(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

selina,
No eggs till at least about 9 mths old and even then give egg yolk first. i didn't give egg white till Joshua was close to 1 yr old. I think the jab that she is referring to is the MMR jab taken at 15 mths cos there's egg white in there. So it's best to see if bb is allergic to egg white. BUt i'm not sure what will happen if bb is allergic to eggs cos this jab is a mandatory one.

As for bananas, i read that some don't recommend feeding a young bb banana as 1st food because of the fungicides that are sprayed on them. Banana skin is porous hence the fungicides are absorbed into the flesh. So it's best to give organically grown ones if you want to feed bb with it.
And also some are concerned that the seeds are not easily digestible so they don't feed the middle portion where the seeds are.

crystallized,
forgot to answer you earlier. J didn't self-wean from the yaolan overnight. it was a gradual process cos he was at the infantcare so no yaolan anyway except during weekends and in the evenings.

Selina
i burst out laffing when i saw C's Bonds outfit! luckily no one ard me in ofc now! he's sooooo CUTE!

i agreed wif wat bbgrace said. 1st food introduced shldnt b fruits coz they r sweet. so shld start off wif plain flavour stuff 1st. Diana in sept thread posted a thread regarding starting solids. u go read up lah.

thks 4 taking time 2 do the montage!

storm
i shldnt weight lesser than pre-preg coz i eat like a pig now. so got weight loss i v worried. this morning i weighed and i gained some weight. so happy. 4 the 1st time in my life, i actually felt happy i gained some weight! but then when my weight goes up up and up, i start to worry again! WOMEN! nvr seemed satisfied! haha
tell me abt exercise man. i nvr used to do tt b4 preg and all the more i will not start now. alrdy hardly hv enuff sleep, dunno where to find time and exercise.

Coral
R only sends me off to work when i stay over at my mum's plc. sometimes when he wakes up the same time as i do, i will pat him n see if he goes back to sleep. Char wakes up so early too?

Jo
ur japan queries, i will reply u via email since the topic here is not on this. i am not v gd but will tell u wat i noe.

Jenny
u busy preparing 4 CNY huh?

<font color="0000ff">WAR & BEAUTY</font>
such a lousy ending! machiam like waste my time chasing aft this serial! the ending was a spoilsport. the only couple tt got together finally died together. aiyoh.

Too much postings till I dunno where to start..

storm,
your pics make me wanna go back Koh Samui! So relaxing!!!

coolcoolmum,
Yep, pretty busy with work recently. I now like 1 person doing 4 ppl work. Really KNS at work, till I sian to come to office. On leave also sian, cos come back a lot of work to clear.
You like PIS ah? I dun like leh, cos I always got problem with water droplets found in the 2 tubes and it has the back flow problem. I need to use at least 20 to 30 mins when I use PIS while for Ameda, I only need 10 mins. I find PIS suction pain leh.

Selina,
Nice montage! Sorry, I took the pic but no time to login here hehe... Only managed to update blog ynite nia...
The jab is MMR. Before MMR jab, we must give egg yolk to test for allergy. BB can take egg WHITE only after 1 year old.

crystallized,
CNY not my business lah. I dun care if CNY is coming or not.

Cereal
====
Read some of you starting on cereal. I din give organic food lah. Jolene has been taking the rice cereal from Nestle all the while, so Jaslyn will follow.

hi hi ladies..
sorry for being MIA for the last few days..i just browse thru & can tell that the MIL topic is very juicy leh even thou i hvnt finish reading ahh..aiya, i also want to share abt my in-laws but now no time..but i think i got briefly mentioned before..some of u might be awared..mine is more of FIL not MIL..i think it's challenging enough..got to crack brain-juice & sacrifice those brain cells to think of ways/methods to "counter" his every moves..sigh..sorry those that has posted to me..me hvnt got time to read thru & answer to u..pie-say hor..this wk i m rushing to send out the CNY cards (I know i m very late..that's why i m super busy lately)...

Hi all Oct mum, initially I was a Nov mum but my girl was born on Oct 20. Hope to join in this thread. Hear all of u are hving gathering, keen for me to join in too?

Here is the pic of my bb with her elder sister

692305.jpg

Selina,
Can't get a nice shot on the drumstick. "Qing Cai lah" ok haha
692307.jpg

Coral,
I know you will comment on this when you see this pic... Jaslyn also got "siong" hahaha
692308.jpg

Had a mini celebration for Jo's 2nd birthday on Sun. Seems that she's more interested in the candle than the cake.
692330.jpg

692331.jpg

And Jaslyn had her fun too. She also "2 years" old haha... Or it means "2 mths" old???
692332.jpg

A close up of the cake that I ordered from Room For Dessert. Quite satisfied with their customarized cake. I was worried it didn't turn out to be wat I want. Thumbs up! But hor, the butterfly cost $1 each and I kena "scoldings" from my bro haha...
692333.jpg

today me on MC, down with flu. Didnt send KB to infant centre. not sure if he ganna flu also cos heard him sneezing a few times and hv alot of phlegm sound.

jenny

maybe we should swap.
think i'll ask my colleague to let me try a few more times before i decide whether to get it now. But i think i sure get it when i hv my #2.

selina
i find the pants looks ok on C leh. me also can't wait to dress KB up on CNY>

good morning gals!

baby isaac still on his milk strike, drank only 325ml yesterday plus some latch on. Hope today will be better.

realise i dont have many pic with baby isaac, finally my SIL is kind euff to take for me.

not in my prettiest state but better than nothing

692346.jpg

Jo., mine still very healthy la, they will be here to stay...

Jasmine, same sentiments lor. Although can leave bb with parents or inlaws, but can bear to do it. Rather not go on hol. until bb older ba.

Jackiejon, hope I can make the case by saying my Mum know Char better since took care of her soince young lor.

Starz, had a talk with hb last nite. He agree that he want the best fro Char, but he cant think of any solution yet. And it was only after I spoke to him that he remember how tiring it was to take care of a cranky bb the whole day. it never occured to him that while they play ML, time pass quickly but I'm struggling with a cranky bb. But at least we talked, he say tonite we'll try to think of a solution again.

Aspialle, your MIL likes to boast abt past glory, time has change she need to move on.

Jo., thanks for your kind words. I'm like you will think this far. But hor, tot no need to stay with inlaws, but still end up like that leh. I save powerpoint at work place, will PM you on Thurs. Haha, only 1 slide lah to illustrate all the different point of views. Cos I know if I talk I'll get very agitated and may miss the points.

Bbgrace, if in the past I would have exploded. But now being a Mummy, I try to control, cos I dont want to affect Charlotte and if I run away from home, afraid it'll cast some shadows inChar's development...I think very far now that I become a Mum. In the past I would have just walk off. But now I ren3. I used to tell my Mum I want to marry orphan too.

Storm, wow, you're lucky.My MIL is usually quite ok too. She'll also help me tick off hb, but at times...OPr maybe I'm a difficult DIL to please.

Selina, your choice, since you're the creative director, see which one makes the montage looks better. I trust your taste.
Regarding the egg yolk thing I remember my Mum testing that on my yoiungest bro b4 and he was allergic and so the jab was delayed. But I also cant remember which jab. let me ask my Mum, but I doubt she remebers, 16yrs ago lia. Caleb ia always so stylo like you. Now he even look hunky.

Janice, your Mum very "rare" species, where got Grandma not excited to see Grandchild?

Crystallized, cos I need to bring char to my Mum's place so she kena disturbed and wakes up early lor. And now that she sleep early she tend to wake up by 7am.

Jenny, you so clever! Haha. My Char also big big siong, everybody carry her was alram. Haha. Jolene so sweet leh. Auiya, I wont get to see her. Jaslyn so alert hor, I think her development will be better when she has a sister to play with her.

Babyjo., do join us if you're free.

Gathering
=======

So how many of us going?

Morning ladies...
wah, early morning got bb photos to see again...

Selina,
Caleb is cute... muscle man har... haa... your Caleb muscle man hor, my Rhys is Chao Ah beng... This is the evidence... haa...
692412.jpg

Jenny,
miss you leh... now come back with your girls photos... aiyo, reading abt Jaslyn's siong, I laugh until peng... bth...
Both your girls are getting prettier leh...

Babyjo, welcome... you are always welcome to join us in the gathering... the more the merrier... hee...

Vivian,
Well... I need to destress myself hahaha...

Coral,
Somehow hor, I dun think is "siong" big lah, is fats bah??? hahaha..
Alert meh? She's sleeping most of the time. Ask the gals who went to Selina's place last Dec for the gathering. Jaslyn slept at the corner till ppl forgot abt her, errr... including her Mummy =P

This is the pic taken 2 weeks ago during Jo's gym class. Jas's 1st time on swing and she loves it.
692434.jpg

jenny
wah how come u say until like CNY "offended" u?

jolene's cake v nice leh! and jaslyn looked really happy.

CoolMum
juz wear a mask when u nurse KB to decrease likelihood of passing flu to him.

Shirley
tt was a nice pix.
even if i am alone, i will juz set timer to snap pix of myself & R. hahaha
Mrs Vainpot!!!

Coral
last few nites R slept early at 9pm, so he wakes up early at 6am too. my mum will entertain him while i get ready 4 work.
oh yah, the gathering list, where huh?

Shirley

hehe, can take pictures with Isaac when if there r 2 of u. u put the camera on a higher place. i.e, in my case on top of tv, then use timer =)

War & Beauty

So lousy the ending, not even one couple have a good ending !

jrt

thanks for sharin =)

Vivian

Rhys so macho sitting like that leh ;)

Jenny

cake looks yummy & retty, how much did it cost yyou ? Jolene very pretty & inquistive leh =)

jo, crystallised

ya hor neber thought of it, silly of me. but me not very good with camera, can try it out

jenny

which gym u send ur childeren to? my hubby is thinking of bringing isaac to try it out. so doing some research now.

any mothers have suggestions on which gym to go? any late evening gym cos my hubby needs to work during weekend.

morning mummies...

jo,
wah.. ex proposed liaoz, then u broke off with him ar.. isnt he super heartbroken?? diff for a guy to proposed n get rejected leh... amazing u can stil be friends....

bbgrace,
hehehe.. i mention u to my mum, but she cant remember u leh.. mention u got an elder boy n preggy due in Oct too. she quit mid-Oct cos I was due in Nov mah... too bad she cant make it during our gathering.. else i think u both wil b able to recognise each other bah.....
i'm also still bfg.. seperation anxiety ar.. think wil hv too lor... say say want to go hols only lah... now travel for work i also "reject" my boss told him only in May then i willing to start travelling again....

storm,
hehehe.. convenient to PM me ur friendster acct??? i not very familiar leh...

janice,
ur mum reli special leh... how come she not eager to see grandchild one??? during my preggy time my dad was bo-chup all e way, didnt even know i was expecting a boy.. so i tot he'll bo chup even after i give birth... who knows now he everyday come n play with ayden.. even weekends when my mum not around he'll also pop by juz to play with his grandson......

selina,
caleb look so cute in e bond outfit... like a mini adult... hehehe... he so "stable" liaoz lor.... can sit properly... machiam big boss leh, his pose....

thanks in advance for sending e montage to us...
my last visit to polyclinic hor, heard e nurse told new parents to only give egg yolk at 8mths.. start 1 teaspoon per day, slowly increase to 2teaspoon then 3 over a period of 2 weeks.... i think its also e MMR jab tat wil trigger same reaction as egg yolk, so give bb egg yolk first to "test" if they r allergic...

Jenny,
ya.. y u so fedup with CNY???
jaslyn reli got "cleavage" hor... good tat she got some baby fats mah.. cuter this way... both Jo n Jas look so pretty, lovely eyes n hair leh... u muz b a reli pretty n proud mummy...

wendy,
still got pple send CNY cards one ar?????
i donno how many donkey years never send / receive CNY cards other than those jewellery stores / insurance agents one liaoz....

BabyJo,
hi hi... i used to chat with u in Nov thread too..but i also popped into Oct thread liaoz cos my bb born in Oct...

shirley,
hehehe.. nice to "see" you.. now we can put a face to ur nick liaoz....
kaypoh ar.. wats tat "tree" thing behind u??? a drawing on e wall huh??? very unique lor....

coral,
glad tat u had a good talk with hubby.... at least he rem how tough it was.. remind him gently to think of solution leh.. else hor, men typically will forget one...

vivian,
hehehe... rhys sitting position reli cute leh... he also very stable liaoz... can sit properly leh...

MIL -
i think i'm probably one of e "rare" ones here.. i get along very well with all my ex-bf's mums... some of them even dote on me more than their own daughter... so never tot of "need to marry a guy w/o parents"... but my MIL now, prob cos we got "communication" problem.. she speaks hokkien while i can only understand and speak very little.. so most of e time i juz go "ya ya ya.. ok ok ok...".. plus she got 10 other children n son/daughter-in-laws.. so she pretty bo-chup us one.....

starz

hee hee that big tree is a drawing done by my designer on the bomb shelter. that time no money to do the false wall so ask her to draw something to cover it up.

by the way, can PM me ur address cos i am going on leave soon to take care of isaac as my mum is busy preparing for the reunion dinner. i have 3 to attend. my parents, my SIL and my hubby side. starting to have reunion dinner from thursday onwards.

Jo,
where got macho? Beng ah... haa....

Starz,
ya lor, dun know when he got this habit lor. My mum say he like last time coolie like that... so funnie... He not really stable lah. Need support behind still.

Vivian, Rhys sit like tat, so man! All the gal gal go gaga liao.

Shirley, if you come to gathering, we hep you snap more pics together with Issac. So both of you dress nice nice to gathering hor.

Jenny, I think it's bb fats too lah. Just kidding abt siong. You always got good lobang. Jolene cake looks yummy and very girlish.

Starz, I'll bring my flr plan to your house on 25th hor. Tonite will continue my talk with hb before he forgets.
My first bf's mum also lves me. So when I broke off with my ex, she cried and cried and even meet up with me after that. We're still in contact. But I think it's always easier to be friend and also to not stay together ba.

shirley,
sent...

vivian,
hehehe.. amazing how bb grow n learn rite..??? they do come up with e cutest actions when u least expect it...

coral,
ok, no prob... hopefully we'll hv time to go thru lor... otherwise we can always go thru after tat.. as so many parents n bb around.. mayb difficult...

ya, as the saying goes "xiang1 jian4 hao3, tong2 zhu4 nan2" lor....

vivian
i burst out laffing when i show Rhys pixs. really beng leh. dun lah. dun let him sit until ka kwee kwee leh....

EGG YOLK
========
tks tks for the advice. at least now i know.

crystallized
tks. will go read the posting in the link.

TUMMY TUM TUM MONTAGE
=====================
i just sent out the montage but realised jenny posted her 2 darlings. plse ignore my email. i must n have to include the 2 girls in the montage. will resend again hor.

692611.jpg

once again, the email addresses i have as follows:
coral
crystallized
jenny
bbgrace
vivian
wendy
jasmine
jackiejon
gemini
wei kuan
jo
shirley
coolmum
janice
momconomics
starz
doreen
esther

jenny
can lah. tis pix also nice mah. jaslyn starting young hur.

babyjo
welcome to the thread and welcome to join us for the gathering.

GATHERING
=========
sorry ladies. been rather bz these couple of days. will go update the response list later than i post here again ok. so i will also go order lunch yah. pai sei hor. think we got quite a good response this time round.

Starz, no prob, maybe when you hv time then you give me idea lor, or I can go steal a few ideas at your place.

Selina, thanks for organizing cos everyone is just as busy but you still volunteer to help. Thank you!

crystallized, iceystarz,
no lah, I dun like CNY mah... cos it "hai" me kena naggings from my mum haha...

Jo,
Hmm.. the cake is 1.5kg, cost $45. The deco you see on the cake (flowers, butterflies, candies) cost another $10 + delivery charge $10 = $65. Half the price of her first cake last year. Find the pic to show you later.
Flavour is Choc-A-Lot. If you like dark choco cake, you gotta try
The carrot cake is nice too but I find it too sweet.

jackiejon,
Orrr... you only fancy jie jie, mei mei will jeolous one hor hahaha... BUT I agreed with you, Jie Jie is much pretty than Mei Mei.

Shirley,
I din send Jaslyn to gym class leh. Only send Jolene. I feel hor, if you wanna send Isaac to gym class, wait till he can at least crawl or walk. Jolene is attending her gym class at My Gym. One more lesson to her class. She enjoys the gym class but I'm stopping it after her last class.
My Gym can open our own class at our preferred timing (also at theirs) if we can get a min of 6 kids to open the class. The current class that Jolene is attending, I arrange with some other mummies to start our own class at our convenience.
I never know Jolene can be so strong in her motor skills till I send her there. She got my jaws dropped. Compare to her friends who are older (or younger), I can say her motor skills is q good. Even the teachers also commented she's good and strong. Show you a pic later.

iceystarz,
hahaha... cleavage again... this is wat Coral said when I posted a pic of Jolene some time ago... I never realised that until she pointed out.
Sorry to disappoint you leh, I not pretty mummy, my eyes super small, dunno why Jolene's one super big, think like daddy lah. They said Jaslyn like me, so you see Jaslyn like see me lor.

Vivian,
I laughed out when I saw you said Rhys is Chao Ah Beng! Wah liew, how can you said your boy is Chao Ah Beng!! **I help R to defend hahaha**

Coral,
I get headache with the cakes... I dun like the design that bakery shops have leh. My hb can't understand why I must headache over a cake haha... I'm getting sick to see wordings like "Happy Birthday" on the cake, so must think of something different. My hb and sis said q special with the wordings lor.
Hey, Charlotte getting more girlish look liao, like you is it??? I dunno how to see leh, I very poor in seeing bb look like who =P She going to be pretty like you!

Selina,
Alamak, never mind lah. I just posted the pic to show Coral the siong nia hahaha...
Dun waste your time to amend lah.

Esther,
Saw the mail you sent me. Xie Xie Ni. The pic very nice.

starz

me & ex r anything but frens , def din break up on good terms...when he emailed me the kpo qns abt whether i am carrying a boy or gal, i was contemplating whether to reply or not

Unlike Coral whose bf's mum cries for their breakup, his mum is very very happy..ha, even if cries, also cries tears of joy

Jo,
This is Jo's 1s Birthday cake, customized by Pine Gardens. It is a 3 tier cake, 3kg. As usual, kena "nagged" for a 3 tier cake cos more difficult for cake cutting. $130 for this cake consider reasonable cos if I get Room For Dessert or other more "branded" bakery shops to do, it sure cost more than $200. If I remember correctly, Pine Garden charged me $20 or $30 for customarized the cake design to my instructions.
The decors on the cake are self provided by me.
692787.jpg

692788.jpg

starz,
i only shifted here in jul so your mum probably dun have much impression of me. she may remember my sis instead. She has 2 kids and stays at the penthouse in lobby c.

crystallized,
lousy ending hor? i missed part of it cos joshua woke up crying. but i already read the ending, what a letdown.

selina,
Thanks for doing up the montage.
Avocado is good as first food for babies. it has good fats for brain development.
Other first food that you can try is sweet potato. Get the japanese one, steam it and mash it up.

Shirley,
The gym class will have singing, playing. More for interaction and sharing and to train motor skills. I used to think I can teach this at home too, but no energy leh. Personally, I prefer gym class to those singing or other class.
They will teach parents to do sommersault for the kids. Different ways of doing.
This is one of the "stunts" taught in gym class, to train them on co-ordination on their hands and legs. Like a female "Tarzan".
692857.jpg

Jenny u r a very wu sim (you3 xing1) Mum, go to great length to creat memoriable cakes for your gal. Cannot say jie jie prettier leh, give mei mei sometime and she'll catch up! Dunno Char looks like who leh, some say me, some say hb. I think combination. Hb's eyes, my nose n mouth. More girl meh? Dunno leh most pple still say she's boy.

Jo.,my hb sort of get my points after viewing the slide n ask to talk after Char sleep lor. At least both of us can be calm tis way. If I try to express my views by talking sure raise voice...Char same as K cannibal. Dont want milk just want to eat my hands. Thks for your compliment, but think I look sleepy leh.

Milke strike
============
Char on milk strike sine last nite.Will suck till let down then release to let milk spray all over, made me change clothes in middle of nite. Now only want to chew things don want to drink.