(2007/02) February

skinnybabe, congrats on No. 3 coming. The Singapore government should really thank pple like u :)

Catz, I wanted to see your children pics, esp. Bethany but by the time I get in to read the forum, the newspaper featuring your kids are nowhere to be found at home :-(

kekeke i put on 8.1kg for the pregnancy.. and has lost 11.9kg sooooo far... so happy... can lost the fats i gained after stopping breastfeeding during QY's time..

yah i oso wanna see bethy's pics..

eekks.. u girls really good leh.. still aiming for #3... i cry when i see my #2 leh... still having tots on why i soo persistant to have #2 then
.. i guess i just dun do well with new borns..

Charis, Saph,
Yeah, I am trying to eat more healthily too - but I think it could be genetic that baby is skinny, like Soph and me :p

peko,
I got married at 28, then we only really decided to have a kid at 32. Seriously, before that, I could not imagine myself having kids - we were just so busy enjoying life! But at 32, I had 1 m/c and then by the time I gave birth to Soph, I was already 34! So now trying to make up for lost time - must be more productive

That day gynae just told me he had a 45-yr-old mommy-to-be... so encouraging!

smurfy,
You must be a HOT mommy now, having lost so much weight!
Eh, don't cry when you see your infant #2 lah - just think of those times when she grows up and will be as cute as QY

You think she will have curly hair like QY? I think kids with curly hair are so cute.

GOod morning mummies,
Went for gynae checkup last Saturday. I've gained 3kg in one month!! In total I've gained 10kg at 26weeks
Baby is growing well. 900g something (forgot the exact number). Gynae said it's average size.

smurfy,
I was also very afraid of my baby daughter. She was like a little crying monster as i was having lack of milk and was in pain. But still I love my daughter so much as she is really very adorable and sweet especially when things are more stabilised. Also, I am sure u will enjoy dressing her up

i'm at work now but so uneasy today cos i overslept and didn;t have time to pump or pack my pump. I jumped out of bed, wash up, change and drove to school. So now my breast is super engorged and feeling very jittery. Gonna fly home when i finish work at 1.45pm later.... uurrgghh...

oh chocbabe, tat is frightening not to bring pump... tat time i also go everywhere w pump, everytime thinking of it! haha

smurfy, how u lose so much weight so fast? teach me ley... i started dieting n exercising ever since i official stop bf... but sometimes still can't fight delicious food lo... sian...

Actually i also lost quite abit of weight this time... and very fast. I also dunno why. I put on about 7kg for my 2nd pregnancy but lost about 13 kg so far. I'm now at my pre pre pregnancy weight. Even lower than when i had Ryan. I haven't smelled forty plus kg for a long time till now. Actually i never really try to lose weight. My husband and i are fast food junkies, so we eat quite abit of fast food.

Prob the only thing different this time is i sleep alot less. Gotta burn more energy taking care of 2. Also breastfeeding my daughter. Now at 5 months, i'm still total breast feeding but really want to cut down when she reaches 6 months cos really tiring for me to wake up at 5 plus to pump before i go to work. Plus as a teacher, i have a time table to follow, so quite tough to find time to pump.

mummies with 2 kids or more......

how u manage to take care of 2 kids or more nad coach the elder kid(s) with constructive learning activites?

I a little lost now.. cos my #1 dun want me to read to her at night.. then i am trying to make #2 sleep early so i can glue myself to #1 for some TLC time..

How you gers manage it all??

Jazz, hehe, everything's on FB. I've not been logging into forum v often these days too!

chocbabe, aiyoh, poor you.. engorgement is HORRIBLE esp when you start leaking! :p Hope you are coping OK with all that's going on in your life right now. I'll be in the same boat in just under 3 weeks.. boohoo.. and he can't even clear leave to be with us. Horrible organisation.

sunsweet, er.. I didn't really get to coach Timo at all when I was just busy trying to stay alive with #2. But bedtime stories remained. :p

cherry, sollee, not doing
I've gone gaga over bags these days, hence hanging out at bag forums.. kekekekeke... so not really spree'ing so much these days after the Gap 30%.

catz,
he leaving so fast? oh dear...you gotta be strong too. how long will he be away? any possibilities of you guys making a trip there?

oh yes, engorgement is so horrible. I've never seen my breast pads so soaked till my shirt was wet too, but luckily the top i wore today wasn't that obvious.

I'm coping each day as it comes. Don't like weekends cos day seems to pass really slowly without hubby around.

Sunsweet,
I also trying very hard to juggle the 2 kids. I must say i've been neglecting #2, cos i feel that Ryan at this age understand feeling more, so i need to pay more attention to him, especially cos daddy not around. I have to depend on my in-laws with #2 cos i think she's still young to really understand anything.

sunsweet,
Its VERY DIFFICULT. I homeschool Sarah - she's got a 'fixed' curriculum. At the same time I engage Ben in some activities, like pasting, cutting, counting beans. That means that my time with Sarah is usually interrupted. We're used to it. After a while, I put a video on for Ben, and then continue with Sarah. Normally, all this takes place when Gabriel is having his morning nap. If he's not being a 'good' boy, and decides not to nap or to have a short nap, then I might even BF him and teach at the same time, and then/or else put him in his rented exersaucer. Can't wait for him to be able to sit up more steadily, then I can just dump him on a playmat nearby, and he can play by himself.

Peko, Saph, Huskie,
I had Sarah when I was 36. So you can guess how OLD I am!
You are all still young, so do go on and have more kids.

sunsweet,
Oh, forgot to mention, when the boys take their pm nap (and I always try to synchronise their naps), Sarah has more work to do

i think Enqi looks better as a lil botak head right? :p

2819144.jpg
2819145.jpg

garfield
err i dunno leh? i always loses a lot of weight after giving birth.. but after stopping breastfeeding, the weights will come back again? this Cl cooks healthy food for me maybe? i am eating brown rice nowadays..

smurfy, ya maybe u eat healthy food... chocbabe, u lose so much weight too...

sunsweet, last time, G sleep v late while zz sleep early. now they sleep almost same time but mostly late

nowadays, when i teach zz, G will be happily nearby playing but at times she can be noti n snatch the book or flashcard away. many times even attmepting to close the book... *faint

so sometimes i just do other activity liek drawing on aquadoddle or play ball or sing songs... haha

sometimes they can also play together as their age is rather close. they walk n crawl together all over the house...

pvl, oh you homeschool sarah so is it very tiring for you to handle 3 kids? What made you want to homeschool?

charis, haha..oops I thought you are expecting #2 heehee... sorry.

I'm abit confuse when I view you girls in fb, cos I not so sure about the names, only know you all by the nicknames LOL!

charis, is your centre called stage and such? My 09 thread will like to organise a trial.

garfield, previously u sent zz to little neuro tree right? How was the review? Hb is against shicida, so i thot of sending to LNT.

smurfy,
Enji is so adorable. love her hair. She does look like QY especially after shaving.

PVL,
I am also thinking of sending Xinfaye to home school. Do share your experience and pro and cons. How long do u intend to home school them? You are a wonder woman.

Saph,
Hahaha, me not wonder woman. I have my share of struggles. But having a supportive husband helps tremendously, even though he is sometimes the source of my struggles
You are planning to homeschool too? I'm intending to homeschool through Pri school. That's the plan. Of course, if I really can't cope, I'm still open to sending them to regular school.
My reasons for homeschooling - we want to provide our kids with a loving, Christian environment to learn, without unnecessary stress and competition. And my hb & I were both educators, and we find that these days, the sequence of learning in the education system is rather upside down. Kids are expected to 'know' so much and be able to think logically at too young an age. Facts are hardly taught these days, pupils need tuition just to get up on the facts. Basically, we're going to use the Classical Christian model for our homeschool. English is taught with grammar, children memorise things at the first stage (til around P4 or P5), and we may even teach Latin.
The pros are that you can teach how you like, tailor the curriculum to fit each child, and go at their pace. You don't have to follow school terms, so you can go on holiday anytime (off peak season - hehehe). You can give assessments when the children are ready. You can go on field trips as and when you like, and the lessons take much less time than in regular school.
Cons - busy busy busy! I don't find the usual argument about socialisation to be true. Kids usually have no problems socialising amongst their peers. In fact I find that a lot of kids Sarah's age don't know how to make conversation and often ignore her when she tries to be friendly. And they also don't play nicely with each other. (This is my obsv from playgrounds etc) . Regarding socialisation, any school is socialisation. After all, the kids are not ALONE ALONE when homeschooled. They still have me, and siblings, neighbours, and then they have time for enrichment with other kids (like Sarah's gym and swimming).

morning!!..

smufy,
your EQ look very very much like QY!!! so cute!! how come you shave the hair so soon? is she 1 month old oredi?? nowadaes its the trend yeah! mum tend to lose all the weight after #2!!....

hubby was saying...give birth to more...will become skinnier..hahah so farnee..

sunsweet,
i dun usually have a "fixed time" to teach them things...or maybe i dun really. but i chit chat with tyra when tyler was born, its non school stuff, but moral, compassion, how to behave as a older sis blah kinda things...she's excited and able to absorb till now...

maybe dun put so much stress on yourself? #1 is probably still adjusting??

PVL,
watched the documentary on homeschooling, i so think its a wonderful idea. me being in adult learning industry. it's v irritating when the kid insist something the teacher say is right when you know its obviously wrong. oh well, but i dun have a choice and i dun think its viable haha cos i simply haf no patience....!! you are really superwoman lor!!

fat babe
she's reaching 1mth in 2 days time leh.. fast hor?

garfield
yah i oso think she dun look like QY lor.. :p

cherryale
Shicida and LNT got story behind one :p

pvl, it a great idea to bring kids overseas for field trips during off peak for reason ... haha

act it great tat they can go overseas n look look. Sg is just too small to learn abt environmental things n culture. but ya time n money hahaha factor

cherry, yes zz is still in LNT. he now know how to pass us scissors in proper way, 1 of the things they teach. i feel he can expose to other language too since at home, english is more commonly used. but i trying to speak in chinese more. now in his class, there is a Jap student so during Jap class, hb feel abit loss cos teacher got to speak in mostly Jap since there is a Jap student liao.

on the whole, i feel LNT is rather good. my fren son is also attending but diff branch.

garfield,
Wah you thinking of overseas field trips. I was thinking more of field trips to the beach, the zoo, and down to the garden downstairs. hehehehe

PVL,
Looking at the amount of energy you have, I would never have guessed your age if you didn't give that obvious hint earlier!
Really peifu you... so much energy! Now at 34 weeks, I am already feeling tired everyday cos of broken sleep at night. Everytime Soph naps, I will rush to eat my lunch then nap too. Don't know how you used to cope with both Sarah and Ben when preggers with Gabriel!

Are you intending to try for #4?

smurfy,
EQ will be 1mth old soon? That's really fast!
How's your bf coming along? Any more major problems?

Saph,
10kg gain at 26 weeks is OK as long as got no GD or bp problem... think I was logging slightly more!

smurfy,
yup!! time pass real fast!! eh i manage to catch a glimpse of your preggy present tummy so cute!!

huskie,

keke you should work for MCYS!! encouragin everyone to haf babies...

me now 20th week. maybe cos of hectic work schedule..oredi feeling v tired...good thing is i still have 21 days of leave..which i am taking 3 days off this month..but going to burn to run errands...so dun think can haf a good rest as well..

its encouraged to sleep sideways, but by morning i always end up sleeping face up...hurting the back..

pvl,

i use to travel n see those young kids there exploring caves etc... sg doesn't have much of these around... their excursion r so much more interesting

tat y if i got $$, i would bring my kids overseas to learn more things n of cos enjoy.

garfield,
Yup, $$$ is the big factor. Anyway, the kids are too young now to appreciate the learning experiences that are available overseas. Wait til they start to learn geography. Will definitely want to bring them to NZ, that's where I did my Uni.

Huskie,
huskie,
Heh heh heh. #4? No No No!!! We have REALLY closed shop. Over 40 and having another child..... bad idea. Can't cope. House got no space for another child.
When preggy with Gabriel, I did things slowly. Not much chance to nap, but I took it easy. During the last few weeks, I stopped cooking so that I could stop marketing, I stopped Sarah's swimming lessons, and just reduced whatever I did. You take it easy lah. Why don't you eat your lunch together with Sophie? That would save time right? Even now, Gabriel is beginning his semi-solids, and he eats together with us at lunch and dinner time.

PVL,
you are really our role model and motivator. Your husband is so fprtunate to have u
Would love to see some pictures of your children. how is Ben? How old are your children now?

fat babe,
Try using a little folded towel to prop under your lower back if you rally have to sleep on your back - it helps for me.
I also try to sleep on left side, but baby seems to move a lot when I sleep on left side... maybe I'm squashing its head :p

Hee, I come from a family of 5 siblings inclu myself, that's why I quite like big families

PVL,
I thought about stopping cooking, but I don't dare to risk tingkat... so on most days I just tabao food... poor Soph sometimes eat the tabao-ed fishballs and wantons too (I'll cook plain porridge/macaroni for her). But this ingrate will tell me "I don't like Mommy's macaroni; I like uncle's macaroni"

Yeah, actually can eat lunch with Soph. It's just that she still needs me to shove food into her mouth the whole time so my food always go cold, and I hate cold food :p. She's really not a foodie; will only self-feed fries, hotdogs and donuts... all junk food! But not porridge/noodles/macaroni *sigh*

Hey, you should start a blog to share with us your homeschooling journey!
I'm thinking of doing a bit more structured and constructive stuff with Soph like ABC lapbook rather than our haphazard activities now, but eh, no energy to prepare anything yet.

huskie,
Soph is not on table foods yet??? Ben has been eating exactly what we eat since about 1YO, THis makes it easier since I don't have to cook anything extra or special for him. I feed him one spoon, feed myself one spoon, alternating like that.

A blog....hm, an idea. I'm not very good at blogs leh Can never keep up.

saph,
Sarah is 5, Ben, you know and Gabriel is exactly 2 years younger than Ben.

Hi Huskie,
How's your pregnancy coming along? Your due date is getting nearer. must be very excited and nervous at the same time
After u, will be my turn :p Really not looking foward to pumping milk especially when I start work.

junkfood: Till today, Xinfaye have not tasted any junk food, packaged food or drinks at all. The closest was her 2 year old b'day cake. I think my mil did give her one or twice chocolate cakes which I told her not to. It does make a lot of difference when they are not expose to these food too early. At the moment Xinfaye would eat almost anything we give her. She enjoys all her food

Maybe the coming child you could control on this area and train to self feed in the early stage.

PVL and mummies,
Would like to ask about breastmilk.

1. How long can we keep tawned, warmed up bmilk in room temperature?

2. How long can we keep freshly expressed milk in room temperature? Can we keep it in the fridge or freezer after?

3. Is it okay to mix freshly expressed milk with refrigerated milk before freezing?

4. Can we transfer refrigerated bmilk that are 2 or days old into the freezer?

oh... me like pvl, nowadays i eat same time as my boy cos i hungry by the time I get home. so I eat one scoop, he eat one scoop... anyway he chew slowly so i got time to eat my food too

he eat same as us... but he like his rice more than the meat... ;p sometiems he will feed himself but v messy lo n i had carpet... &(*(*&
but noe i make it a pt def have soup at least once per 2 days. so if he dun eat any meat or veg, he still drink soup.

n zz eat junk food... like ice cream, keropok (even chilli ones) fries... but he dun take gassy drinks lo.

cherry, i think he learn quite abit from LNT, at first i thot he not learning cos sometimes he can yawn during class... ((*(&
but sometimes like tat day, he demostrate handling me scissors (holding the sharper end) then pass to me...this def learn from school lo so i surprised. cos not every time they learn lo.

he attending the one @ bugis.

nope he haven't been to any playgrp now... intend to enrol him nxt yr or earlier now. for few hrs of play. lookin around

Sap,

my answers but it might not be true.... but this is what i will do n y...

Ans: 4 hrs

2. How long can we keep freshly expressed milk in room temperature? Can we keep it in the fridge or freezer after?

4- 5 hours? if it already outside for that period, i wouldn't advise to put into fridge liao.

3. Is it okay to mix freshly expressed milk with refrigerated milk before freezing?

I woudn't do that cos it diff temp. cos freshly express one is still warm. I would recommend to put the freshly into fridge then after soem time then join the both together.

I dun practise this too. If i had put in fridge, i woudn't move back freezer. scare contamination liao. cos it already not as cold so u can't keep longer. the other way round works. i mean u can transfer but wouldn't advise u to keep the milk for the period tat freezer is able to lo, i.e 1 mth

thanks Garfield. Ashton is currently in a playgroup/cc which he learns quite a lot but I will like him to be exposed to other types of learning. My hb is v against shichida so i am trying LNT..haha, he doesnt know the history so he wouldnt object.

mummies, can i check how much milk or milk products does your toddler take now? Ashton is taking pathetic amt of milk prob around 550 max.

thanks garfield for the feedback. Any mummies have different experience?

cherryale,
Xinfaye takes only my bmilk once or twice a day. And when I ask if there is any milk, she would say just a little.

By the way, Xinfaye is happily self feeding now with or without me at least by 1 1/2 year old. She really enjoys to eating. She do have preference though. She would finish her veges only in the end. She even takes petai :p

PVL,
Soph has been on table foods since 18mths, but she really doesn't like to eat rice, porridge, or noodles... basically she doesn't like carbo, not even bread! She will only self-feed things she likes such as seaweed, fishballs, sweet potato leaves, corn and soup So no choice, have to forcefeed her the grains/carbo.

Saph,
I'm doing well, going to see gynae again tomorrow. Hope baby would have grown more!

As for food, Soph really has no interest in food. She's learnt to self-feed pretty early too, bit will just not eat her grains. If I leave her alone, she will NEVER eat at all! Dunno if it's cos when I wa pregnant with her, I didn't eat much. If so, I hope this next baby will be a foodie looking at the amount I eat now!

Re junk food: Soph learnt it all from school... parents give goodie bags with crackers/sweets during birthdays, and she learns that these stuff are yummy. But she is ok in the sense that if I tell her she cannot eat too much of it or cannot eat it now, she will not throw tantrums.

garfield,
Bugis one is the main HQ
I think the rest are franchises.

cherry,
Soph only takes about max 150ml per day

cherry,
ryan is a milk junkie.... he loves milk... he'll do anything for milk.

I buy the 2L freshmilk from the super market and can only last about 3 days max... and he refuses any formula milk. so he's totally drinking fresh milk only.

huskie,
Oh IC. I have to feed Ben all the way. He's too messy. He can sometimes feed himself with the spoon provided the food 'sticks' to the spoon. Eg Mashed potato. But he tends to play with the spoon, so I HATE to let him feed himself. He can feed himself with the fork, and I often let him do so, but again, he tends to play and the food doesn't end up in his mouth. Very annoying.

Cherryale,
Ben also doesn't take much milk. Sometimes just 1/2 cup in the morning. I don't think it matters all that much. As long as they are eating a balanced diet with calcium-rich foods.

Saph,
Sorry, I never pump milk to store, so I can't comment. I know about the 4 hours at room temp thing, and I would throw the milk away once this time has been exceeded. Same with the fridge to freezer Qn. Throw away.

pvl, hi5! think boys r more messier! haha

sometimes he just use the spoon to "beat" the soup n it splash up annoying me! so I always end up saying "ok ok I help u!!!"

cherry, dun worry, now they shld be drinkin lesser milk more solids. zz normally drink less than 500 ml now. n he doesn't like cheese... sometimes he eat cereal w fresh milk lo. but i give him yogult.

huskie, dun worry. at least u feed she still will eat. ya as parent we r v worried tat they not getting enough nutrition.

Saphira, jus to share with you my experience.

Ans: 2 hrs (taking our S'pore weather into consideration)

Ans: 2 hrs reason same as above. Yes,you can. Lifespan in fridge 48 hrs, freezer 2 mths.

Ans: I read that the temp. of both milk should be the same, so you should refrigerated the freshly expressed milk first before mixing. I used to do that last time, but this time round I did not, I just mixed both then freeze it.

Ans: Yes, I do that. But is better to freeze them within 2 hrs if left in the fridge.

Thank you mummies for sharing about breast milk.

<font color="0077aa">1. How long can we keep tawned, warmed up bmilk in room temperature?</font>
I never knew that we can keep bmilk outside for so long. This really helps a lot. At least baby don't have to cry so long, waiting for me to warm up the milk.

<font color="0077aa">2. How long can we keep freshly expressed milk in room temperature? Can we keep it in the fridge or freezer after?</font>
Due to short supply sometimes it would be useful to know I can save some access milk.

<font color="0077aa">3. Is it okay to mix freshly expressed milk with refrigerated milk before freezing?</font>
Okay will make sure same temperature. With this I can save some milk bottles.

<font color="0077aa">4. Can we transfer refrigerated bmilk that are 2 or days old into the freezer?</font>
Good to know someone have done this. It would be useful when it's weekends.

I would also like to share that i have actually kept bmilk in the fridge for 4 days before feeding due to weekends and holidays. Seems okay so far
I just have to make sure the fridge is cold all the time.

To make sure milk is in a stable cold temperature, i would wrap a small piece of aluminium foil around the milk bottles to keep the milk cold constantly even if someone have to open the fridge often. just make sure not to wrap the entire bottle with aluminium foil as this will freeze the milk in the fridge.

As for freezer, I do keep bmilk up to 4 months to 6 months old. All bottles are wraped up with aluminium foils before freezing to achieve a stable temperature for the milk.

Hope more mummies will join in this survey
It would be really really helpful especially for mummies like me who have short supplies and save every single drops of breast milk.

Sap, my ss is also not great, now that Ashley is coming to 8mths, I am pumping only about 500ml.

I usually dun keep it for more than 1 hour after I thawed and warmed up the EBM

I dun have the practice of keeping ebm in rm temp, its either feed to baby immediately or i keep in the fridge.

yes, i do that but only after they are of the same temp

yes, i do this all the time when i had more supply. THen realised baby cant finish the milk, so I will put those which are 2 days old into the freezer.

Hi Mummmies,
Thank you for all your feedbacks on breast milk again.

Would like to ask for your opinions on cord blood banking. I did not do it for my 1st child but am considering now for the 2nd one but hubby and family not keen. For mummies who have one, how much did you pay and which company did u go for?

Hi Saph,
Sorry I can't give much input on EBM too, cos Soph refused to take frozen or chilled... that's how fussy she is. And I do admit there is a slight difference in smell and taste of chilled/frozen EBM... hubby did the taste test too, and then also refused chilled/frozen EBM!

As for cord blood banking, I went with Stemcord for Soph, but now with #2, considering Cordlife cos it's got more accreditation and they already had a live case of successful stem cell transplant. They're not cheap compared to Stemcord though. LAst i check:
One time enrolment/processing fee: $1400 (if HSBC/DBS card, less $150)
Yearly Storage Fee: $250

Stemcord charges same storage fee of $250/yr, but their one-time processing fee is cheaper at less than $1k.