(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

crystallised
yalor, i din noe also, the GP never said after the jab lor..then when the thing happens, then tell me must rub

Jenny
geez, scary...and so can switch to 5 in 1 after 2 doses of 6 in it..

Coolmum

K's swollenness def bigger than a pimple, at least 8 pimples ; )

Huijun
there was once i went for this talk by this gynae peter (can't remember sirname) ..menses pain after pregnancy must be wary according to him cos it shouldn't be (even for those who have painful menses b4 preg)...if got time, must do a check up

So good that RuiEn has recahed another milestone =)

Gemini
when i bathe K initially, she looked stunned ( cos mum used to be the one), now she used to it liao..so Tricia will prob get used to ur bathing after a while..

Huijun & Gemini
hehe, our gals are all close to daddy =) one of my pal said, close to daddy better, then the daddy will take care of the gals more =p

Jenny
was reading ur accident posting after I koncoked off last night, so hglad you are fine =)

Grace
Thanks for sharing abt the playmat, hehe, since so much cheaper, i will go IMM minitoon take a look

Esther
K is so far ok =) thanks !

Jo,
The minitoons sale over liao.

Grace,
I didnt' know that minitoons got that world map playmat. i only saw the winnie, hello kitty and thomas the train type which is cheaper.

weikuan
ur menses come already ar? i haven got it , hope it will not be tat painful. u feeling better?

grace
wah sleep on the floor? without mattress? weather turning cold, bb will feel cold. admire ur spirit in speaking up

Jo,
Yes, wait for their sale then..

Babygrace,
I din see the world map one... only those you have mentioned.... me contented with the winnie the pooh one... the colour is very bright....
imagine me took half day leave to go down minitoon to buy the mat without my hb... end up have to carry the mat home myself via lrt & mrt.... luckily it is not heavy but super aunty & ugly lor... me carry a huge rolled up mat in mrt...

aspialle,
On mattress but there are children walking around too so they might trip and fall soooo i think it is not safe for my bb but mil still insist ok which makes me v irritated.
Actually i dun dare to tell her off directly so compaint my hb lor...

Selina,
Tell your hb, now with bb, going out with friends will have to be limited lor... we are no more children already.... got bb, everything priority will be for bb not friends... if he do not listen.. then you go out with friend and leave him with bb see how he suffer lor...

babygrace,
Din take a good look of the model, cos raining.
Mini Toons dun sell Bumper Playmat, they sell Children Playmat only.

coolcoolmum,
From what I know is, dun rub then will cause infection. Thats why Jolene's one popped up so huge, and took weeks to go off.

wei_kuan,
Sounds like me leh. But I more sway than you, me 13 times a year, I can't imagine how I tahan those pain over the years!!!
Hee.. me also scare, so for Jaslyn, I opted for 5 in 1. I'm bringing Jaslyn to the GP at our mums' place there.
Be SAHM lor, then Rui En will stick to you like superglue like how Jolene sticks to me. I dun want ah, I want freedom!

Esther,
Dunno why, but I realised many PDs highly recommend 6 in 1 leh.

gemini,
Thats why lor, take it easy. Make it a routine, you will bath her on weekends. When Tricia used to it, she will be ok.
I think different ppl have different way to handle the jab area. For me I will rub it immediately after the jab due to Jolene's case lor.

graceapple,
Our hormones now like a bit weird weird, if you scare, go see your gynae.
The playmat you got from Mini Toons is Children Playmat, not Bumper Playmat. The BP is for Bumper Playmat. They are made from different material. I already got mine in Year 2005, still in tip top condition. I must say it is a good buy.

iceystarz,
I realised hor BFing doesn't help me in losing weight leh.

Jo,
Yes, can change. Jolene 3rd dose was 5 in 1, then additional one more jab for Hep B. Aiya, some docs tot we will know mah. From the way you describe, I think K's one is like Jolene's one. Too bad, I never took any pic of that to show you.

grace

hehe, i think none of us here dare to tell our MILs off lah, even complain to hubby also must "san1si1" ..Men love their mothers

my sister-in-law is very lucky, marry a guy who have no parents (think he is the youngest, so when she marry him (her hubby was 28), both his parents no more liao =>no inlaws problems at all)..so now even her parents get to stay with them..

Baby Tummy time
===============
I heard my colleague mentioned that her bb actually turns on tummy around 3mth + leh...
PD mentioned that we should turn bb on tummy to train their back and neck muscle...once in a while...at the 3mth month... they would turn unless we train them...

My babysitter say otherwise... she say if bb neck not strong, putting him on tummy might spain his neck.... only train him when his neck is strong leh...

Anyone bb knows how to turn yet? any suggestions? My bb always slight to one side when we place him on flat surface... think he is trying to turn but no strength yet.

wondering how u gals store ur expressed milk...

what i did was put them in fridge up to 48 hrs, if still not utilised, then put in freezer..like that is correct or not ?

then when need arises, dethawed them in the non freezer section and use up to 48 hrs

grace,
before R reach 1mth, she can already lift her head when on tummy. maybe my confinement lady always put her on her tummy to put lotion and powder

Gemini, I'm working on part-time basis no leave benefit. I work 3 days the rest of the days I have to take care of Char. I have a part-time maid to come once a week. In the past she help me with my things but now MIL's things too much so althoug I pay for the maid, she does not reeally do much for me cos now staying weith inlaws I pai seh never help with housework so get the maid to help MIL with housework instead. So I still hv to do my own chores of washing ironing clothes etc. Frankly, now I no mood to discuss with hb. I sort of xin1 leng3 liao. Feel that I can cope better alone if they'll just let me and Cahr be in our own world. Dunno why, but just feel so distant from him now.

Crystallized, my hb will help but I hv to open my mouth. I ask for one thing he do one thing I never ask he'll never do. So I rather do it myself than ask him cos I feel if you dont take the initiative what's the point? I dont want to end up being a nag. I hv to leanr to live with inlaws and BIL and wkend SIL and her hb. They're nice pple, but it's still inconvenient and difficult as pple hv their own lifestyle.
How come bb drink lesser aft 3mths? They're bigger now, dont they need more?

Starz, thanks again.

Doreen, I ever told hb I unhappy wioth the MJ session, but he think I selfish. So wat else can I say? My hb also deaf to bb's cry. HGe often volunteer to care for Char but he can be so sound asleep or absorbed in his xbox that he never hear Char's cry.

Jo., thaks. If I really up to my neck will call you to su4 ku3.

BBgrace, my hb need to be push so I give up liao. Unless desperate or he nearby then I ask for his help. Your hb so tie1 xin1. Last time my hb also like that but now he like dont care abt me. He sort of still feel as if I'm not working so he entitled to rest more cos he work...

Grace, looks like Im not alone. Dunno why but I simply dont feel like talking to hb abt my unhappiness anymore. Perhaps cos I feel theyre a family and hell side with them no matter what or I just need to wait till my mood better, my energy level up before I talk to him.

Weight gain.
=========
I'm not so upset lah. just that no clothes to wear to work and no time to go buy so feel very pek chek to hv to wear Mum's clothes lor. Yday bought quite a few piecese during lunch time.But my hb quite bad, often laugh at my flabby body now and I tell him it's all for our bb what! Sometimes he complain I never go exercise, I ask him how to when I'm the one caring for Char how to go. Bring her with me to go jogging? Siao!

grace,
my baby start to turn liao. when ur baby try to turn, help hime a little and soon he will know how to do it himself.
all babies will start to turn sooner or later. As it a matter of time so let them do it themselves. I did not trian my R.

Coral

i m thinking of investing in this oto flabelous ;) less than 1k..u can think abt it..the easy way out ..

rite now have my oto trimax but has not beeen diligiently using it..that one is free

Dun ever Xin1 leng3, die die must communicate ...

The best gift u & hubby can give to Char is a wonderful relationship..trust me

coral
my mil last time also a bit like tat.. she & her daughter say my ger become thinner when i was doing confinement at my mum's plc.. then when now moved back to mil place, she gain weight, look fatter all these stuff.. then say my mum dunoe how to 'xin shang' my daughter..

alamak madness lor.. my hubby ask them if baby everyday drink milk nv gain weight then jia lat lor.. somemore is not they take care is we take care ourselves!!

btw, did u try to have a gd talk with hubby? u seems very stress up lor.. if really cannot ren then have a gd cry u will feel better lor

Jasmine
1 of my frend also encoutered such prob then her PD ask her to use her hand to sort of like force the head to go the other direction n count for like 20seconds.. do tat at leaast 10x a day.. she says it works.. but i dunoe lar..

Jasmin & Starz
our room dun haf fan then light is not at centre also.. so when she is like playing with 'someone' we are so scared n worried.. cos she is not those really playing.. sort of like got pull by something or watever like tat then she will cry very loudly that kind.. but when tell MIL she says we crazy.. tell my mum.. she say maybe dirty..

grace
me also like u.. will tell HB bout my unhappiness on the things MIL or SIL do when we r back in the room.. luckily my hubby not close to them..
he even tell baby to cry when his mum carrys her..

my FIL also like ur mil ask me let bb slp on the floor which i dun like.. cos i everyday hide in the room with bb.. say if put her outside slp on the floor, he can see her.. if not is ask hubby why i nv walk ard the house with bb one..
i tell my hubby & my mum the house not a shopping centre lor.. walk where..

then to show my unhappiness over tat issue, i purposely dun wan to go out with them for dinner when i know their purpose is to bring bb out.. .

then my SIL also another kind one.. always tell MIL how to teach me to take care of my ger.. think she very smart.. worse is mil always like to her.. i tell my ger if see them wan carry must cry loud loud cos they wan torture her which they are lor.. n if she cry, my MIL will tell her not to cry cos FIL dun like!!!

tell me which baby dun cry.. if baby can talk, wont cry liao le rite!!

there a are three choice:

total 5-in-1:
1st mth,
3th mth
4th mth
5th mth
6th mth

total 6-in-1
2 mth
4 mth
6mth

mix 5 and 6
1 mth
3mth
4th
5th

Jo
WRONG! u cant store BM like tt! u EITHER chill or freeze it. if u decide to freeze ur chilled BM, u gotta do it within 6 hrs aft expressing or while being placed in the chiller. cannot suka suka transf chilled BM to freezer when the 48 hrs r up. the bacteria inside wld hv multiplied in millions. its not gd to then freeze them when they r near to 48 hrs. and the frozen milk is to b consumed within 24 hrs aft defrosting.

i will decide b4 hand if i wanna freeze or chill. on wkdays, my priority is to chill them so R can drink when i am at work. any extra will go into the freezer immed aft expressing. on wkends, wat i express will go into freezer directly.

starz
aiyah my R oso nvr poo for 3 days despite being on tbfg. i read in books tt its ok for babies abv 1 mth old not to poo for a wk. even PD said its ok. so R has a habit of pooing only once in 3 days for abt 3 wks? then suddenly this wk, instead of pooing once in 3 days, he now poos 3 times in 1 day! hahaha
so initially we were "begging" him to poo so we can clean his backside, now he poos so many times, we cannot possibly ask him not to poo wat! so funny.

Coral
i understd wat u mean by u hv to open ur mouth to help. i oso dun like to do tt... but sometimes when i am really tired, i will ask 4 help. most times, my hb is quite auto. except 4 sat nites when he watches soccer, he goes into manual mode. he has to b prompted.
cheer up, i hope things r better 4 u soon.
I agree wif u, much as my ILs r nice folks, its the inconvenience & adapting to their habits.
I oso dunno y babies drink lesser fr 3 mths leh. but PD/GP did mention tt babies weight will grow by abt 500g fr 3 mths old liao. no longer 1kg/mth fr birth till 3 mths. so perhaps they need less milk.

Hi crystallized,
My sis-in-law is actually okie to me, It's juz her doings & actions that I find annoying. Hopefully, wont nd to stay wif her but cos house my hubby got 50% share, if he insist, I cant do much too. I juz pray he will nt.

Fenugreek
Does it really help to increase milk supply? Mayb I will go buy and try. How much izzit? Only GNC hav izzit?

Hi coral,
My hubby also like that. Nd to push @ times otherwise he tries to act blur hoping that I will go attend to my boy.

freshpoison
same here. she is ok to me but its her inconsideration actions & selfish behaviour tt irks me. who asked her to b kena spoilt since young. i really cant stand her.

Hey crystallized,
sama sama. She also kena spoilt since young. Last time when she was still in sec sch, she will wait 4 my mum-in-law outside her sch every pay day then drag her mum 2 town to buy branded stuff. Her 1 top or bottom will easily cost hundreds.

I went to GNC buy fenugreek already. Now keeping my fingers crossed. Hopefully, my supply will increase. Let me b guinea pig, if effective, will let u gals noe.

coral,
i know what you mean by not wanting to sound like a nag and keep asking hubby for help. but there's a limit to what we can do, just tell him Char also belongs to him, so he got to help.
Some men probably thinks we SAHM have it easy when we are at home. actually SAHM is even worse than working outside. You should let him look after Char on his own to let him see your difficulty.

pls don't be xin1 leng3. it's no good for you to bottle everything inside. Hopefully he can see that you are reacting so coldly to him and realise his mistake.

freshpoison
no need to say too much oso... juz talking abt it can make my blood boil. better dun tell them spoil our day.
if she read this forum, all the better!

bbgrace
though i am not SAHM, can understd how it is esp aft confinement and the days i am alone at home, trying to cope wif baby and chores + meals. really really not easy.

Coral
hope things pick up 4 u soon.
the days will definitely get better.

huijun,
I bot it at the hougang mall. They have this pooh bear design... you can get them to search their other branch for the design ... what i know some of the branch do not have the pooh bear design as it is consider an old design liao but it is still more colourful than new design.. like helo kitty & thomas n friends....

see my bb on the mat...

639844.gif

wow your R can turn liao hah... v fast hor...

freshpoison,
I have tried Fenugreek... no effect for me ... still have two bottles sitting in my kitchen...
hope it works for you.. good luck!

coral
100% understand your feeling as i feel the same every time when I'm down. But the best solution is still to talk things out. i'm lucky that once my hb notices that i'm unhappy, he'll "force" me to say it out. just that it takes some time for him to notice.

after i kept complaining that he did not celebrate my birthday last yr, today he gave me a surprise by bringing me to Eason Chen concert. tonight i really enjoyed myself, after so many months.
So, if u really want to get your hb "moving" u'll hv to "nag" abit. i agree with what Jo said, best gift to Char is a happy relationship.

freshpoison
i find Fenugreek works abit for me but i stop after 1 month cos i find taking 1 bottle per month can get me a bottle of milk powder liao. my thinking might bot be right.

Crystallised

Die liao, poor kelicia..i felt so guilty

what happens that mum has beeen commenting that my milk taste like coconut..but i keep telling her thawed milk is like that..& i dun dare to taste it myself

anyway, i think i will dispose of the remaining frozen milk..can u imagine K has been consuming 20 plus packets of spoilt milk...

Coolmum:
s exciting =) must be ren shan ren hai..

Jo
the milk might not b spoilt, juz tt ur way of storing is not recommended. sorry i hope i din sound too harsh.. juz tt when u posted how u stored, i so badly wanted to tell u tt shldnt b the way. u threw away many packets?

ur mum tasted ur milk? heee... i dun dare to even try my frozen ones. i juz smelt it to ensure no foul smell. so far hv been using chilled ones though.

Coolmum
so nice of ur hb!

jo,
wah jo, you got so much milk leh... still can freeze them....
Actually our milk taste sweet one you know? I tasted it once when it drip from my breast....
Yah crystallized is right... must think which portion need to freeze immediately and not wait till 48hrs later....

coolmum
Ur hubby so nice will still force u to say it out. For me I will make hubby think what made me unhappy....hahaha
N I only talk to him when he gets it right. This way he will also know why I unhappy.

Starz
I mean body smell BO.
I smell so bad of the herbal smell. Aiyoh.
So lucky u dun smell.

Coral
Dun bottle it up not good for u. Maybe get ur hubby to see it from ur point of view. Tell him how it makes u feel when he says something. Or make him say why he say u are selfish. Understand from his point of view then say ur piece. At least it looks like u understand his feeling but u feel differently. Might make him more willing to listen.

crystallised

no lah, not harsh at all..It just knocked some sense into me, I had been very stubborn & selfish. Wanted K to be on total breastfeeding, so die die refuse to supplement with formula milk..so din want to face the reality that my FM is spoilt when mum first mentioned it

confirmed spoilt, hubby tasted it and it is stale..

Poor K has been refusing those frozen milk one, but we keep thinking she is not used to bottle feeding..had force fed 20 plus packets

Btw, how do i make formula milk, using lukewarm water ?

Grace

I dare to taste the fesh one from nipple only..it is indeed sweet...

not tha my supply a lot, it took 2 months plus ..and the worst thing is it is a combinatinon of 4 times of 25 ml per session to make 100 ml..

i.e today, 25 ml at 5am, 25 ml at 9 am, 25 ml at 11am and 25 ml at 1pm...

crystallized
I also dun dare to drink my own milk but I did use those I intend to discart to make mocha. N it taste so much nicer than using milk.
N once I forgot to bring a bottle of fresh ebm back from my sis place. My 4 yr old niece saw it n drank it for breakfast.

jo,
dun feel gulity. If BM not enough, can add some FM.
Yeah, make FM with lukewarm. example if K is feeding 4oz, u add 3 oz of rm temp water and 1 oz of hot water.
I more gulity than u, now R total on FM. Stop BM after 3.5mths. after a few days, I am ok with it liao. as long baby is growing healthy, FM is okay and we will still give the best for our baby

Jo
oh u meant ur milk really went bad ah? aiyoh, then sayang K... she so smart noe the milk is spoilt and dun wanna drink...
so K hasnt drank chilled BM b4?

er, how to make FM? gd qn but i dunno how to answer u... luckily wei kuan answered alrdy.

Grace
yah u r right, breast milk is mild in taste, its usually sweet. and i meant fresh ones. dunno how chilled ones or even frozen ones tasted. i tried chilled one once and the milk aftertaste was so strong, i "surrender"... nvr dare to taste anymore.

Doreen
wah so cool! use BM to make mocha!
nxt time i try to make tea wif breast milk. but i use v hot water to seep the tea bag, so cant add breast milk in coz the high temp will kill off the nutrients?

Jo,
Actually frozen BM will have a funny oily taste. Last time i thought it's sweet like fresh BM until i taste it and after that i felt so bad for feeding Joshua such vile tasting milk. But later i checked with other mommies and they also say the same.
So maybe your frozen milk has not gone bad but if you dun feel safe, better to discard.

Grace,
I dun remember Mini Toons selling bumper playmat leh, saw theirs is children playmat, unless they carry in bumper recently (cos I've not been going for the past 2 mths).
Ok, if you refer to SSW website, it is a bumper playmat. The difference between bumper and children playmat is the material, bumper is made of PVC while children playmat is PE. Bumper can be folded to keep while children playmat is rolled. Most bumper playmat is double sided (can used for both sides) while children playmat only 1 side. Both are non-slip type.
From the pic you posted, yours is a children playmat, it is the same as mine POOH IN THE GARDEN, not the Pooh and Friends design leh.
For my elder gal, she slept on tummy, its a kind of training for her neck muscle. By 2nd mth, her neck is considered quite stable. Frankly speaking, babies are smart. They know when to release and rest when they are tired. However, my suggestion is dun leave baby unattended when baby is on tummy. It can be quite dangerous.

Jo,
Yeap, your way of freezing EBM is wrong, crystallized has mentioned how to do it in her post.
EBM shouldn't taste like coconut leh, should be fishy smell. Coconut = Turn sour?? Is K ok after taking those EBM?
To make FM, you need to adjust the water to the "correct" temperature first before adding the milk powder. Test the water temp 1st. Wei Kuan has answered your qns on her posting.
Dunno if I say this out will scare you or not. I chatted with my massage lady (Naini) and we were on the topic of this Trimax. She was telling me she quite scared by this kind of stuff, cos imagine it "beats" our tummy area, where our womb, uterus etc are located nearby. If it can ease off the fats, does that mean our internal parts will be affected as well. I got her point and I do agreed with her. When I mentioned this to my hb, he also said the point is there.

Coral,
So bad, your hb is the one who caused you to have flabby body, how can he laugh at you
You are so great to go thr the sickening pregnancy period and the painful labour. He should appreciate you more.
I dun mind hb laughing but provided is laughing it as a joke lor, but not those kind of laughing, cos it feels hurt, especially we women are the one who carry the baby in our tummies for 9 mths and going thr those "xin gu de ri zi". Even if men dun appreciate, also dun say anything mah

Well, you have been a great mum and a great DIL + wife. But dun keep things to yourself, no good for yourself. Remember you are still bfing? If you are stressed or unhappy, the BM you provided for Charlotte is no good. My hb recently showed me one of his books, which also mentioned this. I see if I can scan that part to show you gals, but is in Chinese.

Wei Kuan,
Ya, Pandan Clinic. DR Tan is my whole family doc since young too. Even though I moved to Sembawang, I sick hor, still travel all the way back to see him hahaha...
DR Tan very good at injections. No pain one.
BP = Bulk Purchase.

freshpoison77,
I think some mummies here tried fenugreek. Some said got effect, some said dun.