(2007/02) February

smurfy

glad to know u have found a cc of ur choice..indeed cc searching is like looking for a "life partner"

i guess those branded cc is like branded pri sch...everything must be "best"

stella
thanks thanks.. the "best" may not be the "best" for everyone... but i must say i like pat's for the way it brought out creativity during the english writing sessions...

milkshake!
so did PD advise on how to enable YR to speak?
mine oso lehz, dun really know proper words yet coz tink ppl speak to him in too many languages oso..

Morning mummies...

Back to office.

smurfy, so happy for u that u have found a cc which u are comfortable with for QY.

huskie and babe, have emailed u on the ON charge. Sorry ah, only now got time to compute the charges.

milk milk, think next time got chance to meet u must learn from u how to do housework more efficiently. Haha...

I super tired this weekend over ah xi's crankiness and stickiness lei... even last nite my hubby b4 went to bed told me so tired ah, due to ah-xi. Want to compliment my hubby lah as he has helped me wif most of the housework especially the laundry over this weekend. He is really sweet and good boy loh.

Now i am really worried whether i can handle two kiddoes in the future myself. If at nite one cry and another follow, then what shd i do? And how to carry two of them to the carpark? How to bf the little one when the elder one wants my attention FULL TIME? Ah xi is not normal kind of stickiness to me. I can't even leave her for half inch! Haiz....

jelly

i can understand ur worries..cos cherish also koala bear , need attention 24/7

u really my idol, can handle work/ah xi/hsework etc all by ur own. is it possible to get help when #2 comes out?

stella, u made me feel pai sei lah as i am still struggling coping with all these. My family suggested me to get a nanny who can take care of #2 at nite or get a maid for my mil in JB and put the #2 there, but i refuse, cos i find it unfair to #2. Worst come to worst i will resort to send #2 to a good infant care if i can't find a good nanny to look after him/her. For housewk, i have resorted to ask AMOW to come once a week. At least that relief a main bulk of my housework. So normal days mainly need to do laundry (3 times a week).

My hubby is very worried abt my current of state now as in he feels that i am too stressful now plus my falls last week will do harm to the baby. Cant wait for my gynae visit this coming sunday so that i know my baby is alrite...

jas
how abt ah-xi leh? why dun u consider bringing ah-xi to half day or full day cc and let ur auntie looks after #2. as #2 still an infant, better to have ur auntie to look after?.. ur hb is always travelling, so that makes things more harder for u.. will u ever consider a maid in sg? maybe plant more video cams to be on the safe side?

jelly

why not u bring forward ur gynae visit? at least u can rest ur mind.

if i were u, i also bu she de put my child in JB, which means see him/her only once a week. Yah lor, maybe u can find a centre with childcare and infant care , then put two of them there? save logistic problems.

i think there will be new incentives given by govt to promote birth rate. Good news for us

smurfy,

I will put ah-xi to cc next year (most likely full day). I doubt my aunt will help with this #2 lei as it means gotta all over again wif a baby! She never help babysit b4 ah-xi. I am oredi very grateful to her for taking such good care of ah-xi, i do not expect her to help me wif this #2 though it will solve basically all my problem if she offer to help.

Re: video cam, i still not fan xing leaving a maid and the kids alone...

stella, my gynae in JB sunday appt always fully booked one. So yday not managed to see him. Gotta wait for coming sunday. Ya... I am thinking if really gotta put #2 in infant care, will try to find a location close to each other so transport wise easier...

morning mummies..

jello...
i think YX will be good age to go CC when the lil sibling comes along..keke..will be 2yo liao ma...

dun stress okie...boat come to the bridge will auto straight...

but yah..dun think you should put #2 in JB la...

stella,
i read about the government incentives..going to be annouced national day yah...hopefully its duper good lor...then i can go ahead and plan..muahahha...

stella,
Government incentives are usually for FTWMs, us SAHMs usually get the raw end of the deal. What to do. Govt wants us to have our cake and eat it too. SAHMs get no tax incentives, no rebates etc. We only get to enjoy the cash payout and co-saving for the child's CDA. Dunno if my hb will get any more tax incentives or not.

fat babe

i am waiting eagerly for the incentives to be announced.

jelly

if i have #2, gotta think of caregiving solution also. I dont want my mum to take care, and i doubt my mum want to take care of bb also.

pvl

yup their aim is to get working mums to give birth..hopefully our society is more ready to accept part time work..

Catz,
Poor Timo... yeah, maybe postpone his op? GA may make him feel more nauseous and add to his discomfort.

jelly,
Thanks for the email - I've done the bank transfer already!
You're right not to leave maid alone with kids... maybe get a maid, but during the day, she goes to your auntie's place with kids so your auntie can watch over kids whille maid helps out with housework, then at night go back your place?

babe... haha, ya.... boat comes to the bridge will auto straight, but i am still trying to figure out how to steer my boat to the bridge. Haha...

huskie, dun think my aunt will like to have an idea of stranger at her home. She is those very neat type and do all the housework herself. Dun think she will want a maid to meddle with her housework.

Thanks for the transfer, will check later...

hi mamas,

I've just enrolled Lil J to MMI Jurong West Playgroup.. its a 2 hrs session, Tues & Thurs class (Adult accompanied)

Hope its going to turn out well and enjoyable for her.

Jelly,
I would suggest childcare for Ah Xi.
1) She can learn to be not so sticky i.e. independence.
2) You can solve your childcare issue.
When is your #2 popping?
Can consider 1/2 day for ah xi now.. then next year change to full day.. choose somewhere near your aunt's place if she is willing to help you with #2.

My plan is if MMI is good I would consider putting Lil J there till she's 3 then promote her to childcare to learn to be independent

Re: Govt pro-family policies..
I'm looking forward for it.. hope its something worth waiting for.

sunsweet

so yr mil will accompany jeanette to the classes?

i enjoy attending class with cherish, good bonding time.

yup.. my MIL will accompany..
but now i'm also planning to clear my year's leave to accompany her to class..
Hopefully at least once a week.. cos I have 14 days to clear!! :p

sunsweet,

Good that u have enrolled smiley J to a playgroup. I want to look for one, but i am not certain the location of my office (might shift to somewhere else), so thot of finding somewhere nearby my office when the location is confirmed.

How come today forum so quiet ha?

hi ladies, Timo has been admitted to hospital since this morning for severe dehydration and high fever/diarrhoea/vomitting
Am staying with him and my little Beth is very angry indeed. Everytime I call my parents, I can hear her calling mummy mummy into the phone. Timo's both arms are full of puncture wounds and bruise marks 'cos they could not find a vein to insert the canula.. they tried for 45 mins but all his veins collapsed already. Luckily they managed to do it later on but my poor boy is so sad and lethargic. Suspect it's rotavirus, something that Timo is not immunised against 'cos the vaccine was not available when he was 6 months old. Sigh.. so please please go and take rotavirus vaccine if you have not done so for your kids. Will update when I have more time. Very cham.. his hand is so bruised from the catheter and he will have to be dripped for at least 24 hours. Prob stay hospital for 3-4 days.

Catz, I'll pray for Lil Timo's speedy recovery. Must be hard on him and not to say tiring for you.

Y not bring Lil Beth along tonight to visit her bro.. so she can be more understanding.

As for Rotavirus, is there any jab for 6 mths and above?

oh dear Catz, poor Timo. Hope he gets well soon, can imagine how painful it is for him and you to see him going thru this. Will pray for him.

Sunsweet, rotavirus is not a jab, it is administered through oral medication twice. I gave A rotavirus immunization before he turns 6 mths, think once you passed that stage, it is no longer effective.

I think another impt vaccine to give is pnuemoccocal but many parents didnt give due to the high cost. Think i spent about $170 x 3 cos A took 3 dosages. saw an article where a mummy regretted not giving her daughter the jab and she caught the virus and had to go thru very painful procedure and long stay in hospital. Even now, she still has to take medication and go for monitoring every 6 mths.

sunsweet, your mil is so nice, able to bring J to playgroup. Mine wouldnt bother.

lala, hopefully got good stuff for baby bonus and more govt subsidy on childcare!

jelly, actually i also worried about my baby cos since baby's kicks are not strong yet, most of the time we really dun know if they are ok. Then my appt is once every 4 weeks, such a long wait
hopefully my baby is fine too. I was esp worried after i climbed the flight of stairs and was so tired after that, my legs were aching the next few days. So hopefully my baby is ok.

Catz,
Aiyoh, poor Timo, poor you, poor Beth.... (and poor husband!!). Will pray for you and kids. Sarah also has not taken the rotavirus vaccine. Hope she doesn't get it.

sunsweet,
My Ben also had 2 doses of rotavirus and dunno how many jabs of pneumococcal. Hope it was all worth it. We didn't give him the chicken pox cos we felt that CP is not that serious a disease, so we had to prioritise.

cherryale,
Don't worry. I feel really tired a lot of the time, and I also worry sometimes about my baby. My previous pregnancies were not so tiring, so I don't know why this one is so bad. I'm 13 weeks now, so I'm praying that this will pass soon.

catz,
alamak..poor timo..he haven go for his eyelid op yet...so postponing it yah..hope he recovers soon..when will the virus result be out??

my kids are not vaccinated against rotavirus & pnuemococcul too...

cherry,
baby kicks & moves suppose to feel when about 18-20 weeks ma..so dun fret..if you are really worried about baby..can always go to any gynae dats "cheaper" to check baby out..keke...dats wat i do last time...

PVL,
you haf 2 kids to handle & 1 in the tums..of coz more tiring than the last 2..keke...after 1st trimester enerygy should return yah..

Hello mummies...long time no come in. :p So tiring..today went out in morning and noon. Basket, today wanted to do pedicure, but all 3 places I went too were fully booked. Super suay.

cherry, so did u try the pasta with tomato on A again? maybe it's like catz say lor, A may not be used to the taste yet so try again next time lah. YR also doesn't like pasta unless it's chilled in fridge and served cold. Don't ask why. She's a weirdo.

chocbabe, YR has a birthmark called hemangioma. But the pd and dermatologists and plastic surgeons told us to wait cos they think the birthmark has high chance of subsiding. So we supposed to wait lor. Anywayz, her birthmark doesn't hurt her at all so it's ok for us to wait i suppose.

rachel, pd told us to speak to her in 2 languages but hub and i not gonna do it lah. We just gonna continue talking in 5 languages to her. hee hee anywayz, not so worried cos she seems to understand what we talking about in diff languages so should be fine ba. My hub also started speaking only at age 3 so maybe YR also slow like him lor. Jasper also not talking yet ya?

jelly, pls hor...i just choose areas to do housework lah. Mopping n vacuuming n magic wiping of cos do whole house lah. but then, sometimes i will choose 1 room to clean in a day (NOT all the time, only when i feel the room not so clean). So u don't spend so much cleaning mah.

wah, talk abt cleaning hor, i need to bitch leh. Yday i actually deliberately did all my laundry (whites, colored and floor mats/kitchen towels) and even had them all dried or hanging on the clothes drying rack. The reason is that i jsut wanted to see how long the maid will take to clean the house even with laundry all done. BUt she still took 4 hours to clean the bloody house. AND best part, YR left a grain of rice stuck on our cd cabinet on Sunday and I left it there on purpose. Today i saw the stupid grain of rice still there. Super pissed off. AND when i came back home after my lunch, I saw my balcony door wide open. I dont like having my balcony doors opened lor cos i find the air outside dusty.

jelly, another alternative is stay home be a stay home mum for a year or so? can your company allow u to take time off for 9 mths taking into account u take 3 mths maternity leave then take 9 mths to look after baby #2??? Is it a possible option? baby kanna sent to infant care full day seems quite ke lian.....

catz, u don't worry about sending out my stuff firzst lah...i'm ok with ur delay. U just make sure u rest well too and hope Timo will be fine too. I'm sure he will be fine. just stay strong there ok.

cherry, u don't worry so much lah my dear. UR BABY #2 will be very very fine. some exercise is good for the baby so don't be so paranoid lah, aiyoh. U ah...hee hee Eh, when the baby kicks and kicks, u probably won want it to kick so much lor. My TR kicks a lot and it's very uncomfortable for me and can get a little painful.

PVl, u probably also tired from looking after sarah and ben. U will be fine, i'm very sure.
U are very capable.

rgarding the pneumo jab and rotavirus, lucky that my hub kiasi when it comes to medical stuff so we had YR jabbed for everything that was offered so far. I'll definitely have TR jabbed for all too just to play safe.

my dad lugged his ancient problematic laptop for me to use.. very tired.. barely had 2 hours of sleep for the last 48 hours. Timo is so sad.. his hand is really painful with the catheter, keeps asking why Daddy and Beth are not coming. Sigh.. Dr Ong says no Bethany allowed since he is really infectious
Hubby has to go to work tomorrow. Shack lor.. 'cos everytime he has to go diarrhoea in the toilet, I have to drag the drip plus carry him to the toilet.. and it's every 5 minutes at times. But more heartbreaking is that he wants to go home, that he feels abandoned in hospital. He's one sad little boy. The only happy thing was my friend who brought her boy (his good friend from school) to visit with gifts and balloons from the rest of his Marymount kindy gang.. but even that didn't muster up more than a little smile from him. Argh very sad.. ok won't depress anyone further.. waiting for his drip to run out so that I can finally go to sleep after they change a new bag.

cherry
dun worry too much abt bb.. my take is always that if the mummy is tired out end of the day, that means the bb has been working real hard in the tummy.. n seems like girls r gentler kickers, right milkie? u experienced the difference between YR n TR?

PVL
QY's same as ben, japped for Rotavirus and puenmmocal but not CP. u r another one... dun worry too much, try to rest moRe.. get sarah help out some stuffs or wait for ur hb to do it. it's definitely alright if the house is gonna to be messy for the next few months, just to have a few more moments of rest... rest.. rest... rest.. whenever u can.

jas
err same sentiments abt sending #2 to infant care leh. why not u ask ur auntie whether she can take care of #2 for u while u send YX to full day CC. i mean, if u dun ask, u will always assume she dun wanna/cannot take care of another one? perhaps she is even more happier to look after another bb? kekekeke maybe next time she can be bb sitter lor? or consider milkie's suggestion, be a SAHM for the next 2 yrs, then after #2 is two yrs old, go back to the workforce.

catz
i'm soo sorry to hear what tim is going through now. that's every mummy's nightmare. i really hope tim will recover fast... remember to clean urself (or at least ur hands properly) before u handle beth k?

sunsweet
MMI jurong west is good? it's a building of its own? but good that they have short playgrps that the caregiver/parent can participart in.. Sengkang branch dun have that.. and it looks like a mini school.. dun wanna stress out my poor lil boy first kekekeke..

milkie
dun worry YR will understand the different languages lar. next time when she grow older, she will be able to reply in whatever languages u talk to her in (at least that is what happened to my hb's friend's kid, who is homeschooled, learnt 2 dialects besides english and mandarin, so one fine day, an angmo happened to see this boy and he was talking in hokkien to his mum, this angmo asked whether singaporeans are so poor as not to be able to send the kids to proper school) welcome to the world of bOys..u find that TR is an exact opposite of YR in future... QY basically dashes from one point to another in the house, he onli runs, never walks -_-'

stella/fat babe
me oso waiting for the talk, i hope more ML or pre maternity leaves in future ;)

smurfyyyyy, ya,n am not worried actually that's why we still continuing with 5 languages with her. We hope she becomes multilingual in future. Eh, good idea to teach kids chinese dialects hor, then next time she can scold her school friends in HOKKIEN/teochew/cantonese. hahahahahaha Must ask my gfs to start speaking to her in dialects liao. WAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Hmmm smurfy, i see boys that are also very inactive and girls that are active so not true that being a boy means that they will be active mah.

I hope TR will be opposite of YR , then maybe i can spend more time at home rather than being out all the time.

smurfy, A is like QY, never walks, only runs. Think all boys are like that. I will pray hard that baby is fine, maybe should suggest to my gynae I want to see him once every 2 to 3 weeks. That's what I did when I had A. 4 weeks is really too long for me. Also, now I dun seem to have nauseous (touch wood) so all the more I worry

catz, really feel so sad for timo, poor little boy. Hope he will get well and become his cheeky self soon. Do you stay overnight in the ward with him?

Milkie, I will try the pasta again on weekend cos maid wont feed him if he refused, so definite failure. A also has birthmarks on his back, PD said they are mongolian marks which is very common in asian, it will go away fully by 5 yrs old. Last time when A kicks me it was also very painful, but at least I know he is active and well mah.

I am the kiasi type, any vaccination that is available, i will give it to him. Anyway, my PD also very kiasi, every vaccination also recommend. In fact, he does not recommend, he tells me next month come for this jab, that jab, and I just go. Then I usually dun even ask how much is it until A got the jab and I only found out when I had to pay. Think if my hb knows pneumococal is so exp, he will prob tell me dun give. So in a way its good too.

just now mil just nagged at me that I bought too much clothes for A as I got some stuff that just arrived and she saw the gap/ON stuff that I collected from Catz that I left on my dining table. Told her i just felt like buying things for A during that period, so i kept buying
she has nothing to say to me.

On maid, milkie, we very similar, I also did that to my maid once. there was this dead fly on the wall of the cabinet above the dustbin. It was there for days and maid usually empty the dustbin at least once a day, there is no way she can miss it. So 1 fine day, I pointed the dead fly to her and asked her why she has nver noticed that. Of cos, standard answer is "I dun know". Mil just told me to be careful cos her neighbour's maid secretly shipped some of the grandchildren toys and clothes back to philippines when they were not at home. Really scary some of these things that maids can do.

smurfy..
was hoping dat they haf more & more subsidy for childcare...$300 subsidy..keke..dat would help alot!! and maybe bigger co-savings for 2nd child on...wakkaka

longer maternity may end up making women employees less popular..

milkie
why issit tat if TR is opposite of YR, then u get to stay at home more??? i read that languages r picked up fastest when young.. it get harder as we grow older.

cherryale
u r starting on ur 2nd trimester soon right?? maybe that's why the nauseaous feeling goes off. yah maybe u can talk to ur gynae abt more frequent visits. or see 2 gynaessss kekekeke.

going to sleep liao..
hb not home can sleep early, good nite

fat babe
yeah childcare benefits! and more incentives for #2.. #2.. yes true, but it's really tiring the months before n after birth leh..

cherry, u are super kancheong spider leh. If anything not right with baby #2, your gynae will advise u go to him more often. But then if u feel u will feelmuch more better if u visit him more often, then i guess u can do so lah. hee hee I think most impt is to keep your mind relaxed and be reasonably active. It will help baby be healthy as well lor.
But i did have your same sentiments when I had YR previously. Probably cos i had low placenta and i didn't expect to conceive during that period so i was drinking quite a lot when i first had YR so naturally i was super kancheong.

Maids really get up to many funny biz when they think we are not aware of things lah. That's why U do have to be wary. Just be more cautious and make sure she knows that u know what stuff u have.

Actually I am like u lah...always buy clothes and more clothes for YR and now TR. I think i should be buying more educational stuff for them...but really I've not much interest in those stuff leh. :p :p I'm really very lazy when it comes to educating. hahahahaha

smurfy, cos YR HAS to go out everyday and meet all her zhu peng gou you and play on rides. If TR opposite of her, then he'll be more of a homebody mah..hee hee

smurfy, i read that languages get picked up faster when kids are young too...but don't know why the pd said we talking in too many languages to her and asked us to stick to 2 languages if we want her to speak faster. But ultimately i think YR will have to talk right....so i'm not concerned whether she talks early or late lah. I'm sure when she goes to playschool, she will pick up from the other kids there.

xcdbfnbgfgbf htbg

cherry, do u get crazy over any particular cartoon characters for A??? I'm very into Hello Kitty for YR leh. hee hee I like buying little plastic bowls n cutleries for her in Hello Kitty designs. Still trying to look for a suitable water bottle that she can carry to sch (one with a straw) but seems very hard to find. I got her lunch boxes in different hello kitty designs for her too. hee hee

wat designs do u get for boys ah besides those tom the builder, thomas the train, barney, etc????

i need to ask u girls who have part time maids hor. Does your maids actually put the magic mops /mops / things in diff locations and rearrange the placement of your sofa, microwaves and stuff like that ard each time they come to clean?????

I'm starting to think that she really doing it on purpose so that she has more time to waste in my house doing boliao stuff other than cleaning.

Super irritating to the max

i think i have to talk to her next week and tell her what i want and don't want done in my house.

ALSO, she loves to fold my clothes in the wardrobe for god knows what reason. Then she folds them in non-organized manner. Example, would u put tanks together with pants??????????????????????

I high suspect she anyhow arranges the placement of my tees, tanks and pants, etc so that i will pull them all out and leave them on the floor for her to clear the next time she is here again to clean.

Then best hor...ask u...DO U actually do laundry or use the dryer to wash or dry 2 pieces of baby clothes?????????????????????????????????

I want to vomit blood seriously.

Best, yday after she left the house, i saw a baby cockroach near my balcony door INSIDE my house. I sprayed with baygon lah..but then both my friend and i no guts to pick up the cockroach so i had to call the management office to send the cleaner up to help me out with it.

I think the management guy thought it was a big insect or something cos he sent 2 cleaners up to help me with it and they obviously were very surprised to see the big hoo ha was over a dead baby cockroach lah. sibei paisei ok.

Paging for CHOCBABE!!!

How is Ryan in the Kinderland? How do u find the cc? Do we need to make appt wif the centre before we visit the place? We are thinking of putting ah-xi to half day childcare at Kinderland, so would like to ask ur opinion first before our visit.

jas
it's bettter to make an appt.. so that they can allocate time for u.. some centers take walk-in, some dun, finding it disruptive to their timetables..

milkie
go go change ur part time helper.. that's easier to change as compared to us right? maybe the pD tot u n hb were concerned that YR not talking yet..n not abt picking up different languages. keke i think the ablity to pick up different languages surpasses talking for young kids leh

today gotta work hard, my boss back in town tomorow.. n he's picking on me again.. saying that i am getting forgetful, sianz.. n i got a new manager coming in on friday, sitting near to me, so i really dun think i can chat much.

Jelly,
Ryan only turn 18mths this friday.... so he's only going there this friday... can't give u any comments yet

No, u dun have to make appt, i just walked in actually.

Poor catz and timo... Feeling so sad now and can imagine how unhappy timo is and how shack u are... Please be strong ok?

cherry... ya, baby kicks not strong yet, so only during the gynae appt (which is once a month now) only we can be assured they are safe and sound. These few days i tried not to carry ah-xi as much despite her frantic cry. I just need to let her know that mummy can't keep on carry her as much oredi...

Ah-xi had her Rotavirus and 2 jabs of pneumoccoccal oredi, now pending for MMR and chicken pox jabs.

milk milk, hehe, u tired for different reason than us. We tired becos of working and taking care of our kiddos, u tired becos of shopping. haha... aiyoh, do u go for pedicure every week???

Haha... the way u test ur PT cleaner is very funny lei... But they can be careless sometimes lah. So far the cleaner assigned by AMOH to me still ok (though i have not seen her before). But i find the supervisor has not come to inspect the cleanliness of my house for the longest time as everytime after the supervisor came, she will leave a checklist on our table, so we know.

milk milk/smurfy... ya, i also think send the #2 to infant care is quite kelian. But for my job, not possible to take unpaid leave for so long as they cannot leave this position empty. Maybe i too xin luan, becos if i leave now, there will be a lot of questioning to the company and delay in our current project. But i asked my hubby b4, say if one day i really cannot take the pressure and quit, will he support me? He said, of cos, why not! So i might just quit and bo chap if one day i find it too much to take.

Ya, maybe i shd go ahead and be frank to my aunt whether she able to help me take care of my #2 or not...

milk milk, i have gradually stopped buying clothes for ah-xi liao dunno becos i have not mood now or becos i really have no more space for her new clothes anymore. Haha...

jelly...
i also think sending to infant care very poor thing... can ur work allow u to work part time or work from home??

or maybe a reliable nanny.

Jelly, maybe you can talk to your aunt abt taking care of no.2? Does the cc that you want to send Ah Xi to has infant care service? Relax... Just quit if you cant take the work stress.

Sunsweet, you stay at Jurong West? Me too leh... Hehehe... The MMI that you send to is the one at the sports complex?

Catz, how's Timo now? You take care too.

PVL, you feel more tired cos you have to take care of 2 kids now mah. Moreover, Ben is at active stage now.

Milkie, I like my kids to know chinese dialects. What languages is YX expose to?