(2007/02) February

jas,pvl,koh,
after that one week, QY back to normal again.. can sleep through again... i stil thnk is teething, coz he spits out pacificer(maybe painful for the gum) and oso after that got 2 tiny teeth :p

hi koh,
Elva is a very smiley baby! Such a happy demeanour that I wouldn't have guessed she's sick so frequently, but like what Sunsweet said, babies are much stronger than we think they are.
Taking a break from your course may be a good thing - can spend more time with the kids... we can't turn back time once the kids grow up!

btw, I only started chatting during the last trimester of our pregnancies, by which time I think you've already given birth, so you may not know me that well

hey girls,
My baby can also join the waking-in-the-night club. She's been waking up at 3am for the last 2 nights liao, and wanting to play! *faintz*
Yesterday night I patted her for 30mins, then cannot tahan liao, so just left her to cry it out too... just hope it didn't disturb my neighbours too much

Her top 2 and bottom 2 teeth came out alerady leh, so can this really be teething?

Sunsweet, garfield,
Haha, lil J and zz's budding "romance" story is so funny!

milkie,
HELP!!! You cooked frozen sweetcorn for YR yeah? How did you handle the tough "skin" on the kernels?
I pureed the whole thing, but there're still some skin that can't be pureed through... then I think some of it started getting stuck in baby's throat, so I ate it all up myself and just gave her a milk feed instead.
Quite yummy and sweet, I must say...

Is it a coincidence or wat? YX also woke up this morning around 4.30am and cry and cry! tuesday even worse, woke up at 11.30, 4.30 and 5.30!

huskie, munchkin food grinder in this case is more effective, as it basically filter the rough part of the food we puree, such as skin from the "meat" of fruits/vege.

Huskie,

for Corn is better to run them thru the seive though we puree them.. I do so for Lil J...

hehe this gives me an idea for creamy corn soup this weekend..

alamek, wat happen at 4.30 a.m?? so many bbs decide to dua their mummies ah?? zz couldn't stop crying till i give him my B to tong first... then later thot he calm down n put him down, he started crying v loudly. then wo bian do milk lor
but i can tell he is hungry cos his mouth keep moving like wan to swallow something.

but past few nites he can sleep through so i wonder wat happen last nite.

hi huskie,
i saw ur posting when we were at last trimester, but never got to chat with u though...
wah.... why why.... baby like to wake up at 4am??? hmmm.....
elva only like cereal leh, give her porridge she don wan... told maid not to force her to take porridge as scared will even dislike more...
any good baby food recipes to recommend???

sunsweet,

maybe she don like the texture, can teach mi the way to puree the porridge?? pai seh.. last time my boy everything also eat.. thats why i never encounter problem like that b4...

Koh,

cook porriage as usual when the grains are soft.. use a spoon mash/ stir vigorously and let the grain mash thru the metal seive.. and u'll get puree porriage

for the small amt they eat its quite fast..

u may want to warm the pureed porriage again b4 feeding

hi mummies ..

my boy also joining the waking-in-the-night-club ..

it has been happening for this whole wk liaoz ...
3am, 3.30am, 5.3am ...
he suddenly scream and want to play ....

in the end i juz bring him down to sleep in btw
me and hubby .. cannot tahan!!

*pengzz* ... so sleepy in office leh ...

hi koh,
i'm me2baby, juz join this thread in sep. elva looks so adorable and happy, I cant help but smile when i saw her picture. U know, she has already won half the battle because of her happy disposition. u're right that she is telling u not to worry by smiling sweetly at u, babies don lie. stay strong gal!!

hi hi mummies, feeling so tired now. Didn't have time to log on to the forum till now. Was out with bro and gf.

Jello, i also havent tried the new cereal by Hipp but will probably let her try this weekend too. hee hee I think YX will like porridge. What will ur auntie be putting in the porridge? speaking about porridge, seems like it's been a while since I last made porridge for YR. Maybe will make her some one of these days.

KOH, your daughter looks really sweet and friendly.

huskie, tell u something ok. regarding sweet corn, i don't sieve out the pureed sweet corn. I still leave mine slightly lumpy. :p :p hmmmmm so far so good. but i guess u can follow what jello or sunsweet suggested and sieve it first before serving it to Sophie.

I feel very tired very easily these few days...i hope i'm not preggie again. But it's really weird cos i just feel very weird. last night i also experienced my 1st heart burn. Am i just falling sick??? Tomorrow I'll probably go buy myself a test kit to check it out.

hello ladies,

I know I've been MIA.. just too busy with my velcro baby and potty-training my toddler. Plus my son is recovering from illness and I have NEVER EVER seen him eat so much!

Koh, welcome back! Elva is sooooo pretty and what a cheery baby she is. I'm so sad to hear that she has to go through so much ordeal at this young age. She sure is a strong little fighter! Wow, you really have a lot of burden now.. I agree with PVL, that the special school will help to normalise your son. I guess he might have picked up behaviour to get attention from you, esp since you never know what was said in your absence.

huskie, think corn is pretty hard to digest leh. Better monitor Soph for any constipation. I didn't give corn to Timo until he was past 18 months. Heeee

milkie, omg, you really could be preggers!!! Eh, YR is a very easy baby leh.. eats so well, poops easily and she's developmentally advanced. Lucky girl!

Sighh.. gotta get back to my work.. nowadays I usually come into forum to check if I 'otang' money for BPs and sprees and then I log off really quickly. Shack!!!

night-waking mummies,
If our babies are hungry in the night, do you think they're going through growth spurts?
This website http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/growth-spurt.html says there is a growth spurt around 9mths (give and take a bit).
Hmm... but I never feed my baby leh, cos I'm trying to wean off the night feeds... wonder if she'll get gastric problems if she's really hungry?

milkie, Sunsweet, jello, Catz,
Thanks for info on corn... heee, this mummy was too lazy to strain it thru' sieve lah, plus I also left lumps in there cos I thought it's time she gets used to more grainy food

milkie,
Hee, you could be preggers???!!!!

Catz,
oooh.... didn't know corn is hard to digest... uh oh, I better monitor Soph's poop!

koh,
My baby used to make a "puking" face when I give her grainy foods before she was ready... and I thought she didn't like the food, but actually when i re-introduced it in well-pureed form, she takes it well.

Don't worry about baby not being able to sit up by herself... my friend's kid refused to do anything when the mommy puts her on the floor, then suddenly one fine day, she could sit, flip and crawl simultaneously... weird right?

catty and HUSKIE,

false alarm false alarm. hahahaa My husband drove down to buy me a test kit just now and it's negative. I'm not ready for a 2nd baby so soon. Earliest that i can make it will be in 2 or 3 yrs time.

Huskie, regarding growth spurts, my sil told me that what she did is to not feed the baby once the baby is off the night feed. She says just try to give more during the day and maybe give an extra healthy snack or something during the baby's waking hours.

catty, maybe YR is easier than most of the babies here cos she's on GF..hahahaha Hey, beth and timo are ok too. Just that Beth more prone to food allergies. HOpe u will be able to chat on the forum more....we miss u here.

UPdate on YR:

Now she's can climb up my bed by using her upper body strength to lift her up to the ledge, then from the ledge, she will get up again to the bed. also she seems to have a tooth at the side of her bottom mouth. so now she's got 3 teeth.

milkie,
Thanks for the info on the growth spurt and night feed. Just now as I was giving the 10pm feed, I was contemplating if I should feed her tonight. Haha, you know me lah... when I hear her cry so poor thing, then I feel like givng her the feed

Heee, actually I thought if you have a 2nd one now, it's not that tough cos YR is so easy. I'm a bit kan cheong, wanting to have a 2nd one cos hitting 35 soon, but I really wanna enjoy Soph for a bit longer... sigh, dilemma!

Koh,

didn't manage to catch you earlier....elva is SOOOOO pretty...its difficult not to worry..but you muz continue to stay strong foryour kids...really admire your courage...hope to see you more often gal!!

milkie,

kekeke...tot i can congratulate you liao..keke..

catz,
yah usually after recovering form sickness..kids will eat lots more to make up for "lost"..hehehe..how toilet training going on?? dun stress yourself on it yah..i remember you say timo ( correct??) dun wan to wear diapers anymore rite?/

my boy..dat time bronchitis...though "recovered"..still having quite abit of phlegm..tried the chinese medicine powder the old folks reccomended..and yet still there...super sian...n now..i am falling sick too...grrr..he's drinking 210ml nowadaes..but i dunno how many times..waakaaka

I am glad to report that for the last two nights I have been coping well with A. The first night he cried and cried as it is usually maid who pat him to sleep. I just continue to carry him and pat him to sleep in my room with aircon on. He fell asleep after 10mins which is not too bad I guess. Last night was a breeze. Today is the 1st day I took care of A all by myself. Wow, thank God he is cooperative, I even managed to make my bed, wash his clothes and take a nap with him from 3pm to 5pm

He is still sleeping, not sure if he still wants him milk feed which he was supposed to take at 10.30pm.

Anyway, I realised that A can crawl (and its the proper, on all fours type, tummy above floor) and crawl pretty fast too! However, he can only do this on the sofa?? When I put him on my bed, he doesnt seem to be able to do it.

Today is actually the only time that I had spent the whole day with him. Even when he was newborn, I had confinement lady with me and subsequently was maid. Hehe, so far so good, so please continue to pray for me, wish me luck that I can dong until maid comes back next friday.

Jelly, BIG Thank you for doing the excel spreadsheet!! Since u have done so much of course we must still push thru the order!

smurfy, what have u bought again?? einstein?? can trouble u to post in this thread whatever that caught your eyes?? I only check this thread so rely on yur tips to buy things

catz!!...i caught you buying nailpolish!!!....i also wan..but i think i abit "overspent" on sprees liao...grrr...muz "beat on hand.."...cannot stop clicking on the keyboard..

Corn, I bought some organic corn and made them into puree but I didnt dare to feed A cos recently read the Super baby food book and it said have to wait till 1 year old or something?? BUT seems like all of you have tried and its ok? Then I think I will go ahead and feed A tomorrow

i need some help now..espeically frm milkie (since YR went thr some milk strikes before)..

what other forms of calcium do u give to ur bb oredi?? milkie u gave cheese right? wat kinda cheese? the normal one?? kekeke can help me with the exact brands n types.. i only know the cheddar cheese that i put in between 2 slices of bread..

QY's milk intake is getting less to lesser.. yesterday was 100ml, 140ml, 80ml and 120ml.. (put in another 90ml mixed into his cereal).. and all these were drank in half drowsy state.. even half drowsy... he will want to throw away the milk bottle...

dunno why this boy hates my milk soo much.. hb not into the idea of giving FM...

susu... wooo.... i thot can congratulate u too!
My aunty gave YX the new cereal yday and she loves it. For porridge, most likely will start wif fish first. This one i leave entirely to my aunty as i really quite loss when come to porridge.

Cherry, can sense u have a great day taking care of A yday by urself. Jia you k? Eh, dun say that lah... Dun buy simply becos i have done up the spreadsheet. Do u have vpost or comgeaway account? Maybe u can try to order and see whether the shipping cost will be of much cheaper? I have all the links to the products in the spreadsheet.

Thank god YX slept thru till 5.40am this morning! Since 2 days ago i saw her crawl once on the playmat, she didn't crawl oredi. Or she only crawl on the playmat? Put her on sofa or mattress she cannot crawl lei. put on floor even worse, will cry out loud. Haiz... Guess i shdn't be too anxious and let the nature takes its course.

Helloo all mummiessss good morning morning...

huskie, i know u soft hearted that's why i deliberately wrote to let u know what my sil's advice is . hee hee was sophie ok last night????

smurfetteeeeeeeee, i give YR Bega shredded cheese (already shredded and non organic), I also tried this cottage cheese from cold storage (can't remember the brand) and the laughing cow party cubes in original flavour. U can also give yogurt. Yogurt so far i tried barumbas and Yoplait. if i'm not wrong, white bread also contains some calcium. Then u can also give tofu.

I believe some mummies actually give anchovies in the porridge or grind them into powder n mix it into the foods...but i have never tried that yet...

U stillpumping milk now???? YR's milk intake is as close as nothing now.......very jialat.

Oh ya, need advice from some of the more experienced or well read mummies.

I notice YR is getting very attached to the Kammi doll. She hugs it to sleep and she even tried to bring it out of the cot with her this morning when i took her out of the cot. But I put Kammi back and she grew aggro and started whining and kicking me.

My questions are:

1. Should I allow her to take Kammi out of the cot?

2. How am i Supposed to wash the current Kammi??? It's really very dirty looking.....
I thought of buying a new Kammi to temporarily replace the current Kammi. will it work or does she require her scent to be on it for it to work???

smurfy, hmm... QY on milk strike? Guess you just gotta roll with it and give him other forms of dairy to up his calcium intake. Just try some FM lah.. better some milk than none at all right?

cherry, congrats. Actually I was pretty much scared of flying solo too 'cos we lived with my parents for the first 5 months of Timothy's life. When we moved back to our own place, I was majorly freaked out.. but it got easier and easier, especially when they have some form of routine.

jelly, well done YX!
Yah put her on the playmat more often and put her fave toys slightly out of her reach. Bethany is a weirdo.. she likes to crawl only on floors. Think she's got masochistic tendencies..muahahahaha..

milkie, cheyyy.. thought can make fun of you already. Eh actually YR is really very easy and you should seriously consider a second one before she hits the terrible 2s!!! I also miss yakking with you girls..

So tired.. just came back from Timo's kindy after dropping off the forms for CDA deduction for fees. Not too bad, about 15 mins drive in rush hour :p But poor Bethany tak boleh tahan.. haha..

fatbabe, heee.. you caught me! Think PMM's spree is pretty cheap for nail polish lor. The only luxury I allow myself is a pedicure every month
Wah your Tyler can drink 210ml? SOLID! Poor boy and his phlegm. So heartache hor?

milkie, think you should buy 2-3 more Kammis lah.. seems like YR loves her 'lovey'
So cute. Should try that for Beth. I guess you can give her the lovey when it's time for naps? So it's OK to be out of the cot provided it's during her wind-down time right?

So sleeeeepeeeeeeeeeee :p

Catz... can hear u yawning! haha...

We put the box of gerber star or my jujube bag in front of her to encourage her to crawl. This gal ha dun like toys, but she loves bags! Always like to snatch the handle of my bags and chew! Yuk...

susu, the kammi doll cannot be washed???

hi ladies!!!

I MIA too but i read up the posts everyday but no time to post. At my parents' for this few days, celebrate Hari Raya with them. My granny bought a nice orange malay baju kurung for Yael...haha! Will try to post some pics of him in it sometime soon.

We got "nite club" here. Yael has been waking up at 1plus n wants to play..the daddy always the one kena climbed on, pinched..while we try to sleep..we put him with us on the bed first then transfer him to his cot once he's asleep or drowsy..Im the one hav to wait until he's ready to go to his cot..so super tired lately..Yael can tahan an hour before finally goin back to sleep.
I cant do controlled crying at nite cos sure disrupt my hb's n the other family members' sleep. But there were a few times he woke up at 6am, I jus let him cry..cos i jus too tired. Anyway he cries for 5min, then he'll go back to sleep with some reassurrance..haha..that's how effective Gina Ford method is.

Koh..So sorry to hear of yr gal's problems n then now yr son's..but do stay strong n optimistic for yr kids' sake. Take care of yr health too.

Milkshake..Aiyoh..haha false alarm huh. Eh u never take precaution when u not ready to preggy again?!
I also dont use any contraceptive..and I definitely dont want to preggy so soon..I was thinking when my son turns 2 then can ttc again..then I realise that's jus another year plus..n tat's quite soon haha!

Huskie..I think u should hav yr next one soon esp since u mentioned yr age as a factor..
more kids is always more joy n fun..from wat i heard n see myself, kids are smarter when they hav siblings..cos they learn from one another.

Im goin to visit my fren this afternoon. She had an emergency surgery last week..there was a huge cyst beside her ovary..n she's only 26.

milk milk, think catz is rgt. bbs around this age or bigger will have something attached while in bed. for me, it is the piglet but he is still not so attached to it. however this piglet always stay on the bed to remind him sleeping time.

last nite, he woke up at 12 a.m n cry uncontrollably.... till daddy pick him up still crying but after a while sleep... dunno y ley... but nxt time wake up is 630 a.m though waiting for his milk... so cute when i come back to rm, he look at me blur look. then i show him milk, he smile.

but after drinkin finish 5 oz, he vomited almost half of it out
dunno is his throat irritae or wat... he still have cough n it seem to be getting worse. still takin his medicine.

gak, sorrie me forgot again till I back ofc this morn... but just now call my maid, it seem she haven't use it yet but I need to double check.

cherry, tat v good. keep it up... u become a pro v soon...

cherry, smurfy, stella, confirmed on 20 oct liao...

Cherryale..U turned SAHM or wat i thot was u started working at home? WAHM?
Congrats if its either!
Like Catz said it'll get easier.

Cherryale..I carefully read the posts again since i got time..realise u didnt turn SAHM or WAHM lah..hahaa..Sorry my mistake..so yr maid on leave? Then u also use yr chidcare/maternity leave to look after A i guess?

catty & charis, how can i handle 2 at this stage?? a new born needs infinite attention. I'm a bit scared. I was thinking i will wait till YR starts pre nursery or some class then i can concentrate on a baby while she goes occupy some time in sch.

charissssss, i guess our mentality is if we really get another one, then we will have to prep ourselves again lor just like how we handled YR's arrival. kekekekekekeke i also think having another kid would be good so that YR can have a 'friend'and maybe can occupy her time more.

Jellooooo, kammi can be washed......but i guess still need a few backups just in case i lose it or soemthing ...hee hee

wait ah...i need to do something now....tty girls later....

skinny babe, save your gong xi for later okie?? hee hee if i'm preggies, i'll let u know first..hee hee

NITE babies club...
Ben woke to cry at 4.45 am this morning. But it lasted for a full 5 minutes. Then... QUIET *heng*. I didn't make the mistake on checking on him again this time, and so he woke up happy around 7+. No more noise

How were all the other club-members last night?

milkie, actually NBs are easy.. it's crawlers who need much more attention I feel :p Rgd loveys, Timo has 3 Elmos..
Just in case he pukes on one.. but now he's kindly donated one Elmo to Baby

Charis, wow, must really post Yael's festive pix here for us..

AIyoh so sleepppppeeeeeee

Hi koh!
me oso juz join this thread recently

hope everything goes well for u! be strong ya!
GO! GO! JIA YOU!

re: millet & brewer's yeast
so far i've seen millet & brewer's yeast selling @ NTUC, at the organic section
i bought my hulled millets at Organic4less $2.50/500g, they also hv the Brewer's Yeast & Nutritional Yeast there..can't reember the price though

milkie
thanks for the infor on cheese.. yah QY eats tofu every alt. days..

catz
this boy seems to hate milk from day 1.. hb afraid QY wants FM and dun wanna EBM hahaha..i think NBs are the worst leh.. now is so much more adorable

pvl
kekeke i quit frm the "nite=club" since this week

garfield
though i'm a SAHM, i find it physically very straining to keep everything together & gg smoothly lo..baby, hubby & maid!
so scraped the maid! now i got a part-time aunty to come once a wk..wanted twice a wk but hubby grumble expense very high lo
got my privacy bak & no more worries whether to bring maid when we wanna go out be it shopping or a good meal or to run some errands
dun like to live maid @ home cuz got caught by me opening the gate to wash the corridor when no one around! & she loves to hang around the master bedroom to clean this clean that..everyday clean same room same thing! tell her no need, she'll insist must do! if ask her go do other things, will show face! *haiz* like she's my employer, i must listen to her!

gak..yup single income couple must cut expensess..that's why we also dont have helper or car. I also not comfortable to hav a maid living with us..not easy to find a competent n trustworthy helper/maid.

just a quick one....cos i ran away from YR and while she was searching for me, she got waylaid by the part time helper in the guest room.

orange cat, ooo okie...why u give little zz a piggie??? shouldnt' he be having a little garfield??Hee hee so without the piggie, he cannot sleep is it????

that day i first noticed that YR's Kammi could be her lover in bed when i put her in for her noon nap and she fussed like half an hour before she went to bed. then i realize that her kammi was on my bedroom floor.

about him vomitting his milk out, i don't know man.....maybe he not feeling well? maybe u monitor him for the next few milk feeds. if he keeps vomitting out his milk then better ask doc....:p it's been a long time since i see YR vomit anything out.

smurfeetttteeeeee, i think QY's diet should be good lah..don't worry too much about calcium intake. U can also cook him some dishes that has milk/cheese in it. Then he will also be having his calcium intake thru them.

catty, i didn't have a good experience when YR was a new born....so i prefer her now than before..hahahhaha Last time all she did was cry cry cry.....i really hated that period...even though it's supposed to be the 'honeymoon' period. ekkekeekekekekeke

Hey, if i wash kammi, won't the smell be gone??? it's ok is it???? or must i put the new kammi in her cot to season it before i attempt to wash the older kammi????

milkie catz,

yah i think newborn are only "nice" for 2 weeks..then they start their crying trial...till about 2/3 months...

charis
yup! a good trustworthy maid/helper is hard to come by!!
so far i find my this PT helper ok lo..she only juz started oso, lives very near me
juz opp. block!

now gotta learn to live on tight expenses not like last time when got dbl income & no baby!
can pamper myself..now main aim is to pamper baby! wahahaa..

humm maybe.. nevermind when i need them again i'll look ard once more.. keke but i think cold storage will still keep stock bah..

gak, ya lor... my maid sometimes wan to take control so tokin to her v tired... imagine come back from work already tired n still deal w active bb, then still have to deal w a diff to listen maid... somemore hb always work late...

but i no choice since i had to work. If i not working, i will look after him himself liao, no need maid. she rather sensitive whenever i tok abt my child liao... she keep thinkin tat i tot she ill treat my son... v sian n tired. like today after he vomit so much, me so heart pain n wan to take leave but also consider since last wk already take leave... so sian.

susu, no garfield for him cos he himself is also a piglet :p na na di bu bu.

sunsweet
but think cold storage quite ex lo...
Brown Rice Paradise oso got!
saw at The Market Place too..but it's puffed millets not hulled millets
maybe i didn't search properly? cuz was in a hurry lo...
or u can try Nature Farm?

garfield
*haiz* i understand wat u mean..think they did it on purpose at times lo
cuz my last agency's boss told me that these maids would made a mess of things like pretend dun understand wat u toking abt but was able to understand u when she juz come/in the beginning, reorganise ur wardrobe/kitchen/hse to her liking, purposely spoil stuff like burnt ur clothes when ironing, etc..all these are signs that the maid want u to send them bak to agent but they won't tell u even when u ask lo cuz they still in debts mah so will try to tahan lo
beware of the letters they write home too, they'll write abt dying lo..

gak, my maid is just too stubborn... she has been in spore for v v long time liao. so i guess she is having those lao jiao problem... keep thinking she is always right. so now i have to try to be firm n to say no even if she thinks she is right. but when i keep hearing her complaining or screaming, really wan to tell her to stop it ley.
i dun wan to spoil her but dun wan to make her too angry too cos she alone w my boi la... i knoe she wun ill treat him but then if she have worries, i scare she lose concentration n tat will be no gd lor. wat to do? my mum, n mil can't help take care...