(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

AIYOH! Jenny, still wanna tell me u got 2 cartons of swiss rolls!! Made me crave 4 it tt i went to get one to eat during lunch juz now!

u bought so much for wat?

Hahahahhaa, we r the Swiss roll pregnant robbers! hahahahahahahhahahaa

why muz wait till 5.30? cant open and eat 1 now?

eh btw u ordered ur Birks? i am short of a pair now to qualify 4 the FOC shipping. Or any ladies keen?

U ladies so brave, determined not to use epidural? i am keeping my options open. dunno can tahan the pain anot.

Crystallized, not sure if I can successfully endure this time if not too long then can lor. the last time my very painful contraction lasted close to 2hrs, I tot I was dying, but luckily, still managed, but if it's like some pple say last 3-4hrs, not sure if I can take it man. So keeping fingers crossed.

Hey, ladies who're going to Sat class, maybe we should take a group pic of out tummy only and can post here for a whose tummy is it "contest". Hehe, might be interesting to see if the rest of the MTBs here can guess who's tummy. What do you think? (Selina, Vivian, Wei Kuan & Aspialle)

Little Kid,
No lah, 2 ctns! You think I siao ah hahaha... I tell you hor, I see the swiss roll hor, looks like the same one that my aunt let me try b4 leh. But hers is vanilla flavour lor, quite nice. Cooling cooling type.

crystallized,
I bet the one you ate just now not as nice as what I have now hahaha...
Buy to eat lah, if not, buy to keep meh? Dun wan to open now, if not wait hb said I no yi qi leh. He away for ICT. So I wait for him tonight to eat together.
I haven't order my birkenstock cos waiting for my sis lor. I tried it yesterday for the size le. And will settle for regular cut. If order with you, where to collect ah? You order from which website?

Angeline,
The thongs I want is selling at $129 at Birkenstock outlet. Online is selling at less than $80. If get more than $280, shipping is free.

Jenny, you make me can't take it liao. Now gotta ask my office pple to organise the bulk purchase liao. What flavour you buy this time?

coral,
in tt case, ur delivery this time dunno consider 1st one or 2nd coz u went thru the last time alrdy. aiyoh, 4 1st time mummies, where got so short labour like 3-4 hrs? sure cannot make it! i am the 1st to surrender my panty! hahahahaaha

wah so many ladies gog 4 antenatal class together ah? so fun!

Jenny,
but 1 carton alot leh, u purposely buy so much juz to eat? can finish ah? ok lah, if managed to organise the birks spree, u treat me one can? keke

hmmm, i dunno how gd ur swiss roll taste but since i had mine, i am pretty satisfied! now not so tempted though u all keep talkg abt it. our cravings v funny hor? heee...

i PM-ed u rgdg the Birks spree liao.

Jenny,
ok lah... since you & Coral said it's nice, perhaps I can now plan whether to order it next month or not. Btw,how big is the roll?? you see... each order has to order 1 ctn, that mean 168 pcs, I'm thinking to give them to my son's classmates next month on my son's bday but his class only got 26 pupils, so if the rolls is small, I can pack them into 2 a box, so that they can share it with their mummies.... maybe in the end I can do a BP in the school..

Hi Crystallized

With God's grace when I gave birth to my son about 3 years ago, I reached the hospital @ 6:30pm and by 8:30pm, he is already out.

Hope this time also short labour, keeping fingers crossed.

Best regards

Crystallized,
I have 2 colleagues who only have 1 child. Their delivery also about 3 hours only leh. Guess depends on luck
?

crystallized, the entire labour for me last time lasted about 20hrs, the inital contraction and ache was very bearable. Just not comfortable enough to fall asleep. But the real pain strike during the last 2hrs. That was when I tot I'll die and not see my hb again. But then he remind me to keep breathing and so I remember the different techniques of breacthing and rocking for the different stage of preg. So I just focus on rocking and breathing throughout the pain and finally when the urge to push came the pain sort of disappeared or bcos I was too excited to push so did nto feel the pain anymore.

Littlekid the rolls are small. Although each order must be 1ctn but they're packed into boxes of about 42, so it's easy to do buly purchase ans share the rolls.

Janice & jackiejon,
i oso wish i can b so blessed to hv short labour.

jackiejon,
its ur 2nd one this time so labour will def b shortly.

coral,
at least ur hb still can remind u to use the proper breathing techniques. i wonder when my turn comes, will my hb b kan cheong spider and 4get abt everything. in the end, think i will end up screaming!

rocking? wat technique is tt? can elaborate?

Hi Janice

What is the chinese article about?? I already return all the chinese I learn back to my chinese teacher.

Hi Crystallized

I hope so too but was told by other people that different pregnancy gives us different "experience". The other time my son was 3 weeks early. I dont wish to go early for the 2nd one.

Best regards

Crystallized, when the pain was very intense, I curl up on my side and rock my boy in rythm and that helped to ease the pain. Or in a way distract me as I have somethign else to do. it was something tot in a book.

Janice
wah u noe me so well tt i will sure surrender my panty 1st ah? kekeke

yah each pregancy is different but i heard so many times tt 2nd labour will sure be much faster than the 1st one.

As 4 early delivery, think its sthg beyond our ctrl. i oso dun wish 4 this to happen but when my little one decides its time to come out and meet us, we will welcome him!

coral,
gd idea. let's do that man... ha ha ha... but the hbs will feel so awkard...

find out where jenny works n go hijack her while she on her way home on wait for her at wellington... then no need to order so many liao lor...

lucky me no fan of swiss roll so not affected at all by all these talks....

Epidural
========
i will try to endure though i also dunno how long i can tahan but i will keep praying about it... may God bless me...

crystallized,
make sure you have spares with you yah....

early delivery
==============
the last time i watched the pregnancy program on discovery channel, it mentioned that bb's lung which is the last to be developed will initiate the labour pain. it means once the lung is ready and prepares to take in air instead of water (what is happening now when bb is in our womb), it will secrete a kind of chemical into our body and this chemical will cause us to have labour pain. so as long as we are over 36wks, tis can happen anytime depending on how fast your bb's lung's develops. in a way, it is bb's way of telling us they are ready to see this world lor. interesting right.

hey experience mum,
can advise or describe the correct breathing method during labour...cause me already in wk 27 liao (EDD: 1 Oct), no time to go for the pre-natal classes...

Selina,
Heeee, i make sure i wear nice nice panty to surrender! hahahaha

aiyoh, u not affected by the swiss roll talk? lucky u. since last nite i kept thinking abt it until lunch time, ultimate liao! i tell myself i muz hv it, else i wun b happy. luckily managed to lay my hands on one and was so satisfied!

oh wow, thks 4 sharing such an interesting finding on our baby's fully developed lungs tt will cause us labour pain.
yah u r right, its their way of telling us "Mummy, i am ready to come out to rock and roll the world in the family! hisk hiak hiak!
"

Hi MummyToBabyCaleb

Hmmmm...that is interesting. I didnt even know that.

Does anyone know of any premature baby born that is less than 36 weeks?

Best regards

Selina
Me last time similar situation as urs leh. Lucky we both have our own plc already else will die aah.
My PILs have a majiong rm opp our rm and his friends will be there playing every single night until dunno what time and smoking as well. So U can imagine the sound and the smell in my room. Cannot tahan.
Than we like prisoners in the room cos his dad's friends all around hb dun like me to go out of the room. When he leave the room I need to hide in toilet or behind wore robe. U tell me how to tahan. When I first moved in with hb his dad's friend will even just walk into our room to use the toilet. WTH his hse is 2 flats knock into 1 they can't even walk to kitchen for the 2 toilets aah. Lucky hb lock the room when we sleep so after that can only hear them trying to open our door.
There was once we came home to find my BIL using the com in our room and he was sitting on my pillow!! I was so angry I ask my hubby to throw that pillow away after his bro left.

Just what I think
Relationsip with inlaw depends on how we are brought up lor like some of u like ur kids to grow like hubby learn the same values but mine different. Cos no matter how I think also cannot understand why my FIL treat his sons that way they make their kids depend totally on them. My BIL already 20 dyed his hair and the moment his dad see he make the mum bring him downstairs to dye black.
I always tell hubby I want our children to growup to be independent have their own brain and minds to think. Not having to always depend on us and waiting for our orders.

Jackiejon,
The chinese article is written by a person who works in the Pediatrics field. The article talks about brain development and its effects on learning music. He said that the human brain development starts from an early age which is known as the critical period or sensitive period. This is the peak period in which the brain absorbs new techniques and knowledge at its very best. As we grow older, this ability will become slower. The right brain is known for its capability in understanding music, the Arts, feelings etc. This strongly influences the ability to learn music. Thus the right side of the brain is also known as "music brain". When we learn new things at this stage of brain development, large quantity of brain cells easily gets stimulated and complex linkages between these brain cells known as synapses are formed. The more complex the linkages, the better. RNA increases. This leads to smarter brain with better memory.

The writer cited a few examples of famous people such as Mozart who was exposed to music at a very early age.

Conclusion is don't miss the peak period in which our child has the capability to learn things at his/her very best.

Hope my translation is ok.. rusty liao.

coral,
I bought strawberry and blackforest and mini eclairs also.

crystallized,
my 1st delivery last 2 hrs+ hor. but is induced lah :p I'm crossing my fingers this time. Dun be misled that 2nd time delivery will be easy. It depends on individual. Actually contractions can tahan one lah. THe most painful is the last 30 mins where bb head is crowned.

I shared with colleagues lah, I only bought 2 boxes nia.... Sure can finish, my hb very good eater hor.

I will check my mail later.

LittleKid,
Sure no problem lah. The roll is very small only, 2 mouth you finish. 2" by 1" by 1" nia. I think 1 pupil can eat at least 5 pcs.

Selina,
You are so bad! hijack me!!! hahaha...

Crystallized,
Many ppl told me that 2nd delivery is very fast one. I got 1 friend who rushed his wife to the hospital. The nurse got a wheelchair to wheel her into the labour ward, while he went to park his car and did the admission papers. After filling up the form, his wife delivered liao!
That was their 2nd child.

Hmm.. wonder how long he took to fill the forms.

Hi Janice

Oh I see. Thanks very much for your help.

I think I better brush up my chinese or else when my son will think "How come Mummy dont know how to read chinese" then that time I dont know where to hide my face

Actually what he said is true. When my son is only a few months old, we already let him listen to children songs and now he is already 3 1/2 years old and he enjoys music very much.

Best regards

My MIL just called my hb and tell him to tell me I cannot bath at all during confinement. She say cos his auntie bath now having pain all over the body. So I ask him if she is going to buy the herb to boil for me to bath everyday?? He say she didn't say anything about that just say I cannot bath.

So I tell hubby I will bath at least once a week. Else my bb will smell as bad as me cos I will keep carrying him.

Can't imagine what my confinement will be like.
My FIL dun eat at home cos my MIL can't cook well her dishes tasteless. And my MIL never really talk to me at all since before marriage like she very scared of me everything go through my hubby. I will be like transparent she can ask hb in front of me if I want to drink soup.

Hi hi selina..
Oh..ur arms painful ahh..mine is like I think my weight pressing on it then aft a while when I wake up at night, will be numb liao..as for ur tailbone & ur upper backache is maybe becoz u lean forward at ur desk ba..try to lean backward with a cushion to support ur back..maybe it might be more comfy for u..thks for sharing on the info on babys lungs..very interesting hor..i got to know that baby take their 1st breathe when they are born..i guess its also why babies will cry when born out...are u feeling better with the diarrhea?

Hi hi Jenny..
Wow..seems like the mini clairs from the website is pretty delicious ahh..never mind, u try the mini clairs & tell us if its nice hor..hehe..beware of ur area..watch out for preggy women along the way..smiling at u when u r on ur way back..kekeke..**wink-wink**

Hi hi doggiesmummy..
I think u better quickly go & grab the Avert promotion ba

Hi hi wei kuan..
How does golden kiwi test like ah..me dun dare to try leh..only ate those green ones..do enjoy ur class later..tell us more tmrw..cheers~

Hi hi Janice..
Thks for sharing on the article..very interesting..thks..i got hubby to read & summarise for me..hehe..THANKS for ur translation..indeed I also find the brain development very impt lor..esp when they are young..thats why I now find that whoever the caretaker will be taking care of the child is really very impt lor..coz it show how much the child will be able to absorb whatever is being taught to them lor..

Hi hi jackieon..
My eldest SIL is a premature baby..i got to understand from MIL that bcoz she didnt know that she will give birthso even when her waterbag burst on the night..she can sleep till the next morn then aft breakfast then she go to the hospital & natural birth out..then she even grumbled & say..very ma-fan coz got to stay in hospital & also BF..then I think shes the generation that doesnt believe in BFing lor..so my eldest SILs health, according to her, isnt that gd lor..now shes taking some tonics to strengthen her body lor..to me, I find that whatever we eat or drink during pregnancy is very impt..so its gd that we can have a healthy diet lor..be watchful over our diet..

wah doreen,
ur FIL & his frens dunno the meaning of privacy. wat i cant tahan is after i close the door, they still can open the door and walk in to use the bathroom! i will SURELY scream my head off! absolutely no respect 4 the people in the room!

yah lah, when our ILs family behaves really differently, i agree there is no way u can compromise. so all depends on each family, i am juz one of the lucky one.

Janice,
Ur translation is very good leh! very close to the article alrdy! Ur mandarin not at all rusty!

Yah i heard some 2nd delivery v fast one. the moment the hb comes up aft filling in admission papers or once she lies on bed, baby is out alrdy! dun even hv time to think and cope wif labour pains!

Jenny
i always get the idea tt induced will hv longer labour and thus possibility of C-section.
so unless really need to, else i wun wanna hv induced labour.

Contractions can b managed ah? hmmm, really depends on each person's threshold. i think i probably cannot make it liao, coz i alrdy said i am "keeping my options open"... hahaha most likely i will give in to epidural.
but depends on how dilated i am when i am admitted lah.

heeee, so funny! the swiss roll so small until u can finish in 2 bites?

Doreen,
Huh? In hot & humid SG, can u dun bath at all for 1 mth???? think will stink like hell? how to tahan?! can lah, juz bath in hot water wif special herbs. i am not gg to follow these confinement rules blindly.

crystallized,
Induced speeds up the labour! But very painful!
Epidural will slows down the labour.

Doreen,
I can't imagine can't bath. So sweaty, so oily, so smelly!!!

Jenny
but not all induction works rite? cervix cant dilate means no choice liao mah. epidural slows down labour? thot it relaxes u so u dun feel pain? then we can use both at the same time mah, one to hasten the process, the other to numb the painful contractions.

Wat brand is ur diaper ah? i am keen. u email me can? then tonite 1 whole shot i can reply ur email.

Crystallised, if I remeber correctly, when in labour never wear panty or bra, so you got nothing to surrender wor.
Bring a white hanky with you. Hehe.

Sometimes the admission paper take a long long time to fill. I remember that time I was admitted around mid-nite, not manyb pple around, but it took hb more than 30mins to fill it. So I wonder if they allow pre-admission. I heard KKH seem to have such arrangement.

Selina, you think hbs will be awkward?? Dunno leh, should be quite nice leh. See how lor, if they'll feel awkward then won't insist.

Janice, so did the article say when is the golden period?

crystallized,
When must I give you the order for birkenstock? Wah liew, we so near kekeke... I'm waiting for my sis to confirm her order leh. I need to check with her first cos she said she wanna order. I have 2 pairs and my sis will be getting 1 pair. Think she is checking with her friends and bf for the 4th pair. I dun mind joining with you, but let me check with my sis first, then I get back to you ok?
Is there a price difference for the 2 URLs you mentioned? PM me the 2 URLs can? I lost them...

Crystallised, I can't imagine not bathing, my last confinement I bath every other day with the herbs.

My hb was a pre-mature bb. I heard premature bbs are smarter. But of course, more diff to bring up.

My hb's colleague's wife who just gave birth end of May was induced and took 2 days b4 she gave birth...

Crystallized, Jenny
Yah lor I will die aah dun bath now I already bath 2 times a day. hubby actually tell me dun bath jus wipe lor. Than I rather go toilet and rinse myself with warm water rather than stand there wipe slowly right..siao
He want to be good boy obey the mum mah so I say weekend his mum dun come our plc he look after bb I bath....haha
Else I bath at night when the mum go home lor.He dun dare to say anything.....hehehe

crystallized,
Induce works! My gynae induced me and told me "bb will be out within 12 hrs". I almost fainted when I heard 12 hrs. Who knows, 2 hrs after induce, I started to have mild contractions. 2 hrs later, bb is out and damn it, very painful till I fell asleep. Induction will make cervix open.

Epidural slows down labour cos we are too relaxed and can't feel the contractions, so got to wait and wait.

My ex-colleague was induced and she got epidural cos she can't stand the pain. Before the epidural takes effect, she already given birth. Wasted the pain for injection and $ for epidural.

I will email you on the diaper shortly. The birkenstock thingy, I need to check with my sis who is now in HK. When is your deadline to order?

coral,
Pre-admission will helps to speed up. My hb spent less than 15 mins to settle, cos I filled up the admission form when I was 8mth preggie tat time.

Doreen,
Frankly speaking hor, even I bath hor, after bathing the sweat dunno come from where. Bath already like no bath like tat!

Hi wtan

Thats true. That is why if you want to eat just eat dont have to worry about putting on weight. After the birth of the baby can go on diet

Hi Doreen

Actually when I gave birth of my son, I tried not to bath but after discharge from the hospital and at home I cannot take the heat and I starting bathing but only with hot water and with some special herbs which you have buy from the chinese medical hall. With this herbs, you boil with hot water and bath. But come to think of it, the theory about cannot bath comes from China (I think) where the weather is not so hot and the water they use are drawn from the well.

Best regards

Coral
Opps! U pichar my lobang liao!
ok then i bring my white PANTY to surrender!

huh? admission takes so long to complete? SIAO ah! no wonder by the time hb reaches labour ward, the wife gave birth liao.

i oso cant imagine not bathing lor. will make my temper even worse!

yah i heqard prematured babies r cleverer, but dun think they r difficult to bring up leh.

dunno if gynae will allow 2 days to deliver. some will quickly suggest C-section liao.

Jenny,
the Birks one we liaise via email lah. i give u the webbie.

this is the one i am using coz it has the stock my fren wants.
http://www.tobiasmayer.com/birk_brand.php?FirmaId=5

the other one u shared earlier dun hv the one my fren wants so wun b using tt one. think prices the same leh. u check.

i hope can order by this wkend. u let me noe via email lah.

Doreen
i oso bath 2 times a day. i cant imagine surviving for a few days w/o bathing, not to mention 1 whole mth!

Jenny!
U power lah! 1st time i heard pple painful until u fell asleep? WAH! hehehehe
teach me, teach me how u do tt? hehehee

Birks order, think latest by nxt Mon? i oso waiting 4 a fren to go try out the size and cfm wif me. How long u think u will take?

hi Jackiejon
Yah my sis actually told me before last time they dun bath in china cos weather is too cold so they dun let the mothers bath. I believe a few ppl also tried to clarify before that can bath but must use warm water and wipe completely dry dun expose to wind. And I heard if wash hair must make sure blowdry totally immediately lor. But like that sure will sweat again but better than totally dun bath lor.

Dun wash hair I can try to tahan but dun bath??
I think I won't want to be near myself too....hahaha
I told hubby unless my MIL boil the herbs for me to bath everyday else I will sure bath on my own lor...kekeke

Crystallised, when I say more diff to bring up is cos during the inital mths they're weaker cos less developed mah. So have to be extra careful as compared to normal bb. They're smaller and more fragile. That lady who was induced for 2 days was only in her 38wks, but gynae tot her bb already correct size so induced her. And we were all anxiously waiting, in the end took 2 days b4 her bb came out and was only 2.4kg.

crystallized,
I try to hor, got need to get hold of my sis first. I check and let you know.
I emailed you on the diaper le.

jackiejon,
My mum also said the same thing. She said no bathing cos last time water is from well, dirty and cooling mah. So MTBs last time are forbidden to bath. Now can bath, but with hot water. I bath at 10pm+ when I discharge from hospital cos I can't tahan w/o bathing. I bathed at nite cos I waited for my CL to go sleep cos she dun allow me to bath!