(2007/02) February

Stella..I find its a good enough reason..to be more involved in parenting is the best reason anyone can give!

Re: Self-feeding. I also let Yael feed himself..actually since he's about 10months, I bought him a small fork n spoon, n he will try to use them..but of cos most of the time he'll end up using his hands..which is fine with me..as long as he doesnt play with his food. YES..it can be rather messy at times IF i dont help him..WORSE when the daddy helps with mealtime..face, hair, body n all full of food!!
AND most importantly for me..encouraging my tod to self-feed lets me enjoy my meals outside too...hehe! Im confident to take Yael out for lunch on my own..but I have to give him food he likes lah..haha.
Now my hb n I dont really need to take turns to feed our boy outside too.

ya charis, must give them more involvement in their meals. cos they can be bored if we keep feedin them

we soemtimes give zz his bowl and spoon and he will try to scoop up the food using the spoon. give them somethign to occupy too.

my turn to vent. i cannot stand my colleague ar... now pregant and making a BIG fuss out of it.. everything oso contradict one.. say everything eat in moderation..then again say cannot eat bananas, pineapples.... say dun need to "bu" the body... then can eat birds nests.. forever talking abt the preganncy.. arrgggghhh.. nowadays go lunch, expecting others to buy for her oso. everyday go compare tummy with another mummy who is 2 wks heavier than her.. argg i hope she gets a girl coz she wants a boy soo badly kekkekee :p

garfield,

hehe..welcome to the real life doll club..keke...dressing up girls are FUN!!...think me & catz bought from rachel..

stella,

your HR people no kids ar??..last time when i was wif a boss who was duper understanding...i quit coz i found better offer..so had to go even though i juz join them for 2 months...so i bluff him say i need to take care of tyra

my boss told me...he will help me find nanny to take care of tyra...he will change my hours from 8-5 to 8-3...wif no cut in pay!!very good lor...but really not "fated" la...i still left...so gui;lty back then...but he understand coz he had 2 kids too..

smurfy,

i understand how you feel...maybe most of us here quite "modern"...so we dun really care about diet or wat..i feel..juz eat normally?? some like your colleague feel pregnant woman is "queen" ma..i think i only feel like "queen" when i arrow hb to do things..but at work..i still move heavy stuff...involve myself wif company renovation blah...if not people will "anti- preggers"

my boss use to qoute .."pregnant is not a sickness" so no concession should be given..

Photoshoots by tomato.com...
1376403.jpg

1376404.jpg

1376405.jpg
1376406.jpg

1376407.jpg
1376408.jpg

1376409.jpg
1376410.jpg
1376411.jpg

jelly!!!

i wanted to try the tomato...but its very pricey!! but YX's photo is VERY NICE!! lurve the spot colour one!! so cool!!..

fat babe
yep. u put the term correctly.. she felt she's the queen.. anyway the queen bee's gonna be around for the next 27 weeks..kekek i am a nice person..i am gonna wish her a smooth pregnancy with a happy baby girl :DDDDD

jas
i spot YX giving out flying kiss.. and is that her fav. soft toy she is smelling?? sooo sweet... now.. who's the lucky child heRe?...u did the shoots alone or ur hb ard?.. hey how much u spent on the rainbow mural the other time?

smurfy,
I can understand your irritation with your colleague. Some people are just attention seekers lah. You should tell her how TERRIBLE labour is!!! Hahahaha. Scare her a bit. Tell her how tough life is when the baby arrives. I agree with fat_babe, pregnancy is NOT A SICKNESS. Actually a mother in labour is also not sick. It's a natural process. Just let the queen bee be lah. Probably it's just hormones. hehehehehe.

good morning ladies!

have told my immediate boss abt my resignation.. parted on amicable terms.. " he ping fen shou"

smurfy

agree with PVL that pregnancy is nothing compared to bringing up a kid.. sometimes i wish cherish is inside me..

jelly

the pics is very nice.. got the very homely kind of feel.. something diff from taking in studio.. actually i think the best place to take pics is in a place where the kids are most comfortable in. i like the pics in sepia ..

got this frm the jan's thread..stella near our workplace leh.. err at least near the place that i go for lunchie some times.. me going pop by with the queen bee tomorow.
1376711.jpg

Fat babe

the culture in my co is very diff..most of them believe work is more important , and most of them have maids to do the parenting duties.

i am the weird one who thinks sending kids to sch is a kind of bonding.

jelly,
Really nice photos. YX is very pretty indeed. How much did you have to pay? All these studio shots make me want to do a photoshoot for my kids too. But I cannot be in the photo. TOOOO FAAAAAAAT and ugly! Can they just do children and baby alone photoshoots without even my legs appearing?

pvl,

u r v cute... but u shld take one w yr children for keepsake... me also v fat but still take mah.

btw, some ple still think i m fat not preg hahahhaaha

jelly, nice done. did u n hb take w her too?

smurfy, u go there n see wat can buy ok? i think i might not go too... since wkend workin again... sian...

garfield,
Hahaha, people probably think I'm pregnant AND fat!! They're just too polite to ask when my 'baby' is due cos I seem to be pregnant for a long time. HAHAHAHA!

Jelly..Really nice pics!!

PVL..No lah dont say tat, u r not fat n ugly!..I remember u look really nice n dolled up those times we had gatherings hehe!
Yup u should do one with yr family..I think u can request them to do mainly upper body shots lah..haha!
Our photoshoot at DeCharacter just show our top half too..cos its a basic family shoot. I wore long sleeves cos dont want to show my flabby arms wahahaha!
Even tat cost us $200plus. Should have asked my photographer friend to do it but he'll charge even more!

eunice

sorry i missed ur post earlier.. my gal is now coming to 15 mths..i let her self feed using whatever utensils she is interested in.. she even attempt to use chopsticks.. but of cos not successful lah..sometimes she pei chek, end up using her fingers

it is really very messy..

charis,

u got flabby arms??? u r so slim...

think if u see mine, u may think it a tree trunk or something big n flabby...

my neighbour ask my maid y i become so fat ;p

photo shoot i pay $120 promo so guess worth it.

Garfield..U so kind..call me slim..hahaha!

U preggy lah..its ok to be not so slim!
So bad yr neighbour ask like tat..ask yr maid some more for wat..

Yr photoshoot really worth it leh..but was make-up included?

ya lor, i was rather shocked when my maid told me this morn... sob sob. but anyway now got excuse...
but once given birth, i got to do soemthing!

sunsweet, yes my neighbour rather nosy kind. but then in a way good is that she will keep an eye so if anything wrong, will alert us too.

charis, nope doesn't include makeup. if wan, then it will cost abt $250 plus?

I am now back in Malaysia. I thought I would have more time to come in to chat and take more pictures since I am not working yet but I've been so busy taking care of Xinfaye.

Fatbabe,
Hope tyra will get well soon. Xinfaye was having fever last month too. Fever even went up to 40 degree. I was trying not to give her medication. I only gave her Paracetamol twice when her fever got very high - no anibiotic. I even did an enima on her once. I hate it when she gets fever, it's very scary. I will have sleepless nights watching after her. Was glad I am still breastfeeding her, at lease I could help give her some of my immunity.

I noticed that if I don't give enough water to Xinfaye to drink she would fall sick easily. Now a days I make sure I give her water every half an hour and make sure she poo everyday (dry stools is bad indication of either dehydration or lack of oil). If she don't poo I would give her fruits especially apple. I would also add some oil to her food - flexseed oil or Ghee.

Charis,
Since the day I could fully breastfeed Xinfaye, I never give her milk powder and don't intent to do so. I feel that fresh milk is better than powder milk (after 1 year old). I am still breastfeeding her. Sometimes I would give her fresh cow's milk (<font color="ff0000">properly boiled</font>), from the indian shop as I believe pasteurized and homogenized are not good (Some believe it is not save to give unpasteurized milk - I don't believe in that). If one day I stop breast feeding I would give her the fesh milk instead. So far so good.

Jelly,
Lovely pictures. Feels really homey. I love her white dress. She look like a princess. My fav picture is the 5th and last one. She look very sweet. My girl don't like soft toys at all. If i hand her one she will quickly trow it away. She likes hards toys, gadgets and books books books.

I would like to share that my daughter loves the Baby Einstein flash cards. I bought the "Nature Discovery Cards" She learnt them so fast! There are 30 pictures cards in the set and she know all of them by hard. Now when I place about 15 to 20 cards on the floor, she would be able to pick the cards I named. I am hoping to get more of the flash cards but don't know how or where as I am in Malaysia now. And recommendations?

Do feel free to come in to visit Xinfaye here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/janewong/

Hey Saphira,
Long time never hear from you. Which part of Malaysia are you at? No fresh milk from supermarket? Wah, Xinfaye is so clever, knows the cards!

Any of your little ones down to one nap a day yet? This week, Ben has been SO resistant to napping. Dunno why leh. Right this moment, he's still crying in his bed, after I spent (wasted) 1 hour trying to get him to sleep - in my arms first, then in the bed. I gave up and just left him as I had to do homeschool with Sarah and prep lunch. I feel so frustrated with him. Waste my time.
If he's going to be like this, I'll need to reschedule everything.

Saph,
Sorry ah, I started both my kids as soon as they could hold their heads up. So now, although there are accidents in the diapers, Ben does most of his poo in the toilet.

Maybe you could try sitting her down on the toilet bowl in front of a video or something! hehehe. If she has a regular time to go, then sit her down and make those ng ng ng noises. Persist and I think she'll get it eventually

Hi Priviledged,
I am now in KL. The fresh milk from supermarket are pasteurized milk. Milk from the Mamak stalls are straight from the cows

I don't let Xinfaye watch TV at all. I will try to place her at the toilet bowl after her lunch as she likes to poo after lunch. i think she is not use to doing her business while sitting down.

As for sleeping, my daughter will take her naps at about 1pm. Depending on what time she woke up in the morning. She would sleep about 1 to 3 hours. She sometimes will offset her schedule depending on if she sleeps at 9pm or not. On the whole, she would sleep about 11-12 hours (plus minus) in 24 hours. It's easier for her to sleep if I latch her on for milk.

sap
settled down comfortably now? wow, xinfaye has so many teeth, like a big girl now.. i oso got the nature discovery cards leh.. my bOY loves them as well.. he loves throwing them on the floor! gives up.. i just said the name of the card with every throw!

pvl
some days QY will nap onli once oso..

i am back from lunch.. one of my bosses treated me a farewell lunch..

garfield, u r not fat loh... i am so 'all rounded" and i am the one who needs to lose the stubborn fats.

actually how much sleep do ur toddlers need now? cherish also sleep ard 11-12 hrs per day. its so difficult to get her to nap nowadays.. the only way is to bring her out and tire her..

Saph,
I've read lots about whole unpasteurised milk, but I don't think we can get them in SG!

Did the enema bring down her fever immed? Was it water enema you used?

zz also resist sleep these days but he still had to sleep 2 naps per day. but the time irregular liao cos he sometimes resist until later cannot tahan then sleep.

zz normally poo poo in the morn n we always tell him if he wan to poo, sit on potty. i think quite some time he never poo into diapers liao. but i not sure how to train him on toilet seat lor. guess will wait till he knows how to walk and stand long.

sap, zz also like flash cards n story books now. his fav flash cards are the vehicle range. he knows car, bus, van, taxi... but his taxi is pronounced as "tax" only hehe

I was at United Square during Lunch and there was kids fashion sale I think will last till friday.

I got a dress of Lil J at $8/= (U.P. $24/=)

Pumpkin patch, guesskids (starting from $19/) and Enefant(might misspell) and many other brands are there.

If you are ard the area do pop by.

wow your lil ones can read flash cards liao.. mine stil 1/2 way there..

think i'll dig out the flash cards tonight and meddle with her..

last night i was telling story to lil J b4 bedtime and there was a few pages showing a tricycle.. she keep pointed to it whenever i turn to one and gave me a sad face.. I asked her if she has a tricycle.. she nodded but she held her feet and gave an about-to-cry look

i wonder what happend to her and her little tricycle? maybe it rolled over her toes?
humm

sunsweet

ur gal is trying to tell u something? so smart of her.. maybe u can ask ur mil wat happen? cherish only know how to scream at me to open her biscuit tin..

smurfy

i will be going to the toy sale tommorrow with my colleagues. hopefully can get something

SUNSweet
yep.. could be that she is trying to tell u something.... QY oso points to the feet to the daddy when he recently hurt his leg.. &amp;*$%#$%@%@ tat lil boy tells the daddy everything but not the mummy... anyway the mummy blur enough to guess oso...

stella
kekeke lets update each other of the buys k? me shld be there ard 12plus

Smurfy,
Ha ha. Your boy's funny. In the begining I encourage her to take out piece by piece from the pack. She will babble something and I would say "YES! earth! very good", pretending she is naming them. And sometime I would clap hands and sound excited to encourage her. After that I would take the card from her and place it on the floor near her. After about 10 cards I would let her stop and look at the cards on the floor again to remind her of what we have gone through. Then I would clear the cards on the floor and continue with the others. Later, after i felt that she is more familiar I move on to the guessing game to make it more challanging. That is when I ask her to point to the cards I named. If it is wrong I would just correct her by telling her the name of that subject and ask her again or help her indentify. I will stop once she loose interest.

Teeth - Her teeth are getting yellow and black stains now. I brush her teeth 3 times a day with 1st teeth tooth paste. How do you take care of toddler's teeth?

Huskie,
Ya, I give her whole milk (I will boil it first). I think you can't get it in SG as the goverment is controlling it.

I gave her enema also because she have some hard stools. The effect on the fever was not immediate as the body needs time to heal. A fever is usually a sign that the body is waging a war against infection and a defense against infection. Cleaning the body system helps to lighten the body's work. Yes, I used water enema on her. Immediate effect would be sponging him down with lukewarm (not cold) water or giving him a lukewarm bath (half hour).

Some good info I came across regarding fever:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_fever_84.bc

sunsweet,
Sounds like your interpretation of lil J's communication is quite right hor? So cute!!!

Ben eventually cried himself to sleep. But I woke him up shortly after to have his lunch. Mean mummy hor? But I want him to keep to the schedule.

smurfy

i will be there ard 12plus too. see if we can spot each other.. any idea whether it is easy to get cab over there?

any place where we can get board books in chinese? i want to get some for cherish..so my mum can read to her

Stella &amp; Smurfy,

Yah i was thinking she wants to tell me something..

there was once she scrape the back of the ankle by a shoe shelve at my frd's place.

so since then when we ask her where of her leg is pain.. she will show you her healed scar at the abck of her ankel.. then next u ask her if she cried.. she will give u the "sour-plum" face (suan mei lian) .. very farni..

So everytime if we tell her to be careful else will be painful she will hold back a little.

at least she remebered the painful incident..

Re: flash card
Seriously she is not very interested with the cards but more instered with the actual thing.. so i think the flash card is mainly for me to teach her SPELLING haha
wonder they learn alphabets well at this age??

mind still "forgetful" she will point to the item but not the alphabet or number..

I remembered Chocbabe's lil Ryan can figures out numbers quite well.. keke

stella
i doubt so leh, i think it's in the heavy industrial area. with big trucks type.

some of our kids here r so amazing.. mine nowadays will take his moisturing cream and tried to apply onto his own neck n arms.. (coz itchy itchy).. picture flash cards r for him to mess up the place. arrrghh..