(2007/02) February

Charis,
Takahi not Jap or Korean... haha, it's Taiwanese! There are 2 cheap Taiwanese brands - Takahi and Lucky... both looks the same, so I guess it's probably from the same factory!
Not bad so far, but warn you first, things do get burnt in slow cooker if there is not enough water or if your porridge is too little. Not sure if PVL's one get burnt? Or maybe it's cos I buy the kind of pot that can be put over fire too? But I am so impatient lah... no time to leave it in crockpot to slowly get to heating point.

Hey, I also LOVE soups! What I do now is I make a full pot of soup with the crockpot in the morning after Soph's bf... and cos I can heat up the pot over fire, it will continue to simmer slowly for the next 2 hours till 10am, then I will transfer the soup out, pour back a bit and add rice in to make her porridge with the same crockpot

winnie,

hahaha okie okie...give birth to ants!!..quite a good analogy!!..

charis,

they cannot blame us after naming pooh as winnie ma..kekeke...not our fault to mistaken hor...eh lurve to ikea..be it got renovation or not?? lurve the kids theme bedroom..v interesting...but abit unstable le..if not i would haf bought the convertible kids double decker bed...wif canopy...soooo cute..would haf been my dream bed if i were a kid!!

smurfy,

thanks for the link..hopefully later me got time to go see...its kids books yah...

tonight going for company D&D..sian siah...carry so many barang..

Charis, Huskie,
I find that soups cooked in the slow cooker are not as tasty as soups that are slowly simmered on the stove leh.

Charis,
Why don't you just do the soup on the stove?

Huskie,
Never burnt my porridge before (except when on the stove). Put in slow cooker still must check, maybe after 1 hr or so.
Wow, you really make soup every day? Keeps you busy. So your porridge might take a total of 3 hours to make!!! Wah. I admire your patience. I wouldn't be bothered to do a fresh batch of stock every day.

OK time to go. Sarah's got a make-up swimming lesson this morning.

been readin most posts,

huskie, hb dun really like becos eeyore has depression he claims.

cherry, u not fat la! but admit yr hb and mine is skinny type.

mummies, do you know where I can bring my leapfrog toys for repair? My A has spoiled another toy that I bought from US. Think he is always throwing them onto the floor hence spoilt. It is bearly 2 weeks that we got them for him, he is such a rough boy

cherry, you can bring to Infantree, the local distributor at Tagore.. think I gotta bring my Little Touch there also :p

aiyah still on livechat with CGW. BIGGGGGG mess with our orders

Cherry / Huskie,

hehe ren2 bu4 ke3 mao4 xiang4.
If Mr.Cherryale would like to sell of his delphi guages, I would like to consider
how many he has? Full set? PM pics lah

and Mr. Cherryale likes to have authentic CWest Spoiler for his CTR, I have 1 for sale
hehe *fierce looking*

humm seems like I would need to invest in a small slow cooker soon. BTW do you gals cook the porriage for lunch and dinner together or seperately?

humm.. anyone care to share with me your easy to do Potato salad?

have to prepare something for my aunt's x'mas party.. i decided to do salad which i can prep before hand..

sunsweet
cooking the porrige using the slow cooker is done separately for me.

charis
u might want to try takahi brand.. old old brand.. exist while we r still children...

catz..
ai yoh... what happened? issit common for overseas sprees?? poor u has to help us settle everything..

huskie/jas/gar/cherryale
my hb is another thin one.. 174cm a ard 61kg.. guess what i do when taking pics? i take 1 /2 or 1 step behind him (depending on how fat i am then) to make myself look smaller in front of the pic :p

huskie/gak
u might want to try using the sleeping bags as recommended by milkie n catz.. i think a few of us r using it now.. they have no chance to "kick away" the sleeping bag once confined in it (see I told u girls, i like to confine my QY hahaha). It's good lor? at least dun have to afraid they get cold in the middle of the night (Except that the hands n fingers are still exposed)

nana
happy happy birthday to U.. and RYAN.. MUst tell us how u celebrate both Birthdays k??

jas
was it u who smsed me abt the little tikes coupe car? the promo is on 21st dec right?

huskie
*whispers* i told the bp organiser to keep my order mum ahahhahaaha :D

TOMATOES n other foods
can i giVE QY tomotoes? HOw do u all do the base for pasta leh? heard someone tried poached fish, poached in what? milk? but i have not intro fresh milk leh? then poach in EBM meh? eeKs..

wats poaching ? i read this term so many times in annabel karmel book.

i already started cherish on tomatoes. i slice the skin of tomatos, then dip the tomato on boiling water. and smash mix with egg yolk and FM

sunsweet

my mum cooks lunch and dinner together for cherish .

sunsweet

yah lor..thats y cherish dun take much during dinner time

but my mum says like that more convienient for her.

we are gradually introducing table food for cherish.

stella,

abt table food, my mum got 1 time feed my bb some egg bao. little bit ok la. then some lotus bao too but tat for prayer one, n i feed him only the bread part.

wat i dun like is my sis always tempt my zz to eat sweets and chocolates. I told her zz still can't all these food. she never feed ultimately but keep taking all these food near his mouth. I v angry u know... she did tat few time yesterday... even the food she eat... it salty u know. i told her wat i give zz is home cooked food n it the natural taste 1.

smurfy!
Haha, I was looking out for your orders

Eh, your hubby is a stickman! My hubby so much shorter than him but 65kg leh... hope Soph doesn't inherit his stockiness!
As for sleeping bag, my friend loaned me before and I tried it on Soph... woah, she yelled until sweat and cannot sleep leh... I think should have started when younger so that she could get used to it.

stella,
Poaching is cooking in a bit of water. Pple like to poach eggs cos it's healthier... just a bit of water and put eggs in water to cook.

I also started Soph on tomatoes - read in a Cantonese soup book that nutrients in tomatoes are more readily absorbed if steamed for 10mins.. haha, but the live foods pple will say all the enzymes will be killed!

garfield,
I think your hubby is biased against donkeys lah... I think Eeyore is quite sweet and cute looking leh

Sunsweet,
I cook 2 portions of porridge together, but only the grains. So for dinner, I'll scoop out the left-alone porridge in slow clooker, so the double-boiling/steaming concept and add in my meat and veges.

PVL,
I really LOVE soups, that's why will boil it in the morning. But it's really not much work cos this slow cooker is so good at simmering... no need to watch over it at all. Just have to remember to take it out at 10am to transfer Soph's porridge in to cook.

I agree that cooking soups over fire is nicer, but I cannot afford to start a fire in the flat just to have a bowl of good soup

Cooking over charcoal stove is even better **drool**

Sunsweet,
Potato Salad:
- Red skin potatoes (red skinned ones nicer... wash and cut... leave skin on then boil. Not to be overcooked)
- Eggs, hard boiled and roughly mashed with fork
- Large Onion, chopped very finely
- Bacon Bits (you can buy ready bottle type, but I prefer real bacon, sauteed or grilled in overn toaster and then chopped finely)
- Mayonaise (buy the Jap tube type... thicker and creamier)
- Pepper for seasoning
- Chives/spring onions chopped finely for garnishing

Just mix everything above

huskie

if lets say i poach fish in milk.. meaning i heat up milk then add in the fish over slow fire issit? if high heat wun the milk evaporate?

so the end result , the sauce will be absorbed by the fish ? or does it remain watery?

garfield..

i also dun like my mum to give cherish junk food, but my whole family snack so i just close one eye to it

catz, thanks for the info. Oh dear what happened to our orders?? So sorry that you have to do all these coordination with CGW

sunsweet,u are really v into cars
to me gauges are expensive and serve no real purpose but of cos Mr cherryale thinks differently lah. I ask him tonight and let u know. He may not sell all though.I forbid him to change the spoiler
so thanks for the offer.

smurfy,my hb is 178cm and his weight used to be 58kg, then i slowly help him to increase to 60kg then 65kg, now 68kg. When he was 58kg, I refused to take pics with him or I prob have to stand 1 mile away in order to look tiny.

garfield, i am 50kg now need to lose at least 3kg.

Winnie,
Your Prince Charming is very well-built... can ride a horse. Looks like a 1-yr-old toddler already!

stella,
Yep, for poaching, the poaching liquids is at very low heat... barely simmering. The poaching liquid will not evaporate due to the low heat. Poaching is mostly used when you want to infuse the fish with some flavour of the herbs or wine. Then when cooked, the fish can be taken out and the poaching liquid used to make a thick sauce to pour over the fish.

Cherryale,

For me guages are impt to monitor the car esp if you do mods.. u never know if some sensor fails on u and the car gets overheat and cause major problem.. I always monitor the my guages every morning when i warm up the car / stop at traffic light or traffic jams/ on long drive journey to Msia...of cos some ppl add on the guages just for the sporty looks..

Hehe spolier on the other hand increase stability of the car esp if the travel on high speed.. So if you guys enjoys drive up NS highway like us.. good to invest on a spoiler.. the one i'm selling is C-WEST full carbon-fiber.. LTA approved. I dun think I will fit on mine cos i like my current spoiler though its heavy...

hehe probably i'm one of the few wives ard who is okie for hub to spend $ on the car..cos i enjoy the drive too.. but i would want to ensure he does not overlook on the safety part..

hope my gal would be like us enjoy motorsports.. keke hoping to get her, her 1st go-kart when she can reach the paddles.. :p

Winnie,
Your prince is so charming! He really looks a lot older than he is. So cute!

Huskie,
I've tried out the almond butter on the Son already. The brand I'm using is Melrose, do note that the butter is not smooth, it has very small tiny chips of almonds in there. Anyway, the Son is fine with it, no reactions to it and he just slurps it up together with his yoghurt and beans happily. I tasted it myself and find it a little sweet, I like! I think the Son actually likes the almond butter more than tahini.

Sorry to hear about your misadventures with yoghurt making, it's very frustrating to see all your effort go down the drain, literally, when the milk doesn't set into yoghurt. Perhaps a yoghurt maker would save you from all these frustrations!

I decided to take a look at what my mum does while making yoghurt. She just heats up the milk till a layer of curd forms, lift up that layer of curd and gives it to the dog, let the milk cool down for a little while, stir in a spoonful of yoghurt as the starter then she puts the pot into an insulated bag and leaves it there with a huge sign saying DO NOT TOUCH. Her place has lots of kaypohs (my sisters and myself included, lol!) who are always looking for stuff for eat, so the sign is necessary or they'll open the bag and mess up the temperature. I didn't take note of how long she heated up the milk, etc though.

sunsweet,

my hb also like those gauges... he says v nice lookin but i think waste of $... but I agree it looks nice to have lar.

but i didn't encourage him to have so he never mention again! hehe

JS,
Thanks for the yogurt-making info... haha, your dog gets quite a lot of good stuff huh?
Yeah, I think I may pop by Phoon Huat to get the yogurt maker - it's still more economical than me buying a tub every week... and I'm tired of wasting those milk while experimenting.

Oh, Melrose... I use their flaxseed oil and am taking the ABC Nut butter. ALso bought the Almond Nut BUtter already, which I think is a better buy cos it's higher in calcium and good fats compared to the other nuts. Thanks for review!

smurfy,
Think I read somewhere that tomatoes may cause allergies, but cooked tomatoes give lesser allergies than raw ones.
Yikes! You wanna poach your fish in EBM?! All the antibodies will be killed at that kind of heat... so wasteful lah!

stella,
If you find it hard to peel tomato skin when raw, you can dip in for 10 secs in boiling water, take out tomato then it peels easily.
I steam it for 10mins and puree it with chicken (cos chicken a bit dry to puree by itself)... quite yummy!

gak gak,
Were you the one who asked me previously if the skins of beans contain any nutrition (cos you and I both peel off the skin)?

Here's the answer:
If your child finds it difficult to chew the skin than by all means you can remove it. You can also try putting them in a blender with a little water a mixing well and seeing whether this pureed texture will be helpful in allowing her to more easily eat it (if she eats food with this type of texture).
Even if there is less nutrients without the skin, the beans themselves provide a lot of nutrients and so removing them is perfectly suitable.

garfield,
A PD told my sis that when baby is phlegmy, avoid the sourish foods... so you may want zz to stay clear of such foods for awhile.
Haha, at least till his TV contract is over

huskie dear..
keke, yup!

am e one who asked u abt removing skin of beans ;)
thanks for finding out!
do u think giving soy beans much more healthier & nutritious than tofu/bean curd??

wld u be coming over to west side this weekend??

i oso hvn't intro tomatoes yet, scared of allergies!

huskie
oh no! hope little soph's better now!

re: sponging
yup
doctors & nurses had been telling me that too!
but think they say if above 39degrees then sponge..
but i oso KS type, will sponge even only 37.5degrees ;)
now i lahgee KS, i got those capsules type of panadol from doctor to insert into the anus..
faster to bring down fever!

but my boy hates sponging, always twist here there
thow the damp towel away
so i usually only sponge his forehead & neck..
didn't noe abt behind ears though ;)

Well, my mum does goes around the house asking who wants the curd, sometimes it gets snapped up by a human, but when no one wants it, it goes to the dog.

Ahahahah, yah, my dog gets quite a fair bit of good stuff to eat. She gets a capsule of evening primrose oil and Vit E to eat everyday, my mum says it makes her fur look better.

Must we peel off the skins from beans? I don't...I just blend the whole pot of cooked beans, skin and all. I usually do a mix of beans, not a single type of bean alone so if I were to remove the skins, good gracious, it'll probably take me the whole day and night. Good to know that the skin is just as nutritious as the bean itself.

gak,
Thansk for website!

Eh, for soybeans, Chinese TCM views soybeans as very liang right? Too liang can cause asthma leh, so better not. Aiyah, since you're so into beans, I email you a file that I compiled

I won't be going to west side this weekend, sorry... tomorrow supposed to go Malacca to meet up with my family who drove in today, but if her fever persists, then we'll cancel it. But doc says as long as below 37.5 degrees C, can go

Next week hubby on leave on some days... will you be at yoru mum's on Tue or Wed?

Hmm... above 39 super hot liao, then sponge? I think Soph would have yelled her head off already!
Soph also hates sponging, but no choice lah... I'll just keep doing it... I'm lagi more KS, I sponge her forehead, neck, behind ears, back, armpits and elbows! Anywhere where I can lay my damp towel on!

Eh, the anus suppositories... not sure if it's Panadol or other stuff, but my PD says try not to give that if can help it... not good for baby. I don't know why, but the PD told my sis this when my nephew was admitted to hospital for high fever and bronchitis infection.

JS,
No need to peel off skin if the Son can take the texture. For Soph, she gags on it sometimes so I peel it off if I know I'm not cooking the porridge for that long to soften the skin.
Oh... yes, I agree that the oils make the animals' fur nicer! I share my flaxseed oil with my cats

How does the curd taste like? Like milk? Or bland cheese?

Anyone interested in getting birthday decoration (for boys)? Please PM me as I have some items to be sold. Thanks.

huskie
u're welcome!

Thanks for the info ya!
now introducing beans/peas/lentils to my boy lah..

keke..
got any files on all those & even seeds a not?

btw, how u do the BIG SMILE face?

hmmm...the one that KKH's PD gave to me stated Paracetamol le
when my boy at the A&E they gave him that
i actually wanted the PD to prescribe the stronger type for high fever but they prescribed only paracetamol
of cos for use during emergencies when his fever won't go down

erm, when ur PD says try not to give any of these stuff means?? orally? or suppositories?
tot even in hospital, PD wld still prescribe when fever's very high le?

The curd tastes like milk still, to me at least. My younger sis says it tastes like milky cheese, my elder sis says it tastes like rotten milk. The dog can't tell me what it tastes like to her, but I'm pretty sure she likes it.

I just did a batch of kai lan a while ago, the pureed stuff looks really strange, like green flecks in green water. It's my first time pureeing and freezing a leafy vege, hopefully the Son will not mind it!

gak,
The big green smile face? Go here to see get the tags/instructions

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/board-image-lister.cgi

Eh, what files on seeds? I did up the beans one myself cos cannot find any comparison table on Internet, so copy and paste from the website into a table. You mean add things like pumpkin seeds etc? Maybe next time when I intro then will update

Oh, I think if it's Paracetamol, should be OK. Yesterday my PD gave me Bifen to standby in case fever gets extremely high, but he says this one can only use at 1 yr old or above, and only only if necessary.
Not sure what the PD told me my sis whether issit all suppositories that's no good, or that certain kind that's no good. Need to check with my sis, but I highly suspect she wouldn't know cos she was too distraught with her boy's fever to remember anything.

OK, going Malacca for 1 night today... see you guys when I'm back!

JS,
Haha, I love pureed veges.... it's got that lovely green chlorophyll smell and taste!

Hmm... rotten milk don't sound too appetising!

sunsweet, what car are u driving now? We used to drive to KL twice a month in the past but have stopped doing that. All our cars have spoiler but dun think I will let hb change the spoiler that comes with the CTR cos dun want to spend too much on this car. My intention is to let him drive it for 1 yr plus then change to a MPV
He just sold the brakes for a very good price today

huskie, enjoy malacca

Read the newspaper on road planning today, I think we can expect more ERP gantries in Singapore. Driving will become more expensive

Mummies is robinson having a public sale or the less20% for members only? I want to buy towels. Btw, do you think spending $700 after 20% discount on quilt cover and 2 pillow cases is ok? I am contemplating buying the Sheridan She collection, 600 thread count, very very smooth but if hb knows, he will definitely disapprove. I was thinking since we spend 1/3 of our time sleeping on the bed and such bedlinens last for a while, over time, the sum does work out nicely

cherryale
Robinson's sale to public's only 15%, an additional 5% or 10% OFF of u've the ocbc Robinson Credit Card or Robinson Card..
JL got 20% storewide to Public & if got the Robinson cards got additional discount..
maybe u wanna try JL?

if u got frens/relatives in Australia, Sheridan's a lot cheaper there when got sale..
now X'mas sure got lots of sale lo

huskieee

enjoy ur trip ya!

erm if Bifen can only give to 1yo..so u must portion it lo?
liquid form? wat izit actually? same as iBufen?

aiyo, sure can't remember lo cuz main concern's her son!
if me think i can't remember too cuz worried!
& at the same time, i find the doctors always speak very softly & use their layman terms which i dun understand..

yup!

seeds like pumpkin, sunflower, seasame, etc
when u intro let me noe ya...
i juz gave my boy black seasame paste yesterday
seems ok

2day 4got to give!

will c if can mix into his lunch!
i tried it, quite bitter cuz purely seasame only..

gak, thanks for info on robinson. hmm, then more worth it to buy from tangs as they have 20% off plus 6% rebate for tangs citibank cardholders. I know its much cheaper in Australia. Last time I used to cart back lots of quilt covers (peri and sheridan) but they were so bulky and heavy, a bit paisay to ask relatives to carry back for me.

gak gak, u seem to have intro quite a lot of food to baby
so good. I am still at the usual veg stage. Have u intro egg plant? Did u include in porridge or feed on its own?

cherryale
ur're welcome

hmmm...if u got the Robinson cards think more worth to get from JL if JL has Sheridan
cuz if i remember correctly, tangs rebate for tangs citibank cardholders's is accumulated in the credit card which u can only use in the next bill & need to use b4 the rebate expired..
unless u shop a lot in tangs then ok lo

that's wat i think..cuz i prefer direct cash discount & not in rebate or voucher forms

yup..unless very closed fren or relative den ok to ask them to drag the quilt covers bak hor!
keke
ever tot of importing urself?
maybe u can ask ur fren/relative to check wat's the shipping rate then get them to ship from there for u?

erm..keke
me hvn't intro egg plants yet le..
but if gonna intro i wld add into porridge like zucchini, chopped finely & add into porridge but if porridge turns out weird than i wld steam & by itself then add into porridge

me find veggies very boring lo so wanna intro new stuff to him!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Hello Mommies!!</font></font>

Sorry to interrupt....i have brought in a few very nice Disney Rompers and other apparels in the BP thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1118857.html?1197621888

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">All are authentic Disney apparels from HK. Designs not available here. Stocks are limited!</font></font>

Do visit the thread and check out the rompers for your babies for this <font color="ff0000">Xmas/CNY</font> festive seasons! Thanks for your support of this BP!!