(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Vivian, no worry, the surname is always put in the last Rhys Low so should be okay lar.

Mummyjoy, you can try natural manuka honey drinks, not very sweet.

Coral, tomorrow when you come to kkh for scan, you can try the Mothercare shop at kkh.

Wei Kuan, that's my plan. But I think the kkh one smaller. On thurs I'm going to Suntec to meet someone, might pop by the one there too.

Mothercare
==========
Their site say the Suntec branch has a wider range of baby cots
Any ladies bought their cot before? Sis told me to buy baby cot from Kiddy palace. Any comments?

Just went to the natal essential site... wah not cheap wor!! $1388 for 2 meals for 28 days...
Mum say need more than 2 meals per day. So depending on the caterer only, is not enough lor??

coral,
itch is prob due to stretching of the skin since we r expanding. juz apply cream/oil. try not to scratch. will develop into stretchamrks.

bbgrace,
wished i can hv it easy oso. but my mum consoled me and say "wat to do, thats life! and its the 1st grandchild, so its a muz."

wendy
thks 4 sharing the articles!
so bb can hear now ah? these few days i feel his kicks more violent liao. disturbed my sleep at nite oso.

doggiemummy,
wah so exp 2 cater meals ah? how come? ur MIL not gg to cook 4 u???

how come my tummy is rumbling when i dun feel hungry? its so funny! and i am sure its not my son's kickings leh!

such a bother, gotta find sthg to stuff my mouth now. so rubbish symptom!

crystallized
thought if the price is ok then cater lor, no need to get her to purposely cook for me

my tummy rumbles too sometimes, it's the baby's movement, stroke at the area for a while it will go away

coral,
i also prefer to be driven and yes the traffic drives me crazy at times. But no choice lor, it's more out of convenience. When i was working and my boy was in infantcare, i had to pick up him everyday. Not possible without a car. Plus hubby travels for work sometimes, it's such a waste if i don't take the car. oh well, i don't rule out the possibility of being the kids' driver in the future!

wtan,
yes my boss knows that i'm due in oct.

Hi MTBs,

Have not got the time to read thro the postings. Wanted to update on my detailed scan today.
So happy to see bb cos I'm worried as I dun feel much kicks from bb.

When the gynae told us the gender, me & my hb got a shock. It's the opposite sex from most of my friends & colleagues guesses, even my hb & family mbrs also guess wrongly. I got a princess but all ard me are guessing it's a boy. 2mr all of them will "jaw drop".

The bb is developing well, she was very active during the scan, even at 1 pt, smiling! Her nose is quite big also, the gynae is using 3D machine, so can see quite clearly.
All her organs are developing well, even can see clearly that there is no cleft lip. Only 1 thing that is worrying, there is a "golf ball" in her heart, which is an indication of Down Syndrome. The ball did disappear when he dimmed the light on the screen, which is a gd sign. If the ball is even visible when dimmed, I have to go for amino test, even below 35. The gynae is mentioning that the risk is 1 in 550. The gynae is very optimistic that everything shld turn out fine since I have done OSCAR test and the results are ok. The "golf ball" should disappear by 34 wks, which I'm praying hard that everything will turn out fine. 2 more wks later, will be discussing the resukts with my gynae.

And also, my girl is of bigger size than normal "Asian" bb. That's another surprise to me as my tummy is still not very visible and I dun eat a lot.

Ok, a very long posting, pai seh, very excited on seeing bb and the results.

Babygrace, women nowadays are different hor. I told hb in the past men hunt women cook, now we find ourselves hunting beside the men too. Like you, hb travels too. So in future I thinbk there'll be lots of possibility tat I hv to be chauffer, unless I start to travel in job too. Must really brush up driving skills.

Gemini, congrats on your gal. And yes, everything will be alrite.
That's one gd thing abt doing the oscar (or equivalent test) earlier as it add a layer of assurance. And I think the fact tat your gal is growing well and bigger should be an assurance to all MTBs who are not putting on much weight or not showing tummy. See, bb will grow.
I'm going for my detailed scan later. Wish me luck.

coral,
ya lor, women these days play a even bigger role. Not only are they expected to be a good wife and mother, they have to juggle career as well.
For me, having a job that travels will be a no-no, i think one of us will have to sacrifice and the choice is obvious.
Tell you something, i'm ok with driving but i can't parrallel park the car unless there are 2 lots for me to go head in! haha!
Good luck for your detailed scan later!

coral,
Not too sure leh. But my thinking is same as you, if block, won't have colostrum flowing out le hor??

crystallized,
packing packing...

babygrace,
then who will be taking after the 2 kids?

janice,
precisely! Thats why I dun like the idea of using those food to pray! My mum relatives are christians. Frankly speaking, I also won't eat, so dirty... You won't know if the ashes from the joss stick or wat will fly into the food.

Jasmine,
You heng ah. Not even saving the hassle but saving $ as well.

Wendy,
the praying will be at both families (your in laws, your parents) and include your own place.

doggiemummy,
ppl said confinement women need 5 meals a day. Lunch and Dinner is a must, so catering service can fulfill this. Breakfast can settle on our own. Teabreak also can settle on own. So I think is enough.
Ingredients for confinment food are ex mah. If we buy and cook on our own, more ex.

Gemini,
Congrats on your gal gal. Dun worry. My detailed scan for my No. 1 showed that my gal's left and right kidneys' sizes not tally. One is bigger than the other, and is also sympton of DS. However, gynae mentioned 70% ok one.

Morning ladies and bbs...

I have a good nite sleep finally. Rhys was good last nite as after I told him to go to sleep, he stopped kicking and kept quiet liao...

Gemini,
Congrats on having a gal! Dun worry... everything will be fine...

Coral, good luck and enjoy your detailed scan later... rem to update us... will be waiting...

wtan, thanks for all the info...

Thanks for the well-wishes. Think my gal can sense my anxiety. Last night kicked me harder than usual b4 we sleep. Stay calm stay clam.

Doggiemummy, I think Jenny is rite. Confinement food very ex. And if I'm not wrong the caterer give bu tang every meal, so the price can't be cheap.

Ya, tonic soup will be given for every meal if order from catering service. In fact, the ingredients are so ex, that if I remember correctly, one week supply of the food we buy can easily hit up to $500, if we buy and cook ourselves. Hence, I think the price for the catering is reasonable.

couldn't sleep the whole nite yesterday..been tossing around and felt occasional cramp pains at my tummy, think BB knows i'm very unhappy...been thinking the nite thru' tat i'm jus so not comfortable to have a CL outside when my mum is available and an experienced CL hereself previously... it's so not rite, tat now she is not doing it for her own daughter!!! moreover, we hav been so closed to each other...i really do not know how to put across to my HB tat i wish to go over mum's place for confinement...he has started asking around abt CLs' contacts too...sigh sigh...

really envy some of u who has started goin for ur detailed scan liao..me now oredi in my 21wks and still no news of detailed scan for me (gynae now on leave)..can oni ask gynae on my next appt..

Gemini,
Congrats on having a gal! Dun worry... everything will be fine...

Coral,
good luck and enjoy your detailed scan later...

Jenny,
Will check with mil on a later date if she minds me ordering from the caterer, since there are 2 kids at home plus my 2 babies... hehee

I will be going for detail scan tmr

ilovemybabyg
Dun worry so much, things will fall in place at a later date. My hubby didnt 'allow' my to stay over at mum's place too when i was bleeding. Some men are like that, they want to "show" that they can take care of you and no need us to "run back" to mum's place when in need. Their EGO la

ilovemybaby, try talking to hb and understand why he's so against it. At first my hb rejects cos he tot it's a way of showing disrespect for his parent, then I gave him a few examples that it's just a common practice for many daughters to go home for confinement and it will not reflect badly on his family. My hb soften after I pointed this out to him. But since my parents place very small so decide not to go back else very cramp for parents.

hi gd morning to all

hi gemini congrats on having a gal

hi coral
my hb also travel frequently, he will be overseas in late June and also August to Sept....hope bb can wait till daddy come back.i may go n learn driving after birth...next time if we decide to buy a car can drive them around since my hb may not be around
wish u well on detailed scan...u knw gender later hah?

dear coral, he was so against it becos, there is no internet access in mum's place, can't do his work, troublesome for him to move to and fro, wanted BB to be more familiarize wif our place...it jus doesn't seems so convenicing comparing to the importance of my health..we do confinement in the hope of getting our body ready for the next preggie or at least in future, we will not be weak becos of pregnancy..i'm sad becos he dun understand my anxiety and tat we are more comfortable wif our own mum, comparing to IL or outside CL.. i felt so torn between him & mum...

Aspialle, mine should be a gal, but later can confirm. My hb schedule to be away from early Oct to 13 Oct and my edd is 14 oct, hopefully daddy will be there when bb is out...

ilovemybaby, put your anger aside for a while. Think of it, hb loves you and bb tat's why he wants bb to be familiar with home and tat's why he wants to work so hard. Maybe as a man and 1st time daddy he doesn't understand how important confinement is for a woman. Talk to him nicely, make him understand than to quarrel with him. I know it's not easy, I tend to get upset and either don talk or flare up than talk nicely.

hi gemini,
congra on having a princess. i think everyhing will b fine since u oredi pass the test.

hi coral,
today seem quite many preg ladies go for detailed scan as well as wendy. waiting u to update us.

doggiemummy,
since u hav twins to take care, and ur MIL need to concentrate on hem, i think caterer is a gd choice for u. even me too, MIL will cook for me during confinement, she oso need one of the SIL to help her to take care baby when she is cooking.

hi jenny,
yeah....quite heng lol. coz my In-laws side is those type of dun like hassle one. but then they oso traditional type, so for them the most important is praying, i dun think i can go back to m'sia since after baby born lol coz hb sure wanna wait baby few mths then only bring him back.

hi ilovemybabyg,
dun think so much. mayb u need to soft talk o ur hb. me too hav own problem but jz dun wan to hink so much. i staying with in-laws. n i'm sure my parents will come to visit me after delivery. but i dunno where my parents shld stay. really headache....i oso need to talk to hb, but i think now is not the right time. dun wan hav arguement with him 1st.

jasmine
so you getting caterer too??
there is a maid at mil place and hubby planning to go on leave during my confinement to face me in to the new 2 chapters of my life, the 2 babies and my mil :p

doggiemummy, by then I'll be staying at inlaws place so if it's at night should be inlaws go with me, if I alone at home in morn I'll call a cab and go myself lor. Think I should be able to cope after one time expereience liao. Anyway hb still trying to see if he can make other arrangements closer to date. Who knows, bb may pop out earlier or much later...

Jasmine, today got 3 of us doing detailed scan. Wei Kuan at 9am, me at 3pm, Wendy maybe in eveing?

hi ilovemybabyg,
my mum place too small, so instead she will come my house for one mth during my confinement and i will get CL so that she will not be so tired , CL can do housework and also cook..

btw gals, can pregnant women go for haircut?
i not bantang but MIL is, just dun wan her to scream after she sees i have my hair cut

jasmine,
ok. will take note.

crystallized,
my hb also same he will tell me to forget it. sometimes will quarrel bcos of that.

Gemini,
Congrats on your girl girl. now can start shopping liao.

Coral,
do keep us updated.

ilovemybabyg,
keep trying. u will succeed one day. i'm more or less confirm doing confinement at my mum's place. hb prefers also but just scared to trouble my parents so we decide to order confinement food in case my dad has to work thru Oct. at least mum is ard if i need help wif bb. otherwise, hb dun feel comfortable wif me alone wif CL. think he more scared i will quarrel wif CL is kanna a naughty one. i'm quite relief here but now have to start thinking abt bb caregiving after birth liao...
one down one more to go....

maybe u can also point out to him the cons of having a CL, especially one who is nasty n not cooperative then when u left alone wif CL, tell him how terrible it can b for your health during this most crucial stage lor.

tell him it is ok lah. the most stay 1 mth only lor then move back to your own place after tt cos u shld b well enf to take care of yourself n bb liao by then. at least tt's wat i plan to do lor... i think 1st mth more impt. after that shld b alright liao...

hi selina,u so lucky to hav a understanding HB..i have also heard a lot abt nasty CLs and gettin most of the time angry wif them then hoping to have a good 1mth rest... moreover, one of my gd friend even undergo post natal depression when her MIL took over her confinement..she literally weep everyday... she warns me tat usually 1st time mum (especially) easily gets blues after their delivery and when things din't go according to our way, that's when serious things like this happens...No joke...frankly, emotionally, i not a strong person, mayb some of u are...

hi doggiemummy, mum also dun want to come my place..tat's the headache.tat's why torn between the two of them..

ilovemybabyg,
my hb is not always so understanding. but i explain to him y i prefer to b at my mum's place n slowly slowly psycho him so finally he agrees lor... furthermore now i oredi staying wif mum since i discharged from hospital in Feb. he sees me very relaxed so he also dun wanna mess things up... partly also he knows i can v very hot-tempered n stubborn at times lor... finally, i very strange cos i can cry very easily n after my miscarriage 2 years old i actually went into some sought of depression state so think he scared liao lor...

take your time to slow talk to him. try different mthds. i believe he will come to understand soon.

hi coral,
wendy' s appt at mrng. tat's why she haven appear yet. hehe...

hi doggiemummy,
no... coz MIL wanna cook for me. she saw a programme intro caterer one.. and her comment is their food not so nice, and she prefer to cook lol. lucky SIL not working and can help her, if not i afraid she can't cope it. last nite, hb kpo ask her whether still remember how to take care baby or not.

hi aspialle,
i oso cut my hair when preg 11 wks (after wedidng). when i went back, my MIL somemore said shld cut shorter...hehe. but i didnt colour my hair. so, can u imaging a preg lady with a lot of grey hair (our family generation)? since how weather so hot, u better do it now. i'm going to rim my hair this weekend too..

hi selina, sorry to hear abt tat..me also the very easily cry sort...went into some depression when preparing for my wedding too.. guess i'm the easily pessimistic person.. sigh...

kao_smile2.gif

<font color="119911">Hi hi ladies..
Me just went to for appt this morn..so excited to see baby again..hehe..baby is moving his hands &amp; his head is facing downwards like my appt on sat (20/5)..haha..then dr measured his head &amp; he say ok..baby growing well also..ask me not to worry..he also ask if I can feel his movements..i said yes..he say gd..hehe..also he confirm CONFIRM boy..haha..so funny..very happy lor..now boy-boy is 379g..haha..very happy &amp; relax also to see that hes growing well..haha</font>today gynae was late as theres delivery in the morn &amp; also aft seeing me..rushing back to hospital for another delivery..he seems to be very excited also..haha..

Hi hi janice..
<font color="ff0000">Congrats in most likely having a PRINCESS</font>..glad to hear to hear that shes growing well as well..hehe..okok..i m sure u must be looking forward to see her on 9/jun lor..hehee..

Hi hi crystallized
Ya, baby can hear now liao..so can start to talk to him so that he can get used to ur voice also..hehe..tell him to go oi-oi when u r gg to sleep lor..hehe..glad to hear that u can feel more on his movements lor..so sweet..

Hi hi doggiemummy..
Ya, I dun think 2 meals is enough also..maybe can check out the rest as well..actually my mum said catering usually they use frozen chicken parts so not very gd to eat so much also during the confinement but I m sure at least better than not taking lor..so slowly check out the rest of the caterers &amp; hope u get a gd offer soon..cheers~

Hi hi babygrace..
Okok..then I m sure they will understand as wellhehe..they must be thinking that u r very productive ahh..hehe..

Hi hi Gemini..
<font color="ff0000">Congrats in having a PRINCESS</font>..also glad that u have cleared ur detailed scan..hehe..i m sure u must be very happy in seeing ur girl moving ard inside u lor..hehe..wow..ur gynae using a 3D scan machine ahh..can see so clearly ahh..so happy to hear that girl-girl is active lor..so sweet..dun think so much..i m sure baby will be fine..whens ur next appt?relax &amp; talk to girl-girl &amp; ask her to grow up healthy,k?

Hi hi jenny..
We are staying with my in-laws..so I think the praying shd be at my mums place 1st since I m gg back to mums place to do confinement..then go back to pray to hubbys grandparents at the temple then go back to my in-laws place ba..see how it goes ba..coz we dun have a place of our own yet..thks ahh..thks..

Hi hi Vivian..
Glad to hear that u slept well..hehe..hows ur dad now?better?

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
Dun think so much..not gd to sleep with anxiety also..me also last night quarrel with hubby again..then I today feel very guilty lor..tell hubby that we dun quarrel now lah..i know sometimes I very hard to please la..i m sure things will be ok for u..relax..relax..talk to hubby nicely ba..

Hi hi Jasmine..
Yap, u r right..my appt is in the morn...hehe..today I waited quite some time for Dr Koh coz hes at RH every morn..so he rush back &amp; told us that he just deliver a baby in the morn..aft seeing us, hes gg for another delivery..can tell that hes very kan-cheong..as in he wants to go back fast to RH..i also very excited for the mummys he gg to deliver the baby lor..hehe..2 days in the countdown for ur turn to see boy-boy lor..i m sure u must be very looking forward also..hehe..

Hi hi coral..
My appt is at 9am..hehe..now I m back from the appt..

Hi hi aspialle..
I think shd be ok to cut hair ba..i cut my hair twice so far..also trim my nails lor..i was thinking later when we are bigger..how do we bend down or curl up the leg to trim the nails hor..hehe..

kao_smile2.gif

hi hi ladies..
oh ya, i went to watch Da Vinci Code last night lor..oh mine..i wont encourage mtbs to go &amp; watch it lor..got some scences quite "bloody" lor..i didnt know leh prior to watching the show..i asked ard one of my colleague, then tell me, can lah..children also can watch, so i thot shd be ok ba...so just cover up my eyes lor..thou interesting show lah..

hi hi wendy,
welcome back. so happy tat ur baby growing well. waa...379g so healthy baby lel. yeah, i really countdown for my appt on friday. 3 wks didn't see my boy boy liao.
this early mrng i oso quarrel with hb. but then after he go to work, i sms him to appologize lol. normally he is the 1st one say sorry one. tat time was 6.40am. and normally baby will kick me around 8am. but i think bcoz of our high volume of voice, he keep on kick me (i think about 20 kicks ba). i cant sleep aftertat....

my hb wanna watch da vinci code too... but then at the end didn't make it coz scare bb not use to the loud volume. he decide to rent VCD when it's out.

hi hi Jasmine..
wow..20 kicks ahh..hmm..i guess it's normal to be quarreling for couples lah..sometimes it's hard to "avoid" lor..i m sure baby will understand one lah..i tink i will get baby to "ignore" us lor..haha..ya, i m sure u will be looking forward lor..esp when u hvnt seen boy-boy for 3 wks..but me, i saw on sat &amp; today..so ok..as long as we can feel his kicks..is nice lor..i think ur boy-boy will be ard 400g when u go down to see him lor..coz u 20wk +, right?

hi hi Selina..
thks..thks..i also very peace at heart when i saw that boy-boy is growing well..2 wks very fast one..coming liao..coming liao..hehe..

Hi Wendy, glad to hear that your boy is growing well. Congrats! I'm planning to watch Da Vinci Code this Sat. Hmmm, if too bloody with just shut eyes for those scence. But should be ok lah, I want to train my gal to be brave.

Jasmine, keep cool. I think bb agitated too. See you hb so considerate, watch VCD instead for bb sake. Give and take lor, marriage life is like that. Heehee, I need to constantly remind myself too.

Selina, like you I'm into a bit of depression. So aft I foudn out that I'm preg, I dare not look at pic of my son. So far only took a peek. But at times when i think of him I also cry uncontrollably, but then don want to affect my gal, so gotta think positive and stay cheery.

hi ladies..really so envy all of u, can see ur BB now and some of u soon...me will hav oni get to see my BB 3 more wks later, since last appt till then, will be 6wks in total...sigh
427077.gif

427078.gif

coral,
i can understand how u feel. i think your situation is much more intense than mine n i salute
u for being so strong and positive still. yah. tt's what i tell myself too. it was hard but i'm glad i made it tis far... i just pray everyday tt my boy is healthy lor...