube at a time ..
this month i bought 2 already leh ..
unless hubby sponsor the next tube i dun mind
heh e ..
cream or lotion is easier .. really ...
but then the avent one super fast ..
spray .. and rub then can liao ..
is pretty oily liquid .. so application is faster ..

he he ..
i lazy lazy also ..
never do much exercise ...

giggler,

only 1 tube ...
must budget a bit ..
hehe ..
total now i'm using 1 tube .. and 1 tube reserve..
this cream use very fast one .. only 150ml ..
then the tummy surface area soo large ..
then must put the thigh area there .. and also a bit on the butt leh ..

Gig - calcium pills can help reduce leg cramps? I take tat everyday leh & I also hv milk leh....

Gig - cos I spread w/ peanut butter then add cheese, then bread is very dry. I tried eating tat then I can't swallow. So I dip the bread in Milo & eat lor. ha ha ha......

Gig - if I m putting @ mum's plc, then I m thinking Mon morning rush to mum's hse then go to wk frm tare. Fri night will bring bb back hme. Then mum can hv 2 full days rest. During wkdays I will go & visit bb lor. Bt the sad thing is bb can't b @ hme then I can't spend more time w/ the bb.

Confinement food - yeah I think ordering of their lunch then save some for dinner shld b fine bah....... Eat lesser then can regain our figure back faster? Ha ha ha.....

I m also worried abt mktg part & esp CNY period, things r more exp & u hv to stock them up in the fridge. Mkt is closed for dunno hw many days during CNY. & sometime bac somebody said Neo Gdn is nt opened for 1st 3 days right?

CK - my breast arh, ok lah, bt nt extremely hard lor, think u may get engorgement soon is it? My sis said her breasts swell frm 5mths+ so she started wearing nursing bras. Bt bcos of the thin fabric, she bought breast pads, if nt can c the nipple so ugly.

CK - even when I use the Mothercare cream I also find it oily, so everytime when I m done, i will wash w/ soap then proceed on w/ applying my face cream then my hair.

It's lunch time soon............ Haiz...... hw I wish I can slp & skip lunch.

ah ger,

doc said is due to lack of calcium that's why leg cramp ..

breast is not tat hard .. but not soft either ..
usually is soft one ..
then nipple also turn darker ..

i use the mothercare one .. i also wash hand with soap ..
he he ..
usually i put lotion on face first .. then only mothercare lotion ..
avent one i also use soap to wash hand ..
but for the elancyl one ..
ha ha ... i dun wash hand ...
i dun wanna waste it .. let it moisturize my palm .. ha ha ..

CK - bt then can't b leh.......... my calcium intake is so much leh........ everyday. bt I din take milk las night bt again can't b the case.....

My nipple also turned darker. Di u realise sometimes the areola area is veyr big patch bt smetimes it's like it got smaller? Very strange leh....... bt watever it is, they look so ugly nw. Ha ha ha........

I dun put face cream 1st cos I apply something on the face & has to let it dry b4 applying others. So in the meantime I do my body lor.

ah ger,

i din realise the areola part leh ..
it looks pretty ugly .. so i dun bother to look at myself at the mirror too much
ha ha ..

u can ask dr tham this saturday regarding the leg cramp ..

ic .. i only put one type of lotion only ..
so easier for me ..

CK - I def will c the mirror cos I hv a wall to wall mirror in the MBR toilet, then I hv a full length mirror @ the wardrobe where I do my cream & etc.........

Ha ha ha.......

Oh talk abt Dr Tham, just nw the clinic called & asked if I wanna change to 2mr cos they hv slot. Bt 2mr I hv mtg, so I can't lor. Besides it's in the day then my SIL also gng cos she wanna do a chk up. Hence I rejected lor. Hb will also hv difficulty in applying for AL always so let him save the days bah.

ck, dun forget to apply on your breasts too. Some pple got stretchmarks on their breasts. My breasts not hard but think it's fuller now.

Ah ger, not sure if calcium pills help to reduce leg cramps lah. But that's what my gynae prescribed once I told him I got leg cramps. Wow.... you got peanut butter and add cheese somemore? You really have heavy b/f leh. If thats the case, then ask your mom to take care of bb lah. Heard that the portion from cf caterer is big and enough for 2 pax so shd be enough for 2 meals? Yup, Neo Gdn is off for the 1st 3 days. Then during those 3 days, I'll just cook myself some simple dish lah. I more worried abt mktg cos dun want to tire my mom out. Elancyl cream is not oily and smell nice leh.
I didnt notice abt my areola too.

ah ger,

he he ...
i try to be blind .. ha ha ..
dun want to see ..

ya .. clinic always call and change appointment ..

giggler,
oh i din put on my breast though ...
i spray some avent oil over ..
he he ..

ck, that's gd enough, I think... hehe

I realised that I cant sit for too long leh. If I sit too long, my buttock will pain, then the pain will travel up to my back. Aiyo... so painful now.

giggler,

i'm also having the same symptom ..
he he ..
but back won't ache when i'm sitting at home watching tv ..
guess i'm allergic to work ..
ha ha ..

I also have backside pain, think it is the tailbone too. ck, u very funny, only get back ache when sitting in office.

You gals are tempting me with Elanycl. Likes product that smells nice. I am now using palmer but hb used a lot each time so think will finsih the bottle soon. Will try Elanycl after I finish palmer.

ck, haha... come to think of it quite true hor? I dun think I get backside pain while sitting to watch TV. LOL....

smurfy, same here lor... I try to walk ard in ofc now. Cant sit for long. Not sure if massage can help

cherryale, yup, it's the tailbone too. I so scared that I may have slip disc or what leh. The tailbone is so painful. You do anything to relief the pain? I dun quite like Palmer but forgot the reason liao. Hehehe... Go and get the Elancyl, smell nice and not oily.

bac!

Went for lunch @ 1pm then came bac late then started doing some wk.........

Gig - I must hv some spread on the bread one. Like tat very heavy meh? Normal mah, it's either margarine or peanut butter then add on cheese lor. I got cheese Extra light one. Can't b asking me to hv it plain the just w/ cheese, I can't eat. It's just like eating burger, u can't b eating bread then w/ the pattie only.

CK - no lah, maybe suddenly tat person change appt so has slot lor. They din call & ask me change, just ask if I wanna go earlier.

Gig - I hv tat back pain till leg strain since long ago already.........

Cherry - hb uses alot? U mean he applies for u?

Watching TV is diff mah, u sit on a sofa. As compared to ofc chair & bus rides, of cos it's more comfy.

I once thought it was tailbone pain, then I showed gynae, he said is nt. Bt cnna't b helped cos uterus is sitting on the nerve.

Ah Ger,
Ordering confinement food just for lunch then reheat is a good idea! Save money too! I called up Natal Essentials before - they say can cater to your needs e.g. if you don't eat certain stuff, can tell them. But I remember they told me there will be an absence of delivery for 3 days, from CNY Eve to 3rd day CNY cos most of their staff are Malaysians... go back Malaysia for CNY celebrations. Not sure if they made any changes recently.

Giggler,
No, I am not using Elancyl... just using my usual Body Shop Body Butter for now. A friend just gave me an almost-full tube of Thyme stretchmark cream, so I will start using that soon. The Elancyl one is tempting, but abit expensive! You using Elancyl this time too?
Hee... I think if hubby eats the confinement, sure heaty then nosebleed!
If you take trial from Neo Garden, let me know your review OK?

Sophie, Natal Essentials was on tv sometime ago..... the owner sid hw he started tis biz was bcos of the wife I think.

I think reheating of food shld b ok bah....... normal lunch/ dinner hsewives cook also like tat.

I wun try the Elancyl also, 2 exp le......... Even my coll also say no need so exp one. So long as it contains dunno wat can le. 1 of my coll is using Palmer's Coca Butter lor, then I use Mothercare & tats it.

I m still thinking if I shld take the trial - $25.......

Ah Ger,
Reheating the food within a day shd be OK... in fact, the lady who spoke to me advised me to do this if I am not a big eater and then can save money.
Eh... my sis just finished her confinement. I think for certain things like chicken wine or pig trotter, my mum keeps for 2 to 3 days even! And it smells and taste better after the "age-ing" process, like steak!

Sophie, hmm......... if tats the case then I think I wun bother my mum, I can order the catered food, more conv also.
Then my mum doesn't hv to cme over & help out.

MIL is scratching her head thinking wat I can eat since I dun take pork. Ha ha ha...... I wish her happy thinking. Bad right?

Mum also can't b bothered already....... Yest she bought roast duck, then I took the skin out bt stripped off the layer of oil on the skin b4 I eat purely the roast skin. Mum was observing my actions then asked me eventually wat was I doing, then I told her lor. She said need to skin off until like tat meh? I said I dun like the 'chewy' feeling though I like the skin.

Ah ger, that's how I normally eat leh. 2 plain bread with 1 slice of cheese. Hehehe.... Do you think massage will help? That's what my parents used to do... tonite's dinner left-over as tom's lunch. I used Elancyl cream that time cos my fren didnt have stretchmark lah. And true enuf, I didnt get stretchmark too. Not sure if it's coincidence though. This time round, no promotion find it ex so didnt buy. But may buy tonite with the 20% off. You also think to take up the trial? It's quite true leh... as I had c-section, I cant take chicken for the 1st 2 weeks. Then my mil only cooked pork, fish and veg everyday for 2 weeks!!!

Sophie, think most cf caterers have break during CNY period. But they still cater for buffet hor? I didnt use Elancyl this time round cos I find it ex. Now I'm using Jergen moisturiser. You called Natal Essential? I think for vinegar pigs' trotter, some pple cook one big pot and last for a mth? That's what my cousin was doing. She said she'd add eggs to the vinegar pig's trotter lor.

Ah Ger,
Don't feel bad - look at it this way, good to keep old folks thinking so they won't go senile

Giggler,
My sis also had C-section, so she only ate steamed fish and stir-fry pork during first 2 weeks.
I heard abt the keeping pig trotters for long time - the cookbook says the vinegar dissolves the pig trotter bones, so the dish has more calcium for just-gave-birth mummies.

Gig - cos I m nt a bread person, so I def can't take bread kosong.

Usually mum try to cook smaller portion then we will finish all the dishes. Then mum they all seldom hv lunch. We usually hv 2 meals a day only.

Buffet - they start frm Day 7 mah if I m nt wrong cos it's Ren Ri.

Oh my coll said we can take 1 egg everyday bt take off the yolk. Egg white is the one tat can replc folic acid.

Hmm....... then I can safely eat mee sua everyday then I ask them to boil the egg longer then I can take off the yolk.

speaking of confinement dishes.. i love to eat them, esp the stir fried pork kidney. maybe becos i like to eat innards,ginger and sesame oil(sounds disgusting hor).

But if have to eat for one mth,then its another story. But most of my friends they dont really eat confinement dishes, they eat normal dishes with more ginger thats all.

saphira,

pls check and let me how much gynae charge for the OGTT ok?

he's not my 1st gynae. I change gynae after my company change the corporate medical group.

i find him ok so far...sometimes when he very busy and moody, he dont talk as much but sometimes when he good mood, he will talk and laugh alot. u feel the same?

r u deliverying in Gleneagels or Mt.Alvernia?

Starlite, my gynae was unable to catch the bb leh, always in funny position, tried very long also doesn't wanna show. Very stubborn! Shall c tis Sat lor....... if nt I will wait for detail scan.

Of cos he will scan for me lah....... always so long during scanning cos he tried to c the gender. Tats y I already hung white flag @ hme le. These fw days I kip telling bb our date is tis Sat 7 Oct!

Ah ger,
yes, I am very lazy so every night before I sleep, hb will apply the palmer lotion on my body but he uses a lot, a few pumps for back, then another pump here and there. I dun quite like palmer also cos I think it is a little sticky, dun know is it cos my hb uses too much.But my friends swear by it, they have no stretchmarks

Giggler, yes, I get hb to massage for me. Dun intend to go for prenatal massage. Want to save money, realised that there are so many things to spend on.

Sophie, didnt know the vinegar pig's trotters got such a benefit.

Ah ger, I love bread leh.
If you got c-section, then you can only eat fish + veg liao. But episotomy also considered wound leh, maybe also cant take chix and eggs for 1st 2 weeks?

stella, if you're bfg, dun take pork's liver, it'll reduce your ss. That's how I weaned my gal off... took some pork's liver then no milk for my gal liao.

cherryale, your hb so nice hor? Massage for you everynite.

Hadn't been visiting the forum due to work

Jus did my detailed scan yesterday at KKH.

Yippy most likely I'll be having a princess.
Most likely bec baby's legs are straight so the sonographer said its a guess of 70% - 80% accurate.

Dunno why me also go mixed feeling. Hoping for a boy initially bec 1st grandchild in the family mah.. but i do like a gal so that she can be a good jie jie to my no.2 or even no.3.. keke

Bb's head circumfrence is 16.5cm.. which is abt 5.3cm in diameter. baby is lazing ard yesteday lying on her back.. so can't actually see her spine for checking.. all otherwise baby is healthy.

I am quite glad the cost of the scan is quite cheap at KKH. total price including GST its about $75.00 .. guess its paritally subsidise bah..

Heard that there maybe another detailed scan in the 7-8th mth to check on BB's position and growth b4 full term. HOpefully than will 100 % confirm BB gender.

As for now i guess will still try to stay neutral when buying bb's stuffs