(2007/02) February

bac frm lunch. Had mee sua soup again, guess I m hooked on it liao. Ha ha ha........ cos I can drink soup & it's nt so heavy for lunch.

Doggy - it's individual, Charis's body may nt be receptive towards too sugary stuff, that is y her body is reacting to it. Eg me, maybe I can't take 2 spicy food, tats y I will puke. Bt it may nt apply to everybody. Get it?

As for you rMS - did you try to eat less oily stuff, change to eat something wat u dun usually eat eg u dun like veg bt tis time round change your diet style/ habit, c if it works. or if u like to eat alot the las time then perhaps tis time round you can reduce on that? Otherwise, ask your gynae if there is anything tat can help. I have frens who MS till quite late like mid of 2nd tri bt also hv frens who MS till the end. Dun worry too much.... who knows 2mr when u get out of the bed, u will nt hv it already?

Mummy2b - Sorry can't help u though. I've nv bn to BB Kingdom nor Hypermart. Nt sure hw costly they are. As for Kiddy Palace, yes they do sell alot of bb stuff. They have many location such as Jurong Pt, Causeway Pt, NorthPoint, Compass Points, Toa Payoh. Perhaps you can search from their website on their stores locator.

Another place you can search for bb stuff is perhaps Tom & Stefanie. I only know two location - West Mall and Woodlands (Civic Centre). I dunno about other locations.

Oh, one more place - OG. They have infants section, think they probably have those few pcs for $xx. You can try check them out. You can find OG at Orchard Point, Albert Complex (Bugis) or OG Chinatown. Right nw they are having anniversary sale, but nt sure if those infants stuff are on sale or nt.

In terms of pricing, I m nt 2 sure also, bt anyway, usually so-called 'dept stores', their pricing are generally higher than you can find at those neighbouring market areas. If you happen to b staying in those HDB areas with markets, perhaps you can go & take a look. I m nt looking into all these yet, haben even thought of them though. Still so far away......

Hope these info helps.

Doggy..

Its individual like ahger mention..Cos Im ok with spicy food..I dont get nausea from eating spicy food at all..but oily food yes.

But nutritionally, Vit. B complex helps curb nausea..take foods rich in Vit. B complex..but too much sugar/glucose causes Vit. B to deplete in the body..hence u get more nausea..n body thinks there's a sugar deficit..n the body wants more sugar..then when we take, we get more nausea. I really suggest u cut down on sugar..if u r taking a lot..eg. sugary drinks like coke, cakes, etc. Try it..n see if it helps..even fruit juices r too sweet..go for natural..

Eating some meals should help..n take some menthol tea.

back from lunch....ate too much liao. Now my tummy so bloated. Ate Chicken Brani & a glass of orange carrot. Now can't breath & wanna zzzzz liao.

Sugar does not make u puke or want to puke..but too much ..yes..have u heard of the saying.."Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it".

Honey as in 'sugar'..well jus some proverbs/wise sayings..for us to think about. Hehe..

Have u ever eaten loads of chocolate, or oreo biscuits with milk, or heaps of durian, or ice blended mocha, pure chocolate? I have friends puking n myself puking after these 'glutton' feasts..haha. Seriously..n we werent preggie that time even. My FIL also vomits when he had too much sugar..cos he mild diabetic n stubborn..dont want to control his sugar.

So when Im preggie, I found this out..n I really cut down on my sugar. On days I sugar fast, I had no nausea at all.

Doggy..

Sugar does not make u puke or want to puke..but too much ..yes..have u heard of the saying.."Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it".

Honey as in 'sugar'..well jus some proverbs/wise sayings..for us to think about. Hehe..

Have u ever eaten loads of chocolate, or oreo biscuits with milk, or heaps of durian, or ice blended mocha, pure chocolate? I have friends puking n myself puking after these 'glutton' feasts..haha. Seriously..n we werent preggie that time even. My FIL also vomits when he had too much sugar..cos he mild diabetic n stubborn..dont want to control his sugar.

So when Im preggie, I found this out..n I really cut down on my sugar. On days I sugar fast, I had no nausea at all.

smurfy, must show us your blog that you create for your bb in future.

Ah ger, wow... you weigh twice a day? I only weigh occassionally when I feel like it. Which stall did you get your mee sua soup from? I also want to try leh.

doggy, me not much of backache, it's just the tailbone portion that I feel painful. I find that I cant take oily and spicy food.

mummy2b, I think BB Kingdom or Hypermart sell mostly big items, eg cots, prams, car seats, etc.

I hv nt bn taking any tea since I was preggy. I miss green tea. My boss bought me a small time of green tea leaves & I m so tempted to drink them. Like ever since I got preggy, I nv drank any tea to get rid of the unwanted oil......

Charis, I realised there are some types of chilli sauces which I can't take. Like diff stalls hv diff types of chilli for their fried bee hoon, one gives me complete satisfaction while the other one makes me nauseous the whole day, so nw I m avoiding tat stall as much as possible. As for chilli intake, I m also reducing, scared I'll bcme a 'foamy' person again. Ha ha ha.......

Wah JC - wat a heavy lunch. I personally dun like Brani grains, dunno y. Hb likes it alot bt I hate it to the core. If I eat tat, I feel like I hv indigestion. Ha ha ha......

ah ger,
i still drink lipton tea every few days, issit okie?

giggler,
will do so, next time when the blog's up

honey,
can we drink honey water. manuku honey? issit too cooling for our body to take?

i used to weigh myself everytime i pass by my weighing machine at home! and even stepping on it twice to confirm. my sis tot i was crazy :x

yeah, during preggy, it's really all abt trial & errors. I also realised tat by eating curry puffs, I will feel nauseous & etc, which is why I hv nt really bn eating tat.

Doggy - guess u really hv to find out for urself which are the food tat makes u puke or satisfied, none of us here can help much.

Giggler - wkends lah, I will weigh twice a day. Wkdays only once b4 bedtime. Then I know hw much I m b4 I eat & hw much I gain @ the end of the day mah.

Giggler - I bought it @ LPS - too far for u bah. This stall is beside the Kow Kee YTF. Well, the soup I added some of their chilli sauce lah, then I find it yummy though. Dunno if some of u will find it salty. Hee hee...... It's nt fantastically delicious bt then @ least I dun really get jer lat after eating. Unlike when you eat handmade noodles, I feel so bloated after tat + usually noodles/ mee hoon kway they give quite alot.

Las time I dinno handmade noodles stall can ask them change mee sua for u. It was only after some time when I saw ppl ordering that then I realise. When I go to a new handmade noodles stall, I will then ask if they hv mee sua.
Perhaps you can try out frm any handmade noodles stall & change to mee sua & c if it is nicer!

smurfy - ha ha ha, the way u ask me machiam I m a doctor leh. I dunno wor, bt tea contains caffeine, so if u can limit then cut dwn lor. Like instead of daily, reduce to every alt day lor.

I drink honey, esp when I m still coughing these fw wks. I take it w/ warm water. it soothes my throat. Honey is alright bt of cos dun take extremely sweet lah.

Smurfy..

A tablespoon of honey with warm water is fine..I take that too for my sore throat..I squeeze some lime/lemon inside.

Doggy..

U can try warm water with lemon or lime to curb the nausea..it helps for me..if u dont have menthol tea..menthol or pepermint is good..but not easy to get, n quite ex..maybe chinese med hall sell?

I am so vexed

just now hb asked mil whether want to help us take care of bb,,

she says she dont want, unless we go and stay with her. But how to??? unless we sell our current flat and buy one near her. Can lah... but of cos not now cos our flat less than 5 yrs. She dont seem to be happy and my hb also dun seem to be happy. I offered her to come to stay at my hse if she wants to(isit a big mistake?), but she insist we move near her.. really difficult to please.

Part of me feel guilty that both my parents in law are so old liao, should make them happy..but now ... aiyah, but sometimes it is very difficult if mil dont compromise.

Ah ger, I realised I cant take too much chilli now though I'm chilli queen leh. Didnt know that handmade noodles got mee sua leh.

smurfy, honey shd be ok... actually I believe that we can eat anything but in moderation. Think tea considered cooling and also has caffeine so better dun take it too much?

thanks for the advices on honey and tea. will reduce the tea but dun give up totally, otherwise like life so miserable, this cannot, that cannot.

stella,
anyone else can help u look after the bb? just carry on negiotating lar. sooner or later they will give in, if really no-one else to help u.

Hi stella..

U plan to go back to work after maternity leave is it?

If yr in laws cant take care..u have to find other options like infant care, nanny, maid. Or seriously consider SAHM?

In my opinion, if MIL old already or not keen to take care, she may not be fit enough to take care, n baby's well-being mayb 'threatened'..for eg, if she falls or gets ill. For my MIL, I very scared she complain tired or sick lah, if we r giving her enough money for allowance, not enough time for herself, etc..So Im prepared to be SAHM..

stella,how abt getting a nanny instead? of course, ask for recommendations lah, hopefully it will be a better arrangement rather than this to-ing and fro-ing with your in-laws since it's likely you don't wanna move?

Stella

I can understand your frustration. bt then again, MIL @ tis pt of time should try to help u lessen ur burden 1st mah. hw faraway are u frm ur PILs? Sometimes it's very diff to please both sides.

See hw u wanna wk it out w/ ur hb lor. if really can't then seek external help like nanny/ infantcare or any outside aunties whom u know & can help u take care?

Giggler - yeah, I can't take alot of chilli nw either. Me also chilli queen *shake hands*

My solution is def a maid. Bt so many ppl advise me nt to leave maid & bb alone @ home. So shall c if my SIL is willing to help us monitor the maid & bb for the 1st fw mths when I cme back to workforce esp when SIL is staying near me.

Once the maid is more or less settled & stabilised, then I will leave the maid & bb @ hme.

I hv ever tot of bringing the maid & bb to mum's plc. Bt again I thought of the hassle every morning/ night in brining them back & forth. Hence I dropped the idea.

Hb has an aunt staying near us also, bt again I m nt tat close to her. Both her kids are in Sec sch already, so by right she shld b very sin-nang, & I dun really wish to burden ppl dwn just bcos it's our problem. Even so, we still hv to bring the bb back daily then we hv to stl our housewk & food. So ideally, maid might still b the best option.

Stella..

Hearing some solutions from the ladies here..I think u discuss with hb n see what options u can take n the best one.

For me, I confirm SAHM..but Im hoping to go back to my part-time job after confinement, which is only around twice a week for 2 hours the most in the evening. During that part time, will ask MIL to take care, if she dont have anything on, she dont really mind, OR, hubby come home early (jus dont do OT) to take care of baby.

Hey u know, my preggie friend..(the one with the twins n another son), one twin down with hand foot mouth disease(hfmd)..must be from childcare..I think chance of spreading to other 2 boys quite high. But is she n baby in any danger?

stella,

me oso thinking of finding a nanny.

1. My mum dun really like kids. she's always find them noisy.
2. My MIL has to help out in their own tyre shop, so leaving the bb there would mean dumping bb in a shop

3. Me n boyboy dun like the idea of having a maid stay with us.

I really applaud those who can make the decision to be a SAHM lor. I would want to take care of my own bb, but I really dun think I am able to make such a big sacriface yet. I'm those high maintenance in terms of emotional needs. Later I go crazy first, staying at home :x

Think what happens to the bb after ML is one big issue bothering most of us.

Charis, many mummies nwadays work part-time cos they hv family commitment. So hence they dun mind doing like part-time Sec, or part-time recept, @ least to kill some time + earn abit of $$.

I dun think the mummy shld b in danger bah. I tot usually only children are affected, nt thru adults. If it is really dangerous to hv the mummy w/ the infected child, perhaps can hv her parents or PILs to help take care of him/ her for the time being.

Smurfy - ur mum dun like kids? Bt when it comes to their own grandchildren, it will b diff already. Las time mum also say she's tired of taking care of kids after taking care of the 4 of us! Bt then u c - she helped to look after my niece. & infact she learnt alot of things again when taking care of kids & the diff betwn the kids tis generation vs olden days.

I def can't b SAHM cos it's nt worth to give up the $$ I m earning nw (though nt alot) + we hv alot of commitments, def cna't afford to b single income. Infact nw, the more I shld wk & earn $$ to save for rainy days when hb completes his service in a few yrs' time.

peko - when I was still in my 1st tri, perhaps I was wearing a maternity top then the small lil tummy was protruding, somebody gave up seat for me b4 bt I din take it. I was w/ hb & wasn't tat tired anyway.

As for nw, most of the time I take bus to/ from wk, no need mrt unless I go mum's plc. bt so far nobody can really tell I m preg, unless I guess tat person really go & observe u bah.

My coll, who stays in Sembawang, & is due in Nov, she said in the morning, nobody give up seat for her. Sometimes she can't tahan, she will just squat dwn cos she feels breathless @ times. bt ppl just look at her w/o even bothering.

So frm tis u can tell hw insensitive & selfish those ppl are.

stella, think some pple will prefer to stay at their own homes rather than someone else's? Thats why your mil prefers you to shift to their place instead. Also if she really old and not willing to take care of bb for you then you better search for nanny liao.

Ah ger, you also chilli queen? I vomitted after I took too much chilli when having steamboat.
It's true that it's rather dangerous to have maid alone with bb lah.

Charis, what's your part time job?

smurfy, you're rite... I have headache abt care-giving too. Hopefully Singapore Pools can grant me my wish so that I can stay at home and look after my kids myself. Hehehe

peko, think usually ppl will treat preggies like invisible or worse still, pretend to sleep :p for me, i'm pretty fortunate tt i drive around, if not headache..

charis, it's great to work part-time.. at least will hv some income. For me, with 2 kids, dun think i can work part-time as I do not believe in maids lor...will just continue with my part-time cleaner to help with heavy cleaning.

mummy2b,
Are you driving down to Singapore? What sort of things are you looking for? Clothes or accessories? I would think that such things are cheaper in M'sia. Which part of M'sia are you from?

pekochan,

i dun take much public transport to work coz company got provides bus from tuas to sengkang.

i oso scared of taking public transport, coz if i stay for more than 15minutes, i sure feel like fainting. if i need to go out and i know trains/buses will not have seats for me, i will opt to take cabs. This is not play play for me, cannot imagine fainting in buses/trains :x

Giggler - yeah, I like chilli alot. Bt strange enuff I dun take red cut chilli, dunno y. Ha ha ha....... yeah I vomiited them out too once, after I had wanton mee w/ lotsa chilli. tats the time when I threw out foam as well lor.

No choice leh - if nobody can help me monitor the maid & bb, there is nothing I can do leh. I wun stay @ hme just bcos of the bb, cannot afford, it's gng to b a huge sacrifice + no no $$.

Giggler - I think many ppl hv submitted their wish to Singapore Pools, dunno when they can then ans our reply. Gng to make tat wish every day until it comes true.

ah ger,catz & smurfy, usually my hb will fetch me to work, if he's out of town then i got to take public transport. really buay tahan those pple hor, don't tell me they tink we are fat rather than preg??

HI gals

the problem with regards to mil is she is also abit unhappy that my mum will be taking care of my bb.

Her ideal situation is we stay near her , then she take care. I hope this will not create another eposide of unhappiness between me and her. Think from the beginning, she is not very pleased that i stay near my mum.

giggler, ah ger,
can make wishes to singapore pools. but donations dun need to give too much hor.

stella
me in tuas avenue 9. tyco flow control

peko, think they hv not been pregnant before, therefore dun understand lor.. i find that the few times i've had special attention, it's from nice aunties.. youngsters more or less bochap.

Peko - mayeb for our stage nw is still diff to tell, bt again there are many ppl in the world who are gd in feigning ignorance.

Stella - y ur MIL like tat? Hmm....... sounds like the 9pm show tat time, the Ah Gen's mum dun like Ah Ting's mum to take care of her granddaughter.

Stella - just try to ignore ur MIl on tis, no pt being unhappy over it. Having somebody near u is better than nobody is near u. Sooner or later she will understand lah. maybe hv ur hb tell her tat u all r concern abt her health so dun want her to overwk so much, hence staying near parents benefit u all by having somebody to take care of the small one.

Smurfy - me boh xim one, always 4get to 'tian you'. Ha ha ha...........

Every morning I c this lady, who is preg, much more pregg than I m def cos can tell she is like 6mths preg. However, as we all take bus frm the interchange, she can choose to take the Q right? Bt she din. She chose to stand @ the side, waiting to sqn onto the bus when the Q stops to wait for the nx bus to come. Then obviously, when she gets onto the bus, most of the time she will hv no seat. End up somebody who got a seat got up to offer her to seat.

My thought was: if she knew she will hv no seat in the 1st plc, y wanna sqz up onto the bus then to hv someone offer seat to her? if she has the need to rch ofc earlier, then y doesn't she try rch the interchange earlier, so that she can Q & @ the same time, can get a seat of her own? I kept thinking abt it bt I just couldn't get a solution. If this is the case, would you gals, if u r nt pregg, still offer her the seat?

Priviledged,
Im from KL. Yup will be driving down with my hubby. I am not too sure what I want to get. But not so much on the clothes as I already have some hands-me-down. Im more interested into looking for maybe pump, some educational toys and etc.

stella,
me not involved in operations/sales downstairs. i just sit comfortably in my office area, providing regional support :p

ah ger,
must tian you arr. this kinda thing cannot forget one. just give whatever amt u can afford then
even $1 will do.

AH GER

haiz.. from the start, i try to give in cos i dun want to create another wave of havoc. I respect her by asking her first and put her at first priority. Now in turn i was "at fault" of not staying near her.

suan le bah... so long as she dun bear grudges in her heart can liao

pekochan, I'm lucky that there's pple who give up their seats for me.
I've col who thought that I put on wt but not preggie leh. Guess it's still difficult for them to tell.

Ah ger, pple cant really tell me preggie too but they'll ask if I'm expecting. And they actually gave up their seats to me. Really kind of them. I like all kinds of chilli.. hehehe But too bad cant afford to take too much now. So when you gg to look for maid? Me gg to get maid too. My mom cant take care of 4 kids at one go lah. True lor... so many pple have submitted their wish to Spore Pools hor?

smurfy, I ever fainted in the mrt and you know what... no one offered seats for me then. So sad.... Actually I seldom donate to Spore Pools lah. Most of the time, forgot abt it.

Catz, you're rite... Most of the time is ladies who offered seats to me. Most men, esp young ones will pretend to sleep.

ah ger,
coz me oredi toying of changing job after ML. My boss internal bleeding from piles for more than one week still got to travel. Ai yoh, i Dun want to end up like him, so most probably will tender after ML.

Mummy2Be,
BB Kingdom / BB Hypermart they are located almost next to each other at Kaki Bukit .. at Shun Li Industrial Park... Pass by there a few times cos my frd's work shop is round the corner of the induatrial park.

Haven't been in there but heard the price may not necessary be cheaper then other retail, but the selction is quite wide.

giggler,
ai yoh, u must take care lor. Those fainting spells usually left me exhausted for the remaining day. Go upfront, tell one of them u r not feeling well and whether they can let u have the seat! I rather be thick skin than faint. Later faint on tummy or head how?

smurfy - I meant Singapore Pools I boh tian you. ha ha ha......... pray one I sure tian you one......

Gals - me knocking off le, we cont 2mr! Bye...... Gng to hv my Pizza Cheesy Bitez 29! hiak hiak hiak.....

BB Hypermart is better than BB Kingdom, esp 'cos BB Kingdom warranty is kelong wan. For pumps and bb stuff, best to wait until got 20% storewide at major departmental stores. Branded or imported brands are cheaper in S'pore... I looked at Isetan KLCC and nearly fainted when I saw the prices for Avent, Pigeon etc. Mummy2b, I am also from KL but staying here for long long time already
Singaporean already but we go back to KL once in a while. Plannning a trip before I hit 6 months and get restricted from entry into M'sia.. need to visit my gramps

Giggler, aiyoh take care!!!

Hi all, found this website from the other thread and feel that their tips are useful... http://www.peiling.com.my/tips01.asp

smurfy, I'm alot better now. That time, I so depressed and dun understand why human kind can be so selfish leh.

Catz, thanks... that happened few yrs ago lah. You gg to drive back to KL?