(2007/02) February

chocbabe,

No, i didn't take ACCA, but my elder sis did. Let me check wif her ur question.

Chocbabe..OIC..but yours 3 years bond..my sil 5 years! Cos she said her school bond her more years cos she requested to teach in the school of her own choice..true ah?
Yr workload is much lighter than a regular teacher. My bil is so busy cos he hod somemore..forever marking..now his wife (my sil) will join him after she finish her NIE. She was a school administrator for a couple of years.
They ask my hb to go NIE too..but I persuade my hb not to..cos I know its a really tough job..not for everybody..
My hb earns less as an engineer but the bonus is very good n workload is much less stressful..plus he doesnt have to bring a single work home!

Chocbabe,

Sorry, my sis not able to give u the advice as the module has changed. She have graduated about 10 years ago. Her advice is you should talk to the seniors who are taking level 3, or the lecturer.

Morning mummies! Long time no come in. Got a new maid last Wed and been busy teaching her. Really can vomit blood. Broke down into tears trying to communicate with her twice

Congrats Cherry!!!

Congrats on your new job too stella! Why start so soon? Should have taken a longer break mah. Nan de can be a SAHM.

Aiya, I joined this ON spree organised by Amy and my item was lost in the mail. Sianz... Anyone knows if there is anything I can do to recover the parcel? Luckily the bigger batch I opted for reg mail.

smurfy, enjoy your luxurious hotel stay. how long will u be away? I like to eat naan esp freshly done and hot, yummy

jelly, aiyo, u really dun get what catz is saying or u pretending?? Usually Sxx means what to you??? lol

jazz, i also dun know why u need to lose weight leh unless u think u will put on a lot this time round but based on Timo's experience, u looked ok leh. Plus the last few times I saw u with your colleagues going for lunch, you looked very slim. But pilates on reformer is waht i like to do too, can do together. I used to go to this place in Raffles place when I was working nearby.

stella, congrats on getting new job. Little increment is better than none, plus near home, save on transport and time. good deal

ger, why so young want to feed them bird's nests leh? will cause phleghm or not?

I am very tired today, no mood to do anything. Just want to stone.

catz, nothing to order this time round for me. Your sis must be piling on maternity and baby clothes. btw, is the ON maternity clothes nice? comfy?

chocbabe - which level do u use to teach?

Y i bring tis up was bcos, my sis, also a teacher, in a pri sch. bt she claimed she's v bz all the time. every day/ night. Until she has to bring lotsa things hme to cont. Then nx day morning has to go to sch early. hence she couldn't bring her gal home. so my niece stays w/ mum Mon - Sat evening when my sis brings her back, Sun go Pil hse then night time back to mum's hse.

Mum always pity her & THEY said i m much better life cos after work I can pat backside & leave. Said my sis kelian & blah blah blah..... I told them, when I log in frm hme, nobody knows wat. no need to report each & everything right?

then nw she's preg w/ #2. mum still say - nx time both also put @ her hse.

she everytime also complain abt hw notti A is. I admit lah, cos I know, sometimes I also BTH A myself. Bt then wat can I do? + I bring him home daily leh....... she can said A so hao ming, everyday can hung-gai (cantonese) sit in the car go eat wind. then claimed cos of him, my niece nwadays can't go anyware liao.

I felt sad bt hb was irritated & angry. Cos he felt A was being pushed for the blame.

Sis ever sugg having a maid, either we share or she pays for it then bring both kids hme daily. Mum said dun waste $$, dun bring to & fro, just put both of them here, then when during sch hols then she bring either one back. Bt then - all 3 r so young. My niece is turning 3 in Aug, A is only 1.5yrs by the time the NB is out. Nx Feb A is then 2yrs old leh - hw to handle?

I really wonder if it's me, will she say the same thing.

She remaked, A recog hse cos I took care of him the full 3mths @ my own hse. She said later if my sis bring tat NB back, will end up same situation, then ladi diff to jagar.

hw hw hw?????????? I m really v vexed over all these issues.

charis,
I'm not sure abt the bond 5 yrs bcos she want to teach in a sch of her choice... never heard before. Quite surprise to hear that actually...

wah, not easy to be a HOD now man... different from last time... i call it a super shitty job...

cherry... but i put Sxxta mah... different from Sxx wat... u gals dirty minded... hehe...
Getting ON maternity wear? another clue...

winnie, ur stuff lost in transit? alamak! I just mail out a big parcel of milk milk's stuff this morning. Hopefully they will reach her safely...

I am also still waiting for 2 batches of my ON stuff from queen and tuffy. Seems like stuck with CGW for a longest time!!! Hopefully not lost in transit...

Ah ger, my hubby's grandma has a maid from myanmar. Can speak chinese but no english. She's very happy with the maid. But sometimes when we go visit her, the maids will take turns looking after Ethan when we eat and I don't like the way she handle him lor. Maybe I'm just very anal lah. But I find her very negligent... will just walk away to do her own things for a few minutes when she's suppose to be looking after her. But I guess end of the day it depends on the individual maid and not the nationality lor.

smurfy, i am thinking of stopping organic veg for A. quite mafan leh, every week must go grocery shopping for him and cos of this, he doesnt get as wide a variety of food.

winnie, new maid is Indo or Phil? Who else is at home during the day? have patience, my maid also always misunderstand me and she has been with us for years..but I close one or two eyes sometimes unless unbearable then i will tell her off. good luck, hope your maid improves soon.

cherry - no lah, tat day I happen to b finishing up my btls of birds' nest which i bought during preg, then after exploded I din touch mah....... tis yr expiring. so last mth basically was i drinking a small btl every morning! wah machiam i tai tai life right? LOL

Then I was thinking, if I m drinking & A c it, he sure will ask for it..... so ask u mummies lor.

Choc, your boy looks very mature leh!!!

Stella, Congrats!!! How come you dun start work beginning of the mth?

Ah ger, think Myan maid if inexp abt $280. Heard that they incr Indo maid's salary to $320. I wont give Sherwin bird nest leh. Just brought him to EYS to see chinese sinseh cos he cough almost every mth. Then I asked her if it's that I took too much birdnest, and she said most likely it is leh.
Maid levy is lower now, less than $150 per mth

Ah ger..Yr mum take care of 2 kids now?! Your A n yr niece is it? Then yr sis #2 coming? Your mum can cope?!
Yes teachers are very busy..most days..I guess except for the school holidays..even tat they only have a good 2 week break each time! I guess thats why they are so well paid.

Chocbabe..Ya lor..my fren also said never heard of..is the school trying to "cheat" her? Haha.
Anyway, her problem lah..we quite fed-up with them sometimes..long ago tell them to have children..now dont know if they can..I'm thinking she may ask me to take care of her baby next time haha..I tell her can but must give me lucrative salary haha..cos the 2 of them very fussy type..expect more pay more..anyway jus wishful thinking on my part lah..I intend to have our #2 next year..so dont think I can babysit other children.
Yup HOD is a shitty job..haha! But my BIL got time to rear fish leh dont know how he manage,no children I guess can lah..anyway he can earn a few thousands selling his priced stingrays.

charis - I've added u in my FB yest night!

my sis also 3yrs bond, maybe nw is 5yrs? Or is it bcos it's an NIE Degree & nt Dip?

jelly - u hv to forgive them. They r mummies........ *LOL*

Cherry - actually u can do w/o organic lah............ if u want fresh veggies, I think Cold Storage will just b fine.

Cherry, the new maid is from philippines. I'm home with her everyday. Maybe that makes it more difficult to close 2 eyes lor. But my last 2 maids were really good so I guess my expectations went up. But this one really quite odd one leh. She's been here for more than a week and she makes milk 4 times a day for Ethan, every time is 180ml 6 scoops mah. Today she suddenly decide 180 ml 7 scoop. Huh?!?!? I also don't understand. Ask her why she just stare blankly at me and don't answer. vomit blood man.

hmm..I must ask..whats ON? Been wanting to ask..is it short for something?! I know its some brand lah of clothes right..Man I real suaku.

wah ah ger,
I also have a friend is a teacher, who leave his son at grandma place and only bring back weekends. I personally dun like this arrangement. The child is alot more pampered (to the point of out of control) and child dun really bond with parents.

I know of teachers whose children end up in EM3/ Normal Tech, etc. Children must invest time in them. Some more they are your own children. It's a matter of choice i feel.

Can prob suggest your sis to do part time teaching instead or else maid seems to be the next best choice. I dun think your mum can cope with 3 of such young age leh.... very peifu your mum who actually volunteer to do it though...

jelly, dun misinterpret hor, i am getting maternity wear for my cousin. She a bit moody recently lah, got such things as pre-natal blues or not?? hehe, the dirty minded one is Catz, only after she said, then I go and look at it one more time...ha hahahaha

ger, who was the one who said cos of A, now your niece cant go anywhere?? your mum or sis? No offence but i think if have maid, then it should be your sis to pay for it cos she got two kids staying at your mum's place, while you bring A back daily. When u have #2 then u have your own maid and put both kids in mum's house, then at least your mum only need to supervise the maid.

your sis a bit like my bil (hb's bro) and sil. when we moved out of pil's house when we got our place, bil moved into our room, and when got married, sil also moved in. Now they are shifting out to their own place but the condition they had with mil is to keep the room for them. They are thinking of next time when they have kids,they want the kid to stay at my PIL's place and if they are too tired to go home, they will also sleep over there. But this means that I cant have the room back to convert to baby's room.

honestly, my plan is if I cant have a room in PIL's house for my kids (when I have #2) I will rather get another maid, and have 2 maids look after two kids at my place. save me the headache of ferrying to and fro also.

Chocbabe, ah ger..But actually the older generation very strong leh..my grandma took care fo 3 babies at a time..my cousins who were twins, n another cousin. Then 2 years later, I came along, then the next year another cousin, then a long break of 5 years, then my bro..all taken care by her..n then after almost another 5 years break, another 3 of my cousins came along..haha!
No maid some more..she take care alone..but she trained us to be independent..n help with the younger kids.

winnie, oh you are SAHM?? like that hard to close one eye even. Yah, your new maid sounds weird..maybe she momentarily forgot. I have given up asking maid 'why they do this and that' cos they only know how to say I dun know, no or best of all, give u blank look

Gig - u mean during preg u took too much? hw do u define ur too much?

last time when i was preg, MIL cook, then i also buy EYS, those big btl concentrated ones. every time will open 1 btl & eat a tablespoon every alt day so tat can las me 1 - 2wks. so exp........ so i was practically eating birds' nest all the time. :p

Oh - less than $150? Bt still........ $$......... we r tied down w/ alot things..... if only I can sqz out abit more......

Gig - bt me arh, is like tat one, send to childcare hw much liao... i still need someone to help me send him to & fro. + the cost at childcare, I can jolly well hire a maid & still help w/ housechores right?

Charis - she claimed she can! Dad shares taxi w/ someone else, & drvs @ night. Bt then again, I would assume dad needs to rest also mah, if nt hw to drv @ night safely?

Nx yr, my niece is gng to nursery....... then tat day sis was saying the plc she wanted to put her, is actually a stop away frm our hse, bt cos it's in those landed houses, hv to walk a distance frm the stop. I sugg bus lor. She said - exp leh........ 1 stop distance per mth is $X. Then dad said - he help to send her tare lor. Bt pls lah........ gd sunny day ok, then rainy day leh - hw? sis also nv say anything like rejecting.

Cherry,
ON- Old navy..hahaha! Ok if say old navy I know lah..but ON..sounds like another brand.

Really need 2 maids ah? I guess if u can afford, maybe good..cos sometimes maids jus cant cope with taking care of kids plus housework.

charis,
ON = Old Navy

Ah Ger,
I think Gig suggestion is good too... send A to childcare, but choose a good one. 1 friend told me there's a whole lot of different is the "cheap" one and the "ex" one...

Facebook,
Hey, you know i really dunno who is who on my facebook leh, cos nick use here and real name use in FB. I only know who is milkie, catz, jelly, sunsweet, charis, huskie, fat_babe, smurfy...I just recently found out who is garfield... haha, after she change the profile pic to Jasper.

I just requested from one mummy here... i think it's cherryale leh.. is that u?

Ah ger..If she can, then good lah..yr mum take care better than send A to childcare so early..but of cos childcare they will teach the kids. SO depends on the parents' preferance.
My pil also drives at nite..yes must get enough rest..so tats why he cant help my mil much at home..so I dont think my mil can cope if she takes care of any of our kids! Anyway my mil is the "weak" mentality kind.

charis, its not a choice to have two maids, in fact, i prob got to think hard where to let them sleep in my tiny place. Based on A's experience, 1 maid is like not enough cos someone needs to monitor him all the time,then how can the maid prepare food and do other things. So if got #2, lagi worse. That's why I want to know how Garfield's maid handle zz and still cook dinner.

so plan is 1 maid do housework, cook and take care of #1. By then #1 prob go to playschool, so few hours not at home, then she can do housework. second maid will take care of #2 solely plus take care of #1 when first maid cooks. Big problem is my proposal will not pass through my hb who is anti-maid
so its my dream only..haha

peko - noted.

chocbabe - my sis is mum's apple of the eye. my niece, yes, v pampered. She can scream & watever & mum doesn't really scold. Just let her scream. Sometimes I really feel like slapping her.

My sis, visits her alt day lah. bt bcos she's older nw, she knows where is her home & wanna follow my sis back. Sometimes I c her react tis way also v poor thing leh.......

Part time teaching - i dun think possible lah, cos mum always say she doesn't earn as much as I DO lor. wat a joke........

cherry - is my mum who gave tat comment. I also wouldn't wanna share the cost of maid cos later stage will hv conflicts on maid ownership. Mum claimed tat if she gets a maid, end up she'll b scolded more than doing things. She always perceives maid as stupid, dunno hw to work one. It's v diff to change her mindset.

actually cherry - is it necessary to hv 2 maid for 2 kids? i c most families would b 1 maid 2 kids still manageable leh...

charis - hw old was ur grandma tat time? Dun 4get leh, las time they get married young, they prob popped young also. So when all thsoe cousins were born, your grandma most like was in her late 30s or early 40s? my mum is in her mid 50s liao leh...... I still hv 2 sis @ hme.

Then she said - after my sis's #2, say close door for the nx fw yrs. ask me wait till A is 5yrs old then pop. Kaoz! by then I hw old liao, still pop, lao bang shen zhu meh?

Winnie - could it b she miscounted? Me also can b v blur @ times leh, when i prep milk, hb can't cme & talk to me, cos I will just suddenly 4get hw many scoops I put.

B patient, just remind her it's 6 and nt 7. Make sure she counts as she pours in....

same lor, i also dunno who is who in FB, until when I c the mama face then I can rem. ha ha ha......

nw hb is warning me, when sis's #2 comes out, better make sure A doesn't get hurt/ injured due to her negligence. I srewed him upside down - he was the one who insisted on buying the car, put @ mum's hse, nw cme & tell me all these. He said he din expect my sis to b so un-auto.

my face sure can rem one lah.. even if cant rem, sure can rem A lor.......

yest I so boh liao, went to add in the PIG version of me & my wedd ps shots. ha ha ha........ must hv comparison then I will feel more contented w/ what I m now. LOL

Good morning ladies...

Charis: Congrats on your new place. Take time to settle down la... I moved in mine after Ann turns 1 month old, 14 months in my place now still buying pictures and storage containers, hehe... Not planning No. 2. Factory closed at 1...

Milkie: It really depends which day and what time, I'll try to bring Ann if possible. Just applied 2 days leave for my exam on 12 & 13 June, down to 7 days leave left. Gotta be very prudent with leave, at least this year. Once my course end in Nov, I'll be free like a bird and can take leave easier.

Chocbabe: Wah, your boy looks very cute gardening... Looks like a sensible grown-up kid
Jacob Ballas is a great hangout for kids ya : ) Took Ann with my nieces and nephews there 2 weekend ago, they love that park.

Facebook: Added Charis yesterday. I identify by indicating randomly met 'Feb mummies in 2007' Hehe, quite fun to have mummies group. Can see all the baby photos there : ) Any other Feb mummies in facebook?

my hubby just called, MIL called him to tell him that Ryan having fever... prob caught a cold yesterday when playing water at Jacon Ballas... hope that little one is fine... going home to see him later...

Cherry..Hehe I manage to take care of Yael n cook meals plus do housework..haha..but thats me lah..im the mother..but if maid maybe its different..but I dont really know cos I dont have a maid.

Ah ger..True that time they married young..I would say she was around early 40s when she started to care for her grandchildren..she's around 70 now..her oldest grandchild is now 30!
But 50 still young right? My MIL only 50 yo.

Onee..Yr place looks nice n cozy seeing from the pics..Mine still quite sparse..haha! Why factory close so early? U still young wat! Haha!

Ah ger, my sil prepared one BIG soup bowl of bird nest for me weekly. Too much till I asked my mom to eat. Your dad drive rite? So easier to bring your niece there? Where your niece gg for her nursery? I send Vane to those church kindi near our place.

Ah ger, just to share with you... Tell your hb that it's unavoidable that accidents will happen to the kids one, esp when your mom needs to handle so many and their gaps are so close. Frankly, I dun think your mom can cope lor cos kids are diff nowadays. Also dun share maid with your sis, either you employ or your sis employ. Very diff to share one from my personal experience lah. My bro and I used to share but lots of misunderstanding and miscomm after that. So pls avoid lah.

Ah ger: Agree with Giggler. Bound to have some bums here and there. My girl fell from bed, sofa and the recent hand kenna caught by washer door. Kids these days very active, unlike old days. Everyone has different perceptions but all out of love for your boy for sure.

Charis: My house very ko-song one. My hubby likes clean cut, and I grew up with a home maker thats very clean and neat. So since I don't have time to do housework, might as well make it ko-song so nothing much needs to be housekeep, hehe... Honestly Ann is a handful for me liao. We don't spend much time with her and most importantly its the caretaker who is tired, and that is my Mummy. I can't just say give birth and pass to her. So since right now we can't commit, might as well stop at 1.

Sounds fun to see all the Feb mummies and babies on facebook. Anyone else I can add? Pekochan, I added you liao

Gig - my dad drvs only at night. So day time he has no transport. Mum said - use BICYCLE!

I also dun think she can cope, she kept thinking A & my niece big liao, easier to handle. Unlike if A still needs to b carried.

I wun share maid also, cos I wanna fully own the maid.

I told him b4 liao.......... besides A also hv bn falling like dunno wat........ knock here & tare....... Bt since 2 kids already hv such incidents, needless to say 2 + 1 NB right?

haiz........... fan arh fan..

cham, nowhere to go for lunch. Thinking of gng to Marina Sq do some shopping for clothes. I run out of working attire liao!

is Doggie in town today????? SMS her go shopping w/ me! ha ha ha........ Can anybody pls sms me her hp # incase I feel like calling her? I wana get going le.

Cont later!