(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

coral
wah u sounded like a true blue chef! impressive~! hehe

wah ur sandwich sounded yummy! lucky baby!!!

Wendy
The Praying is like introducing baby to our ancestals

Jenny
I mis read ur post on your gal's 1st month celebration

carol
i mean completed house like for my case... u so funny

mil
===
my mil super bo chap one, until i feel like she dun like me... hahaa. Think i better change my thinking

Selina,
yah it sure feels gd being offered seats hor? i was offered twice oso. heheh but aft tt no more, coz they cant decide if i am pregnant or not.

but many preggie frens say even when u look obviously pregnant, they r not offered seats oso... hmmmm

coral,
the trick is hor, to listen in from left ear and out from right ear once i step out of her house. show her face tat i'm not song. then she goes and tells my hb. my hb will orh orh orh but ignore hahaha

aspialle,
same lah.. at least yours is kettle of water. Mine is wok with vegetables with stove with charcoal!!

crystallized,
see if got condo's function room? I may change to restuarant for this round instead, if the price is ok with my budget.
My gal ah, just msn my sis... she said "that gal back to her normal self" you see better or not lah...

OK, I got work to do le... need to MIA liao. See if I finish my work fast fast or not kekeke.

doggiemummy,
yah u better start chgg ur thinking since u gg to stay wif them. not gd to hv ill feelings lah. juz need to close 1 eye when stayg together. its like tt one. me & wendy same boat wif u.

jenny,
gd tt ur gal is back to her normal self. this is wat u wanted.
better to hv her running ard then sick and sleeping.

yah i oso wan restaurant if can afford. then machiam like wedding. hahahahaha

crystallised
i am cloest to the one who gave the comment. Then my mum super worrying type, and started nagging at me since then, until i ask mum to ask my other sisters if dover is at hill top. :p

hmm, then no wonder u so upset. well, i guess all these litle actions show. all the mums nag one lah. mine oso like tt. but juz listen 1 ear in, 1 ear out.

hahha jenny urs even jia lat...

hi selina
my hb also pondering whether to buy a car cos i live in west and mum live in the east...next time bring bb to mum hse , a lot of tings to carry...
if he buy a car then i may consider to work cos to support a car monthly not cheap and depending on single income v taxing on my hb too. Will see how , understand ur worries

crystalized
i ever met 2 "jek ark" people , in both occasions, when the person A tried to offer me a seat, the moment i say thank u....the guy standing beside me sat down immediately after A stand up!! Person A who offered the seat is shocked and open eyes big big at that guy who snatched the seat frm me.we look at each other, i can only say sorry to the person who is so kind to offer me the seat....not fast enough lor

crystallized, not sure bb enjoying food or me using her as excuse to keep eat leh. you stay with inlaws too? i'll join you guys in Sep, so not looking forward.
doggiemummy, I always think mil don like me, and she think i don like her. So hb say it's all in our mind. So I just hv to stop thinking that way else I'll be so miserable when I move you. You also hv to stop thinking tat way.
Jenny, I try not to give mil face cos my poor hb will hv to listen to her complain abt me and he'll be stuck in middle. So now she tell me do things I'll agree then I sometimes do sometimes dont depend on mood lor.
My mil sure wont let me hold in restuarant cos she very thrifty will want us to save $$.

aspialle, person A should hv told him off, or if I'm you I'll tell tat guy the seat is offered to me cos I'm preg. So mei2 laing2 xin1!

selina,
yah best dun expect anything. expect the worst behaviour, then dun feel upset. but sometimes close frens/relatives behaved like tt, really upsetting one.

aspialle!
i am so shocked! the person so mean! he not paiseh ah????
goodness!!!!

coral,
my ILs & hb's 2 siblings stay wif us, not the other way round.
so its the same lah, close ur eyes at times lor.

but i think aspialle was too shocked to respond then... then i wondered, how come no one else offered seats to her knowing she is pregnant & her offered seat was snatched away?

Selina, good tat shld be the way, tink im too shy to say anyting...the two guys are both quite young, after they snatched the seat and sat down, immediately he closed his eyes , pretending to sleep.....

Qn: Does any of you have whitish things on your nipple? I wash everyday but still hv. So worry it'll block nipple and bb can suck milk.

crystallized,
when i see things i "kan bu shuang" i will make noise... i very 'jia lat" when younger easily buay song when pple do things i dun agree wif... but now more tamed liao lah but will still holigan at times lor... i once almsot fought wif a guy in the MRT and i screamed at him cos he pushed me so hard i almost fell...

aspialle,
next time u experience this again, tap the guy pretending to sleep on the shoulder n say in a very very nice tone but loud enf for everyone to hear and ma lu him tt the seat is not meant for him... if he really still dun care then no choice but at least ma lu him mah... oso feel gd tt way.

coral,
i dun have whitish things on my nipple but realised my nipple like cracked leh. i apply my stretchmark cream there but still like that... sometime even like peeling.

is it just peeling skin or discharge. next visit to your gynae check with him/her lor. i think shld not b a prob lah...

hi coral
i dun have discharge frm nipple but mine also cracked and sometimes a bit painful, nipple also darkened

hi selina thanks for the advice

Hei hei, I'm so impressed by myself to rush out my work in 30 mins!!! I know lah pui lah pui lah... kekeke...

crystallized,
ya, better to see her running, pulling things than to see her lying there motionless...
I'm thinking of dim tim if I get a restuarant. Then buffet style.

aspialle,
now car quite cheap. if you can get at this timing. Actually I know of couples with kids w/o car. They still survive and still can go gai gai every weekend. I salute them!
w/o a car, I won't bring my gal out gai gai. So many stuff to carry! But frankly speaking, buying a car is cheap but the maintainence is high. Petrol can easily hit up to $200 - $300 per mth. Then still got parking, road tax ERP etc.... Siong ah. In fact, hb and I did a calculations, if we call cab twice every day, still cheaper than buying and maintain a car.

coral,
if your mil wants to save $, then dun throw full mth celebrations lor. Save $ mah.
In fact, I won't talk back to my MIL lah. Just that I make it clear to her, dun bother with what I do, cos we are from 2 different backgrounds, of cos we do things differently. She will complains to my hb. My hb very good in dealing things between his mum and me. He will orh orh orh to his mum and ask me dun take to heart, not even to carry out what his mum said. Sometimes, he will tell his mum don't do this do that, or something like Jenny knows what she is doing kind of words to comfort his mum. After almost 3 years of being her dil, my mil knows wat she says can't make me follow. So now, she won't bother me too much. Somehow, i also feel after what I did, makes her dislike me. But I dun care lah, afterall, I married the son of hers, not her.

What white white thing on nipple, can describe? I know some ppl will have, is common.

Selina,
Pem Confinement Agency quite pushy.

hi jenny
tats true ,each trip i take cab frm west to east is ard $20 , if maintenance is $300 per mth , i can take 15 times of cab hehehe but u knw lah, psychological we won't call cab so often if we dun have car...

nw drinking my red dates, longan tea....mum ask me to drink like plain water hehehe.....emmmm nice and sweet

It's some white crust lor. During last preg gynae say it's colostrum (spelling??), so I know it's harmless stuff, but I just dunno how to clean properly lor. Afraid if don clean properly will block nipples in future then bb can't suck milk.

According to book:
For those with cracked/dry nipple, avoid washing nipples with soap. Just wash with water daily to keep it clean and crust free.

Jenny, aiyah, won't want to talk abt mil anymore. Just feel no gd when discussing her, think our ba zi bu he. Pple who know her all think she very nice. I agree, but maybe we just got vy different value. And I'm not the kind of submissive gal lor.

coral,
oh but I tot colostrum is translucent color??? You mean dried up one? I didn't clean purposely wor, I just bath as per normal.

hi selina,
dun apply ur stretchmark cream on ur nipples. i was told bu sales dun ever put tat cream onto nipples. only can apply around breast.

Jenny, it's the dry up one. When wet is translucent. Dunno why everytime I preg colostrum start around wk 10. So it's ok to just wash with water? i just wonder if it'll block the milk duct. But since everyday got new colostrum flowing out, I shouldn't worry so much hor? I too pai seh to ask gynae leh, last time I ask the nurse so she told me. Now if I ask gynae wat if he ask me to show him I'll feel so embarassed. hehe.

Wah u ladies really very busy...hahaha
So many posts within 1 day.

Now I have to walk stairs one by one liao hubby say walk flat road also must see step by step aah....But all for bb we have to be more careful lor

Coral
U also accident prone aah becareful. I very scared to hit bum. Think with new tummy we tend to miscalculate our centre of gravity....hehe

Wei Kuan
My modem also having problems make it so hard for me to connect to internet. These few weeks also got 2 drawings drop down. I use the 3M hook cos dun like to drill and my 'men lian' also drop. Ur friend got say why preggy things keep spoiling anot?? My mum ask me not to do the sticking of hooks myself she tell me story of her brother when he was born. So think have to wait for hubby to do everything lor.

When hubby or me accidentally say bad words or hb do things I dun like I will rub my tummy and tell bb not to learn lor....hehe

Coral, Aspialle
U both so good cooking everyday. Even I stay home also dun cook everyday cos very lazy to wash up...hehe
Normally hubby will buy food when he coming back. I like soup but hubby dun like to drink so very wasted for me to boil. Only drink soup when my mum cooks lor.

I like to bake though but dun like to eat my own products...hahaha
Only eat a little bit than keep until spoil.
Always give to my nephew or niece who finis everything superfast.

Selina
think my hb will b the 1st to stop me ah! he dun like it when i get aggressive.
he is the milder type. believes everything juz give in a bit... drives me nuts at times.

yah shame the fellow even though he is not gg to stand up. wicked me oso! kekeke

coral
i suspect i oso got sthg like u do. but it dun really bother me. i believe its colostrum.

jenny,
then u can get ready 4 ur wkend getaway liao!!!

yah lor, ladies, nvr apply anything on nipples... juz ard our breasts.

hi doreen
long time no see....cooking at home more nutritious mah...yes...besides the dishes, i will mop the kitchen floor after every meal i cook...then wipe cabinet..nvm now not working notin to do mah

wtan,
Don't think i will ask for further no pay leave after giving birth. That will be pushing my luck too far, not fair for those who has been covering my work so far. My work has been redistributed away so when i go back to work, i'll be taking on different things.

coral,
wah, true blue chef! next time must get ideas from you.
As for the whitish thing, i got it during the later stage of the pregnancy. i think it's the colostrum that has dried up.

aspialle,
i look after him myself in the 1st 6 mths. As for marketing, we do it on weekends or if i really need anything, i will ask hubby to buy on his way back. i don't cook dinner cos we tingkat. For lunch, i either batch-cook pasta sauce over the weekend or cook some stew or soup early in the morning. Not easy but if our mothers can do it the last time, we can also

i got a maid now and will be shifting closer to my parents and sis so that i can have some help when i go back to work.

Cars are cheap now but as jenny has pointed out, maintenance is a killer. but i can't live without a car. in fact we have been thinking of getting a 2nd car when i go back to work cos hb and i work far away from each other. but figured it'll still be cheaper if i take cab after factoring in petrol, road tax, erp and parking.

crystallized,
Actually i bo-chup the 1st mth celebration. Too much of a hassle to have a big do. My mum thinks the same way as me and my MIL after so many years know our pattern liao so she didn't insist although hubby is the only boy in the family. In the end, we just let her have a celebration for her relatives (which is not a lot). She cook and prepare the stuff and we show face at the time that she tells us and we stayed for about an hour plus. After that say bb tired, must go back and sleep liao. Hubby just pay her for the expenses incurred. Easy peasy

For the rest, we gave out cake vouchers.
We made up to close family members a few months later when my son was baptised. Had dinner for a few tables at a restaurant. Again, not much of a hassle

Hi Carol,
I have the same whitish things as u. Had that for quite some time liao, even before i became pregnant. Think i read somewhere that it can b breast cancer. I was very worried and actually wanted to go for checkup when there was a free screening http://www.hpb.gov.sg/hpb/default.asp?pg_id=977. Then the nurse called back and said the service is free for women above 55 years old. So i just "kinda" forget the whole thing. Didn't expect u to have the same problem leh.

PRAYING
Saw quite a few of u said MILs will pray with those food items?? Ermm... was thinking what if the guests are Christians or catholics. Last time i bought some food items from overseas and my mum used them to pray. I didn't dare to give the food to my friends and colleagues, just keep at home..

Hi MTBS,
went to see gynae yesterday. Still dunno bb's gender. It's now 13.6 cm and weighs 316g. Here's some info I gathered from gynae:

FISH OILS
Gynae suggested if want to buy fish oil from outside, make sure the DHA: EPA ratio in the formulation is at least 8:1.

BIRD NEST
Gynae said no effect on bb. He told his own wife no need to eat when she was pregnant but she ended up buying lor.

DENGUE FEVER
There's been a few cases of dengue fever around my area (Queenstown) and I've been bitten few times even though gov came to do fogging. He said must b extra careful. I'm abit scared leh.. He said preggies can use insecticides or electric insect killers, no problem.

hi hi ladies..
today all veyr agressive leh for the postings..wow..

hi hi doggiemummy..
oic...okok..so usually is done on the day the baby is full mth ahh?

hi hi aspialle..
work out with ur hubby ba..coz with a baby coming in..getting a car will be more convenient lor..work out the budget..coz cab fare also quite heavy from east to west leh..

hi hi janice..
very nice to hear that baby is growing well lor..hehe..i m sure u must be very excited to be able to see baby..hehe..as long as baby is healthy..i guess is nice even thou cannot tell gender yet..think baby is shy ahh..maybe ur next appt can confirm lor..talk to baby & ask baby to co-operate ba..hehe..thks for sharing the info with us..thks..

Dun anyhow apply cream or lotion on nipples. Last time my colleague told me her sis bought some breast firming cream and ended up her nipples had liquid coming out. The doctor told her to stop using the cream immediately. So dun play play...

jenny,
haha... my MIL did mentioned tat no need for 1st mth celebration. she said is too hassle. and my family all stayed at m'sia. wat will do is jz pray at home and small welcome to our baby in the hse lol. i think much more easy for me. no need to entertain all the relatives.

hi hi babygrace...
icic..see how ba...unless u will like to be a full-time SAHM..but ur boss is really understanding lor..hope u get to solve this along the way..but they knw u due in oct, right?

Hi, I also got the white white thing. Think got cracks also... i suspect i have inverted nipples leh... but dun know how to confirm leh... difficult to describe...

BTW hor, I always have those sudden itchness at the nipple one leh... those kind where you REALLY got to scratch lor... with the bra there, cannot even scratch thru.. my hb cannot tahan me when i told him my nipples are itchy again... haha...

Whew, my class over liao... can finally rest... lab now super quiet... those "monkeys" all go home liao...

hi hi doggiemummy..
oic..okok..so is to go to both side of the house to pray lah?so i guess even if my boy will be taken care by my mum & we are staying with my in-laws, also got to pray at both side hor..okok..thks..thks..

Janice, my whitish stuff only happen whenever I'[m preg. During non-preg period don't hv. You better check if yours has alwats been there.

Vivian, I sometimes like you got sudden itch too. And can't scratch so unbearable hor? Nowadays, my tummy skin start to itch abit. Most likely due to the expansion.
babygrace, you like driving ah? I really hate driving. In fact got phobia, especially in town area. When I usd to work in ulu place I drove for a while, the moment I start working in town we sold the 2nd car. Everytime I drive I realise I'm so tense. All those stupid drivers who change lane without signal pedestrain rushing across road, drivers who wont give way when you signal to change lane...I still prefer to be chauffered by hb, but he feel we should hv 2nd car once we hv bb so I can be our children's chauffer and send them to shcool. I'm not so stupid.

hi hi ladies...

just wanna shared with u on this when we reach wk 20/21of the pregnancy (since most of us will be doing the detailed scan at wk 20 or 21): -

Week Twenty
You're half way there!
The rapid growth stage is about over. While things have slowed down, this next stage is vital to survival.
The baby's heart grows stronger. Find a quiet place, lay flat on your back. Locate your own heartbeat by finding your pulse. Next lay your hand on your belly. You may be able to distinguish the two heartbeats!
His legs are reaching their relative size. With the increase muscle develop occurring as well, you will start feeling much more than tiny flutter kicks soon!
Immunities are being transferred from you to your baby now. These immune cells will protect her from viruses you've already had for up to six months after birth!
The nerve cells for taste, smell, hearing, seeing, and touch are now developing in specialized areas of the brain. Production slows down as existing nerve cells grow larger and make more complex connections.
Your baby may startle in reaction to loud sounds. Amazingly, she can actually hear noises outside of the womb. Familiar voices, music, and sounds that baby becomes accustomed to during her development stages often are calming after birth.
If your baby is a girl, her uterus is starting to develop. She has approximately six million eggs in her ovaries. About one million will remain at birth.
Baby is about 6.46 inches (16.4cm) and weighs around 10.58 ounces (300g).

Week Twenty-One
White blood cells are under production. Leukocytes (or white blood cells) form our body's defense sytems. They help fight infections and diseases.
Your little one's skin has changed from translucent to become more opaque.
Your infant's tongue is fully formed. If you were able to peek you might catch your son or daughter practicing giving you a raspberry!
If your baby is a girl, her womb and vagina are formed. Unlike males, females have a limited supply of eggs in their lifetime. At this point your daughter will have 6 million eggs. This amount decreases to approximately one million by birth.
Baby swallows more this week. After your baby takes in amniotic fluid, his body absorbs the water in the liquid and moves the rest into the large bowel. This is good practice for his digestive system!
Wake and sleep periods become more consistent. Some research suggests that baby sets her internal clock to match the outside world's even before birth! Your eating and sleeping habits as well levels of light and noise serve as her signals.
Length is now measured crown to heel.
Baby measures about 10.51 inches (26.7cm) and weighs nearly 12.7 ounces (360g).

Hi Wendy,
Yup! BB is healthy and growing! Gynae still gave me the same answer:" MAyBE it's a girl. But I dun wan to confirm yet."
yawn.gif
Anyway going for detailed scan on 9th June. Hope can confirm by then!

Hi Vivian,
Ermm.. how does inverted nipples look like?? Mine also itchy at times until buay tahan..

Hi Carol,
Thanks for your concren. I've always worried whether it's breast cancer for my case. But hubby just said I always paranoid.. So far nothing worsen or improve.

doggiemummy, I do apply. But occasional stil itch. But not too bad, bearable, need not scratch.

In the past, I always wonder if stretch makr cream works, but now I realise they are really more moisturising than normal moisturing lotion. I hv a msensitive patch on thigh which is dry. Apply normal moisturiser uselles, but aft 1 application of stretch mark cream it gets better, a few application later, the dry patch disappear.