(2007/02) February

Jelly

take good care of urself. i think its better to let YX stay overnight with ur aunt until u recover. That time my mum also kena stomach flu, doc says it is very contagious, and ask my mum to stay away from cherish until fully recover.

Luckily my mum did not spread the virus to cherish, although she take care of her for one day before knowing the seriousness of the condition

starfruit
that no 1 two tier cake is 3kg. bottom is durian moose, top is tripled layered chocolate, think is 2 and 1 kg bah? i dunno how i deal with in PG, but it's a family business, so who u talk with does not matter. my 30 guests only left teeny weeny bits n pcs of cakes left.. coz the durian flavor is good. *whisper* i made changes on friday moRning for my saturday collection cake and they r able to do it.

Starfruit,

The one i enquired at turf city is free.
They told me that Kindermusic at Tanglin send their teacher down to conduct the class at the turf city premises.
so decided to give it a try.

Like to share with all,

as i brought me design to Polar cakes and Puffs to see if they can customise. I was sad to say they rejected my design as they are a halah bakery and they cannot draw a cute pig on my cake.

sad to say I got to look for other bakery which delivers on the 3rd of of CNY.

so mummies if you are planning to design your own cake.. take note

Smurfy: so its 1kg for the no.1 and the bottom is 2kg. i wanna go down and taste the cake first. Hey the decor on the cake is urs?? or PG provided? cos me doing this 2 tier no.1 cake as well. I have short listed Lychee martini and triple choco for my flavours.. wanted the 1 to be in lychee martinee cos heard lots of good review abt this flavour.

Thanks all for ur concern. Just called my aunt, seems like YX is not feeling unwell.

Stella, doc said stomach flu is easily spread. Last nite i still kiss her so much. aiyoh...

sunsweet, dunno polar cakes is a halal shop. But quite funny lah they reject ur design cos of it's a cute piggy.

Last year cny we also have difficulty to find piggie deco stuff in JB, then only realised cos it is pig, sensitive...

star
the decor is provided frm them, cost me $25, u can bring ur own decor and pass it to them lor? lychee matini is nice, lightly flavored... i had tat on 2nd day.. good choice lar, the young kids can eat the choclate layer, orange zest oso good.. yah u can go and buy a few pcs to try out before deciding :D
1 pc $2.20-$2.50

Sap, my aunty takes care of my baby daytime. So early morning i drop her at my aunty's place at pasir ris b4 i head to work at bedok.

sunsweet, wat abt other bakeries? i order from smiling orchid. their cakes r rather nice.

starfruit, actually tanglin is nearer to my house. but since there is a trial lesson at turf city and the mummies r goin, thot it rather good to give a try as my son never been to these b4.

Starfruit.. i did not ask who's the teacher is as i dun know any teacher at the tanglin main..

Garfield. asked Smiling orchid liao.. they are not open till the 10th

I'm trying on Bangawan Solo cos they have Winnie the Pooh range of design and they do Piglet as well.

My next option is if customisation too exp.. then i'll take piglet cake keke

garfield/sunsweet: ecreative have pooh design too. we paid for the trial class at tanglin, if this turf city one is FOC, good to try it out.

smurfy: how much did this no.1 cake cos, its 3kg right? and your 2nd cake, the 3 tier one? 3kg too? how much?
Any idea wat time PG opens till at nite?

PG not open on the 3rd as well.. i think they open long after cny.. not too sure but i rememberd i've asked and confrim 10th they are not open yet..

yah a bit mafan if during CNY period loh..

but nevermind only once have 1st birthday bash.. next time will be only within the family.. no more so grand.. keke

i agree sunsweet, i tell myself luckily nxt yr is within family... hehe

but few yrs down the long, i wish to plan another one when he has his own frens too.

star, I saw ecreative but hb dun really like. then i heard feedback the cake so so onli?

sunsweet, I suddenly recall (sorrie my memory fails again) sweet secret got customised service too tat wat they put on their website so u can see if they open n accept?

garfield: some of ecreative's cake quite nice in design and they are not expensive too.. i saw this "one" cake only about $70 and its approx 2 kg.. very cheap.. as compared to PG, wha more ex leh.. but ya i agree with u, i heard feedback that ecreative's cake does not taste so good.

sunsweet: wha PG close so long during CNY ah?

thanks Garfield will see if bangawan solo take in my design? if not will try sweet secret..

seriously i dun really keen on other design cos no meaning mah keke
even my hu birtday cake i try to customise.. last year he got his car imprinted on an icing sheet and place on his b-day cake keke

maybe next time will make my own cake.. smaller cake i can still try and bake it myself.. but not a 3kg cake loh :p

starfruit.. i dun know the exact date they are open.. but i know they can't do for my gal cos they are closed on the 9th and 10th as well..

star, yes several designs ecreative makes rather nice but i lookin for pooh design... those 3 d ones my hb find rather fake la... then he doesn't wan eeyore or tigger...

starfruit
yah 2 days.. first day is 3kg, 2nd day 3 tier is 4kg, if u have 2 tier, can do it 3kg onli. the cake is $35/kg. the candle is available in birthday direct but i last minute buy from concourse shops. PG open at 830am every day, close i dunno

Smurfy thanks... i am either going for a 2.5kg or 3kg (no.1 cake 2 tier - min needs 2.5kg lah). anyway i cannot decide on whther to get them to pipe my ger's name or to use the icing alphabet instaed. Me keen on the alphabet cos cleaner and nicer.. i scared they piping skill not consistent leh.
BTW How did u communicate with PG, u went down and tell them what you wanted?
So ur 3kg cake comes up to $95? how abt delivery charges? any? sorry for so many qs leh. Thanks for answering.
I got my candles liao, just wonderring cos i tot PG also give such nice candles.

sunsweet
u starting on the photobook? ekekekek

ANY KIND MUMMIES WANNA SHOW ME THEIR PHOTOBOOK? AND IS THERE A TEMPLATE THAT I CAN JUST PUT IN MY BOY'S PHOTOS? whahahhaa :pppP

Sunsweet: thanks.. so u have not ordered ur ger's cake yet ah?

Garfield: ya i agree with u the creative 3D pooh cake dun really look like pooh, i tot it just looks like an orange bear..hehe

starfruit
depends on ur design lor? i think the no 1 cake, looks better with piping? i went down the saturday before to look at their photos n get one i like (no customized, no special decor items, me lazy). it's 35 per kg, so 3kg is 105+25 for decor so total is $130, never ask abt delivery leh coz i self collect.

I have decided not to do photobook.. cos too much work.. i will continue to just develop the photos i have of J and add on the the photo album collection.

As for the cake they say take at most 5 days.. so by this week die die have to confrim loh

Smufy: i tot the $25 is a creative fee? so its for the deco?? i am so confused now.. just realised my mistake, i calculated base on just 2KG,,hehe.

sunsweet
kekeke we try asking the mummies here to let us copy n paste "interchange the photos of their kids with ours?" then we save alot of work? whhahaa

seriously speaking, i knw the end results will be very nice, but i no creativity, no imagination, no patience.
.. how to do? dun even know how to select the nicest pics.. :/ later i go put the photo of QY in that girly dresss in.. whahaha

starfruit
i think it is those silly decor figurines loR? i think so onli lar? dun think they give those silly elmo, pikachu and monster figurines for free right? maybe u ask them?

hehe smurfy.. me you xin wu li to do the photobook..

sigh..

i scare my hub will say me do so many things then end up like our wedding albums now sitting at the corner of the house.. :p

starfruit, the PG cake costs $35/kg + $25 creative fee (compulsory for 2 tier cake)+ $12 delivery = $142. I will be buying the marshmallow lollipops from bake it yourself and give it to them to put on the cake. hb taking half day tomorrow to buy lollipops
first time he so on.

smurfy, I can show u my photobook when I receive it and if its nice : ) actually the photobook is very easy to do cos they have standard templates. The time consuming part is photo selection and of cos if you want it to be nicer will have to choose background and add in other more creative stuff.

wah, our feb thread seems to be getting very active again. Remember how we used to cheong 1 page in the archive everyday when we were still pregnant
good to see it coming alive again.

Smurfy,
you did a wonderful job for QY's birthday! Nice decor and cakes. Lucky baby. Will be even luckier if his mummy doesn't dress him in girls clothes though :p kekeke

Stella,
Cherish seems very out-going mah. Can't judge babies so soon i guess. You must consider that she is outdoors and there are lots of strangers around leh. A lot of distractions and she's still ok so considered very good already mah. Moreover, she enjoyed running around (with you carrying her) with the older kids. That seems very brave for a baby to me.

Sunsweet, if you have no budget, can try these bakers: http://www.hotfuchsia.com/index.html or http://www.cherylshuen.com/special%20treats/aidancastle.html Beautiful cakes!!! If I was still working I would have ordered it. Now SAHM must be more $$$ concious... sianz...

PVL, your ben's very handsome
Is he suppose to look like sarah? Can't see a lot of resemblance leh (from the earlier photos you posted of sarah).

garf,
you're ordering the cake from smiling orchid? I love their pineapple tarts! But the price seems to be going up and up

Jelly,
take care and get well soon ok? Is your hubby back? Think golden week is starting in PRC no?

jelly,
I think stomach flu is passed by oral and fecal contact... so as long as you wash your hands before you touch YX, should be OK.
The last time I had it, I still bf Soph cos no choice. But I always wash my hands. *whispers* I still kissed her, but no saliva, and only on her head.

Winnie,
This Cherylshuen website has beautiful cakes! But soooooo expensive!

smurfy,
Do the photobook!!! It's really fun.
Like the girls say, the time-consuming part is selecting the photos, and if you wanna put in captions too.
I used standard templates but spent more time editing some of my photos into black and white and tried some "arty" style.
Can show you the photobook when it arrives

PVL, waoh... Ben is a real handsome fella. Very comfortable in his erm, birthday suit

jelly, poor you!! Hope that YX has immunity.. yes a lot of ppl are coming down with flu now. My husband being one of them :p

My girl ah.. aiyoh, she's been walking here and there and today she cut her top lip and gum plus bruised her lower lip 'cos she hit her head against the table. Seem tia man.... I've never seen blood in the mouth before.. freaked out and nearly started howling
Luckily she seems OK but heard her crying in her sleep just now. That's the disadvantage of teething earlier. Timo was totally bo gay until he learned to walk well.. hence no disasters like Beth's. Even then, Beth only has 1 little tooth and already so cham.

stella, Cherish is a really big sized girl.. you are so lucky.. won't get stupid comments about not feeding baby enough.. Your party looks like a lot of fun for all

Our Old Navy stuff is stranded in Salt Lake City, UT due to bad storm :p I don't think can make it for CNY liao. Only the earlier batch that me and cherryale ordered has a faint chance of arriving before CNY.

Catz,
Poor Beth. Gald to hear she is fine now. My girl also fell a few times before. That's why she is a bit afraid of walking alone. But I noticed now a days she is learning how to use her hands to break her falls.

Here is a picture of Xinfaye trying very hard to say "CAR"
1227594.jpg

waaaahhh!!...

so many pics of handsome boys and pretty gals!!...

stella,
cherish look very compose on her bdae le..!! good good...but dun worry..coz they will snapped out of the crying phase very soon...in a way..i would like to think this character is good..coz you wun haf to worry that she will follow strangers!!...kekke

smurfy,

eh why you let QY dress up like a girl girl...go try for no.2 la...dun bully QY..

PVL,

Ben very ANGLO looking le...kekee...charmer le..

catz,

tokking about falling all over the place...tyler oso haf cuts n bruises all over the feet..coz he pull himself up ledge...n sumtimes cut his own foot...very irritating...ever since last month..he haf been like falling on the back of his head uncountable times liao...we wonder if he will turn stupid-er..

saphira,
your photography skills VERY good le...the pics of xinfaye captured sooooo nice!!i esp lurve the 2nd pic...are you pro?? realise dat her brows are thick n nicely shaped!!

catz!!!..

juz saw your email!!...i wanna order too!!...you org anymore ON spree not?? if yes hor let me know...if not...i think i going to find people to order liao...i am nuts over that pair...uber sweet!!..actually the blue look so demure...but tyra haf sooo many pink outfits...so high chance i would buy the pink...oooo...

fatbabe..

she still in the crying phrase leh.. just that the birthday venue is outdoor and a place which she is very familar with.

catz

cherish is only 50th percentile..not big at all...in fact some mistook her as 7 or 8 mth old bb.she only can stomach half a chinese bowl of food each meal. and her milk intake is only 150 ml each time

Saphira, you have amazing photography skills!! So stylo and Xinfaye is so pretty!

stella, Cherish is only 50th percentile?? Cannot be lei... she looks bigger than Beth. Think they eat about the same amt.. but sometimes Beth cannot even finish half a bowl of cereal for breakfast leh.

fatbabe, I also wanna order 1 pair! But dunno whether shipping will be pricey or not!! I will place another ON order in a few days' time 'cos I need to get a swim top for Timothy and some other items :p But sian leh.. dunno what Beth did to my DBS IB token.. cannot find it since last week.. so hv to use my UOB a/c to receive funds until I can get a new token. Anybody else need anything?

Sap,

Xinfaye is cute. she have many hair too... sorrie me always notice hair cos my zz no hair... hahahaha

smurfy, my book now with my mum. I gave her to show to her frens.... as Cherry says, it has standard template (you can choose 2 photo in 1 pg or more) and they have standard background and frames so not so bad. I normally choose one template on one pg and then if i find i wan one of the pic frames to change i just edit that also can. It quite flexible. I not creative also find it good liao.... hehehe intially also find it v tough but seein the end product i glad.

huskie/cherryale
i scared of photobook leh. i took 1.5yrs to do up a 1000 pc puzzle last time :x

winnie/fat babe
QY dOes have feminine features at some angles mah.. eeee i dun wanna a girl, i will go broke..

catz
yucks.. did beth cry for a long time? it's so heart pain to hear them cry in their sleep when u can't do anything much. QY woke up and cried badly for 1/2hr after the fall frm the highchair on his party

sap
ai yoh, ur girl soOoO sweet in her top n matchin hairclip... wat's that she is wearing? nappy and nappy cover? she really seems to enjoy her cards... now i gotta make more effortts in QY with his books/cards after seeing XF enjoying herself.. lil QY onli knows how to mumble to the tune of ABC when i on his leapfrog toys tat play the song

smurfy, if i v digilent, I can do abt 6 pages which take me prob 2full hrs there.

one bk normally 40 pg. i did it less than 1 mth tat time cos I didn't do everyday. think i did in abt less than 5 days really?

HELP! My baby woke up at 12midnight, 2am, cried from 415-530am this morning! I think she is teething cos she puts the whole fist into her mouth. Applied teething gel for her, she calmed down for awhile but couldn't go back to sleep... how?

Saphira,
The pictures are gorgeous!
Do you use a professional or semi-pro kind of camera?
I always wonder how to get the blurred background effect, but I guess it cannot be done with a point-and-shoot auto camera yeah?

Catz,
Poor Beth! Soph had the same experience twice when she was trying to get up to standing position but she wasn't ready yet. Maybe that's why now she's a but scared to stand or walk on her own!

smurfy,
I don't even have patience for a 200-pc jigsaw... you must be out of your mind to attempt a 1000pc one?

But do the photobook lah... it's well-worth it.
I only started 3 mths ago, and didn't do everyday... but completed my A3 travels plus 21x21 baby one.
In fact, the baby one only took about 4-5 days.
My A3 one took so long cos I was turning some of my pics into Polaroids... that's why it took so long.