(2007/02) February

gak,

yeah, I know deep sea fish is not ideal for babies. But I don't know what other fish I can use leh... Ethan doesn't like threadfin. We tried cod fish once cause it was the only thing left in the fridge and he loved it. So bo bian lor. What other fish can we intro? Any suggestions?

winnie,

wat is white bait ah? yesterday wanted to post but the forum down. me suaku. is it look like white ikan bilis? how to say in chinese cos if buy from dry goods store they dun know english name 1...

ya zz also got fishy smell after the meal.

jelly, thxs. y u sell yr play yard?? so pity

garfield

sometimes old folks are like that, cant see the root of the problem. my mum also say why cherish eats so little during dinner, i told her lunch and dinner the same food, of cos dinner will eat lesser. I suggested to her dinner can eat other things instead of porriadge..she says ok ok..but yesterday says cherish dun take much for dinner. I ask her wat did she feed for dinner, she says same as lunch *fainT*

WINNIE
wah so lucky ur wash area's very sunny!
but nowadays HDB built flats this way cuz S'poreans vey chosey!

hmmm..i oso dunno le
usually my mom ask the seller is the fish caught using fishing rodes lo
think can try sardines, mackerels

actually when my boy take fish hor, he wld got some fishy smell even after bath..
think it's normal uh?

stella,

y dun u try coarse rice? if u wan, can get from me as my dad do 1

you just need to add the powder and then milk powder plus water and it will be a meal. so at least yr mum feel not so prob to do one more dish lor it is also nutritous. but dun let yr mum have the thinkin feeding her this for 2 times a day la... v sian 1 ley.

STELLA, GARFIELD
ya ya! old folks are like dat!
even though my mom thinks must cook freshly, but she can cook both same lo!
& she always nv put veggies!
only meat...

garfield

coarse rice is for her breakfast..haha but lately she also rejected that, i think she sian liao.. now i give her cornflakes or bread with cheese for breakfast

Gak,
Wow, your MIL really, really sounds like mine!! Amazing! I never thought someone else as irritating as her would exist. Last night she called just to tell me to put on more clothes for the Son. *rolling eyes*

Huskie,
The box of Sambucol has directions for how much to give a child less than 1 year old, so I guess it's okay...the Son is more than 10 months already anyway. Sambucol is not meant to treat blocked noses, it's to boost the immunity system, so I'm giving it to the Son to help him fight his cold using his own immunity. Hope I'm making sense here.

Good to know that mucous in the stools is nothing to worry about. Yep, the Son's mucous is not coming up from the top of his body, so I guess the bottom is where it's all coming out from!

I've also been following the SBF and giving the Son tahini with his yoghurt since he turned 7 months and he is almost finishing the jar of Melrose hulled organic tahini already...he is okay with it, no reactions. I've already bought a jar of almond butter to try once he finishes his tahini. Does your book say why we can't feed tahini to babies under 1 year old?

I am soooooooo tempted to start giving the Son fresh milk too! But I've been brainwashed by the SBF and I'm deathly afraid to give him fresh milk before he turns one. But then again, I'm also not to sure whether I want to start the Son on formula milk. Sigh.

JS
think tree nuts better dun intro so early,
tree nuts are consider high allergens
if i'm not wrong, SBF book shld hv stated it.

u mixed yoghurt with tahini?
wat yoghurt did u used?
plain or flavour? brand?

hehe...lucky my MIL dun call so often lah ;P
if she keeps calling huh, think my tone of voice might give her some hints ;)
or else i won't ans her calls lo..pretend busy or not in!
wahahahaa...

garfield,
white bait is "ying2 yu2". Literally translated is silver fish. But I think silver fish in english is actually a type of insect rite? Hehe. Don't want you to end up buying 200gms of insects to feed your zz mah... he still need to go shoot commercial and make a xing ma out of you one leh :p

Gak,
sardines and mackerels should be no-nos i think. Cause when we were pregnant, those were 2 of the fishese we were suppose to avoid cause of its' high mercury content mah. I remember cause I kept craving for mackerel otahs at that time :p~~

Heng my son not the only one using fish cologne in this thread. Wahaha.

Gak, I use this si shen powder I buy from Yu Yan Sen which is instant. Not sure if it's coarse rice. Garfield, you should know rite? U r the one who's parents owns a chinese medicine hall rite?

milkie,
Haha, at that young age you already knew that partnership is best! Very smart!

Wow, that mummy puts salt in the boy's food?! I don't even use salt on my own food. Heee, babies are smart - maybe the boy knows salt is not good for him that's why reject his mummy's food!

Eh, what recipes have you used on YR?? Share share?

gak,
Kidney beans needs to be cooked very thoroughly cos it contains some toxin... here it is:

Health note: Red kidney beans contain a toxin called Phytohaemagglutinin (Kidney Bean Lectin) that causes severe gastric distress, including nausea, vomiting and diarrhea. Under-cooked beans can be more toxic than raw and it only takes 4 to 6 beans to bring on symptoms. Cannellini and Fava beans also contain this toxin but in much smaller amounts.

Kidney Beans are perfectly safe if properly prepared. First, soak Red Kidney beans for a minimum of 5 hours and then drain and discard the soaking water. For stovetop cooking, add fresh water or broth to a level about 2" higher than the beans, bring beans to a boil and boil briskly for at least 10 minutes. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until thoroughly cooked, about 2 hours.

whwhhahaa all our bbs suddenly become smelly bbs... that time i cannot tahan going close to QY's head arr.. and I call him smelly Qiyuan.. whahahhaaa

jas
better to sell it away since ur auntie dun wanan use it.. this money u can use it to buy more clothes!!

wahahah,

so farnee...

eh the "cao toa" smelly head thing really v farnee!!...last time tyra's main nutrition is fish n milk...but i didn't expect dat her sourness n fishy smell came from the fish..wakakak..

tyler still smell ok...dunno why..haahah..but he perspire very often..

milkie,
i knew you are a baby cook..eh...got good idea for you...why dun open restaurant selling baby food...waakakak... of classes to teach people how to make baby food...

re: salt...
the nurses thinks its ok to eat salt...dat time tyler had bronchitis...nurse ask me give him salt water to drink...then i "HUH!?!?" then she say " yah,,your bb weaning rite..sure got add salt into his food one ma...so now juz give him salt water la.."....i blur....but still gave him lor..

PVL, gak,
Haha, my PVL file contains all the good stuff... like the curry dahl recipe and her ikan bikis powder tips.

PVL,
Need your HELP again, after which your answer will be added on to my "PVL file"

You use slow cooker to cook unpolished rice for Ben? The red type right?
I also did the same thing, but the unpolished rice doesn't become that soft so I have to use a fork to mash it up (even after soaking overnight). I know you don't soak the rice, but how long do you cook the rice for?

Winnie,
Heee, that's a good idea... next time I spank Soph, I'll tell her Ben gets the same treatment too

Eh, your baby gets meat for breakfast too?!

JS,
I actually tried Sambucol to Soph before... then after 3 days, she got a super high viral fever... dunno is it coincidence or not?
Now my 3 bottles of Sambucol just sitting there, I don't dare to give liao!

I also like Melrose tahini myself, but I eat the unhulled one
I think the website is just being kiasu lah, cos they classify sesame seed under "seeds and nuts", but seriously, only peanuts really give problems... the other nuts are typically quite safe.

I'm also thinking of introducing almonds to Soph cos I think it's veyr high in nutrtional value

I have been cooking same stuff for Yael too..porridge! Haha..Yup milkshake share with us some of yr recipes..
Anyway, I hav not intro chicken n beef..jus fish so far.

For those of u who use fish bones or fish as soup base or as the protein for yr porridge to feed baby. pls be very careful..
Last week, my MIL did that for Yael, she also peeled some fish for him from the tail part..
I was feeding him already half the bowl, then as ai gave him a scoop, I noticed something sticking out of his mouth..it was a bone..long n quite big!!! I really thank GOD for his mercy..
Now i only use small ikan bilis to boil soup..
Anyway, mummies if u use fish,
make sure u press the pieces of fish with yr fingers to feel for any bone

Catz..Wah so u were Johnson's baby star!! Haha..
Kept any pics for keepsake?

Garfield, Congrats to ZZ!! Even if he doesnt get to appear on the ad, u get to meet Zoe Tay in person!!! Plus the fee jus to attend as stand-by baby can help to pay for his 1st birthday party hehehe.

gak???!!! The mummy put SALT in a 6 mth old baby's porridge?? tsk tsk tsk...hmmm, the 15mth old baby boy's mum also a bit weird...she allows her son to eat all sorts of foods that we adults eat. I think msg is also part of his diet liao.

regarding fish smell on babies, YR's body doesn't smell of fish after she eats fish...BUT i'm pretty sure her breath stinks of fish!!! AND I really mean STINK.

orange cat, tell the truth. U will use the money zz earns from the ad for a new bag right?? hee hee Don't k k....:p :p

PVL....oyyy dont tsk tsk me leh, i very sad leh. I didn't do it...i promise. YR's nose still holeless except for her nostrils.....PROMISE!!! hee hee

WINNie, u made me laugh when i read the comment u made about letting the baby girls eat rose tea hahahahaha

Wah, winnie!! Ethan eats chicken and zucchini for breakfast ah? NOt bad man. I still giving her very simple fare for breakfast. Eh, give poor ethan more varieties of fruits lah...why only apple and pear????

I use a few sources for recipes. 1. annabel karmel recipe book 2. gina ford book of weaning 3. Milkie's super cook book (which includes hard to find recipes that involves just mixing and matching various foods and mashing them up and freezing them up.)

So far, I've managed to keep her menu different for a week. So my freezer will be stocked up with at least 7 diff types of main meals which consist of carbo + meats and vege combos. Individual Vege cubes will include cauli, broccoli, zucchini, eggplant, peas, snow peas, french beans, spinach, hmmm the vege they give with chicken rice????, sweet potato, swede, carrots, sweet corn, and don know what else. Then for protein cubes i also do some individual ones like cranberry beans, navy beans, black eyed pea (woohooo not the hip hop band ok!!!), and a fwe more funny beans.. Then for individual meat purees i have pork puree, chicken puree. For stocks, i have chicken nad cranberry bean stock. for thick soups cubes, i have thick courgette soup, leek & potato soup, minestrone soup, corn chowder, and i don know what ...

hmmm sometimes i will just anyhow cook and concoct my own foods depending on what i have leftover in the fridge...so it's really anyhow lor....

for fruits i have a lot of variety though, i have pear, usa pear, apple, peach, plum, persimmon, mango, dragonfruit, red dragonfuit, papaya, nectarine, avocado, kiwi. bananas i will buy only when i using it.

smurfy!!

me again! my PD also told me after my bb turn one year this mth dun give FM give fresh milk!!
n i told him another PD told me bbies nid milk to grow n not solid food,he shot that PD ! said if there is the case then we all adults drink milk all the way lah!
wonder if our PD are the same person!
my bb turning one 13days later dun want bottles,sippy cups ,straw!!only want breasts!! so i got to spoon feed him fresh milk!!wish me luck!

Thursday 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY gathering CONFIRMED! 1pm - 5pm @ The Anchorage
function room has been booked.

1)Rachel + HB + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)pekochan + Yunzhi (hb TBA)
6) garfield07 + zz (HB TBA)
7) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
8) longan + Shaun + HB
9) Sunsweet + Smiley J (HB TBA)
10) nana + hb + ryan (TBA)
11) pumpkinni + hb + chloe
12) cherryale +hb +Ashton
13) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
14) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

Bring yours & bb swim wear..
Bring 1 present per family for exchange..
kindly confirm your attendance...

choo

Dun u find seeing him is like "seeing a top notch gynae" (dunno whose quote), u wait 4hrs and get 5 to 10 minutes of his time only..
my last visit, i waited four whole hrs until i lost my temper, only consolation is that my boy problem was not as bad as i tot..

smurfy,

yes i agree! waited 2hr plus just to consult him on my boy's weight n on giving full cream milk.only saw him for 7mins at most! but cos it is really hard to find a pro bf PD !

winnie, thxs... hahaha i make sure i get the rgt ying yu... hehe if not zz just eat n poo out lar ;p

mackerel otahs: yummy... did u see the show yesterday abt otahs.... u mean preg cannot eat?? i thot only sting ray... hiaz

charis, when i say zz make $ for his bd party to hb, hb retorted tat his money is his money n cannot use... so fierce hehehe

susu, i not so bad ok? ;p i will put it into bank guai guai.

Rachel, thxs for organsing... gald tat we actually make it. ;)

I am defnitely coming w zz. hb ah... i dun wan to say him liao.

last nite told him whether jan can take leave for zz to show him support, he say most prob cannot cos his immed boss on long leave n he had to cover her duties... just 1 day also cannot...

Rachel, thanks for booking of the venue and arranging for the gathering. Let us know if there is anythng else which we can help.

smurfy, i am into buying books now. Still dream of making a room for my gal soon. keke...

YX still got baby smell lei. Izit becos she did not eat so much of meat compared to other babies?

Eh, SBF says you can intro nut butters at 10 months right? That's why I bought the almond butter to replace his finishing tahini. Was actually trying to look for walnut butter, but to no avail.

The brand of yoghurt that the son takes is called Grandma's. Heehee. My mum makes a fresh batch from scratch every week, so he gets fresh plain unadulterated yoghurt everyday.

Huskie,
Oh dear, poor Soph. Was Sophie sick already when you started her on Sambucol? Or was she fine till you gave her the Sambucol? I'm monitoring the Son closely for any side effects from the Sambucol and so far so good. This is his 4th day on it under the 'Intensive' directions which means 2 teaspoons twice a day.

LOL at the chao tao. I agree that some babies are quite stinky naturally. I wonder if it's because they are on animal protein. Animal protein seems to make everything stinkier, their poo, their head, their BO...

Charis,
Wow, thank God that Yael did not swallow the bone. Yes, we MUST mash the fish meat with our fingers before feeding it to baby. Sounds unhygenic, but essential.

milkshake,
I intend to graduate Ben to table food when he turns 1 leh. Sarah also did that. He eats rice with no problems now. I just haven't started him on the dishes yet.

I'm getting sian with pureeing foods for Ben. I can't wait for him to eat our food. Pureeing is so time consuming.

huskie,
I do the porridge for at least 2 hours in the slow cooker. Average 2.5 hours. The red rice does not disintegrate when stirred, but it does swell up and break up right? The husks are still there but Ben has no problem with the husks and they come out in his poo.

Huskie,
ya, I give him meat for breakfast too. Should I not? I do that cause his appetite is quite good in the mornings and he tends to finish everything. He doesn't usually finish his lunch leh.

Milkie, I do give him fresh avocado, dragon fruits, grapes and mangoes... but apples, pears and peaches are so convenient. Just puree and freeze. Ok lah, so I'm a lazy mum :p But some of the freezing methods in SBF is so troublesome... you know, about submerging it in orange juice before freezing? Do you do that?

gak, paiseh forgot to reply u...

coarse rice is si shen + brown rice + few more ingredients... i never ask much cos my dad prepare 1 so i feel safe. It rather nice smelling. zz love it.

Jelly!! Aiyah, why you never say you want to sell away your play yard? I'm looking for another set.

Well, if that mummy stands you up, please put in the waiting line!

WINNIE
ooOps!
i didn't know that sardines & mackerels are high in mercury le
i read those pregnancy books hor state to eat sardines (canned) very good calcium le
but i didn't eat that mush during preggie *phew*
but when breast feeding i had mackerels quite often lo *haiz* dunno got pass to my boy a not

fish's good but so headache oso!
nowadays so many polutions! & "BLACK HEART" merchants!
making so many things unsafe to eat!!!

this Si Sen powder from Yu Yan Sen still must cook rite?
think stella's & garfield's coarse rice no need cooking...ya??

mummies..as for the gift exchange, i won't wanna limit the value..juz get a nice, appropriate family gift will do.. need not be too expensive either, so is up to you..

pvl/huskie
i dump the red/green lentils into the porridge after soaking for half hr.. so QY eat the skin oso.. okie right????

fish
can we give salmon?

jas
bks r much more expensive than clothes leh? hahaha

winnie

the coarse rice i used is the same as garfield. got it from chinese medical shop, they grind the brown rice into powder and add si shen and pao sheng. need to cook for a few mins.

HUSKIE
oh dear!
thanks for the info!!!
yup! i soaked the beans overnite!
lucky i cooked till the beans very soft till blend with the porridge...but i put together with the porridge to cook, ok?

hehe...after u collected all of PVL's wisdom, she can print into a book liao! ;)

right PVL???

MILKIE
yup!
& her baby very clever lo!
got salt eat so fast! no salt dun wanna eat lo!

wah! no wonder YR so healthy! got rosy rosy cheeks!
u gave such a wide varieties of food!!
very good!!!

stella, shld be same as yrs but it my daddy receipe. I see many mummies buying from him.

gak, mine need cooking. but it is quite easy to prepare. once cook, got the purpish look. smells nice. zz had it once a day now as he seems cannot take cereal v much... got cough issue.

coarse rice he takes 5 scoops plus 2 scoops of milk.

other meal is porridge. i also dunno wat other food to prepare him liao. hope he turn 1 soon.

CHARIS!
YUP! THANK GOD Yael didn't swallow the fish bone!!!

yaYa we must all be very careful with fish!
my hubby got a very bad experience when young so he dun like to eat fish now...

but fish's 1 of my fav ;)

GARFIELD
THANKS babe!
ur dad mixed all that himself?
can get from any Chinese Medical shop??
need to cook or it's instant?

JS
keke...think must go update myself with the book lo ;P

wah ur SON so lucky hor got Grandma's yoghurt!
each batch can be kept for a week??
does it taste as sour as those bought from outside?
i'm contemplating to make my own yoghurt too..
but tot buy more convenient lo ;) hehe

GARFIELD
u cooked the coarse rice together with milk?
fresh milk?
sounds yummy! *slurp* keke

my boy oso suddenly dislike boxed cereals leh so i got 2 spare BN boxes of HT's Mixed Grains Cereal now, anyone interested???
can't remmeber expiry but think it's Nov 2008..

rachel, garfield,

not to limit...but i think its better to etimate/ give guidline...

is it gift for the baby?? then lets do an est of $15- $20 la...easier...if not quite embarrassing..scarly i wan to buy one $5 gift le..kekeke....is dat okie??? of coz if any mummies is feeling rich...no worries you can get pricier gift..ekekke

charis,
Yikes! What fish did you MIL use?
Normally if it's threadfin or codfish, the bones is only in the centre part, so actually not that difficult to seggregate the meat from the bones leh.

JS,
Does your mum use a yoghurt maker? Where did she get it from?
I'm also wondering if I should get one, but just don't want it to turn into a white elephant... although me and hubby eats quite a fair bit of yoghurt.

huskieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
shld u invest in one, tell me how it works hor? for i love yoghurt.. but kinda expenive to eat every few days leh? and darn my high maintenance boy, always got petite miam yoghurt or horizon organic yoghurt to eat.. %^&*^%^^%

charis, wat happen to yael???
i shallow a fish bone when i m young n end up must go hospital to get rid of bone. v scared. but then now I still eating. got 1 period also got probia.

gak, my dad make n grind them. he opens a medical hall. u suppose to cook it. eh... not sure whether can sep add in the milk. for me, i use FM.

fat_babe, ok I shall use this as gauge so tat it is fair... like u say, if i get something cheap n then some1 give me one ex 1, i paiseh.

smurfy,
Woah, Petit Miam is expensive leh. Did you buy the blue tub one that has Vanilla, Vanilla Peach and Vanilla Strawberry favours?
Cos I fed SOph that, then 2 days later, she puked out mucous. I went back to read the label then realised that one is actually fromage frais i.e. cheese but with live cultures in it.
No wonder it soooo expensive and taste better.

Hee, Horizon is very expensive! You really splurge on QY!

I saw a yoghurt maker at about $60 when I attended some talk by a MLM company, but didn't really like those bunch of pple, so didn't buy at that time.

garfield,
Yikes, go hosipital!? Soooo scary leh... just now Soph gagged then I got scared too, dunno issit ate some rubbish from the floor!

milkie,
You going Australia? Eh, their Milo is nicer and different from SG's right? Can imagine you lugging a few tins back!

JS,
Forgot to reply you - when I started feeding Soph Sambucol, she was perfectly alright, not even a sign of phlegminess or cough, then suddenly fever.
But I also read that having fever is a defense mechanism in the body to fight the virus... so don't know if the Sambucol was working that way!

yes huskie...

i went normal gp but cannot get it out. doctor also panick n refer us to hospital...

cos hospital got the huge torch mah so easier lor. then when they extract out, the bone was v long!! yucks!

Garfield,
They didn't knock you out before they took out the bone?
They just pull your mouth open and use tweezers?!
**fainting**