(2007/02) February

gak!!! Thank u so much on instruction on double boil porridge!!! Very helpful!!! And yaya... I never steam the fish first that's why my porridge turn out so fishy. I dun even want to eat not to say my baby.
Btw, does brown rice takes a longer time to cook compared to white rice? 1st time I even soaked the brown rice and lentils overnite, but next day I boiled for 1 hour still like not very soft.

Catz..OIC..wow still in thomson after so many years!
Our reno has not started..waiting for permit to approve..think can move early Jan or mid Jan.

Gak..really? Pergo is good but ex. But already told contractor to provide the flooring..but not sure which brand he is providing.

Talking about cars..taxi fares are up again..
by quite alot..ytd nite, my hb said like tat might as well buy a car..it will cost about the same or slightly more only..hehehe..i of cos happy if my hb buy car but dont want him to hav extra burden of financing a car.

Gak, this is littletouch leappad take-along tote: Sturdy carryall holds your LittleTouch LeapPad learning system, books and cartridges for learning on the go! The Take-Along Tote features soft padding to protect your LittleTouch learning system and a side pocket to carry a bottle. Two more pockets store up to four books and cartridges... or four diapers! The long adjustable shoulder strap is designed for comfortable carrying. Tote material is spill resistant and surface washable.

1117084.jpg

hi all, any of ur little ones know how to walk oredi? my gal still hv to hold on to the things around her to walk. She has 6 teeth now.

anyone ordering birthday stuff fr birthday direct? seems like no spree at the moment lei.

jelly, i wan to buy the little touch bag too...

pekochan,
zz also need to hold thing to stnad n walk.

btw, we already order birthday direct recently under Jelly.... u miss it ......

gak,
My diet not varied lah... just very health-conscious that's all... haha, cos I kiasi!
We consume so much yoghurt cos our breakfast is plain yoghurt + honey + flaxseed oil + spirulina + cornflakes and fruits if got time to cut.
But once in a while, I do like my chwee kueh or wonton mee for breakfast too

I also like to double boil porridge, but recently used unpolished rice, I find that it doesn't cook as fast so when I have unpolished rice, I will use my slow cooker instead.

Hey, I like your idea of adding apple to baby's food... think tomorrow I may make an apple porkchop with potatoes for Soph

cherry,
yeah, I think A takes after your hubby lah.. your hubby is so tall and skinny! I think don't have to worry as long as baby is active and healthy!

As for grilles, you stay in condo right? I think most condos will have a few fixed designs that you can choose from so you might as well check with your management office for the grille contractor who can provide that specific design.
But better tell your hubby to do it lah... my neighbour's friend's kid pulled out the drawers from the TV console to climb to the window... kids are very smart!
Accidents do happen - like Eric Clapton's son... fell from his full-length window in his penthouse leh... and the son was already 8 years old... so poor thing! Heee, but ver seldom hear of angmohs installing grilles, esp. in a posh penthouse!

Peko, ya... Our order from bday direct oredi reach vpostUSA.

garfield, hope the stuff will reach me by next wednesday so that i can pass to those gg for our xmas gathering next thurs.

charis
my sis told me it's at Chinatown/outram area
Pergo's number's at home, when she go home tonite then i let u noe

actually if my sis got the laminates from Pergo & Pergo sent their man to do up the floor for her..
but my sis needed to liaise with the contractor & Pergo to keep a day fro Pergo to do the flooring

btw my laminate flooring oso done by my contractor..
dunno wat brand oso, got 10yrs warranty
but oso like that lo
me not so hardworking like my sis go search for cheaper alternatives ;P

garfield
my boy not sometimes le..he's EVERYDAY!
his poo looks fine to me, not LS kind

hehe..oso dunno to bring him to potty to poo or juz let him be lo
my mom wld bring him to the potty but i wld finish feed him then wash up ;P
cuz sometimes if carry him to potty liao den he won't finish his food lo!

jelly
my brown rice ok le..
sometimes i wld mix the short white rice with medium brown rice, turns out fine
i always dbl boiled abt 2hrs...
but of cuz the husks still slightly hard lo
dun think brown rice husks wld ever turn soft

the littletouch bag sounds very good!
me oso interested

but how many colors??
Robinson selling? must be card holder a not?

Garf,
ask you a silly question hor... how to use potty ah? I mean, how to clean up when they have finished their business?

Peko,
I also missed the birthday direct spree
Let me know if you spot any ok? Worst case, want to combine orders? I think I got around $30USD worth of order.

Gak,
Took a look at the eu yen seng bottle just now... it says "coarse rice + si shen". Must cook for 5 mins woh... hehe. Paiseh, gave you wrong info that day :p

Huskie,
I tried this with ethan for lunch just now and he liked it: Boil potato and mash up. Mix in carrots, broccoli, chicken and melted cheese. maybe you can try on sophie too.

gak,

Only 1 colour... Dun think for card member only. Let me go back and check the pamphlet to9.

Btw, any mummies got contact of contractor for window grilles? We also want to instal asap...

Gak..OIC ok thanks..help me find from yr sis ok..cos I cant find their details on the net.

Yes..very important to put grilles on windows..esp with young kids in house.

Jelly, u can try HDB website..cos they hav a list of those approved by them.

huskie
my hubby not into healthy stuff le so if i made breakfast like this, only for I, ME & MYSELF!
keke ;)

but i managed to make himlike salads!

How long does it take to use slow cooker for the unpolished rice?
i'm actually using mixed wild rice blend for him, bought at Organic4Less..
think there's unpolished rice inside too

weird but apples seems to taste better when cook with food & wld enhance the food too

but when steamed by itself, it dun taste so good lo..

re: window grills
YUP! i oso feel that widow grills are very VERY impt!!!
heard & read too many stories & news liao!
BETTER BE SAFE THEN SORRY! ;)

gak,
no lah, luckily I'm not THAT blur :D The maid does the cooking mah, so I'm a little clueless there.

Peko, no leh. Never did a spree before. What do I need? Is it straight forward like just go to the website, order and pay by credit card? If so, I don't mind doing it for the 2 of us.

peko, dun think will do another one lei...

If u got enuf order (preferable abt US$200 to minimise shipping cost per item) and have vpost or comgateway account, u can order urself. Just put ur vpost/comgateway addresshe as billing and shipping address. They accept international cc.

jelly, thxs for the effort.

winnie, after he poo poo in potty, either my maid or I (my hb never done it!), will bring him to toilet and rinse his bottom. then we change him.
the shit in potty I will use the water spray in my toilet, spray into potty to make the shit soft and "removed" from potty surface. Then I throw the content into the toilet bowl and then flush.
sounds gross ah?

huskie, apple porkchop with potato sounds so appetising... yummy... how u make porkchop for her? is it must be v soft? zz only got 1 and half teeth...

gak,
Woah, you doubleboiled your porridge for 2 hrs? The last time I did it for so long, the water dried up and the kitchen got smoky!

Actually this yoghurt cornflake breakfast is the easiest to make for one person, cos you can portion out how much you want

Winnie,
Thanks for the recipe. That was what I did for Soph yesterday, but I didn't add cheese cos I haven't intro cheese to Soph yet. I had extras like green beans and cauliflower though.
Did you puree the chicken?

garfield,
Heee, Soph's apple porkchop will be a very scaled down version of our adult's one... and even with 5 teeth, I still need to puree lah... haha, I cannot imagine givgin a big piece of porkchop to her... she'll be trying to chomp it like some caveman!
I'll just cook the apples with abit of water + dash of cinnamon powder, and steam the pork, then puree them separately... and top the pureed pork with the pureed apple.
I normally separate out the purees for something new, & then mix it in when feeding. This is so that if she doesn't like the taste of one, I can still feed the other.

winnie
hehe..not a problem ya ;)

re: potty
i add water into the potty b4 he poos so easier to clean after he finished his "biz" :p
i oso dump the "biz" into the toilet bowl & use my shower head (cuz my toilet dun hv the water spray) to spray at the potty over the toilet bowl,
once a day i wld clean the potty using soap..

huskie ah huskie
u mean the porridge got burn up?
or the water in the pot dried up?

my porridge's fine even after dbl boiling for 3hrs le ;P
but of cos need to refill the water in the pot when it got dangerously low..
i refill with HOT water so not to affect the cooking process

YUM! YUM!
ur apple porkchop sounds very good! :p *slurp*
hv u tried puree cooked pork b4??
i find it becomes very pasty & my boy always gagged on it..
so nowadays i shred any cooked meat with a fork & spoon

gak,
Yep, I also refill with hot water, but that day I was sleepy and Soph was cranky, so by the time I went to kitchen, the water has all dried up and the bottom of the pot and bowl (I just use a bowl to put porridge in) were black, but luckily porridge still OK, but got smoky smell!

For meat, yeah, I always puree them... be it pork or chicken. Eh, your boy can eat shredded meat? Means he can chew leh!
Soph only eats shredded fish but fish is so soft and flaky.
Now I'm teaching her to chew Cheerios instead of just sucking them... heee, today I heard a crunching sound, and I think she was surprised by it too

Winnie...Thanks for the recipe idea..must try soon..cos I usually cook porridge for Yael..If we are out, I'll jus bring along bottled baby food like Heinz n brown or white rice cereal to mix with hot water n some pieces of fish..
So boring same kind of food everytime..haha.

Huskie..That's the prob with SAHMs alone at home..I so far didnt burn anything but almost did..those times my FIL quite alert help me turn off the fire before the porridge burns.

Gak..Thanks so much for Pergo contact! I'll check it out.

smurfy, really? dun know when will i see improvements. But thanks for the encouragement, guess I will still continue to spend as much time as I have with A. You dun have a licence yet? quickly go and learn, must plan ahead, next time will need to ferry QY and no.2 around for classes and all, better if u can drive.

Hey gals, GAP having sale, all baby clothes at 30% off and with UOB cc, you get additional 10% off. I bought quite a few pieces for A.

garfield, thanks for the addy

jelly, i cant wait to get our bday direct stuff..aiyah, but I havent got a venue for the party..headache headache

Gak, yah, hb loves his current car, he said it has character cos very sporty looking. I really dun understand why men are so into cars, but luckily its car and not women

no lah, i dun have the money to keep 3 cars
the spare car is a civic at my inlaws place, NOT mine but can use if I want as FIL has his own car and MIL cant drive
But now petrol price is so high plus ERP everywhere, its very expensive to drive to work. I have to pay nearly $10 for ERP alone both ways on CTE, how to afford daily plus if both drive, its double the cost. Think the entire Spore will have ERP gantries soon. Really cant stand it!! penalize all those who have to travel north and have no other viable routes.

charis, yes, I hate to take taxis cos its so expensive!! Plus the surcharges are exobitant and now they are increasing the CBD surcharge to $3

huskie, good news!! this morning hb told me he put on weight, he is now 68kg, his lightest was 60kg and his entire face was so sunken then. So, I kept fatten him up and he eventually maintain at 65kg, now finally grow to 68kg. I am so happy
then i dun look so fat

cherry,
Woah, your hubby is only 60+kg for his height?!
Tsk tsk... too skinny!!! Must maintain at 68-70kg then more macho-looking!

No lah, you don't look fat at all! But you are very petite!

Charis,
Yeah, when you move to your new place by yourself, better to get a crockpot, then don't have to worry so much!
Now whenever I boil something, I set the alarm on my oven to remind me.

h gals

good morning!!

MIA for 2 days cos i was on course.

smurfy

i am glad that QY sticks to you! cherish knows how to choose people accordingly to the place where she is. if at my mum place, she will choose my dad , then my mum , then me.

at my place, she sticks to me like a leech.

GOOD MORNING MOMMIES!
another raining day!

my boy last nite very cranky keeps waking up!

dunno wat's wrong......

huskie
hmmm..hehe at least u're sleepy le
me burnt the porridge twice at my mom's!!
but no smoke le..or smell

mine hor the bowl & contents inside all burnt!
must re-cook ;P
& all cuz i was busying surfing net, chatting in the foruim :p

but so far i nv burnt anything when i'm at homethink cuz my home using those electric stove so water dun dry up so fast & easily

erm even though i shred his meat hor, he still use swallow leh..
unless the meat too big piece then he wld chew a bit but still gagged lo

hehe..had u wateched the movie "My Step-mom's an Alien"?
think our babies like "aliens" hor..keke
everything's new & interesting to them! ;P

charis
hope u're able to get a good price ya!

but then of cos u can't compare with the contractor's laminate flooring's price cuz his oso dunno wat brand!

cherryale
hehe..yup!
lucky ur hubby's car crazy not WOMEN CRAZY! ;P
wah drivng through those ERPs really killers lo!
think S'pore got High Standard of Living but we're all CHEAP LABOURS!
everyhting need to pay, oredi pay COE & Road Tax still not enough..
nv see our pays increasing leh

but hor think it's still cheaper than taking cabs??
ya petrol prices forever increasing!
but if u driving Honda think it's ok?
my sis got a Honda Jazz, & think the longest her car can tahan's 2 weeks then pump petrol once!
amazing hor!!
she drives to work daily, bukit panjang to outram vs..5day/week
occasional drive out for lunch, run errands, etc
think Honda cars got this fuel saving thingy installed so fuel consumption's lower compare to other cars
we driving KIA juz 4 trips of to & fro the airport & need to pump petrol liao

KIA's very heavy!
i won't wanna own a korean car anymore after this one..

so ur hubby drives u to work?

cherryale
yah no license.. will go learn next year when i settled down in my new home.. ehh i have not tot abt the birthday cake.. but the pressie right? i was thinking of Little TiKes - Coupe Car. it is on promo now in Robinsons at $109 on 21st Dec if i remmeber correctly (anyone has brochure to help me confirm coz i discarded mine). i bought a lot of LEAPFrog thingies for QY.. but these r just wat the mummy wants for the boy.. not what the boy wants.. i think the boy will love the car most!

Poor QY jumps off the bed last evening. He was playing on my parents' bed, when he leap forward and ended on the floor...my father was too slow to catch him.. burst out crying... but father say did not land on the head.. whole nite thereafter was very "yang-orh"..every little thing goes "eeh --eehh--ohh-ohh"... so noisy... noise pollution again -_-'.. no playing on the bed for him in future.. haiz.. that boy loves playing on the bed, forgets everything the moment we put him there.. flip, turn, roll, free fall backwards, leap forward.. no more playing on bed for him..

gak, smurfy,
I made yogurt again last night - failed again!
This time got more yogurt like thing at the bottom, but the whole thing is still milky like

I made sure temp was lower, abt 38 degrees C, then put it in my Tiger Thermal Magic pot to keep warm, but by morning, the whole thing was cold... maybe cos of the cold weather? MY whole flat is sooooo cold grrrrrr....
Think I may seriously consider getting a yogurt maker!

Hee, I must also admit that I burnt my stuff once cos of Internet!

Have been so out of touch with movies and pop songs etc... is that a new movie?

btw, have you started feeding your boy nutritional yeast yet?

gak, the littletouch tote bag is sold at $10 to public as well.

garfield, nowadays if we see that YX gg to poo, as in kek sai, we quickly bring her to toilet bowl and poo into toilet bowl directly. She does not like to sit on the potty.

cherryale, aren't u gg to have the bday party at ur condo function room? Ya... hope to get the stuff soon. But hor stupid vpost has not billed me yet though i saw from my vpost account they have received the items and weighed them oredi. Shipping cost shd be around S$69 after 15% off using UOB cc.

Re: ERP. Luckily I always leave home very early so dun have to pay for ERP. Agree it is really expensive to drive in sg. In msia, petrol price is RM1.92 per litre. Over here is S$1.975 per litre! More than double!!! So we always pump petrol until full full in JB b4 comes back sg.

stella, YX too!!! At my aunt's place, she will choose my aunty then me. Back to home, she sticks to me like velcro!!! But always bu she de and went to carry her when she called out "ma ma ma" for me to carry her.

gak, i need to pump petrol every week! As everyday i travel like 100km, so one tank just nice for 1 week. I am driving altis...

smurfy, poor QY, hope he did not hurt himself much. When YX fall from our bed last sat, we also thot she did not hurt herself, until later on i saw some bruises at her right ears. But it does not seem to make her pain lei.

huskie huskie... I think we are more like cavewomen now becos we seemed to have lost touch of wat happen around us! The only time i update myself is news from radio when i drive, and i force myself to spend sometime each morning to quick read newspaper.

smurfy, i still have robinson flyer. Will check for u to9.

smurfy,
Poor QY... hope he's OK... just monitor for vomitting.
Dunno why babies like to leap!

jelly,
Hee, I agree... we're cavewomen and our babies cavebaies!
Did you notice how they get tired of something and then they'll just throw it aside roughly? Just like the prehistorc cavemen!

talking about gift to get for the baby. I'm still clueless about what she wants. She doesn't seem to be interested in particularly anything. She is just happy going out and mixing with other people now.

Yesterday her mini playgroup came over to our place and she was happy. There is actually about 3 other babies in her playgroup but one was absent yday. Oh ya, one of the 10 mth old girl can walk already. So cute to see her take her few steps. She's a real tough baby.

I don't think they really know how to play yet lah..but i just want YR exposed to other babies. Don't want her to be a mountain baby.

Yesterday the 10 mth old baby was playing with YR's balloon then she used the balloon to hit YR's head repeatedly and YR just laughed and laughed....Then when YR used the balloon to hit the 10 mth old, she also just laughed and laughed. But when they used the balloon to hit the 22mth old, she froze. hahahahaha

The 10 mth old also played by snatching snacks with YR on the mat. It's really funny to watch cos both of them had their own snacks in their hands, but were always seeking for each others' snacks instead. So silly.

milkieeee
yah yah, these kinda playgrps r very gd for our kiddos...

huskie
mine dun just throw things aside when bored. he has this silly habit of throwing things down when seated on highchair. think he loves to see things drop... and he swings both hands as an indication of "no"

jas
thanks for checking up in advnace

stella/jas
likewise, QY prefers grandma most.. yesterday after the fall, he goes "eehh-ehh--ohh-hh" whenever he sees my father.. and keeps reaching out for my mum even wheen i carry him

milkie,
hahaha, so funny! I think at 10mths old, our babies still don't know what is playing with each other!
The poor 22 mth old baby!
Heee, did you serve your chicken casserole cubes to the babies this time?

smurfy,
Yes yes, Soph also has this habit. It's OK, cos they are learning about gravity!
Action and reaction.
Hee, and of course Mummy's reaction to throwing things

Eh, you mentioned aluminium grilles not pretty issit? I got my vendor to quote rod iron, but someone told me aluminium much cheaper... now wondering which one to install? After I told hubby your comments on aluminium, he sort of preferred rod iron. But I wonder if rod iron will rust?

hello mummies, have been reading but not posting. somehow no mood to post when i know that next year, my workload will probably not even give me time to come in and read during office hours. sianz. But hor, i have also been following PVL's tip and will try out this apple/ pork recipe posted by one of the mummy here.

jelly, thanks for oredering the b'day direct stuff. i am thinking that we will throw his b'day lunch at a restaurant instead. less hassle this way as it will be limited to immediate family only.

milkie, i also don't know what presents to buy for baby. my parents insist on shopping for a Christmas pressie for T but seriously, my boy is only interested in trash and cheap toyes. haha... good for me... he is low maintenance ;-)

garfield, congrats that zz is selected to be a potential star on tvc :)

charis, when are u moving to the East? u will soon be near Sap, cherryale and me :)

huskie
rod iron hb says will rust.. and harder to maintain.. aluminium ones very easy to clean and wipe (coz no designs, shapes etc).. but i think aluminium ones quite filmsy leh? dunno.. maybe u go visiting different's friends houses over the weekend to get the feel.. my mum's place the best.. solid ugly stainless steel ones in the living room and one of the rooms (coz facing corridor) .. yah yah, the mummy's reaction when trying things down.. i pity this boy, he is like testing a time-bomb, i hope i will be patient enough -_-'

curtains again
i have not went down, but i need to check, if i got all rooms n living room facing strong morning sun (so the sun will shine on QY's golden backside to wake him up every morning :D ).... what kinda curtains i need to get? (All day n night? or day n nites for the rooms enough oredi)

smurfyyyy, YR used to be like QY liking to throw things down from anywhere be it her changing table, her rocking chair, the couch. But she does it less now that i stopped picking up the things for her. Cos if u notice right, whenever they throw down their toys or whatever thing that they are holding down, they always look at you and then look down at the toy as if expectin u to pick it up...and when u do, they will throw it back down. Think it's a game to them.....kekekekeke

huskie, :p i didn't serve my beautiful concoctions to them okay. They ate their lunches before coming over. hee hee

it's really fun watching them though. YR and 10 mth old are very aggro as compared to the 22 mth old. She's so gentle....YR and 10 mth old are non stop moving around. They had a crawling match too yday cos both were trying to catch me...hahahahaa They also pull each other's hair and pinch each others' faces...but it's ok lah..they both didn't cry, they just laughed. Think both of them a bit into rough play.

JAzzcy...eh, if your parents want to buy x'mas pressie for T, then let them buy lah.
He might be able to appreciate and play with it when he is older. A lot of supposedly good toys that I bought YR also goes to waste, cos she basically quite happy with just touching our stuff instead. But just let them play with the toys next time lor...then they sure play with it.

oh ya, yday i gave YR some barley tea (it's the type served in korean restaruants) and she loves it...

It should be ok right?? no caffeine in it....

jelly

thanks babe!
erm...when promotion ends??

wah so good can save so much money to pump petrol in m'sia!
for singaporeans more difficult unless we gg on a trip in m'sia..
otherwise juz go into JB & out hor can't pump much lo

huskie!
hmmm..maybe too much milk not enough yogurt powder???

hehe...the brewer's yeast is sitting on my kitchen top!
always forget eevn when it's rite infront of me ;P
hv u intro to soph yet???
i scared bitter he dun like le

think i might add into his milk..

how come ur hse so cold??
i felt last nite was warmer le..

that movie very old liao...
sometimes still got show on the movies's channels on SCV

now my boy's on FM, i can dump him at my mom's to enjoy some quiet time with my hubby ;P
watch movie, go for buffet, etc..keke

smurfy
*ouch* how's QY feeling now??
my boy oso same as QY..
he noes where is soft & he can juz roll, knock his head, rub his head, play timber, fall backwards, etc..all the dangerous stunts!
cuz soft soft mah not painful lo!

there's once at my mom's (we put a single matteress on the floor for him to play on),
the mattress sheet's slightly longer than the mattress,
so he didn't realise that, tot still soft soft,
so he juz bang his head on the hard cold floor!
end up crying like no tomorrow loh...

but i find it quite funny le ;P
wahahahaa....