(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi jenny,

i will be the one to fetch her to and fro. while waiting for her, i can maybe login and do my office work. that the advantage of i'm able to work from home.
i think what selina meant is it can put caleb 1 step ahead of others, if the school is full... able to contribute to the school next time in sports

hi selina,

that true. why did u say caleb is not cut for swimming?

can i know where u bring ur kids for their dental check up? any recommendation.

my son, 3 years is complaining that his gum is painful and when i brush his teeth, there will be blood. thinking whether to bring him to a dentist or PD....dilemma...pls help.

thnks

jenny, with a sport that he can excel in, chances of getting him to better school thru sports will be there u see. like if you excel in swimming, can use that to enter schools like ACS etc.

gemini, he doesnt really like to swim but only like to play water. recently hb brought him swimming & ignored him when he fell into the water 3 times while trying to get out by himself. since then, he very fearful of water liaoz.

Gemini,
Oh, then that will really offload yr mum.
Maybe you have to look around yr area to see what courses they offer? I think community centre does offer some courses. But gotta see if they accept age 3.
OIC, I was thinking if that is a new requirement.

Selina,
I tot Caleb loves to swim and you have been bringing him quite frequently with your sis and bil? I always think he can swim pretty good.

andreatyt,
Dunno leh, haven't bring the kids for dental checkup yet. But my friend brought hers to the one at Camden and has positive feedback, of cos cost a bomb too.
http://www.thekidsdentist.com.sg/index.html

Jenny,
this boy siao siao one lor... he got the stickers from the PD after checkup. Then we went for lunch. He then suddenly started pasting the stickers on his face... and AFTERWARDS, walk ard with them on his face in Compasspoint where everyone stares at him... haa... bth him sometimes...

Vivian,
haha... kids are like these, always do things to amuse us kekeke..

Selina,
I see. Jaslyn also feared water after we stopped going for abt 2 mths, lazy to bring the gals to swim weekly lor... partly cos we still have to bring Jolene for her weekly class... like the weekends all burnt at swimming pool =P
Then when we started going few mths ago, realised her fear, so we try to make it a point to go at least once in a fortnight. Need her to overcome the fear of water, so that we can start her on swimming class too... since she's doing nothing but running abt while waiting for jie jie to finish her class.

Vivian,
Rhys is still the good old Rhys which a smile that can brighten anyone up

Tricia,
Won't Tricia need her afternoon rest time? For K, by the time he returns home it is a short play time with some snacks, bath, sleep... and by the time he wakes up it is about dinner time. K is attending music lesson but only on Sunday morning. Just signed him up recently after identifying that he is interested in this aspect.

hi vivian,

from the pic, can see that he's quite cheeky... :p

hi pups,

after tricia come back from school, about an hour later, she take her afternoon nap. which sometimes she can sleep till about 6pm...which sometimes create a problem of her sleeping around 12 midnite for that nite! so her daddy was saying instead of wasting her time sleeping, let her go learn something extra, furthermore the lesson may only be 1 or 2 days per wk. i'm looking at wkday instead of wkend cos my hb sometimes will receive a last minute service call and need to go work. so to play safe, wkday is better.
oh, so where K attending music lessons? i'm trying to find a music and dance class for tricia and hopefully around our area..cos i will be the one who fetching her and since i cant drive, must be accessible to public transport

gemini, i dont really agree with your hb abt sleeping as wasting time. i think slp is very impt for children. they need to rest so that their body can grow. i think tricia still needs her nap but you can try to shorten it so that with a shorter nap, she can sleep earlier at night. i am having the same prob with caleb so we are now trying to cut down his afternoon nap time to 1.5hrs max. also next yr when he start maris stella, will be afternoon session so he wont have much time to nap cos his session ends at 3pm. but i will still want him to at least nap 1hr after his school cos i think napping is very important.

classic example is my nephew who since young hardly has time to nap due to my sis & bil working schedule & no one to look after him so he is very small in size for a pri 3 boy.

u can prob find some evening programme for her instead so at least she can still nap 1hr or so before going for her lessons again.

jenny, when forced to, he can hold a board or noodle & kick. he is more comfortable with me after the incident (no more confident with the papa cos papa ignored him when he fell 3 times the last round when i was travelling) but no one else except one of my BIL's female coach. those he knows he will scream till he breaks his voice.

Selina,
I love 2nd pics. So cool!

Caleb now also in 2hrs playgroup right? but next year will be 3hrs programme?

Gemini,
yeah..i agree with Selina. Indeed the afternoon nap very impt. right now A going to playgroup 1-3pm. He start nap ard 4pm, and he seem like very tired, can nap till 7pm. I have to drag him up for his dinner or else he will not sleep early at night. We feels bad for him too cos he seem tat so tired compare to when he school at morning session.

How abt weekend class?

jasmine, hahaha... very fierce hor. yes he's been in 2hr playgroup for almost 2 years. next year going N2 which is 4 hrs i think cannot remember.

dun let him slp until 7 lah. 1hr or so shld be sufficient. then later at night slp earlier lor

hi selina/jasmine,

definitely afternoon nap is still impt, i think what my hb meant is dont let her sleep too long, like 3-4 hr afternoon nap, which will pose a problem in the nite. this girl, if she sleep till 6pm from 2pm plus, she will only sleep around 12 midnite...

hi selina,

the 2nd pic, caleb gear is for what sports?

hi jasmine,

weekend class is a bit hard, cos i need to take care of tristan. and sometimes if my hb need to work, i will have to bring tricia to her class. which mean i will have to bring #2 out and i cant drive, so will either have to call a cab (which i tell u, punggol area not so easy, unless call cab) or ask my dad for help.

hi selina,

sometimes she refuse to wake up, even though we wake her up a few times...

oh, need to wear a jacket too? sori har, me very suaku one...

Selina,
Woah, Caleb looks like from some special squads. Haha. Very cool and adorable at the same time

Gemini,
He is with Seimpi Music school in Hougang Mall. Should be very accessible for you. But if you want music and dance, this is not really suited. Though the kids do mainly music and movements with introduction of music theory (in a fun play manner) during the first term, they do eventually advance to the keyboard. By then, I reckon this movement portion will be much lesser. Will have to check with bbgrace about this cos both her kids went through this program and Emma is definitely at a more advanced stage than K cos she started much earlier.

Bring Tricia to school earlier lah. That way she can participate in the mass music and movement segment, which I think she will enjoy.

Last Sat, Jaslyn was down with stomach flu. Yesterday was Jolene
we actually took leave to bring the gals for swim... haiz... Seems that we dun have fate to go bird park (plan to go today de)

Gemini,
I do agree to cut short the nap hrs. Jaslyn after coming from sch is ard 2.35pm, then bath, take her milk, then she will goes meet zhou gong at ard 3pm. Sometimes when she is really tired, she can nap till 6pm. But usually my mum will let her nap till 4.30pm, latest 5pm, then up for dinner.
At my mum's place, the gals sleep only when all adults sleep at night (10pm~11pm). Very bad habit. But at my place, they go to bed at 8.30pm (sometimes afternoon nap can sleep till 5pm+). It's a routine that you have to set. My mum always complain to me abt the gals sleeping late at her place, but I told her it's all becos she has never set the routine, so she can't blame them.
I feel for Tricia's age, they need more time to rest after attending childcare/playgroup. The activities in sch are already quite a bit, so when they go home, they should have proper rest in the afternoon.

Selina,
Caleb is also very cheeky ah, see his smiles.
The 2nd pic really looks cool haha.

Jenny,
Stomach flu tends to spread within the family. I remember the last bout started with my dad then K then my mum then hubby and me... Just hope Joleen recovers fast and the bug stops at her.

Jenny,
How is Jolene now? Hope she get well.

U mean both gal can sleep at 8.30pm when they stay at ur place? That's amazing! Cos i thought when they get older, they will tend to sleep early.
Last time A can sleep ard 9pm. but after he move to my ILs place, he only can sleep 10pm-11pm. At 1st i also thought they never set the routine, but there once i stay overnight there, All sleep liao, only A jump here and there, and even sing 'Five monkey jumping on the bed' then he will jump down frm bed. Since then, he never sleep early liao even at my hse.
Now i'm thinking maybe he take too long nap at afternoon (2-3hrs)?

Pups,
I also want to sign up A for music class. But i afraid it's will just waste of $$ cos A won't sit still.
I already got comment frm his playgroup teacher that he can sit still & keep throwing toys and those students will follow him. He even went to the prinsipal's room when the phone is ring. omg...

Gemini,
I see..then maybe you can search for the enrichment class which nearby your place.
at least it's easy for you. Like me, I also find those class nearby my place so wouldn't need to travel so much.

pups,
I tot only the 1st few days will spread the virus. Cos Jaslyn has been ok after the 3rd or 4th day. I didn't know the virus will be so strong for a week.
It was quite lucky this round cos after the signs shown, I knew it and brought both gals to their usual TCM doctor instead to swim. I asked the doctor to do massage for Jolene (at that point no fever yet). Once after the massage, the body heat came out, and her temp shot from 37.1 (daytime) to 38.5 (midnight). She was really weak, slept all the way from 5pm after a very light dinner and medicine till Sat morning. She woke up on Sat morning happily and well again. She even went for her swimming class yesterday when I told her not to go.

Jasmine,
Yes, they will go to bed at 8.30pm, no matter if they are tired or not. Time's up, they will go prepare for bed. They used to sleep at 10pm last time.
You know that friend that you know and I know, her kids sleep at 8pm since infant time de hor. She told me 8pm sharp, all will go bed, then after the kids sleep, she would have her time to do her stuff (housework, work, personal stuff). I think it was a great idea, so when I told hb abt it, we decided to give it a try. At that time, Jolene was ard 2+ already, quite hard to convince her to sleep early, easier on Jaslyn since she was only 1+.

Jenny
I think the bug is strong this time round. So she is better now?

R used to go to bed by 9pm. Then aft the June holidays when he got used to sleeping at 9+, close to 10pm, i cant switch back the timing anymore.

At the old place, he used to b able to sleep by himself and wld even chase me out of the room. But now tt we hv shifted to the new plc since 3 mths ago and prob oso due to the fact tt i am pregnant, he is sticky to me and refused to let me leave the room during bedtime. Sigh. Only on rare occasions when he is in a gd mood and i managed to convince him to sleep alone will he agree to let me leave the room. 90% of the time he will refuse. Looks like the plan to let him sleep by himself b4 #2 comes will nvr materialise liao.

Initial plan was to move him to his own room b4 #2 comes. But now gotta remain status quo. #2 will sleep in another room by herself while I prob will end up sleeping wif her when i nurse her at hight. Cant find a perfect solution. Kept hurrying my hb to start the baby room set up liao. I am only left 2 more mths and he still thinks we still got alot of time left. Gotta get a new bed for R (so the cot can b used by mei-mei) & a new wardrobe for baby.

Ur gals are gd... can switch easily during the wkends when they come home.

Jasmine/jenny/Gemini
All ur tods attend sch at later time thus their naptimes hv to b later. For me, i prefer early sessions since R is an early bird so his sch ends at 11am. Come home, bath, lunch and go to nap by 1pm. He wakes up at ard 3+pm but still cant go to sleep at 9pm anymore. During wkends, his nap time will usually b fr 1+ or 2 pm(depending if we go out or not) and he wakes up ard 4+. I will wake him up if he sleeps beyond 5pm. Lucky thing is he nvr fuss or whine when i stir him up fr his nap. Wah cant imagine if R sleeps till 7pm, i'll hv a hard time putting him to sleep at 10pm even...

Jenny,
oo...yeah. that friend stay at PR, right? You told me b4. Really envy her. Last time they always have gathering at night after all the kids sleep, pity i cant joined them.

hmm...think i should let A take short nap during afternoon & retrain him sleep early when he back home.
Hopefully he can be like your both gals can switch his timing during weekend.

Crystallized,
JRRT = ur gal also start with R? already think abt her name?

Jasmine
haven thot of the name lah... still discussing wif my hb. But will start wif R since the 3 kids in our family alrdy hv names starting wif R. she'll b the odd one out. Initially I had not wanted to stick to R but aft my sis named her son, we sort of oso looked ard names starting wif R. Sigh, not easy leh. Me and hb cant decide on the name, unlike R's name. We both love it instantly.

Jenny,
but then if her kids sleep at 8pm, then hw abt nap?
cos like A now school time 1-3pm, understand frm one fo the student's parents, their son didn't take nap so will sleep at 8pm.

crystallized,
i see. I think 3 kids in your family their name are quite unique.
Looking forward to see ur gal name.

Jasmine
Headache ah! I am giving her her chinese name this time instead of consulting a geomancer as well. There are some characters tt i've always liked and i told myself then tt if i am hvg a daughter, i shall name her myself. luckily my MIL & hb did not disapprove. Coz to me, a child's name shld b named by the parents, juz like our time.

Her chinese name we hv shortlisted 2 alrdy. Its the english one tt is causing a huge headache. Haiz.

Some tods at this age can skip their nap time. I think it can b done but u muz find sthg to occupy them fr the time they reach home till bedtime. Not easy lor.

Crystallized,
Maybe bah, she's ok already, yday can go for her swimming class.
But I damn sick of visiting the doctors. Lucky the bt batok TCM did the massage for her when I requested. He still thinked and thinked leh, I told him cannot think liao, if not I die first LOL

Probably Reubern is not not used to the new place? Or perhaps your "soon to delivery" caused him anxious too. Being sticky at this stage is a norm. Bear with it. Train them to sleep together in another room later lor.

Heng ah, they can switch the timing. I think cos we are more strict to the timing bah? Especially my hb, mei de tan tiao jian de.

Actually I prefer the gals to go for morning class, the sch will ends by 11.30am. Then afternoon will be free, then if I need to bring them out, I can just take half day leave and go. Now, they come home at 2.30pm, timing wise very rush lor, especially if I need to bring them to ICA or some places which close at 4 or 5pm.
For napping wise, it's ok lah, they nap from 3 to 4.30pm or 5pm.

Jasmine,
Ya, she's the one. Erm I think they still have meetup at night leh.
Her kids nap at 2 to 4pm wor. But hor, they wake up very early also lor. Ard 7am, but sometimes can be 6am+ hor.

Jenny
yah i realised the TCM @ Bt Batok dun like to do tuina for the kids. I asked a few times if R needed to do and he always say no need. i was looking fwd to him doing it for R actually.

Yes, its def he's not used to the new plc (but its been 3 mths) and oso coz i am preggie. I think for now, its due to the fact I am preg only. So sometimes i juz tell myself to treasure the time i spend wif him now coz in 2 mths time, he will hv to share mommy wif mei-mei liao. Gd thing tt he is oso close wif my hb so at least my hb can handle him then.

I agree on the sch timing. Early slots r better coz it frees up the aftn time. Need to go out/run errands wif them only take half day leave. They nap at the same time even during wkends? Coz if they wake up at 5pm, its so hard to sleep at 8.30pm leh. i got prob doing tt oso! hahaha...

R is like ur fren's kids... wake up early! These few wks he started waking up at 6.30am again! Faint! On sat he woke up at 6am! I was so furious wif him. I wonder why he needs to wake up so early. But his sleeping habits like me exactly. Light sleeper and an early riser, once wake up alrdy, hard to fall back asleep again. So my mum said, "Blame urself lah! Ur son is exactly like u!!!"
i got nothing to say coz its true!

Crystallized,
According to my aunt, this TCM doesn't really like to do tuina for kids, unless is v serious then he will does upon request.
I find his medicine better and easier to drink compare to Zhao Ge's.
Ya lor, but it will be mad rush for my mum lor, cos my bro just switch to day work last week. No more additional help liao. Maybe I will check with my mum if wanna change to morning class next year, but hor I think the gals will have "hard time" to wake up early cos morning sch bus comes at 7.55am wor. That's partly the reason we placed them in the afternoon class. For me, of cos I prefer them to be in morning class, so afternoon is free up, then I take pm leave also dun feel wasted lor. If not I have to wait till 3pm before I can bring them home/outing lor. Partly why I hate to take pm leave cos at least 3hrs are wasted waiting.

My gals will nap at 1 or 2pm at my place if we are at home. They will nap till 4pm or 5pm.
If we are going out in the afternoon, they will nap at 12pm for an hr or so. Sometimes they skip nap.
No matter if they are tired or not, 8.30pm has to go into their room with lights off, door closed. If they can't fall asleep, they have to lie in bed, no excuse to come out. At bad times, they can lie in bed happily playing then we tell them off lor, or having excuses to go toilet lah, drink water lah and so on. But no matter what, by 10pm, they will have fallen asleep.

I will die if my gals wake up at 6am+. The only time where I can sleep till 7am+ is only weekends cos weekdays already gotta wake up damn early!
Anyway, not a problem for me, cos my gals won't disturb us. When they are awake, they will just go to the balcony to play quietly until the other wakes up.

hi jenny,

if both my kids wake up at 6+ or 7+ at weekends, need i die first... not used to waking up so late. maybe cos both my kids (yes, even tristan sleep at around 10+), so he wake up around 8 plus.
quite hard to let them sleep earlier cos every nite i will reach my own home around 9pm+. after settling them, around 10pm+ liao.
both girls very guai leh... will stay in the room for bedtime and most impt they will play by themselves!

hi crystallised,

tricia half day CC ended at 1 pm. i do agree, early end time will be easier to bring them out in the afternoon...
wow, R can sleep alone in the room? till now, tricia want daddy to sleep next to her on the same mattress! got tell my hb many times, after she fall asleep, go the bed (next to the mattress) to sleep but he fell asleep also, next to her!

Jenny
We always tell R the black black medicine is 好料, so thereafter we dun tell him tt he is drinking mediciine but he is taking in 好料. Hehee...

Oh ur mum usually rely on ur brother's help so will b tougher on her if she is alone. But both kids r older liao, so might b easier. u can check wif her.

Wat time does ur gals wake up? How i wish R is like tt... And gd tt they can self-entertain each other when they awake! R will demand to come to "mommy's bed" the moment he awakes. he can easily jump out fr his cot to our bed coz its juz next to us but he knows tt he has to ask for permission b4 he can come over. Else i die wif him trampling over my tummy.

And gd tt they can even skip nap. R will b cranky if nap time is delayed till too late, so he cant skip nap at this stage yet.

I am looking fwd to the days when my kids wun disturb me aft they wake up. haiz, tt will b at least another 3-4 yrs down the road now tt my cycle is gg to start again.

Gemini
R used to b able to sleep alone in the room w/o us (though he sleeps wif us). He wld even chase me out of the room if i linger for another few mins more. but since we shifted 3 mths ago, he has gone back to the routine tt someone needs to stay by his side till he falls asleep. And its me.

Sometimes if i am v tired, yes i will also fall asleep. hahahha

Gemini,
I think is a habit lor. At times when we are out late, the gals will sleep late lor.
As for sleeping alone, my gals have no issue when one of them isn't at home.
I think for co-sleep, the older the kid is, the harder to wean, cos they are so used to it. For them is a sense of security.

Crystallized,
My gals are mad! They will ask for the medicine de... crazy! And they drink until so yummy!

My mum doesn't really reply on my bro's help lah. My bro though at home, doesn't help much (he's sleeping most of the time), but does a lot of discipline!! until my mum got fedup with him at times. Bro was converted to day shift, so my mum is having headache at night hahaha...

My gals ah, at my mum's place can wake up anytime between 7.30am to 9am. At my place, ard 7.30am, very fixed de! I wonder why!
Oh they can self entertain themselves cos I train them since young, told them got ppl sleeping, baby sleeping, can only play softly. Warned them cannot go kitchen and toilet. If you remember, last time I had a gate at the kitchen entrance, and my FIL installed a lock for my toilet. I locked the gate and toilet door at night before I slept. Told Jolene to use the master room toilet at night, cos I could hear her when she comes in. Somehow, since young, the No-No rules have been memorized into their brains, so they won't lor.

Jenny
R will sometimes ask for medicine oso! So its normal!
It was a nightmare to feed him med when he is younger, now no need to scream; he'll come automatically. haha.

My mum oso rely more discipline help rather than physically helping to take care of the kids. Like if my sis or BIL is at home, she says she dun even hv to shout or use cane. Their presence itself serves as a gd reminder. Its really funny.

Coz at ur plc, they sleep early mah. so naturally wake up early lor. R's problem is no matter wat time he sleeps at night, he wakes up roughly the same time the next day. So its a no-no if i try to keep him awake till late then send him to bed. i ask for trouble man!

When #2 comes, we need to put up the safety gate again. Actually i prefer tt even now coz at least they cant run to the kitchen. Anyway now R sure wakes us up when he awakes. And he wun run out of the room w/o waking us coz i am such a light sleeper.

Crystallized,
I removed the safety gate cos the gals already mastered the skill to unlock the 2nd lock, so no point to place the gate there lor. But then no issue, cos the gals won't go into the kitchen and service balcony cos they know the 2 places are out of bound. They usually go to the service balcony to throw the dirty clothings into the laundry bag only.
As for the toilet lock, Jolene can unlock herself already. But I'm not worried cos she knows what to do. Just wanna lock Jaslyn out of the toilet cos sometimes she takes long time to wash her hands erm... at the same time wash the basin hahahaa!

Jenny
Jaslyn & r got the same habit! R ends up washing the basin when he washes his hands!!!! I sent him to the naughty corner for tt coz he dun seemed to get it when i told him NOT to wash the basin!

Does Jaslyn know how to wash her hands properly. R cannot wash off the soap properly. ends up still soapy. One of us will hv to stand beside and watch wat he does! And he likes to wash all the way almost reaching elbow!!! So maddening!

Crystallized,
hahaha... playing with water is fun mah.
Jaslyn knows she is wrong to do that, but at some times, she will still play.
Yes, she knows how to wash away the soap. I think the sch did teach, cos Jolene showed me few times, though Jaslyn didn't catch the whole procedures.

My god, its fun and he ends up wetting his top if we leave him unattended at the sink. He 顺便 wash basin and "bath" his upper body if no one stands there to catch him.

R still dunno how to really wash off everything. I tell him to feel his hands, "Still soapy leh!" he was so nonchalent abt it. A typical guy's behaviour! boh chup! *roll eyes*

I dun think the toddlers will understand about soapy lah. To them is wash hands, I washed already mah, why Mummy still said I didn't wash...
Perhaps next year will be better lah, dun forget he's only going to 3 next mth leh.
I was shown with the pics taken by Jolene's teachers. They have 1 activity which is to wash their toys like fruits & veggies, and utensils. Machaim like playing jia jia jiu.

Jenny,
Good that Jolene is all well now

My next step is also to get the 2 kids to sleep in THEIR room but K is insisting that it is mei mei's room and daddy, mummy AND Kaelen's room. *faint*

Although we know that if the kids sleep earlier, we will have a lot of time to ourselves at night. But we cannot do so simply cos that will mean we don't even get to interact with them after we come home at night. K is not the type to switch sleeping pattern during weekends cos weekday or weekend it is still at home and routine is the same. Anyway, my ulmost important task is to make him sleep back in his room before baby K knows how to say kor kor sleep with daddy mummy, she wants also *double faint*

Your girls are such a dream! K will wake up before 7 on weekends and INSIST we wake up to play with him. He will make so much noise that we give in cos otherwise baby K will sure be woken up by him. I totally don't get to rest over the weekends. Not that I don't want to train him. I have tried... teach nicely, scold him, punish him.... nothing gets into him!!

crystallized,
That was the arrangement I ended up with. K still with us while I bunk in with baby K to nurse her during those times when she is waking up a lot for feeds a night. He is STILL on my bed, cannot shake him off

Last night K insisted both daddy and mummy sleep with him and we were so tired we just crashed with him. I woke up realising it was already 12 midnight! That was when I woke up to bath and woke hubby up to bath. :p No time to bath before that cos we reached home at 8.30pm and I had to settle the ebm issues (store day's supply, pack excess for freezing, wash pump parts), then feed baby K, and get K to go to bed by 9.15.

Jenny
but my niece can wash off the soap completely off her hands leh. so i thot its a norm for them to know by now.
R likes to wash his "fruits & veggies" at his toy kitchen. till now the 2 tods still love to play the kitchen set v much. wonder wats so fascinating abt the set.

pups
OMG, i can literally imagine myself in ur shoes as u describe K! But difference is, he will bug his papa most times. he seldom disturbs me when he awakes if hubby is ard.
I nvr allow R to sleep on our bed as a routine since he was a baby esp tt time he was still being BF coz i know its v hard to shake him off later. besides he kicks and turns too much in his sleep, i cant sleep in peace at all! so he has always been sleeping next to me, either on a mattress and then later, in his cot.
Only either one of us will acc R to sleep, its nvr BOTH at the same time so the other can do some chores like washing bottles etc. I always tell him that we'll both sleep with him later, after we r done wif the chores.

Wow, time is v rushed 4 u during wkdays man! I oso am gg to hv a hectic schedule once i start work aft my ML.

So u r still pressing on 4 bfg?

pup

i agree with you. zac used to sleep at 8pm when he was younger but as he gets older, i find that we need more interaction with him and he has a lot to share during the night so we shifted his bedtime to 9pm. lele will follow as she needs to see that her bro sleeps before she will sleep in her room. i am quite lucky that both of them are sleepin alone in their own room respectively. settling zac to bed is quite easy. for lele, think going to be an hurdle next month when i try to wean her off her pacifier. mummies, can share how to wean off pacifier? i used cold turkey for zac but think lele cant use the same method so cracking my brain. her ultimatum is next month when she turns 18mths.

Jrrt
haha zac loves his kitchen set. he will wake up and come to our room and ask us what kind of breakfast we want and go "prepare" for us. i think the kitchen set is a god sent as it really keep both kiddos occupied for sometime. as for washing hands, zac always turn on the tap at the full volume and loves to splash water on his face too. got a number of scolding from me. so usually i have to supervise him when come to washing hands.

Shirley
Yes R oso loves to turn on the tap to full blast and ends up splattering water all over his top. Somehow it delights him!

My grand plan to let him sleep alone in his room would have materialised if not 4 the fact tt we shifted. Sigh. Now back to square 1.
oh well, i am due in 2 mths time and dun hv much energy to do major reshuffle now. juz take a step at a time bah. wat to do? Haiz.

pups,
If Kaelen is not ready for his room, then try again mths later. He lacks the security. I considered myself lucky that the transfer was such a breeze. My gals were very excited with their beds and room that time.
We don't have the problem with lack of interaction for night time. On weekends, the activities (sch homework, colouring, play etc) are all done in the morning before their afternoon nap. And we usually go for swim/outing after their nap. I think partly cos the gals only come home on Fri nights (we reached home ~8.30 to 9pm, usually reach home, they will settle themselves to play a while, while we settle down, then they will prepare for bed), they are considered quite mature for their ages, I find them quite independent. For us, there's no issue on interaction. Even when they dun sleep, we can also do our own things, and they will keep themselves entertain w/o disturbing us.
Last time, Jolene (~1+) used to wake up very early and insisted us to wake up and play with her! We told her no no, but at that age, what can she understood? So, we closed the door, and let her played inside the room while we "slept" (more like lie on bed). Then we told her, cannot play so loud cos baby at next door sleeping, must shhh. We reminded her many times. So, when Jaslyn's time, Jolene was the one who told her lor.

Crystallized,
Cannot compare lah. If wanna compare, I think I will vomit blood with Jaslyn!
Just one issue on night toilet training, Jolene was totally off diaper when she was less than 2.5 years old. See, Jaslyn is coming 3 soon, she is still on night diaper, though most times are dried, but there are also a few times that the diaper is wetted. She's not like Jolene who will wakes up to go toilet herself. She told me she's big gal, and didn't want to wear diaper for night sleep. I told her she can only when she can wakes up to tell me she wants to go pee. I will not take the chance lor.

Shirley,
For Jolene hor, we on and off hided her pacifier. For a start, we let her sucked for a while (less than a min) when she looked desperate. Then slowly change to no pacifier for daytime. At night, she would have but once she fallen asleep, we removed. Then slowly was the out of sight method, and lastly we told her to throw away the pacifier herself. When she asked for it, we would remind her, she threw away herself.
For Jaslyn, the method for Jolene didn't work on her. So I did a cold turkey on her. I cutted away the sucking part, and gave her her non-sucking pacifier. She tried to suck but nothing for her to suck. She told me her pacifier spoiled, told me to buy new one. I told her I had no $. Then whenever she asked for pacifier, I would give her the spoiled one to remind her the pacifier was spoiled. After a few days, she no longer asking for it.

Jenny
coz ur girls hv each other for company mah. So nice.
Though i know vomit blood oso lah.

Tell me abt toilet trg! R cannot go to the toilet alone as well. He will not pee properly and end up dripping a few drops on the edges. And he cant wear his underwear well oso. Guess we need more time.

I dun even wanna think abt night toilet trg at this stage!!!

I agree tt if we try to shift them/get them to sleep alone and it doesnt work, stop trying since they r not ready. They will b, sooner or later.

RE: Picnic @ BG
Totally 4got abt this until i saw delphine's FB pix! How was it & who went tt day? I saw Kaelen, Lele, Zac, Caleb tts all. Lele is sooooo cute!!!
At the party tt day, Jerene was asking me if i am heading to BG aft the party? I said no lah as it was almost 1+ by then. Am sure u all wld hv left... 1+ under the hot sun, no joke!!!

D suddenly woke at 4.30am yesterday to Poo. N this morn also 3 more times. Sigh..........this is what I am very scared of lor. N even if he fart might have some poo also.
So far he's like normal leh but jus now start to complain his backside very pain(think cos laosai ma) n cry lor then cry liao he very tired so cranky.......sigh

Nap
D normally dun take naps during the day. I think becos his bedtime more then covers the total amt of sleep he needs for a day. He will sleep abt 9-10pm until 10-11am.
But if we bring him for gym class or wake early to go out then he might take a nap but will also push his bedtime to 12am or later liao.

Shirley
D stopped his pacifier after he turned 2 and was after PD visit. Pd said D's teeth start to Y Y liao N I should consider weaning off his pacifier. We went home n I told him doc say his teeth gonna drop if still eat pacifier n if no teeth cannot eat sweets. So he really okie.
Since he only eat pacifier when he sleep think slightly easier to wean. N really out of sight out of mind lor.