(2007/02) February

smurfy, I think acc to Pine Garden's calculation, need 4kg for 40 ppl but aiyoh, last time I went acc to calculation, end up so much leftover :p So I ordered 3kg this time.

sunsweet, wah 9 course dinner.. so long zhong. Where?

jas, you are good at acting dead! I will die.. beth is very rough. yesterday she hit my sister's dog with a plastic stick until the doggy's skull got kok kok sound and then proceeded to pull out a bunch of fur from her ears. Poor doggy.

garfield, wow
Your zz is really something!

smurfy

3 kg for 40 pax sure enuff. i only ordered 2.5kg for 40 pax.initially i only want 2kg, but min 2.5kg

i remembered i ordered 4kg cake for my ah gong 70th birthday. got ard 80guests and cakes still got leftover

stella/catz
thanks for ur fast feedback..then i shall maintain my order...

neogarden
ohh i just called up neogarden.. for baby's 1st birthday,, if we can send or fax the birth cert. to them, can have 15% discount.. cheap cheap and nice food.

catz.
ai yoh.. ehhh beth seems a rough child.. anything u gonna do abt it now? will it become a problem in future? or let her have all the funs she wants now?

smurfy, think i only order 2 kg for each day... be celebrating both sat n sun as it is a chalet thing

cos i think by the time ple eat their dinner, this is just dessert... i realise cakes always got left overs 1

actually i like the idea of cupcakes but hor my hb dun like.

jelly, i dun knoe what they wan to do with him. hmmm maybe smile? cos suppose to be enchanting smile lor. i hope he is fine cos last nite he woke up crying pitifully. think nitemare or wat n keep clinging onto me.

for us, sometimes we act sleepin when we puttin him to sleep. it safe cos he sleep in playpen.

Catz,
T'was great chatting with you too
I usually look like an ah soh at home. Put on make-up yeaterday cause I was meeting a friend at raffles place and didn't want to look too out of touch mah.

smurfy,
neo garden gives 15% discount ah?! Aiyo, now I feel tempted to swap already... have ordered yls but haven't paid up so can still change my mind i guess. How, how? yls vs neogarden.

Sunsweet,
count me in too ok? Turf city is quite convenient for me
Thanks for organising

FREE trial Kindermusic @ Terrific Tikes (URL: http://www.terrifictikes.com)

Class: Kindervillage (0-18mths)

Group size 6 - 12 kids

Date: 23rd Feb 2008 (Sat)
Time: 11am
Duration: 45 mins

Please leave your details as follows
Nick/ Name of parent/ Name of Child/ DOB of Child/ Contact no.

1) Sunsweet/ Eileen/ Ci Rui/ 21 Feb 07/
2) Garfield/ PM u/ Jasper/ 18 Feb 07/ PM u
3) Fat_babe/ Esther/ Tyler/ 21 Jan 07/ u haf rite?
4) jsmommy/ Rachel/ Joshua/ 1 Feb 07/ PM
5) Catz/Catherine/Bethany/27 Jan 07/u should hv?
6)cherryale/carol/Ashton/3 Feb 07/PM u
7) Dadah/ Winnie/ Ethan/ 6 feb/ PM u

Last edited by a moderator:
garfield
told u hbs r our bottle neck.. hahaha..tell u hor, my hb got no part at all in QY's birthday preparation..everything i do it myself... oh the only part he helped was inviting his guests... and he onli did it yesterday ...another major part he is going to "help" is attending someone wedding lunch on the same day as QY's birthday... that's means i have to do everything myself on sat morning n early afternoon... %^&^%$#%%&^*&*^%&^$%#$^&

wow all of u tokin abt food...

sunsweet, where r u holding? 9 course? like weddin dinner hehe so hello kitty theme?

I onli decided on what to marinate myself and buy BBQ stuff.... but I have not order anything yet...

hahaha I just ordered the cake just now after forgettin numerous times.

smurfy, like wat u say, everything I plan too. cake ordering, seacrhing for food and cake, chalet bookin (with the help of his card - finally he is useful), planning his theme and buying the bd direct stuff, working on the photobook...

smurfy

men are like that, actually i was abit unhappy when my hb booked his car servicing on tomorrow(cos we need to run some errands ). But i must say that my hb is doing much more than i .he took leave to get the food and neccesities and did all the orderings. ur hb ultimate lor.. still can attend wedding lunch on QY birthday. wat time is the party going to start?

smurfy, oh yah wanted to ask you hor.. how come your hubby drives a Stream? Before you got QY? To ferry his kampung around ah? Hee

Yah most men are hands off with such things. My hubby also does nothing.. only invite ppl and turn up on the actual day
My hubby just informed me that he will be doing some ironman swim trial right after Beth's party.. argghhh..

Winnie, I saw some complaints about YLS leh. Stick to Neogardens. Was nice meeting you for sure

smurfy, I think no choice but let Beth be rough (but within reason) for now.. she needs to defend herself against her korkor
But of course I will scold her if she does a no-no. I have rules and they are to be followed by both kids.

photobook
i think i am the stupidest mummy in this world. I thot the first page for the photobook is the first page loh, BUT it turned out to be cover page!!! Luckily I called them cos the first page is actually photos of me pregnant and hb. Have to send them A's photo tonight.

Garfield, i also havent confirm my order with PG for the cake cos I thinking of design. for the cover of your photobook, did you put zz's name on the photo??

still cant believe how silly I have been..

cherry,

dun think u silly... cos i also took a while to digest each pg esp the front nad last pg lor.

at least u can upload that time, me try until feel like idiot.

yes, i put jasper pic (full - 70%) and wordings "happy birthday Jasper"

i so keen want to do up photobook.. but then the pics i took for J like humm not fanciful enough for the book..
maybe I'll just deve them and just put them in her photo album will do..

sunsweet, u v cute... i never think of tat? hello kitty chase aways rat! hehe yr hb think 1?

hello kitty is so sweet, never chase mouse 1 hahaha

Sunsweet
checked with them, my dates does not coincide with CNY.. ME doing it tis weekend.

stella
i think my hb got serious time management problem. dunno why i marry this man. the party's gonna start at 4pm and he's going for a wedding lunch. dun care. with or without his help, me going get things done.

catz
ehh but tim look so jovial and mellow leh.. like the type everything will oso give to sis one lor? B.I.N.G.O. it's for his clan hahaha. HIS family got 6 ppl last time. so sedan's out of the pic since they always go visit relatives in malaysia. anyway along the partor years, the bro got another civic.. so he's no longer the bus-driver lor. they initially booked another stream, then i go ask him "ur family got 14 ppl arr? need 2 stream?.. next day they changed booking to civic.. poor time management, poor money sense...dunno why i marry this man

photobook
i want to see all ur photobooks.. kekeke i never try that coz i no patience and ideas to do such things.

smurfy, like wat catz described, I will act "dead". But sometimes really unbearable and pain loh. So i will gently push away her hands wif my eyes half closed. But sometimes she was so funny that i cannot tahan and burst out laughing, especially when she puuuuu on my face! Then she will giggle all over. *shake head*

Yah... i just let her jump and crawl here and there on the bed. Two sides of the bed are against the wall, and i block one side. Left the side where we rest our foot i will stuff wif pillow.

Catz.... Beth is indeed a garang gal. But she got character! I like!

My hubby would love to do all these errands for YX. The problem is he is tooo busy and always not around. He just been informed there is a conference on the day of bday celebration. He told the boss blankly that day is his bao bei's bday celebration so cannot go. Hee...

Group size 6 - 12 kids

8) chocbabe/ Eileen/ Ryan/ 1st Feb/

Had a really bad day so far... here is the story.

My boy had a fall at home last sunday and got a bump on his head. Last night, I brought him to IKEA, he walk ard and then also fall on the same spot and his bump became bigger..

This morning, my hubby had a lecture from my MIL about how we didn't do a good job abt taking care of him, etc. which made us very pissed.

She was kidnapped in Malaysia before so she very paranoid that it will happen to my son in Singapore. Their take is we have to be 1-2 metres away from the child 24hours a day.

My hubby and I are super angry about the things she said. Our way of bringing him up is different from her ways 30+ yrs ago. We want ryan to be exposed to alot of things from young. They believe in carrying him all the time. That came about when we brought Ryan to the beach to play on the sand, etc. If i was at home this morning, I would have argued, why dun we keep Ryan in a cage with pure oxygen?

Sorry need to let it all our. Can't wait for Ryan to turn 18 months, so that I can send him to playgroup for a few hours day.

BTW, they also critised my SIL didn't take care of their child well also and thus he can't speak at 16 months.

I dun understand why they cannot see that every child is different and every parent has their own way of bring up their child.

Can't wait to tell them off that their chance of taking care of their child has passed. Now is MY turn!

Rachel,

think there was a thread (under free only) one mummy giving away many glass bottles... prob u check it out?

sunsweet, if u submit sat or sun, think u can get by nxt wk. no prob. cos I send mine last sat n yesterday aftn i got it liao... so fast rgt?

Sunsweet, if u do the photobook full time and send in your order by Monday then definitely in time for CNY.

another silly question from me...how to cut 2 or 3 tier cake?? I wanted a 2 tier, different flavour but my mil said wouldnt the cake be very small and then very 'han suan'?? also, how to cut the cake? will each slice be very big?

garfield, i was told by the lady that they will fit the picture to the debossed area leh, so I only need to send in photo..correct?

sunsweet to be specific, they need 5 working days but they are so nice, can rush for u if u say things like its for your baby's birthday party etcc..

another question on cake - garfield/smurfy/catz, what message do you put on the cake?? And if the cake has a design, where to put the happy birthday message??

chocbabe, dun be sad. u see Ryan so advanced... can walk early when the rest of his age still cannot. we also cannot stop them nag

cherry, the lady voluteer to add the photo for u?
for me, I already done the design as cover pg and send together liao. I think on cover pg, u shld have choice to design how u wan the picture to be, or add few more pic if u wan... u can actually try it at home. click on the cover pg and then see if u can change design. u shld be able to. is tat wat u tokin abt? sorrie i also quite silly in this la... ;p

unless u only wan one pic at the centre on cover pf , then if the lady say can help u do, then u can just submit the photo.

for cake, I just put "happy birthday Jasper" actually wanted something creative but i not u see... hahaha

i put the words on the front side of cake as I dun wan to spoil the design on top.

btw, my hb keep emphasising no two or 3 tier cakes cos how to put into fridge and chill? i think he silly man.

Cherryale
i not creative at all, or oso not into the details, i just choose the designs at PG.. follow the design fully.. where they put the name.. the messages etc.. the 2 tier cake right? i asked, cut the top layer as per normal.. then after serving that piece, u can follow the lines to cut the 2nd layer..

chocobabe
it's alright. all of us have problems with our ILs..just left ear in, right ear out... and laff it off when they r not ard.

hi rachel,

I can let you have mine first. After you r done, then return back to me lor..

I have 5 or 6 pieces i think. If pass to you on the 3rd, if it too late?

sunsweet, yes must start to do noe...

for me i v lazy so need many days to complete...

so if u hardworkin and use 2 full days to do, sure can complete n u can send liao... hehe

i m giving this bk to my mum. I think she will be delighted lor.

sunsweet, no exactly standard in a way u can add as many photos but u cannot tilt them like scrap bk. u can add wordings. also u can change how translucent u wan the photo to be. u can also add borders to yr photo. pg also got colour u can choose.

*whispers* QY dun like my inlaws.. kekkee everything oso cannot touch, cannot xplore, cannot play.. and he always trying to break free when the mil is carrying him.

sunsweet, have u downloaded the free software from them? prob u download and then try... pls select the correct sizing u wan... or else after u do finsh n u realise it not the size u wan, then too late....

Group size 6 - 12 kids

8) chocbabe/ Eileen/ Ryan/ 1st Feb/
9) longan / Sing-Ing/Shaun/8 Feb/

garfield, yes, the lady said since its for A's birthday, they will not charge extra, just need to send in the photo asap and she will insert for me. can I check with you, if the first page, the one with the black page is the cover, then when you open the cover, do you see a blank page or is it the page 2 on the soft copy?

smurfy, think i follow you, no time to do a separate design. I will just choose the round 2 tier cake. I emailed PG and asked them how big in terms of size will a 3kg 2 tier cake look. See if they reply me. I hope it will not look small. Are u getting them to deliver or self collect?

garfield,
Congrats on zz being shortlisted!
Good luck and hope he wins that category!

Catz,
Woah, Beth very rough hor? Poor doggy...

smurfy,
Woah, luckily you're ordering from the reliable Neogarden, so one less thing to worry on QY's birthday!

cherry!!!
Heee, you're so cute... put your preggy pic on the cover page!
But then again, I must say their instructions is not very clear.
I'm also trying to rush the photobooks in time for CNY *sigh*

chocbabe,
Just ignore your MIL lah... now I just tell myself I can't please everybody, so just ignore what they say.

Hee, yesterday my mum saw Soph and commented "How come she's eating OK and still so skinny?", basically comparing her to my 15kg 18-mth old nephew.
So I just replied her "Fat pple got fat genes and skinny pple got skinny genes"

chocbabe..for the caps tink u keep yours nvm..coz mine is to be kept in freezer as storage..oso dunno when can return u.. haha..

cherryale, i oso going to order my cake from PG.. i intend to get 2 tier cake.. but e funny thot is how to cut the cake..??? haaha..

headache over the design oso.. decoration such as cartoon character, etc must provide ourselves lehz..tink i'll go dwn n discuss wif them in person.. u got ur design already? dunno if we all order together can get discount or nt..

rachel...
ok, if u want do let me know, unless u intend to keep your milk in the freezer for another 2 years.. haha... dun think i will be having my No. 2 till ryan in 3yr old.

sunsweet, huskie, garfield, smurfy,
thanks for all your advice...

How are all ladies n babies here?

My girlfriend who lost her baby gal induced labour on Tues..she's recovering at home now..hope to see her soon..but so busy lately.
Her previous miscarriage was also when the bb was around 24 weeks..not sure what is the cause this time..very sad..she has an older boy, but already 36yo..not sure if she wants to ttc again after this.

We had a busy 2 days since my hb took leave, we shopped for furniture n lighting at IKEA n
Balestier. We reached home almost 10pm past 2 days..my poor boy has dark rings cos not enough sleep, n he didnt eat well too, cos outside there's always distractions..thankfully moving house is only once in a many many years event..n we almost done with the shopping..Our reno will be completing by next weekend! Looking forward to move, but quite scared thinking about where to start to pack.

Catz..So u getting ready for Beth's party, or has it been celebrated?

Sunsweet..Royal cakes are nicest n not too ex..in my opinion. Esp their chocolate n mango cakes..YUMMY!

chocbabe,

sumtimes the old people abit more "gancheong" about the kiddos...so over react...my own mum nvr take care of kids b4...so wateva i do she dun dare to say a thing...my MIL..quite scared of me...so she oso dun say anything..she show lurve for the kiddos..but sumtimes...i wish they can give "constructive suggestions" oso..like asking my hb to care more..

you planning for 2010 baby??...kekeke

huskie,
your nephew is PHAWWW HUGE!!!...my daughter 15kg for a 3 yo is considered big liao...n he's only 18mths..abit overweight liao le..

juz measure tyler...he's still about 75cm..weighs 11kg...haf been stagnant since 2 months ago..kekeke..

sunsweet
i'm mean.. laffing inside my heart.

jas
i tried to pretend "dead" on the bed last nite, but open my eyes teeny weeny to peep at QY. That boy got a scare when I was not moving.. pouts his mouth and ready to burst into tears..

garfield
all the best to ZZ today!!

skinny_babe, YX, like tyler also stagnant in terms of size these 2 months. Think both babies abt same size. 2 days ago measure her, she is still 75cm and weight think slightly more than 10kg.

choc_babe, ur mil quite poor thing also being kidnapped b4 that's why now she so kan cheong on Ryan. Like wat the rest said, just one ear in one ear out. In sg i wld say it is still quite safe to let our bbs wander around a bit. But seriously if in msia, i wldn't let my bb leave me an inch outside. Too many incidences of kidnapping happen around...

smurfy.... QY so sweet... That shows how much u mean to him!
Last nite another nightmare putting YX to sleep. But i insist not to carry her this time and on the baby songs softly for her. Slowly both of us fall asleep on our bed.

smurfy ah smurfy... Ur son loves u lah, though he idiolise his dad. When out to street, YX prefers the surrounding than ME! Like every morning i drop her at my aunty's place. She won't waive "bye bye" or smile or sometimes not even look at me when i drove off, as she is busily occupied wif the kids walking around her. But when she is hungry or sleepy or wanted to feel secured or love, I am the ones she will be looking after. Babies are smart! They know who love them the best!

I am from Jan 07 thread and we are organising a trial session with GUG this sunday but as I have something on so I cant make it and would like to give up my slot. Any mummies wanna go? Please post in Jan thread if you are interested. Thankies. Its $45 for the trial.

Date : 27 Jan 08
Time : 1.30pm-3pm
Venue : United Square, #01-20/27
Fee : $45 nett

Thankies!