(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jackiejon,
I've PM you.

crystallized,
I dunno leh, cos I already know my size and hb's one. I just need to catch my sis in MSN.
I also dunno how I fell asleep, dun ask me hahaha...

coral,
very dangerous leh, induced for 2 days...

Hi Jenny & Doreen

That is a good one. Must learn from you to wait till either CL, MIL or mother to sleep first than bath.

Best regards

jackiejon,
Welcomed. if want, quick call to place order. The stock are running very fast. I called to place order for a ctn and my hb went to collect today. Too bad only left NB and S size nia.

prenatal class:
SGH has it only on tuesdays (6pm to 8pm )& wednesdays (6pm to 730pm). tuesdays : prenatal class ; wed - physio class .
It is for 4 consecutive weeks, that's y i started on 6 June and have my last lessons on 28 June =)

Epidural :
i have also heard abt the side effects fr mum..so unless it is a no choice situation, i prefer to give birth without any kind of pain relief..but my hubby was saying my threshold for pain is very low, so he dun think it is possible ;)

hehe, i think so too, went to see this chinese doc who treats sprained ankle...i am the only patient who cried and fell off the seat when he tries to rub it

jackiejon,
it's very common that Chinese dun know mandarin lah. My colleagues are Chinese but most of them speak English also.

Doreen,
my mum also said cannot take bath. old already then u know ah. Oh yucks.. later baby and hubby both scared of me..

Wendy,
i fully agree with u. It's important who's the caregiver to the child. That's y i really hesistate to get a maid to be alone with baby whole day.

Crystallized,
pie say lah
. Was translating until half way, my mind can't work liao. Thanks! Shall reward myself with a nice blueberry cheesecake. Yum yum

Good leh! No need to cope the labour pains too long! Hope our babies will guai guai cooperate.

jenny,
can pm me the diaper link. tks

labour pain
===========
i also scared i will fall asleep leh. usually i menstral pain right, i will definitely need to sleep otherwise will pain whole day type but if i sleep at least a while, pain will be fine very fast. also, when facial, beautician squeeze squeeze very painful until i will fall asleep. once no more pain, i will wake up automatically. so how hur, if i fall asleep than how to push?

wendy,
me stomach still feels funny but no more diarrhea liao. just now after lunch meeting, my tummy like wanna explode man. cannot even walk. think i'm beginning to eat lesser n lesser every meal cos if eat too much, will feel very very uncomfortable like wanna explode like that.

bathing during confinement
==========================
think i will bath only with warm water (i dun think i can tahan cold water anyway) n wif herbs ba. guess my dad or mum will earnestly boil the herbs for me to bath ba. my sis bath everyday during her confinement too.

induce labour
=============
so far, all my friends and my sis who had induced labour deliver within half a day at most. like my sis, admit in morning at 7 or 8, then latest by 2pm will deliver liao. my mum says induce will b faster.

premature
===========
a lot of care and attention needed. the tai jiao book i reading says inorder for prematures to grow and develop well after birth, mummy plays a very big role. by constantly holding them close to us will help soothe them of a lot of anxieties n to calm them. the book written by a PD says he came across many prematures and those whose mummies cannot for some reason be with them everyday to carry, cuddle or hold the bb, suffer alot while those with mummies always with them grow and develop faster. he says just depending on hospital equipments, medications n nurses not enf at all to sustain a premature. mummies presence and touch is very very important.

wendy,
think either my backside very flat or my tailbone longer than normal cos supposedly when u seat straight, should not touch the tailbone but when i sit straight, still touch my tailbone so i give up liao. pain or bo bian lor.

Selina, you good leh, eat a little then feel full. Now I don get full easily, need to eat more to feel full.Dunno why, I always hear pple say when tummy get bigger, less space, eat a little feel full liao, I'm still waiting for that to happen...

Coral,
The article only mentioned that the peak period is during the early years and puberty period leh. No specific period stated.

"üڵĽ׶ΣͷڣԲչΪѸ٣ѧϰ¼ܺü֪ʶĽ׶Ρʱڽؼü(critical period)(sensitive period)Ҳѧϰ֣ɹϸߵʱڡϧڳɳУʧܳڱС"

But i do heard that many kids about 3 years old can memorise those pop music and sing the whole song without singing the lyrics wrongly! My ex-manager's daughter could sing the whole song of Justice Bao when young!

Janice, thanks for the info. My mum also don't allow me to touch pure water. She'll mix water with bai2 jiu3 to wash hands. She'll also fry black bean, giner, brown rice in a dry wok and mix these with boiling water to replace normal boiled water for me to drink and make Milo. So I did not touch or drink pure water during confinement. Suppose to prevent wind I guess. And in Taiwan they believe no pure water as well, can't remeber what kind of water they used. But their reason is also to prevent wind and also to help regain pre-preg figure faster...

Coral
i think depends on how prematured the babies are. i do agree they need more care & love to feel secure and grow faster. and i oso heard tt prematured babies, though weigh less at birth, will catch up v soon, if not heavier than those babies born at full term.

Jenny
then u wait till u catch ur sis in MSN then. i neither here nor there now. cant order yet.

Selina,
wah u another super mummy leh! can pain till u fall asleep? i oso kena v bad menses cramps b4, but i gotta wait till pain a bit subsided then can sleep, else i juz curl up like a worm. how to ever fall asleep while in pain ah? u gals r amazing!

aiyah dun worry, when u need to push, ask the midwife to wake u up lor, say ur baby's head is crowning, will sure get u excited to push! keke
dun think u will fall into such a deep slumber.

janice, coral,
the tai jiao book i read got say the brain development best years or something like that. i go back flip n let you know ok.

crystallized,
for me, sleep when in pain is best cos you will not feel the pain then. so guess i mastered the skill since young lor...

Hi hi jenny..
How come u get to know abt this lobang?Can I have the diaper contact?u msn me, can? Thks!

Hi hi doreen..
I think as long as u dry urself immediately aft bathing shd be ok ba..only in those olden days..dun have hairdryer..so advised not to bath lor..but if no bath then sweat can be very er-xin lor one..very saltish one leh..alamak..

Hi hi jackieon..
Ya..i totally agree with u..eat 1st then later decide how to shed..as long as baby grow, surely it will be worth lor..hehehe..

Hi hi Janice..
If u manage to get someone to take care of the baby is impt lor..at least u can have a peace of mind to do ur work lor..how come cannot touch pure water during confinement?did ur mum tell u why?

Hi hi Selina..
Maybe u can take smaller meals then more times ba..dun walk so much lor..hope u r getting better also..i agree with what u said..mummys touch & hug is very impt lor to all babies..did u tell ur gynae abt ur tailbone/upper backache painful?i think u dun walk ard so much..try to lie back to back with ur chair ba..hope the pain go away soon for u..

Hi hi coral..
Wow..ur mum is very thotful leh..really take gd care of u well..gd to hear that..is very interetsing that taiwanese also cant touch pure water during confinement ahh..

Hi wtan,

Kindly update my details:

Age - 30
Gynae - Dr PK Teo @ Mt. E
Hospital - Mt Alvernia

Expecting 1st child,a Princess

Wendy, I think all mums will ry their best to take care of their daughter.
The Taiwanese thing is from a program I saw on those confinement centre that's getting very popular in Taiwan. many of their woman dont do confinement at home but go stay in confinement centre where there's professionals to take care of both bb and mum. Hb was saying maybe can start such business in Spore too.

hi gals, gues i have missed alot again..dare not log in to yak wif u gals cause my whole world seems upside down yesterdae...worked till 12 midnite yesterdae...guess tis wk not my wk, so many unpleasant things happened at one go... sigh...

anyway, dun wan dampen u gals...take care.. wil log in whn i manage to find time ya....

Selina,
clap clap to u and Jenny for mastering this amazing skill. i wld love to master it too. yah agreed, to fall asleep when its too painful will definitely help lots!

coral,
yah i read abt the article tt taiwanese stayed in a confinement hotel. heee, good idea hor?
everything under the sun tt a new mummy and her baby needs.

Selina,
I've replied to your mail on the diaper.
Dun worry lah, you won't fall asleep when is time to push cos damn painful till you will be very awake.

Janice,
My previous CL said if want to wash hand during confinement time, must use water that have been boiled and cooled.

Wendy,
MSN me tomorrow morning ok? It's a contact from a friend. She mentioned about another 2 brands, but we talked 1/2 way today. Let me check with her again and let you gals know if got further good lobangs.

Coral,
Where do you stay? You know the diaper distributor was asking me to take S size as well, but I din cos I dun wanna stock too much cos no place to keep, so I got the ctn for NB instead. I wanna get the XL for my gal but out of stock le

Wendy,
I also not sure y cannot touch water leh. Mayb scared arthritis when old? My mum said if dun take care during confinement, when old all the pain here and there. Bu4 ting1 lao3 ren2 yan2 chi1 qui1 zai4 yan3 qian2... But dun think i can tahan even 1 day w/o washing my hair..i wash twice a day leh.

Coral,
wah fry so many things and drink it all down ah
How did it taste??

Your hb got business sense leh! Hard to say wor. That natal essential catering service also started because the boss couldn't find suitable food for his wife during confinement and that was how he started the biz leh.

ilovemybabyg,
u worked til midnight?! Do take care of yourself and baby, k? We know u missed here lah.
See? Still can find time to come in and take a peek!

Feedback on Swiss Roll
=====================
I like the strawberry one. The black forest, I think got a bit of wine added, so I dun really like. Texture is soft and cream is cool, especially if taken out to eat from fridge.

Feedback on Mini Eclairs
=====================
Very nice ah!!! Chocolate not too sweet and there's chocolate ice-cream cream like inside the tarts.

janice, i bathe everyday & wash hair for the 'confinement period' after giving birth to my 1st one.. Cuz i still need to attend classes, so bo bian, if not i'll smell bad.. But i did use the herbs leh..
I didnt do any confinement at all..Dunno izzit bcuz of that, thats y now my back & legs hurts like crazy..

Can i check if anyone of u decided to go for c-sec?? Cuz i confirm have to go for c-sec, still trying to decide on date..
Would u prefer ur 2 kids to have birthday on the date? Cuz my girl bd on 5th Oct, im considering whether to let 2nd one have the same birthdate (so that next time celebrate 1 time for 2 kids can liao)..Haha..Any opinions?

Me back from MIAing... finished my stupid report and decided to do some retail therapy today to relieve stress... haa... din go far... just went compasspoint and managed to grab a pair of hush puppies shoes from metro.
Tomolo bringing my mum to do her makeover (me and my sister's 50th birthday gift for her). Think will go temple 'bai bai' and do some shopping too. Hopefully, my hip and back can stand it.
So most likely will MIA again tomolo... you gals enjoy your chat.

Hi mmummyjoy,
============
my hipache is not actually hipbone pain coz it is more on my right side of my hip and it is not those backache, consistent kinda pain. More of that 'electricity-shock' kinda pain. It happens on and off even if I try to move a bit. It just come suddenly and no particular reason. Think selina also having hipbone pain and hers is slightly different from mine. Hers is more of the tailbone pain. Maybe she can tell you more abt hers.
According to the therapist from KKH (during antenatal class), it is the soft tissue inbetween my hipbones that are giving me problems. For me, the only way to relieve the pain is to bed rest or at least try not to move that much. My gynae gave me at least 5 days of MC and I have to lie down as much as possible. Only then, after 2-3 days, it gets slightly better.
I do advise you to check with your gynae if it gets worse. Mine got swollen and infection the last time. Pain like hell...

Hi coral,
=========
Wah... "who's tummy is it?" contest ah? haa... sounds interesting... guess we will finally see each other this sat... so exciting... hee...

Epidural
========
erh... my threshold of pain is super low one leh... everyone ard me knows that... hee..think epidural seems to be my only hope leh... see how lah.. maybe let me experience pain a bit and buay tahan then take the miracle epi-jab lor...
hee..

Wow Vivian,
YOur mum is 50 only, thats young! She's a young grandma to be. My mum is also considered as young grandma cos she upgraded at the age of 53 hahaha...

bliss,
i'll most probably go for c-section cos 1st one was also c-section but gynae feels that c-section would be safer for me. i will go thru' the options with him the next appt. I dun mind c-section but my worry is the longer recovery and i wont be able to carry my #1 and he's very sticky to me.
Having the same birthdate is so fun! save money in celebrations also. haha!
i probably wont be choosing date for my op cos my gynae charges extra (think it's $500) if i choose time and date.

hi babygrace
is c section very painful? heard tat they give panadol to ease pain, will it affect breastfeeding? how abt the scar?

Hi Janice

I studied chinese in school but during that time chinese was not that important as long as pass can already. I only started talking in chinese when I started work because sometimes dont want the bosses to know what we gals are talking about ;-p

Hi Coral

I also heard about that method. Using black bean, ginger and brown rice. Presently, my mum fry the brown rice and make water for me to drink. It is suppose to strengthen our legs and also prevent water retention. I had water retention when I was about 4 months and it did improve a bit.

Hi Mummy to Rhys

Do you stay in Seng Kang area? I am staying in Seng Kang.

Jenny,
oh the diaper is german brand ah? nvr heard b4 leh. but nvm lah, i give it a miss.

bbgrace,
wah din noe to pick a date & time 4 C-section costs much more! so its all dependant on ur gynae when to perform the C-section ah?

i oso like the idea of same bdae! heee, sure v fun!
and easy to organise. i feel it also creates a deeper sense of bonding b/w the siblings.

jacjiejon,
since vivian will be MIAing today, i shall answer on her behalf. she stays in punggol so guess compass point is the only so called 'shop-able' shopping mall for punggolites like vivian n myself.

my aunt says if dun fry the brown rice also can. just boil it n drink the water will be good also, better than drinking plain water now.

ilovemybabyg,
sayang, sayang... try to take a break in between whenever you can ok. i also working late this couple of days. will forcing myself to finish up the proposal by end today so i can have a gd dinner with hb tonight. haven seen him for 2 days liao. think my boy miss him cos everytime he calls, my boy will kick n kick...

wendy,
u may wanna try the brown rice drink method by jackiejon. may help wif your water rentention.

bliss, babygrace,
my gal friend who will b due in nov also plan to let #2 born on same date as her #1. she also c-section for #1 so #2 she will go for c-sect too.

vivian, jenny,
think our mums are young grandma. my mum 53 n grandma for 3 (2 from my sis n soon 1 from me). dun think i have such good fortune to b grandma at such a young age. me already 31 tis year. by the time my boy finishes school, ns, work, i already 60+ liao... **sigh**...

jenny,
so you mentioned to bring your swiss n eclairs back home safely yesterday. gald no one waylaid you on the way

crystallized,
i takes a lot of practice i must say. years in fact

NB Diaper
=========
my sis ask me to use pampers cos she says for NB, better use pampers first cos bb skin very very sensitive so scared use other brands will cause skin irritation leh.

jenny,
have you tried this German brand diaper b4? is it good?

Wtan,
The taste of the golden kiwi is sweet, not like the green one.

Yesterday the lesson was great, they teach us some basic exercise to strengthen our body during and after pregnancy.
I have no regrets joining the lesson, anyway the last lesson is on mid-august.

Coral,
Is it true that pre-mature babies are more clever, I was given birth at 7 mths (28 weeks), but very stupid, do not like to study, force myself very hard one leh. My stuy very poor one and very lazy too.
So we can fill up admission form first? Then what abt the birth date?

Jenny, why is it too painful will cause us to fall alsleep? my mum also 53 years old, same as ur mum.

If we dont bath and after 1 or 2 weeks go for the docs appt, I guess docs and nurse will faint.

janice, what is "üڵĽ׶ΣͷڣԲչΪѸ٣ѧϰ¼ܺü֪ʶĽ׶Ρʱڽؼü(critical period)(sensitive period)Ҳѧϰ֣ɹϸߵʱڡϧڳɳУʧܳڱС"

Selina,
My mini eclairs and swiss rolls reach home safety hahaha...

If you gals love mini eclairs, can consider ordering. Really very nice.

My colleagues also told me use pampers cotton, so I used it for my gal. But then hor, my friend is using all kinds of brand for her bb and is ok leh. I see no problem cos for NB bb, we need to keep changing the diaper every 1 or 2 hr. If bf bb, bb will shit immediately after drinking.

My friend and her friends are using this german brand diaper and all said good. It is latex free and dermatologically tested. Some said her bb skin is sensitive, but after switching to this brand, the rashes are gone. This is their feedback lah. I wanna buy for my gal to try, but stock for her size no more liao.

Currently, this diaper is now left with NB and S size, no other sizes le, cos the distributor is clearing stocks. Cos this diaper brand has been taken over by another company.

I understand that coral has reserved a ctn of S Size. I have got my ctn of NB size (6 packs x 20 pcs). If anyone is interested to get but not in ctn, I can share mine, provided collection point is convenient lah.

wei kuan,
this forum dun allow chinese text.
my mum this year is 54 le, she's a rabbit.
why pain until fall asleep ah, I also dunno leh... Or should I use the word "faint" instead of "sleep"?? hahaha

Good moring ladies,
MIA for a day yesterday. so many work to do & feel tired. actually yesterday the client is KNS & i dun bother & think about tat incident aftertat bcoz dun wan to spoil my mood.
hehe....lucky i 'm not swiss roll fan.

hi hi wendy,
for my side rib bones painful, wat i can do is keep on change to either both side when i sleep. So, feel better lol. but hor sometimes when i wake up, notice tat most of the time i sleep with face up. now hor, my bb always at the area near my belly butt there, so sometimes when i stand straight will feel a bit pain lor. but hb said nvm coz it's show tat bb is growing up. how about u>

hi coral / selina,
i read frm preg. book tat when we reach 3rd trimeter, our tummy is getting bigger & push up mear to our stomach. So, we won't hav much appetite. & we won't gain much weight when we reach 3rd tri.

hi ilovemy babyg,
why need to work till so late? must take care of urself oo....

hi coral,
yeah..... the taiwan artist 'xiao S' stay at those confinement centre. they will stay there for a mth. but i think is ex lol..

wei kuan,
i saw gold kiwi sell at shop n save this morning. 5 for $3.65. since u said it's nice, think shall buy & try it hor.

babaygrace,
Oh, i didnt know choose dates, need to pay extra, cuz last yr when i about 37 weeks,she just say pick a date between 38-39 weeks for delivery.. Alamak, later she charge me for picking dates i also dunno..

aspialle,
I dont feel pain at all cuz they gave painkiller (both the drip & oral one). And every few hrs, the nurse will ask pain or not, if i say pain they will increase the dosage.. Didnt affect breastfeeding..
Haha, i only feel pain when my hb drove me back home.. Still can remember i still with the stitches den my hb drove across the humps too fast, i can feel the 'pull' around the stitches.. Almost cried out..

jasmine,
i read on that too but me not 3rd tri yet leh. already quite bad liao. cannot imagine in a couple of wks i'll move into 3rd tri then how? now even my breakfast have to cut down from 2 slice of wholemeal bread to 1 slice cos i also take a cup of yogurt n milk.

bb position
===========
i will feel very uncomfortable when my boy is at my belly button area. can feel that area very hard n tight. walk also got prob. i asked hb to touch once, then a while later asked him to touch again, it became soft, bb moved to somewhere else. cant imagine where else he can move too, our womb like not very big right... so interesting.

jenny,
u r right. mayb we shld term it as 'faint' instead of sleep hor. i'll let you know abt the diaper if i wanna share.

wei kuan,
I suppose your office uses legal version of MS softwares then you can actually download the Global IME for free at microsoft website so you can read Chinese text, can even choose to read Japanese, Korean etc.

Jasmine,
My mum 1st become grandma when she's 47, keke, abit younger.. But i think the happiest one is my great grandmother (grandfather's mother).. So lucky, can be alive to see her great great grandchildren..All thanks to me..Hahaha..

crystallized,
I think hor the birkenstock hor, you go ahead with your order bah. Cos the pair tat my hb wants, is out of stock in the URL that you are going to order. I did a comparsion and the prices at the URL that you are going to purchase is higher leh. How come you said cheaper ah?

Weikuan,
the fonts are in Chinese which i pasted from the article on brain development.

U still have craving for the golden kiwi huh? Hee hee..

I dun even remember ever having menses cramp leh. Cos my menses very erratic, can be few months apart one. Cham.. pain threshold should be very low.

Selina,
did u manage to find the topic on brain development in your prenatal book?