(2007/02) February

flash cards,
my girl is not so keen on words too. I tried to use the cards that have words on one side and pictures on the other side. She will keep on turning to the side with pictures. I have to u word cards without pictures. Works better without the pictures.

haha so cute.. apply moisturing cream himself.. msybe it very comfy loh ..

mine also mess up place when see flash card..
I was thinking of putting up on the wall when i teach her.. and emphasis my point to her haha

hehe zz will take out his flash cards n then bring to me n expect me to read to him. last time i rem his attention span is v short. one card n he crawl away liao. like wat sap say, i will clap n praise him when he try to say what the pic is.

i also bought some chinese books and also flash cards. sometimes i flash n speak in chinese.
i got one san dian jin book... i so far read the first 2 pages cos my chi is not v "powderful"...

this is my first time i rem the first few lines... haha learning together w him.

garfield

u mean " san zi jin"? the 3 wordings phrase? i got one for cherish also.. my hb read that to her.. cos his english lao hong..

garfield,

my chi also not powerful.. but still i try to read to her one of her fav is xiao hong mao.. but then she tore the book to a few pcs so now.. no more xiao hong mao.. we change to yu fu he jing yu -fisherman and gold fish.. haha

me also trying to polish up my chi.. :p

any of your kids like to draw.. my gal likes to take her colour pencils and draw strokes left to right.. tot they'll learn to draw circle first.. keke maybe its an uphill tasks for her for now..

anyway I'm trying to train her to sit still for say 5 mins by letting her to "draw" with colour pencils.. i think i should keep these piccaso art pcs :p

saphira,

very long time nvr see you here liao..!!

me sneak in to read...keke...yah trying to nurse tyra bk...

a note on xinfaye's teeth

....my fren had a church fren who breastfed her boy for 20 months...she bf boy to sleep & any time when her boy needs comfort..

his teeth turned yellow & black...and it cannot be brushed off....by the time she brought son to dentist...dentist said teeth is super decay liao...and of coz the kids dunno how to tell you....so the boy had to go thru GA and remove close to 10 teeth..

i dun mean to scare you..juz dat becoz of dat story...i was worried coz my kids always drink milk to sleep...haf to be careful ok..

i doubt my maid brush tyler's teeth le...probably..still "wiping" them..though i haf loads of toothpaste at home...dirty fella..

stella, u r rgt. u see my chi is v poor ;p

babe, yes i also wonder if his teeth can decay cos his last feed is milk n he will sleep after tat... we never brush his teeth before only wipe.

sunsweet, i heard from my mum today tat we can start them to write as early as we can... she heard from a kindergarden teacher. cos my nephew now got diff writing cos he all these while never learn to write so wrist is weak. his spoken words r v good. now then i realise tat written is also impt. nowadays many lessons focus on speech n reading but writing is also impt.

yah indeed writing is as impt as speech and reading abilities..

for now i brush Lil J's teeth b4 her last feed cos after feeding 50% of time she doze off then no chance to brush teeth liao.. like that how..

if she not zz can brush.. but she zz liao then cannot brush liao...

i think i super liao. i brush the teeth in between the last feed. coz QY must have a break in btween and play.. so i brush during this period kekkee.. but i lazy, onli brush in the nite and some nite i forget.

sap.
some mummies (cannot recall where i read) say that brushing with 1st teeth will cause yellowish teeth.. so i just use pea size...

cherish also fall asleep after last feed..and some days i forgot to brush her teeth..

and it is very difficult to reach her molars.. food can be easily struck on molars becos of uneven surface

Saph,
Thanks for the link on fever. Yeah, I also believe it's the body's natural defense against virus, that's why during the 10 days of fever she just recovered from, I didn't give paracetamol till it reached 38 and above.

babe,
My auntie bf her son till 2+ yrs old, and bf to sleep.... got 11 tooth decays and she had to spend $2k+ on GA procedure to fix them.
I heard from a friend that rinsing the mouth with water helps, even if you cannot manage to brush their teeth before sleeping.
So now after bf, I keep a bottle of water by the side and make ehr drink in her half sleepy state.

caring for the teeth...

So far I thought that breast milk don't contribute to tooth decay.

Here is what what written on the pack of First Teeth toothpaste:
First Teeth toothpaste is the 1st 100% natural antibacterail enzyme toothpaste that protects your baby's mouth much like breast milk and saliva. - made with protective milk enzymes.

Links I've came across:
http://www.babycenter.com/204_breastfeeding-doesnt-contribute-to-cavities_5217545.bc
http://www.babycenter.com/search/showResultsForContent.htm?contentTab=&intcmp=Nav_Global_Sitesearch&queryString=black+stains+on+teeth

Reading from the "What to Expect the first year", I only came across notes on not to bottle feed milk or juice to sleep.

What's your opinions? Any toddlers have black stains and yellowish teeth? Will try to use baking soda to clean her teeth tomoroow to see if it helps.

Here's a picture of my sweetie pie. Taken this afternoon.

1378550.jpg

Hello mummies...

Was out for meeting whole of yesterday and today so no chance to peep in here until this hour...

Thanks for the comments on the photoshoot...

Hub actually first commented the pic not as nice when he saw the first few photos sent via email from the photographer. But i am quite happy with most of the photos loh.

I signed up the package in March at very good promotional price of S$138, now think the price is $308 liao. Ya, the photographer, Hart will go over to the customer's house or any designated place requested by the customer for the photoshoot. Actually we think YX will look happier if taken at our JB house or at my aunty's house where she spend most of her day at. For the sake of photoshooting, we came back from JB to sg on Sunday nite so that she is more familiarise wif our clementi house. YES, until now she is still not very used to our clementi house as she spent very little waking hour in this house.
But still, we guess she will behave better and more nature if taken at our own house than a complete strange environment at studio.

pvl, our babies are the main cast and we are just the "pei jue". haha....

smurfy, yes, that's her fav soft toy called "Daisy". Got it from mothercare. The rainbow mural think including shipping cost is abt S$60.

charis, i also dun see yael's photoshoot photos from facebook. Where ha???

sap, Xinfaye is as sweet and as smart as ever!!! It's amazing that she can recognise so many words now from the flash cards!!!

pvl, YX has been taking only 1 nap of 2-3 hours in the afternoon for quite a long time oredi. Like Xinfaye, she will take her nap at around 1pm, and woke up at 3-4pm, until her bedtime at 9pm.

Good morning mummies! Where's everyone? Still sleeping ah???? Hahahaha!

Tell you something disgusting. This morning, I think Ben ate a bit of his own poo!!! I put him on the toilet bowl and then went away to do something. When I came back, he was putting something into his mouth. I checked, he had some poo-coloured stuff on his knee and was picking it and putting it into his mouth!!!! I don't think it was part of his breakfast - wrong colour. He must have reached in and wiped his anus and got poo on his hand after he had done the deed! YUCKS!!!!! I scrubbed him extra hard after that and brushed his teeth with jie-jie's Colgate toothpaste!! Don't care if he ate most of it up. I rinsed his mouth a lot of times too - he hated that.

So sianzz...

nothing to do... wat i am supposed to do in my remaining days???? hesistating whether to ask my boss wat can i do... but scully kenna bomb again?

pvl, so disgusting...

my maid also tell me zz nowadays like to play w his penis... v gross too.

but i glad tat u realise n rinse his mouth... tell him when he is older... hehe guess he will be v paiseh...

PVL, you might just win on the 'EEEEEK' factor vs Timo's dripping vomit all over my car. Teehee..

Beth wil dig and dig her private parts until all bloody. Dunno why like dat.

I give up on First Teeth toothpaste already. now using Tom's of Maine.. so much cleaner for Timo!

PVL,

I just had my b'fast leh.. lil Ben is so naughty.. keke should have take photo with Handphone and show it to him when he grows up.. haha

Jelly, Garfield..Of cos dont hav lah..cos We have not collected the photos..hehe! Going to collect this weekend. We chose the package where they print out the photos for us cos my hb feels its cheaper..cos he used to print out his own photos at the photo shop, n those any bigger than 5R, cost a "bomb".
So anyway, we have to scan the photos..then can upload to facebook..so maybe u all have to wait another week to see..hehehe. Will do it asap ok!

Saphira..OIC..maybe I'll try fresh milk.
But regarding formula..its the best after breast milk..cos formula is enriched with necessary vitamins n minerals. Fresh milk are usually not.
Infants cannot drink fresh milk..even some older babies..cos its much harder to digest than formula.
Wah well done Sap..looks like cos u have been putting so much effort in Xinfaye! She real fast developer.
Baby Einstein has both pic n word on the card is it?
Im doing Glenn Doman..so far I only do words n math dot flashcards..no pictures, numbers n alphabets, cos they are considered abstract, subjective. Children should learn the concrete first. But I read books to Yael..there will be some pictures.

Rgd fever, illness..I admit I hardly give Yael medication if he has runny nose, cough..firstly cos he spits out most of his meds, n we have to struggle like crazy with him to get him to take med. Secondly, I also believe that the body's immune system should be allowed to fight itself against germs, bacteria, virus..if its minor infections. But if got major fever, its still best to see a doc n take med.

Charis,

do you think its difficult for the child to associate the words with the real thing.

cos there are 2 schools of tots..

e.g. we teach then the word BUS.. but the word bus means nothing to them when they have not seen a bus before.. so which should go first? word or the pic/ physical item??

Sunsweet..Yes I guess there are a few schools of thought.
According to GD method, the baby's brain is exceptionally capable of learning whole words..similar to the ability of photgraphic memory. Bcos the word is constant, its easier for the baby to learn the word first, rather than the pictures, cos pictures are rather subjective, eg another book may draw a "bus" in a different way, or the SBS bus looks different from the bus in the book.
When we teach the picture, alphabet, number first, the child has difficulty learning the word later..that's according to GD anyway.

i didn't use another method to teach YX, but from daily activities, like taking lift, will point to the lift floor number and count wif her 1 to 9 or 9 to 1. Then to car park, asked her where is the car? Ask her to take off her hat, where is her shoes, ask her to pass me her bottle after milk, etc... She can understand most of the things we said to her, but hor we dun know what she try to tell us most of the time.

i haven't teach zz words too.

i also use daily objects and ask him to identify what is it. sometimes flash cards but some flash cards are using cartoon pic which is not so accurate but those standard type of shape like bus, he still able to tell it is a bus. n after he say that, i will say he clever boi n he smiled.

he also like to point at diff things. n as he point, i will tell him what it is if he didn't say. or if he say wrongly, i will correct him w just saying the correct word as I point at the object.

Wow.. i guess i am too laid back.. i only teach cherish during the daily activities.. no flash cards or watever.

smurfy,

are u back from the sales? i got a doodle/an elmo shape sorter and a fisher price ball toss for 35.

but i dun think the toys are exceptionally cheap.. but i see some people buying like crazy

stella,

i been in the sale thread n it seems they all say it v cheap... so was waiting for u n smurfy to give feedback.

no wonder u see them buy like crazy... is there many fisherprice toys?

I not sure if my hb can pop by cos tomolo i workin ley

i heard many ple is it? haha maybe it not so cheap after all but go there sure buy something 1 lor. wonder if smurfy buy alot? she not back yet.

Jelly, stella, garfield..I think that is the best way for mothers who are working.

For those mummies who are signing with yr tots, how are they picking up the signs? Does it really help language development?
Yael learns signs at amazing speed now, I can jus show him once n he'll catch it immediately..n he's picking up vocab n speaking some words very clearly.

back from the sales..

Lil People - Animal Sound Stable = $30.00
Lil People - Baby Farm Animals = $10.00
Lil People - Animal sound Zoo = $50.00
Lil People - Lil Pirate Ship = $30.00
Tortoise = $10.00
Trike 2 Bike = $90.00

lots more for younger babies... alot of those noisy sounds toys kekekek.. potty... jumperoo... shape sorter.. bouncers... high chairs.. the big gate.. etc

smurfy! i knew u will be buyin alot!

i heard it good for infants and toddlers below 2 yrs so it's true?

how cheap is cheap? i thinkin of goin sun n just look look ;p but not sure i will to work tat day ah

Smurfy

u r not crazy lah..i seen some buying more than 10 or more..

wats the "lil people" brand ? got tortoise meh?? i saw the bicycle and i got a feeling u will buy..but that one seems like for older kids rite?

actually i wanted to get the fisher price learning table, but i scared become white elephant, cos cherish wun stay at one corner to play .

Lil People - Animal Sound Stable = $30.00
1379698.jpg

Lil People - Baby Farm Animals = $10.00
1379699.jpg

Lil People - Animal sound Zoo = $50.00
1379700.jpg

Lil People - Lil Pirate Ship = $30.00
1379701.jpg

Trike 2 Bike = $90.00
1379702.jpg

i did not post the Tortoise. coz it's very commonly found in shopping malls.

yup i think most of the fisher price toys are suitable for kids younger than 1 yo.

actually i like the barbie dolls..but cherish wun appreciate..i asked my cousins( 4 and 9) whether they want..they say no thanks..haha..

i agree that there are lots of toys with sounds.. but cherish scardy cat, she scared of those toys. i got a few at home, collecting dust

smurfy

u win liao lor...keke..

i specifically zoom into the toys that may interest her--> balls and puzzle related

oh ya i bought a mini doodle to entertain her in the car

smurfy!!!
what u buy??
cos now scare of buying toys cos Lil J's toy corner is over flowing.. need to to get shelves for her liao.. but shelves also no use cos toy are not small either.. hahah

stella,

i also like barbie dolls! i use to play till i was abt pri 3 or 4 ah

i like to doll them up and play roles like acting hehe but of cos with my sis lor. alone play abit boring.

sunsweet

i will still bring cherish out as usual. cant possibly keep her at home.. she will whine till my ears drop.

if my hb is ard, our typical sat routine will be out after cherish woke up and have her milk.. then go for breakfast plus jalan. then ard 10-11 , back for her nap

after her nap, lunch and i bring her out to playgrd/void deck to run abt. --nap --- off to my grandma hse.

sunday i will bring her out and let hb rest(back from nite shift) then afternoon mil place

stella
there for puzzles meh?

sunsweet
kekkee i bought those posted up..long time no buy toys for QY mah..

garfield
coz i got a deprived childhood mah... so now trying to give QY everything lor.. i dun even have a barbie doll then .. (though i oso have no itention to get one for QY kekeke)..

sunsweet

i will still bring cherish out as usual. cant possibly keep her at home.. she will whine till my ears drop.

if my hb is ard, our typical sat routine will be out after cherish woke up and have her milk.. then go for breakfast plus jalan. then ard 10-11 , back for her nap

after her nap, lunch and i bring her out to playgrd/void deck to run abt. --nap --- off to my grandma hse.

sunday i will bring her out and let hb rest(back from nite shift) then afternoon mil place

haha i too have a barbie doll.. also take pieces of cloth / hanky to dress up my doll.. can't afford to buy the real clothes for her cos they are so ex... but nowadays they are cheap..

I also like to pretend to cook for my toys haha masak masak..

wonder my the time our little girls grow up.. what will they play?? Wii? DS? haha