(2007/02) February

PVL..Glad to know yr yr lil' baby is doing fine..
YL also same, start off eating well..then towards end refuse to eat..sometimes I think I give too much..so now I give less and top up if he seems to able to take more.

Jelly..Wah u so determined learn so late n until Grade 6 is good leh..I started at about 7 years old..and took years, only finished Grade 5 and some internal exams up to Grade 8 standard but not the ABRSM exams..but Im quite lousy at classical..I prefer leisure playing..n I play for church, comtemporary style..more of just chords..n some melody variations..so think a keyboard will do for now.
Wah $12k rm is ex..think my parents paid S$4k for the upright piano so they fed up spent so much I didnt finish my Grade 8..haha! Our new keyboard only cost $300 plus lah..my hb refused to buy a digital piano for me..almost as good as an upright but slightly cheaper..he scared too much of an investment now..in case we end up no time to play..become white elephant.

4 kg only so far?! Think u'll look slim all the way lah haha!

Wah I hate the "pants getting tighter feeling"!

My hb wants to fast forward our baby plans! He thinks money not a big issue..cos he told me last time we didnt have big savings when we had YL n we still managed.
Cos our pastor also encouraged us young couples to have children earlier and have more too..the bible says children are like "arrows in a quiver"..have too few..u are in for trouble next time when crisis hit, although most ppl think the other way round..hard to explain lah anyway haha.
Anyway, I told hb I NEED to wean YL off bf first..so fastest still maybe end of the year can try.

jelly,

most of the playgroup kids in kinderland only go for half a day. They go ard 9am and come back ard 12.30pm. Only 2 kids stay for the whole day. My idea was I felt that he really has nothing to do at home, so letting him be there allows him to interact with others.

I dunno issit becos of childcare but ryan is starting to say 2 words these few days. He can say "good boy", "next door", "put back", etc... quite excited abt his language improvement cos he was stuck at 1 word for a long long time.

Charis,
Yup, have more. If I were younger, we would also think of having 4. It was God's will that we met and married so late, so what to do? Having #3 at 40 is quite tough. My hb says he cannot retire liao.
You can start trying now already mah, as you wean Yael off the breast. It's Ok to be preggy and bf too. I did that

giggler,
My 3rd bedroom is a BIG MESS, so we have to think about clearing the mess, and where to house our kids, since they never sleep with us. We've decided that the same sex kids will share the bigger room (currently the mess room) and the smaller room will house the lonely sex child since that room can only comfortably fit one bed plus wardrobe plus desk/bookshelf.

Catz,
So glad to know Timo is OK now and won't need the op

Have a great holiday next week!

Mrs Juicy,
Thanks for the Hey What's Cooking Hi5 title. I quite like it cos the tunes are so catchy!

jelly,
Your Hi5 DVD must be the most wholesome one... in most of the Hi5 I've seen, the guys are clad in tight tight jeans!

PVL,
How's your ms? Getting better now that you're in 2nd tri?

jelly, better use up your hubby's Krisflyer points quickly lah! My Dad had so many miles which already expired else I'm sure we could've all gone to Australia or even America! Haha.. he's one of those Solitaire members 'cos of his frequent travelling. Australia is prob better than NZ.. in terms of being pregnant and needing medical care. NZ if you're driving in those desolate regions, might not have hospital. I very kia see one.. teehee...

PVL, aiyah still can't tell gender ah? So secretly what do you hope for? Boy?

All these naughty kiddies not eating.. think it's just a developmental phase where they just want to irritate their poor parents lor. But yeah like PVL says, stick to your guns.. NO RUBBISH! Both my kids are trained to eat in the high chair/chair.. no running about rubbish.. buay tahan.

Charis, waaaah GO FOR IT!!!
Quickly wean lah! Actually wh knows, you might already be fertile leh.

chocbabe, so exciting! Beth also was stuck at 1 word for a while.. now she's putting 2 words together *phew* Ryan seems to really be enjoying school.. good choice of cc!

juicymama, will drop your clips in the post later today.. forgot about them yesterday
YR really has a very good appetite lor. I'm so envious!

Sigh, gotta start packing for the 2 monsters and myself.. hubby told me last night 'good luck handling them both on the plane hor'.. $%^&*&^% Not worried about Timo 'cos he'll be fascinated and he's very easy to entertain. I'm super worried about my naughty diva girl. Argh. Hope she isn't one of those nightmare kids you pray you don't meet on a flight. Heh.

Smurfy, my hubby going yeeeendia on Sunday.. kekeke.. you managed to siam or not?

Jelly..Yr aunty very nice n accommodating leh.
I think her one to one care for YX is such a blessing..Im sure she adores YX..hard to find good nanny.
Its really up to u whether u want to put YX in childcare..But Just sharing my opinion, Sorry this may be a really long post for u hehe..Partly coming from experience being a childcare tch for years n have taught the different age groups n also my own personal stand..
I find childcare for such a young age got more cons than pros..
No. 1 their immunity is low they tend to pick up germs n viruses so easily..n in the childcare germs n viruses spread like wild-fire..believe me..I got sick n ended up in hospital the 2nd week I started working in childcare..n I got my chicken pox there too..almost my whole class kena tat time!

As for education, I believe the mother is the best teacher..try to find time after work n weekends, u can teach YX, just reading books and bringing her out for excursions is good enough..u'll be amazed at how much they can pick up outside school environment.
Not to boast, but prove my above point-
My boy knows how to say n identify most animals, n he can tell us the sound the animal makes..plus his daily vocab of things like "eat", "drink", "please"..he has a vocab of 50 over words including 2 words type..and an understanding of 200 words easily..he can even say sentences like- "What is this?"
He can fill in the blanks to songs..eg when we sing Twinkle twinkle, Incy Wincy Spider etc..plus he's very confident physically..he's learning how to swim already..he'll kick n flap his arms n tries to swim to us, of cos we have to hold him haha..we dont use the float to teach him to swim.

Children can catch up at amazing speed even if we decide to put them in school later.
I've seen kids going in to school only at K1 n they do very well too.
Rgd socialising, we dont have to worry..cos humans a natural social beings..u notice children are just good at socialising with their own kind..they dont have to go to school to learn to socialise..in fact if they have siblings they will learn to socialise with added skills.
I think those weekly playgroups where the parents accompany the children are as beneficial for toddlers.

Furthermore, separation anxiety can cause a lot of stress to the child..to the point of nightmares.

If there is a need for the child to go to school, I think the earliest is 4 years old..at nursery level.

I have no arguments that in school a child can learn a lot of things..yes n bad things too..pick up bad habits from other kids..even teachers have bad habits leh..haha..
So a toddler who doesnt know right from wrong being in school away from parents..is something I never liked..BUT then again this is my opinion..I really dont intend to offend anybody.

Catz, Oi..I "fertile" already wat..hehe..I mean I got my period 1 month after I delivered leh although I was bf! So that means can get pregnant anytime lah..
hahaha!

PVL..I too believe if u had the chance u'll have more..u are the real motherly type..haha!
Looks like I got to continue soon..cos I want to have 5 actually, if GOD's will, hopefully all girls hehe..my church got some families with 5-6 kids!
Hmm..But think the most we'll have is 3..S'pore is a really tough place to bring up kids..in terms of finance, education expectations etc.

I scared if I dont wean him off first..if I have a tough 1st trimester then I cant bf him..nausea etc..stress lah.

Charis, wah fertile then go for it lah.. anyway, it's about time to wean Yael, no? Esp if you want to get cracking on having 5!!!!

Agreed that PVL is the motherly sort... already me with 2 kids is very mind-boggling.. teehee

Actually I agree with you on many of your points but a lot of SG moms would probably disagree 'cos they prefer to have their own freedom or have no other alternative, unfortunately.

Gig, my next gynae visit will be 1st week of September (will be in wk 20 then) so hopefully can know his/her gender by then.

charis, i have the basic from my organ lessons oredi, so started piano from Grade 4 when i was in Sec 4. Have to give up my piano lesson after my grade 6 as pursued my study in aust. Hei, i also no good in classic. Since stopped learning and until we bot a piano 2 months back (which was more than 10 years), i hardly got chance to play piano. So now slowly pick up when we go back JB. But need to gao tim this ah-xi first b4 i can touch on the piano (like getting my hubby to entertain her or give her snacks to eat or let her watch tv) else she will drag me down from the bench.

Hope that you are the next one promoted to 2nd MTB. Haha...

chocbabe... wow, such a great improvement on Ryan since he only started school early this month! U only intend to put him there for 2 months rite?

huskie... hei, i dunno lei. I only have one and the only one hi-5 dvd. ha... Not to sure mine is a new or old version. Mine has this asian gal called catherine de leonz. Is she still wif hi-5?

Btw, i love ur studio shoots, especially the 1st one sophia holding a sunflower. So sunshine feel and she looks so bright!!!

catz, u still here! When's ur trip? Or u back oredi? Sorry didn't manage to read thru all the posting for the last few days. My hubby's krisflyer points definitely cannot match ur father's lah since he mostly fly china only and economy class only. But enuf to redeem 2 adult tickets to aust or nz. heee... I prefer aust especially melbourne since i have not been back since graduated which is like 10 years oredi! Plus aust is nearer compared to nz. I quite scared how will ah-xi fare wif her first flight experience. Hmmmm....

Catz..Yes yes Im weaning him off..but boy its not easy..I started on eliminating 1 feed..still got 2 feeds to go..n the much toughest bedtime feed!

Guess so too..Most parents send their kids to childcare cos they are working..but for those more fortunate ones that can take care of their own kids..i say go for it..school can wait..freedom wise..yup I want my freedom too sometimes..so I try to have some time-off too.

Charis, lots of parents choose not to take care even if they can lah.. loss of freedom. See how many parents leave their kids with their parents/nanny for the entire week and don't even bring them back in the evenings? Anywayyyyy..

jelly, I'm flying off Monday early morning.. so Sunday night, me and the 2 monsters are going to stay with my parents. Argh. I dread sleeping with the kids for 4 nights! Back on Thursday evening.. my parents too scared to book a longer trip in case things go wrong. Haha.. need my husband around lor. Quickly redeem your tix lah.. yah I also have good memories of my uni town - Newcastle but aiyah England isn't very child-friendly, unfortunately. Don't worry, Ah Xi will be OK on the plane.. this age is a lot easier to handle already.

Wow, charis... I am so touched at what u have written "specially" for me! And amazed at how advance Yael is! Made me wanting to quit now and be a SAHM like u. Haha... Ya, it's a blessing that my aunt is helping me to take care of ah-xi and the whole family adores her very much! I have and am struggling very hard myself that whether i should quit and be a SAHM for the two kids. I think what stop me from taking this step is my fear and my lack of confidence to take care and teach the kids myself... I hope I can be as confident as you when come to this aspect as i never teach any one before and do not have much acquitance wif toddlers or kids b4 my own kids. We are looking school for ah-xi now mainly becos if my aunt willing to take care of #2, i dun think she can handle ah-xi at the same time. So thot of putting her to half day cc to ease my aunt. Until now we do not have the solution as there are other uncertainties which we are facing like the possibility that my office might shift from east to town and wat if my aunt dun want to help us take care of #2. We can only take one step at a time and try to be positive.

PVL, you still have a 3rd room, we dun have. So dun want to trouble myself abt this now.

Charis, I also agree that the earliest to send kids to sch is abt 3-4yrs old.

Jelly, rem to tell bb to open up his/her thighs for you to know gender.
what you hope for?

Catz..Haha..yup that's true.

Are u going for another trip after Phuket? After yr hb's India trip? IN the planning is it?
So where u all heading if going somewhere?
I want to go holiday too!!..Im openly hoping that we can go to Perth or somewhere lah before I ttc..but fuel prices are so up n up now!

Giggler, does Vane sleep with you guys? Then no need to worry right? Only headache when they reach Pri school... teehee..

Charis, yeah we'll be heading off for a family holiday the week of my birthday (Sept).. just probably a driving trip. Airfares are just too high.

catz
i've oredered books frm amazon, the 1st disovery books frm scholistics looks good leh, i am going to order the whole series kekekeke. i've siam oredi lar... emotionally unbalanced.. otherwise i would be taking this sunday flight to chennai (maybe same flight as ur hb)

SOOOOo sleepy now and yet I have to go out soon. Meeting a friend and her kid for late lunch and coffee. Husband supposed to pick us up after that *sigh*

PVL, so do u want a boy or a girl for your 3rd one?
i mean which would u prefer now? any preference? And yes, I did put on 25kg. I think I'm those type who balloon out when I am pregnant. My mum told me she was exactly the same when she had us kids. hee hee

PVL, what type of exercise regime do u follow now? I'm really so tired just trying to burn up her energy.

HUH. talk about the rascal. She sat on her highchair for 1.5hrs today cos she just plain refused to finish her LAST spoonful of rice. I can't believe it. She refused it after 20 mins in the highchair. So she spent 70 mins sitting on highchair just stubbornly refusing to finish off just that final bit. How silly can she get. Anywayz, she didn't finish that last spoonful and i had to put her in for her nap cos i need to go out in the afternoon, so i just put her in bed straight after taking her out of the highchair. Super irritating.

Jelly, i think u will remain slim throughout your pregnancyy lor. U so small built.
AND u go try and watch other hi5 dvds hor...the nathan fella really likes to wear super tight tops and tight bottoms so can see his DD pretty obvious.

Charis, come leh, join the 2nd or more babies club leh.
U wanna have more children, better to get it over and done with once and for all mah...then Yael also gets a playmate at home. Isnt' that fun?

huskie, not a prob...i also like hey what's cooking. does sophie like it?

catz, walau..all your kids seem to be talking like machine guns leh...mine still at the ball ball stage...basket. heheheehe

charis, i agree with what u said...but i'll definitely still have to send YR to sch for half a day at least esp with the coming addition in the family. true lah, what u said about they might learn good and bad in school....

Jelly, the asian chick is katherine de leon. she's philippino. ANd i didn't order the jshopper stuff....don't even know who organizing any sprees...

smurfy, looks good! You ordered the whole set already? Let me go look look see see.. anyway let me know if you want anything from Amazon yah? My whole house is Thomas-crazed now... haha.. so getting more Thomas things for them.

catz
wat thomas things have u got or are u getting leh? kekeke i duno what to get? got ur order list to peep or not, then can save time hahhahaa. i ordered some titles, then my friend scanned for me some pages (those u see up there). tot is good, so getting the whole set lor... anyway it oso belongs to the 4 for 3 promotion.

Jelly..Haha..hey yup true specially for u..just want to be upfront about my opinion, I've seen so many different kids n cases..although I was a childcare teacher, Im not an advocate to send young kids to school too early..n because I was a childcare tch n now a mother, I see things in a diff way now.

Im sure u'll be a good SAHM n that ah-xi will learn a lot..all u need is the desire to..its the 1st step.

However, looking at yr current situation, if eventually u really have to put her in school, its better to do now..cos with the arrival of the 2nd one she may have a "bigger" separation anxiety then, can cause her even more stress..Of cos the best is for u to be a SAHM, then I think the childcare arrangement is more or less solved..maybe u can get a maid or an extra help.
OR can yr job allow u to work from home or part-time?

but the links sooo many figurines that look abt the same leh?? how to choose? and which playset to get?. i wanted to get a track for QY, but toyrus's like so expensive oredi... n i dunno whether he's interested in the whole track or just wanna take the train out to play (which happens for my thomas the engine aquadoddle mat).. and isst expensive to ship the playset back to sg?

smurfy, aiyah you never say earlier.. I just ordered from Allaboardtoys leh.. it's cheaper for some playsets... 'cos in Singapore, one small playset is around $50-70 already. Figurines if you buy - the main ones are Thomas (abuden), Gordon, James, Percy, Emily, Henry and Toby. Depends on the size of the box that the merchant uses lor... so far so good, still cheaper.

Jelly..Just thinking out loud..another option is get a helper/maid for yr aunty n yourself too?? So she can take care of both in her house?

Juicy milk..Hehe..yes I want another baby lah..but u all must cheer me on to wean off Yael successfully first haha!

Eh actually u see PVL can manage 2..going to be 3 leh!
I know she Super Mummy! But if she can, I very encouraged..maybe I can too..although quite scary thinking about it..haha.

Catz, are you Virgo? I am leh but I like no traits of virgo leh. Both kids sleep with us in the same room.

Smurfy, the discovery books look chim leh.

finally finised the posting of last few days

so exciting reading all the 2nd time preggy stuffs

Re: Baby Talk.
Lil J is practically chinese speaking.. cos 80% of her spoken language is Chi.. guess its bec she's with grandma 24/7 .. she can speak almost a sentence in mandarin, e.g. Pa pa/ ma ma chui zhuo gong (pa pa/ ma ma go to work) ..

but now her fav word is bu yao/ dunwan haha

last night i felt so rejected she refuse to let me carry her when she was making a fuss not to sleep.. only allow my mil to carry her.. and her dad to get her to bed to sleep..

i think i got to find better way to connect with her.. so she will let me pat/ sing/ do anything to get her to orh orh.. else there would be 0 bond btw us.. sob sob sob

catz
which part of india ur hb going? why he needs to go india???

sunsweet
nowadays i feel so happy when QY say "mai" to the daddy leh. coz he dun put in effort, how does he expect QY to bond with him at all? come home, watch tv. read papers.. ask him to pat QY to sleep, he fell asleep first. the other day i was walking down the stairs from the LRT station n mum n QY was waiting for me outside the gate-pass. QY spotted me frm the tens and twentys of people walking down the stairs.. and smiled widely at me... tis lil boy really melted my heart at that moment. coz usually he gave me a blank look though i am sure he saw me

Gig... i secretly hope for a boy as i prefer a mix of boy and gal. Ya, gotta keep telling the bb b4 my next gynae visit to be more cooperative.

smurfy... the book looks very qimnology lei... U have set up a rich mix of library for QY liao ya?

mrs juicy... ah-xi has graduated from her highchair for very long liao. Our fault lah, as i do not have a highchair at our home, only at my aunt's place, so weekend when we feed her i put her at the dining chair sitting opposite me. And when go out to eat, we lazy to put her on highchair too and just let her sit on adult chair. But she quite oklah. Will guai guai finish her food one though everyday similar porridge and ingredients. *touch wood* But then recently she started wanting to self feed, so now i am teaching her to eat by herself. But very messy, need so many tissue paper each meal.

Ya, she is katherine not catherine, hehe... i think she quite pretty. Is she still wif hi-5? the Natty guy, is he the curly hair one?

When u gg to send YR to school?

charis... my hubby said even if i stay at home, he thinks i will need a maid too as he doubt i can handle the two kids and the housework myself. hehe... In the past i have thot of asking my boss to allow me to work 2 or 3 days a week kind of arrangement. But my work situation change now, and i dun think it is possible! Especially if i quit now, it will jeorpadise the whole project. So in a dilemma.

catz/mrs juicy... are u gg to order more hair clippies from the BP???

charis... U dunno my aunt lah... She very neat type will not like a stranger to meddle her housework one. So headache headache like no perfect solution...

sunsweet, ah-xi also speak mandarin more as my aunt family chinese speaking, though she can understand when we speak to her in english. Like when i asked her where is flower? She will say "hua". She knows car is "che", and "thank you" is "xie xie". But when i asked her to say "please", she won't, instead she will piggy mouth to me. And when i asked her to say thank you, she will nod her head instead or plant a kiss on me.

Everyday b4 she left my aunty's house, she will hug and kiss my aunt, my uncle and their son (her jiujiu) before she will leave. Then b4 she goes to bed, she will run to my sis, hug and kiss her goodnite. B4 she fall asleep, she will turn to me and kiss me goodnite first b4 she fall asleep. I find this is soooo sweet...

For those who r keen - yest while chking emails, I recv one frm Toys' R Us tat their members can get I think 15% off the tickets for Thomas & Frens.

I hope I rem correctly.

jelly - yes, we also ask/ teach A to hug por por, ah gong, ah ma, daddy & all b4 he leaves or goes to bed. So nw tis bcmes a habit for him already, when he wanna slp, he will start waving gdnight to hb.

jas
wow lao, getting QY to give us a kiss is like striking 4d. he does it so seldom. and on the most amazingly conditions as well. me n my hb birthdays.. that day before the gynae visit.

Jelly..OIC..oh dear..tough like tat..
Really hope u can find the best solution for yr family soon.
Ah-xi is so sweet!
Yael will kiss us too if we ask him..but seldom out of the blue..haha.

My dear boy only drinks half the mini Vitasoy packet milk drink n i bought him those biscuits sticks with cheese dip..instead of eating most of the dip, he eats up all the biscuits, tasting the dip sparingly..aiyoh how is he going to get his calcium?! He dislikes cheese pieces too.
I'm left with those flavoured milk drinks which is a tad too sweet, vitagen, n yoghurt.

so many posts to catch up, i will read later, very sleepy now. Think I will close my door and blinds and sleep in my office for a while.

smurfy, QY is amazing! Know when to give kisses on special occassion!

charis, my gal also hate cheesy. Luckily she loves milk so not worry she does not get enuf calcium.

cherry... I wish my room does not have such a big piece of glass then i can close the room and take a nap like u liao. haha...

Jelly,

Ah Xi so sweet. for me i only ask Lil J to greet everyone "Nite nite" before going to the bedroom and wrestel her to sleep *whaha*

sometimes she will greet her toys "nite nite" too if she's in good mood.

and bec she speaks more of chi. and less of eng.. that's why I'm sending her to 2 x per week playgroup to have some english speaking environment.

anyway bec of the school's fire, i've postponed her class to September
though school is reopening on the 18th Aug. (let the classroom air a little more)

Sunsweet..The school caught fire?!

Cherry..So nice have own office right? Have a good power nap!

My dad dropped by..so I too can relax a bit while he plays with Yael..hehe..
Anyway soon have to do some cooking..cos tonite Im going for kickb class n th boy wil be with the dad..so must try to feed this boy first..My hb cant manage him n do other things also lah..aiyoh..dont know wats so difficult..haha.

Sunsweet, can understand how you feel, cos sher stimes prefer maid to me. I thinking of sending Sherwin there for their weekend class

Smurfy, ya, now can start to give him all non fiction info. But I too lazy to show them the books or other edu toys. I bot quite lots of stuff during Vane's time leh but all are under-utilised. Sigh...

Jelly, ya shd combine and have 'hao' zi. YX is so sweet...
Gals are sweeter leh, that why all along I prefer gals. Vane do such things also but sher doesn’t

Charis, sherwin doesn’t like cheese and yoghurt also.

cherry, feel very sleepy esp after lunch hor???

Sunsweet, can understand how you feel, cos sher stimes prefer maid to me. I thinking of sending Sherwin there for their weekend class

Smurfy, ya, now can start to give him all non fiction info. But I too lazy to show them the books or other edu toys. I bot quite lots of stuff during Vane's time leh but all are under-utilised. Sigh...

Jelly, ya shd combine and have 'hao' zi. YX is so sweet...
Gals are sweeter leh, that why all along I prefer gals. Vane do such things also but sher doesn’t

Charis, sherwin doesn’t like cheese and yoghurt also.