(2007/02) February

good day to all........ haben got time to come in here & chat cos doing a new calendar for 2007.

Let me quickly read thru the postings........

Guess all went out for lunch already anyway.

charis

yah lor yah lor... the elderly sometimes very stubborn also. like sometimes we dont agree to mil , she will say who got more experience? fortunately, my hb disagrees with my mil way of bringing up children cos he is a "victim" himself. he keeps lamenting that his mum is too overprotective and old fashion

Charis, manual expression is kinda messy in my opinion and totally not an option if you're expressing in the office! Imagine your colleague walking in and you're like squeezing milk out of your boob :p Pumps are definitely the way to go and if you calculate how much you'd spend on milk powder, pumping still works out cheaper if you can get enough to bf exclusively.

Giggler - nope, me nt taking studio pix lah, unless I grew beautifully which I think is diff. Ha ha ha...

Stella - poor thing, u better rest well. Can't ur gynae write excuse letter for u? So that u wun b so pressurized by ur boss? My mc also reaching max bt then can't help it wat, they hv to b more understanding. Mine arh - is too obvious to think I m faking also cos I'm stil coughing & from my voice can tell I have nt recovered yet.

KaTle - as for ur speculation of bb boy/ gal, tats wat I've observed also. for me arh, I still dunno yet, cos I din get to c the gender. So I can't tell mine for sure. Wait till my cfmn is out then I shall c if mine is accurate.

Oh, KaTle, congrats to u on having a bb gal! Dun mind abt ur FIL lah, wats more impt is bb is healthy, can always try again the nx time.

Choosing name for bb - I haven thought of one since I dun even know the gender. Anyway I will decide only at later stage lah, nw still too early for me to think abt anything. I will get a master to choose a gd Chinese name though.

BF bb - wat I heard is, you wun get milk immediately after you deliver. Esp 1st few days the supply might be lesser, bt if you latch the bb on, the supply will start & cont to come in.

Cherryale - do rest well during the break, dun let official calls disturb you during that period.

Haiz, nw is lunch time bt yet I dunno wat I wanna eat.....

ah ger,

good day to u ...
me haven't gone for lunch ..
had a very heavy breakfast...

last week busy busy ..
friday took leave to study for my mini exam ..
then only today got time to read back all the postings..

my mum is here .. so i called dr tham's office ..
see if they could put me in 2molo's schedule ..
and they agreed ...
i'm going for 2molo 4.45pm slot ..
a little late but at least my mum can see bb too ..
he he ..
as for the blood test rite .. i asked the clinic assistant .. she said normally is after the detailed scan then arrange for blood test wor ...

JC,
good that you're alrite ...
soo scary ... are u feeling much better now at the chest ?
and Congrats on having bb boi ..

CK - I had my usual bee hoon for b/f bt then dunno y dun feel very hungry. bt nw inside start to rumble abit liao (bt I know for sure it's nt me).

Oh, they also called u to change appt arh? Initially I was thinking if I shld change to Sat bt then tis Sat I gotta b bbsitter for my niece, so tats out.

Bt anyway hb & I got our plans for Fri liao. After our visit, we will go Sim Lim & buy PC parts, as we r gng to change new PC. *finally* & hb is def the one happier than me cos he's bn waiting for tat for a long time.

So, which means u also can't make it to the hospital visit lor? Ur appt 4.45pm, bt u prob may b expected to wait till like 5+ 6pm, cos of the push forward appts in the day time.

I m still thinking if I shld ask Dr Tham to give me mc for Fri or shld I apply my own AL.

I also have not thought of chinese baby name..That would be difficult..cos Im only a little/half chinese to begin with..I'll leave to my hubby n in laws to give chinese name..

Nobody's goin detailed scan yet?

I think I'll arrange to go in 2 weeks' time..19-20 weeks. Excited to confirm gender..my gynae thinks its boy..but we shall see..hehe.

speaking of names

my hb has thought of the following- boy : Han4 zu2
-girl: yi4 xin1

my hb name is called terry, he wants his son to be called Terry.Jr .

speaking of names

my hb has thought of the following- boy : Han4 zu3
-girl: yi4 xin1

my hb name is called terry, he wants his son to be called Terry.Jr .

Good afternoon! Me had a tummy ache last night after i went 2 eat fish & co with dardar(think the lemon slice was not clean ) so along the journey back home, tummy was aching painfully. So worried called gynae, but luckily no spotting or bleeding...

I went 2 see GP but doctor looks new n he said had to be caution in prescribing the medicine for me so had vomiting medicine only. On MC today.

as for bf, I would like 2 do it too. slim down quickly... My sup said whether to use manual or electric pump have to depend on the situation, she tried electric pump can't pump out n painful too, so she use manual pump n it is so easy to pump out the milk.

Hi mummy to be, my detailed scan is almost the same as urs but mine is on 26/9, tuesday , 2.30pm @ TMC. The nurse said i'm 16 weeks but i think 18-19 weeks now...actually really lost count. will reconfirm my weeks in oct checkup.

Hi stella,

ur supervisor or manager not understanding at all. please take good care of ur health.

well i understand tht if ur MC hit the max, he would then consider ur performance...so sian...think the government is still not doing much to encourage mothers to conceive. don't worry if u feel bad n need a listening ear, we'll share our ears n listen to ur complaints.

Hi ladies, my i know how do u calculate ur pregnancy weeks...is it from the month u missed ur menses + 2 weeks?

e.g, ur last menses was 6 May n in june 6, it didn't come so from june 6 to now is abt 15 + 2 = 17 weeks???

Charis,

the boy name is named under one historical character... my hb is a great fan of 3 kingdom.

gal name ah..no particular meaning..keke

I 've yet to think of the names yet.

Oh those early Feb mummies, ur delivery will be in 1st week feb so we can't go home visit during our confinement right during CNY..so sian..i like CNY the most...
looks like onyl close relative will come to our house then...

tks everyone...i m feeling much better. Think will need a few more days b4 the pain goes off.

Chinese Name --- i usually get the Feng shui master to provide a few names for us to choose.

yah...looks like all of us here will not be able to enjoy CNY. so we shd eat CNY goodies b4 CNY.

KaTIe,
If not mistaken they count from the day you had your last menses. For your case i guess u should be counting from 6 of May. You should be at about 17th week. Ladies, pls. correct me if i am wrong.

mummy2b, you can adjust the strength of the electric pump so it's ok. I'm using Ameda, it costs abt $300 and I find it gd enuf.

Charis, maybe your cousin was too tired thats why she gave up so fast? Guess you really got to be very determined to be able to bf.

PVL, ya, I really thank the God that I was able to have Vane. Cos I was diagnosed with cysts when I conceived Vane. Think both preg are miracles!!!

Catz, me didnt really conceive easily lah... tried for 1-2yrs before I got my princess.
I agree that PIS is very good but very ex leh.

Ah ger, same here... I look so ugly this preg so not gg to take much pix also. I feel so FAT this time round but when I weighed myself, I only put on 1kg leh.

stella, wow... your hb is fast in choosing names.
Any special meanings for the names?

Katie, to me, it's not whether the pump is electric or manual, but what brand & model is the pump lor. Eg, for Medela, only the PIS is gd but the elec manual is not gd and noisy. You got to do some research lah.

bac frm lunch, I ta paoed mee pok dry, can't stand eating soupy things for lunch & dinner everyday liao. bt anyway 29 I will b bac to sq one - bee tai mak soup again

Charis, me turning 20wks nx Fri bt since my 18wks chk up haben even go, and has bn changed to tis Fri, when I m turning 19wks, I dunno when I will go for my detail scan.

These fw days I've bn very very hardwking, forced myself to pao AnMum to drink. Then hor, somebody was telling me 3 scoops + 200ml of water? I tried 2.5 scoops also find it very thick *yucks*. bt no choice lah, if it's 2 dilated, dunno useful & effective or nt.

Stella - ur hb really wanna call the son Terry Jnr? Las time I hv ever tot of Jnr this thingy (long b4 I was even married hahaha) bt my sis was saying when young sounds nice lah bt when old still call Jnr, abit funny leh. Just like for Chinese name - Xiao XXX, when young is xiao lah, when old liao, shld change to Lao XXX? No offence hor, cos it's just my thought. If it happens that any of ur name is Xiao XXX, pardon me. :p

KaTle - I knew my # of wks was bcos during my 1st chk up, on the scan film it showed hw many wks/days my bb was. So I did my own backwards calculation then found out I actually conceived in early May. Usually the scan film will show hw many wks r u & etc. U will also know which day marks the turn of another wk.

Mine is exactly 2wks after menses then I conceived. So tis Fri will b start of 19wks. If u say count frm LMP, then I shld b 21wks soon. Don't ur scan film show? I dunno hw other gals know theirs though.

JC - if I was anymuch younger, I may grad as much goodies & eat b4 I give birth. Bt dunno y, ever since 04 when I started to ctrl my food intake cos I wanna get married, I nv really crave for all these goodies anymore.Hv or dun hv also nvm.

or I shld say ever since my granny passed away many many yrs ago, I nv really enjoy those CNY goodies. Cos las time we all had homemade goodies, bt nt anymore after tat...... Kinda missed her food.

Wah Giggler - after so many mths u only put on like 1kg? I feel FATTY FAT esp in the evening after my dinner. Stomach just bloated up then I feel like I m gng to burst, so difficult to breathe properly esp when I m seated dwn. Bt when I stand up I feel better. Tats y usually after my dinner, I will walk ard trying to digest.

Thanks ah ger, giggler n sap, I back track n realised i could use the scan pic to calculate my weeks,i knew i can't be 16 weeks as it might be longer than that. tyhe nurse said i'm 16 weeks so i had to reconfrim b4 i can do my detail scan so right now since i'm confirm !'m 18w1d preganant today.
kao_smile2.gif

Katle - congrats to u! when I had my 1st scan film, I kept looking @ it. Then I saw the wks/ days tare so when I rch hme I back count lor........

I m choosing GlenE.
Nearer to my hse bah, as compare to other hospitals.

Giggler, I also took v long to conceive 'cos I hv PCOS leh.. took almost 2 years to get Timothy and bingo, first time on Clomid, struck bb gold. This time round, didn't want to waste time so took Clomid and bingo, preggy first time on Clomid again.. haha
Both miracle pregnancies lor.

Katie, I'm delivering at TMC

Stella, acherly I know a guy called Junior and he HATES his name.. he says so malu 'cos ppl always make fun of him, asking which part of him is 'junior'.. so maybe just bring that up to your hubby.. if just plain Terry, think it's OK
Somehow what works with angmohs will just get mangled by us Asians lor.

Sap, nt exactly near lah, I mean even if I take taxi it shld b nearer bah..........

Taxi fare shld cost abt $10 - $12. Bt my gynae, I think he's attached to either GlenE or Mt A.

Glen E is con as I hv direct bus dwn frm ware I stay, journey is abt 45mins. TMC - too inconv for me + there is not MRT & my residential area also has no MRT. East Shore needless to say, def 2 far for me. Mt E though in town bt the walking in distance is a killer + I heard it's very dilapidated.

thanks...right now i keep an album for all those scan pics n folders to look at the videoclip during checkups.

Sap, how's the feesat GlenE? is it expensive. did u sign up forthe 2nd trimester package. the surgery charges for different operation is it expensive too?

My sis said the staff at MT A is more friendly than TMC as it is a catholic or christain hospital. She had a contented natural delivery. I went 2 visit her at Mt A not a bad envt. the only hassle is to walk from the bus stop to the hospital is a bit quiet if at night. I usually take cab there cost abt $10+.

Kat, for me I m nt so sure of the exact fees, I hv the pricing @ hme though. My gf said she paid $1.2k upon admission, then when she was discharged, she recv a change of $10+. Bt my coll who delivered @ TMC, she stayed 2 bedded, had C-sect, she said overall bill was $4k+ b4 Medisave. After Medisave, she paid abt $500+ cash only.

So, to me is, I will set aside $1.2k for hospital charges, then gynae antenatal pkg + delivery fees I will set aside abt $2k. Overall, to be safe, maybe $3.5 - $4k cash bah.

Bt again I hv to c hw. If we realise we dun hv enuff $$ by then, & if gynae really can deliver @ Mt A, then perhaps will switch. I heard Mt A is cheapest among all.

i don't think Mt. A is cheapest, perhaps if u say it's the cheapest among all private hopsital. then maybe.

But i think as a new mummy we shd learn to be thrifty too, the skill of the gynae is the most impt not paying extra for the envt n hospitalisation fee, whoic hi think the amt can be better spend in others. My sis had natural n she pay around $2k.

i'm not sure for others, if MT.A is the cheapest then what abt KK hospital.

No problem.(ah girl).

well it think it depends on whether the gynae is attached to the hospital that he/she does delivery at. My doctor koH C.H is available at MT. A n TMC.

KaTle - yeah, among pte hospitals, Mt A is the cheapest. Of cos here we are not comparing govt hospitals lah. Cos I think no one frm the Feb thread is delivering in govt hospitals.

Nevertheless, KKH is nt exactly cheap either. Bt I do not know of anybody who has delivered tare can share the charges.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Curr Preg No#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp </TD></TR><TR><TD>(koh)liling</TD><TD>2-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>3-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Suling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloe</TD><TD>5-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2 Boys,1 TBC</TD><TD>Dr L C Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Ger</TD><TD>9-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tham Kok Fun</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>starlite</TD><TD>9-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>koi</TD><TD>10-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SL Low</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>ck</TD><TD>11-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>90% Boy</TD><TD>Dr Tham Kok Fun</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella</TD><TD>12-Feb-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>chews</TD><TD>13-Feb-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>doggy</TD><TD>14-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Ho</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>PVL</TD><TD>15-Feb-07</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr H.C. Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>charis</TD><TD>16-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr. Goh Y.C.</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>lawpei</TD><TD>17-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SY Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catz</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>octbride_78</TD><TD>19-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy ( TBC again)</TD><TD>Dr Ho</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rae</TD><TD>20-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>cherryale</TD><TD>20-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liew</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>natty</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>thenuahcouple</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tun Lan</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>barbara ong</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chia Yee Tien</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bitbit</TD><TD>22-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr H.C. Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>JC</TD><TD>22-Feb-07</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>leomom</TD><TD>22-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Ben Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>winnie</TD><TD>23-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Giggler</TD><TD>23-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dr K.H. Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>26-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>moodymum</TD><TD>26-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Oxygen</TD><TD>27-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr W.B. Chan</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Princes</TD><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Princesses</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

any more updates?

ah ger,

yup yup.. they changed mine to friday also ..
but i can't make it on friday cause so late the allocated timing .. gotto go for class also ..

me too .. my bb also got rumbling sound sometimes ..

ya i can't make it for the hospital tour liao ..

at least your office got mc or leave to choose from .. me is gotto take leave ...
no medical entitlement ...

hello ah ger,

everything if fine, but work a bit busy loh... waiting for detailed scan nx week 18/09 at Mt A, gynae says will cost bout $105... times flies hor.. so fast, all of us waiting for detaied scan, still rememeber that time all of us was waiting for passing of 1st trimester...
saw previous post that u are sick.. feeling ok now?

Ck - my stomach always got those sudden pop sound bt I dunno wats tat, skali is bb somersaulting inside I also dunno.

Actually hw cme u dun hv medical entitlement? It's in the MOM guidelines leh.

I m left w/ 2 days till end of the yr. Tats y I m still thinking if I shld take leave instead. bt wat if I dun fully utilise my mc then I lugi leh. Ha ha ha......

ah ger,

maybe i clarify with my gynae nurse again...

cos the last visit, dunno if i hear wrongly or wat.. she told me if i natural delivery without epi, no need to pay a single cent for delivery charges cos it can be deducted from medisave.

i was also told to keep all receipts for anenatal checkup for medisave claim ..

I also blur liao

hi Koh, glad u r doing fine. Din hear frm u for so long........

Yeah, hw time flies, bt I realised 2nd tri is abit slow.... after so long, I hv just passed 1mth of the 2nd stage.

I dunno when my detail scan is gng to be, hopefully soon bah.

Yeah, I was sick &amp; nw still sick, bt recovering. Throat is still very itchy though lesser phlegm. Nose is still blocked @ night.

Stella - I also dunno, always get confused by the charges........ I hv nt ask anybody on the charges b4. All the info I gave was hearsay. Ha ha ha.....