finally hv some time for myself.. guess I wun hv time to come in 2mr & chat bt I wil try to come in & ans any qns if there need to be.
Long reply from me.. *dun freak*
Sunsweet/ fat babe - the $400 ~ 450 is meant for food marketing for the entire family. Calculated to be perhaps $100 per week x 4wks = $400. Fat_babe, ur $650 doesn't incl cooking for u & hb right? Cos for my case, all along we dun cook, hence no mktg costs, only groceries. I take into consideration IF she cooks daily. Bt anyway, tingkat is cheaper cos for 2 pax portion is abt $200, then 3 pax portion is less than $300. My gf said neo's portion is rather generous, can hv extra serving for one more.
Nw we may b v concerned over even an xtra $$ spent, bt if @ the end of the day she relaly lightens ur burden, I think, anybody who is appreciative will just open/ close 1 eye on her requests...
Giggler - NO LAH - bring over let them freely utilise arh.... I will put them at hme... bt will install webcam lor.. investment again.
Y I chose maid over CC I've already indicated most of the pts liao. Other than tat is the fine $$ thing lor.. like nwadays, I can easily work till 6+ 7+, hw to make it on time to go & fetch A?
Sunsweet - yes, some allows free replacement up to a certain period, some req. Usually is betwn 6 - 12mths. If you depot her back then u pay for airfare, if you r changing bt leaving w/ the agency, u just hv to pay for levy. Bt again, they can't remain here unemployed for too long, like 2 or 3wks max only. If by then still no employer then u hv to buy tics for her to go back hme.
Bt do give a grace period of say 1 ~ 2mths cos she's afterall new to ur family (agt advised me), she needs time to adjust herself & get over the separation anxiety frm her family. Esp new ones, hv to b abit more patient w/ her. try draw up a schedule for her, & also indicate wat r the Dos/ Dont's - clearer in a way.
I think if we get a maid at tis point of time, shld b quite ok, cos the kids start to know hw to complain. 4 sure I will install webcam cos no one near us & we dun wanna trouble others too much bcos of our problem.
Y I chose Filis over Indos is mainly bcos they r more educated in a way hence their eng is better. If she has free time, she can perhaps still read books to my child. Understanding them might b better cos they may b more expressive in their language. They r much cleaner & neater in a way. Besides, since both nationalities call for same salary, then the more I wun get an Indo.
On the contrary, ppl may say cos Filis r smarter = cunning. It really depends on how u c it. Look on the bright side lor... getting a helper really needs alot of luck. Indos - cos of their background, they may b more naive & may hv more probs cos of communication breakdown. Bt again, I've also seen my gf's maid who's an Indo & is really v gd, given the fact she's only 23yrs old.
My criteria I feel nt v diff lah, more to basics:
1) age range to be mid 20s to early 30s - cos by then I assume they r more mature in their thinking
2) married or nt married, w/or w/o kids nt as impt - if they hv taken care of prev employers' kids or their own nieces/ nephews is also gd enuff.
3) education - is equally essential to me. Shld @ least get a college quali. I've heard frm my gfs, their High Sch quali is like our Pri sch level.
4) no exp helpers - I am open, must read their bio lah. In a way, it's easier to guide them to do the way u prefer, rather than they doing wat they hv bn taught by their prev employers, which may nt suit u. Exp ones may b v demanding also. I've encountered 1 bio, asking for 370 + 2 off-days. Crazy... ask her go & find ang moh CEO family... me nt so rich..
5) must know wat commitments they hv back in hometown, or know who else in their family (@ least u know she can't play any tricks in future)
6) no off day - I m nt promising them w/ an off-day after 6mths. It really boils down to their performance. If she really can gain my trust & confidence in her, I really do not mind letting her go out. Skali she doesn't perform & I still gv her off then I might as well kill myself. So I will tell them - TBC
7) no hp allowed - by right she shouldn't even b talking on the phone tat often (& I m gng to remv the pte # svc frm my hse phone too)
8) short bt tie-able hair length - cos if they hv too long hair, hw to manage hsework + my child? Perhaps more time is spent on meddling w/ her hair. Neater & more hygenic also.
9) Physical appearance - this is impt. Nt too big size, nor too skinny. Nt fierce or like gila look cos may scare ur child & end up hv phobia.
Frankly speaking, it really took me quite a while to really decide cos it also burns a big hole to my pocket. Imagine we hv a car then hv fix commitment exps & nw a maid. Haiz, we dun hv a $$-printer @ home lor... Bt wat to do? I dun wanna tire mum out either. (Oh, btw my sis popped already & mum's bn running 2 sides, think I heard her saying she'd lost like 3kgs???)
Sunsweet - hope the abv info helps. Dun do phone interview w/ the X no. of helpers u've shortlisted @ the beginning. Run thru the list of bios, none suitable then call them to send u again. Until u find maybe a few, & u zoom in to maybe 1 or 2 best of the best, then conduct interview. Bt best nt to confuse urself w/ too many agencies unless they say u've already seen all those w/in wat ur criteria & yet can't find. If u hv the time, better for u to sit tare & run thru, or else u can always call them to email u.
I agree - nt necc big agencies hv gd maids.... it really dpends on luck. Must ask on the loan period + amt. Most of those agencies ask for 330 x 6~7mths tats makes u pay like 2k+. If lesser the loan amt is, better in a way cos u dun hv to fork out so much $$ frm ur pocket (although ultimately $$ still has to go out bt @ least nt @ tat moment). Every $$ can add up to quite a big sum.
LOL... my fren was joking - choose a maid who is better looking, cos imagine ur kids face her more than facing u, may end up looking more like her. ha ha ha...
Milkie - CONGRATS to u on the arrival of ur prince!!!
Sunsweet - CONGRATS to u on being a pregger again. Or was this news announced long ago? I can't rem... Lol...
Alright, gotta catch some beauty slp le, still hv another long day to go in the nx 8hrs.
Gdnight!