(2007/02) February

Doggy

me arh - no lah, nt much better. Nw though lesser phglem, bt then itchy throat, end up wake up in the middle of the night coughing non-stop lor.

Used to b very famous? U mean nw no meh? Nw they still need advance booking leh. If u intend to go tis wk & u try call early of the wk, it may even b booked liao.

i know i asked this before, but cannot help asking again, coz forgotten and oso bor chap.

Do you all take cold drinks? If so, how frequent?

Coz old wive's tales and ppl keep telling me i cannot take cold drink. But i crave for them lor.

Hi Smurfy,
me still take cold drinks everyday!!!! but not a lot lah, oni a small cup

Hi Ah ger,
i watched and lucky i stay in the east....but my mum ask me not to eat too much prawn noodles....

Smurfy - I seldom take. If I take refrigerated drinks, I will let it cool for 10 - 15mins before consumption.

Though it is fine to take cold drinks @ times but try to avoid. Tat time when I complained of backache, some ppl ask is it I've bn taking cold drinks. I dunno if it's relevant though, bt anyway, if u can, try to avoid lor.

John Little having sales at Singapore Expo until this Sunday. Anyone went there already?

i dun take seafood too, cos on progesterone jabs, scared that seafood will cause the wound to itch. Btw, if skin got irritation then better dun take prawns. As for chocolates, i think ok to take in moderation. Problem is they contain sugar, so too much chocolate and sweets during pregnancy is not so good, cos puts us at higher risk of gestational diabetes.

Doggy - I tot prawns are high in iron or something, & tat we can eat more? I tot I chanced upon an article though...........

Hmm, I begin to wonder, hw much has my bb grown.

Yest hb was asking me if my stomach has grown any bigger? I said of cos lah, I find it so diff in breathing cos like out of breath. I wonder hw those obese ppl actually can tahan. After a meal, I feel so bloated. Then when I sit & watch tv, I feel nt enuff breath. I wonder hw can I stand when my stomach gets bigger.

ah ger

i think prawns are rich in zinc, like most of the seafood. Not sure whether it is rich in iron... Zinc is good in boosting sperm counts in men. As for good sources for iron, beef is a good choice.

Chloe
thks for the info on JL Sales. Nothing to buy nw leh, so better dun do impluse buying.

Chocolates - yeah they are high in sugar. So must eat moderately lor. Anyway I m also nt a chocolate lover, even if I eat is @ most 1 - 2pcs.

Chloe

I'll go back & chk on my book then give u a more definite ans on prawns. Ha ha ha, me no food expert.

Beef - I do take bt nt alot also, cos all along I m nt a red meat eater. Even till nw, I also dun take alot of pork. So mum is scratching her head wat to cook for me to eat during confinement. Ha ha ha....... I told her, dun worry lah, chicken/ fish lor. So long as I wun die of hunger can already.

just nw lunch time I went to collect my grey capri frm PM. 2mr can wear liao lor.

me itchy backside, tat time I bought the white & black 3/4 frm MM, I thought I may expand rather fast cos 1st tri was rather fast. Bt tis mth I see tat it has slowed dwn, then I tried to wear the b&w 3/4s, the thighs & the buttock area still 2 big for me. I tot of altering bt then it costs $6 - 8 per pc leh. Gng to ask mum to help me alter, then I can save on the $$.

I think I read in books before that we should advoid shell fish.

As for drinking cold water, it's not a good idea especially after food. It will cause indigestions.

Chocolates contain caffeine. I try to take only small quantity.

Chloe,
I went to John Little sales already cause I work near Expo. I am not sure things are that cheap there on baby products cause I have not started buying yet but the impression given is not much difference from normal price.

hi ah ger

oh, u dun really take red meat ah? How about iron tablets? Good to replenish iron cos our bodies need iron during pregnancy.

hi saphira

ic, i was thinking if cheap then i will pop by. i think can reduce the price further if u've got robinson card?? Metro and Isetan also having sales. i bought some baby shirts from Metro at 20% discount. The short sleeve shirt each is $5.90 before discount (that's $4.72 after discount), quality seems to be quite good. Metro sales will also end this sunday.

Chloe,
I was looking at the best buy I could find which is baby shirts, 2 for $10. Designs quite limited for that price. I bought a pair of cute baby socks for $2.50 and 3 sleeping trousers for myself. Each is about $9 - $13 ($9 is T-shirt like).

Chloe, yeah I dun like red meat. My usual meat is fish & chkn & seafood only. Bt during pregnancy, I force myself to take in some beef lor. If nt I try to eat more broccoli. Pork - I only take minced pork & pig's liver, the rest I dun touch.

yes, I do take iron pills.

hi saphira

oh, then i think JL is slightly more exp than Metro... Metro is selling per pack of mittens and booties at $2.40 (cheapest i could find in Metro), before 20% discount (so that's $1.92 per pack). Quite cheap if u dun mind the simple design.

Chloe, actually bb clothes you can take your time to shop around.. 'cos those Lifestyle or Tom and Stefanie hv ok ones like 3 for $10 or uglier/thinner ones 5 for $10. I bought HEAPS of onesies (I think ppl here call them rompers) from the US and they were so useful for the NB - 6 months stage. I didn't really use separates for Timothy.. except for putting pants over his onesies for nights.

Lots of nice overrun clothes from Oshkosh, Carters etc..online stores and pushcarts. I'd rather buy those than from Cerisi (yucks). Fox is also not bad lah. It's so fun to dress up babies and kids. Yes yes, I'm a shopaholic mummy

Cold water - er.. I don't really believe that it causes problems UNLESS I am coughing then I will avoid it. But I like everything COLD and ICED.

HI GALS

just my personal comments...

i was told that those clothings for newborn , can only use for a short while only.. maybe less than a mth. so no need to get a lot and expensive ones.

There are some stores which sells 4 for 10 , material is almost similar to those in kiddy palace.

so, those who dont want to spend too much on newborn clothes, dun buy from dept stores,even if there is discount.

hi catz

well, me going to be immobile soon, so i thot while i can still walk, can shop a bit and buy a bit here and there lor. Hey really ah, so cheap leh, 5 for $10!! Can let me know where are those shops?

stella, thanks for ur advice. Can let me know where are the stores that u are refering to?

Catz, I not sure the name of my med... I'll go home to check tonite.

PVL, hahaha... ya lor, so angry that time when I knew we were being missed out of the bonus. I even joined petition to request for it but FAILED.

Ah ger, their px look reasonable. Is it under MLM? Didnt watch last week's show but quite like that show cos the food they featured are actually quite nice. I've tried a few. My fren bot me a matching top for both myself and my gal from MM. Like it very much.

smurfy, I try my best not to take any cold drinks but if cant control then just take one sip each time.

think i am one of the undisciplined mums ard.

but the few sips of cold drinks really perks me up. it's like u r so tired and so uncomfortable, then the drink is so comforting... an escape from all the un-easiness..

smurfy, I am also undisciplined..hehe..

Chloe, you can try Tom and Stefanie...and Lifestyle.. check yellow pages for the outlet nearest to you.
Also, you should prob check out those sprees in this forum for romper packs of 5.. very worth it.

Hi doggy..

U can check out Mt. A antenatal class from their website. But u have to download the brochure first. It costs about $100 plus..after work hours. U can start signing up anytime from now, cos 24 weeks u can join the program. Looks like I'll meet u there!

Catz, stella n chloe..

Ya..its true I guess dont need to buy so much baby clothes, even toys too..cos they outgrow real fast..n u'll definitely get some of these from frens n relatives as 1st month presents..right? Hehe..save money.

But, I think i'll buy 1-2 nice baby outing clothes from those branded reject stores..there's one push cart stall in Junction 8, n one shop in International plaza.

Charis,
I found that with my #1, I needed quite a few sets of daily wear clothes. Cos I didn't do laundry every day, and then the clothes needed time to dry etc. Sometimes had to change 2 sets in one day in case of 'accidents' like spitting up, peeing on clothes, pooing on clothes etc. So I just got lots of donations from my sis and other pple. If you buy, probably just buy the cheaper ones, with soft cotton. They do outgrow them quite fast.

Saphaire, you are going for detail scan already? U r in your 5th mth already? I am still in my 4th mth.

PVL, I didn't do any blood test because I done my company health screening (while preg), after he checked the report, he said no need to do anymore save money. Unfortunately I had to re-do some test for tyroid and liver. In the end I spent even more $$$. I am really broke leh.

cherrybell, ok ok taken note you changed your nickname liao, haha..

Ah ger, I agree with you regarding the prawn noodle! Some prawn noodle soup doesn't taste nice, but after watching the show, seems like I can even "taste" the soup over the screen. The big big prawn with shell seems very tasty! Ah ger do you still remember East Coast which hawker center?

Ah ger and Charis, both of u mus take care of your health ok! I had bad stomach flu during my 1st trimester, all in a mess, keep running toilet and vomitting at the same time, and stomach is very very pain, it strikes like gastric pain, very very pain every 5 minutes interval, juz like having contraction... I understand how "xin ku" being sick while being a preggy.

Yah actually I was advised don't buy NB clothes etc... then realised after a few days that I desperately needed them! Like PVL, it's not possible to do laundry everyday (besides, hv to do a separate load for bb's things) and there are plenty of accidents. Cheap ones will do lah but of course hv just a few nice outfits for 'public appearance'..kekekeke..

Charis, the J8 pushcart not cheap leh. You should check out those retailers in the biz section of this forum.. cheaper

bitbit,
Ya by next Saturday I am already in my 5th month cause my due date is 3rd of February.

Does any one have any clue what I can claim (in terms of $$) if me and my baby is not going to be Singapore citizen. I am PR. Expenses for having a baby here is so high.

morning!

Giggler - no lah, they are nt MLM pdts one. They are like a beautician salon, using these pdts. My gf's fren has bn using their pdts for 10+yrs I heard. They hv their agts to svc u, bt dun ask u to buy then join them as member. Guess tis is the diff betwn MLM bah.

I know which top liao, the Kimono top is it? I saw their gals' one, very cute..........

Oh, I 4got to chk on the prawn thing - is it iodine or zinc.

Bitbit, I dun rem liao leh....... I hv to go ask hb c if he can rem.

Haiz, I m trying to recover asap, if nt my condition like tat, my gynae sure ask again, 1st visit also sick, then nw sick again.

As for bb clothes, no need to buy those expensive ones, u know OG upstairs they hv those u can buy fw sets for dunno hw much? Or else mkt always sell alot of those cotton bb rompers & etc. My mum also buy those for my niece only, cos @ hme they dun need to b dressed up, + weather is so hot in Sin. Save the $$ to buy nicer clothes when they grow older.

2day is Fri le! So happy............ I've marked the end of 17wks. 2day is the start of my 18wks. hee hee.........

Ah Ger, nvmind, can wait just a bit longer
Prawn I think it's zinc lah, if I don't recall incorrectly.

Saphira, hmm.. not sure.. I guess you might be able to claim your Medisave for hospital expenses but prob not entitled to Baby Bonus.

Catz, my appt supp to be tis Sat one leh.......... then end up bcme wk 19 then c bb.
kao_sad2.gif

Usually I m nt worried bt bcos I m sick, then the more I wanna c to make sure bb is still doing fine.

haiz, nvm lah, suan le......... maybe bb also doesn't miss me leh? Ha ha ha......

actually also gd lah, Fri, I take already then I can hv a long rest over the wkend. Nx Fri I m gng over to mum's plc to stay overnight cos she's gng to Bkk, then need someone to help take care of my niece.

My sis will b on leave also. So I m still deciding if I shld go over on Fri night or Sat morning. If I go on Fri, then I will hv alot of barangs to bring over.

smurfy, no lah, my nx chk up w/ gynae. Supp to b tis wkend, which is 18w 1d, bt he's on leave, back on Sun. Then I scheduled my appt to Tues then Tues suddenly he has to do an operation, so again pushed to Fri lor.

I hv a feeling my detail scan will also b delayed.

Charis, you better buy a few sets of clothings cos bb got to change a few times a day, cos they'll puke milk, etc. Lucky for me that my fren passed me bb clothings so I didnt need to buy too much.

bitbit, you dun need to go for triple blood test?

Catz, my col bot the rompers set from this forum and they said that it's worth it. But too early for us to buy now rite?

Ah ger, I quite scared of MLM cos they either push you to buy pdts or ask you to be member.

Giggler, oh, yeah I m afraid of MLM also. Dun worry, I went up to the salon personally. It looks just like a beauty salon only.

Oh, anybody tried any MLM pdts b4? I heard Amway odts r gd though, esp their floor cleaning detergent. Hb's colls hv bn using them & they say the flr is really clean. Bt again, the pdts r slightly more exp than ous usual Kiwi Floor detergent.

BTW,

Is it safe for us to go for facial at this stage? Do you all go for ur facials as per normal or stop it totally until giving birth?

Smurfy - ha ha ha............... wat a gd qn! My ans to u is YES YES YES! hw can dun go facial? Dun go facial then bcme ugly mama for 9mths?

I used to hv 1/2 of my back massaged & also head massage. Bt since preggy, my beautician said she will stop it cos dunno will affect the bb or nt. So I did mainly facial lor. Sobs....... if nt if hv those massage is very shiok one, feel so relaxed after a facial.

I will b going for my nx appt somewhere end tis mth or Oct, perhaps. The las time I went was bcos hb has bn complaining of his skin breakouts.

smurfy,
I only go once a while especially when there is a big pimple on my face. So far since pregnancy ,I have not been to one yet. I usually go to Leonard and Drake. If they know u are pregnant they will advoid certain things.

thanks ah ger and saphira.

facials are never relaxing to me leh. They always poke poke with needles until whole face clean. then my threshold for pain is low. and whole face will be red for the next few days :/

best time to go before wedding is? 1 wk, 1.5 wk, or 2 wk before?

Agree with SUNSWEET. You could also pop by and ask for their advice.

If your face is sensitive, you also should also go after the wedding. Wedding makeup especially are so heavy, it's not good for your skin.

facials - you cannot lie down flat, esp after 4th months so your beautician needs to accomodate you with pillows to wedge you onto one side. Massage also cannot anyhow do esp the deep vein stuff as we are prone to blood clots during pregnancy therefore the blood clot might dislodge and travel into the heart or brain. Also, certain essential oils are no-no.. so it's good to go to therapists with expertise in dealing with preggies.

Giggler, too early? No lah.. For our first pregnancy, once we knew it's a boy, we drove to the nearest factory outlet and bought 1k worth of boys' clothes..muahahahaha

Not to dampen the spirit...

but i'm only afraid the doc scan and the actual gender at birth is opposite. It happended to 2 of my colleagues..

They advise me its safer to buy netural colours.. just in case..

sunsweet, wow, I'm quite surprised.. haven't really heard of such things happening. For us, we went on the doctor's word and really, the penis is pretty unmistakable lor... Anyway, for 0-9 months, we bought pretty gender neutral gear

Ah ger, I tried Nuskin moisturiser but not gd leh.

smurfy, I stop facial for now leh. I scared they use alcohol-based pdts leh.

Catz, hahaha... my fren's hb bot lots of boy's clothings from factory outlet in US.

Sunsweet, what happened? How come the gender turned out different?