(2007/02) February

Night Waking Club mommies,
Last night she woke up at exactly 245am again! This time, thanks to milkie's advice heee, I didn't feed her, just pat her, gave her water which she refused vehemently. So after I checked that everything is OK, left the room and closed her door and my door, heard her cry for about 15-20mins, then I knocked out liao.

charis, gak, milkie,
Yeah, I also don't like having a live-in helper leh, cos I also treasure my privacy... so much so that I sometimes feel like kicking hubby out... hee, I think he feels the same way too!
But if I'm really planning for a 2nd one, I think will have to get live-in helper, in case first trimester kenna complete bedrest again, then how to look after the first one? May get a helper to tide thru the first 2 yrs.

Had a bad experience with part-time helper - she cracked my parquet flooring, came to my flat to do her washing and ironing!

Then came to my flat sick and feverish, and passed the cold to me... what a nightmare!

milkie,
The Kammi doll is cute... I didn't know there's such dolls for teething babies! *suaku*
Where did you get it?
Cos I tried to give Soph the Snoopy her daddy bought for her, but it's so furry, how to bite?

Night Waking Club mommies,

zz join this last wed... :p
last nite he woke up at 12 a.m. pat also cannot cos his whole body jerk up n down, so scare his neck break. then I hug he also cry, then his daddy hug after a while he cool down. then we settled him back to his bed and he continue to sleep, but this time he decides to sleep at 90 degree angle to us. *faint. ours is queens size... didn't know i got such a selfish boi...

so he slept in tat position till 6.30 a.m this morn. this wkend, we will transfer him to playpen or cot for sleep time.

huskie, welcome to nazi club.. you've made it
Yeah Beth did the night waking for 2 nights but I just let her cry out for about 5+ minutes. Not happening this week.. inspite of dropping her dream feed. Why your part time helper so terok??? How on earth to crack parquet??? Wow, you were on complete bedrest? Oh my goodness.. so awful.

gak, yeah single income is really not easy. Last time, blowing $100 on clothing is OK... now, gotta think and think. I am also hanging on without maid 'cos I've seen first hand how difficult having a maid is.. I'd rather not have the petty tantrums and power struggles in my own home. The bad vibes will rub off on everyone.

milkie, should be OK lah.. I don't think Timo was attracted to the smell. Anyway, it's kinda gross and smelly right?

fatbabe..hehehe.. I thought NB is easier.. although have to breastfeed non-stop. Anyway, I've closed shop already.. no need to think about it!

huskie, hahahaa u can get it from motherswork!!! hahaha whenever u ask me where to get certain stuff, more likely than not, i got it from there....:p

catty, why u so free today????

and i havent got about to smelling it....u know the knotty parts of the doll is like darkish in color...i don't know what YR has been doing with it...but i didn't know biting it will discolor it to such a dark color. DIsgusting.... probably has germs and all the disgusting things u can think of on that kammi.

actually regarding FT maids...my maids didn't give us problems...but then maybe it's cos my parents bring them in from indo straight...and not from agents and they got them straight from the kampungs...so they have not learnt any bad habits etc. Also not allowed to have off days.

but ever since i ended up with husband, then no FT maids...only PT maids cos he values privacy and he thinks it's weird for him to walk ard in boxers and t shirt at home when a maid is ard.

however, if i ever get a 2nd one, i definitely gonna get either a full time nanny or maid from indo....i doubt i can handle 2 by my own.

garfield
aiyo ur maid quite jia lat hor..will complain & scream?? in front of u??
maybe u ask agent to councel her?? how abt getting a replacement without her knowledge?
i oso scared the maid will ill-treat my bb when we not paying attention lo, oso scared of voo-doo!!!

sunsweet
i go to the organic4less at Bukit Batok East Ave 6 if i remember correctly..know how to go but can't remember exact address.
they got fresh veggies delivered in the evenings daily too

quite a wide product range & 10% OFF for most stuff!
their organic tofu sell @ $1.70 NTUC $1.95!

huskie
maybe u wanna try out without maid first?? my gf seems quite ok with her 2yr old & new born (juz gave birth in June)..i always think of her as a super mommy
actually a 2yrs old toddler can help u with the baby oso le :p
or maybe hv the maid juz for the 1st 6mths after bb borned??

catz
haha..yup! last time can spend without thinking twice uh?
very true! when i've maid seems like everyone oso not in good mood lo...

re: nite waking
*phew* my boy's getting better now not as cranky as the previous nites...izit a passing phrase???

catz,

so fast confirm close shop liao ar?? kekeke...

milkie,
eh eh bring maid from kampung...then how you all train them?? if bring them to singapore...is it more ex then going thru agent??...kekeke...wah i think you can open "freelance maid agency" le..

skinnybabeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, hmmm actually my dad's employee in indo will get the maid from the kampung then my dad will pass the maid to his sister in indo to train....hahahahahaa hmmm not sure if it's more exp..but we arrange her passport etc by ourselves so i guess kinda like do without the middle party (ie. the agency).

then they also won't have any experience and don't know anyone in singapore so how they complain?? hahahahaha they will be stuck with us for at least 2 years mah. i think more of the notti maids are those who get to mingle ard a lot with other maids and then they start to get funny ideas. our maids previously all didn't go anywhere without us...so even if groceryshopping, my mum will bring them there and they will come back together.

gak,
Oh yeah, Organic4Less is also my fav shop - got my millet there for only $1.60 for 250gm.
Eh, i cannot do without maid - cos if complete bedrest, who to take care of the first one? Even if wanna put her in childcare (which of course I prefer not to), also need someone to walk her there leh.
Hubby goes to work at 6:50am, so he definitely cannot do it.
But yeah, maybe for first 6 mths when 2nd baby comes, so if add on to my 1st trimester of possible bedrest, then about 2 yrs lor.

Catz,
Confirm close shop meh? Haha... wait in the heat of the moment, kenna accident!

Hee, yes, I'm an official member of the Nazi Mommies Club!
Yeah, bedrest is awful... lost all my muscles after the 3 months, then have to slowly build up strength again to carry the pregnancy weight. But I really didn't dare to risk anything, so just guai guai lie in bed till doc gave the OK to walk about.

Yeah, I think the PT auntie dropped the blades of the fan on the floor when dismantling the fan to wash, cos I heard a loud clash *sigh*
Didn't know parquet so fragile?

milkie,
Thanks for Kammi info. Ok, maybe see if hubby wanna go there for nasi padang dinner tomorrow night, then check it out. I also wanna show him the "gates" you got

garfield,
Eh, mine also queen sized bed... haha, last time baby also sleep all over, then squeeze me to the edge till I get backache man!
Then hor, I heard a horror story from my hubby's colleague... that guy's got a friend whose wife got blinded when baby kicked her at night... accident lah, of course... but her retina got dislodged, then went blind in one eye... such sacrifices some mommies have to make!

Good luck on moving zz to his cot!

As for maid, cannot always let her throw tantrums in front of you leh... if like that, you where got authority as an employer?
But I know easier said than done lah... I also don't like to confront pple to tell them off!

gak, no need to get fresh peas lah...frozen peas just as good mah. :p

huskiesssssssssssssssssssssssssssss, welcome to the nazi club.hahahaha feels good right????

i'll be going out in a while. my bro picking me up to go out gai gai and EAT lunch!!!!!! I actually don't think YR is sleeping now leh...i walked past her room just now, i think i heard her squealing away in delight.

JELloooooo, i need to tell u something..hee hee
the cereal we both got is by first organix. i mixed it up with another cereal i got which was by hipp....sorry sorry sorry..hahahahaha i was just sorting out YR's food pantry and then i realized it.

whaha i am the one who throws tantrums at the maid ... coz i jealous haahaha :p

my high class maid does not like to mix ard with other neigbours' maids leh (i think she must feel they r of differnt levels as her :pPp)

Gak fresh sweet peas.. can get from supermarket ah.. NTUC / cold storage both have.. keke

Huskie,
Eh okie I'll check out the organic store at UE..

Question:

Lil J on and off having watery stool..

its like in a day she'll do her biz 2-3 times and one of which would be watery

do i need to bring her to the doc?

Or it this due to teething.. She's been eating well. but sleep wise seems like having dreams cos last night she cried bitterly in her sleep for 1-2 min.. keke

eh smurfy,

my sweet peas hor are from the pod.. so 1 pkt of the sweet pea will only yield like 2 tablespoon of peas..

if like me u give up with that fresh pea idea i used frozen garden pea.. but i only give Lil J the frozen peas once a week at most.. cos she already cannot finish her fresh food ..

sunsweet
is that snow peas?? frozen peas i saw before.. kekekee.. sweet peas i have not seen.. har? tat means u must remove all the lil peas frm the pods urself arr? so troublesome.. cannot blend everything ar?

ikan bilissss ( i need ikan bilis for the calicum now, QY on milk sttrikee)
how u all handle ikan bilis?? i got no oven, how to bake dry after washing the first round? still need to grind? use what to grind?? the chopper mode frm the braun blender ar? <- my one spoilt liao leh?

I bought Sweet Peas and painstakingly remove the peas from the pod so 1 pkt of the sweet pea can only yield abt 2 tbps of peas loh.. I did not give her the pod leh.. but maybe now can.. keke i have not try.

as for ikan billis, u wash wash, then can dry them by frying them in the pan (Note No oil to be added) then after they turn crispy dry.. the best is to grind it with chopper loh dun think can pound with motar right.. loads of work to pound..

eh huskie???!!! Are you expecting again? Why suddenly all this talk about #2? Do I congratulate you now??

Catz,
Are you sending Timo to nursery? *confused* Maybe I missed an earlier post :p

sunsweet,
I got my hulled millet from my little neighbourhood NTUC here in Punggol.
Lil J having watery stool? Was it somthing she ate? Is she on any medication? (Sarah always had watery stool with Panadol syrup- had to graduate her to Panadol chewable ASAP). Maybe her tummy is sensitive to something in her diet.

I was very naughty last night. I was enjoying a bowl of nice cheng tng and sneaked Ben a few sips of the longan water. Hehehehehe. Then today, I slipped a few tiny fluffs of bak hu into his porridge. Heh!!

I'm going to intro him to corn next, then chicken stock in his porridge, and minced pork. I bought the bi-colour corn (REALLY sweet) and steamed and minced it with the munchkin. Quite smooth.

how to make food with pork? Which part of the meat and how to cook? i meant for bbs. I have not try but think i might try this wkend.

PVL,

I was suspecting teething thats why got a bit watery stool.. its not all the way watery.. my mil told me out for 2 or 3 poo poos she did a day maybe 1 will be watery.. and its like every alt day this few days loh..

with your experience you think is allergy/ teething?

Garfield,
I went to the Market buy "Bak Tow" those lean lean meat without fats.. i cut to cubes and boil the stock.. i have not let Lil J consume the pork yet cos heard its tough to digest.. only meat she took was fish..

If u want to feed BB pork.. can ask bucher to recommend..and double mince the mean.. i was told can add a bit corn flour to the minced pork b4 cooking so it will be softer.. provided u've intro corn to Spidey boy b4..

do you give your babies tomatoes?

i have not let my gal tried.. but tomatoes goes well with what? will it be too sour for our bb?

thxs sunsweet. so far, let him try chicken puree but he now coughing so i stop... then also haven't inro fish cos he has phlegm.

prob i get some minced pork?? but i have not let him try corn b4 ley... so dun put corn flour then?

wat do u add to pork stock? i scare he dun like the smell

Hey PVL, no no.. Timo only starts next year but I had to submit the CDA form ahead of time..

sunsweet, tomatoes are not recommended for so young I think.

no corn flour. pork will be a little more tough.

for the pork stock i like to add in potato & carrot..sometimes louts root & red dates

some receipe add onion, celery but i have not tired these strong flavour veg yet.

milkie,
Haha, yeah, it feels good to be able to get some decent sleep, although not that much cos I still hear her cries and go in and check her. But it definitely beats having to wake up and rock her through the night!

PVL,
Heee, I'm not preggers! But I am thinking about the 2nd one, although hubby got phobia leh, after having all these sleepless nights etc.
Actually I'll like to have 2 or 3 kids, but now with his new job, I'm not sure if we'll have the next one so soon, cos if he doesn't get his proper sleep, then his work will also be affected.
Sometimes I get upset with him cos I think men really don't have as much stamina as women... then I'll tell him sarcastic things like maybe he can move out and stay with his mum...
very bad of me right?

Oh yes, the bicolored corn is really sweet... more expensive too. Think they call it "pearl" corn. I love that!

By the way, remember I mentioned my baby seems to be a fussy and small eater?

Hmm... went to my mum's place and she cooked fish porridge for my baby... guess what? She finished half a rice bowl of it, and could continue somemore, but my mum didn't give her more in case she gets indigestion from the sudden increase in amount of food intake.
So I guess maybe my porridge is not yummy enough for her

Milkie..eh u seem to be able to go out very often n go dating with hb some more leh..bring YR along?

Huskie..Yup Quite good that our babies dont need to be rocked n fed to go to sleep now..I get longer period of sleep now..Yael still wakes up a few times but usually patting n "hush hush" n some water should send him back to sleep real quick..but I still feed him if he wakes at 5am..cos he doesnt take much milk at the 10pm feeding..so I believe he should be hungry if he wakes up at 5am or 6am..cos he does his hungry cry.
Hehe..I get all cranky n more upset easily nowadays esp towards my hb..motherhood has some toll on my previous "sweet demeanour", hahaha.. all the sleepless nites n housework n baby care stress..but GOD keeps me sane n in check.

seems like i'm the only one who has introduced tomatoes to YR. goodness me. I actually put tomatoes in some of her pasta dishes and sometimes in some of the recipes that require tomatoes. so far, i've given her cherry tomatoes, beef tomatoes and the tomatoes with the green stalk on it (supposed to be sweeter). She ok with them....

huskie, very soon u will be sleeping all the way to 7am without having to wake up if u continue using the GF method. hee hee

charisssssssss, in the daytime if we do go out, then i will bring YR out. But for weekdays if i go out with husband, we will put YR to bed first then get either my neighbour to housesit for us or get a babysitter to come and help us housesit for a few hours. it's easier for us i guess cos YR is quite used to going out in the daytime with me (after her naps) and for night time, she is asleep at 7pm so after 7pm, the time is ours till 7am. hee hee

I used to feel irritated with everything at the early mths but once she hit 3 or 4 mths, things got better.

huskieee & catty, i got a new kammi for YR just now. she just went straight for it....so i didn't wash it..hahahahahaha so now she has 2 kammis in the cot with her.

i'm also interested in making my boy sleep longer at nite
so that i can hv a good rest & not so cranky myself..keke
my poor hubby also get it from me too *haiz*
care to share wat's this GF method thingy?
wat does it stands for??

huskie
oic..ur 1st preggie gotta hv complete bedrest in the first trimester? dun mind i ask wat happened?
my gf got a blood cyst so her preggie also very risky might hv miscarriage anytime but her gynea nv ask her to take complete bedrest le...
which Organic4Less u go?? i go to the Bukit Batok 1..

garfield
u bought it for 2wks nv use & buy a another 1?
hehe..kk will wait fro ur reply

when baby has a bad cough they'll cough till vomit lo..my PD told me if they vomit straight away, it's not consider vomit unless more than half hr lata then consider vomit..
i applied vicks on his chest, back & throat so he can sleep better or else he'll be awaken by a sudden bad cough..it works! can try ya!

my boy had been sleeping with me on our bed for sometime lo cuz me lazy mom lo..wanna switch him back too so i can hv a better rest, he's oso very selfish type lo (hehee..) but think will do it when i'm not so tired cuz will sure cry 1! got any good methods???

milkshake
i didn't wanna get frozen ones as can't freeze again lo..do we need to remove the skins after cooked or can juz blend like dat???
i got the Hipp cereal too, very ex rite? $13.80 for the same size as EB & HT cereals!
still hvn't try it out yet le..

smurfy
how long can tofu be kept after opening?
i juz bought 1 pkt, wanna intro to him but dunno how to keep the leftover tofu after opening..must transfer to another container a not?

sunsweet
where u buy ur sweet peas???
thanks for the tips on the ikan bilis! tot must dry in the sun then can roast it in the pan..

mommies
i'm trying to wean my boy OFF BM (i latch on direct cuz tired & lazy initially lo to express & sterilise bottles!) wanna switch to FM now...
any methods how to do it??
he'll reject the bottle once he taste the bottle le..i'm also lazy to express :p to mix with FM
any method that dun need to EBM? he also still not use to sucking from milk bottle..

erm another question mommies
do u do the cubes freezing method or prepare ur baby's food fresh daily?
if prepare daily, care ot share pls?

i'm currently using the cube method, think got quite use to it till my gf ask me: "u dun prepare fresh food for ur baby?"
that got me thinking y can't i add the fresh veggies into the porridge when it's almost done & blend it together lo..

only fruits i'll prepare fresh for him daily, & porridge unless i cooked too much lo

btw, do u give ur babies individual food to eat or mix all together??
so far i mixed everything together lo..i dunno will it cause him to reject individual food in the future a not as he didn't get to taste them individually..

gak
intially i used new tofu everytime for QY.the remaining, we just steam and add to our own dishes.soup, until i get sick of eating tofu dishes every alternate days..:p

now he eats one tofu for 2 consecutive days kekeke .. half today, ,half tomorow.. the tomorow one.. will put in the air tight container and fill with water (the superbb book got mentioned this portion, and say can keep for 10 days???)

milkie
i had wanted to get the kammi.. but luckily i discovered it too late.. now QY got a smeelly beansprout pillow.. full of saliva.. eeeeekkk.. but i love the smell? hahaha

catz
met up with Kelvin earlier onz.. will be seeing another few before confirmation.. he looks sooo young..

Thanks smurfy!
hehe..i dun cook everyday only when in the mood lo :p so doubt the tofu'll get eaten keke

the Super Baby book got mention?? hmmm..must hv missed out that info!

u gave him plain or ...???
he can finish half the tofu? wow!

Gak, GF stands for Gina Ford. She's written books about how to put babies on schedule (sleeping + feeding). Basically if you follow her method, your baby should be doing 7pm to 7am bedtime and 3 hours of naptime in the daytime ie. 15 hours in all. Feeding times will be at 7am, 1145pm - 12pm, 5pm. Last milk feed at 630pm. Thereafter, NO more milk feeds till 7am.

You can try to get the book from any bookshops ard, sure can find.

Query for all mummies...

Eh, actually about refreezing frozen foods, why cannot refreeze????? I know the SUper Baby Foods book says cannot refreeze. BUT my recipe book states that I can use frozen peas, frozen corn etc and then after I cook the dish, i can refreeze the dish. SO HOw??????

Super Baby Foods say cannot eat tomatoes...but the recipes i use all also use tomatoes in the recipes....

Why such a big difference in opinions between the writers of such books??? makes me darn confused.

smurfette, why u don like Kammi?? Kammi good....can let the babies bite on the hands and legs then they won't irritate us in the middle of the night when they are teething..hahahahaha Eh, but i think i agree with u that the 'smell' of the kammi is very babyish still...I can still smell YR's smell on it which isn't a bad smell. Maybe as they get older, their breath will stink then the pillows or kammis will get smelly.

I have a beansprout pillow on her bed too but she didn't grow attached to it. Eh, wanna ask u, are we allowed to wash the bean sprout pillow or are u supposed to leave it like that forever??