(2007/02) February

milkshake/huskie,

sorry me intrude again! I will be letting my boy try fresh milk when he turn one next wed.but if he does accept fresh milk how do i bring it out?cos we supposed put in fridge? n when bb wants we have to bring fresh milk out to 'cool' it? thanks!

choo,

so far i've been giving my girl cold milk straight from the fridge and she's ok with it. But if your boy is not used to cold milk, maybe you can just buy those packet UHT type of milk (UHT pasteurized) for your boy first?? I'm not so sure leh....so far, my girl has been pretty kind to me. She's not very picky with her food temperature.

gak,
You wean off bm totally already?
Eh, talk about movies... heee, like jelly said, I'm really a cavewoman... I don't even have time to watch TV anymore! Only thing I watch is Animal Planet cos sometimes Soph likes to watch the dogs.
I definitely put enough culture starter, cos it's 1 tsp to 1 litre, but this time I used 1/2 tsp to only 250ml milk!
My home is really quite cold... last night rained all night... open the windows a bit and it's like aircon! Sometimes when the wind blows, it sounds like the waves in the sea. I wish it's warmer!

Haven't intro the yeast to Soph leh, that's why asked you. And you bought the brewers yeast, not the nutritional yeast? I wonder which is better?

smurfy,
For your curtains, I think maybe you can add a layer of those blackout material to your thicker curtain? So when you wanna watch TV during the day and find it too bright, can use it to black out the light.

Thanks for info on grilles... I'm gonna check out with Mr. Grilles again.

choo,
I warm it up using the warming bm method i.e. put the bottle of fresh milk is a bowl of warm water.
Not the whole bottle of fresh milk, but whatever you poured out for his consumption into his milk bottle.

Cos I've got a weak stomach, so thought better play safe for Soph.
Heee, yesterday I mixed fresh cow's milk and fresh goat milk with milo for myself... immediately tummy upset then diarrhoea!

Side question:
Is Winnie the Pooh a male or female bear?
Winnie is a feminine name, but in the storybook, Pooh is addressed as "he"?!

Hubby thinks Pooh is a male, but all along I assumed Pooh is female cos of his/her name

gak
i oso find it funny, watching play on the bed.. but after yesterday's incident.. no more jumping on the bed again, otherwise he thinks he is superman, can leap forward..

yeah yeah! hb just sms-ed to say he removed his wisdom tooth!! and i replied saying "yeah! u r on mc and we can get mOre things done!" .. now he refused to talk to me... $#^%$^&$&%^%

huskie,
when it comes to the name "Winnie", I'm the best person to ask rite? :p Winnie the pooh is male... though the name is female. For a detailed explanation:

Although the real-life Christopher Robin loved his stuffed bear, he also fell in love with an American black bear that he often visited at the London Zoo (he sometimes even went into the cage with the bear!). This bear was named "Winnie" which was short for "Winnipeg," the hometown of the man who raised the bear as a cub and later brought the bear to the zoo. How the real-life bear's name also became the name of Christopher Robin's stuffed bear is an interesting story. As A. A. Milne states in the introduction to Winnie-the-Pooh, "Well, when Edward Bear said that he would like an exciting name all to himself, Christopher Robin said at once, without stopping to think, that he was Winnie-the-Pooh. And so he was." (The "Pooh" part of the name came from a swan of that name.) Thus, the name of the famous lazy bear in the stories became Winnie-the-Pooh even though traditionally "Winnie" is a girl's name and Winnie-the-Pooh is definitely a boy bear.

Yes, I know I am taking your question too seriously. Wahaha :D

Smurfy,
first you say you dislike anything milkie then u say winnie is a gay bear ah? What is this?!?!? :p

v bz today,cherry, my hb was v skinny last time.
when i known him, he was just 54kg! now he is abt 60 ++ kg not reach 65 I think but v gd liao. ple thot i ill treat him though i the one who always do the work! unfair!

jacczy, thxs.

last nite zz learn a new word "there" again 1 word. n he sometimes exclaim "there" and seem to pt to soemwhere for me to bring him there... so funny... dunno whether he really knows the meaning... but he refuse to say mama

jelly, he likes to poo in potty. last time maid bring him direct to toilet bowl, he also can shit but nowadays, he just drew a blank look when u do this to him, he can't poo.... maybe his bottom is too airy n never touch soemthing??

ok, ok, here's a good one:

Since we are on the topic of male/female, are candies/sweets male or female?

Oh ya mummies, just to share, the level 3 of suntec has a lot of babies stuff shops now leh. Maybe I'm just suaku. Didn't know that till yesterday. The babies clothes there are very nice. Milky, you can go there to look for THE dress,

oh dear if winnie the pooh is gay bear, then my zz bd theme is pooh..., how now???

my hb always prejudice against the donkey cos he say he got depression. now if he knows this, how?

keke

garfield

zz so smart ! cherish still dunno how to talk yet. the only sound that she makes is still those baby language and whining sounds.

my hb also only 60 kg only , he is tall and slim and me short and round. i look auntie when i stand beside him

wow many postings again..

Re: Cars..
Cherry wat 2 door u guys are having now? actually hor I and my hub both likes cars.. so i cannot complaint to much when he spents on them cos i also want our car nice n fast too keke and best he cannot hide from me if he does any mods on the car :p

talking abt bb porriage.. I still give Smiley J brown rice powder porriage once a day.. wonder how long will she be taking that till Mummies any idea?

Also do you cook your bb's lunch and dinner together? cos now i use the same stock and meat to cook J's lunch (brown rice powder- 5 mins to prep) and Dinner (white rice porriage- boil for 20-30 mins)

If I would change her diet to both porriage should I cook both meals together and keep the dinner portion? would it get "wind" from eating porriage that's cooked for so long?

Humm hope u gals get what i meant.

stella, zz only looks blurly at our moth when we say papa mama... *faint

somemore my hb got many white hairs n frens joke i stress him!!! I envy him so slim, eat n eat like a fat dinosaur but still no fats deposits... me eat slightly more n end up bloated!

winnie..
*hmph* u remember what i said..
.. later this thread becomes...

1118896.gif

garfield
QY loves the silly donkey with its flipping ears.can burst out laffing.. or loves pulling the ears

he he talking abt bursting out luffing.

everytime as i bring J to the toilet to brush our teeth before her night feed.. she luff out so loudly when i spit out the water to the basin after rinsing my mouth.. I asked her "very farni meh" she just keep on luffing as if someone is tickling her hard..

Wonder whats so farni? is me or the water that's farni?

huskie
yup!

my boy's totally off BM liao!

my boy likes to watch AFC (asian food channel)..think he's gonna be a chef??
initially when he watched this channel,
he refused to eat the food i cooked for him!
but luckily that phase is over! keke..
so smart rite! prefer those yummy looking food to his bland "rojak" food ;P

nowadays i let him watch Playhouse Disney, like Pocoyo, Mickey, Little Einstein, etc

he quite like it cuz i wld entertain him by repeating wat the characters said & acting...keke

the other bean i intro him was the Pinto Bean
yesterday & 2day i intro red lentils..
2molo i'm gonna intro black eye pea

i'm gonna intro Organic Brewer's Yeast to him,
bought it from Organic4Less ;)
at 1st i oso dunno which to intro him...dunno which's better
i bought this one cuz got instructions on how to use

wah ur hse sounded very cold...u live near the sea?
how come so cold??

smurfy
yup! playing on bed is strictly No-No!
some time back on the newspaper, my mom read abt this 4yo died from bleeding membranes cuz he fell off the bed

so scary rite!

cherish dun like to watch tv ..be it cartoon, educational vcds or normal programs. She totally not interested.. she can sit infront of the tv and play with her own things. dunno good or bad.

stella,

hmm it means cherish eye sight will be good... hehe
i secretly wan zz not to see tv when i watch... cos i scare his eyesight fail. he like to watch some ads like the colgate or kfc 1.

smurfy,
Haha... gay bear! That's what I told my hubby too

garfield,
How come your hubby doesn't like Eeyore? He's quite cute leh... although my fav is Tigger

Winnie,
Thanks for the explanation on the "gay bear"!!!
It helps alot... haha, at least I don't have to tell my baby that Winnie is gay or that Winnie has an identity crisis!

gak,
Your boy so cute... see all the yummy stuff on TV and don't want your food.
He and I can be good friends! I used to watch the TV Food Channel the whole day last time! But now my cable TV is only basic plan... think don't have this kind of food channels.
I'd so love to open an organic food place... but in my dreams lah

I live nowhere near the sea... wish I do though

But maybe cos quite high up, so the wind is very strong.
This evening Soph felt a little hotter than usual... hope she didn't catch a cold... I've been covering her with blankets for the past 2 nights + long sleeved and long pants + fan blowing away from her.
I think tonight I'll have to wake up a few times to check her temperature *sigh*

Gak..My hb told me that the contractor provides Supreme laminate..its a local brand, very popular n good quality..but I like Pergo's..they hav really nice designs that really look like the real wood..with texture some more..haha..anyway, I dont hav much say..my hb is paying full for the house n reno, cos he insisted I invest my CPF, n not put it into the house at all..I only contribute 1k..that is anyway from my parents as a gift..haha.

Jazz..I'm moving sometime in early or mid Jan!

Huskie..Hmm wats a crockpot? Is it a slow-cooker?

Milkshake..Hey so fun to hav a playgroup for yr YR!
I hope to start one when we move to Pasir Ris.

I notice a few mothers intro cheese n dairy products..
But I noticed Yael gets "bloody" poo when he takes cheese..not sure if its good leh.

Winnie the Pooh is gay?!!! No lah..
Hahaha..funny man..
Actually I didnt even thought about it when I watched the cartoons when I was young..But I think I remember thinking he was a boy bear..more cos of the voice of the bear inthe cartoon..haha.

Sigh, actually fell asleep liao, but got woken up by screaming and shrieking of my neoghbour downstairs. The kids and the father are so inconsiderate, yelling and playing away at midnight.
Wonder if calling the Neighbourhood Police Post will help?

Charis,
Yep, crockpot is a slow cooker. It's pretty useful if you don't want to start a fire in your flat

"Bloody" poo?! Hmm... do you think he is allergic? But I thought most allergies take the form of some kind of rash or tummy upset?

Morning all...

Me now at Toyota service centre waiting for my turn. My car is having sharp whizzing sound since yday so bring here for checking.

My turn soon. Talk to u gals later back to office.

GOOD MORNING EVERYONE!

2day's rather SUNNY!!

huskie
i check wif my gf liao!
her mom uses SOY MILK POWDER..to make the yogurt
last time used Daisy Fresh milk

haha...no wonder u so good in food! ;)
hey me oso tot of opening an organic shop!
cuz last time find so difficult to find organic food!
but if open must be like organic4less, affordable

how's soph? hope she didn't catch a cold!!!
my boy hates to cover with blanket even if very cold!
always wake up if i cover him!

so i can't rest!

u try making yogurt again last nite??
how abt putting the pot into ur oven??

charis
my laminates oso got texture that type but not Pergo

my livingroom & bedrooms, this's texture laminate...
1120283.jpg

this's my studyroom laminate, not textured..earlier types
1120284.jpg

morning mummies!Its a bright and sunny day today.

huskie, my fav is tigger too
A hugs a tigger to sleep everyday

didnt know its so dangerous to play on bed. My inlaws like to bring baby to their room for him to play on the bed so that he doesnt get to see the maid.

garfield, yah your hb is also very thin. I dun like it when hb is too thin, makes me look very round and fat. I am so happy now that hb is approaching normal weight. think for his height, its 70kg.

sunsweet, never know that you are so into cars
we are driving DC5 now. Its a nice car but not convenient for people with kids. my hb very bu she de to sell the car now, so sad for him. Everytime we want to sell car, he will go thru this phase.

is robinson having sale? Why didnt i receive the pamphlet?? maybe hb threw away before showing to me
he said i bought too many things for A already.

hey ladies,

aiyoh... all this talk about poor winnie the pooh. he belongs in a time when 'gay' meant happy lah
but i'm not a pooh fan.. but somehow kids love it!

very busy.. have all sorts of problems with the leapfrog shipments.. hv to do lots of long distance calls and livechat on CGW until i got high blood pressue.. will update when i can :p

jelly, wah you bring to borneo for servicing ah? i'm too lazy! i just leave it with my mechanic to do everything, incl inspection

Huskie..Ok..Yup he had bloody poo previously together with diarrhoea..then we sent him to PD, she said nothing serious but could be a food allergy or stomach flu..so we checked the net, apparently dairy foods can cause diarrhoea n blood in the motion for some babies.

Yup I think I should get a crockpot or jus a small slow-cooker to make his porridge or soup, cos according my hb slow-cookers use a lot of electricity, so he dont like to hav one haha, but no choice lah safer right..cos sometimes I play with Yael n totally forget about the food cooking..dangerous..
My BIL ever forgot about a small pot of boiling water in his house..he was boiling an egg..then he left the house..came back few hours later..the egg exploded..n the pot burnt quite badly..it was a good pot..thank GOD..if not maybe the stove would have caught fire.

Gak..OIC..thanks for pics, I like the dark wood one u hav, hmm so can choice different color for different rooms huh..idea..I think now most laminates should hav textured ones.

cherryale,

haha your hubby a Honda fan..
SHC member as well??
hehe if he dun want to sell his DC5..then be like my ex-neighbour, have 2 cars .. wife drives the slivia and husband drives the lancer turbo. keke..

hehe tell ur hub.. once he have his hand on the CTR .. he will surely prefer that then his DC5 keke so no point keeping loh keke

anyway some of the mods / accessories he has on teh DC5 can be transferred over to the new car mah

i also did not rec robinson's sale pamphlet.. anyway dun think i'll buy the leappad bag.. anybag can also keep the system mah right?

A small stone got into the reel of my tyre and caused the whinning sound. The technician removed the whole tyre, saw the stone, took it out then ok liao. Phew... FOC also. Hei... Initially wanted to wait until my hubby to come back then only see wat happen, but the sound too loud liao i afraid later tyre punctuate so quickly send for checking this morning.

Ur hubbies all quite skinny hor. My hubby short and fat.

Catz... read abt ur problem faced wif leappad orders. CGW so jialat one ya? Actually is there any other forwarders other than vpost and CGW?

sunsweet, i also never thot of buying the leappad bag one initially, until i saw it is on sale and $10 only so thot of getting one for the system and the books.

Smurfy! Saw u reserve a slot for RC's BP!!! Lazy and busy to browse wat they have...

gak gak,
Sorry to bother you leh... can check with your friend's mum where she buys her soy yogurt powder from? I'll like to try soy too

Last night never make liao. Put in oven cannot lah... consumes too much electricity... thinking of getting the electric yogurt maker, more energy efficient, only 13watts.

Luckily SOph didn't catch a cold. I did a bit of sponging for her and her temp went back down to 36.3... stayed that way in the night *whew*
She also doesn't like blankets, so I put after she's asleep, no choice.

Charis,
yeah, just get a slow cooker... I got mine for only $45.90... a 1.2litre one. There is a smaller one that is about $25 only, but that one has no heat control.

As for cheese, some cheese contain rennet yeah? And I think you mention you don't eat animals with hooves? So do you eat beef?

Sunsweet,
Woah, you are really into cars!
Sounds like an expert!!!

jelly,
It's ok that hubby is short and fat... as long as you are slim can liao

smurfy,
Thanks for link! I'll check them out!

Haha, are you going to spend a bomb this time too?

jelly
re: dbl boiling porridge
actually i had been using bowl w/o cover,
these few days started to use the one for making tonic/birdnest,
i think the water portion hv to reduce cuz the water can't evaporate mah..
i find my porridge too watery
so today i try 2 heaped tablespoons with 3/4cup water, turns out better
i prefer to feed him thick porridge ;)
makes my life easier..not so much clean up after
but if ur kiddo not used to thick porridge, u need to add more water

btw, if u wanna put white bait/ikan bilis, the porridge i find still turns out a bit fishy
but not as bad if u put fish in it
so u might wanna consider dry fry it, make it into powder then add into porridge
think this way also more tasty & fragrant!

huskie
keke...sure no prob ;)
i check liao let u know ya!
hmmm..since u & hubby consume lots of yogurt,
& little soph wld surely join both of u in the future,
investing in a electric yogurt maker is a good idea

*phew* lucky!
erm..u sponge her so she was hving fever earlier??

think babies are all alike?
dun like blankets!
even when he sleeps with me, i cover blanket (sure will cover him oso),
he gets cranky!!!

so i can't cover lo..& caught a cold in the morning!
BAD BABY!! ;P

huskie
keke...sure no prob ;)
i check liao let u know ya!
hmmm..since u & hubby consume lots of yogurt,
& little soph wld surely join both of u in the future,
investing in a electric yogurt maker is a good idea

*phew* lucky!
erm..u sponge her so she was hving fever earlier??

think babies are all alike?
dun like blankets!
even when he sleeps with me, i cover blanket (sure will cover him oso),
he gets cranky!!!

so i can't cover lo..& caught a cold in the morning!
BAD BABY!! ;P

charis
my flat's a resale flat so the study room laminates was done by the previous owner

think u gotta check with ur contractor if use different laminates for diff rooms possible a not,
cuz my contractor said can't, as the skirtings only comes base on one of the laminate colors..
they dun provide different skirtings if u want different colors...
even the room to room joing strips oso same

that was abt 2.5yrs ago, maybe now can liao ;)
check with ur contractor ya!

the 1st pic laminates very nice, but will make ur hse look darker...
& if got hair, dirt, dust on the floor not easy to spot..
can be a good & bad point, cuz now got baby scared baby wld eat the hair lo

Huskie..OIC..no heat control means?

Wah u remember..actually we eat animals that hav hooves..but only those that has split/parted hooves n must chew the cud (cud-means its food) (chambered stomach)..like cow, sheep..for eg we cant eat pork cos although the pig has split hooves, it doesnt chew the cud.

Charis,
Wow, so exciting!!! Doing up your new place. When are you expecting to move in?
I use a cute little baby slow cooker to do Ben's porridge. I think it's the $25 one. Can only make one meal at a time. But convenient. Don't have to think about the cooking. Just throw everything in. 2 hours later.... voila! All done. Of course, I do check the porridge after about 1 1/2 hours to make sure the water level is OK, or sometimes to add in more ingredients. Clean and no mess.

Speaking of porridge, I must go and do Ben's dinner now. And puree next week's stuff. Bye all!! Enjoy the nice weather today.

Huskie,

hehe no lah me no car expert. still learning

But I and my Hub got to to know each other from car clubs *Wink* hehe

For our wedding, usually ppl would have the video such as childhood photos but ours is a re-make of highlight of the movie Initial D :p haha

call us car craze? humm not up to the point yet lah

1 Question: is there such things call a "fake" threadfin?

cos this morning my MIL ask me abt the fish i bought last week how come its more fishy smell? and she asked me if i've gotten fake threadfin? humm is there such things? fake cod i heard but threadfin? somemore i bought from the same stall all the time.. can i add 1 thin slice of ginger to bb's porriage to remove the fishy smell? or should i steam the fish seperately then mix them together later?

sunsweet, wow, u got to know your hb thru car clubs, so interesting.
My hb is in a lot of car forum. When he sells the DC5, he will prob throw in the rims for free but will sell the other stuff like brakes, strut bar, defi gauges,exhaust etc. Think he will buy new stuff for the CTR, part of his enjoyment is sourcing for new stuff so if dun sell how to buy

Anything can be fake, so better be careful. I think i am the traditional type when it comes to cooking, I dun quite believe in thermal cooker for cooking porridge and tonics. But the good thing is it saves u electricity and hence money.

huskie, my A loves blanket cos he likes to bite it and use it to play hide and seek by covering his face then uncover it again
But he does kick it away in the night cos every morning, his blanket will be at the foot of the bed.

jelly, I think u are quite cool leh, can do all these servicing on your own. I always let my hb handles car stuff cos super lazy and I hate to go workshop

Sunsweet,
Woah, see you sweet sweet, haha, cannot believe you "siao" car one!

Got fake threadfin? Never heard before. But when I buy threadfin or codfish myself, it does smells a bit, and not cheap also!
My mum says it's cos the fishmonger bullies us young girls, so give us the not so fresh ones.
Now I just ask her to buy 1kg ofr me each time... she buys from her trusted fishmonger and it's so fresh that there's no smell at all.

btw, I asked my mum to buy salmon for me, but she said her fishmonger told her not to eat so much salmon unless it's the wild kind. Cos he said the farmed kind are no good - the fishery feeds the salmon some stuff that makes the fish look darker red in colour, but it's no good for the body.
And he says never buy salmon that is wrapped in plastic at the wet market, cos when the fishmonger cannot sell the fish, they put some chemical/stuff then wrap the fish up to preserve it. Sometimes they do it to buffer for days when supply is low or too expensive, then they've got "reserves".

Re. thermal cooker, I have a large Tiger one which I mostly use to cook stews... not so much soups/porridge, cos I find that the flavour doesn't "come out" as well esp. for soups.

cherry,
So good lah, your A likes blanket... at least it kicks him warm for half the night!

gak gak gak!!!
I think I have to be pantang liao... I jsut said Soph's temperature OK liao, then at 3pm after her afternoon nap, her temp went up to as high as 38.2! So I fed her a bit of Panadol and sponge her somemore... hope it's not the beginning of a viral fever!
My Malacca trip this weekend will also probably be cancelled

As for sponging, yes... PD told me sponging is the best and quickest way to reduce temp. Use a wet hankie dipped in room temp water, wring dry, then just put on forehead, behind ears, neck, back, armpits etc. But do not blow the fan at baby when sponging.

Charis,
Oh OK, means you can eat beef and hence cheese made with rennet

For slow cooker, the small one with no heat control means you just turn on or off the main power supply. So there is no "keep warm" mode on the cooker itself.
My MIL passed me an Iona one like that, but I find that it takes hours before the porridge starts bubbling.
So I bought myself a larger Takahi one with the switch control. And you can pay extra $2 or $5 (cannot remember) to get the kind of inner pot that can be put on low fire over stove, so you can boil the porridge for 5mins first just to get it bubbling, then put back to slow cooker itself. Now that I'm using this mode, my porridge takes only 1 hr to cook, and I use the extra 2 hrs before that to make my stock... but that's me cos I don't use frozen stock.

wakakaka...

juz got to read about the

WINNIE e POOH...you gals are sooo farnee!!

i personally think winnie is a very versatile cartoon character..coz he's HOMO...boys or gals also can like WINNIE...and it's very CUTE looking...!! my daughter oso like barney...but i think barney is very ugly le..i like pretty stuff like strawberry, KIKI & LALA and lil pony when i was young...dun like hello kitty though..wakakka..

but when i buy toys..its always winnie the pooh coz its good for boys or gals!..

and WINNIE!! dat was a DETAILED EXPLAINATION for pooh's sexuality!!

oohh..i am sooo tired...going to bathe n stone...haven got the time to chat..

so is candies male or female?? my gut feel its MALE...wats the answer??

Winnie,
Just saw your Q on candies/sweets... is that really candies and sweets as in the lollipop we eat or are candies/sweets some cartoon character?

Think I'm very deprived of toys and cartoon when young leh... I have no idea how to play some of my baby's toys!

PVL..Yup exciting..every weekend we go IKEA hahaha, jus like Catz when she was renovating her AMK place..we jus look look, ideas..eat at the cafe.
I think a small slow cooker should do fine for us..but I like to cook soups..then is rice cooker ok to use for soups?

Huskie..Oic..maybe I'll consider the Takahi one? Japanese or Korean? Good so far?

Gak..Oic..yup I prefer darker tones..wont be so obvious if i didnt get to sweep the floor for a few days..haha!!

Fat_babe..HOMO pooh?!! This topic is getting really funny. We better hope no one decides to sue us for starting this topic here..wahahaha!

fatbabe, luckily you asked! I was starting to think no one's going to humour me :p
ok, don't whack me hor... Candies are female. Cause our grandmas always tell us not to leave them around the house otherwise will "shen1 ma2 yi3" what. Wahaha! How? Can make it a not?