(2007/02) February

sunsweet
not a good idea to bring meat right? last time i wana bring minced meat.. then hb reminded me customs all malay..n we trying to bring pork in kekeke

Lil J dun take much pork.. so likely i'll bring ikan bilis powder.. then for meat she can share from our adult portion.

keke :p

Chocbabe,

recently i got the invitation from my mum.

realise the tea ceremony is at Mandarin Oriental in the afternoon, whereas the dinner would be at Nikko Hotel..

so we might not be seeing each other

Sunsweet, trust me, it's a lot more basic than other hotels. Got toast, pastries, some fried noodle/rice, er.. juices and all that - guess leaning more toward continental brekkie.
You only going for 1 night?

Can lah.. the meat will be OK if you freeze it first and pack with lots of ice packs in a cooler box. 'Cos KL only 4 hr drive mah.. but ikan bilis powder is a good idea Can bring tofu too for protein.

Sigh.. all this talk about KL making me v homesick. Dunno if we will be going up during CNY 'cos firstly, hubby's leave, secondly, Beth's bday is on CNY day 2.

Timo supposed to go for circumcision on Fri.. now caught gastric flu from Beth so gotta postpone until mid-Dec. Argh.

Sunsweet, SHIOK! You definitely hv enough time to go exploring around KL.. I find Pavilion shopping ctr v posh, not much to shop unless you wanna buy super high-end stuff but they do have Pumpkin Patch, ELC etc over there. Just interesting to looksee since it's their newest mall.

Roti canai.. mmmmmm...

sunsweet,
oic.... okie... maybe will c u when we shop then... will look out for lil J. We driving up on Friday and going to Genting on Monday. Coming back to Singapore on Wed.

catz,
you know ah, the Genting hotels are so damn pack that I couldn't book any better rooms online except First World standard which I swear I would rather not go. So i called travel agents in Singapore and manage to get a deluxe room in Resort Hotel, which of course i had to pay more than book online. And i book the standard rm in First World for my in-laws... hehe.... very mean hor!

chocbabe, muahahaha
Yah it's like that la.. Genting is super duper packed man... dunno whether they are packed during CNY or not. Cos Beth's birthday, dunno where to bring her if hubby can take leave. Visit relatives in KL then go and do something fun with the kids.

hi everyone....can't read everything that's been said up there but hopefully everyone's doing well.

Congrats Sunsweet!!! Take care of yourself and don't overwork hor...

Updatesssssss......

TR got jaundice problem like YR did so thank goodness the PD decided to monitor him closely from day 1 cos his jaundice did shoot up. However, this time it's not as severe as YR's cos I've been told to supplement with formula milk. Isn't it ironic that my breastmilk is the cause of their high jaundice level. Oh well, anywayz, that's life lah. I'm currently giving TR Similac and alternating it with breastmilk. His jaundice level is on the borderline admit to hospital type of level so wish me luck.

We have to go bring him to his PD for jaundice level checks every morning....u tell me sian or not sian.

Also, YR is doing really well with TR and is very protective over him so far.

Example 1: In the mornings when she wakes up, she will immediately go open up TR's door and check to see if he's in his cot. If he's not there, she will come to me and ask me where Too Too is.

Example 2: YR will put a blankie over TR's body when he is napping outside the living room.

Example 3: She pets him and kisses him whenever I'm breastfeeding him and basically leaves us alone when I'm breastfeeding.

Example 4: Whenever it's time for TR's bedtime, she will kiss him and wave bye bye to him and follow me to his room to see him in.

I'm pretty pleased so far lah. I've not been feeling any soreness ever since I've been discharged from hospital so I think I'm recovering very well. I've even been able to do housework like VACUUMING twice a day thanks to my daughter and bathing my big fat daughter and tidying up the house. I just can't keep still....

And the confinement nanny I have is marvellous. she's really good with YR and TR and cooks really yummy food (not typical confinement food) so it suits our tastebuds lah..hee hee Plus she is also a clean freak so it suits me very well.

TR is definitely very diff from YR. He's very smiley in a cheekopek way. And he smiles a lot. He also doesnt really cry. He only gets mad when I tease him and don't give him milk. Other than that, he's quite an easy going baby. SO far lah.....

Anywayz, i'll try to log in again ...Right now I need to spend some quality time with my husband.

Byeeeee

Milkie,
You're doing really well! Keep it up. Yeah, daily trips to check jaundice level sounds really sian. Last time our weekly trips were sian enough. Hope TR's jaundice clears really quickly. Then you can go back to TBF right?

Sunsweet,
Actually, my ginger tea is not so sweet. 1 packet is for 1/2 cup only, so usually I will dilute to full cup with milk. Nice milky serabat.

PVL, I think the earliest his jaundice will clear will be when he turns 2 mths if YR's history is anything to gauge by. And YES, i intend to go back to TBF when it clears.
Bottle feeding very lei cheh leh...still need to wash bottles. And according to catz I'm a hopeless mum cos I don't even have the baby bottle detergent at home. :p TOMORROW I will go and BUY okieeeee????

Just fed TR his 10pm feed and he very alert this time....can still open his eyes and smile here smile there.

I think I have a lot to learn from u lor PVL...u managing 2 very well already and soon u will be embarking on a #3. I think I will faint......

Also, YR kanna HFM again...so she's quarantined at home. So far so good also lor....the nanny is kept very busy entertaining her cos she just can't keep still.

Also my husband just told me he will only send YR back to sch only after TR turns 1 mth (after his 1mth jab). So wish me more luck hor......

YR kena HFMD? Alamak, you never mentioned that! Better to let her rest.. sekali she spread to TR, you not worried ah? And yes yes please go get the detergent hor. TR sounds adorable, waiting for your photos hor.

milkie.....
you really managing very well!!...good to know dat you dun feel sore..and TR's jaundice is in the check..keke...

oh abt HFMD, think you really haf to keep TR away...when tyra was suspected HFMD..we tried ways to keep them apart also..the idea of infant or young toddler kena HFMD really freaks me out...

catz, yup YR kana HFM again. sian right? when i got the call from the teacher, i was like "WTF &*$*@)@".....but oh well, life still goes on. :p

fatbabe, sometimes got no choice lor...YR wants to be near the bro...so what to do. IF it's meant to be that TR gets HFM then he will get it lor...but we taking precautions like making sure she doesnt' put things in his mouth.

Milk milk.... TR sounds soooo cute!!! When u gg to show the cutie TR's photos???? The daily trip to hospital is really sianz... but glad that u are always in this jolly spirit. keep it up!
Ur CL sounds fantastic!!! Alamak, u better dun do so much housework lah. Can leave it to ur hubby or CL to do????? U are supposed to rest.... And YR is such a sweet little darling to her brother. U are lucky man....

milkie, you are damn calm la. I would freak if my kid got HFMD once, let alone twice. Are they taking measures to cut the transmission at school? Yeah agreed you are v lucky to have so many friends' support, loving hubby and good (but unobtrusive CL)

Oh ya, milkie, you went for c-section rite??? Still can vacuum floor twice a day??? Pls rest lah.

Catz, ya, I agree with you leh. Milkie so steady hor? Think I'll freak out if my kid got HFMD with one newborn at home.

milkie, u are simply amazing, c-section and can still do housework and bath YR. But really glad that you recover so well so fast. Take care, hopefully TR doesnt get HFMD from YR. I know going to PD to check jaundice daily is damn sian. A also had pretty bad jaundice and i was so tired going to glenE every few hours to feed him then.

ah ger, my storeroom also has shelves but we are making it look really neat so that it doesnt look that bad. Its linked to the yard and her personal toilet so she can open the windows there for ventilation. Actually its prob more private than sleeping in A's room now. Havent told her yet so fingers cross she will not mind. Actually sometimes she will read her mags in the storeroom as this is where she stores her clothes and personal stuff.

milkie,
aiyoh, you very garang leh.... can still do housework and take care of the kids. Dun you feel tired at all? I remembered I almost had a mental breakdown due to lack of sleep etc, and jaundice and so on... and now you have to manage YR too.

Good that YR is adapting well too.

Yah milkie garang... c-sect was so darn painful.. I walked like an egyptian for at least 2 weeks.. still remember going Ikea on the 7th day and ended up bruised all over my mid-section *shudder*

Milkie mentioned TR has blonde hair.. so cute.. definitely angmo ancestry la!

Giggler, yah lor, HFMD is one of my greatest worries. So terrible.

milkie,
TR sounds really easy going! You're so lucky to have 2 easy going babies

Must post some pics when you are free!

Charis,
So sorry for not being able to make it for playgroup that day.
My migraine was really bad this round... was trying to catch the last epsiode of the AIDS show on Channel 8 and ended up retching/vomitting cos the lights from the TV was just too much.

Did you have fun with PVL?

Extract from Straits Times latest news... so scary, think i will really insist breastmilk for No.2. Ryan drinking Friso, so far no news of them yet.

Nestle's Good Start Supreme Infant Formula with Iron had two positive tests for melamine on one sample, with readings of 0.137 and 0.14 parts per million.

- Mead Johnson's Infant Formula Powder, Enfamil LIPIL with Iron had three positive tests for cyanuric acid, at an average of 0.247 parts per million.

Separately, a third major formula maker - Abbott Laboratories, whose brands include Similac - told wires that in-house tests had detected trace levels of melamine in its infant formula.

Those levels were below what FDA found in the other formulas, an Abbott spokesman said, and below any nation's safety guidelines.

Can read the whole article here:
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/World/Story/STIStory_307350.html

chocbabe, tat is y i insist on bf... i try to do my v best now to lengthen it since i dun wish to have kids anymore hehe... now my mum dun nag at me liao haha

milk milk, hang on there! but u doin v well. u so fortunate to have 2 ez goin kids... zz can be noti at times v jealous boy too... but he knows what things belong to mei mei n he will return to me... haha
but mei mei is def more gentle than him. v sweet gal haha unlike the rough boy.

PVL, Charis, yes yes next time.. maybe the coming week? Since Timo is not having his circumcision and all

chocbabe, eek, so scary! You are right, breast is best!

garfield, it's good that mei mei is so gentle! So pretty also
ZZ still acting up or is he getting used to G?

me too will try to bf as long as I can esp now we are cutting down on overseas travel at work so will be easier for me even after I return to work after ML. Praying hard supply will be adequate

today i had a nice treat for myself, put hair mask, used the new body scrub that i bought and also the new body lotion
Brought A out for lunch followed by supermkt shopping. Then when we reached home i took a good nap...now eating chocolate eclairs..if this is SAHM life then its vv good

btw, just got an sms from gucci at taka, they are having sales on 1 dec, and for taka card holder from 2dec there will be additional 10% for sales items or 10% on normal items. i will prob pop by to see what are the items going on sale, though nothing i really want to get at the moment. But hb still owe me birthday present, so i may buy my present there

actually i also havent bought him his present, most likely defi gauges for the car
will let him decide since he has so many wants.

catz, anything u want to get? maybe your anniversary prezzie from hb??

cherry, waah Gucci sale.. lemme ask my Dad if he's planning to get anything for my mom or not. Me ah, no lah,my hubby will faint. So you'll be there on 1st or 2nd?

Alamak, you different mah.. you are TAI TAI, not SAHM. Ask PVL or Charis - most days are hectic from morning till night!

My normal day:
7am start - quickly wash up before the kids wake up
7.30am - prep kids' brekkies and milk
8am - feed both kids, change etc.
9am - run errands or stay home to watch vids, read books, play games while prepping lunch
11am - lunch time at the zoo..haha
12nn- dash out for my lunch and some grocery shopping if got time
1pm - kids' naps, prep dinner
3pm - more dinner prep, Beth's milk
5pm - dinner time at the zoo
6pm - dash out for my dinner if possible, else wait till the kids sleep to prep my own dinner
6.30pm - shower and prepare kids for bed
7pm - milk time, wind-down time, story and tuck-in until about 8pm
8pm - zombie mommy has to start all household chores like washing dishes, clothes, packing up house etc.

SAHM life where got so shiok one?

I will prob be there on 1st dec after A finishes his half day cc but my usual sales person on leave, dun know whether her collegues can let me reserve the items to collect on 2 or 3 dec so that i can have additional 10%. Wow, your daddy so nice to your mummy?? My dad already stopped buying gifts for my mum I think?

hey, i am not taitai okie?? taitai are those who go shopping in orchard rd lah, I only go groceries shopping at supermarket. And yesterday I bought some clarins body stuff and they gave me so many other freebies like neck cream and all, so I decided to pamper myself a little bit

You go out for lunch everyday huh?? actually the part i hated most is meal times, got to think of what to eat for most days. I just ordered pizza tonight, too lazy to bring A out alone since i dun feel like bringing maid along with us.

One thing for sure, SAHM can spend so much time with the kids, so enjoyable. A can play with anything and can laugh at any silly actions. Really funny

cherry, my dad's very good to my mom and I guess he feels guilty that he's away from home so much nowadays. Most of her birthday and anniversary pressies have been from Gucci these days. Haha. He used to keep giving her golf stuff until we all intervened.
Eh you tai tai lah.. got maid what... for me, I'm so busy vacuuming and cleaning, sometimes it's a little harder to appreciate the kids 'cos they are so messy and dirty! Mealtimes for myself, yah v difficult so it's just easier to settle by tar pauing or just take whatever the kids are eating :p

huskie, yeah I've got the Ergorapido too and it's a godsend. I vacuum everyday with it. Will definitely replace once it conks.

Charis,
So sorry that I spoilt everyone's playdate cos of my period migraine. It's really getting from bad to worse... if getting preggers and bf is the only way to get out of having these migraines, I should just spend my life being pregnant or bf-g! :p

Catz,
How come you don't cook your own lunch with the kids' and eat with them?
You don't do tingkat anymore?

Ergorapido: yep, it's definitely a good buy. I am shocked at the amount of dust and fur each time I vacuum, and I vacuum twice a day! But the new model I have (Gen 2) has a larger motor and is slightly bulkier at the handset body part, so I can slide it under my sofa and bed. Think the Gen 1 will be able to do it.

huskie, poor you. Migraines are the worst.. I've been getting them on and off too but not as bad as yours. Hee.. 'cos the kids usually get porridge for lunch and I'm not willing to eat that. Tingkat for one person not worthwhile la... anyway, there are coffeeshops galore around my block. So your Ergorapido is the one that comes in the different colours? Mine's the Gen1 red one. I just keep it on the dock, right against my piano. Haha.

Hey, Catz,
Why don't you start your kids on adult food? Then you can cook for all of you at once? That's what I do. I think you're busier than me cos of having to cook separately for the kids. My kids and I eat the same foods always. Makes things so much easier leh.

PVL, I've tried giving Beth rice but she doesn't want it for her meals. She likes to steal it from our plates but it's given to her as a proper meal, she gags and pukes.. she's puked all of the 4-5 times that I've tried to put her on our rice (with soup) or pasta.. sigh.. headache. I know she can chew darn well, but she just can't seem to stomach an entire meal that she has to chew. Ah well.. will give her a few more months. Anyway, now that my 2 monkeys have gastric flu, I'll have to cook non-oily stuff for them anyway.

catz, i received the old navy stuff.
thanks okie.

Eh, the sizing for old navy adults very big leh..shit. the tops i ordered were size s but they were too too big for me now. Next time can remind me to order xs.

I think losing weight for 2nd pregnancy really is slower than the first leh. Yesterday, i lost only about 9kg of my pregnancy weight. I still have about 10kg to go. die lah.........

btw, the jaundice level went up again yday...was supposed to be admitted to hospital again....BUT i told PD i will try to give formula for the whole day yday to determine if the cause of the jaundice is really from my breastmilk. sian........

Huskie..Its ok..I understand how painful migraines can get..I do get painful ones sometimes n makes me feel like vomitting..Anyway I had one last nite though not cos of the period..think cos I had slight fever in the evening..cos I didnt give Yael his 2nd feed of milk..so breasts got engorged and so painful by dinner..and one side got blocked ducts..sian..Hehe anyway this was cos I went out shopping lah, though bought stuff for hb not myself..the MIL suddenly become so nice offered to to babysit him..hmm..very very rare.

Playtime/SAHM meet..Yes we can arrange next week if majority is free.
Which day will be good?

Cherryale..Think u very blessed la..if u ever stop work u'll be a tai tai not a SAHM..hehe.
True wat Catz said, haha..Tai tai different from SAHM lah!
I dont have time to go for pedi, facials, etc, plus I dont have the spending $$$, cos most SAHMs dont really get "paid well" hahaha! Anyway dont mind not going for all these cos when I was working I didnt bother too..plus was busy saving up for wedding/future SAHM plans..Anyway now most days is Yael n housework, marketing. There are some nice days u can go out bring the kids for lunch or classes..or get an off day cos the old folks help look after. But I do enjoy being a SAHM..enjoy more than working outside for a demanding employer maybe.

Milkie..Eh u sure u can do housework meh? Take it easy ok..ask the hb to do lah..haha..take the chance to relax n recover fully..cos after confinement no excuse not to do housework already..wahahaha!!!

good morning mummies

A is on milk strike, he is really wasting my hardearned money. He is always drinking only half of what is given to him for ALL the milk feeds. Yet he is hungry and will ask for other food. Should I just stop the milk??

catz, when u go out to tapau lunch, do u bring the two kiddos along? yah, your area is really very good with so many options for lunch. Actually i like to clean house, its my fav hobby at home before I am pregnant. I cant stand mess lah so its always packing and packing for me. THink my maid tah boleh tahan me already, everyday I will pull out something and pack

Cherry..Maybe u giving too much milk? Cos tods who are getting TOO much milk cut their meal intake. Or taste buds change?
Anyway, think its ok to give him less milk but u can subsitute for cheese, yogurt etc..Anyway formula is less absorbed by the body than bm..give too much no point..then the kid will be too full cant eat his meals.

charis, if I stop working, I will rather spend the money I pay for maid to get a second car, like catz and get a part-timer to come and clean the house maybe 3 times a week. Its really quite inconvenient to have a stay-in maid. U know when I order pizza yesterday, I got to order a chicken one so that she will eat and then a beef one for myself. And I dun ask her to cook pasta for lunch cos I know she doesnt like to eat that and will end up eating instant noodles.

There is something I have always wanted to ask. You know, before this pregnancy, I actually dun do much pedi and mani. But now I am super regular, to the extent that when my fingernails get long, the next thing to do is to book a mani instead of cutting it myself. Then other things like going for hair treatment etc..think must be the meimei who is vain lah cos I was not like that when I had A.. is it true for mummies who had a boy and girl...when u are having girl, u are more particular about how u look??

milkie, size S is way too big for u. Its even big for me so can imagine. The size S clothes that I bought last time I can wear it as maternity tops..so maybe u keep for next time when expecting TriRI?
Why is the cause of jaundice from your bm? Is it because of diet rich in ginger?

cherryale
QY is off milk for a few months liao lar.. i, is paranoid on this lor.. but no choice.. he simply hates them, i tried organic milk, goat's milk, gain iq, pedisure, some fresh milk.. all gone case, now i got a few mini milk containers sitting in my kitchen cabinet.. i do give him cheese n yoghurt regularly though (either one every day, though wkends r messed up lor), and when i give him avocado, i will do a avocado milk for him lar.. his breakfast cereal, i got put in some milk lar (but now he dun like breakfast coz he's always fighting to get the milk off his cereals).. i cook ikan bilis overnite for 2x every week as his soup stock lor as recommended by mrs wong... i am helpless in this..

Haha, cherry, no lei. I seldom did pedi and mani before i preggie, and even wif two pregnancy of gals, i also dun really bother.

cherry/catz, yes yes, if i ever become a sahm, the biggest headache will be wat to eat for lunch and dinner, as i can't really cook, and i dun fancy porridge. Haiz...

Is the vacumn cleaner really that good? Is it bulky? How much? Actually talk abt vacumn cleaner, i ever thot of getting an irobot, then dun even have to vacumn myself. hehe...