(2007/02) February

smurfy,

aiyoh.. dun worry lah.. i think QY can't pronounce a few extra word for his sentence.. he should mean, .. "forget to close fridge door, mummy will beat my hands"...

i think kids just act as parrot they dun really mean what they say..

Like Lil J, we told her "hold hands when we cross the road."

ok she will recite that everytime when we cross the road. however she might not want to hold our hands in actual fact.. until we remind her.."so where are your hands?" she'll just giggle..

see she doesn't mean it.

Re: Pacifier

Lil J still stuck with her pacifier and blankie to doze off to sleep..

after she doze off u can do anything to her 2 bao bei.. she's fine.. haha

she's starting CC hopefullly she'll slowly get to kick it.. keke

sunsweet, that's what I thot too, but ended up I saw a heightened use of pacifier when A was in CC, he would cry for it and instead of using it at night when going to slp, he would use it all the time. Teachers said he was feeling insecure. Finally I discussed with his class teacher and we decided to do it the painful way, dont bring pacifier to school at all. He would cry for it but when he searched his bag and found that there is really no pacifier, he would cry a bit then get distracted with other things going on in school. So when he got home we just hid the pacifier and that's it. So he went from using it all the time to zero

cherry,
how much u paid for it?

Is it under international warrenty?

And also the battery i wonder how lasting..

There's a spree going on.. i'm hesitating on Ameda dual or this freestlye

cherry,

initially when lil J started playgp she also wanted her pacifier + blankie when she is having her class.. she is those who will cry untill puke.. so we dare not let her cry too long..

but soon as she got used to the class she is fine without it..

its just something to comfort them.. i dun think i will go the hardway.. dun want to tramatise her too much.

sunsweet $477 for pump, $22 for shipping. no warranty. thot its rechargeable batteries.

ameda is cheaper and friends who use it also said its v gd.

Im having this really tight feeling where my c-sect line is... something like menstrual cramp since i woke up. It's not on and off... it's just there the whole day....

any cause for concern huh?? Can't seem to walk fast cos will be quite painful.

Sunsweet, I personally don't really like the Ameda pump. I find that it does not clear the breast well and it is a little painful but that's my personal experience. Having said that, using the pump for the first 6 weeks has establised my milk ss to be sufficient for tbf. Many mummies have used the pump and like it though.

Oh, and my maid has finally arrived! The agency that I went to sucks as this is the 5th maid (for some reason or other, the previous 4 did not manage to make it to Singapore). And I paid $499 for agency fees plus $2200 for the loan. On the positive note, my maid is so far so good (she has never worked as a domestic helper but she can manage whatever that is required of her easily). She's only been here for a few days anyway. Haha... can expect her to be quite a high class maid too as the reason she is here is because she wants to send her children to private school in Manila. And, my FIL commented that she dress very well for a domestic helper. duh.

As for getting MIL to accept a maid, I think they will accept if the maid is a help to them. My MIL was very much against it too (and we lived in their house) but in the past few days, my MIL is pleased that the maid is indeed a good help :))))

Q:how often you pump with freestyle? will it become loose after using sooo frequent? i am refering to the hold onto the breastS?

I pump 6 times a day, latched once a day. The handsfree will not become loose with repeated use cos its clipped onto the nursing bra and there is top and bottom clips. v secure.

Q: Power adapter -
no need to change, just need to use an international adapter

Q: how long you need to pump to empty breast and of how much BM you have pumped..
It takes about 15mins to empty the breast but I will continue for about 5 more mins to stimulate it. As to how much BM, my ss always more or less the same about 90ml-100ml. But if u are those with more milk, I think this pump really can clear the breasts v quickly.

I am pumping and typing at the same time now

forgot to add, I am v v happy with medela freestyle
I think medela quality is really very good, in fact I am thinking of switching from avent to use medela bottles.

jazzcy, glad yo u finally got your maid. Goodness, 5 attempts? Weird lor your agency.. sound sfishy!

cherryale, waaaah this Freestyle sounds like the perfect pump! I believe personally that Medela is the best brand for pumps and this Freestyle sounds really advanced! But no pump can convince me to have another kid.. haha.. milkie and I were just SMS'ing and I told her that if suay suay I kena accident (CHOY CHOY), I'll bottle feed.. hehe.

FM..haha.. thinking about the whole NB thing with 3 hourly feeds gives me shudders. Teehee.. milkie ah, busy lah.. YR very laku with her boyfriends

Nooo thanks. 2 is enough for me. No maid for me! :p Next hurdle is to potty train Bethany to be ready for N1 next year..keke.. that's all. Sleep training and weaning all done.. now looking forward to shaking legs

cherry, medela freestyle really gd??? How much did you pay for it? Now I having 2nd thot of weaning bb off so soon liao. So thot of getting one elec dual pump to use once I start work.

Catz, personally I also think 2 is enuf leh. My #3 super sticky and diff to handle. Stimes I dun even have time to go toilet.

Sunsweet, how's Lil J's cc? I seriously thinking of sending Sher to cc. Can I have the cc name again? My sil recommend me Mulberry cc but I find it abit too ex leh.

catz, enjoy blissful time

gig, freestyle is good cos very lightweight and portable, the handsfree feature is also v useful esp when back at office. Can work and pump at the same time. I paid $477 for the pump and $22.99 for the shipping so total is $500.

Maybe its a good idea to send Sher to cc so that u have more time, seriously no joke to have a 2YO and a baby at home. My A has been at home cos he is sick and he will be at home this entire week too cos FIL overseas no one to pick him up and send him back. It is a nightmare when he rams things around. Maybe that's why I fell ill

gd morning to all.....

yeah, Gig, like I sugg to u las time also... if the cc fees are affordable, then u can send Sher there... opt for full day cos can hv $300 subsidy. bt if u think it's too long for full day & v ke lian, maybe by noon time bring him back. Afterall the main thing is more costs subsidised...

Jazzcy - congrats to having a gd helper. Gd one really can saves u alot of headaches... wow 4x unsuccessful.... bt then this doesn't lie on agt's fault leh... for me, the one I had was so-called a 3rd one.. cos 1st one MIA after i listed to her my T&C, then 2nd one say wanna cme yet *ding ding ding* w/ hb, end up found out +ve for preg, so can't come. Tis one I had was my gf's helper's neighbour whom she's v close w/, so she recm her to me lor.

I was pretty skeptical when I phone-intv her cos she ans v well, machiam frm the script... bt so far, 1mth+ she's still performing.. so I guess my worries were uncalled for lah..

ah ger, i only pay for necc. like food n some phone bill. but her int calls n those face care n special shampoo, she pay herself lo.

pvl, all the best. u really v expert! with new born in same house alone, u still can train Ben! I still waiting for the rgt time for zz.

Garfied.... I m just wondering... cos I bought for her her shampoo + conditioner & also her body soap. Then arh, her 'gd'fren' stuff - she pays her own right?

My coll pays for her shampoo & body wash only, the rest all on the helper's expense.

errr i think she pays everything herself?? but everytime we go overseas.. we bring back those complimentary hotel toiletries lor.. and she is still using the 1st bottle of self bought shampoo.. :p phone cards she oso pays herself? <- all these r traditions brought down from her previous employment lor.. so i just continued and act blur lor kekeke... so counting back.. though on surface, she seems to be getting alot.. but end of the day, i guess it's the same as u girls? onli issue is that she eats from the same loaf of bread with us... and my high class hb onli eats gardenia wholemeal or those banana and walnuts or rasins.. so bread is a bomb to us.. coz she can easily finish have loaf on one day?

PVL, you're so brave.. got a wee little guy to take care of and you can think about potty training! Hehe.. THe thought of puddles just drives me berserk!

Ah ger, I pay for the shampoo, soap, colgate, tooth brush, sanitary pads. Any other thing, she will buy on her own when she goes shopping once every quarter.

Catz,
Yeah, but I think he's so big already, he should be out of diapers! I don't know if I can go through with this or not. hehehe. He already peed once in in his training pants. Fortunately, it was waterproof, so only a few drops got out. AND, I'm doing a load of laundry later

Hey ladies..

Been busy too. Juggling course work, housework and taking care of kiddo.

Giggler..Can understand..I think having 3 is a big difference from having 2. My fren also says..she has 4! Even with a maid, its tough..some more her 1st two are twin boys!

PVL..I think u can try slowly lah..But dont be too tough on him or yourself..think Ben will soon be off..most todds can hold their bladders 2-3 hours easily..so I think its easier to toilet train them now.
Y is off diapers at home BUT he still pees some puddles everyday n occassionally poos on the floor haha..cos by the time he tells me he jus can't hold anymore.
But Im quite used to it..jus mop twice and dump soiled pants into pail with water mixed with some detergent..then wash it up at nite.

smurfy - paiseh, tat day din get to c u..... my monster refused to slp till close to 1pm! By the time he woke up was 3+ liao... so we rushed to L's hse.

Cherry - I paid for all u mentioned except for sanitary pads.... I think tat one she shld b paying lah... cos personal stuff.... i can't b paying for her menses stuff also right? I paid for the call card bt I only allow her to call once a mth. i bought an EZ-link card for her sometime back, bt was bcos she was out w/ me &amp; A taking lrt/ mrt/ bus. Bt I kept it, till now, cos she doesn't need it anyway...

tat day A also didn't tell my helper he wanna pee. end up wet the flr.. lazy boy!

Gig,

Lil J 1st day of CC was ok.. cos parent accompanied mah..

till the day she got to be alone.. then we know how she fairs..

so far i only let her alone with the teachers during the colouring time till lunch.. abt 30 mins..

You were asking her school details:

Presbyterian Community Services
Blk 452 Jurong West St 42, #01-170
Singapore 640452

i wanna complain here again...

i think i kena played out by the maid... initially when we asked her whether wanna renew or not.. she happily said yes and say she wanna a lump sum in exchange of 2 weeks of homeleave... a few days later, she said her family wants her to go home for home leave.. and she said she is going back in apr.. last nite she told me she dun wanna extend liao... coz her son is getting rebellious on knowing she want to continue working in sg.. darnz... i felt that i am being taken for a ride now...on purpose.. funny thing even my hb felt exactly the same way (which is very usual of him)... now i am back in search of one in 1mths time..

smurfy, then u better plan ahead b4 yr maid play u out. actually u can in fact send her back after contract ends liao since she keeps saying diff things.

i have spoken to mine n she seem to wan to extend 2 more yrs. so at least settle my worries. but then 2 wks home leave is a must n then i had to plan who to take care of kids. most likely i will take leave but i can't take 2 wks lor. then my hb... hiaz... u all know.

ah ger, i dun pay for her toiletries too, like smurfy. cos last time she already buying them herself.

cherry - nope, she's nt allowed to go out..... bt when we go out, we will usually bring her along. Like over the wkend, we went Chinatown to buy the toiletries, so I told her, usually I will buy my stuff tare &amp; for over a fw mths stock. So she can buy &amp; stock at hme now.... So she bought lor.. then i told her, we will pay on her behalf first, go hme then we will indicate on the expense sht lor. She had some CNY $$ w/ me mah.. yet to bank in, cos hasn't met the min deposit yet. So will deduct frm there lor.

Anyway tat time I had 1 brand new pack nt used after I popped A. Cos I dun use pads... v mafan &amp; I will get v bluey if I ever use tat on my gd-fren days.... So i told her tat pk can gv her.

Smurfy, sometimes they can b v indecisive one... so where r u looking at? maybe u can try getting one w/o experience yet hv children. Cheaper in a way, rather like wat u've paid ur current one - $400????

Catz, yes I am glad that this maid is good. Really hope she continues this way. I also thought the agency's reasons sound fishy but anyway, I am glad that all is ok for now...

Ah ger, I buy everything that the maid uses for her except her calling card (which I don't intend to buy for her). The agency told me to let her write instead of call home in the initial months as otherwise, she could miss home even more badly. I know my maid will definitely miss her 2 children very much and I do feel bad that she has not called home. Is your maid single or married? I am paying her $350 without off day and after 6 months, she gets one day off a month. Is that the same for your maid?

By the way, do you all eat your meals together with the maid? My hb and me are totally fine that everyone eats together when baby is not crying but my brother scoffs at the idea that I allow the maid to eat with us. what is the practice in your homes?

cherryale, the freestyle pump sounds really good. Now, i am a little regreful to buy the Ameda but anyway, I wouldn't have a 3rd baby so I guessed I will just stick to this pump...

ah ger, u dun use pads? i confused. anyway, I also haven't use pads till now... ;p haha but then i bf

my maid already have $ n somemore she allowed off-days so tat explains y i never need to help her buy. she buy stuff mostly on her off-days.

jazzcy, when she first came, I let her call hme to bao ping an.... I've told her at the beginning tat I will try to let her call hme once a mth... Quite ke lian nt to talk to her family members leh... Bt I told her she has to hold her emotions when she call back, or else it will affect her work esp she's taking care of A. She promised me she will nt cry... I hv the say when she can call back, &amp; I limit her to talk betwn 10 - 15mins... Which was y i wan to b the one to buy the card, so tat she will nt use tat against me tat I m forbidding her to do something which she paid w/ her own $$. :p

Letters, will lah, slowly bah.... bt for the initial period, I will let her call first lor. Buy call cards frm those ah beng shops, u get better value. like 8.50 for 10 value. She def will miss home. Depending on how adaptable she is. Some will overcome the homesick v fast, bt some will take awhile. Tats y @ the initial period, we always talk to her. She told me to gv her more hsework, so tat she will nt hv so much time to think abt hme. ha ha ha... tats y she asked to cook lor. :p

My helper is a single mum. Her gal is only 9mths old.. so I can understand her feelings... It's bcos of earning more $$ for her gal, tats y she decided to cme to work as a housekeeper.

Mine is 330 + 20. If she gets no off will then b 350. Likewise if w/ off then will b 330. Bt she's told me verbally tat she prob will nt want an off-day. Cos we always pyscho her, saying go out spend $$, everything so exp.. hw to save $$ for her child? LOL... + we go out we also usually will bring her along, we shop she also can window shop while jagaring A, so y still want off day? :p

Yes, we eat 2gether. B it at our hse, mum hse or PIL hse. &amp; we dun make her sit behind &amp; eat alone. Unless she is the first to eat (so tat I can enjoy my meal slowly), then I will scoop up some for her to eat frm tat separated bowl. If she's the last fw to eat, then she will just sit tare &amp; eat w/ whoever still eating. My PILs &amp; mum are fine w/ tat.

Anyway, nwadays our dining table is more for display only. LOL... cos we all eat in the kitchen &amp; we stand &amp; eat... easier &amp; faster mah... @ 1st she took a stool out, ask me sit, I said nvm lah.. I stand &amp; eat is easier.. so I told her she can sit.

Even when we go out, we eat 2gether, but I've asked her to eat faster so tat she can help to jagar. If nt, if she eats the same pace as us, &amp; A sits beside me, then might as well call me a maid instead, while my maid enjoys her feast.

I know some ppl will draw a v clear line. Bt we r fine w/ most of the things... &amp; she can also eat anything &amp; everything on the table, unless we specify. During CNY, when we had steamboat, I also gave her scallops, roast goose, roast pork, &amp; anything I can find frm the pot.

I've even seen cases like they all go out, &amp; while they are enjoying the food they hv, the maid wil b running ard w/ the kids. When u ask them, they say they already tapao for the maid earlier already. For me, if I can afford, everybody will get to eat together. If nt the most we hv simple &amp; cheaper meal. We've bn to Sizzler &amp; she also get to hv a main course + salad bar. If u feel the pinch, then maybe u can share your main w/ her. Or maybe when you order for your child, take some for her cos kids can't really eat much also. Afterall, I think maids deserve to b treated like a human.

There was once when my mum even told me off y we need to discriminate her to sit on the flr, whether if we r on/ nt on the sofa? I told my mum, it's respect. Hw can it b employers sit on the flr &amp; she sit on sofa???????

It's just diff practice frm diff families... Jazzcy, I guess it really depends on hw u see it. You can listen to feedback and suggestions, but ultimately, u &amp; ur hb shld b the one to decide, nt others decide for you. usually I pluck watever I think is logical, rather than wats the common practice.

I've stressed to my parents, we can treat her nice but cannot overboard. Can chit chat bt no showing of internet stuff to her. There was once I was watching some video clips on net, A was w/ me, &amp; she was w/ A in the rm. She watched bt I was ok, cos I did not on it deliberately for her. My sis once logged into Friendster &amp; searched for her, got a scolding frm me. I said I dun want her to think she can do all the same things as us.

U c the difference?

Garfield, there such thing as jap bread &amp; French loaves mah... ha ha ha...

jazzzy

eating together on the same table depends on individual families.. noticed that the rich dun usually do that... as it is basically family bonding/talking time and no maids shld interfere or be part of the family.. i guess my practice is something similar to ah-ger... just that mine is way too highclass lor.. eg.. eat on the same table.. she go dish out drumstick first while all of us is waiting to give to eldery to eat..and choosing all the good foods to eat first..

i think best thing is observe ur maid first and see which category she belongs to lor.. some r simple humble.. which is good.. some r really high class which will climb over ur head if u r too nice to her.

maybe i've learnt from my lesson... if u r nice to a high class maid, they tend to bully u.. :x.. but if u r really lucky.. then u got a good n humble one..

ah-ger
:p i reached abt 12pm n i went off ard 2pm+.. .. QY still happily entertaining himself in the house, but i wanna go home n rest instead.. very lazy n jialat mummy :p

wah smurfy - urs arh, v auto leh.. take drumstick? Mine is - I hv to kip asking her to take more food. cos 1) she scared fat, 2) she dare nt take too much, scared we nt enuff. I've always asked her to eat first b4 we cme back, so tat we dun hv to worry greedy A cmes running to us for food, &amp; we can eat in peace. Bt she always wait for us to come back 1st &amp; we eat together. She said she's nt hungry yet, so ok lor, suit her likes...

yes, initially must hv reserves. Cannot b too nice also. Cos too nice &amp; if nx time u gv diff treatment, she will wonder hw cme nwadays diff liao. U get wat I mean? Slowly, u c, if she's worth u treating her nice, then by all means. Always must let her know, u can b v nice to her, bt if things go wrong, u will also tell her off. I've nv screamed at her at all, bt i've times when I wasn't v happy, I will tell her wat were they, &amp; frm there hopefully she'll learn.

I wouldn't say I m 100% pro &amp; gd being an employer, bt @ least so far she's still ok. Maybe bcos I m v chatty also lah, hence she didn't feel bored at all...

Smurfy - L told me, QY also sticky glue to u initially? A too! aiyoh, the moment I went in, he asked me to go hme. *faint* hb &amp; maid already eaten &amp; I was still trying to pacify him. Everybody tried bt failed. Until when my gf came w/ her son, then I got the rock off my burden! ha ha ha....

ah ger, haha v funny... u ah

jazzcy, i also sometimes eat together w maid. it ok n fine w me la. it not as if they r servant in olden times. i always treated them as helpers. so to say they helpers, i also dun let them be overboard. some things which i find not good i will let her know.

For meal time, if we outside now, normally me n hb eat first while she tend to the kids. sometimes she feed them first. after I m done, I will take over kids n she go n order her food herself. last time, i used to order food for her but not anymore. cos firstly her food gets cold n it be v horrible to eat by the time she has the time. secondly she takes things for granted. I feel i become the maid having to serve her. so i just give her $ n she order any food she desire.

i dun bring her to buffet cos she really eat so little tat u wanna cry... haha but for those restaurants she still get to eat main meal but soemtimes she share w zz. she also hugh class 1. sometimes i treat her eat restaurant, she still can complain food not nice!

smurfy, dish out drumstick??!! extreme man. mine never though she high class too. diff from yrs. mine eats v little but tongue v choosy. not all thinsg she likes. tat is y i let her buy her own food with limited $. for me, if i hungry, anything also can but she ah, can say not nice ley... can faint.

ah ger, A also sticky? zz also. even when lift inside got ple, he will def open up his arms n say HUG.

garfield,

I will buy for her to eat first.... so the moment the plate lands on the table, she has to start to eat. Then I will go &amp; walk ard &amp; c wat I wanna order. By the time I come back, I sit down, she is almost done. I dun wanna b restricted tat someone behind me is nt eating yet, &amp; I need to hurry for her. Neither do I wanna starve her, cos if I m hungry, she is surely hungry also. So I rather she eats faster &amp; I eat after tat.

Usually at food court, I will buy hers, hb will buy his own. By the time I m back w/ A (A will follow whoever is buying food cos he also wanna buy!!!), hb &amp; she are already 7788.. bt hb will purposely eat slower than her, so tat he wun hv to look after A w/ her.

By the time she's done, she's up &amp; running w/ A or watching A eat, we both can eat in peace. tats provided tat A is nt eating or hv finished eating.

garfield, everybody says he's liam ti ti lor... wat do u think?

ha ha ha, A says "ca ca..." means carry. He doesn't know hw to say carry in full.. maybe he doesn't know hw to twist his tongue.

Mine - she dare nt say food nt nice, unless we ask her. So far she finished all the food we buy for her... bt she knows which is nice or nt nice. we bought archa for her, then I'll ask her, PIL buy one nicer or this one? she said PIL buy one nicer, bt still she will finish them... I guess she's bn taught nt to waste food bah.

ah ger, mine is diff. my hb always will wan to order his food first n eat. n i had to follow him. of cos, i be also hungry lor. i also feel cannot leave the BIG child alone too so at least eat meals together w him lo.

once i finish, i will then let my maid go n order. zz doesn't follow so it ok. there few times she dunno is act kelian or wat carry zz to order food. tat was when zz still small. I told her not to. really dangerous if ple knock onto him if hot soups or watever.

this way, i also eaten so at least I have the mood to tend to my kids. haha my hb will either go walk walk or order soem more food. rarely, he also see the kids 1... tat is y having my maid really helps...

my helper v lucky lor... she came here, 1wk only &amp; it's CNY liao, &amp; she gets to recv alot of ang paos.

Then durign CNY, she gets to eat everywhere she went. My uncle cooked sharks fins &amp; she also ate. She's nv eaten tat b4 back in Phil.

My FIL even wanted to offer her abalone, bt I said no, cos abalone v limited, shld b w/in the family members to eat first. Skali others dun get to eat while she has leh? So she's nv eaten tat lor....

Then over the wkend we went Flyer, we also brought her along, let her experience the flight.

V hao ming lor...

anyway I told her, she better pray real hard tat hb can strike BIG BIG lottery someday, then we will all go hols incl her. bt I told her, must b realy big then hv hor... small one nt even enuff to cover our fares.

hb always like to order for me, bt I said I wan to order on my own....

nwadays A wanna follow us take watever we hv. So most of the time, I will gv him a disposable sauce plate w/ a drip of soya sauce. Then he will also want to hold one set of cutlery. I will hv to persuade him to cme dwn &amp; walk by himself, then as I walk, I will lead him back to our seat lor.

Those stallholders, c him holding the sauce plate &amp; cutlery, dunno to laugh or to wonder, hw cme just a drip of sauce on the plate?

ahger/garfield
my maid never eats in foodcourt before!!!!!!!!!!... coz me n hb like good food... and in rest.. she will eat first.. i feed QY.. :/.. me oso another maid haiz... my one eats up half a loaf of gardenia banana wholemeal bread on sat.. and sun she dare to tell hb her stomach not feeling well .. (of coz lar.. wholemeal bread sooo filling, and u eat sooo much, soooo fast.. wat to expect?)... think next maid, i just buy one big loaf of enriched white housebrand bread for her kekekkee..

mine CNY reunion dinner. in HUA Ting.. she got the same set of dinner with us... then other reunion dinner.. peng cai etc.. she gets her fair share of abalone... soups, if we order $20 per bowl, she oso gets that.. #@%@#%@%#

really felt like being taken for a ride now..