(2007/02) February

Hello everyone!!

1674537.jpg

Sunsweet, I usu cook soup with the veg like carrots, celery, tomato, etc... Oh, your gal is so grown up now? Like a small lady liao.

Garfield, oohhh.. I like the pic of your kids

garfield,

Lil J also love to pose infront of camera.

and will give big smile, eye small small..
so usually i will not tell her and take her natural shot.. nicer this way..

garfield
QY's hair is fine and oily leh, always stick to the scalp type

sunweet.
they gibe u whole of 4 days? no pro rated? wow lao, so good. i doubt mine will ever do that.. cheepo company :p

sunsweet: you can try stews too for a change.. when you get sick of steaming la. kekeke..... meowmi loves beef stew. he eats very lil meat but drinks tones of soup and stuff. so i guess if we stew the beef long enough, the 'nutrients' will go into the soup and he can have it in his system?

my meowmi is so thin. so sad. lami went back on monday and meowmi keeps looking for her. last 2 nites he kept crying at nite. fall asleep will still cry until tears come out kind. then day time keep wanting to go downstairs, i think to wait for her to come back. then bo bian. my dad hope him from us cos we 2 surrender liao. the new maid oso buay tahan. see him like that we oso heartpaiin but what to do?

garfield: your kids look alike. so sweet.... they will be very close when they grow up. like meow n miffy,,,...

Smurfy,

they say 4 days..

so heck care just take loh .. just that i have many AL to clear this year .. too bad I'm not planning for a holiday this year sigh sigh...

Humm magd, thanks for the suggestion.. probably will try cooking stew inthe monring so she can have them for lunch.
Other than beef i guess the other meat ok for stew is chix.. cos I can't cook beef at home.

sunsweet, yr HR is so GOOD! my ah... i dun hope so much

haha kids r really innocent... lil J is very happy ah. zz also smile very funny when i ask him to.... he will smile until his eyes very small. abit fake like tat he also likes to make the pig face (the mouth shape, protruding lips)

magd, ya many ple say they look very alike... but alot commented G looks very very like my hb... cos of her small eyes.

garfield, yah, G looks like daddy
but also have strong resemblance to zz..which means both of kids look like daddy loh

btw, do u think i need to call your CL (whom u sacked) to tell her i dun need her service?? Actually i no longer have her number, and i was supposed to give her the deposit when she did your confinement, but since that didnt happen, I dun have to tell her right??

catz, the last time u mentioned that you have a portable cot/playpen that you bring along on travel. Can share what is the brand and the estimated cost? I need to find a solution for A for his day time nap at mil's plc once meimei is out and will be using his cot.

garfield, the last time we agreed to pay deposit when u use her but since in the end never pay, then I think can forget about it right? Anyway she is so nasty, i also dun want to call her and kenna scolded by her.

mil said A has a bit of running nose on thurs, but stopped on fri and now no longer have it. Can I still bring him for booster jab today? waited so long for the appointment, sian to make another appt.

MIA ytd..cos came down with stomach flu..woke up in the morn feeling super nauseous, stomach was churning..like MS..haha..but not preggy lah..then vomit so many times..asked my hb to take half-day leave..had fever for the rest of the day..Today seems like recovered.

Sunsweet..My suggestion would be- Prepare the soup (meat + veg) the nite before in the rice cooker or slow cooker..then it will be ready by next day's lunch..ask yr MIL to just cook rice. Lil' J can eat for dinner too. Ask yr MIL to cook an extra dish, simple one say hard-boiled egg or egg omelete for her dinner.

Garfield..Yr kids are so adorable..I saw more of their pics on Facebook..looks like ZZ trying to play with his lil' sister..so cute.
Sigh..I so wanna have baby now..haha..I want my kids to play together..dont want the age gap to be too wide lah.

garfield, so cute leh!!!!

sunsweet, think steamer is a good idea.. I also like my steamer v much
I know it's pai say for you to ask MIL but actually I think she'd be more than happy to prep Lil J's meals for her right?

cherry, we have a Graco Pack and Play.. but we bought it when we were in the US for about USD150 I think.. 'cos it was the top of the range model. It's really good for travelling with the kids!

Aiyah wanted to go PHuket in 2 weeks time.. now all this unrest in Thailand.. sigh...

mummies, noticed there was some discussion abt food (tingkat)...
for realli busy parents who dun hv time to cook, i suggest u invest in a thermo pot...
when i din hv a maid, tt was how i survived

we hv a few different sizes, so wot i did was morn b4 go work boil food then keep in thermo pot

Some suggestions:
- claypot chicken rice
- hainanese chicken rice
- beancurd rice
- sausage rice
- porridge
- soups
- stews
- braised meat

there r alot u can do if u r willing to try out

saves electricity n gas also

even my maid still use this to cook now so she got more time to play with my boi

catz, I was looking at the Graco models too. But can these take the weight of toddlers or strictly for babies? I intend to let A sleep in one of thse for his hourly nap at mil's plc when meimei is borned and will be using his cot.

A got his booster jab today. His weight and height has been stagnant for months
he is still 80cm and 10.2kg. Pd said its fine and will review in 6 mths time since he is drinking enough milk and eating well. He is drinking 180ml x4 times a day, should be quite good right?? maybe he is just petite

HI catz,

sorry for the delay. Slipped my mind until I saw the internet device in the study room. Shipping for my ON stuff. Thanks!

Amount S$40.00
Transaction Reference 1864664945

cherry,

zz stats r almost same as A. 81 cm and 10kg 2 wks ago when he had his 18 mth jab so shld be ok la. zz drinks lesser than A! he sometimes doesn't like milk nowadays. i v sure he is teethin again. coz he keeps puttin his fingers in to bite at both sides of the mouth. i dunno y his teeth takes ages to come out... not enough calcium?

last nite he did the finger biting again n maid put chilli sauce onto his finger... he also not scare...

charis, jia you! u can plan one now n will be just nice gap too. got an extra 1K too so bonus

yesterday while shoppin, there was this indian boy who is v "rough", he came over to zz and hug him v tightly, almost squeezin him. all of us includin zz too shocked as it came sudden. then i thot zz will cry but he didn't n later say bye bye to him

however we met again n this time he wanted to hold zz hand n hug him again. this time i alert n protect zz. his daddy also stop him. nxt moment, he slap zz
i feel so heart pain. however his daddy apologise... hiaz... i hope he won't be bullied in school...

zz likes to look or stare and smile at strangers so many ple like to play w him including bigger kids. if they play w him, he will be shy then come to me. do yr children behave like this?

cherry, hmm.. actually it's not very comfortable when the kiddo gets heavier 'cos there is rustling sound when you move around. We went to Kiddy Palace to custom make a mattress for it which makes it somewhat better lah.. but hmm... since it's not v cheap in S'pore, I would suggest you just get a cot from Ikea which can be converted into a toddler bed since I think A will be approaching toddler bed age fairly soon right?

garfield, aiyoh, kids like that are everywhere lor.. what to do? silly silly irresponsible parents around or worse still, I guess their parents do not spend enough time with them.. thus on those rare occasions that the parents go out with the kids, they cannot control them lor.

catz, really, not comfy? The one i saw was about 400+. Actually this is for my mil's plc. There is no more space for a cot for another baby, so mil wanted A to sleep on mattress on the floor but the floor is so filled with dog's fur that I cannot accept this as an option, so am thinking of other options.

garfield at least this is an incident that happened outside, and not someone in school or class where the kids will see each other regularly. I am also worried that A will be bullied in class since the last time when the naughty boy scratched his face, he didnt know how to react and only turned to me and cried

cherry, i worried got such kids in school but there no choice rgt? anyway, he got to adapt n hope he learn his social skills.

catz, the father seems ok, think he is also embarrassed. he came from no where n hug zz. i thot for a while but he didn't wan to let go n more n more tight... zz like cannot breathe liao... kenna molested!

garfield/cherry

re: bullies

i have met countless bullies in neighbourhood playgrd..but i always leave cherish to handle the situation, unless it gets to physical. there was once two little siblings was scolding her stupid and snatching with her to play the slide. me & my hb just watch from a distance,cos ultimately we cant be at her side 24/7 and she got to handle it when she is in sch.

i dunno whether this attributes to her character, being not easily warmed up cos she is too protective of herself

garfield,

G is so demure & fair!! ZZ seems to be very happy wif his meimei..keke...

about bullies..i agree wif stella ..think really haf to let them learn how to defend themselves..maybe when he's a little older...he will know wat to do..like ignore..walk off...or he may eventually learn to fight back...

smurfy,

aiyoh...QY's 2nd pic looks as though he's 3 or 4 yo liao le...kekeke...

saphira,

xinfaye's expression is the same!! machiam deep in tots!!..

cherry,
I'll be graduating Ben to a normal single bed (with bed guard rails) by Nov/Dec to prepare the cot for the new baby. Hope Ben will be OK with it and not fall out or jump out of the bed.

Catz, Milkie, other SAHMs,
So when are we meeting? This Tues or next Tues? Gotta do some planning for the week

stella, fat_babe,

i normally leave him playin with other kids. but this time the little boy was squeezing him. at first i saw him, bounced on him and hug. then i thot he let go but he didn't. he squeezed until the father ask him to release. i was v frightened he will cry cos he cry v loud 1. but he didn't. guess he rather brave too. but he definitely shocked! it really too physical touch lor. i had seen children pushing each other but it once a while n i let it be too. but of cos i will tell zz not to be too rough, or else like never teach him lor.

thanks all for the suggestions on cooking.

will try out this week.

this morning, i prep the veg, mince meat for my mil to cook veg soup for Lil J Lunch and steam fish for her dinner.

I was asking my MIL can she help me to cook instead of me cooking the veg soup so early.. she sounded a little impatient say.. something like.. "of cos lah, I'll cook later else veg will turn yellow.."

In me I was like "eh i was only asking if you can cook for Lil J.. if u cannot cook I can cook now and u warm up later"..

sigh.. but early morning I just dun want to make a hoo haa..

So i just told her for the soup can add a scramble egg so it will taste nice ..

Cos i scare she never cook this before .. dunno how the soup will turn out to be.. keke

Paging for Milkie n Catz..I cant seem to get Aida of ELC..n the schedule and list of class etc are all with her and she only comes in on class days so I guess we have to go to for tmrw's class and try to get her to make the change to Thurs slot starting next week..can?

Yup so when are we meeting? I think next week right..this week huskie not free if I recall correctly.

PVL..As long as have guard rails it should be safe..and must be low enough in case he decides to come down from it..Yael is so far ok with his junior bed..sleeps thru the nite n he'll wake up at 7am, comes down himself and comes over to my room to wake me up haha!
But to be extra safe, we put a bumper mat on the floor beside the bed in case he falls..but so far no falls thank GOD.

Okie then, next week.

Charis,
Yael is on a toddler bed already? Great! Ben loves to lie down on Sarah's bed, but he sometimes jumps up and down on it like a trampoline, so I'm a bit afraid. But aiyah, let him learn lah. Hehehehe.

hihieeee..

Hehe, thought tomorrow.. next week should be OK also

PVL, wow, you trust Ben ah? I am keeping Beth caged up till her limbs are sticking out of the crib. Teehee..

Hv two cranky sleepy kids today 'cos we stayed out pretty late last night. Attended the Marriott vacation club talk and ended up my hubby was the one who wanted to sign up. Guess I must've gushed on and on about how fab the Phuket hotel was. :p

Charis, we'll talk to Aida tomorrow? Anyway my mom's BSF classes only start next Tuesday.. heng heng..

Yeah, very quiet hor?

Ben is getting funnier and funnier these days. Last night I think he saw some Sheng Shiong advertisment on TV and started to do the Sheng Shiong sign. SOOOO funny!!!! And these days he's imitating the dance on his Chinese educational video, complete with using a stool as a step stool cos the dancers use a block to step on.

fat_babe,
Ha ha. I actually have a lot of pictures of her with different expressions. These 2 are a more relax ones. Though easier to compare if they are of same facial espression

About bullies,
I have the same worries too. My neighbour's son is one of them. He does want to share or play with her. If my daughter try to touch his things he would attack her. The parents would just take it easily and apologize to me without trying yo tell her son that it is wrong. There was one time he slaped Xinfaye and she was still blur on what happened. luckily I pulled her away on time to minimize the force.

Congratulations on toddlers who are graduating or graduated to a normal single bed. I wish my daughter can sleep on her own. She still sleeps with me and still wakes up for milk middle of the night. She only want my milk and rejects bottles. Since delivery I have not have a single good night sleep. Have been hoping things will turn out better but still the same

Would like to ask if any mummies here wakes up at night to check on toddlers? I wonder if it is normaly for me to switch off the fan early in the morning. If I switch off the fan I would need to check to see if she sweat. Then I would need to wipe her. Most of the time I am worried she is too hot or too cold. Cause if too cold she may get sick. Too hot she would sweat a lot and end up having rashes.

morning mummies...

super bz past few days and of course low morale at work. arghh.... so sicko. kena tekkan big time by that old woman troublemaker. arghh..... think i have to leave here liao. tendering today but now boss out of office. argh... how leh? so headache.

Charis: have you checked out any of the cc centres or enrichment classes in pasir ris? hehe... just wondering cos i wanna put meowmi in from next year so sourcing ard.

sap: i always keep the fan on but cover them with a thin blankie. they sleep together so i would prefer having more circulation in the room.
speaking of rashes.... meowmi is oso having a terrible bout. think it's to do with his salivating nonstop. argh... how to stop them?

update on my boy's lil penis :pPPp
yesterday he has high fever in the afternoon... after work, we brought him to see dr zaniel at rivervale plaza.. this doc hor,, gave him something via the rectum coz temp is 39.3oC. then put on a urine bag for QY. but hor after waiting 20min and close to his closing time, he gave us instruction to collect the urine sample the next day.. cannot tahan him.. in the end, this morning, we brought QY to see his trusty pd as the temp is 39.1oC. did blood test and urine test.. no Penis Infection nor UTI.. but just some viral fever... chey chey.. wasted my leave.. :p but then the pd got give a term for that swollen side part of his penis leh, say quite common, come and go one..

saphira,
I don't check on Ben at all at night. The kids sleep with either the fan or the air-con. These few days it's fan cos it's been quite cool. Ben's cot is in not directly under the ceiling fan. He sleeps without blanket cos I'm afraid of suffocating him. Sarah starts the night with blanket but she usually throws it off. Her bed is almost directly under the fan. I figure if they're too cold or too warm, they'll complain and I'll hear through the monitor.

Tomorrow I'll bring Ben for his booster

smurfy,
Glad that QY is OK. Nothing too serious.

Ben's penis still balloons out when he pees. Any of the other boys here still have this problem? PD says it should resolve by 3 YO. Otherwise he may have to be circumcised.

phew!

Lil J just been thru her 1st day at playschool.

she's the youngest in class.. theres a couple of 19 mths and a couple of 2YOs..

being 18mths she still does not listen to the teacher or follow instructions..

and she requested me for the pacifier and blankie..(luckily i brought them along or else i think she will disrupt the class)

i think after a few more rounds of school she'll get the routine..

anyway it was fun for her i guess.

Re: Sleeping
Lil J sleeps with us with aircon.. she and her dad are both those get warm easily and me the opposite.. so as we doze off dad and her will add on teh fan to the aircon.. while i hid myself at 1 corner with loads of blankie.. haha

Usually after they both doze off.. I'll carry Lil J to her cot, turn off the fan and I can sleep properly.. haha

2 against 1.. what to do they win loh..

Sigh all these ppl flooding the threads with their adverts.. tsk tsk

Sunsweet, congrats on Lil J's first day! So exciting! Haha. you really very funny leh.. er.. don't you wanna get more sleep for yourself? Just chuck your hubby and Lil J in the same arctic room lah!

PVL, aiyoh, my boy's birdie still balloons when he pees.. the foreskin cannot retract.. die lah.. guess it's snip snip for him :p

Charis, hope you guys hear from Aida soon.. then we can confirm lunch with PVL and huskie and MILKIE next Thursday? My sis might come along

Saphira..I totally understand on yr position..Yael used to sleep in the room with us..and he'll wake up for milk too..n everytime he woke up he must have a suckle..I used to give in afraid he's hungry..But I read so many articles on nite feeding, and most say once they start on full solids they dont need milk at nite..so i started to give him water when he woke up..he'll fuss and cry..but I just ignored and continued sleeping..He will still wake up..until one day we decided to put him in his own room and he slept thru w/o needing any milk feed.
Maybe u can try gradually taking away the nite feed..if u feed for 15min..try to limit to 5 min..then start to subsitute with water.

Magd..I have not checked out any cc around Pasir Ris..cos intended to put Yael in school yet..But I heard there's a centre Carpe Diem i think which is super popular..there's a Learning Vision cc just 2 blocks from my place, at dr 6. But I dont mind just putting Yael in an RC playgroup..but not so soon.

Catz..Yup hopefully!

Thanks Charis for the advice. I tried limiting the time she suckle but she would cry. I also tried giving her water with a cup as she don't like the bottle's teat anymore. She would cry too. Pengsan! Now I am trying to talk to her and make her understand mummy need to sleep and mummy don't like it when she fuss at night. Sometimes I think she is thirsty but it would be very difficult for her to rise and drink from the mug when she is half asleep. Me soft hearted and just let her sukle in the end. Will try to reduce the suckle time again.

Catz,
Hope your boy will be okay soon.