(2007/02) February

huskie,
Enrolling the kids in the nearby school is still an option for us. The homeschool thing has been on our mind ever since we were married, but I was not too sure how it would turn out. Now, after having tried it for a year or so, I'm more confident that it can work. When we see kids out there competing with each other just to see who is better, and spending so much time in school learning so little (and having to supplement it all with tuition and remedial) we're more and more determined to homeschool. Still, we keep our options open, see how lah.

Hope your stress is relieved, now that the maid is gone. Sometimes with the maid we grow slack in monitoring things around the house, and then get 'lazy'. hehehehe. Even with my PT cleaner. I depend on her to dust the furniture, sometimes I don't check where she hasn't dusted yet, and then find a dirty place ... soooo dusty. Like on top of my wardrobe. Must tell her to clean there this week.

cherry, u r rgt abt it. most of the toys are bought during zz times. even now when we buy toys, zz play it first. so it true tat #1 get more toys... haha n mei mei have more clothings than zz I realise... now I got to source for his clothes again... everyday like wearing same...

last sat, zz went for class n one parent commented zz look small.. how do u all make yr child eat? zz not food lover. v stress when trying to feed him. I even buy those vitamin B12 thing for him to improve appetite... v cham.

huskie, we went zoo too on sat! the heat is terrible... we keep running indoors... keke

Sunsweet, sorry my spree full liao.. I KIV if I need to start another batch k?

garfield, haha.. think you, me and cherryale the same, buy a lot of girly clothes. As for small sized kid, cannot be helped lah.. Timo has been skinny since he was 6 months old. Anyway Dr Ong EK says skinny kids better than fat kids. Still remember he told one of my friend's friend (the kid's parents are both fat) that they cannot go and feed their kid too much 'cos he said both parents fat, the kid breathe air also will get fat. Haha. So don't stress about weight unless the pd says got something wrong hor. I used to be very very bothered about having such a skinny boy but nowadays, I just thank goodness he eats balanced meals and resist the urge to stuff him ( 'cos he will puke).

huskie, OMG, you have such a guilt complex! No need to give her so many things lah!!! Honestly her hubby really sabo her big time. Such a nuisance fella. But yes, yes you should not have allowed the phonecalls lah. Most of the people I know do not allow their maids to touch the phone. My maid uses her own phone for everything but of course she answers the house phone(which is barely used).. usually it's me calling to ask her to come and meet me at the carpark to carry groceries :p

Wah so tired.... today was the photoshoot for the kids. Alamak, Bethany was so terrible 'cos we waited about 1 hour plus for the shoot to start. But luckily after she watched korkor posing, then she did well. SHe knocked out on the way back home from Sentosa.. at 1.30pm and I brought her up to my bed and she has not moved a muscle since then. Deep deep coma :p

The heat these days is really too disgusting. Yesterday tried not to sleep with aircon but woke up at 12 mn perspiring like a pig and had to switch on the aircon to cool off. Yucky weather.

catz, u v brave... try not to on aircon... hahahha for these few weeks, we have air con on while we sleeping till the nxt day... too hot n stuffy...

hehe i can't wait to see yr kids photos on NDP...

huskie, I also think u treated yr maid v good. sometimes i also feel guilty not to bring her out during wkends. but sometimes i feel she rather good life liao... haha so last wkend, we left her at home do housework while we go zoo... haha

she happen to find out but who cares? we got freedom to go where we wan lor.

Catz,
I run the aircon in the boys' room almost all day long, from Gabriel's 2nd nap til the end of his 3rd nap, then again at bedtime til 5.30am. My room a/c is on from around 8+ til 5 am. Sarah doesn't want aircon in her room, so we just cool down the room for an hour before she goes to sleep. My bills are going to be large, but can't be helped lah. Oh yes, for homeschool I also run the study aircon! About 2 hours. But our aircons are all at 27˚ or 28˚. Quite cool already.

garfield, trying mah, I scared the power bills will shoot past $200! But really bopian, think tonight gotta switch on aircon siah.

Why do you feel compelled to bring your maid for outings??? I mean, of course occasionally bring her out but if keep bringing her out, it's also tiring for her and there's more housework to catch up on, right? My maid will gladly follow us out but if I give her the choice, she will gladly stay home and do the cleaning while we're out. Easier. Besides, she has 2 off days and we're debating on letting her go the rest of the Sundays off as she's serving in her church Indonesian ministry. See how it goes for the next few months.

PVL, waaah what are your bills like? But no choice, for your kids who suffer from eczema, aircon is a necessity and of course, for little Gabby. 27deg at night is tolerable... but not in the daytime lei.

Catz,
So far not too bad. Total bill with water and gas etc was around $250 last month, with around the same usage. This month might be a bit more, duuno. But I think as long as it's not way past $300, I will still turn on a/c when I need it. It's a tradeoff between feeling comfortable and having a low bill. It's not like I leave it on when no one is there. At least 2 people are in the room when the a/c is on, so not really wasted lah.

hey where's everyone? Just paid another visit to the pd after a massive vomit by Timo this morning.. end up $215 of pocket :p

Finally it's raining!

Catz,
Wow, your PD is so expensive!!
I'm here. What's up with Timo?
Garbriel also vomitted 2x, once last night, and again this morning. I think it was just a burp for last night's incident and this morning's vomit was probably cos I held him over the toilet in a scrunched up way right after the feed. He vomitted into the toilet anyway, so it was easy to clean up.

*phew* Thank God for the rain, but I hope the thunder doesn't wake Gabriel up. I need this time to feed my 2 children!

PVL, nah it's the medicines that cost the earth. one bottle of Zaditen for Timo is $49 and the Singulair prescribed for Bethany was $20 alone!

Gabriel, aiyoh.. so how???

Catz,
Gabriel is fine lah. I think it was just a major spit-up. Thunder didn't bother him either.
Yes, some of the medicines can be really expensive. Bethany has asthma? What is Zaditen for?
Ben seems to have a runny nose today. Hope he's not coming down with something again.

PVL, think he's a real survivor!
I read your friend's blog, the one with 7 kids? OMG, the homebirthing story of #7 was quite an eye opener!

Bethany ah, no, she's on Singulair for her night cough. Zaditen is lung tonic for Timo :p Then the usual array of mucosolvan, bambec etc.. they cost around $12 per bottle.

PVL,
Yes, I'm also quite surprised at the number of remedial classes kids have to atted nowadays, and that's on top of their tonnes of homework!
I think I wouldn't be able to do homeschooling, much as I would like to.... just don't have the discipline!

Yes, the stress of monitoring the maid is gone now... I find that I sleep better at night!
Soph seemed to sleep better too - I find that when we had the maid, and when MIL was staying with us during my 1st tri, Soph seemed to keep waking up in the nights calling for "Mommy". Maybe she thinks that I would go away and simply leave her with the maid/MIL.

Catz,
Yes yes, I do feel quite guilty, but now just try to tell myself that it's just a misfit between us. My mum said if I ever do get another maid in future, I must not ever let her have my house number. But seriously, I am quite traumatised by these 3 weeks ;P Have also called AMOW to revive my weekly cleaning contract, but my favourite amah is not longer available

Hey, what happened to Timo? Hope it's not some stomach flu!

garfield,
Did you go to the zoo in the morning or afternoon last Sat?
Where to run indoors at the zoo?! It's mostly outdoors yeah?

Actually no need to feel compelled to bring maid out. I think they probably feel more relaxed being at home alone, even with the housework to do

huskie,

i went in the late morn after zz class and went back at 5... haha I run into those shops but some of them no air -con ... boo hoo... I also went to the food court inside zoo. zz was enjoying and lying down on the sofa too... ;p

catz, huskie, cos i thot she been at home for the whole wk liao so maybe she feel better outside too? but then it also true tat she get more rest at home. as zz will surely wan her to hug if she out w us.
she sound sore when she learn we go zoo last sat.
even though she always complain tat she tired ;p

my maid still requesting for transfer... anyway happy for us.. less anger from me.. but problem now is to look for a transfer maid..

totally cannot make it
1) test whether water is hot by putting th magmag besides her face when it's nite time (ai yoh, how oily is the face.
2) ask her how she knw whether the fish in the porridge is cooked.. told me that take a small pc out with spoon, then squeeze with finger to test.
3) yesterday morning, happened to wake up earlier... saw her eating biscuits.. but she put the biscuits at the sink side, where the detergent is nearby oso(without kitchen towel or plate)
4) cry 2x oredi since coming here for 3+ weeks
5) best is when agency talk to her 2nites ago, she say what if she lost control and beat the kid? speechless... agency must be sooo scared oso.. and that's why stressed on this point..

any maids for transfer????

hey girls,
Hee, guess what I found this morning in my kitchen cupboard?
A bowl of fermented oats!!! *YUCKS*

Last night i opened the cupboard to look for my baking tray to do roast chicken today, and smelled something funny... thought the maid had wiped the cupboards but did not leave them to dry properly before closing them, so I left them open thru the night to air them.
Hubby came back late last night and smelled the odour too, and thought his wife had made him blue cheese and then asked me this morning.
Told him I have no idea and no energy to make blue cheese, so we started to take the things out from the cupboard... and found a bowl of fermenting oats in a big soup pot!

I think the maid was probably eating it secretly but we probably came home at that time so she quickly hid it in the pot in the cupboard and forgot about it!

Dunno why she did that though... I have never stopped her from eating anything... in fact, have always told her to help herself to the biscuits/bread/oats if she is hungry *sigh*

smurfy,
Hee, think u better not take my maid even if you're desperate for a transfer maid :p

huskie
yours is as yucky as mine! eeeksss luckily its fermenting oats and not some sweet stuffs that could lead ants in.. and so thankfully u r fast enough to discover the blue cheese...

smurfy,
I think the oats are sweetened with honey, that's why can ferment so well... think bacteria needs sugar to thrive and ferment.
And yes, I've been noticing more ants... always asking her how come got so many "semut" (ants in bahasa), and the blur her never remember that she left the oats in there... just keep wiping the outside only.
Really have no idea what is going on through her mind!

huskie, yarrgggghs, I would've puked! So the oats are like at least 4-5 days fermented? Eeeeks!!!

smurfy, how come your maid suddenly wants tf?

sunsweet, I have opened a second batch for drugstore, u still want? And first teeth is back in stock!!

huskie, so funny!! hahah blue cheese... oops... paiseh i can't stop smiling on the comparison...

but it wise of u to send her back... cos u never know wat she thinking!

smurfy, yrs also v funny... but then v dangerous when she say those words of beating. no matter wat they do, the last thing i wan is to abuse my kids!

Catz,
5 tubes of First Teeth for me pleassssssssssse!!!!
3 without finger brush and 2 with

yeah, the oats shd be abt 4 to 5 days fermented or maybe up to a week *YUCKS*
Got lots of foamy stuff on surface and one side has turn sort of pinkish.... wonder if she was trying to make moonshine alcohol from it!
Hee, maybe make it like rice wine for my confinement? :p

garfield,
Yeah man.... I hate stinky blue cheese smell but hubby loves it... disgusting!

smurfy,
I agree... think better not have your maid at all.... crying is never a good sign.
And I am shocked she can say such thing as what if lose control and beat kid?
The squeezing of fish is as disgusting as my maid hee

huskie, I'd throw away the bowl and spoon for fear of permanent contamination. I know it's silly but I just wouldn't be able to eat off those without fear of dire food poisoning.

OK noted on the First Teeth... hmm, they might be all the fingerbrush set, OK with that? Alamak, it seems to have gone OOS again :p

catz
yah i wanted to post.. it's oos the first teeth toothpaste..

huskie/catz
kekeke i will oso throw the spoon and bowl away.. :p eeekss.. how ex can the spoon n bowl be.. :p..

catz
this maid all the while not stable one... quality of work very poor.. no common sense somemore... e.g. the other day, at the corridor, i tell her to enter the house first, as i am still holding onz something. then suai suai QY wanna go in the same time.. silly maid dun care.. both of them squeeze in thr the door together.. *see oredi oso angry*, all these kinda things r common sense right?

huskie dear
u r at home to catch ur old maid most of the time, but me not leh.. so imagine what other silly things behind my back?

Catz,
ok, if got stock, can be all with finger brushes if don't have the indiv ones.

Catz, smurfy,
No spoon in it, but yikes, my hubby washed the bowl and cos my bowls all look the same, I have no idea which one it is!

smurfy,
Very hard to catch maids one leh.... they're not stupid. Will act act in front of me, then when I bring Soph out to playground or to school, they'll still do funny things.
But the beating of kid thing is really scary - I cannot imagine leaving kid alone with maid, not even with her walking Soph to school, that why decided to do without maid in the end, cos she'd be of no value to me.

Catz,
ok, if got stock, can be all with finger brushes if don't have the indiv ones.

Catz, smurfy,
No spoon in it, but yikes, my hubby washed the bowl and cos my bowls all look the same, I have no idea which one it is!

smurfy,
Very hard to catch maids one leh.... they're not stupid. Will act act in front of me, then when I bring Soph out to playground or to school, they'll still do funny things.
But the beating of kid thing is really scary - I cannot imagine leaving kid alone with maid, not even with her walking Soph to school, that why decided to do without maid in the end, cos she'd be of no value to me.

huskie, OK hope it comes back in stock when I place orders on 1st May!

smurfy, actually I wouldn't bother to scold for such things, just tell nicely can already. Luckily my maid is auto.. she's usually 1 step ahead of me to wash/clean do whatever I intend to do. Haha. Don't envy me hor.. :p

huskie, erks.. well, if you can't tell the difference, then nevermind lah. :p :p :p

catz,
3 tubes of first teeth please

prefer without brush, but if that's the only choice, then i'll take the brush one as well.

Please let me know how much to transfer in total including the oragel.

re: first teeth

i wonder any of u order from iherb? first timer got $5 off. last time i bought from it b4. it comes w/o brushes lo since most of u dun wanna it. not sure if it oos there also.

chocbabe, OK, I'll see if it's in stock, will order only if it is.. in any case you have the Orajel, yah?

garfield, hehe, yah lor, unless the bowl is made of wedgewood then maybe I'd consider keeping it. Hehehehe.

iHerb shipping might be pricey if they not having promo.

catz,

if i not wrong, my promo compensate the shipping so in a way my shipping was free lor... but the first timer thing is alwasy there? not sure cos since i bought, I never go into it liao ;p

garfield, hmm, I think they go by address shipped to. Heard that you can't bypass their first time $5 offer if you're not a first-timer.

catz
tat pic of beth is soo well taken.. she got well defined looks
.. ehh where's timmy? cannot find leh?

whahhaa this morning i received a call frm hb... he told me call agency to change maid (coz all the while, he passive abt this issue)... reason why? he tot he smell shittttt in her/his pants.. backside never clean properly??.. so happy now.. no more guilt factor :D

wow catz, Beth is v photogenic!

my hb will roll eyes again when I tell him this yr NDP got my frens' kids posters. he will never believe me... he will def say ya ya my frens on poster too... ;p

re: iherb I rem not paying any shipping... maybe it was discount on the toothpaste plus $5 first timer. now they gave me many coupons to use. tat is provided someone use my coupon then I will get some discount again while the person will enjoy his $5 too.

huskie,
Eeeeee, fermenting oats! I would hate to find anything fermenting anywhere. I guess the recent hot weather has helped the fermentation along too. So funny, to put oats into the cupboard!
Reminds me of long ago as a student in NZ, at the end of the year when we cleared out our flat, we found a muffin full of maggots (contained in a paper bag) in the pantry cupboard. We remembered buying the muffin at the beginning of that year when we had just moved in!!!! I think the summer warmth had triggered the maggots to hatch.

garfield
err i oso not sure lar.. just that he say he smell something shitty... in hb's pants or maid's pants.. soo i think he feels hygiene is a real real issue now.. and with so much on hand issues with the maid.. he's finally making up the mind to send maid back (which is rare rare of a mr. nice guy).. no leh.. agency have not get a new one for me.

catz, beth looks great in the pic! Looking forward to see Timo's, am sure he will be great too. So how many of their pics are u going to blow up as wallpaper to decorate your house

huskie, yucks! your ex-maid is so gross. I hate them to do things secretly and then hide away.

maids - having them is so sian, not having also sian..its an endless issue. Sometimes I also cant stand seeing my maid but too bad i need her to help to take care of kids. Looking forward to maid-free times in future.

garfield, cherry, smurfy, thanks! The print ad is not out yet but yes, it's plastered all over our computer screens.

Timo's ah, KIV, dunno whether it will come out or not. But Beth is the main poster lah.

smurfy, they actually classify Beth as 'eurasian girl'.. ah well..
Eh, smelling shit is really not funny. So you getting rid of her immediately?

PVL, my shared-student flat was ultra disgusting. Unwashed pots and pans lying around for weeks. Really shudder when I remember how dirty my flatmates were.

Catz,
Beth is very photogenic! Can pose so spontaneously somemore!
You are really a xin ma now

cherry,
Yeah, I also don't like maids to do sneaky things behind my back - this time is oats, next time dunno will be what.

PVL,
Maggots are gross!
Thank God my case was just fermented oats and not maggots.
If it's maggots, I will surely call up agency and tell them about it... cos I wrote a testimonial for the maid, and wouldn't want to ruin another family if they hired her!

smurfy,
Maybe can check out with your agency about transfer maids and then interview them?
There are some transfer maids in my estate, and the employers are generally happy with them, cos they can interview and see the maids before they hire them.

Catz,
Yeah, forgot to say, your Beth is REALLY photogenic. Heh heh, now I can tell everyone I know the little girl on the poster!!

huskie,
maggots and rotting oats not much difference lah. Just that maybe the flies had not gotten to the oats yet cos they were in the cupboard. I suspect our muffin had had flies eggs on it already when we bought it from a fair. In winter it's really cold even in the flat, so the eggs were hibernating till the weather warmed up.

heh Pvl n huskie, thanks! She's getting more photogenic that's true. But that wasn't her nicest shot but I guess the mood was right else they wouldn't have taken the trouble to photoshop me out. Haha. So now just to work on her naughty personality. Sigh. She's been such a handful today. I've got such a bad tension headache from all the shouting n spanking I've had to do.

Maggots really gross me out man.. Can you imagine them in a wound? Shudder. I've seen a pic of a lady's breast infected with maggots. I'm not easily sickened but this one nearly made me puke.

PVL,
I would rate maggots as Level 5 max while rotting oats as Level 4! Maggots are afterall living things....
Luckily you guys didn't eat the muffin with flies eggs! So gross!

Catz,
Did they pass you any CDs of all your kids' shots?
If so, upload to FB and show us!

btw, Gina Ford mommies:
I checked back GF Contented Toddler Book and it says that by the time kids reach 3 yrs old, they would drop their naps totally if they sleep 12 hrs at night. Is that true for your kids, esp. Catz' Timo?

I realised that Soph is delaying her noon nap to 1pm now. She's totally not sleepy at 12noon, but will knock out by 1pm and sleep till 3pm.
And because of this, she sleeps slightly later in the night, which means I have less of my own time at night.

i need some advice. Because I latched on Ashley when I am at home in the morning and at night, Ashton often see me doing that on weekends. I will tell him that meimei is drinking milk. Then sometimes when he is in a cheeky mood, he will stretch out his hand to press on my breast when I am not latching meimei. I dun like this and will tell him he cannot do it. Then one day I saw that he tried to do the same to the maid and of course I stopped him. What should I do?? Garfield/PVL, any such problem for you?

huskie,
Hehehe, we did eat some muffins. The remaining muffin was just a leftover one
So I don't know if the other muffins also had the potential to become maggoty or not.

Hey, maggots are living things you can SEE. Rotting oats just have lots of living bacteria you CANNOT see. hehehehehe

Aiyah, Sarah has Fever again. Ben has a runny nose.

Sophie still naps at noon? Ben sleeps from around 2.30pm, for 2 hours. How late at night does she sleep? Ben sleeps at around 9+pm, til 7 am.

cherryale,
I think you just have to tell him firmly 'NO' you cannot do that. Ben doesn't do that, so I don't have the problem.