(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Vivian, your case sound more like wind to me.
if baby have wind, they cannot take much milk.

I have change my FM to simliac already cos my big tin of S26 finish liao.
I am still feeding her EBM+FM.

Yeah, a lot of things to learn from CL, I already learn how to bath her etc.. the only thing is that when I feed her, always have some left, but when my CL feed her, she drink all. Even my CL told me this is usually the case and she do not know why also. very jialat when CL left. think that time did not even have 1 second time to login the net.

my doc and CL told me air-con is better than fan during confinement, so I alwyas on the air-con (abt 26-27degree), still cool.

I insist on bathing. My CL prepared the bath herbs and pour in a pail for my bath daily. after bath, I still feel hot cos the herbs can be very hot.

Wei Kuan,
Regarding the feeding, I faced the same prob last time. Dun worry, eventually bb will finish one. Different ppl, different skill. CLs are experienced.
You can mix some cold water to the pail of herbs water leh. Then won't be so hot lor.

hi storm
me too can't differientiate between contractions or stomach pain, sometimes i tot bb kicking so make me pain but tink it cld be contractions
wish u the best for ur delivery

hi jenny
i mean the herbs for mother to bathe during confinement , do u wash hair everyday with the herbs?

Looks like almost all bbs have jaundice. Yday I had lunch wiht a fren who's bb is now 4mths, she told me her cousin say drinking coconut can prevent jaundice so during her last week of preg she drank 2 per day and her boy really no jaundice. Not sure how true, but think I'll just drink a little more these few days since I'm already 39wks.

Wei Kuan, my Mum also told me the same thing, air-con better than fan. So during confinement fan is no no for me and air-con is a must, tat's why can tahan bathing every 3 days with daily wipes.

Going for my check later, and gynae going to do cervix check. Hope it won't be painful. Wish I'm alreay dilated.

Jenny, ya lor, how I wish I already pop liao leh. My neck growing longer and longer. At first worried I'll have premature labour since water bag broke at 24 wks last time, but now just can't wait for water bag to burst...

coral,
my baby did not have jaundice, I take 2 coconunts (green type) twice a week before birth. I start at 34weeks plus. baby come out very clean too.
My baby and me was discharge the next day (only 2 days 1 night).
relax and the cervix check is not painful as what u imagine. since ur baby already 39week, most likely will not have jaundice as the liver already mature.
Actually giving birth is also not so painful as what I have imagine, the only very pain part is like 10-20mins only.
coral, if u have the thinking that if cannot endure then take epidural, most likely u will take, so must have the mindset that u DO NOT want to take epidural and I believe u can do it. I believe ur labour will be a short one.hope like me, short labour so the very pain part is only for a while. Must relax and take the laughing gas and remember the breathing u learn in class.
Hubby also very impt, he kept telling me to relax and endure. anyway I have to endure cos no time to put epidural liao since 10cm when check.

storm, I use the herbs to wash hair too.

already give birth mother,
any tips to make tummy smaller?

Storm
Oh coz u gg 4 inducing, so mayb a bit bored. but try to rest & relax lah. dun surf net. u need the energy later.

Jenny
Hope ur gal can go home tdy. its v stressing to me when i passed by his cot and see my baby not sleeping in there but at the hospital. dunno cried how many times liao. but now he is back, we r all so happy.

Ah? sterilised liao and not opening it can only sustain for 3 hrs? thot its 24? anyway me not using it liao. it was only temporary for tt day when i needed to use the pump.

eh same like u, i find the avent manual pump gd & the petals massaging my nipples as i pump is v therapeutic.
its abit tiring on the hands but overall i find it pretty gd to use.

so ur lochia oso now minimal lah? yah lor, coz u said ur last lochia so much, i oso stocked up so much pads! hahahaha... nvm can still use 4 normal menses, and i can pass some to my sis 2 use when she delivers. my CL told me when she brew tonics to "bu" me aft 12 days, lochia will tend to come back a bit heavier flow, but oso juz 4 a few days.

Selina
so nice to hear fr u.
how is ur wound recovery?

yah i knew u wld understd the pain when bb is admitted. so heartwrenching rite? sigh... luckily its over. and lets pray jaundice dun return.

oh the red paper is those used for auspicious occasions to wrap or write stuff one? those plain red paper? my mum say juz crash a few pcs into the bathtub 4 baby to bath, it will make his skin rosy. so alrdy asked my CL to do tt. and oso to make the dong gua water 4 my boy. i dunno how they make leh, but apparently its a little bit sweet and my boy takes in a few sips, juz to satisfy my mum & MIL. their theory is tt my boy will pass urine more often so can clear jaundice. actually its the same as BFG wat. my boy drinks on demands and he passes a lot of urine daily liao. but since they insisted, i let him drink lah, so to satisfy them.

yah lor these few days so hazy & no sun. situation is not helping us v much.

its ok to let Caleb feed for 5, 10 mins. it happens to my boy as well. i will usually disturb him by changing diapers, even if its not wet or soiled, juz to disrupt him fr his sleep. out of 10 times, it works 8 times to wake him up, so perhaps u can try this trick if u haven done so. or i burp him when his mouth slips off fr my nipple. this burping hardly works lah, but i still try. only succeeded a few times.

yah i agree, as long as his soiled & wet diapers r within the range, u dun worry lah. we dun need any extra stress at this moment. enuff is enuff.

dun pump if u dun need the milk. i dun wan to end up hvg engorged breasts. i will only pump say at the end of 3rd wk, b4 my CL goes back, so my boy can get use to bottle (i intend to introduce btl to him by wk 4 so he can get adjusted and fed by my hb or family members when i am busy). LC recommends us to introduce by wk 6 in case baby is btl resistant if u delay for too long.

actually i think not my milk is in adundance lah, juz tt i pumped abt 4 hrs aft the last latch on, so breasts "collects" more milk and i end up looking like a cow? heee

bbgrace msg-ed me this morning to ask 4 LC contact. apparently wendy had prob wif her BFG and had blisters on her nipples so she cant latch bb on. poor wendy, think she is hvg a hard time coping oso. i hope she can overcome this prob soon and BF successfully.

Wei kuan
not true tt bb's whom r almost 40 wks wun hv jaundice. my bb was borned several days short of 40 wks but he still got it.

Selina
Can try to shine floracent light on Caleb. We were told to do it cos PD say sunlight also cannot shine very long so use floracent lamp. Shine 2 hrs every times 3 to 4 times a day will help reduce juandice.

Crystallised
Yah lucky my boy dun need to admit else I also sure cry. Yest his test 15. PD say getting lower so okie ask us to continue to sun him. He mention cos I TBF his juandice might take longer to go away up to 2 months.

Poor Wendy hope her bb okie soon.

so nice u all can cuddle ur babies & share experience.
i reaching 40weeks 2molo. but still no sign to give birth yet. already decide if bb still dun wan to come out, hav to induce on next tuesday. really hope tat my bb can come out 2molo or monday...
then i can join u all....

mayling,
Congrats!!!

Hope all the babies get cleared from jaundice soon!
Wendy's bb also had to stay in hospital for jaundice and she got problem latching him on cos he was already on FM b4 her milk ss kicked in.
Poor girl was so stressed up. Good thing that bb is discharged today.

As for me, the work stress and weather conditions has finally hit me. i'm done with a throat inflammation and cold. Will be resting at home till my scheduled c-section date. i'm hoping not to develop a cough else it'll be v pain on the wound when i cough.

Doreen
my hb say florescent lights no effect one leh. its the normal lights we hv at home mah. u so lucky no need to admit. yah they say babies on TBF will take a longer time 2 clear jaundice but i am not gg to stop coz of this as well.

Congrats mayling!
can post ur birth story to share when u r free.

Jasmine
try talkg to ur baby. it almost happened to me as well. if i still din deliver by EDD, i was scheduled to b induced the following day aft EDD. so aft gynae visit, i kept talkg to my baby saying mummy dun wish to b induced as it will b more painful and mummy hopes to hv a natural contractions to deliver him. i even went to the extent to tell my baby to not let the water bag burst until i reach hospital. haha

bbgrace
yah man. i oso dun dare to cough and sneeze aft the delivery. it was so hard to ctrl and yet painful to do it. and best thing is, i cant even ctrl farting! farted a few times during my stay there when guests was ard. hopefully the sound is not too loud and they din noticed. so pai seh!

Hey, hope u get well soon. recuperate and give ur best shot 4 ur delivery!

But hey confinement SUCKS big time! i hate it!

crystallized
Haha really ah, you really tell your baby that u dont want to be induced? maybe i must also tell my baby le, cos now going to 39weeks still no labour sign.. being waiting anxiously.

esther
yah i always talk to my baby abt such things, and i talked to him abt bfg ever since i was prepared to TBF him. it sounds silly but i am glad my efforts paid off coz he can suckle v well now.

anyway no harm talking to ur baby mah, it builds bonding. now when he cries and i talk to him, he will b quiet for a while and listen to my voice. so it really helps. he can respond to my hb's voice oso coz my hb made an effort to talk to him every nite.

i told my bb not to end up being too heavy at birth so i cld deliver him easily, while i wld make up 4 all the nutrients to him when he arrives by TBFg him and he really listened. he weighs lesser at birth as estimated. so now makes me more determined to fulfill all my promises to him since he has been such a wonderful boy.

Good luck, try it out wif ur baby!

Congrats to mayling!

aspialle,
I bought from Fu Hua. It comes in packet. My CL handles the herbs, so I'm not sure of the contents. It is called "Da Feng Cao". Fu Hua selling at $1.10 per pack, I think.
I bath and shampoo my hair everyday, alternate day with herbs (one day with just hot water, one day with herbs).

coral,
bbs have jaundice are normal. In fact, most bbs will have jaundice, just whether is serious or not.

crystallized,
My gal has been discharged today.
I remember is 3 hrs only, not 24 hrs leh.
Avent is good to use but if compare the parts with Ameda, I prefer Ameda hahaha... But I find that during engorgement, Avent works better.
My lochia not very heavy flow liao. Ya lor, I'm thinking aiyo what to do with the pack of Maternity pad. Maybe becos we bf bah, so lochia is lesser?? The pads just keep for normal menses use lor.
Actually hor, I'm taking the bu already leh. My CL said can drink now.

Jasmine,
Wow, so fast going into 40 Weeks. What did your gynae say?

babygrace,
Aiyo, wat a period to get sick. Rest well and recover soon. Your scheduled c-section date coming soon.

Vivian,
I have purchased the original pumpin' pal. Will let you know when I received it and test it.
By the way, I changed back to Ameda Pump since I realised my nipple is ok liao. So far, that amt of EBM is the same as when I use Avent, but at much shorter time. For Ameda, I pump for 10 mins and I can get the same volume as Avent, but Avent needs about 30 to 40 mins (single pump and manual mah).

Jenny
wah u real daring, bath everyday and somemore dare to go w/o herbs? i more kia see, but still like to complain i am gg crazy coz i cant bath. i am trying to tahan till 12 days. my heat rash all coming up liao. and i figured a way to tie my hair so the scalp is more airy and if i sweat, faster to cool off.

glad to hear ur gal has been discharged.

my CL says coz gynae nowadays r v gd, they cleanse out the dirty blood more efficiently aft delivery thus lochia is lesser. mayb coz BF so helps to dispel faster? initial few days, each time my bb suckles, i can feel my uterus contracting. v suan suan feeling. and aft tt can feel got flow coming out. i think cleared quite a lot in tt few days.

u so fast bu alrdy? me waiting for 12 days. haven even touched eggs and chix. and chic essence oso will wait till aft 12 days. i cant imagine drinking the tonics later. now alrdy sweat like mad, aft taking in the tonics, even worse rite?

btw u dun stay in air con rm all the time rite? how u cope wif the sweat? i carry a face towel wif me all the time, to absorb my sweat. everyday i am counting down to confinement. sometimes i boh chup lah, switch on fan. i really cant imagine how pple sleep wif no fan & no aircon. i am not trained to do tt!

crystallized,
Can bath lah. Last time confinement women dun bath cos the water is from well, got bacteria. I bath everyday. As long as is hot water will do.
Perhaps hor, if not how come lochia not so heavy. I think BF helps also. I also feel uterus contracting when I latched on in hospital.
Ya, me eating chicken, egg, chicken essence etc le.
Oh, I on fan everywhere I am lor. But I got bath everyday, so still ok.
By the way, did your PD ask you to let bb sleep in aircon room at nite cos the PSI level is high, not good for bb?

Congrats Mayling!

Update on my gynae visit
========================
Charlotte is abt 3.1-3.2kg. I'm already 3cm dilated, but cervix still thick. Cervix check quite painful as gynae say he'll try to help me stretch a bit so in the end I jerk and kicked forward, luckily I did not kick him. He already scheduled to induce me on 18 Oct, 6am. Hopefully I'll go into natural labour before that day... Before I leave, gynae remind me to think of epidural again. He's so keen to get me to use it.

Wei Kuan, you're lucky the painful part only lasted 20mins. For me the last time the painful part lasted 1hr 40mins. At 2mins interval for each contraction. If this time still this length should be ok, but if stretch for too long I might be too exhausted to hv strength to push later.

BBgrace do taker care. Me also dry throat and eyes and bad headache. So trying to stay indoor with air-con to avoid the pollution.

Jenny, I know it's common among asian bbs to hv jaundice, so am not so worried. But if can avoid better. Cos when see bb in the hard cold bed under the UV light hor, heartache leh. And also troublesome if bb gotta be warded for a longer time.

My hb say since air so polluted now, also good for bb to come out later.

coral,
3cm already, shouldn't be any prob. Think you will be seeing Charlotte soon!
Think of this way, since the air is so polluted now, bb admit to hospital due to jaundice is also not a bad idea

Jenny
dunno leh, my mum asked me to tahan for 12 days but i told her i alrdy washed hair on day 5. if i still dun wash, i gg to kena depression liao. i try to obey confinement rules lah. i told my CL i can dun eat the things we not supposed to touch, but not able to wash hair is a killer rule!

my PD din mention anything. anyway i din see him when my bb was discharged yest. oh issit more advisable to let bb sleep in aircon rm? usually at nite he sleeps wif CL. but she will bring him to me 4 nite feeds and we sleep in aircon rm. now tt u mentioned, i wonder shld i let him sleep wif us tonite?

die leh, i juz latched my bb on for 5 mins and he fell asleep, woke up, latch on for a few times. if he continues like tt, i am not gg to get much sleep tonite. now he open his eyes big big and stare ard the rm.

Coral
Wah! Congrats! alrdy 3 cm dilated? can u wait till 18 oct? i think u gonna pop soon leh. try walking more, think it does help to thin the cervix.

Yah u r absolutely rite, seeing our babies sleeping on the hard cold bed really is v heartwrenching. the nite b4 we decided to leave bb behind 4 the phototherapy, we were crying when we thot of leaving him alone behind. neither one of us wanted to give in to this decision. but in the end had to cave in 4 him to get well faster. yes, better to avoid.

crystallized,
Me too, can't dun eat things we not supposed to eat now, but can't stand not able to bath and wash hair. My CL is ok with me for bathing. So far, she din say cannot.
I din get to see my bb PD too. But he called us every morning to "report" bb's condition leh. He told us not to sun bb now cos air is very polluted. Try to let bb sleep in aircon at nite.
Haha, your boy so alert ah? My gal has been sleeping since coming back from hospital. We have to wake her up for feeding.
Hmm... last time I'm not so optimistic. I used to cry over minor things. Maybe train by my 1st gal lah. Now bb cries, I can still do things at my own pace. No choice lah, got to be optimistic, if not age very fast leh kekeke...

mayling,

coral,
3 cm dilated very good already. Sure sign that u will meet ur bb very soon. Juz hang in there for a little while...

crystallized,
my mum wans me to bring the placenta back cos she check with those chinese medical hall and they say it's good so hopefully my hubby will remember to take it back.

crystallized,
wah, you're really v guai, can tahan not washing hair and bathing.
i'm gonna bathe and wash hair every day, just like the previous time. And i'm looking forward to eating vinegar pig trotters during confinement

This is my final weekend, so i'm eating all the stuff that i can't take after delivery. haha!
btw, your boy got name already?

jenny,
2nd time mommy are more cool about letting bb cry hor. i'm also trained and immuned liao.
This is the final weekend before i get confined. So die die also must go out. Since the weather is so bad, we ended up at the airport instead!

coral,
Congrats! you'll see your darling very soon!
i'm still gg house hunting tomorrow

There's a new launch from the same developer as yours at St Pat's road. i like that place lots so i'm gg to see a 2nd time tmrw.

babygrace,
Yeap, I think so. More bo chap hor?
Last time, when Jolene cried, I panicked like mad. Now Jaslyn cried, I very cool hahaha...

coral,
3cm already, that is good news. most likely u will have a short labour.

I went out to watch movie with hubby today. better go out before CL goes off.

crystal,

Yeah, may not be true that full term baby will not have jaundice. Mine is 36 weeks plus, but did not have jaundice. guess is just that diet play a part.

hello ladies,
the haze is really bad... can't sun my Kimi properly and i think her jaundice level is shooting up again... this is really bad... doing what i can, but the pollution just adds on to my problem...

i am bathing almost everyday now, not washing hair every day though... and i secretly drank some soft drinks too.. keke... cannot take it ah.. confinement is driving me to depression le!!! i wanted so much to go out yesterday... so sick of staying home... sigh... two more weeks two more weeks...

do u ladies wear the nursing bra at home? i don like to wear bras nowadays cos very hot. but then the milk will leak till the shirt becomes very very wet and i only realise later... very embarresing...

Crystallized, I've been walking lots. When at home I just walk round and round the house and then I also carry weights and heavy things. So when my gynae hears that he say all these won't really help leh. He laugh saying dunno if my MIL will think he's a lousy gynae cos she might think I get all these crazy ideas from him.
I think gynae choose a later date to induce me cos he hope the delivery will kick-off naturally ba. He said natural less painful. My father hope I'll deliver on 15 Oct, his b'day. But my gynae say share b'day no good, less celebration. His wife son, and duaghter all 3 a few days apart only, so only 1 celebration. So funny, the EDD of his children all fall on the day of his wife B'day. My hb tease him to say he really clever, this way sure won't forget the b'days. On jaundice - that time when I was in hospital to visit my fren and saw a bb of a stranger being put to sun under the UV light I already feel so heartache and cry. Can't imagine if it's my own bb. Sure can't sleep

Bbgrace, they also launch a new project at Lor M, I think it's The Montage. St Pat's road is really near to my place then. And I think the type C flr plan is exactly the same as mine. Maybe we'll be neighbours in future.
Actually we went to see a terrace at Sennate Estate (already TOP can move in), love it. But I think it'll be too risky to try to sell current and buy another. Especially now that we're living on single income. So gotta be happy with what we have.

Jenny, hopefully as time goes by we'll be steady like most of the 2nd time Mum. Some pple I know, are stil kan cheong spider even after being a mum for a long time. Haha, you same as my hb, use the haze to reason things.

Wei Kuan, good that you can go out and have a break. I'm wondering if I can bear to do this or not. Yesterday my Mum already told me if I want to go on holiday I can leave bb with her. But I told her, I'll prob not be able to enjoy my holiday if I leave bb behind. I know of fren who spend more money on overseas calls than on shopping when they go on holidays without their bb. If that'll happen then I rather not go. But I think to go shopping and watch movie should be fine. Did you miss your gal when you went out? Between I thought you alreadt slim down to pre-preg weight and size, how come still asking for ways to make tummy smaller?

Dee Dee, the haze is really a hazard hor. I think it's also something that's preventing my bb from wanting to come out.

I'm back!!! I have deliver my baby girl desiree on 3 Oct 06 at 2.16am. Natural delivery without epidural with 4 pushes.

Here is me birth story.

Sunday night(01 Oct 06): Have cramps but very mild so didnt rush to gynae. sleepless for the whole night but still bearable.

Monday(02 Oct 06): went to see gyane and check that I'm 2cm dilated and was ask to admit hospital later in the night at 9pm.

Still went to catch movie Rob B hood with hubby and have a nice dinner before admit.

9pm: reach hospital and hubby do the necessary admission.

9.30pm: still can watch channel 8 drama

10pm: contraction still very irregular so nurse insert medicine and let me poo and put me on drip.

10.30-12midnight: contraction start to get stronger and I make use of happy gas to relief.

1am: pain not bearable, bb 8cm dilated but cannot push ask nurse for pain relief injection at the buttock.

1.30am: very very pain keep have the feeling to push. ignore nurse advise and i just cant control and push.

2.16am: my arrival of desiree. head circumfrance 33.5cm, weight at 2.985kg and lenght 51cm.

Jenny
My CL oso din say anything when i wanted to wash my hair on Day 5. she juz said try to tahan as long as i can, at least till aft 12 days. but i was really gg crazy tt day, coz i think i used the dried shampoo wrongly, so ended up alot of residue on my scalp. when i smelt it, it was so horrible! so hb see me so stressed, he said ignore the rules lah, juz wash my hair. and he helped me wash. so tt was the happiest moment man.

who is ur PD? mine is EK Ong. Super busy man. din call me so far leh. but am gg back 4 review tmrw. still can see my boy's eyes abit yellowish leh. hope he can pass the test man.

my boy will b wake awake for a few hrs daily. but the timing varies. it used to b in the evenings a few days ago. then last nite, it was late evening, almost 10. tts why i was so worried he cant sleep. luckily he woke up 3 times for feed last nite, not like the 1st nite at home, almost every 1.5 hrs, i had no rest man.

eh, i am like ur last time now. when my boy cries 4 milk, i attend to him immed. hahaha... so i usually end up in a non-friendly BFG position. hahaha...

bbgrace
i alrdy broke the no washing hair rule lah. not guai. 4 bathing, yes can still tahan it so far. coz still get to towel wipe mah. i am counting down to 2 more days when i rch 12 days, then wanna wash my hair liao. stinko man.

u & jenny in the same league one. heee... boh chup confinement rules. me ah, kia see lah, wan to obey yet still love to complain. my CL told me she got do confinement for this lady tt not only din bath, din wash hair, no towel bath, no washing of her privates and no touching of a single drip of water, and hear this, not ONLY for 28 days, she did it for 40 days!!!!! i wanna pray to this lady man! how on earth can tahan? and no air con, no fan hor!!!!! Superb rite?

Dee Dee
i am as worried as u r man. but tdy the haze is so much better. but not much sun leh. me seeing PD tmrw liao. oso getting worried.

u 2 wks more to confinement ah? me 3 more wks hor... goodness. everyday is countdown day.
i wish it wld at least rain so weather is cooler!!!

my boy crying 4 milk liao... gtg!

Dee Dee (deedee82),
u very cool, drink soft drink.

coral, already slim down, but still got tummy. before pregant totally flat. so sad. got to do sit up, but i very lazy.
I did not have celebration for full mth, only give out cake.
I type and carry baby at the same time.
I find it really relax to go out cos staying at home all day is sooooo boring. I really do not know what to do with her, she cry and I carry her for a while, then put her back, then half an hr again cry and carry again. I go poo poo also no time.
Not really miss her when i go out, cos only 2hrs only mah.

Dee Dee
yah lor, u v daring, drink cold water! now made me tempted oso. all these few days i nvr even think abt cold water until now! but they say cold drinks will dwindle BM supply, so i dun dare to take now.

Coral
why u carry weights & heavy things? not advisable rite? better take it easy. think u r ready 4 delivery anytime man!

Yah definitely lor, natural contractions less painful.

wah ur gynae so qiao, all 3 family members bdae so near to each other? heee... its sthg not tt easy to coincide leh! other pple wan oso dun hv. heee

yah lor so heartache man... but when my bb came out fr the therapy rm, he was at ease sleeping soundly, so tt eased our minds a bit. and the consolation was, he had many little frens wif him. and jenny's daughter, jaslyn accompanied him for a day too.

delphine,
wow! ur labour was pretty smooth yah? congrats on being promoted alrdy!

wei kuan
u nvr engage masseur to help u massage? i intend to start mine nxt wk...

congrats delphine,
congrats on the arrival of your new baby. luck u have a smooth delivery, same here, only 4 pushes and baby is out.
guess the pain relief injection at the buttock will not be effective if u r at the last stage.

crystallized,
no worry, can wash hair, but keep the windows closed and faster hair dry, do not on the fan.
the haze is also making the weather so warm.

crystallized,
no, I did not engage, I plan for number 2, then engaged massage lady, save money.
I have already returned to my pre-pregant size. the only part is my tummy. last time my waist is 23, now 28.

i'm back! i was discharged with bb yesterday. though bb face is a bit yellow, the PD allow her to go home, need to sun her. but no sun cos of the haze..

Dee Dee,
Wow soft drinks... kekeke... not cold one is ok. I also drink plain water.
I agree confinement can cause depression, so much restriction hor. I've been going out shopping for the past few days.
I do wear nursing bra at home, cannot dun wear, milk leakage more uncomfortable.

coral,
My dad's bday also on 15 Oct leh.

delphine,
Congrats! Wow, you still dare to go catch movies before admitting hospital, you dun have contractions at that time is it?

crystallized,
I wash my hair everyday. CL din say cannot. Just make sure you blow it very dry immediately will do.
You spray too much dry shampoo is it? Too much will make you very uncomfortable when you sweat leh.
Just do whatever you feel happy. If not, very easy to kena post natal blues. My last confinement was terrible cos I was not allow to bath and wash hair, and I did it secretly. Cried everyday till I had some post natal blues.
My PD is Ong WH, his clinic is at United Sq. He's very good leh, compared to my 1st gal's PD.
I'm starting my massage tomorrow!!! Yipee, can't wait for Mdm Naini hahaha...

Wei Kuan,
Dun do sit up now leh. You should do only after 6 weeks.
Where do you order the cake from?
You have to start learning the cryings of bb. Sometimes, is signs of hungry, pooing, hot etc.
Actually not very advisable to save $ to engage massage lady only after giving birth No. 2 leh. Cos hor, by then, the tummy size will either stay at the size or very hard to get back one. And the wind will "store" in the body.

ok here goes my birth story... timing not very accurate as i'm a bit groggy during the contractions...

wed (4 Oct)
===========
10.30am - went for my check up. gynae said that he wanted to induce me. cervix not opened yet. inserted pill and ask me come back half an hr later.

11pm - strapped to CTG machine for an hr.

12pm - went to delivery suite. watch TV, walking around (to aid dilation), had my lunch & dinner in the delivery suite.

6pm - gynae came and check. said that i had mild contractions but i dont feel anything.

7pm - feel mild contractions but can still tahan.

10pm - 1am - feel more intense contractions but still tahan.

thurs (5 Oct)
=============
3am - force myself to sleep but cant tahan the pain anymore. tell nurse whether i can have epi and she checked that i'm 2cm dilated. admit enema now as she afraid that i cant go later. few mins later, go toilet. after toilet break, ask for gas 1st. still considering whether to take epi.

4am - gas does not work. i think make the pain even worse. ask for pendetin (not sure on spelling). wah, slight relief. i think i have drifted to sleep.

6am - pain getting more intense and tell nurse i got urge to push. nurse inform my gynae and he tell the nurse he will be here when the bb head is lower.

7am - nurses very encouraging. keep asking me to take deep breath when the contraction come. ask me to take gas as it work well with the pendetin. gynae arrived and by 7.55am, my gal Tricia weighing 3.14kg has been delivered. gynae spent half an hr stitching me up as he said that i push too hard thus cause 3,4 tears.

paiseh, the story quite long. but kudos to those nurses and midwifes at Mt A, they are very encouraging....

Wei Kuan
i will wash my hair this coming tues, to "celebrate" the 12th day since delivery! haha... yah i did use hair dryer to dry my hair immed aft washing last wed. it feels soooooo GOOD man!!!

i agree wif jenny shldnt wait till aft 2nd baby then engage masseur lor. coz i feel now best time... in fact normal deliveries can start as soon as we r discharged. but coz i am not bathing yet, i dun intend to start the massage since whole body is oily. v uncomfortable.

Dee Dee
yah i oso wear nursing bras. i cant imagine not wearing... will b leaking and so embarrassing. somemore my ILs stay wif us. how not to wear??? also its gd as it provides support 4 our breasts, so it dun sag so much.

Jenny
yah lah, coz i gek kiang. 1st time i used the dry shampoo, found it v effective. so 2nd time i use, kept spraying, then end up so much residue tt i feel so uncomfy! so had to wash my hair the following day else i will really go crazy.

i think my PNB is over lah. it lasted for a few days. right now i juz tell myself i will "reward" myself in 2 days time by washing hair! haha

i will start my massage nxt wk, aft i can bath. actually my tummy went back to pre-pregnancy size liao. like the usual tummy lor. no loose skin. but my stretchmarks r horrible!!!

Congrats Gemini!
another mummy in the club!

yah loh, confinement is real real real depressing... esp more so when hubby not around... sigh... can't wait for it to be over!

today like no sun again leh... one of my church mate told my hubby that actually sunning doesn't help either. jaundice is merely the immature liver causing it. her son was yellow for one whole month. she said not to worry unless it's the GD6P (or GP6D) condition.

i haven't been eating a lot of "bu" stuff leh... so scared now that i won't be able to "bu" back my health... but my mum doesn't cook very well.. but thank god i have my MIL, my aunties who try to cook good stuff for me every now and then. Think i will start drinking the DOM tonight, and also increase the chicken essence to 2 bottles a day... will stop drinking cold drinks le... when i drank, i was drinking it with ice.. and i am very guilty to admit that i was chewing ice this morning too.... jia lat...

my baby's feeding schedule doesn't seem very regular eh.. sometimes she can sleep for 4 hours then wake up for feed, or she can feed every hour... and she tends to fall asleep easily during feeds. do u mummies face this prob during BF too?

Dee Dee
its v common tt babies dun adhere to any feeding schedule. thats why its called BFG on demand. dun worry abt this lah. juz BF when the baby demands.
i dun really watch the clock but i juz record so i noe how many times i feed him in a day.

Coz of this, i dun dare to drink wine directly. even the chinese pills my CL bought 4 me, i am supposed to eat aft my last nite feed, but when issit supposed to be? i cant tell when my bb wanna feed again. but since its chinese pills to bu my body back, i think its ok. but 4 wine, i wun drink direct lor.

babies will forever fall asleep when they r nursing. hahaha.. one moment my boy is wide awke, the nxt moment when i nurse him, he falls into a deep slumber...

i going to my bodywellness for massage next week and put baby at mum's house. I have a package with them and not utilise since pregnant.

i'm not BF due to my medication. for the past 3 days @ hosptial, my breasts are still ok. but last nite, there are some leakage and today, my breasts are getting heavier & hard and i suspect maybe engorgemnt. any suggestions to reduce the engorgement?

gemini
u hv to use hot towel to massage ur breasts and hv to pump out the milk, else u will feel v uncomfortable when engorgement hits. right now, i think ur breasts r juz full and hard, gg to b engorged soon.

Jenny!
wehn u hvg ur bb shower ah? i am looking at 28/10. I was telling Corinne scully we both same baby shower days, then she can go to both on the same day. heee

Delphine, congrats!!! Your gynae actually allowed you to take the injection with less than 4hrs to your gals arrival? My gynae say he'll not allow that cos the medicine actually goes to bb and have no time to return to our body and bb's liver not strong enuf to process the medicine. So I'll try to tahan without the injection if I'm already more than 4cm dialted. But glad that Desiree is well and good.

Crystallized, I think I want to kow tow to that lady's family man. She prob makes the whole house stinko. Wonder how she feed her bb. Wow, your son and Jaslyn daughter already met ah? So young already got frens.

Wei Kuan, still cannot do situp must wait till the muscles go back. Cos currently our muscles spread out to allow tummy to expand, so if you start doing situps now, it'll spread the muscles further. The physiotherapist during antenatal class told me it'll be 6mths or more b4 we can do sit up. Or you can use finger to check the gap btw the muscles, if more than a figner apart then still cant do situps.

Jenny, so qiao, your dad and my dad share same b'day.

Gimini, Congrats on the safe arrival of Tricia!! Do you intend to BF at all? If not, can use cold cabbage to out on breasts. And do not massage or pump out at all if you do not intend to BF at all. Cos that'll just stimulate more milk. Just bear with the pain for a few days or take extra strong panadol to help ease pain or fever. After a day or so there'll be no more engorgement. But if you intend to BF later, then follow Crystallized's advise to massage and pump to stimulate milk and ease engorgement.

Dee Dee, my CL told me can only start to bu after 12 days, so I think you still not too late. If your mum dunno what bu to cook, just drink more Chick ess after10-12 days ba. Can drink 2 bottles a day to bu.

Why everyone got a little dilation already go pop bb, but me 3cm liao still gotta wait for so long? Been feasting daily cos many told me pregs usually pop after a big feast. But it doesn't seem to work for me leh.

coral
i oso think tt lady is really "tok gong"... fr the way my CL describes, i think she cant stand how this lady smells oso but coz of work ethics, she din say who was it or say she cant stand the smell. but we juz try to imagine lah. 28 days of no bathing and not even touching water, how smelly can the person get? i dread to think abt it man. according to my CL, she still BF leh. poor baby.

yah my son made frens wif Jaslyn via crying, i guess. hahaha

b patient! everything happens 4 a reason. who noes Charlotte is preparing u 4 an easy birth! my boy is v clever, he popped aft i ate mooncake and bought the milk warmer bag (i told him i was gg to a sale and getting last min shopping 4 him and it really turned out to b last min since i popped the next day)

jenny
btw saw jaslyn's blog. eh, she really looks like u man!

Hi, ladies.

Here's my birth experience that I promised. Realised it's very long-winded after finishing, but too lazy to edit, so posting it whole-sale. Hope you won't get bored... ;-)

Lower backache had been worsening for the past few weeks, and got very bad in the last 1 to 2 weeks. It was so bad that when I got up from bed, had difficulty standing up straight and walking. Been having menstrual-like cramps (i.e. contractions) too. Had a hunch that baby would be due anytime soon, but was consoled during the routine check-ups at gynaes clinic that my cervix had not opened. Was hoping that this one will be late like the last.

On the morning of Childrens Day, noticed blood streaks when I went to toilet. After that, the contractions became more pronounced. Got ready babys bed and cleaned up my dog. Got ready to send daughter and dog to dads place. Expected the mucus plug to be discharged, but nothing happened. The streaking kind of stopped too. It was only on-and-off, and there was very little blood. Everytime a contraction came, I was worried that I couldnt make it to the hospital. Started timing the contraction intervals. Was very far apart, something like 30 mins. Was thus hesitant to go to hospital. Delivered mooncakes to in-laws and had breakfast, then brought daughter and dog to dads place. Stayed for a while cos would miss them, so played with my girl.

Finally, decided to leave dads place. That was about lunchtime. Told hubby to drive home to leave the car in the carpark first, as parking at Mt E is very expensive (heard that it can come up to $50/day). Moreover, the hospital has a complimentary limousine service for its maternity patients. Upon reaching home, wanted to use the toilet so came upstairs. Felt tired and sleepy and lay on bed wanting to take a nap. However, hubby activated in-laws to drive us to the hospital. They stay nearby and so arrived in no time. Dragged myself out of bed and decided to go on a makan spree... to get ready for confinement mah ;-p Haha

Ate a lot that afternoon. Had kway chap, 2 bowls of dessert, and otah. Now no more excuse to delay going to hospital. Suggested going jalan jalan first since Mt E is within walking distance of Orchard shopping belt. Everyone in the car rejected my proposal, so no choice gotta to go to the delivery ward. That was around 3+pm. Was monitored for an hour. Contractions were irregular and cervix hadnt opened yet, but babys head was very low. Expected to be discharged and so was discussing with hubby where to shop and eat while waiting for the midwife to check with my gynae. Midwife returned and asked me to walk around while waiting for the gynae who wanted to come and check me. Could only stay on the delivery ward level so there was really nothing much to do or see. We just stood around and watched people.

After a while, the midwife came to look for us. She said my gynae called up and gave instructions to admit me. An enema was done and I was put on drip to induce contractions. Still very scared of needles after the 1st experience, and cried when the needle was inserted. Time check 5:30pm. Gynae arrived a short while later. Contractions were getting stronger. I was already 4cm dilated. Gynae predicted that Id deliver by 9pm. She broke my water bag. I cried again. Dont know why. Scared, I think, although this is my No. 2. Quickly ordered epidural because I am very scared of pain. The anesthetist arrived shortly and administered the epidural. I cried buckets. Practically wailed. Think it should be about 6:30pm by then. Asked the gynae if needed episiotomy later. She comforted me that may not need to for 2nd birth.

By 7:30pm, the pain was unbearable. Yes, even with the epidural, because the dilation was very fast bringing on fierce and rapid contractions. The midwife had to increase the dosage twice, but the epidural couldnt seem to catch up with the pain. She checked that I was 10cm liao Urgh, no wonder so painful. She quickly called my gynae and prepared for the delivery.

Gynae arrived in no time. By then, the epidural had taken effect and numbed the pain. Couldnt even feel the contractions. Was very different from the 1st experience, during which I didnt have to increase the epidural dosage and could feel the contractions without any pain. Anyway, the gynae told me to push and I followed suit. After several tries, the baby was born before 8pm. Gynae observed minor tearing (no episiotomy, yeah!) and stitched it up.

The after-effect was terrible for this birth though. The gynae ordered a jab to help the uterus contract. Coupled with the strong epidural dosage, I felt giddy, drowsy and naseous. Eventually threw up but still felt terrible the entire night. Worse still, dont know why couldnt sleep well that night and so was very tired the next day.

On the whole, except for the after-effect, the experience was rather OK. As there was no episiotomy, the wound wasnt so painful and recovery was faster. Aiyah then there is, of course, my super-phobia of needles so embarrassing cried like a baby ;-p

Congrats to the new mommies!

Gemini,
So u tear naturally and didn't have episotomy?
Anyway, Dr Ho's stitching skills is supposed to be good so not to worry.

Coral,
i'm looking at the duplex Type F. Type C is nice but balcony is too big plus there's also a planter box.