pups,
If Kaelen is not ready for his room, then try again mths later. He lacks the security. I considered myself lucky that the transfer was such a breeze. My gals were very excited with their beds and room that time.
We don't have the problem with lack of interaction for night time. On weekends, the activities (sch homework, colouring, play etc) are all done in the morning before their afternoon nap. And we usually go for swim/outing after their nap. I think partly cos the gals only come home on Fri nights (we reached home ~8.30 to 9pm, usually reach home, they will settle themselves to play a while, while we settle down, then they will prepare for bed), they are considered quite mature for their ages, I find them quite independent. For us, there's no issue on interaction. Even when they dun sleep, we can also do our own things, and they will keep themselves entertain w/o disturbing us.
Last time, Jolene (~1+) used to wake up very early and insisted us to wake up and play with her! We told her no no, but at that age, what can she understood? So, we closed the door, and let her played inside the room while we "slept" (more like lie on bed). Then we told her, cannot play so loud cos baby at next door sleeping, must shhh. We reminded her many times. So, when Jaslyn's time, Jolene was the one who told her lor.
Crystallized,
Cannot compare lah. If wanna compare, I think I will vomit blood with Jaslyn!
Just one issue on night toilet training, Jolene was totally off diaper when she was less than 2.5 years old. See, Jaslyn is coming 3 soon, she is still on night diaper, though most times are dried, but there are also a few times that the diaper is wetted. She's not like Jolene who will wakes up to go toilet herself. She told me she's big gal, and didn't want to wear diaper for night sleep. I told her she can only when she can wakes up to tell me she wants to go pee. I will not take the chance lor.
Shirley,
For Jolene hor, we on and off hided her pacifier. For a start, we let her sucked for a while (less than a min) when she looked desperate. Then slowly change to no pacifier for daytime. At night, she would have but once she fallen asleep, we removed. Then slowly was the out of sight method, and lastly we told her to throw away the pacifier herself. When she asked for it, we would remind her, she threw away herself.
For Jaslyn, the method for Jolene didn't work on her. So I did a cold turkey on her. I cutted away the sucking part, and gave her her non-sucking pacifier. She tried to suck but nothing for her to suck. She told me her pacifier spoiled, told me to buy new one. I told her I had no $. Then whenever she asked for pacifier, I would give her the spoiled one to remind her the pacifier was spoiled. After a few days, she no longer asking for it.