(2007/02) February

chocbabe, i thot ryan went to the school since july? Everyday i drive past loyang point, i will look around to see whether can spot ryan or not. Haha... Okok, we shall visit Kinderland after my hubby's trip.

nope he only starting this friday... they are quite strict about age... ruling by MCYS i think...

so Ah Xi can only go after this 18th month Bday.

me took MC today... the irony is I took MC to finish my work.....

tons of work to do, marking n setting test/exam papers, uurrgghh!

chocbabe... it's ok... ah-xi will turn 18th month on 28 August, which is pretty soon. Hope we will like the environment and teachers as much as u do, as it is very near to my aunt's place.

Btw, thanks to Catz, i have a 25% discount code on ON/Gap/Banana Republic too valid for 1-3 August. Dun think myself have much to order. So if any of u have anything to order, let me know ya...

jelly....

keep a slot for me!!! i will scan through items and send you the order...oh yah..paiseh..i haven tt the funds..will do so in a while...

recieved the berms yesterdae thanks!!

jelly

i can understand the kind of "xin luan" u r having..me too undecisive at times. Maybe we tend to think too much for others and forgot abt ourselves at times.

End of the day, we are indispensible in a co.

i have an interview tmr for post of part time accountant..i suppose it is a small co..wonder how much pay shld i ask for? do u know wats the market rate for PT acct?

stella/jelly,
ask u ah, which type of accountant work the least n paid the most ah?? haha... dun want to end up like what my lecturers told us about auditors going home at 3-4am every night...

me thinking of either specialising in tax or management accountant

stella,

Good luck for ur interview 2m. U are looking for PT basis? For PT accountant shd be around S$1k-1.2k bah for smaller firm, depends on ur area of responsibility.

chocbabe,

I supposed the discount code is valid for all items as it did not mention only for regular price items.

smurfy/babe... ok, will wait for u!

jelly

actually to be frank, i am tired of a/cs, but no choice, got to think of bread and butter issues. I dun mind going to PT basis, open to all options.

Chocbabe,

Err, seldom come across work least paid most job in accts, even operational work is busy.

chocbabe,

I been an auditor before for 4.5 years (in small and big 4). Ya, the hours are crazy! Most of the time i only got to leave office after 10pm. And i remember there was once the day b4 cny eve, i wanted to rush home for cny reunion dinner, so the day before, i worked till 5am then only went home packed my stuff and went back to my parents' house. Very shack... But then there are fun time of working wif a group of ppl of ur age, tea break, dinner etc. Fun! But then i was young then, so have the energy to work at such hours. Dun think i can do it again now.

U may want to venture into investment banking or corporate finance. But all will be very xiong though financial wise is quite rewarding...

jelly,
well, i'm already halfway through my ACCA, so dun wanna change into banking at the moment... these requires a different sort of qualifications rite?

i was thinking cos not getting any younger and dun have the energy like last time so better find out and be sure. Maybe not earn alot but i guess with young kids it's better to have more family time.

gig, ok.... Hope the stuff won't get OOS when i place order on Friday.

chocbabe, i think if u got take a few subjects related to banking and finance in ur ACCA papers, the banks will consider u too...

This list needs to be updated?

preggie or gradulated mummies
1) rachel (gave birth)
2) Starlite (gave birth)
3) Garfield (EDD: July)
4) Katie (EDD: 26 Aug)
5) milkshake (EDD: Nov)
6) pekochan (EDD: 7 Dec)
7) mummy_zeen (EDD: Dec)
8) jazzcy (EDD: Dec)
9) cherryale (EDD: 15 Jan 09)
10) winnie (EDD: 21 Jan 09)
11) jelly (EDD: 24 Jan 09)
12) Giggler
13) PVL (EDD: 31ST Jan 09)
14) Longan__almond

not preggie mummies
1. smurfy
2. chocobabe
3. ah-ger
4. catz
5. fat babe
6. stella
7. charis
8. huskie
9. graceofgod
10. Sunsweet

Had a busy weekend..I had a formal reunion in Ngee Ann poly..met up with old classmates..my ex-classmate offered me a part-time job to teach in a school in Siglap..plus I can put Yael there at a good discount, with a good salary..BUT I'm so half-hearted..my hb not so keen for me to do it too. I dont want to put Yael in school so early..But I got alternative..I found a nanny to help me babysit Yael if Im keen to work..
BUT again so so half-hearted..So im very likely to give it a big miss..sigh..

Jelly..Garfield already popped remember?! Haha.

Catz..Poor Timo..do take care..keeping him in our thoughts n prayer.

charis

u did dip in early childhood at ngee ann poly?

actually i came across a internship prog by pats sch hse, but need to have few yrs bond. Considering a career switch, but dont dare to take the bold step

Stella..Yes at NP.
Pat's schoolhouse is good place to work in cos its an MNC now..Plus their work hours are more "family friendly". So I guess you can consider if u looking at something with no OT etc..
But doing a dip can be quite tough cos got lots of assignments n attachment.
Most childcare centres will bond the staff if they sponsor yr studies.

hey ladies hehe.. i still intend to spree for the 25% off.. can do it while Timo sleeps. He's just fallen asleep... Last night was really bad. He had a high fever and went all delirious, crying and trying to pull off his drip. Very upsetting.. I barely slept 'cos he kept entangling his drip and setting off the alarm.. think I must've untangled him about 10 times throughout the night, not to mention the hourly checking of temperature :p Very shack wor. Dunno if can discharge tomorrow, seems unlikely at this point in time. My poor poor Beth.. must be wondering why she suddenly become 'orphan'. But it's super infectious... Dr Ong said no Bethany.

Catz,
you poor thing... hang in there ok? Will be praying for you and your family.

Stella,
I thought you just started work somewhere new? Not very happy there?

Jelly/PVL/ Cherry,
How are you ladies? I'm still quite shitty leh
Very frustrated and angry with my body for "letting me down". Keep trying to tell myself to stay positive cause I know all these negative feelings can't be good for the baby but just can't help getting depressed. Every night I pray I will wake up the next day feeling all good again but am starting to think all these are never going to go away. I'll be really grateful if I can just have 1 days break from all these lousy symtoms to finally enjoy my pregnancy

Jelly,
just saw your message to me. (Sorry, haven't been in here the last few days). Yes, yes, can you please PM me the contact of the CL? Kam sia!

Huskie,
no news = good news right? :D
Btw, added you to my FB the other day. Goodness! You look soooooo young! And I expecting those very gu niang, girly, girly type (cos you cook and sew mah) but you look more like the hip and trendy type leh :D

PVL, Milky,
I added you girls too! PVL I've met in person lor so no surprises there. Milky too looked exactly like I expected - fair fair tai tai. Hehehe
Anyway, you look like YR (or rather YR looks a lot like you) so again no surprises there :p

Smurfy & Gig,

The MMI I’m sending Lil J to is the center not the kindergarten.

It’s near my house at Jurong West St. 52 Blk 519.

It’s fully indoor activities.. I feel its similar to GUG in a way.. Anyway I’ll bring Lil for her 1st class on the 5th Aug to give more comments.

Catz, aiyo... Pity you and timo and beth leh... Hang in there... Will pray for Timo's speedy recovery.

Winnie, how many weeks are you now? How come keep having negative thots? Your MS is very bad?

Sunsweet, oh, I ever brought Vane there for weekend class.

Thanks, ladies... this has been a very trying time for all.. esp seeing him in so much pain. Actually logged in to tell you ladies to please make sure you buy hospitalisation insurance. Timo has Healthshield Gold and Pink of Health from AIA which will cover his hospitalisation expenses. If just Healthshield alone, you will hv to cough up for the first $3k deductible. But POH will cover for us.. when I was doing admission, the poor guy next to me was in a bad state 'cos his infant was admitted to NICU, need to put deposit of $8k for 3 days stay and he didn't hv enough money and credit limit to do so. So he had to make credit card instalment payments. So jialat. So pls pls make sure you are covered by insurance. As it is, I believe 3 day stay can easily come up to $3k liao.

Catz... yes yes, hospitalisation insurance is essential for everyone in sg since the medical fees are so high! I learned that when i admitted to hospital for operation for my appendicitis. Luckily i have bot medical insurance wif Great Eastern before so can fully claimed back the amount paid. For ah-xi, i bot sufficient medical insurance wif Great Eastern too to ensure she will be well covered even in private hospital.

Giggler,
I've just started on week 15. Yah, horrible MS. I know all of you will balk at me for saying this... but there were moments where I even contemplated ab**tion cause I really just can't tahan. Vary bad of me hor? Feel very guilty having had such thoughts too... hope my baby won't be very insecure next time
When I was pregnant with Ethan, I had to work 12 hours a day and still had to do some light housework on weekends leh. Now I'm a SAHM and I've got a maid to help out and yet I'm feeling so crappy everyday... Really don't understand.

Jelly,
got your PM. Thanks!
Just saw your earlier posts... aiyoh, you better be more careful hor. Must remember the little one inside is going to be as wonderful as little YX soon. Must protect him/her too mah.

charis n stella
question: r ur passion in childhood education or issit just our toddlers are in this age range, so it gets u excited to be in this pathway? do u think u have the patience to deal with young kids, besides ur own?

dot dot dot, funny thing this winnie always pop in whenever there's news of pregnancies one.

Smurfy,
yah, I got pregnancy radar installed mah.
Got new pregnancy announcement? Who, who? My guesses: (1) Smurfy (2) Huskie (3) chocbabe.

Sunsweet,
you got chance boh? :p

sunsweet
u wait a few more days hoR, then i go test again n let u know? :D...

though i did a few tests oredi but all shows very faint and almost non-existant positive line.

R u oso?????????????????

I'm still waiting for babydust to fall on me :p

haha ... maybe my question posted to smurfy sounded like as if i'm expecting hahah.. sorry :p

Smurfy,
I think you strike already!!! Congratulate you first ok? Come, come, bathe you in more baby dust to make the positive line more obvious

smurfy

u got chance leh, faint positive high chance

regarding the early childhood passion, i am sure charis has , cos she did the course b4 she had yael. For me, i am actually quite unsure. I know my ultimate goal is social service and early childhood education knowledge can be an asset in social service. I am more interested in helping under priviledged kids rather than kids who are already well provided and wat their parents want is to prepare them for a rat race. Thats y i am pondering long and hard whether to apply for internship.

If there is internship by voluntorary welfare organisation or govt(mcys) i surely join w/o hesistation

winnie
wei, wei, wei, how come ur timing always sooo good one??? seldom chat online, but once inside, sure got some news ...

stella/sunsweet/jas
i oso think i strike oredi lar, but i am crazily paranoid, and i bought 2 more kits during lunchie.. must test until i see a big fat positive line then i happy.. then now suai suai got that thick yellowish discharge (or even pinkish), so scared..

Catz, POH is really gd, I got for my family too.

Winnie, I got very bad pre-natal depression when I preg with Sherwin. I got very tired cos Vane became very sticky and cranky then. Maybe you shd take up some light exercise to relax yourself? Take care leh.

Smurfy, CONGRATS!!!

milkie i oso like to buy hello kitty stuff..been tinking how good it will be if i have a gal so i can have perfect reason to buy!.. hee..
did u try the hello kitty shop in Chinatown Point? think i saw that shop sells straw water bottles suitable for young kids..

faint line means strike liaoz la! it's faint coz v early stage lo... n is possible to have spotting or even menses..
make appt wif ur gyn.. quick!

milkie,

Taka having toy fair have water bottles for sale.. i'm going over to get 2 for lil J.. i think i saw the Power puff gals ones at $2/= only..
other characters are like $5/=

Wow, so many posts today?

Catz,
Sorry to hear about Timo. Will keep him and your family in my prayers. Remember to take care of yourself and pop more vits during this trying period!

Winnie,
Woah, no news from me lah. I'm having my period now, so nothing

Eh, I am one of the senior citizens of this thread, how can be young and hip? And the lines cannot be seen from photos!

Charis,
Would it be a good idea to have Yael in the same school where you're teaching?
Cos I read somewhere that this kid always gets bullied cos other kids thinks he gets special treatment as his parents are teachers in the school. In reality, he got no special treatment ffrom his parents, and gets bullied more by other kids, so it's really a sad situation for him.
Maybe toddlers at 2 yrs old won't do this, but I think older kids at kindie may?

smurfy,
Congrats!!!

smurfy,
Easier said than done. Sometimes Sarah can be really helpful, but usually I have to expend a lot of energy nagging at her and disciplining her when she fails to obey. She's in her terrible 4's. Hehehehe.
Some congratulations are due??? CONGRATS in advance!

Babydust to Huskie and Sunsweet

milkshake,
Re: rearrangement of stuff - no leh. My PT helper is quite good. She knows where everything belongs. Just that sometimes the mop is hung on the wrong hook in the bathroom (There are 3 hooks there). But that's a minor issue. My PT helper does not open my wardrobes or my kitchen cabinets. She does floors, dusting of furniture, grills, cleaning of windows, kitchen walls and bathrooms and ironing of my husband's workshirts, pants and any other things if she has extra time. My place is quite big (1400sq ft) so there's enough for her to do in 4 hours. She does not do the laundry or tidying up of our personal stuff or any cooking-related work
. My cleaner is not wonderfully clean either, but OK lah. And she's really obliging and nice, so I don't mind. She's already helping me so much. I feel it's my work actually, and she's just helping me.

Aiyoh, you scared of DEAD baby cockroach? LOL!! I used to dissect live sedated cockroaches caught from the sewer manhole. *squishy*

Charis,
Since we came back from the US with Sarah, I have had several offers for part time teaching in schools cos they really needed help. Tempting as they were, I did not take them up because I felt that it would compromise on my commitment and desire to care for Sarah, my hb and the household. Some people even begged me to help but I said 'no'. I have not regretted my decision. I'm not too sure about the time commitment required for your job though, so maybe it's more OK for you.

Winnie,
Yes, I'm not enjoying this pregnancy very much either. Already begun 2nd trimester and wondering if this fatigue and digestive discomforts will ever go away.
Your MS sounds really really terrible. Every pregnancy is different, so I keep telling myself. It will pass in time lah. Keep thinking positive. It's just a few more months (yeah right!)

smurfy, i thought of changing my part time maid too. But some of my friends tell me to try to tell the maid what to do in future instead of letting her have full leeway. I'll try next week when she comes again and see if there is improvement.

keke, ya maybe the pd thought most parents would get kan cheong about the kids not talking....but oh well, hub and i not most parents..hee hee I would really love to have YR be able to speak in many languages then she can communicate with both our parents.

jellyyyy, no lah..i don't go pedi everyweek but i try to go every 2 or 3 weeks cos relaxing mah. Plus sometimes friends jio me different times then i don't mind going lah...PLUS my feet very horrible so need to be scrapped as often as possible. Eh, YR's wardrobe space also getting tight and i'm trying to cut down on buying but then sometimes really when see some of the nice dresses or clothing, u just feel like buying mah. I suspect u pending shopping now cos u will go mad shoppping when u find out the baby #2's gender. :p :p

Giggs, i also wish YR can understand or speak some dialect. but it will be harder for us to teach cos both hub and i do not speak any dialects. i personally speak english, bahasa and chinese to YR. Hub speaks english, korean and spanish to her. what dialects have u taught your kiddos??

jelly/catz, i also got stuff to order from old navy/gap.....who am i supposed to order from?????????????????????? *blur*

winnie, i've added u in the facebook already. BTW, u seriously have some preggers radar is it? Only come in to forum when pple are pregnant!!!! Winnie, u just rest whenever ethan is napping in the afternoon and try to take hot milo if u still feeling horrible. I had yucky MS when i was in my 1st tri and i also felt horrible cos i had terrible headaches along with the MS. But then just think positive thoughts and u may feel much better than u think.

catz, just tahan for a while more n timo will be discharged very soon. remember to eat your meals horrr.

smurfy, GONg xi ni!!!!
I'm pretty sure you're preggers.
Wah.....u got your wish. so happy for u.
would u like a boy or a girl this time?? hee hee

rachelllll, i haven't been to chinatown point's kitty shop yet. i didn't even know there got kitty shop. but i've been to the one at anchorpoint, liang court, harbour front and taka. i saw some water bottles there but maciam not straw water bottles. the owner of the liang court one told me that he will call me when he gets more supply of hello kitty water bottles.

sunsweet, thanks for your info on the bottles. will go there to suss out if any nice characters to buy for Ah YR.

huskie, U must TRY HARDER. Do EVERYDAY!!! Drink some beer/wine/champagne and get yourself drunk then do it with hub. U never watch movies meh? The female cast always gets pregnant when they do it when drunk. hee hee

Smurfy..I did the Dip in ECH after my O'levels..so well guess I had the interest then..I taught for several years before I had Yael..I also tried relief teaching in secondary school..but yikes that was a bad experience n I was preggy then..
But teaching young kids is very much my passion..i think I got more patience for other kids..cos its a paid job, I say bye to them at the end of the day and I have a life after that..seriously..but with Yael I do lose my patience sometimes..cos I'm with him 24 hours! But having said that..being a SAHM is the best thing I've done so far.

Hey hey..congrats to you!! If u see 2 lines even if not so clear means preggy lah!

PVL..Yup I know what you mean about the commitment part..I'm so half-hearted..the temptation is the extra income and having something else to do n focus on away from chores and the kid..But I fully recognise I have a higher priority..But quite disappointed lah..have to let go..haha.

WHY ON EARTH WERE YOU DISSECTING ROACHES?! Hahaha..
Actually since I become a mummy..I'm more brave now leh..I have stood firm when faced with these disgusting creatures..even killed plenty myself since we moved here..ours is a low floor plus the rubbish chute is in the kitchen..so roaches come n go at nite especially!

Winnie..Hang in there ok..its just a phase..i believe the symptoms will go off soon..learn to relax..dont worry too much yup..try to eat small meals..or go eat whatever u like in small amounts..

PVL, u cannot laugh lah..so mean. I really cannot tahan cockroaches from young. Don'tknow why just very terrified of them. Got once my friends brought me to this new pub some ulu place ard pagado st and then parked the car some ulu lane and then along the way a lot of roaches crawling ard the road, i freaked out leh. One of my friend had to carry me.

my hub also same as me, cannot tahan roaches that's why we throw out rubbish everyday and tape up our chute every night before we turn in. But he braver than me lah out of no choice. NOwadays he dares to pick up the roach with lots of kitchen towel if it's dead. And if it's crawling on the road, he will kick it away.

i hope your tiredness n discomforts will disappear soon too. I've got another 3 mths plus to go....WEE hEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE