(2007/02) February

magd, onz! I will bring maid, you bring also. I dun like A to sleep with maid, so A will stay with us in our room, but our maids can share room loh, if your kiddos want to share room with the maids also can.

babe, u consider lah, who knows by then u preggie leh, then also need to have maid to run after T1 and T2. As for Rachel, u ask her can?

Catz n Milk..Which day u all attend the class? I thot of attending a trial class with Yael..the class sounds "interesting"..haha.."discipline", "humming" n such..hehe..I also want to see how the teachers can "discipline" our active tots!
Whats the school and website again? Thanks ladies.

PVL, Huskie..Driving up to Penang sounds fun..I took a bus to Perak before..at 10pm, reached the next morn at 6am..So how many hours more to reach Penang? Maybe we'll consider taking a bus up with Yael..haha!
I took a plane up there ages ago..
I think it was only 45 min....it was such a short flight..and being young then I was disappointed haha!
Of cos I prefer plane cos faster..but the fuel tax now is super ex..
My gf and I was contemplating to go Bangkok one of this weekends and leave our kids with the dads haha..but when we checked out the airfare..we would have to spend $300 plus jus on airfare ..not including hotel n shopping..not enough $$$ lah..sian!

Huskie..Make #2 with Sop around?! Can lah..Tire her out first..swim, chase her around..give her a nice big dinner of her favourite food, then sure sleep like a baby..haha!

wah piang eh cherry...

no no no.....i wun try until next year....muahahha

my maid will be in indon la...so i cannot bring!!...but i will be most happy if you gals bring..kakaka...then i can "tongpang" T1 & T2 wakakaka

too bad we can't arrange this month. cos my lami gg back end aug. till then i still have 2 maids. babe: your maid should go back earlier mah. lol....... wrong timing

cherry: of coursey... but my new one blur sotong and super lazy. everyday i think of new tedious work for 2 of them to do. lol... so evil right? else i have such a small place have 2 maids for what? hehehehhee....... ok set. cameron isit? better check out hotels? who else gg?

Rashes:

Mummies, anyone had some rashes after MMR jab?

Lil J had slight fever the day the b4.. now ok.. but just now i saw some spots of rashes on the body.. dunno is it due to the MMR jab?

any one can share your experience?

charis, it's by elc.. http://www.elc.sg/html/s12_content/default.asp?tnid=22&dsb%3D145

we attending the 10am class every tues at united square. U come and join the trial class next week lah!!!

I find Yael a very good boy actually (at least the last time I met him lah). Do u discipline him at home????? Which methods u use to discipline him???

Sunsweet, YR had the MMR jab and no rashes or whatsoever leh....I just gave her some calpol on the same night she had her jab and that's that. Did u check with the pd to see what other effects MMR jab might have on the kids?

hey milkie, we just headed to the food court 'cos Timo and Beth had porridge packed by my mom. Don't dare to risk Timo's tummy going wonks so he's on zero oil, zero meat diet still. Heh. Square 2 is nice.. I like Pasta de Waraku.. yums. YR is ok lah.. she's actually very cute. But yeah I guess she's used to having free rein lah. Beth also, hates being stuck in a circle. But man oh man, she had a great nap after that.

Charis, yeah, come join us with Yael.. the last time I posted, you didnt respond lei
CHeap and good.. $150 only.

milkie,

I ask the doc then, he says fever 7-10 day and maybe slight rashes.

checked website.. poor appitite and rashes (1 to 2 day) ..could occur...

well guess i have to keep a close eye on Lil J.. make sure she's fine.

today Lil J not fated to go school.. cos early morning, i the center caught a small fire and class could not be conducted.. so there goes Lil J's 1st day of school.. sigh..

i see her so enthusiastically wear her uniform and shoes waiting for a fun time at school but have to turn back and return home.. i dunno want to pity her due to her dissappointment or to luff it out cos wat a way to have 1st day of school.. keke

Milk, Catz..$150 is quite affordable..
But Wait..hmm..what did I hear? Haha!
Stuck in a circle? How long is circle time?! Actually very hard to get tods below 2 years old to stay in a circle for more than 30 seconds..try as hard as u can, u'll just get exasperated..
Even previously when I taught in the playgroup class in childcare, we were less strict on the below twos..they didnt have to sit still..cos they are meant to move! They learnt best that way anyway..

Well..maybe I'll jus join the trial class first and see how it goes..

Milk..Yael is relatively mild lah hehe..he doesnt throw wild tantrums haha..but being a tod he is very active and now his need for communication is more so he can get quite frustrated if he cant convey what he wants. As for discipline..generally I just have some rules and routine for him to follow daily..when he doesnt want to obey etc..then I give a stern face and stern voice and he'll usually oblige haha..and we use the cane..but very very wisely..so far only when he is defiant, meaning repeatedly insisting on his own way esp when it may be unsafe to do so..like standing on the high chair, or thrashing food on the floor when he's angry..despite being told to stop once..we always give warning first before we use cane.
As for time-out..I have not used yet..cos no point I find they dont understand yet.

Magd, Cherry, Babe!!!!!!!!
Count me in!!!!! I want to go cameron too! Been wanting to go there for years but hubby's not confident of driving there. Think he'll feel a lot more "secure" driving up as a group.

I'll bring my maid too. The last time we went Krabi I brought my maid along too. Ethan was about 9 months then. Hubby insists on it cause he thinks it'll be more a hardship tour than a holiday if the maid doesn't go along. He is right in a way i guess.

Jelly,
we actually wanted to go sydney in sept - my little babymoon before the arrival of #2. And there was a promo on SIA too! I think $988 inclusive of all taxes. Not bad hor? But again hubby says it'll be very tiring if we go without the maid and I insisted on not bringing the maid (bu she de the $$$$$ mah) so the plans came to naught again lor

Smurfy,
guess you must have left the office by now and will be on leave/MC tomorrow... but just want to wish you all the best for tomorrow ok?

catzzzz, did beth eat her food today or still playing punk and spitting out her food? hee hee

Ooooo i like pasta de waraku too BUT we didn't eat there today. :p we ate at the korean place again. She had her rice and some fried fish that i ordered for her and my ginseng chicken soup.

YR also had very good nap today..hee hee i let her walk ard at square 2 too before we headed home.

Eh, i seriously think YR got weird sense of humour leh...u remember when the little boy cried cos of the recorder? Then she pretended to cry too??? It's as if she mocking him.

I think today's lesson more like for me to have a mini gym lesson instead...kekeke

I'm gonna check out the webbie for the hairclips now...
xie xie ni.

charisssssss, yes yes...go join the trial class next tues....
it will be fun.

Talking about discipline...i don't know leh. I do sometimes beat YR on her hands when she throws food she doesnt' like on the floor or throws things off the table once she finishes eating. But she actually will look at me and laugh and then proceed to hit her own hand with her other hand.
She thinks I'm joking or what is it????? I don't smile when i beat her hand and i say it to her pretty sternly but she really doesnt' seem to care. I'm really jialat lah.....

Today she only finished half of her dinner and then i didn't bother to give her her desserts. She probably knows i'm not happy at her. So when my hub came back, i told him not to feed her any snacks at all.

Then i was on the phone with a friend chatting away and guess what I saw? I saw my hub giving her raisins. I told him cannot give......but he gave her a few cos he said that she threw away some rubbish into the bin and he wants to reward her.

Then never mind, i told him don't give her anymore. Then a few minutes later, I saw her passing him her bowl and he trying to sneak some biscuits to her. Walau....i had to tell him again NO SNACKS cos she didn't finish her dinner.

He ah....*sigh*.....he says she passed him her bowl so he thought she hungry and so gave her food lor.

I told him i don't care if she's hungry anymore cos if she not gonna take her dinner properly, she shouldn't be eating snacks or other things.

She's really getting very picky with food....and i'm not very happy about it.

Sunsweet, I think it's funny that lil J can't go to sch cos of the little fire. Hee hee thank goodness no kids were ard when the fire occurred lor....

charis, i haven't used cane on YR before....cos i doubt my husband will approve. Plus also lah...i don't think i will dare to cane her. Like very sayang like that.....hee hee but i guess it must work cos PVL uses the cane sometimes too and her kids turn out pretty well too.

My dad called today and I complained about YR to him...he just told me that can't be helped cos she is probably as stubborn as me. Grrrrrrrrrrrrr

However, I'm still gonna try to make her better behaved lah.

milkie, no lah she wasn't mocking him lah.. she was just mimicking.. ok fine, in a sense it was a leetle mocking but it was darn funny
Yes and Beth refused to finish her food even though she was hungry. @#$%^& Monkey chabo. Hee your hubby very soft with her huh? Actually the teacher is right about discipline.. when you're handling only 1, you can afford to be lax.. but when you've gotta keep your eye on 2, you want #1 to be ABSOLUTELY obedient if not you're gonna have a lot of headache e.g. dangerous scenarios. Sigh. Esp since YR is naughty like you! Hahahaha..

Found the webbie for the clip Beth was wearing today.. now tempted again!! Let me know if you wanna order 'cos 3 clips and above get free shipping!!
http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5532095

Charis, yeah join in! It's super cheap, can't get any cheaper than that and it's all very English-speaking type

Smurfy,
u went to the gynae already? I went today and did the scan... can see the sac already.

Then i told him abt the spotting and he did an internal check and found a huge polyp, actually 2. Then he removed them immediately. Damn pain. Luckily hubby w me. He say if dun remove will bleed all the way till birth. He say usually not cancerous but as a precaution will send it for testing anyway.

on 3 days MC, no exertion incl carrying little ryan

Now i really admire my gynae for his skills, cos before this see 2 gynaes, none detected it. May just stay w him for the whole pregnancy eventhough I know he not very pro-natural. Will listen to his advice. My 2 hrs wait was worth it.

Jelly, ur gynae also him rite? Dr CH Koh?

Yo Magd, Cherry and Fatbabe!

When are you gals going to cameron? Have been grounded eversince Julian's birth. Even Malaysia also not been cos we are not confident in driving in Malaysia. Would be good to be able to join you all. Less daunting for us.

catz, yes yes yes, my hub is really soft with her. He allows her to smack his face and stomp around his body lor...he only stops her when she tries to hit me. I think he compares her to other korean kids and as huskie would know, korean kids are not the best behaved kids ard lah.

Jap kids are like top in the obedience list. Local kids are not so good like the japs. Then comes the korean kids who are terrors i think.

eh, i kinda feel this conversation with u got the dejavu feel leh......

anywayz, eh, ask for more discount leh when u order the clips....:p :p The clips are really cute. I want all alligator clips right?? it's better right??

chocbabe, wow, good job with the gynae!!! How to remove polyp without anasthesia? Faint.. you are so brave lah!

catz, wahhhh u damn fast leh!!!! siao chabor....u really our spree queen lah. hee hee

okie, i will write u another cheque next week can???????

chocbabe, u really are brave.....but thank goodness your gynae removed them.
rest well and take care of yourself and the #2...

milkie, think we haven't hit enough for discount but I'll ask anyway...super cute right the clips.. yah Alligator is the way to go. All those stupid barrettes I bought from Gymboree no use :p

argghh.. can don't write me cheques? Can you pls learn how to do internet banking before I arbish you? Or ATM transfer?

charis

so true with regards to circle time. At cherish class, she can hardly sit thr during circle time..but i notice it is a monkey see monkey do thing. Sometimes she can behave if her classmates are behaving.

can i ask u some discipline related issues? lately cherish has been lying on her stomach ( in class, playground etc) when i ask her to stand up or sit up, she will scream in protest. wats the reason for that?

kekekeke okie...onz lah....u try asking them for disc lah...
the clips really good...doesn't seem to hurt at all too.
i think i only have the snap clips from gymboree...but end up i using it for myself at home cos the silly girl just pulls it off all the time.

catzzzz i don know hw to do internet banking and atm transferrrr hahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahaa

walau..cheque very nice mah..so personal. :p :p it's like writing snail mail as compared to writing an email.....hee hee

lala, i think probably she just throwing tantrum ba...it's quite common for our kids to do that at this stage now i think.

YR does it sometimes when she wants something and i don't comply to her...but i normally just pull her off the floor and end up being kicked and hair pulled by her lor....When i'm home and she does that, then i just let her throw her tantrum and i go elsewhere. she normally comes looking for me then starts throwing her fits again......i normally ignore her till she calms down herself.

what do other mummies do????????????????????

Chocbabe,
Good to know the polyps are removed safely. Rest well!

Charis,
According to my engineer ex-colleagues, Ipoh to Penang is about 2.5hrs drive.
Milkie and Catz' class sounds so fun! I also feel like joining, but Tue is no good for me

How is Yael adapting to his new bed?
I feel like switching Soph to a proper bed too, cos the current latex mattress is just too hot... I think spring mattress cooler, but still have no confidence she will lie in bed and sleep by herself!

Catz,
Thanks for info on DVD player. Think I'll be getting one then

And yes, the waters in Penang is not that great, but beach is decent... although cannot expect the pristine fine white sand type in Thailand.
We just let Soph build sandcastles on the beach and walk a bit in the waters, then when it comes to swimming time, it's the hotel pool.

milkie,
Hee, you're right, Korean kids are quite boisterous, but they're really cute!
Wow, YR is really strong! No fever or anything after MMR?!

huskie, it is quite fun lah the class. GO LAHHHHHHH why tues cannot??????????? U having some rendezvous is it?? :p

Don't switch sophie to a bed till she is good at sleeping lah...u dare to risk it ah?? he ehee

huskieeeeeeeeeeeee, she no fever leh....i somemore gong gong still give her calpol on the day that she had jab when the effect supposed to be a week later....hahahaa i tell u ...i really gong gong one when it comes to looking after YR.

YR quite a toughie lah one thing...so i'm quite lucky in this aspect. she can be exposed to germs and still remain well...so i think she got my immunity lah..not my hsuband's. I'm quite strong myself. :p :p

cherry,
I stayed at Aloha Camerons (Cluny Lodge). It was a room in a bungalow. Attached bath, and our room had a smaller room attached with a single bed. Sarah slept there. Basic facilites. Cosy and clean, but not hotel or apartment type of facilities.

huskie,
Ben didn't need any entertainment except for some snacks. He was asleep half the time.

Catz,
We stayed at The Gurney. Apartments. Quite nice at that time. Along Gurney Drive.

sunsweet,
No rashes leh. No fever either.

Charis,
I think Penang is another 2-3 hours from Ipoh.

chocbabe,
THank God your baby is OK. Wow! Polyps? How did the gynae manage to remove them with the baby there too? Good thing he found them too.

woowowoow....

the cameron trip seems exciting!!..okie okie..

so cherry/ magd which date is better for you?
rachel is ONZ too!

GOG you too!! which date better?? we thinking end sept yah?? how many days ar??

think we muz start researching which place to stay oso..take PVL's suggestion??

milkie..catz
the etsy clips real cute!! i ordered some from a BP recently..ordered from US too!..keke..abit OD on clips le..but i am keen on the tutus selling on some stores of etsy...got this mum organising spree...so cute!! though i not sure when to let tyra wear oso..keke..

chocbabe,
you are one brave soul! congrats on seeing the sac!..

smurfy,
your appointment tml yah...hope you can see e sac and report the relief yah!

fat_babe,
What suggestion did I make? I don't think Cluny Lodge can fit all of you in! They only have 8 rooms sleeping 2 adults each. Don't think they have that many baby cots either!! And most of their rooms are twin, and the beds cannot be moved together.

Chocbabe..Wah u very brave!! Yr gynae very amazing too! He did it vaginally using ultrasound? Or did he use a scope..and then did the clipping simultanteously?
Can imagine yr pain leh..

U have a good rest ok!

Stella..Hmm..she's doesnt go on her tummy when she's upset right?..She just likes to do that is it?..Then my guess is thats cos she loves the view from there or she just likes the tactile feeling being on her tummy! Dont make it into a discipline issue..cos tods love to explore..and their world just got more interesting, exploring with their new found senses. But lying down on a dirty playground can be an issue..so if you dont want her to do that, and she screams then redirect her with something else, a toy or tell her "look there's a bird there, what is it doing?"..watever you can think of lah.

Milkshake..Usually I redirect..works best for toddlers I believe..or if tantrum persists, I also wait for Yael to calm down..as long as he's in a safe place..I sometimes jus stare at him or continue doing my own things..no point screaming..he usually screams back haha.
I do hit his hands if he throws food etc.

But in terms of tantrums, you may have to deal with a 5 yo differently ok..just fyi..haha.

There's a difference between childish misbehaviour and defiance..tods usually display the former.

skinnybabe, what tutus???? where where??? u mean like ballerina tutus?? the clips are very cute hor...
thank goodness catz' beth was wearing one yday or else i would have never known it was that adorable and comfy to wear for the kids.

charisssss, how to deal with 5 year old???? maybe a bit too early to ask..

I'm so sleepy...why am i up so early and everyone and their kids so asleep??????

skinnybabe, where are the tutus? i'm searching for it at the etsy webbie. Bo leh......where????

i just mopped my house. I can definitely confirm i take less than 10 mins for whole house. I timed myself today.
ta daaaaaaaaaaaa

why is it when i'm here, no one else is here???? sigh

will be bringing little monster to the pool soon to tire her out.
trying to put her to nap earlier in the noon so that i can meet my friends for lunch at 1plus later.......wo de ming hen ku.......

milkie, I've started using a naughty stool for Beth and she's quite terrified
Eh and your ming is not ku ok? You hv a great and supportive hubby and one tough cookie daughter.. but I must say that hor, I'm very very impressed with you. Not many S'porean ladies are capable of bringing their kid out alone and everyday too! Usually at the pd, you will see mother, father, maid and grandma for one kid

babe, milkie, I bought the tutu already.. waiting for it to arrive. Teehee
Here it is:-
http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5819039
ORDER YOURSELF!!! :p

Charis, let us know if you're joining us next week k?

PVL, actually nowadays I look for separate adjoining bedrooms, not luxury. Aloha Cluny sounds good.. you had to call for reservations? I'm still iffy about Penang though.. hehe.. trying to persuade the hubby to bring us to HK Disneyland if possible.

Catz,
Aloha Cluny must be booked onliine. Don't believe all the room setup descriptions on the website cos they have recently changed the arrangement. Now there are no sofabeds in the rooms anymore. And one of the rooms does NOT have an attached bathroom, but the bathroom is outside the room. Can't remember which room though, I think maybe room 5 or something. We had Room 3.
Penang should be really nice leh. But maybe don't go during the 7th month cos people there might be quite superstitious and burn lots of joss paper/candles etc everywhere. Pollution might be too much for the kids.

milkshake,
You superwoman. Come and help me clean my house also, can? Bring YR along, the kids can play. I can babysit. Muahahahaha!!

PVL, wah I thought it would be low-tech.. teehee
Yeah you're so right about the burning.. on the first day of 7th month, my eyes were watering so badly! My prev place had no such things but where I'm staying now... sigh... there's joss paper and offerings scattered EVERYWHERE. I really pity the cleaners.

PVL, so Aloha Cluny has 8 rooms but no king size beds at all??

Cameron trip
Dates - Has to be AFTER F1
Option 1: 29 Sep to 1 Oct (but I think coming back will be nightmare with traffic as 1 Oct is Hari Raya)

Option 2: 3 Oct to 5 Oct.

assuming 2 nights enough for Cameron??

No of Pax:
Cherry, hb, A and maid = 3 A, 1 C
Babe, hb, T1, T2 = 2A, 2 C
Magd, hb, M1, M2,M3, maid = 3A, 3C
Rachel, hb, J1,J2 = 2A, 2C
Winnie, hb, Ethan and maid = 3A, 1C
GOG, hb, Julian = 2 A, 1C

Total = 6 cars, 15A, 10C
Babe, is Rachel bringing maid??
Maybe if we book the entire cluny lodge, we can stay there??

PVL,
It's good that your Ben can sleep in the car.
I don't think Sophie will appreciate her car seat as a makeshift bed even for napping.

Aloha - yes, I heard of it. My brother has booked the entire place sometime in Nov cos my whole family is going.

milkie,
You're early!
Tue is no good for me lah... I go to my mum's place from morning and then have lunch there, unless any of the kids are sick.

babe, is your sister the girl in the middle, first row of the F1 race babes' pic in today's ST? Looks like you leh!!!

huskie, you can opt for Thursday classes too, same time.. or change your lunchdate with your mom la!

gd morning to u all....

Wow, u all organising Cameron trip. Heard frm Magd yest... bt I will give it a miss. Hb wouldn't b keen either cos it's a long ride.

Feeling so tired cos I've bn watching dvds till early lately... like Sat watched till 4am, then Sun till 4.30am, yest till 5am. *YAWN*

winnie,

We have not decided where to go. Either aust, NZ or Tokyo. But my timing very tight too, think can only go in or after Nov. I guess wherever is fine, WE JUST NEED A BREAK!!!

sunsweet,

Lil J must feel disappointed she cant go school yday. So she is gg today? Post her photo on uniform. Must be looking really cute!

milk milk,

Ah-xi also thot i am playing wif her whenever i beat her or scold her. I also dun smile and scold her sternly, but she just smile me back! But she will listen to my hubby is he scolded her.

milk milk/catz,

I also bot some of these hairclips for ah-xi! So lovely! Ordered from a BP here.

Chocbabe,

Congrats congrats!!! I used Dr Koh also when i had ah-xi. That time i kiasu, had 2 gynaes. One is Dr Koh, another is my JB gynae which i am using now for #2. Ya, he is quite funny and his skill shd be good as always loooong wait to visit him.

jelly: you managed to go down to see lp?

choc: you better now? so brave of you...do you have the price breakdown of what you are paying for ryan?