(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi coral
agree with u
i also dun wan my hb to be sandwiched
tink everyone has + and - so certain tings just have to let go. they also have their gd sides.

coral,
i understand. i oso dun tell hb everything. only when i really cannot tahan than i will fine a right time to tell him. sometimes already long past but will bring it up when appropriate lor. but will definitely 'fa1 xie1' with my gal friends first lor....

jasmine,
then lucky us. we got nice MILs.
think 4 u coz ur MIl understd ur family is not here 4 u, so she tries to make u feel loved and family warmth. hee, same lah, when we eat out during wkends, she asked us to eat better food.

mummyjoy
quite true tt depends on their upbringing oso. i wished nxt time my child will b as well-behaved as my hb and his siblings when they were young.

there r bound to b some conflicts when we stay together, usually differences in habits etc. i juz close 1 eye and try to come to terms wif it. no point harping to my hb all the time. he feels sandwiched and will indirectly stained our r/s. so i will try to curb and only voice out when the same thing happens a few times.

doreen,
thks 4 sharing the link. i shld b able to complete the bulk purchase as i am consolidating fr frens.

jenny,
did u ask me abt BP for birks earlier? paiseh totally missed out ur posting. i think i can manage to get the min order now. so will order on my own.
thks 4 offering.

coral
u only visit ur ILs occasionally? if in tt case, at least dun hv to "suffer" so frequently. try to make up 4 the lost nutrition at other meal times.
eat some rice & veggie is oso quite gd.

perhaps u can try to find an opportunity to talk to ur MIL abt the crab & bu issue. 4 me, i always tell my MIL indirectly by saying wat my frens practise or tell me. eg, for tonics, i tell her as long as got bu once a wk is sufficient. i dun wan baby to grow too big and its hard to deliver. moreover, too much herbs might hv effects on baby later like easily developing heat rashes than other babies. tt was wat happened to my nephew. so by telling her tactfully, she got my meaning and yet she noes i am not being disrespectful nor not appreciating her kind efforts.

emily
heee, so ur MIL is the opp fr us. "Free thinker"... oso hv gd side.
think some times its not as easy to love our ILs family as much as our own. though we wld love to, but tt takes time and effort. no matter wat, the feeling is different fr our own family.

selina,
wah u certainly researched quite abit hor? hehee
thks 4 sharing ur findings wif us.

wah you gals "bomb" this thread ah... I missed here but unable to login cos a lot of work to do... And basically I'm very angry with some colleauges today that I broke down. Haiz suan le...

So many postings, I dunno where to start to read, took a quick glance.

Crabs
====
I got eat. In fact, stingray and sotong are more "poison" than crabs. But I still eat them. Elders said avoid eating crabs cos scare bb grows up to be itchy hands and legs.

Daughters better?
================
Gemini, I must agreed this!!! :D Cos after married, I'm more closed to my family. So does my hb. My hb in fact no longer close to his family and only goes back once a mth or once in 2 mths time. However, he goes to my aunt's place once every week and stays over with me at my mum's place at least once a week.

Birkenstock
===========
I'm ordering from www.footshopping.com
Orders exceed $280, free shipping. You gals can consider to order together, think min 4 pairs will do.

Babygrace, thanks! I'm going to get regular cut.

MIL's cooking
============
Aiya, I think I complained abt my MIL b4. My MIL has never cooked for me b4 hor. Or in fact, I dun eat her cooking.

Maternity leave
==============
I will be clearing at one shot. Cos no one will cover my work when I'm not around. Rather than making my work miserable, I will take one whole shot and miserable for a mth or so, before things get back to normal pace.

Holidays during Maternity Leave
===============================
The holidays will not be compensated. Depends on your company policy, maternity leave should be 84 days and it starts from the day you give birth. This 84 days include public holidays, sat, suns. Very lugi hor??? That time I gave birth to my gal, I also kena a lot of public holidays!!! Argh...

Hi hi aspialle..
U also luncheon meat lover ahh..but I think we cant take too much lor..very salty leh..not very healthy also..me told hubby to stop me from eating luncheon meat from today onwards..then he goes like I think this morn u just ate leh..alamak..

Hi hi Janice..
For me, I will be clearing my annual leave and then from the day that bb is born..will apply 3 mths ML..hopefully I dun have to come back during yr-end closing lor..hehe..dun think so much lah..if co really want to ask me to leave, then I will find another job lor..we are young so ok to find job...maybe its better also..coz I awaz believe that whatever is done to me will be pay back lor..so if they really ask me to leave..then they better pray that they wont be the one to be asked to leave when they get older lor..relax..i normally get my shoes from Isetan Tamp..seems like theres a lot of variety there lor..get bigger size coz later stage our feet will surely grow bigger lor..

Hi hi Selina..
I guess maybe for my MIL, most of the SIL's hubbies love deep fried stuff ba..i tell u hor..her usage of oil hor..u cant imagine lor..when I picked up the pork chop..it's like oil is the gravy lor..oh mine..u will want to be a vegetarian aft seeing the pool of oil lor..Actually think & crispy luncheon meat is also very nice one lor..hehe..also not that guilty hor..dun care abt wat others comments lah..as long as u know what u r doing is right can liao..i think this goes for educating ur youngs too..no need to hear those old-fashion methods lor...I hope my in-laws wont interfere with my style on that..ya, gyane also ask me to lift up my legs with a cushion..at least legs not totally rest on bed flat..thks..

Hi hi Gemini..
Maybe u can try to see if u can arrange for their children to be taken care by another relative?at least ur mum can be able to come over to cook for u for the beginning few days lor..coz very impt leh..

Hi hi crystallized...
Ya, thks..thks..at least I remembered that lately my salt intake increased lor..i have been eating salted egg with porridge lor..not very healthy leh..so really got to watch my diet lor..will try to eat more fruits also..if I have itchy mouth..haha..ya, I guess got to give & take..i was chatting with hubby that day...I guess all along he hasn't been separated with his parents (cos now we staying with in-laws ba)..so he cant visualized how life can be lor..how I wish we can get a unit at the coming BTO project in Tamp..if not, i think he will also support us getting a resale flat lor..

Hi hi jasmine..
Ya..i m glad that Dr Koh called me back lor..at least I felt better also..haha..oh, I didn't know that preggy woman cant stand near the kitchen leh..but me also scare of the smell..so I will be the 1 to disappear when the smell is approaching..hehe..

Confinement ladies
=================
They dun work for 1 mth, exact to be is 28 days. But like what Wei Kuan mentioned, usually CL will comes on the day we discharge, which is usually in the afternoon and will leave on the 28th day (anytime from morning to afternoon). To be strict, is only around 27 days.

Danish Swiss Roll and Mini Eclairs
=================================
Hee hee, dunno if you gals got notice there's this bulk purchase for these???
I've made my own order with a few colleagues and will get them on Thur!!! hahaha... I intend to order these for colleagues when bb turns full mth.

BB Full Mth
==========
Someone asked for bb full mth cakes or something?? Like who to give to??

For me, I threw full mth celebrations and invite all relatives and close friends. Give them a full mth goodie bag from Choz, which consists of glut rice, red eggs, fruit tarts and ang ku kueh.

For colleauges, I order the same package to give individual. For my lab staff, cos there are over 200 staff, I ordered 10 kg fresh cream cake from Prima Deli for them to share. They have those fresh cream cakes for bb full mth, where they will state "it's a girl" or "it's a boy".

It is actually up to individual, who you want to give the full mth cake. Also, need to work on your budget.

Mood Swings
===========
recently, felt that my mood swings very badly..easily gets agitated and angry over small things...do u gals experienced tat as well??

sometimes, got so upset over things tat cause me some giddiness everytime...really wanted to control my temper but will lose my cool jus like tat sometimes... worst, sometimes feel like screaming out to feel better, but worried tat i will scare BB... jus feel so lousy tonite bcos of some work matters and jus now went to shop for some BB stuffs, ended up din managed to see wat i wanted to buy.. then got upset over it again... think my poor HB dun even knw how comfort me also...EERRRRRR!!!!!

crystallized,
i ordered from footshopping previously also. Just need about 4 pairs to make up $250 to qualify for free shipping.
You can also try http://www.tobiasmayer.com/shipping.php in case those that u want at footshopping got no stock . Theyr require 6 pairs to qualify for free shipping.

CRABS
i've mentioned this before. i eat almost everything in moderation except raw / partially cooked food. stingray, crab, sotong all eat and my boy turned out alright. very active but dun think it's linked to crab lah.
i don't eat at MIL's place on a regular basis, maybe once or 2x a month. Recently, everytime i go there's crab from my favourite stall at Still Road and i'm not complaining

MATERNITY LEAVE
i'm gonna clear everything at one go. I feel that 8 weeks is too short. For my first one, i took 6 mths off and i remembered when bb was 8 weeks old, i was thinking to myself, how can pple go back to work after 8 weeks, i'm definitely not ready esp if you want to bf.
Anything is that when u are on long maternity leave, your work is covered fully by someone. Whereas if u take the 3rd mth mat leave on an on-off basis, effectively you are juz squeezing your entire week's work into shorter working days. more stressful this way.

BB FIRST MONTH
Hubby and i work for large organisations with lots of pple in the dept and we also had business contacts who sent us gifts. Not possible for us to give cakes individually. So we got cake vouchers for those who gave us gifts and got some cakes for the dept to share.

Hi hi jenny..
Wow..when u mentioned abt Danish Swiss Roll and Mini Eclairs..my saliva was like drooling lor..haha..didnt noticed abt the BP on these 2 teabreaks leh..how much did u all order for ur Thurs spread?Seems like u got a gd ideal arrangement/deal that u have arranged for ur girls full-mth previously hor..yummy..

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
Its common to get mood swings now..coz our body is releasing the hormones at work ma..so dun worry..even not during pregnancy..we also got PMS..so surely its ok one..just try to remind urself to relax lor..i think my hubby noticed that I also get agitated very easily..cool down..maybe can try to think of the positive things ba..at least u might feel better also lor..

Hi hi babygrace
I think I know whc stall u often patronize at Still Road..haha..its a coffeeshop, right? That place is rather popular..thks for sharing another idea abt giving full-mth celebration vouchers..i guess its a gd idea as well for those that gave gifts but whether able or unable to attd the full-mth celebration buffet hor..

Jenny
hope u r feeling better. dun get too upset wif those pple whom r not impt to u.

yah actually pple wan sons for traditional reasons. however i feel nowadays hvg a daughter is better than a son. and i do agree tt i feel closer wif my family esp aft i got married. so the bonding will always b there, not like wat other pple say, married daughters r like splashed out water. not applicable anymore.

wah 10kg cake!!!! YUMMY! and it muz hv looked v big!

yah 4 maternity leave, it covers all the PH. its clearly stated in the guidelines. unless u split up the 3rd mth and take separately, then u can excl all the PHs.

think i will clear at 1 shot oso.

wendy
at least u took note of ur diet liao. hope ur water retention will improve. hehhee, i am guilty of eating salty food oso. it improves my appetite! haha

i agree wif u. all along our hubbies stay wif their families, so they perhaps cant imagine how life wld b not staying wif their parents. but in fact, i think we can cope well. i dun think there will b any serious effect. anyway gd luck to us both. hope we can stay on our own soon. looking fwd to tt day.

bbgrace,
thks 4 providing the alternative ordering site 4 birks.
i managed to get 4 pairs liao.

ilovemybabyG
its common 4 preggies to get roller coaster mood swings. when u feel like crying, it best to let go of ur emotions than keep it bottled up. not healthy 4 u and baby. talk to ur hubby more often. even when he dunno how to comfort u, at least he can b a gd listening ear.

kk called me and ask me to attend class on every thursday starting tomoore, i will miss 1 lesson but got mark up 1 lesson.
do u gals think the class is helpful?

wei kuan,
i think missing the 1st lesson is ok cos it touches on topics pertaining to early pregnancy which we already gone thru. no need make up oso can.

generally, so far we attended only 2 lessons and 2nd lesson last wk as what vivian describe is quite useful cos they teach some exercise n we do practice on posture etc. guess it will definitely b useful in one way or another lor especially since we are first time mummies. help to ease our anxiety.

Crystallized, I visit my inlaws every Sunday and soon will be moving in with them. Can't tell you how miserable I feel. My hb also start to feel less and less at ease as the day approach. Think the two of us just not use to staying with lots of pple. We've been staying on our own since the age of 19...I think for him not as bad as me. At least it's his family who we're moving in with. Now I can only live by the word "Ren3" and my love for my hb.

I just measure my tummy this morning. It's already 37"!

Wei Kuan, how many weeks are you already? Make sure the lesson don't end too late else you might already give birth b4 the you took all the lessons...

Hmm..my complaints abt crab is not because I don't eat them but this preg just makes me so afraid of the smell of black peper crab and it makes me feel nausea, so I have problem eating at a table with black peper crab, just like how Wendy run at the smell of durian, but I've been made to tolerate it week after week lor. It's a form of torture and affect my mood and appetite which I think is bad for bb lor. Dunno why some people can be like this lor. Not like they don't know already told them still do it repeatedly. Sorry for grumbling.

I agreeded with babygrace for the reason to clear maternity leave at one shot. If I clear on and off, no one will cover my work, and will be very stressful.

Wendy,
I share with colleagues to order cos the BP I joined didn't work out well. So decided to do my own order. I ordered 2 ctns of swiss roll (strawberry and black forest) and 1 ctn of mini eclairs.

really true how fast this thread moves! seems like the theme is MILs! =O i must say that i m v thankful that i hv great PILs who seem to treat me better than my own mum. like when i had to do a dilation/curettage at a hospital due to miscarriage the last time, they came to visit me. whilst my own mother din even come leh. so sad.

but gals, i think it's impt to b honest n open with hb abt how u feel abt MILs. tho i know u gals keep fm hb to prevent him fm being sandwiched. but imagine if one day u jus snap.....it's like the last straw that breaks the camel's back. it'll b worse than a volcanic eruption. then ur hbs will b wondering how come u suddenly flare up.

ultimately he may not be able to do anything abt his mum/dad but at least communication between both of u as husband n wife is open. n that's crucial for a marriage.

jus my 2 cents worth...

coral,
why u move in wif ur ILs? coz u sold off ur hse or issit juz a temporary arrangement?

based on my experience, all i can say is dun imagine the extreme worst situation yet. try to think on the +ve side (i admit its really not easy) and take each step at a time. i was also not used to staying with so many people around and kept thinking on the -ve side. but aft staying tog, i realised things were not as bad as wat i imagined, though there r some habits abt the family tt i gotta adapt to. its harder 4 us, coz we hv to adapt to the habits of 4 or 5 persons in the family as compared to them adapting to us, which is juz 1 addition to the family.

many times i feel its harder oso coz we r not willing to open our hearts out to love our ILs family as if they r our own. recently, i juz feel i shld stop resisting and i tried opening my heart a little. i am happy coz i managed to inch closer to this goal. it takes time and effort, no doubt.

its true we hv to "ren" but if there r things u r unhappy abt, always discuss wif ur hb and see if there is any solution. it might not b tt bad afterall. he might oso explain why his family behaves in tt way.

so juz be +ve and think happy thoughts. else the only one tt suffers is u, urself and might affect ur hb too. so dun dwell on it yet.

wow! 37 inches! u r growing well.
mine measures 34 inches this wk. some say my tummy big, some say tummy small. aiyah, i dun care wat they comment on my tummy as long as gynae says my little one is growing well.

Sorry for MIAing yesterday. Wah... so many posts... Been busy and determined to clear all my work yesterday so that from today onwards, I am on school vacation liao... Yeah... Just hoped that I wun be recalled back to school for some stupid thing.

Laundry rack
===========
Erh.... anyone kind enuff to show me a pic of this? I got no idea what is this leh...

Selina
=====
Can send me your powerpt for Caleb's full-mth cards? Hmm... gets me thinking of doing for Rhys too... hee... You got my email right?

Maternity Leave
=============
Me got to take 3 mths one shot. Coz HR dun allow 2 mths then staggered. At first I wanted 2 mths coz I still got Dec vacation mah.. So dun need to waste my maternity leave but as usual HR is smart one lor... they wun lugi one... so looks like I will waste my vacation liao...

Shoes
=====
I like brikenstock too!! but sg selling too ex... and becoz of that, I dun even step in the shop to see... Now got a lot of 'chiong' one in the market... saw some 'brikenstock-inspired' shoes in Metro but noticed that the sole like quite slippery so din buy.
I am now desperated to buy some shoes but cannot find leh... my hb always say my feet is made of gold one... coz i wear any type of shoes also pain. Here pain there pain. So very difficult to find the right pair of shoes. Sigh... headache... any suggestions? btw my feet is big... so add to the problem... haha...

Weikuan
========
Me and selina finds the antenatal classes quite useful and informative. You might want to give it a try... to me, I also treat it as preparing my hb for the final lap as well as use the class as bonding between me, hb and bb... so far so good lor...

coral, i am in my 26 weeks, the lesson end on end of sept06.
I am still considering cos some said no use one.
some use very useful. very confusing now.

I am currently 32.5"

coral
i agree wif u tt if u r afraid of the smell it juz puts u off and u feel v awful. my MIL's cooking oso puts me off at times and i juz close the door. but i do tell her the things tt puts me off and she will try to avoid doing the same thing again.

4 ur case, if the dish of crabs r not in front of u, does it put u off oso? does ur PILs noe u r so afraid of tt smell? hv ur hb told them? else 1 trick is to, nxt time, during dinner time, the moment u see crabs, u quickly cover ur mouth and run off to the bathrm. hope they get ur meaning and understd its really horrible to hv to put up wif awful smell. i hope the other gals hv ways to overcome this little problem of yours.

Coral, oic, actually gd move to sell the old place first, many of my frens upgrade and stuck with 2 places till incur heavy taxes, developer uses safe TOP date, usually can get keys 6mths earlier

Emily, hahaha, my hb say I 'mouth tough soft heart'(my pinyin very bad, better dun try)..this moment angry with MIL, next moment shower her with presents. My hb has handled our relationship well and he doesn't feel sandwiched. I usually let my hb handle the communication with my MIL but once I open my mouth, she usually follow what I said so I don't really have to ren her but more on out-of-respect...

Selina, TQ
hv rec'd 3 emails from u, downloading now.

Crystallized, I hope my BB will be like my sis' kids brought up by my mum, very well-behaved since they were BB
No lah, me not staying with MIL and will never have to, now we visit her 3 times a week. Next time if we were to move, we will buy her another place to stay near us. I am someone who stick to principle, hard to close 1 eye so have more comments to share abt MIL lor...one of my galfren ren, ren, ren and later file for separation
Actually I was surprised that MIL relationship was one of the high % reason for couples separation lei...didn't know it could be so disruptive. My hb & me has many things in common, same objective, I don't even hv to say anything and he already point out to MIL first
We didn't want MIL to eat too much fried food cos' of her health...

hi wei kuan
the kk lessons are quite useful but i tink missing 1 lesson does not harm for the early stage. im taking the sat class at 11.15am

hi coral
my tummy is now 92 cm, tink if convert is 36 inch?? im now in 23week liao hehe
i also like to have our own privacy so choose to stay alone with my hubby, understand its not easy to adapt to staying with in laws...have u all tot of getting another flat on ur own?

MTBs, got smthg to ask u all.....is it gonna b v troublesome not to own a car after the bb is born? with all the pram n stuff we nd to bring the bb out, i was thinking it can b quite a challenge w/o a car. BUT then leh, owning a car is SSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOO ex!!!! imagine $1K + a mth can instead b used for much better purposes like bb's edu fund.

any mummies here who managed to survive w/o cars??? how do u do it????

Wei Kuan, you're actually very advance in yoru preg liao leh, so the lessons might be too late for you???

Actually, we can only pray that my new place is ready soon. My hb had actually found a condo near his parents place to rent but his mum complain that we're wasting money and don't allow us to do it. Then I say how abt renting HDB flat she also say waste money. In the end she say she'll let us have her room so that we'll move in. Of course hb and I won't want to impose on her that way, so in the end we have to relent and move in with her and us the two other smaller rooms for our things.

Crystallised, the dinning table is so small, so the dish even not directly infront of me I can also smell the black peper smell. Actully I already told them a few times that it makes me nausea, and I ever puke on smelling it b4. But no use leh, the dish appear time and again.

I know my MIL is not a bad person, it's out of insecurity and jealousy ba. She probably just want more attention from her son. That's why I make hb bring her out on all occassion and I even bring her to buy clothes or shoes when she say she needs to. But I think still not enuf lor.

The reason why I don't want to discuss more abt MIL with HB is I know he already knew how I feel and he has been doing all sort of things to make things better for me, but I think he still can't outdo his mum lor. So don't want to add to his headache. Anyway, one year should pass soon, especially when bb is out I'll have distraction and also the renovation of the new place should also distract me. Thanks for listening to my complaints.

Jiat Lat, I feel so fat. My hb call me the Michellin man, I say no, I'm snowman, fat untill don't even have the creases. He say I'll probably go into depression after delivery since I'm so afraid of getting fat. he's been telling me to psychio myself out of this "I'm so fat." mood.

wei kuan attended 2 lessons so far , first one is more on theory, so if u miss can read up...but second one on posture, u get to do it urself, more practical so not to be missed better

Van
agree with u.....i tinking hw to survive also cos my own parents live in the east and i live in the west! each cab fare is abt $20 but the challenge is not the $$ but tinking how to move all the steriliser, pram etc to the cab....majority of the time, i go back my mum hse alone, imagine i have to carry bb and all these stuff....alone hmm.....duno how also......my MIL dun really encourage us to get a car, she says if need to go back my mum hse then dun stay for too long then bring bb back home loh..

Van, I have frens who don't own a car even without bb. I think if you never have the "convenience" you'll not find it too much of a hassel? Like when raining at most call for a cab?

MIL
====
Think I appreciate my MIL... She is those quite easy-going one lor... i think i am the one who dun listen to her at times... but recently she has been complaining abt my eldest SIL who is also preg (2 wks earlier than me) and my second SIL (who has a 9mth old gal). A bit scary lor... dun know what she complain abt me when i am not ard...

But she is very nice to all her DILs. Cooked birdsnest for me and eldest SIL now and then. As for her cooking, she din delibrately cook anything for us, just cook her normal style and luckily a healthy style. Sometimes, she will cook a lot of variety like noodles, dumpling soup and rice and we just choose what to eat... so nowadays we went my IL's house to eat 3 times a week. Save money and too sick of eating outside food liao...

My eldest SIL seems to have pre-natal depression now... keep quarreling with my brother (hb's). Then she keep worrying abt things. esp. now she told my mil that her bb is overweight liao. (btw, she is the one who i have mentioned b4 that she put on 7kg in her 1st trimester) She keep complaining and comparing abt my bro. Sigh... very sad mummy lor... dun know how to help her...

Vivian, you lucky gal. As for your SIL, hope she'll realise her depression or her hb will realise it and maek her seek professional help if need be. Else bad for her, bb and hb. My hb already prepared, if I get into deep depression he'll bring me to professional help if he can't get me out of it. Hb very kiasu, already did his research on this.

Oh, one reason why I know hb don't want to go to stay with inlaws is cos his car got scratched 3times at inlaws place liao. Now he so upset that he's even thinking of selling his car when we move in with them. So I think he already very fan2 already, that's why I don't want to add onto his worries.

btw my mum hse now under upgrading, but only changing the toilets and windows

anyone has any lobang for contractors? they are tinking of changing the electrical works as the flat is 30 yrs liao, many of my neighbour complaint that after the upgrading a lot of tings are spoilt, etc the tiles at the kitchen, they have to look for own contractors to do touch ups

mummyjoy
truth be told, if i had a choice, i oso wanna stay on our own. but due to certain circumstances, there is really no choice tt my ILs and hb's silblings r staying wif us. so given a no choice scenerio, i can only hope 4 the best and close 1 eye lah. else it wld wreck the peace in the family.

but i am sure one fine day, we will b able to stay on our own. i am looking fwd to tt day.

van,
i oso wan a car lor, more convenient... but like wat u said, so exp and we r not exactly high fliers, so better juz b practical lah. when we hv #2, then see how. i cant imagine.
but am sure can manage since not all families hv cars.

coral,
so tt means urs is a temp arrangement only? then CHEER UP!
its not the end of the world and u can always console urself saying u will b able to stay on our own v soon. there is still light at the end of the road.

hmmm, oh they really so insensitive ah? then can u dun sit together wif the family during dinner time>? its bad practice but it beats than losing ur appetite. or u eat ur dinner earlier / later than them, so the crab can hide somewhere 1st until u finish ur food.

yah some MILs feel as if the DILs wan to snatch their sons away. think ur MIL needs much more reassurance than wat u thot.

good tt ur hb is aware of ur feelings and thots and will try to make u feel better. in tt case, can only close 1 eye for this 1 yr till u get ur flat.

aiyah same lah, my tummy oso got no crease liao. i oso snowman like u... but its ok lah, most impt baby is growing. so dun think abt how big or how fat u r, its the whole pkg of pregnancy!
yah dun allow urself to sink into depression coz of weight issue. we haven hit the 3rd trimester yet leh. more weight gain to come. so dun worry, all of us r here gaining weight together! hehehe
u r not the only one.

Coral,
yah.. I consider myself lucky lor... but think in my MIL's mind, I am like a kid, not grown up like that. To her, I spend a lot of money here and there for no good reasons while my eldest SIL saves every cents... oops...
For example, becoz my second SIL's steriliser broke twice, my MIL concluded that we should not waste money to buy steriliser, she go buy 2 big pots for me and my eldest SIL to boil the bottles the traditional way. But I dun like lor... So last nite, told her I bought one steriliser liao and was thinking of buying another one to put at my mum's house since she is looking after Rhys next time... wah.. think she not very happy... then i immediately shut up... stupid hb kept very quiet beside me... aiyo... dead silence leh...

Jenny, BP on Danish Swiss Roll and Mini Eclairs from which company? Can share the contact for Choz? Birkenstock order online better price? they hv a shop in SGP?

Coral, wanna ask you abt bum wear, saw it in one of the maternity shop, they have open slot for inserts and BB urine direct to the blue color inner fleece material? Was told the mat'l gets dry easily but it looks quite thick and will the smell stay...

Van, I agreed, I don't hide anything from hb

Vivian, I am looking for laundry rack, still haven't found one so no pix to show...my neighbour has one which is very good, got lots of clip to hang BB clothing.

Crystallized, some big families can get along well and there are benefits staying together if family members are understanding and thoughtful to each others

Jenny, TQ
Saw lots of preggy ladies wearing smtg like these, I find it is quite wide at the toes area, is it really comfy? Which model u chosen and any idea how much cheaper to order online? I quite like the Heidi Klum by Papillio range.

Crystallized, thank you for your encouragements. I think I should be able to survive. And since the family already ban MIL from buying crab until after bb is born, so should be fine.

Aspialle, thank you for your kind words. Wow, upgrading still need to do own reno. so must spend quite alot of $ lor?

Mummyjoy, I've not tried using the bum wear b4, but the feedback is from my secondary classmate. She say the fleece keep baby dry and infact the ventilation is better than disposable diapers so not warm and bb don't get rash. As for the smell, she never have any such problem. But I read from bum wear site, if you wash incorrectly it might cause the diaper to smell. Hope this helps.

car
===
i oso dun own a car n still no intention to get one though hb wanted to get a wkend car... considering the cost, it is really not worth it... agree with wat coral says. if u dun already have the convenience, then u wont b missing anything. me more jia lat. i stay in the furthest point in punggol n quite hard to get cab but i think we'll survive. car to me is basically for convenience sake. my sis, with 2 children survived without a car. hb now also got 2nd thought abt car after he sees close friend managing awfully fine without one so now he says actually car not very important.

for us, we are blessed with a group of great friends. whoever has car or drives on a particular day will willingly offer to pick or drop those without car off during our outings...

if just visiting parents or friends, no need to bring steriliser along mah. just bring clean bottles can liao wat. u cant b lugging your steriliser everywhere you go right. wat a lot of my friends n sis do is bring clean bottle (1 big n 1 small) then use n wash. if need to re-use since still outside, then get hot water to rinse it can liao lor. like wat my mum says, though bb needs to be clean, but also not too extreme lah cos otherwise very hard to take care...

PILs
====
i stayed with my ILs for 10mths after marriage cos my flat not ready then. i was not exactly a torture but a lot of times i had to give in to many unreasonable actions of theirs. hb is a man of great social circles so a lot of time i'm home way way earlier then him n i was really bad lor.

my FIL will at night just barge into our room without knocking even when the door is close. no privacy at all. and everytime i have to "ti xin diao dan" lor. cannot change into comfy sleepwear until hb comes home n lock the bedroom door. FIL is so used to it that he doesnt think much abt it.

my SILs (i have 4 ok) will use our room us their chit chat room every wkend when they come over. many times when hb n i were out n return only to find them comfortably sitting on our bed talking. not that i petty n mind but hey, that's our room n where's the basic courtesy? even when we home, they will just say hi n continue their conversation lor. then i'm stuck standing at the door, dunno wat to do. living room got 7 nieces n nephews, BILs, MIL & FIL, room got 4 SILs, i dunno where to go really. it was really quite bad for me. these are their habits n not ez for them to change so i practically ren3 until oct then ask hb to quickly move.

vivian,
u may have to ask your BIL to watch over her closely. if mild, then can help her to move on but otherwise like wat coral says, have to seek professional help

tummy size
==========
me so far have not measured my tummy size yet. think i will start doing so from this week. think mine quite big leh...

laundry rack
=============
will go home n take a pix of my laundry rack tis wkend n post here.

coral,
me too the type very scare put on weight one, especially when i'm those that can put on weight simply by breathing air. but i've come out of it n now when hb says i fat, i say nvm, i will lose it within the first 3mths. that's a challenge i giving myself... i can b very determined too especially when it comes to weight issues.

mmummyjoy,
The one I'm eyeing, online is selling $70-$80. I wanna get a pair of thongs. Currently, I'm wearing Neckermann one, very comfortable also, and yes, the other one is Crocs haha

Hi van,
i oso dun hav car but think tat still can survive. coz FIL hav car. whenever we need to use car, my MIL will ask him to send us. like now when i go for my check-up, they will send us there, then if we wann shopping aftertat, we jz ask them not to wait for us & jz take cab back home lol. i think same in future, if need to take bb to jab, will ask favour frm them.

hi crystallized,
u really giv a very gd encouragement to all of us. actually hor, at my situation, i oso feel tat since IN-laws treat us good, we must do the same to them.
hb & me oso looking for a good flat to buy & stay at our own. even my MIL encourage we do tat. coz she said since we oredi married, we shld hav our own home. so, i oso looking forward for my sweet home (i been staying in a big family since small).

hi selina,
wau....lucky u move out 10mths after marriage. how can ur FIL & SIL do tat? like me, at nite will change to sleepwear, cant imaging suddenly someone pop in my room lel. i oso hav 3 SILs. My hb ban ANYONE enter our room so we dun hav such problem. but i will go inside to MIL when all of them chatting inside the room (consider TV room too...)
now i oso looking for my own sweet hse.

Hi hi crystallized
Me just started looking into my diet today..haha.. my water retention is quite bad now lor.. do hope that things improve ba..ya, really looking forward to the day we have our own flats..cheers~

Hi hi wei kuan..
I m sure the class will be helpful since the rest also learnt something beneficial lor..since got make-up class..why not u go for it as well?

Hi hi coral..
Oh..dun think so much la..hopefully ur in-laws will have their own progs lor..KTV session or whatever gathering etc..then at least they will be times u get to spend time with ur hubby & ur princess ba..Wow..u measured ur tummy ahh..i didnt do any measurements..Its rather interesting coz I hvnt take my measurements lor..hehebut nice to know that bb is growing day by day as we measure hor..heheI totally understand how u feel lor..actually u already very gd lor..have been enduring..me really cant stand it & dun think I can endure longer lor..i really salute u leh..its not gd to affect ur mood also lor..for me, I really cannot tahan lor..if endure, then my black face will appear in front of hubby..but at least its nice to hear that ur MIL wont be buying crabs all the way till ur deliver..gd for u..dun think abt ur size lah..when u give birth then lose weight ba..now is be happy & eat well..cheers~

Hi hi Jenny..
Aiyo..now me got craving liao for ur swiss rolls & clairs..alamak..

Hi hi Vivian..
Ya..like u MIA for a while hor..hows work..u gg for ur next appt soon, right?wow..seems like ur hubbys family is rather big ahh..can tell that ur MIL is pretty fair to all her DILs ahh..since u noticed ur eldest SIL having such a symptom, u might want to highlight to ur BIL ba..at least he can be watchful over her lor..got to handle with care..

Hi hi Van..
I think having a car is very subjective lor..for us, we find its easier to bring baby out (to-and-fro) with a vehicle lor..at least can store the strollers & the bag..also we need to carry baby, if shopping then surely will buy things..then will have extra stuff to carry lor..so u might want to do a cost analysis & see if u can get a car ba..

Hi hi Selina..
Wow..ur hubbys family also quite big leh..so many children also..i agreed with u on the privacy & also chit-chatting session on ur bed..i cant tolerate this as well..so for us..b4 we shift in to stay with in-laws..already got hubby to tell them that we will lock our room lor..ya, can be quite rude..but I will rather not have any further miscom in the future lor if things gone missing etc..

hi hi jasmine..
can tell that ur in-laws are pretty easy to get along with..i guess it's nice that to get ur own lovenest lor..slowly find lah..coz now also cannot move lor..

Hi wei kuan,

Same as u. I was still hesitating whether to attend the pre-natal classes. I'm also approaching 26 wks. But finally, I made up my mind to go. Cos, since this is my 1st kid, go and listen/see what's being taught. No harm learning more things.

Hi selina,

Oh? 1st lesson can really give it a miss? Cos my 1st lesson is on 7 Jul, my hb is overseas, that's why I still considering whether to go. The nurse did mentioned that I can make up for it the next time. Also, we still have the gathering on. But I do agree that the talk on the nutrition may be too late for us now, since I already going to approach 3rd trimester.

MIL
===

Actually, my MIL quite "bo chap". So sometimes what she say, me just 1 ear in, 1 ear out. But sometimes, I will say my mind if I find what she say is incorrect. She did mentioned that she will much prefer us to stay on our own after marriage. If I'm not happy, I will tell my hb about it, rather than bottle it up and stress our relationship.

Hi coral,

In this case, is it possible as what crystalised say? Take ur dinner separately from them?