(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Coral,
i read somewhere on internet that lying on our tummy is bad for baby because can reduce amount of oxygen from reaching baby wor. So abit confused now.

Janice, that's why I say it's a very personal thing lor. So nothing absolute abt owning a car or not. So long as one feels comfortable lor. Hence, I think it's very difficult to advise someone to buy or not to buy. Need to consider the disposable income, the committment already have, the frequency that one needs to travel around with bb, etc.....

Janice, prob you misread my posting. I said the antenatal class say lying on tummy best way to cure heartburn, but for our case now we can only use the 2nd best choice that is to lie on the side. Not sure if lying on tummy will reduce the oxygen to bb, but definitely not comfortable for our current situation and also may hurt ourselves and bb. And lying on our back will prob reduce the blood flow to bb, hence reduce oxygen supply. In class they say to avoid this as bb's whose mummy lie on their back will prob develop less well than bb's whose mummy lie on their side when sleeping. But sometimes can't help it, I started with lying on my side, but when wake up, I'm lying on my back liao.

wah lao... i think i need to go 'Guan Yin' temple to 'bai bai' liao... my boss keep poking my back...

Just finished send him the report and now he called again to ask me who told me that if we finished all the work, can dun need to go school. Alamak, everyone is doing it since I first came to ITE. Now he asking me this... Sigh... think I recently damn suay... Arghh... so frustrated... Ahhhhhh......

Sleeping & Sitting
==================

ladies, do you put pillows in btw legs & curl up your legs when sleeping sideway?

how you sit huh? all the way to the back of the chair or put small pillow to support your back?

Wei Kuan, I saw your favourite golden kiwi at NTUC today and bought 5 to try. Really a lot sweeter than normal kiwi.

Mummyjoy, I use a bolster when sleeping. I think I don't sit to the back of the chair, in fact I hunch my back, very bad.

hi ladies, have a SUPER HORRIBLE DAY AGAIN AT WORK...can't really catch up wif u gals liao..now still hav to work..guess i'm the most unlucky preggy woman arnd...sigh... think todae no need to sleep liao...

Coral,
pie say.. i misread your posting
. But the class said best that we dun lie on our back ah. Oops... i've been lying to sleep like this for sometime liao. just prop up both legs with a pillow below only. Find that this is the only position that i dun get back pain leh. If lie sideways, sometimes the arm become numb or pain when wake up.

ilovemybabyg,
Wah! u mean u still in office now ah?! Remember to eat healthy dinner no matter what, ok?

Vivian,
i tot last time u said your boss is a woman? Or i remembered wrongly..

hi hi ilovemybabyg..
u r not alone..me also in office lor..sian leh..my eyes now very blur..just hope to finish my work fast..headahce..hope we get to complete our work fast..cheers~

janice, actually I'm like you when i sleep on my left side, my hand always in pain and I'll wake up in the iddle of the night. But these few days I try right side, not so bad. Maybe bcos I was already used to sleeping on right side even b4 preg. Though sleeping on left was suppose to be the ideal, but bcos of the pain I can't lor.

Selina,
Same lah, i always black face in my own room only. when i step out, my face will auto chg. How can i black face the family? Sigh... u r right, in a sense, a bit hypocrite but as the saying goes, hv to endure to make peace lor.

hahaha!
well said! we r resilient pple! typhoon oso cant blow us away! haha...

coral,
i dun mind ppl sitting on my bed, but they muz ask 1st b4 plonking onto it. and of coz juz to sit, not to roll and nua as if tts their own bed lah. i wun like it.

Swiss roll???? sounds yummy! Aiyoh, bedtime liao leh, dun tempt me.

Vivian
Poor u! gotta write report... hope u can get it completed soon.

Washable breastpads? i did consider but worried if i dun wash properly, might cause infection. so i think i will use disposable ones.

Coral,
we same plight leh. I also used to sleep on the right side. I tried to prop up a pillow below my right side so that i'll tilt to the left. But ended up numb and pain.. so now started sleeping back flat with pillow. Cham.. what about 3rd trimester...

Hi all, Need to check if anyone suffers from terrible backaches? Cuz im now only 24weeks preggie but suffers from this unbearable back pain recently..Dunno how im going to survive this pregnancy.. Sometimes, I have to stop walking (even when im outside) cuz the pain becomes so unbearable.. Eveyday, getting out of bed is becoming a problem cuz from lying position, I cant sit up without my maid's help! Even when I sneeze or cough, my back hurts..
Need to check if this is a common problem or I need to consult a specialst..Thanks!

bliss,
that sounds serious... Probably your normal sitting and sleeping position has strained your back. remembered Vivian had some hipache problem which caused infection. Mayb u should call your gynae and ask.

Are u ndra's mum??

Wei Kuan, Little Kid
Cos me on MC yesterday, so can sleep

Little Kid,
Same same situation leh!!! Me also, woke up since early june then can't get back to sleep then when almost falling asleep, alarm rings Argh...

I heard the swiss roll can be kept in freezer for 1 mth. I'm interested to order again if is good. Which part of Sembawang are you in? Me in wellington circle. I dun think is halah.

Vivian,
Wah liew, how to report? Is students fault lah.
Washable breastpads, you have to consider washing lor. My colleagues advise disposable one, and must be pigeon brand.

coral,
You tried the swiss roll? I'm pretty excited cos delivery is today hahaha...

Crsytallized, cos hb and I never get onto our own bed unless we already bath and change, so we also strict on others lor. And my gf is the kind to nua on pple's bed, so no, no to let her onto my bed. :p

bliss, you might want to consult your gynae first. In class we were told that some pple are more prone to backache as our muscle relaxed, but it's better to find out if it's juts that or if it's like Vivian's case. I had bad backache during wk24 too, but it lasted 3 days then I'm fine again. Sometimes can be stress induced...Hope you'll get well soon.

Jenny, I tried the swiss roll. Very nice. Not gelat as the cream is very light and since it's cool, very yummy. Now you make me crave for it.

aspialle, I read, I surf the net, I watch TV, I go for walks and talk to bb about the surroundings. Sometimes I just stare at the air and do nothing. A few times I go out and meet friend for lunch. So can your hb make it this Sat? Bcos the last time I know that during this big lecture they actually have a talk on Fatherhood which is good for hb to hear. Hopefully your hb can come.

coral,
yah true lah, usually we oso bath and chg into clean set of clothes then climb onto our bed, so we dun like it when others juz come and sit w/o asking. anyway so far when frens visit, they will usually ask b4 sitting, so its alrite wif me.

and no one in the family has a habit of juz coming in and sit on the bed, so not an issue. luckily not, else if like Selina SILs, i wld hv screamed my head off!!!

Jenny,
wah so yummy! i wanna try ur swiss roll oso!!!!

how come swiss roll can freeze for so long?
wun it affect the eating texture? aiyoh, make me drooling now.

hey same here on sleeping habits. last time i rem i can fall asleep easily when i hit my bed. but nowadays, not as easy anymore, and even if i do, i am easily awokened by little sounds and its hard 2 fall into deep sleep thereafter. quite frustrating. and my frequent nite toilet trips haven diminish a single bit, so v distracting.

bliss
ur case sounds quite serious. might wanna check wif ur gynae. did u try to get up the properly way? by turning to ur side, use ur hands to support ur weight to get up? cannot ask the maid to pull u up ok? will do more harm. take care.

huh? wat a huge sacrifice! sleep deprived!
yah i think its true. nxt time we gonna hv more of such nights! better treasure it while we can!!!

good morning ladies.

wtan, ilovemybabyg,
hope both of you didnt worked too late last night. me too worked late but did not wanna stay in office too late so left abt 9pm and brought my work home to do instead. tis morning almost cannot wake up to come to work cos i went to bed at 12+ last night. my boy super active somemore and i was trying to soothe him down so i only fell asleep ard 1+.

mummyjoy,
were you the one asking me abt the tai jiao book? the full title of the book is called "Prenatal Parenting: The Complete Psychological and Spiritual Guide to Loving Your Unborn Child (Hardcover)".
451676.jpg

Coral, I hunch when i walk, I also like to put pillow behind when I sit so tummy is like pointed out, don't know if this posture is good...jialat lei...after delivery might get back ache.

Ilovemybabyg, oh...,sayang, sayang, hope you have a nice day today.

vivian, my hip also feel numb and pain after seating whole day, I also dun know if it is hipache or hipbone pain, can tell me more? What type of exercise we can do to relieve the pain?

Selina, TQ
I will go and get the book.

good morning
kiss.gif

early early mrng kena scold by client liao.
kao_sad2.gif
. spoil my mood ......

wendy / janice,
take care urself oo even hav work till too late.

Sleeping position.
yup. sleep with face up is not good position for preggie. b4 tat i saw a book said tat lying on left side is the best way. but recently i read an article tat is good if we can sleep with lying on left & right too. mayb when we start sleep, we can sleep on left side. then when we wake up halfway, we can turn to rght side ba....hehe. my explanation not so gd. hope u all can understand wat i mean.

Jasmine,
not me. Wendy and ilovemybabyg were the ones who worked late last night. Selina too.

MTBs,
so far u have more or less settled with baby's name?

i finally complete my last prenatal class yesterday , in total 8 lessons-...

cos mine was at SGH, so everytime hubby got to leave office at 5 plus cos lessons start at 6pm sharp..

wonder who find the lessons really useful ? my prenatal coach was telling us epidural is the norms nowsadays ?

janice, Crystallized,
Yup, im ndra's mum.. Last time, before I get this backpain, I usually get up on bed by just sitting up (like doing sit up)..Still got alot of ways for getting up ar?? But now my back hurts so everyday my maid will pull me up..

Hi hi Janice..
I was hoping that I can sleep thru the night aft I got home..but duno why woke up 2 times in a row..but hubby was very understanding & let me sleep for a few more mins this morn..coz usually he will be the one lying on the bed & laze for a while..hehe..

Hi hi mmummyjoy..
Nowadays..i will have my bloster in betw my legs, curled up & sleep sideways lor..at office..will have a cushion to support my back..me tyring to get use to lifting up my legs a little higher..as I have very bad water retention..so hopefully this works for me..

Hi hi Vivian..
Do hope that u can finish writing the report..take gd care hor..

Hi hi bliss..
Maybe u can check out with ur gynae?whens ur next appt?dun walk too much now..be careful also..

Hi hi jenny..
Tell us if its nice when the swiss roll arrives..cheers~

Hi hi Selina..
Wow..u slept so late also ahh..i think Caleb wants u to go sleep so thats why he kept kicking lor..me cant tahan maybe see stars aft seeing so many numbers..trying to tie the difference..

Hi hi jasmine..
Thks..dun get affected by the client lah..think of happy things ba..one more day to wkend liao..k?i realized nowadays..my hands get numb very easily..i got to wake up 2 times due to the numbness of my hands..i think its not a gd habit for me..coz I like to hide my hands under pillow & sleepbetter get rid of this habit lor..do u encounter ur side rib bones painful when u sleep?me will have very painful rib bones..esp the left side..when I lie down..alamak..

jo,
wow. you finish the class so soon? aspialle, coral, vivian n myself only attended 2 lessons so far, going for our thrid on sat.

i think epidural is very common but personally i'm not for it as will try to endure. it really depends on individual pain tolerance level.

bliss,
NO! NO! dun get ur maid to pull u up!!! it will hurt ur back more. the correct way is like wat i said, to turn to ur side (either one but preferably on ur left) use ur left hand to form a 90 deg, then ur right hand will push u up fr the bed. this will help to lessen the problem. u try it. u cant get up as pre-pregnancy like doing sit-ups. will cause injury.

jo,
lessons r to prep us, but when labour comes, we usually 4get everything! so best if ur hb can rem some breathing techniques as he is supposed to b the calmer one when u r in labour.

bliss,
the best way to get up is to turn to your side, use your hands to support your weight on the floor or bed, then use hands to push yourself up. nv nv try to get up like doing situps.

wendy,
when i sleep on my sides, my arm will be painful in the morning when i wake up. like pressing hard down on it too long like that. we preggie woman really alot of pain here n there hor... pple usually get lower back pain but i get tailbone pain n upper back pain. dunno y upper back is aching every day. that shld ache least cos it is so well supported. i really wonder y?????

jasmine,
take it ez.

coral,
the swiss roll arrived! Wah liew, smell really nice even the box is sealed. I can't wait to go home now leh.

Little Kid,
Is halad. I saw the halad logo on the delivery van just now. Yes, just collected. Oh, I roughly know where you stay. Next time if anyone of us order, we tompang can?

crystallized,
haha... I make you drool meh? Me also drooling myself cos there's 2 ctns right beside my desk now!!! Argh... 5.30pm, quick come...

Selina, I also get upper back pain. The doctor say it's more like stress induce or we very tense from work and also long time using the computer.
I'm also thinking of not using epidural again, but hb say no point going thru the pain again. At first, he was worried that epi could cause backache, but since antenatal say it won't so he see no point of me going thru the pain again. But I'm still thinking if I can I'll still endure cos I want to feel bb being born. It's a nice feeling to feel bb pushing against the birth canal, it was a wonderful feeling and I hope to feel it again. I heard epi makes us feel slightly numb so I don want to miss out that feeling... Maybe last night your brain too active liao, working till so late, so Caleb also become more hyper.

Jasmine, sayang sayang, don't let client affect your mood.

Jenny, tempt us some more, and tonite we'll go rob swiss roll at Wellington. ;P

coral,
think i shared b4. so far, all my nurses friends advised against using it. though they themselves tell patient no major side effects but they dun use it themselves cos they say it will somehow cause side effects like back pain in future. also, if the epidural not administered properly, can cause patient to go paralysed as well. for me i rather endure with the pain for that moment and like what you said, try to enjoy the process then suffer later on long term.

coral, jenny,
ha ha ha!!! it will b a great scene to see preggie women charging to steal the swiss. think lock might not help. a bonucer mayb....

Hi all MTBs

You all were talking about swiss roll and its making me craving for it. Where to buy this swiss roll?

The postings are going too fast for me to catch up.

Coral, we are consider lucky cos golden kiwi only sold during june ad july.
My friend has no chance to eat last time during pregnancy.
So all of u going with hubby on 1/7? My hubby got work project to do this month so very busy, I am going alone. His work more important cos I still not comfrim going back to work after giving birth, so his income is very impt now.
I only attend the second talk from 11am.

Today starting my class (should be the second class liao, cos got 1 mark-up leasson).

Jenny, my colleagues also recommend pigeon disposable pads.

451843.png

Wei Kuan, your hb can't got to work full day on Sat? If only half day I think it's fine for him to join in the talk later. Cos a part is on vaccine and later there's some talk on fatherhood. If not wrong, 2nd class gotta do some exercise, so better wear pants.

coral i hope he can join in, cos sat my mum can't go with me due to the upgrading, if hb working then i have to attend alone

Jenny,
wow, you're bringing the 2 ctns back home yourself?? Going to eat today? remember to tell me your comment on the quality of the roll tomorrow.

Jackiejon,
I think I saw someone started another BP for Tampines but don't know has the order closed.

Hi bliss,

Never get up from bed using sit up method even if you are not pregnant. It will hurt the back as it's a sudden movement, the back may not adjust to it in time. My yoga master always stress this point to us. The correct method in getting out of bed, is as what crystalised and selina said, lay on your side, use your hands to push yourself up.

Hmm, I cant sleep on my left side for long. My bb will kick me, seems like she dun like me in the left position, I shift to the right, she will stop kicking.