(2007/02) February

oh looks like jelly n sap in almost same situation as me. but my kids are sleepin with us all on same bed. so... I decided ytd must shift them back to their own bed. I told zz tat he grown up. (he use to sleep by himself but he saw mei mei sleep w us n wan to n started)

then i put them both in their play pens. Mei mei was rolling happily. zz keep pting to bed n say he wan to sleep on papa pillow. I gently say no. i will pei them dun worry. I told them 2 bedtime stories

after the stories, he wan to go to my bed. then he started crying. I still say no. then i told him the most i can do is to hug him for a whiel n he HAS to go back to his own bed. He agree n i hug him a while. then he really return back to his bed. after a while both of them sleep almost same time.

then I sleep. In the middle of nite, hb woke me n say zz woke up n wan to cry liao, ask me to carry him out. I blur blur wake up n carry him to bed again
becos i so tired.

then this morn, true, I couldn't wake up!!! nearly late for work!

I wonder how to train them liao.
i regret y tat time i didn't insist my gal to sleep on her own....

Hi Sap,

During my confinement in JB, when my hubby and Xi were around (when my hubby travelled, Xi stayed with my aunt in SG), night time I wld put Ru to sleep with my CL and 3 of us will sleep in the same room, with Xi sleeps on her mattress on the floor. I wld still accompany her to sleep as usual and i wld set alarm clock to wake me every 2 hours to go study room to pump milk. I wld still feed her and a few times, bathed her, and tried not to change her routine and made her feel things have changed after meimei's arrival. After the confinement and we came back to Sg, I shifted Xi to her room (she used to bunk in same room with us) with her meimei. We bought two single mattresses with cute bedsheet sets and put all her fav toys on the mattress to entice her. She loves her new room immediately. Meimei sleeps on her playpen at a corner of the room right beside the mattresses. Night time the gals will lie side by side have their milk, then they will play a little before I put Ru to her playpen, off the light and on a wall light, then pat Ru to sleep at the same time prevent Xi to come close to the playpen and disturb meimei. Then I will "drag" Xi to her mattress and try to make her to sleep. I put a baby monitor in their room so middle of the night if either of them cry, i will quickly rush to their room just in case another one got waken up her sibling's cry.

Not easy at all to take care of two gals at night by myself and I get very little sleep everyday, abt 4 or 5 hours, if lucky. But I guess this will past. These two nights i see some improvement as in Ru only woke up once at night, and after i put pacifier to her she back to sleep immediately. So she can actually sleep thru the night without any milk feed. Hope this is the start of getting back my lost sleep.

jas
u still breastfeeding?

how many mths old is Ru now?

EQ is harder to care for than QY
.. always wanna carry type

girls.. what do bbs do in 2 and 3rd mths arr? when will the phase of always wanna carry stop arr? getting impatient..

oh and oso QY super jealous or was he simply rough.. caught him trying to hit her head.. pull her limbs..

smurfy,
sarah is very different from ryan too. Ryan can sleep by himself from beginning. In the beginning, she also only want to be carried to sleep. Will wake up and cry when i try to put her down. then had to carry her to walk, then can sleep.

But please hang in there... it will pass soon. Now sarah is 6 months, she can more or less sleep on her own. I just have to be lying next to her. Problem is Ryan likes to come into the room and then wake her up. If that happens and she crys, I have to give her her pacifier and she will fall asleep back on her own after that.

I noticed things get easier when they start to turn and flip.

Ryan is jealous sometimes too. Sometimes, he just collapse on the floor and tell us he can't walk cos he wants us to carry him. This is especially so when he sees us carrying sarah. Also wants us to hold milk bottle for him... can die sometimes.

But they do really enjoy each other company. Ryan will make a fool of himself and sarah will laugh and they can go on and on.

smurfy/ chocbabe, dunno is boys tend to be more attention seeking. zz also like to hit her head and pull her limbs sometimes. I think it curious too lor. then he also like to imitate G actions. If G stretch out her hands to hug, he do so too.

but if I threathen to give mei mei away as I say since he dun love too by hitting her, he will quickly run over and sayang her. Soemtiems he hug her and kiss her. so I guess he love her company too. then mei mei will smile n stop crying.

They like to play with each other too like catching. then now as G walk more stable liao, it easier as they can run n chase each other n adults relax haha.

zz also like to make funny faces and do something to make mei mei laugh. I must say mei mei love him alot. If she is upset, she would wan gor gor to sayang, hug her. she act strecth out her hands to him. v funny hahah but v heartwarming.

then sometimes he act bro... n discipline mei mei like telling her not to go close to tv or touch something dirty... but he abit rough... sometimes pulling her hands off forcefully. I told him mummy will guide her instead but also tell him it good for him to tell mei mei. then I will tell mei mei "u see gor gor tell u cannot do this"

now mei mei is sleeping back in her playpen. but zz still wake up in middle of nite to come to sleep w us... hiaz. guess slowly train him back.
but now he do wake up middle of nite to pee... but I still thinking whether I shld let him go diaperless in the nite? I scare i slept over too...

smurfy, zz always wan carry in beginning but G always sleeping hahahaha but now when outside G always wan carry... lazy liao... luckily she is light

chocobabe
ur post is really assuring.

i think i sucks in newborns.. super no patient type..

mummies with alternative daycare plans after ur maternity leave ends..
where do ur babies sleep during the day time arr? last time QY slept in yaolan and bouncer at my mum's place but i reckon these seems danger zone for EQ, with QY's rough and mischief handling..

and for those sleeping in playpen...
can sleep until how old arr?

garfield,
hey just visited zz blog. Can u tell me where is the place which has that blue and pink chair they sitting one? been wanting to look for a chair like that for a long time....

smurfy,
My babies always sleep in their cot. Why don't you buy a small inexpensive cot (from Ikea, for eg) and put at your mum's place. It's safer and your mum doesn't have to worry about her. Playpen is good too, but I feel that the playpen is too near the ground, quite bad for the back if you have to pick up and put the bb down, esp when she becomes heavier. Cots are more ergonomic, higher up. Can use to change bb too.

garfield,
So good, zz can go diaperless at night already? Ben is quite reliable during the day, but for his nap and at night I have to put him in diapers. Also when we go out, he's in diapers. My hb has no confidence even in the day. On weekends, he will put diapers on Ben when he's babysitting. So sometimes on Mondays, I have to re-train Ben cos there will be accidents. Last Mon, he peed on my sofa!!!

garfield, chocbabe, smurfy,
Yes, Ben is also quite jealous, and sometimes tries to be a baby too. Since Gabriel arrived, his once reliable poo-in-toilet habits are now sometimes not reliable anymore. He has had too many diaper accidents already. We get very annoyed with him. Then he also pulls G's arms backwards, hugs him by the neck, lies on him etc etc. Very dangerous.

pvl, ohhh u better watch Ben whenever he near Gabriel... we also keep look out cos sometimes he just hit G for no reason...
I think he affected by his arrival so got to be patient w him for the diaper incidents lor.

oh u think it good he go diaperless at nite?? well, maybe i really lazy.
last nite he woke me up again and repeat wan to pee many times but I was in a daze. Then he cry loudly cos maybe v urgent liao... then I act lose my temper n scold him
feel so bad now. well, maybe once he can go toilet himself then happy ;p
well anyway he sleep in playpen noe so he can't get out himself too ;p

chocbabe, oh that is in cafferour children section in suntec...

PVL..We went thru a similar situation..after Yael was toilet-trained..but we persevere..and decided to go diaperless all the way..even outside now..so he holds his pee outside til reach the toilet but he had poo accident before cos jus cant make it on time..so sometimes i still put diaper when we r out..
I dont give milk or too much water before bedtime so he goes w/o diaper at nite n nap too..no accident so far.

Hiiii everyone... sorry haven't posted much lately.

Has huskie popped by now? Didn't see any announcement!

chocbabe, saw your photos in Perth.. looks like you had a good time with Ryan and your hubby
Poor Sarah got left behind ah? hehe.. so did you guys stay in a serviced apartment in Perth? King's Park is always sooo nice. Timo loved it when we brought him there.. he was about the same age as Ryan then. Seeing your photos sure brings back memories of 'one-child' family moments

smurfy, playpen can sleep until the bugger is too heavy and the playpen creaks.. hehe.. Beth still sleeps in the Graco whenever we go on holiday but we bring a custom-made mattress for her too.

Hubby has been gone for a week and a day and now only the kids start to realise that something is wrong. :p Hope they don't get too difficult to handle in the coming months. Hubby'll probably return for Christmas and Beth's first day at kindy... fingers crossed.

PVL, ooh Ben's jealous.. oh dear.. Beth is still not going anywhere with the peeing training either. Even my helper is getting very frustrated that 5 minutes after she does a pee on the potty, she lets go a huge dose on the floor :p

Hey Catz,
I haven't popped yet!
EDD is 2 Oct - waiting for natural contractions to happen, but baby not engaged yet leh, although it is at the brim of the pelvis.
No induction, no epidural since I am trying for VBAC.
But gynae says if by 2 Oct, still not contractions, then have to Csect liao, cos placenta does not receive that much nutrients since it's sitting next to the old Csect wound whose nerves are cut and blood flow not so good, so he doesn't want to risk the baby's health.

I'm sure you'll do well even without hubby, although I am sure it's tough.
How did you celebrate your birthday?

smurfy,
Has your cf lady gone back?
Eh, I am also worried about newborns... anytime for me soon! :p

huskie, I really thought you'd popped already. BTW, I happened to meet a mom who sends both her kids to Singapore Montessori and she's v enthusiastic about the place. Want me to put you in touch? Has Soph started? Yes right?

Birthday ah - my sis and BIL brought me the kids to Jade Palace for dim sum brunch and then dinner was at the Stuart Anderson's at NUS.. was v posh and nice. Of course the kids were a leetle noisy :p

Newborns - er.. apart from cleaning a lot of poop and the sleeping/feeding, not much else right? ;) Actually I think newborns are easier than naughty toddlers.. haha.. but maybe Beth's newborn period was sooooo bad that I've got permanent amnesia :p

Catz,
Actually we decided not to put Soph in SG Montessori cos of some changes in our lives.
We'll be moving nearer to my MIL's place at Bukit Panjang in Dec so we'll get some support from her when baby #2 arrives.
I spoke with SG Montessori principal and asked if I should continue to put Soph there from Sep-Dec, but she said better not in case Soph gets attached to SG Montessori and then gets traumatised when she has to change school again in Jan.
So Soph is basically just staying at home with me now.

Wow, Stuart Anderson's steak sounds nice... maybe I should attempt to eat that before I pop!
I have a feeling I may end up Csect cos till now still no engagement and contractions *sigh*
But the reassuring thing is that my MIL's friend says this gynae is good - Csect wounds are done nciely and without much pain.

Actually, Soph's newborn period was not so bad, but the bf part was torturous for me... hope it'll be better this time round!

Huskie..Glad to hear from u..We'll pray tat it will be smooth VBAC..otherwise praying fr a smooth c-sect and recovery..watever the outcome important tat baby and mum are safe!
Good that u r moving nearer to some support..cos Im sure u need help with the 1st few months..

For me, aiyah my MIL actually told my hb she can't help us when baby born next Jan..she said she can't manage, jus ask her to come and stay to watch over Y tat's all leh..fed-up..she's our own help..and I told my hb if she don't want to help, then I hav to ask my church ladies to help to cook etc, cos we can't afford a confinement lady..but my MIL made a lot of fuss last year..she said we make her look bad when we asked "outsiders" to help..but no choice wat..

huskie, oh wow, biiiiig changes! We moved just after Bethany came out too. #2 means huge changes in the household. It's good that you're nearer to your MIL's place. You sold your lovely place at Bishan Loft?

Mmmm Stuart Anderson always hits the spot for me
I really hope baby engages but don't forget subsequent borns always engage late anyway.

Charis, your MIL quite good at putting up a good show for people eh? She seems so cheerful and capable when she came along for the lessons lei.. a bit surprised that she doesn't really wanna help out. But I guess you also cannot force her. If Jason can take 2-3 weeks paternity, you should have it a lot easier? Perhaps send Yael for kindy? And do confinement catering?

pvl
i dunno n dun think my mum's place got space for a cot... :\.. in the past, QY slept in bouncer and yaolan while he was there and much younger.. but these seems danger zone for EQ with the notti QY ard.

catz.
ur holidays sounds like a big big affair.. but hey, u r good leh, can manage the lil bethy out on holidays.

huskie
my CL happily taking short breaks during these few holiday seasons leh.. go back malaysia.. she's supposed to be back today.. but not here yet.. nvm.. the longer she dragged on her 2mths.. the easier for us to manage when she's totally not ard as EQ would be bigger then...

oh i read ur blog.. kekeke likewise, me sooo happy when confirmed a place.... crazy parents right? anyway.... have a safe delivery if i / u dun log in...

go go eat ur steak.. confinement sucks.. caring for newborns sucks.. enjoy now while u can..

garfield
just saw ur blog... my sis bought that exact same chair for QY.. now QY happily enjoying his personal seat while watching TV at my mum's place..

hey hey,,, i like gemma.. very dainty looks.. soo sweet.

Charis,
Thanks for the prayers - I think I will need LOTS of it!

So sorry I have not replied you on the testimonial - been busy with the flat and getting ready for baby stuff etc. Will try to get it out in the next few days!

I'm also surprised your MIL is not willing to help, cos she seemed really nice and so affectionate with Yael.

My MIL is pretty good. She comes to my place nowadays, travelling all the way from Bt PJ to Bishan to help out in the afternoons. She'd buy lunch on the way in cos I really have no energy to walk out to buy/cook, then she'll play with Soph and then cook dinner for me. I really appreciate her help.

Catz,
Yeah, BIG changes! But moving nearer to MIL temporarily is good so I can have some help, since hubby doesn't really want a maid. Not that I am expecting MIL to be maid, but at least she can help look afetr Soph/birng Soph for walks while I cook/nurse infant.

Aiyoh, this is my 39th week already - do subsequent borns really engage that late? I must keep talking to baby to get into position liao, otherwise I think mid next week will be my C-sect date!

smurfy,
Which school are you sending QY to? You haven't updated your blog for a long time? I've been sneaking in, but hee, I think you haven't updated for a LOOOONG time?

Eh, cf really sucks meh? I am so looking forward to cf food! :p
Thanks for the well-wishes

Hehe smurfy, your comment so funny - confinement sucks, newborn suck.. that bad meh? ;) Maybe me close shop already so I can sit back and gloat. Wahahahaha. Holidays are usually a little chaotic cos we still keep to their naptimes and bedtimes but what would a holiday be without both monkeys? Now thinking of going hol without hubby.. maybe drive to KL.. but dunno if I can keep awake the whole journey :p Cos I won't have a backup driver and I hate to stop at the highway stops if I don't have a bodyguard, know what I mean? One woman with 2 kids is prime target for carjacking :p

huskie, oh so you won't sell off Bishan, just rent at BP? Your MIL sounds really nice to come all the way down to help you. Your hubby seems like the v mild temperament type so I wouldn't expect his mom to be a warhorse

haha same thoughts as catz, maybe i pass thru newborn phase so looking back, I find taking care of new born was not so bad after all. dealing w a frustrating toddler is worse hahhahaa
n I have 2 lor. haha

but nowadays zz is getting more understanding lor...

charis, will yael ask for milk n water in nite? how u train him? cos my boy still drink nite milk b4 he sleep. then nowadays start to train him back to his playpen sleep. then he ask for water to suck. I give in cos I wan him to sleep himself... but prob is he wake up to pee

I not been sleepin well... he will insist to go toilet even when wear diaper. Every nite at least once he wakes up... I had to wake up 530 for work
n i had to drive somemore... jialat
silly hb sleep sleep n bo chap or act sleep.

then last nite zz ultimate, cry again say got lizard in playpen... I say where got?? then bo bian get him out becos I really tired....

smurfy, thxs for G comment... ya my fren also like her looks. when she saw her photos, she say she feel like hugging my gal... but my gal dun like ple to hug her 1. except for us lor. even daddy she sometimes declined...

garfield, at least zz is becoming more understanding, ashton is becoming worse. He is very naughty, insists on his own ways, doesnt like the new maid etc. Its a chore to bath him twice a day cos he will refuse to get out.

actually i prefer newborn too they slp so much and the hse is a lot more quiet. Actually if its just ashley at home, its also quite quiet as she takes 4 naps a day although each nap is short. Ashton is the terror, I really need to pray for a lot of patience when it comes to teaching and disciplining him

cherry, ya newborn just confine in their cot so alot easier to control... haha

when zz and G together, we still keep look out cos zz might beat her 1 as I mention. sometimes might push her n G will struggle to balance... she now v clever, will know how to siam gor gor when he comes close.

got 1 time G was following him out of rm, he suddenly turn around n beat her face! She cry. n hb saw n took his fav panda toy away. he cry immed n wan his toy back. he v cartoon, immed go over to G and sayang her n tell me "I sayang mei mei already!" I explain to him this is not ok. If I beat u up n say sorrie, would u like it? n furthermore G didn't do anything wrong.

told him to apologise to papa. he went over and say sorrie. hb say ok say u will not beat mei mei. he say. then hb say "if u beat mei mei again, I will throw away yr panda"
he say "No". hb ask u understand? i will throw if you beat again. zz reply "no" again. he really v stubborn... so it mean he will beat her again lo

huskie
oPs.. confinement foods r nice n good.. onli good thing abt confinement kekekeke.. he's going pat's morning session..

EQ cries alot leh... QY calls her "cry sister" in chinese.. :x

Catz, Huskie..Aiyoh..what u all don't know is, we had to plead with her to help out during that time when I had the class in Bishan, she wasn't very keen..Anyway, she's dotes on Yael in front of all of us..and I believe she loves him, but she's those kind of grandparent that love to that extent only la..love, spoil..but take care no thank u..u know what I mean..
My hb will be away for reservist..hehe! Thankfully he'll be nearby..Tekong Island!
I don't intend to put Y in Kindy cos want to home-school him, so put him in and then take out, kind of disruptive..Confinement caterer unfortunately is out too..cos we observe "kosher" diet, n no caterer can make the exception for us.
So I'm intending to prepare some confinement food a week before delivery, and other simple food, like stews and freeze portions.
But I can't be alone at home with 2 kiddos after delivery, think not safe..
If she really don't want to help, then no choice I hav to ride it out on my own..maybe my dad may b able to drop by to check on us..but I very paiseh la..MIL is free, shake leg at home, my mum sure make noise and ask why she like tat.

Huskie..Eh yr MIL rather nice to u..quite a distance from her place to yours, but she willing to travel..
My MIL does not visit us at all..and hardly calls..hahaha..she's appears nice and motherly though..but she's always bound by her mindset..she's afraid of getting tired or sick..so she won't go all the way out to help.

Rgd the testimonial, its ok la..when u can, jus 1-2 lines will do..thanks.

Garfield..Yael asks for plain water and will drink a few sips..he never ask for milk at bedtime since I stop bf..I think a small cup of water should be fine..but milk not a good idea..cos milk, how much will ZZ drink?..if at least 1 bottle got chance will pee at nite..hehe.

Sometimes they scared of certain insects or things then they give "excuses"..haha..toddlers are smart! But of cos sometimes genuinely they saw lizard, or spider in the toilet or somewhere so they don't want to go near to the place etc..
Y say " backside pain!" cos he don't want to sit in the stroller or car seat!

Huskie..By the way, I read somewhere that there's a few simple exercises/procedures u can do to help baby engage..u can go on the net to find out..I'll keep a lookout for u..will post the link here if I can find it.

charis,

i agree that shoudn't give milk before bed... but easier said than done... my milk junkie still drinks 1 litre of fresh milk everyday. Everynight, he will drink 1 big bottle before bed. Hard to potty train him at night... he is a really deep sleeper also. Sarah cry so loud, he also won't wake up.

He can only pee in the potty in the day so far.

charis, so cute Y say backside pain! they really getting smarter noe... knoe how to reply us... haha

there 1 time he saw spider in toilet after he pee in middle of nite. he like start to shiver n wan to scream liao, luckily i alert n comfort him. but i "woke" up liao lor...

last nite he drank water again. but luckily he drank half and say dun wan liao. then say wan to pee. so he pee b4 goin to sleep

then he ask me to take the bottle away from his playpen.

again I brought him to toilet. my hb say his eyes v tired ^*&*&* i told him if middle of nite shld he wake up, he take over. as if he the only one tired when he wake up later than me everyday!

chocbabe,
ya mine still wanna drink milk bedtime. he too use to it liao. so now maybe train him to pee b4 he sleep.

zz is also kind of deep sleeper but i dun knoe y he can wake up to pee lor. guess he can feel it n doesn't wan to pee in his diapers. he can wake up pee then go back sleep. ya act I glad tat he noe knoe how to pee n poo in toilet. rem I use to be sad tat he doesn't take to potty. but act noe I feel v tired...

maybe i shld train him to pee himself by putting a potty in room? but i think he too young to learn? hiaz...

n finally last nite gal slept from 9 and never wake up when I wake up this morn! hopefully she stay this way. cos normally if she slept 8 plus or 9, she still wake up around 11 and then play n play dun wan to sleep... maybe she really tired this time.

finally some nice pics of my face black black girl..

u think the 2nd pic is good enough to be cropped for passport photo?
3021731.jpg
3021732.jpg

hb has been nagging me to take pic... to bring her to malaysia as his grandma got cancer.. wanna bring EQ to see her before it's too late...

smurfy,
She does look like QY, esp. the first pic! Her hair is so thick!

Charis, Catz,
Yes, my MIL is quite a gem. She still does not believe in spending her retirement looking after grandkids like my mum (my mum looks after my 3 nephews aged 3, 1.5 and a newborn). But at least she helps out when we request for her help - such as the 1st tri and last 2 weeks now. She's even offered to come and stay with us next week in case I get contractions at night, then she can be home with Soph during the night rather than us packing Soph to go hospital with us.
She got a shock when she heard that my bro and SIL are going for a holiday next month, leaving the 1.5yo and the newborn with my mum... hee, she gave a really disapproving look, and I laughingly reassured her I won't do the same thing to her! :p

Charis,
Is your mom working? Can she help you out or can you go over and stay with her during the first month?

Thanks for offering to help me find the exercise - I'll try to look for them too. I didn't dare to do it at first cos I was afraid baby is in posterior position and if so, then we really don't want the baby to engage. But today, the gynae told me baby is in a sideways position which he says is best for natural birth... I asked him if I can start squatting more to help baby engage and he says I can if I want to
He was pretty relaxed throughout the whole appt today, maybe cos my blood pressure was within limits... just sort of reminded me again when I should start to make my way to the hospital when the contractions start and how to time the contractions.

huskie, excited for u.... just relax n let nature take its course. glad tat yr gynae also make u reassure...

smurfy, EQ looks just like QY! esp first photo lor. ya i think the second photo can use. but maybe u must crop the side first? if not she looks small in photo? act I feel this bio passport photo not nice 1. G photo turns up v dark n she look like an ah mah ;p

Huskie..Squats are one of the exercises..also leaning forward with knees/legs lower than body..when u sit..so guess u can sit on those swivel chair, the other way round, n lean forward towards the back support.

My mum is working..n she can't take more than 1-2 days' leave..I prefer not to move in with my parents..cos they keep a pet cat who sheds a lot of fur!

We will hav to persuade my MIL..otherwise we hav no choice, I'm goin to try to be on my own, anyway I hav managed on my own so many times, after the A&E asthma episode, during and after the miscarriage beg of this year etc..Well but I'm sure my MIL will end up coming over..she can't be that "heartless" right? Hahaha.

garfield,
Hee, I am also excited, but more cos of the fact that I will be going without epidural! So scary! But I tell myself since you and jelly can do it, I can also try lah... crossing my fingers!

Charis,
Yes, I realised I've been lying down a lot with my feet propped up, and that is not a good position to get baby engaged, so now trying to do what you suggested.

Oh yeah, if got cat, then better not, esp. since you have a histroy of asthma and baby may be vulnerable. I think your MIL will help eventually, if not for yours and Y's sake, it's also for her "not losing face" like what you said

huskie,

just think if last time women can do it. rem epi is not available tat time... but also dun stress yrself. If really can't dun blame yrself lor. everyone have diff threshold of pain.

do u always get bad mensual cramps when PMS? If got, just imagine tat pain but more pain lor. hope it helps. just rem to breathe in and out at constant time breathe in when no contract, breathe out when contraction start. dun keep breathing in n out v fast, cos u will lose energy v fast. you do short time breathing only when it reach the high contraction, like happening every 2 or 3 min.

then another tip is to think of how yr bb will come soon, how he look, pray w him, think of the happy things, try not to focus on the pain.

some ple find gripping hb arms is good. for me, I grip the sides of bed. so when contraction start, I just squeeze the bar to "channel" pain. haha

garfield,
Thanks for the tips! I think the breathing out when contraction starts and in when no contraction tip is really good - I totally forgot what it's like to manage pain!
Yep, I used to get bad menstrual pain... a friend told me contractions is like menstrual pain x 10times, so I am trying to prepare myself.
Gynae probably wouldn't allow epi due to my old Csect wound, so if really cannot tahan the pain, will have to ask him for emergency Csect... hope no need to resort to that!

huskie,

ya i find the pain * 10 times too cos I also use to have bad mensual cramps.

it good to mentally prepared and calm yrself down. tell yrslef the bb has to come out somehow. when u ready then get nurse to check u, other than tat, no pt stressing yrself when she come by n only still same or 1 cm more dilation. only make u disappointed n give up.

i find the breathing techniques really helps. also the mask at times lor. I try to use the mask at the last min cos I wan to think tat I still got the mask if really pain. in a way it helps me to not think of gettin epi or other method. haha I still rem my birth process... will never forget...

good luck to u!

huskie, actually the pain spreads to the back and can feel a little like a very very nasty bout of food poisoning.. but I think you're actually a very mentally resilient person so you probably can do it if all conditions are right! Mine was induction so it was freakin' painful lah.

After a while, the mask didn't work cos I was only 3 cm dilated and the contractions were coming every minute. So I ripped the mask off the wall and hit my husband with it after he returned from a leisurely half an hour drinking coffee while I was suffering contractions. :p

catz, ya induction was really alot painful n stronger, as in every min like pain... luckily i dilate v fast... if not I also give in.

so huskie, no induction for u too rgt? so hopefully u can cope w the pain every 5 min.

catz, haha u hit yr hb w mask. I was like waning to use it n hb keep tryin to stop me as he do not wan me to use it too early n then give up. I scold him too n ask him y he call me to give birth... &^*(* n snatch the mask to use.

2nd birth lagi better he dun even have chance to come in (he was outside doin procedure), I gave birth liao ;p

so admission time was later than give birth hahahahah

another thing huskie, must learn how to co-ordinate w gynae. this is stage 2 where the bb is comin out. forgot to tell u. cos this is impt too. cos if u dun push as instructed, u might injure bb head too. gynae instructions really helps. cos by then u might not rem how to breathe properly liao.

Good morning mummies,

huskie,
Very excited for u. Hope both of us can withstand without epidural and have a fast and save delivery. I am also hoping this time I will not have to take epidural. I like the idea of transfering the pain onto something by gripping. Just scream if need to. I think I would end up doing that too. Ha ha!

Would like to ask. Is second time delivery easier than the first time? Is it faster too?

smurfy,
Your little angel really look like QY. She is so adorable. Give her a big big kiss for me ya? Xinfaye was born with dark skin tone too. Not sure why but my parents told me that I use to be like that too. started to lighten as I grow up. If I were to look at the palm of Xinfaye and compare it to mine her's is kind of yellow. Wonder if your bb is like that too.

By the way,
want to ask about something that have been bothering me. If we push very hard, will be push out our poo too? It would be embarrassing isn't? Futher more I have piles problems now that i am pregnant.

saphira
i was worried abt tat in the 1st pregnancy as well.. but reading on books said that that's the right way to push.. and gynaes will wipe any poo away subtly..so tis time round, i just bor chap and pushed.. hb said some, lil watery stools did came out (coz given the pill earlier onz and most poos would oredi be out)..

Thanks Smurfy for the reply. The last time didn't have time to do enima. Think this time I do myself at home first to avoid being embarrased.

By the way, did u manage to check you bb's palm if it is yellowish comparing to yours?

sap
compare the palm for? yah..

2nd delivery easier n faster n more comfortable... coz 1st time waterbag burst.. then when do VE, started bleeding.. soo messy.
.. i opt for epidural.. this time is really no pain delivery.. up to the stitches time :p.

smurfy,
thanks again for the info. I was thinking that both our daughters are quite tan at birth and am wondering if your daughter have yellow skin too. It is only noticable if u compare your palm with hers to see if her palm is yellowish in colour.

sap,

i send u a mail. but i haven't check if u reply...

ok dun think u shld paiseh cos the nurses r so exp... think they seen too much lo. for my first, i use enima so seem like never lor n zz was out after 3 pushes. for G, i think i did lor cos i didn't use enima cos i thot it wun happen as i did at home liao! but nurses assure it ok. so tat comfort me.

i got another fren who also like tat n she say the nurses just clean her up.

if u have piles, then better try not to push TOO hard. just push n see wat gynae say. dun keep pushing too. cos i kenna for my boy. for 1 mth, my piles hurt n ache.
i never have piles

then for G, i dun dare to push too hard liao. but seem it was better.

ya for 2nd delivery def faster for me.