(2007/02) February

wait ah..very quick post cos i'm not home now. but i see that some of u don't bring the kiddos out for swim cos of 7th mth?? why cannot swim during 7th mth???

i bring YR to swim abt once a week. why 7th mth cannot swim meh??????? *blur*

GOG, my colleague's gal also suddenly got fever and vomiting, suspected of viral infection. Really gotta be more careful nowadays, seems like virus everywhere...

Ya, gals more "tie xin" and like to "sa jiao". But they can be more sticky though... So i wish my #2 is a boy. haha...

stella, how's ur new job? PT or FT one?

Oh ya... Congrats to mummies who are due after 17/8, can enjoy the perks from govt as well...

milk milk, where are u now? Shopping again ha???

GOG,
Do make sure family members wash your hands thoroughly after playing with Julian is Julian still vomitting.
2 weeks ago, my 7-mth old nephew had diarrhoea due to stomach flu, and before long, my 2-yr old nephew also had vomitting, and my mum, dad, 2 sis, 2 brothers, SIL, BIL all got the stomach bug/virus from him.... it was a whole week of vomitting and diarrhoea for my family.

btw, girls, I remember long long ago someone mentioned some Yoplait product recall? Is Yoplait Petit Miam one of the affected products?
Soph has suddenly taken a liking to Petit Miam, but a friend warned me not to buy Yoplait products cos of the recall.

huskie
the yoplait recall is for their baby yoghurt.. they dun make or distribute them to sg oredi.. QY still taking petite miam range lor

smurfy,
Thanks thanks!
Whew, so Soph can take it

I was so worried I have to stop her from taking it, and it's not often she takes a liking to certain food items.

eh milkie...

confirm you dunno...?? 7th lunar month is "ghost month"...cannot swim wait got ghost catch your leg...will lead to drowning...

can choose to be pantang or not pantang...personal choice...keke...my boss is an indian..she oso dun dare to swim in 7th month..

hi all!

how r all of u? miss ya

nowadays zz v cute... everyday got new actions to show us... really make us laugh...

i abit disppointed w spendin lesser time w G... as in compared to last time when zz was small... n now i pump my milk instead of latchin cos G not good at latchin it seem.

Hi all, How is everyone?
I've given birth to a bb boy on 15 aug. Too bad miss the new baby bonus.

On confinement now. This pregnancy is so much easier compared to my 1st gal.

Share my story.
15 Aug
7+am - Went to school to conduct oral as time-keeper.
8am - 9.30am - started to have regular contraction pain in every 10min. (Not very sure is it contraction pain but just time for confirmation.
9.30am - called clinic to check is it pre-labour pain. Before going to clinic, went toilet and saw there was 'show'. Was told to go clinic immediately, (A week ago, was scheduled to be checked on 18 aug which is 38W1D.)
10am - told colleague to inform school and left school and went home. Collect my hospital bag and admin letter.
11+am - reached clinic and shortly was called in and checked by gynae. Shocked to hear that i was 4cm dilated. He asked me to go upstairs for CTG scan to ensure bb's is ok.
11.30am - left clinic and went in laws place for bathing b4 admission. drank coconut drinks too.
1.15am - admitted Mt A with hubby and walked to delivery suite.
1.30am - 4pm - dilation very slow still 4cm but contraction pain is every 4-6min. Wanted to experience normal delivery w/o epi but by 4pm too painful and had to ask for epi. Lower body numbed already but I felt better as no pain.
6.30+pm, fully dilated but lost sense of touch, wait for instruction to push. after 4 pushes, Finn is born and I was glad that the whole process take abt 5h+ compared to my 1st gal with almost 10h of waiting.

Finn is fine and we were discharged on the 3rd day. His suckling skill is very painful. Everytime, I need to latch him on, I had to go through some starting pain then it would be beter. bb giving mummy 'xian ku hou tian' (have to experience some pains 'bitternees' then sweetness.) I just persevere and hope to feed him as long as i can. My gal only breastfeed for 9mth as I'm expecting him, so this one hopefully to 1yr and above.

Congratulation to those mummies who are due after 17 Aug.

Good morning to all mummies, my friend was so excited for me when she knew that the 16wks ML is effective from 17 Aug, she sms me. We were on my way home, after receiving her sms, my mil called my husband then we just realised the news just announced.

Went to watch the firework last evening at the floatin platform, was surprise to see my girl sitting there by herself before the fireworks show started. Though with the wet weather, it did not dampen our mood. The fireworks were very beautiful.

I've not bring my girl for her 18mos jab yet, wondering will there be fever after the jab, some fever will occurred like 1-2 weeks later.

hi mummies, quick post to update. Went to see gynae yesterday, almost 100% confirm to be girl
Now I can go and buy baby's clothes

have been extremely busy. Honestly the 16 weeks ML does not make a diff to me cos I dun think I have time to clear so many leave - additional 4 weeks, plus 6 days Childcare, plus AL. They add up to a lot and my company does not allow encashment of AL. SO in the end, most likely forfeit it

yesterday A was at a new class as he missed one of the lesson and this was a make-up for the session he missed. There was this little boy who was extremely naughty. He scratched A's face and then hit another baby head. And this is already a parent accompanied class! Cant imagine how it will be like if he is alone, such a terror at a young age. His mummy was apologetic but there was nothing much she could do to control her baby.

smurfy, the D'story club timing is very bad for A. its his nap time followed by lunch time at 12pm. Unless i take the 9am or 9.15am slot but its so early, A hasnt even bathe by then and hb will still be sleeping.

cherryale
so u signed up for d story club timing at what time? i went for the 11am timeslot for miss sue ying class leh? anyway just sign up one term see how it goes... sooo near oso... dun need to travel sooo far to JG (GOt waitlist as well) and GUG (Can't even get a slot for trial).. so currently that's the best for me leh.. but hor i really think lim ah pin rd is sooo run down :ppPPpP.. u go search for other good cc next time for a lor :p

evenful week for me... followed by oral thrush, cherish is having mild diahorrea.. i dunno it is becos of her discomfort or tramatised from prev session( she cried v hard after being held to do somersault) she was crying at her class.. can even settle down after she reach home and keep saying "pa pa" meaning scared.. now finally fell asleep

katie,

congrats to u!

congrats katie! gd to know u have smooth delivery

ya lor we 2 miss out on the baby bonus package... but thankful tat our bbs r fine...

just hope they can revise to whole yr of 2008. will be bonus.
btw, my G also doesn't latch well noe... i now pumpin for her...

updates: zz is finally confirm to go learnin vision nxt mth. last sat brought him there again n he mingle well w teachers there. at first abit shy but after playin a while dun wan to go back... but i hope first day will be like tat v smooth... cos it be a full day.
he also have his 18mth jab already.
yesterday nite while drivin on the bridge manage to capture the fireworks so nice! but zz got cranky cos we wake him up to watch :p

cherry, congrats on a gal!! u noe can go buy clothings!!! haha dun forget the bows

Hi garfield, thanks for ur wishes.
Too bad that we had to miss out on the bonus package but was very disappointed with govenment's decision on the date for implemenation.

My bb is born in the month of aug and was just 2 days away (My EDD is 29 Aug)...yet he 's calling parents to give more babies

Why can't he follow te starting date as when the baby bonus was first introduced (Bb bonus package was first started on 1 AUG 2004)? Since it is a national day rally , it should start wef from 1 aug n not 17 aug...

I feel it's somehow unfair to those bb born b4 17 aug. It makes so much different.

Cherry congrats in having a gal this time.

Hmm... most mummies had sent their bb for some classes but i intend to send my gal next yr.

Hi Peko,
thanks for ur wishes too. When r u due?
a boy or gal this time?

My gal's night time sleeping routine was disturbed. She doesn't go to bed at 9+pm, 1st 2 days after her younger brother was brought home, she was so sensitive to his cries, he would not want to sleep n most of the time would wait till almost 12 midnight then go to bed when she's extremely tired.
Wonder those mummies who have 2 children or more, do u expereince such things too? Maybe they're jeolous as their attention is shared with another new member in the family.

Now, slightly better but sleeping time at night is abt 11pm...sigh...

Katie, congrats, you are indeed lucky lucky! That is indeed a very easy labour! As for sleeping routine, because Timo has been accustomed to going to bed by himself at 7.30pm, Bethany's arrival did not disturb him even though she yelled pretty loudly and could be heard through the walls
Of course, jealousy is going to be the main emotion of the elder sibling in the wake of baby's arrival.. cannot be helped one lor...

Cherry, congrats to you too.. think you will be spreeing like crazy from now on
Teehee.. any names yet?

garfield, so ZZ go learning vision and mei mei will be with your helper? I don't dare to do Beth's MMR yet.. teehee

Phuket was really great.. but aiyoh, I hated sharing a room with my 2 monsters. Am trying to get my hubby to bring us to Phuket instead of M'sia in Sept.. hehe.. 'cos Marriott was really really nice. The room was fantastic, the 2 monsters enjoyed themselves at the pool and beach everyday. Now end up my 2 kids look like jungle book's mowgli.. haha.. esp Beth.

milkie dear, sorry I didn't reply you earlier - your clips are still with me.. I forgot to post.. see ya Tuesday.. got your ON/Gap loot as well.

Cherry, you wanna swing by to collect your loot soon? I emailed to your office a/c since your singnet a/c was bouncing mails.

Katie, congrats!!! You can appeal to MYCS cos your EDD is after 17 Aug, got high chance, try lah.

Catz, any pic to show on Phuket? I always thot there's nothing much for the kids in Phuket leh.

Garfield, how are you coping with 2 kids at home?

cherry, congrats on cfming gal!
You'll go crazy with shopping for gals.

katie, yup when they tok abt the package, i was not interested as i knoe sure dun have my share, then at first when they announced effective from 1 jan 09 i thot prob fair n i feel dun so heart pain, then change to 17 aug, i feel so close! anyway, it alrite now. some of my frens got it as they deliverin in sep, oct n dec...

catz, gigg, zz goin learnin vision n mei mei will be w maid. last sat brought the children out... mei mei dun really knoe how to latch but i still feed her cos convenient n no need to bring so many things. if nxt time how? anyone bring ebm out b4? how to bring out n warm?

we r copin quite well w them liao. zz is no longer like the first few days. n noe tat i can bring him out, he so happy. he likes to call mei mei n go see her. sometimes he sayang her too by his own will. v cute. but mei mei sleepin routine diff from zz. she sleeps late n wake up late... noe zz is walkin around happily while mei mei is sleepin.

katie, do they sleep together? y yr gal woken up by him? normally for me is the other way round, zz is v noisy durin day time sometimes when he scream happily, mei mei got scare n wake up. for nite time, zz sleep around 9 plus noe sometimes 10. cos sometimes i may be pumpin n maid either handling G or doin some housework. the time seem v fast pass by so v diff to make him sleep at 9 noe.

Giggler, haha. the photos are all with my Daddy leh.. Phuket itself, as in Patong Beach, the town is not child-friendly but we didn't even spend anytime there.. just in the resort
SHIOK!

garfield, har? How come Gemma still cannot latch? I never brought out EBM before 'cos both my kids were latched.. erm, very lei chey right? Good lar, I think your age gap very close so ZZ still blur blur

congrats katie! You are blessed with a healthy baby. Cheer up ya? There are things we cannot control

Would like to ask Mummies some advice. my sister is having a baby soon and is planning to get a dual electric pump. Would like to know which breast pump is good. I just bought some diapers for her and is Sealer a good brand? Thanks a lot.

catz, she can latch but she drink v fast, so i scare she doesn't get enough. then sometimes she might scream when my milk comes in, not sure if fast let down. aiyo dun know nxt time how ley....

zz seem to know there a mei mei noe... when i ask him wan to see mei mei he will nod n say yes. then if he is brought there, he stay quiet when mei mei sleepin... but i feel i spendin more time w zz than G. somemore i not latchin her noe...

bringing EBM out.

Last time,

I'll bring out frozen EBM then warm them by standing it in Hot water.. so end of day have to lug a large enough hot water flask and a cup when going out loh..

garfield, why not just practice latching her more at home? At least you dun hv to worry so much if she practises more

Saph, if you want a good double electric, the only 2 are Ameda Lactaline or Medela Pump in Style.. the rest, dun bother. Sealer ah, OK lah. But for NB I tend to spend more on premium diapers lah. You can order Goo.N from diaper.com.sg or Nepia too... of course the best is the Pampers New Baby one lah.

Catz,
Thanks for the feedback. Yes I did hear about Ameda Lactaline or Medela Pump in Style but not sure which one would be better.

Sealer - I bought the 3kg to 7kg S size (should be able to fit a newborn right? I am always so confused about all these Diapers. Last time was using Huggies Dry comfort and Mammy Poko.

sap
it's Medela PIS for me

garfield
i bring the EBM out in a thermal bag (i used avent). in the resturant, i would ask for hot water. most of them know abt warming milk for bbs oredi lar.. then just warmed up lor... unless i am not having meals, i would still drink something in a cafe lor.... (so that i do not have to bring hot water out lar). if at friends' place, easier lor... the other issue with bringing EBM out is that, then you oso have a schedule to rush home and pump out ur milk. recalled that once EBM is out of your fridge, it can stay in the thermal bag for about 4hrs, if no thermal bag, can onli last one hr outside

Saph, Ameda is cheaper but hor, Medela PIS is more robust. If this is her first child, then go for the PIS. The motor is made to last. Ppl complain it's loud but hor, the Medela's motor is weaker and not as robust.. will prob last through 1.5 children with intensive pumping. Not like PIS which can last through 4 children..hahahahah

Sealer, hmm.. not sure.. but Huggies Dry is OK also.

Saph, never mind one lah.. 1 pk only right? Newborns use up diapers so quickly, won't be wasted.

Where's everyone har???

Katie..Congrats to u! That was quite a smooth delivery..Hope yr bf will proceed smoothly too. Make sure baby not not sucking on nipple..must take the whole areola..there should be very little pain..but u can also prep the nipples by putting cream..heard the Avent one is good.

Catz..Welcome back! Good that u have a good time! haha..the kids super sun tanned huh..must have been good weather too.

katie, congratz on your smooth delivery!

magd, i am in the IT industry. U looking for job? MY ofc got opening for IT engrs now...but not sure whether u are in this line.

jelly, thx for sharing YX's diet. Actually Jerlene's diet is quite similar, but dunno why she just does not put on weight
Mebbe I will try Nan when her similac runs out.

sap, Jerlene is probably very comfortable in the pool as we bring her for a dip regularly since she was juz 6mths. I am also glad she is progressing well these few mths. Finally started to speak and respond to us...

Hi jojo,
Maybe you can try some organic shake drinks. Since I am not planning to give Xinfaye cow's milk. I give her the shake drinks. You can find them at organic shops. Helps her bowel movement too.

KaTie,
Congrats!!!! Your #1 is still quite young, so can't compare with my 2. Sarah was already 2 1/2 and more able to follow instructions by the time Ben was born.

SAHMs,
Now that Catz is back, when shall we meet??? Mrs Milky Juice, I still owe you quite a bit of money. You want or not? Better come out of the woodwork soon!

i think i am one of those few whose boy is almost off any kinds of milk now..

pathetic 40-60ml mixed into his breakfast cereal
pathetic 30-50ml mixed into his banana or avocado ..

yesteday i went robinsons, this lil QY onli interesed in girly stuffs.. played with girly bottles, plates and cups.. i tried to give him thomas the engine n bob the builder, he not interested.. then go look at the baby doll girl... not interested in thomas the engine playset..

Smurfy,
What is pathetic?
Re QY playing with girly toys. I think just let him explore with his own interest and keep it open as at this age they don't know what is girly or not. juat let them have fun. I'm sure he will turn out okay

sap.
me refering to a miserable amt of milk he takes in
. no lar. i just find it soOOo funny, he's playing with those girly things..n kept making fun of his daddy .. for me.. i'm alright so long as he's a fine fine boy

PVL, hehee... how about any Tuesday at United Sq? 'cos JuicyMilkieMama and I finish class at 10.45am and Globetrotters opens at 10.30am
But that means I'll have to ask my parents to fetch Timo from school.. so let me know lah

Smurfy, yeah it's OK lah... as for milk intake, ah well, nothing can be as pathetic as my boy's intake lah... I think there are some kiddos in this thread who are a good 2 years or more younger than Timo and heavier than his 14.5kg!! Heheheh.. Girly toys, nevermind lah.. Girly behaviour then not so good.

smurfy,
Ha ha. Ic. My mom in-law always assure me that it is okay not to take cow's milk as she herself cannot tolerate cow's milk since young. She is a health expert and read about health a lot. She said although cow's milk is high in calcium, human body cannot absort that much from it (not suitable). That is why now I would give her organic shake drinks (other than breastmilk). Just to make sure she have enough nutrients.

anyone knows how to cook Korean cold noodle soup?

me thinking of having them

heard need to boil stock.. any easier way to make them??

smurfy, you signed up for 11am slot. I havent sign up
the trial was for 11.15am slot. Is the teacher good?? actually i am of two minds whether to sign up cos A has kindermusik on sun, then if he goes for class on sat too, I will be very tired
Yah, the place is super run down. It has been there for ages but its the nearest to mil's plc so i guess dun have a choice but to put A there for cc

catz/garfield, only 98% confirmed, i dun dare to spree too much lah, wait till detailed scan then prob i more fangxin BUT BUT if got spree must alert me okie??? MUSTT SAVE A SLOT FOR CHERRYALE!!!

Catz, the ON denim capris too tight at the tummy leh, so disappointed while the other beige bottom fits well. funny right?? Should I sell it???? anyone interested?? cheap sale
if u dun mind i TT tomorrow ok, lazy to go and do internet banking now ..sorrie

btw, anyone tried living textiles bedlinen for babies before?? I saw them at mother works, looks very pretty esp the gals' range.maybe that will be my first purchase
Btw, the website said the bumper is suitable for baby age 1 and above, find it strange, dun we remove the bumper once they hit 1 yr old?? Thot that was what i did with A.

Catz, i thot of the name for girl long long long time ago, even have the middle name. Just waiting for the baby girl to come all these while

yo mummies..

its a sick weekend for me..been coughin quite abit..

KATIE
CONGRATS!! haf a good confinement yah...

catz,
muahahha welcome home!! hurry go load photos on facebook..hee..i dun haf the guts to bring 2 on a trip..can imagine how exhuasting it will be..keke

smurfy,
eh dun worry too much about the guys being "sissyfied" la..tyler is also like dat..but i not exactly upset about it now..coz "experts" say their gender orientation not there when they are young..keke

cherry,
congrats on the girl...let me guess is her name "ariel"?? i anyhow pom one..keke...

saphira,
i think the old sealer diapers are good!! but the newer versions..which are those wif animal prints..hmmm fashionable but not as absorbent le..but again..for newborns..they change diapers sooooo fast..no matter wat will still be in good use one la..

cherryale
though i would love to tell u, just sign up for one class is enough oredi, otherwise u would tired urself out... but the teacher told me that d-story club students do get some priority in their childcare services.. and u got to express ur interests in this sept or so when they have their registration.... as much as i love pat's for the brandname... but lim ah pin road.. errrr.. :x.. i think i will stick to a cheaper alternative in my area, which is newer n looks brighter..
.. yes i've signed up for the 11am slot.... err teacher okay lar... signed up coz it's near compared to other enrichment centers, and i want QY to learn to conform to some of the nOrMs before he becomes a nuiscane in future... (can u imagine him, going mai-mai-mai... everywhere... arrgghhh)

Garfield, gd that you've settled your care-giving issue. And happy for you that ZZ is coping well with meimei now. Usu I latch the kids directly when gg out.

Catz, so you guys just stayed in the resort? Think that's the way to enjoy travelling with kids hor? Cant do much shopping.

Saphira, I think the best dual elec pump is Medela ba, but very ex. I bot Ameda though and it's not too bad. I agree with Catz, cos heard that Ameda not as durable nowadays.