(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Coral

i see then i will be tough for you to handle both esp night time. how i wish i can be SAHM again....heehee u tinking of getting a maid or nanny to help you?

are u still leaving with ur MIL or on your own now? I move to the east now

Yes i resigned but hor.. to do other things not really SAHM.. heee.. i starting PT today.. just work 4 hrs daily to pass time and do my own things.

And yes every weekends the kids sleep at 1am.. so hard to get them to sleep cause 1 just wanna to play with the other.

Dor
hahahaa.. my exhaustion is only the weekends!! terrible.. hahaa.. i will go crazy ah.. dunno how u can manage with 2 24/7..

pups
i rem kat had jaundice for close to 2 mths and i totally stopped my confinement then she got better..

Coral
Tube can be bought anyway i think i have extra if u need.

Gemini
Dor really good.. can manage alone.. hahaa.. i will really ki siao..

crystallized,
I also don't know how they determine. I just know I am determined to continue to bf. Haha.

Dor,
I am actually wondering if K will drink my bm! Maybe I should just hide some in his fm? Still can get the goodness this way right? ;)

Coral,
I believe the tubings can be bought. You know the authorised dealers for Ameda pumps? Can call and check with them. I am more familiar with Medela cos I am using the PIS advanced. The tubings for Medela can also be bought and is cheaper when purchased from a US website. But I just checked for you they don't carry Ameda's replacement parts.

Adeline,
Hmmm... don't know is it really the confinement food or it is coincidental cos of the natural progression of the jaundice. Anyway, I am already off ginger and sesame oil. Lets see how it goes.

Aspialle, I'm now staying on my own. Being very ambitious and hoping to be like Doreen to take care of both in June when Char is on her shcool holiday. Hope I can cope; not planning for maid will just hv CL during confinement month. But one thing is my area not that convenient can't just go downstairs and buy food, so will prob have to cook all 3 meals myself with the two little one at home. Which part are you at now? Near your parents?

Adeline, how come got extra? Thought the tubbings come in just snough number? Maybe I can buy from you if I still can't fidn mine this wkend.

Pups, thanks, I'll search and purchase one if really can't find in any of the boxes at home. Been searching on web just now but most selling the entire set and not just the tube.

Now i gotta find the backing for my infant car seat...that's the problem I've been facing since i moved, inlaws were so worried that we dont pack and move so they packed out things into boxes while we're at work and after I move house I have lots of problem finding my stuff..

Gemini
hehe yah I bring them out alone or I can't go out liao ma. But I make my hubby pick me home else I sure cannot make it.

jrt
This weirdo if he dun see us shaking the milk will suspect is BM n refuse. But he will still drink if he dun suspect lor. Siao siao 1.

Adeline
Me is bopian. I already choose this line liao die die also must make it work ma.
But will ke siao lor like now D sick hor then gotta keep wiping his vomit n settle him cos he keeps crying n fussing 1. Then must settle the very playful little girl also. So I was very happy when char tao hubby auto stay at home yest night to help out. Even though he didn't do much to help but still its good to know I'm not doing it alone!!

pups
In order not to waste the BM at all I will give D the BM 1st then once he finis, I will make Fm for him using same bottle......hehe

Coral
Maybe get tinkat food for the time being until you are settled with the kids. Then venture to cooking.
Cos for my confinement I ordered tinkat confinement food n jus eat it with D. Really save me alot of time n effort.

Coral,
I was about to make the same suggestion as Dor, that is to tingkat your meals after CL leaves. Char is old enough to eat from your tingkat, else you just add another item for her. That beats cooking an entire meal anytime. No point you are too busy to cook, eat simple, then feel guilty that you are not producing quality milk as a result for your boy. It is a vicous cycle.

Dor,
I don't think K will want bm leh... hmmm, when I have enough to waste some then I try? Haha.

hi adeline,

same as u, i will ke siao esp now tristan need more attention as he want to be carried. actually i very afraid of nite time if i'm alone, dont know how as both of them want to be patted to sleep.

hi dor,

that's why i pei fu u. this period of time i'm at home & i still got my mum to help out, already not easy, have to handle hsework & the kids. furthermore, the kids are sick, even more pei chek.

hi pups,

now is tricia turn. she started sneezing and a bit of mucus is flowing out after comin back frm school... *sigh* hopefully it's not turning into a full-blown one.. very sian leh, esp she just recovered 1 week ago

Gemini,
Heard that on Monday, other than K, 3 other kids were down with flu also. I am not sure if those 3 kids went to school cos K didn't go so we do not know but I heard from the principal when I called her last evening. I am quite sure K got his from school.... He has missed school for 2 days already and we will still be keeping him home tomorrow until he fully recovers.

Gemini
Yah lor when they sick really pek chek leh. Esp when we so helpless dunno what's wrong with them.

We went PD again today cos D doesn't sleep. He keeps talking, N I'm so worried lor, sick dun sleep how to get enough rest n get well??
N me n hubby dunno really got sleep anot cos he keeps waking every hr to cry or vomit n he talks n talks n talks. All the more I cannot sleep.
I also worry I cannot take it cos 2 nights liao. Then if I down the little girl who is still as active jialat liao.
PD say is fever delirium......aiyo jus the name alone giving me the chills. But at least he's sleeping now........sigh

pups
Hehe if K seems interested when u r pumping maybe can offer him some??....haha
D is very funny, when he sees me squeezing out BM he can say he want. But when you actually pass it to him he will action action n then dun want it anymore. So we must not let him see us taking from fridge to warm.
I dun keep any extra milk. So whatever I squeeze out its either I use for E's cereal or I will give D during his next milk.

D's very funny now sometimes he will volunteer to feed Ember when she wants milk. He will pull up his shirt n offer his breast....hahaha

Something funny:
Jus that day E was sleeping on the bed n hubby surrounded her with pillows. Then D was pooing in the toilet. He asked "Where is meimei??"
Hubby told him meimei is on the bed but he couldn't see her.
I was in the kitchen cooking then. So he made the cleverest deduction.
"OHhhhhhh. Meimei inside Mama tummy."...hehe

Coral
U sure can 1 lah. I remember you took 6 mths to stay home n care on ur own during Char's time ma. So this time will be better cos u are prepared liao. Plus char can be a great help to u now.

Dor,
I never let him see me when I pump so far. He only see my nipple once cos I was unlatching baby K at that time and he was going "what's that?" :p I make it a point never to change in front of him, that's why.

K is quite discerning about taste now, so, I wonder if he can tahan the fishy taste of bm. My bm is quite fishy now after I start taking fish oil capsule. I didn't take any during my pregnancy cos of nausea, so lets see if can bu baby K's brain now. Haha!

Coral,
I was pumping and googling some websites that sells Ameda pump replacement parts for you. If you have other overseas purchase, it may be worth combining your orders to ship over. Or if you have a friend in the US, can send to her place first then she airmail it over to you. Not sure about Ameda but when I did that for Medela parts, it is a lot cheaper than purchasing locally even after adding in all the shipping. If you are just getting tubings then maybe not. For me, I bought replacement parts for valve, membrane, connectors.... things that come into direct contact with milk cos after so many steam sterilisation cycles, I thought it is time to change them.

Here you go:
http://www.lactationconnection.com/SearchResult.aspx?CategoryID=10
http://www.amedababy.com/ameda-replacement-parts.php
http://www.breastpumpsdirect.com/Breast_Pump_Replacement_Parts_s/33.htm
http://www.amedaonline.com/

Do call up local agent and check price first before commiting, ya? ;)

Dor, Pups, I ever thought of Tingkat but worried that the food might not be suitable...Cos I suspect I'll need lots of fish soup to up supply and gotta avoid certain food for 100 days, etc. So was thinking I can use slow cooker to cook most meals for Char and myself, and for Hb he'll either eat what we eat or ta bao if he find our food too boring for his liking.

Dor, D thought can take in and out ah? Haha, they are just so innocent. And wow, your hb kai qioa le. At least he's showing moral support, way to go man! And yes, I always salute you and envy you. I still can't settle the financial needs of my own family so can't really be SAHM yet.

Frsutrations with care giver
============================
My parents (and even my own bros) have been speaking broken English to Char and I've told them it's alright to speak Hokkien or even Mandarin to her, as it gets very difficult for me to correct her since I spend less time with her than they do. And Char is totally fluent in Mandarin and she can understand dialect too, so not probelm to avoid speaking to her in English. But they are very stubborn and ignore my many pleas. Last night when my mum was using some Mandarin sentence structure in English with Char, I corrected her and told her to converse to Char in Mandarin; she got very angry and said you're so good you teach yourself lah. I told her, exactly, I'm going to teach her myself and I'm not requesting that you learn proper English to teach her, I'm saying you can speak to her in languages that you're fluent in. So she and dad got very angry with me. Haiz, I'm at their mercy cos I really need their help for now. Just let it be and try to correct Char in future?

Pups, thanks. Actually I bought new valves when my SIL was purchasing her set. So now I only need the tubes. Saw online seliing very cheap US1.99. Think it's shouldn't add up to a lot after shipping, but will also call local distributor to see if they do sell parts too. Thanks.

coral
different children pick up languages differently. for all you know, char might be a lil genius whenit comes to picking up languages, so even correcting flaws later in life, she might have no prob...

but, one thing i always advocate is that children easily pick up bad english in school, it's good english that is difficult to pick up. so it's best to start at home

i had the same problem as you. ILs love speaking to cy in english, broken ungrammatical, badly pronounced english which makes one squirms :p...i insisted they speak only mandarin and hokkien to him coz it will help him in the future...you can cite LKY's advice today to caregivers to speak to children in mandarin at home....else char become kentang, then cannot find work etc...just to scare your ILs a bit...

haha, i love the way the todds speak hokkien...it's even cuter than when they speak english!

L'boymum, they were watching the news when LKY was delivering that message but straight after that my mum spoke to Char in broken English. And yes, their pronunciation can be very sah lah...What to do? Poor Char lor, gets very confused. At home I'll tell her must ask "Where is XX?" But grandparents always tell her "XX where..?", "What you wan? (yes without the 't'), etc. Aiya, cite cannot find job? My mum said you and your bros all got no problem wat, we also spoke broken English to you when you were young. My mum's simply stubborn and refuse to admit it even if she knows it's not right. At least my ILs have a more positive attitude when it comes to this and it's usually my SIL who corrects them since she's worried for her own kid too. Not that I look down on my parent's English, but I just dont see why they should make themselves speak a language that they're not fluent in to accomodate Char and then lead her the wrong way...

Gemini
i same as u.. my fear is at night!
So hard to get them to sleep. both need me to pat and when i pat one, the other not happy..

Coral
Hw bout using another approach??
Tell ur parents to speak to Char in chinese or dilect only cos u want Char to learn those 2 from them. Then u will be the 1 to teach Char eng so u will speak to Char in Eng.
Jus to add, D so far has not picked up any of my parents' or inlaws' english.

On the same note, I get very irritated by my hubby's english with D too. Cos he speaks like this. eg. You talking boss lah talking him.
I have been correcting him since donkey yrs n his excuse is the indian worker cannot understand english so must talk this way. N ferrari is pronounced fa-la-li, to which I have asked him countless time hw many Ls r there in ferrari.
N ofcos he gets used to talking like that n I have to repeatedly ask him to speak to D in chinese. But with hubbies there is the ego issue so .....sigh

But I do realise they are very smart at picking our words. Like for me I do not speak to D in dilects(cos I dunno if pronounce correctly anot). But when I speak to hubby we add some dilects if we do not want him to know wat we are saying. But he will always say or do something that shows he understood what we said.

Like yest, (speaking in dilect)hubby ask me if we should get somemore of the fever patch for D. I replied that D doesn't even let him stick last night but if he wants then jus go n buy some. D stared at us.....then he said loudly "I DON'T WANT!!!"

hi dor,

i think our tods will eventually be able to understand some of our dialect as we use them in our conversation quite often and after listen to it quite often, they should be able to pick it up...

hi adeline,

so you sharing the same fear as me... hehehe, (since #2 is born) till now, they did not even sleep in the same room before...

Pups
u mentioned tt u using firefox as web browser the last time rite? SO i jus need to download it? Sorry ah, lazy to browse thru archives.

u BF K for quite long rite? Then shld hv no prob this time round.
Yah wif the escalating costs of milk powder, i am determined to BF wif #2 too. Save money!!! Hahaha

Dor
our tods are not stupid... they r v clever and knows things that we din expect them to. I always tell my mum of coz lah, their milk powders so exp nowadays! Unlike our time when its so much cheaper. So you can really tell the diff now.

RE: Broken English
My mum speaks to the tods in Mandarin & English. But of coz broken english. I hv told her not to do it many times and encourage her to speak to them in Hokkien. Good thing is my mum does not talk back when i tell her. I did explain to her so she understds. But she tends to forget at times and i do know she's making a conscious effort NOT to do that. So when i hear her saying the wrong sentence, I'll correct her so she learns. Succeeded afew times but the hard core ones ah, really hard to change.
Even I myself is guilty of speaking broken english at times. Juz too used to it! I just make en effort to correct immed if i do that. Haha, the fav one is like wat coral says "XX where?" Then i'll quickly correct myself.

Dor,I think for D cos he spend most of his time with you than your parents/inlaws, whereas Char is the opp. Hb and I use dialect too if we want to hide something from her. But now she can understand Hokkien and Teochew, in fact she speaks a little of both, so Cantonese is the only other lang. left, but soon she'll pick this up too as I find Cantonese quite similar to Mandarin. I may be forced to learn Malayu soon or use secret code with hb.

jRt, Me too, will speak broken Eng at times but will quickly correct myself or hb will correct me and vice versa. The only problem with my parents is they don't like to be corrected, thus the frustration. Else, I'm fine cos this way they get to learn something new too.

Pups, do you put on much weight in your last tri.? I thought our weight suppose to go up steadily in last tri...But for a month liao, I've not put on but lost a kg instead...will see gynae this Sat hope bb is still growing fine.

crystallized,
Yes. Mozilla Firefox. Can just download and use for free.

Breastfed for 8 months only lah. Of which, only 6 months exclusive. All because of work trip to the US, so I had to start introducing some fm. Silly as it may sound, I didn't dare to give K the frozen milk I stored up cos they simply smell and tasted VILE to me :p Actually breastfeeding is not all that cheap if you take into consideration storage bottles, storage bags washing and sterilising etc. Though the cost of the pump has already been "off-set" the first time round.

Coral, Dor,
I speak to my parents in dialect when I do not want K to know what we are saying too. But I suspect he is starting to understand Teochew even though he doesn't speak it. Was telling my bil (who is a Ceylonese-Hindu) that I need him to teach me Tamil soon!!

Coral,
My weight gain has been erratic all the while from 16 weeks onwards. Meaning I can gain from 0.5kg to 1.75kg in a week, then for a week no gain type of thing. This lasted all the way to before I delivered. Hopefully the scan this Saturday shows that baby is still gaining weight fine, that means you are losing weight. Not surprising since you are so busy at work and so stressed up as well. Anyway, don't worry too much. Maternal weight doesn't mean much. My gynae didn't even take my weight from day 1 until I gave birth. He doesn't believe in it since the development of the foetal can be seen through the scan and feels that taking maternal weight just gives additional pressure to the mother.

Pups
Ok will do that later.
Thks

Hee, u r right... FBM indeed seems funny to me too! I simply cant stand the smell. R is v fortunate tt my supply was more than enuff 4 him to waste. This boy wasted so much milk coz he's fussy, and mayb my body knows my son wastes alot of milk so i end up producing more than required; thus cld last him for so long. I rem i even donated. And yes, cost of bfg is not tt cheap aft all, taking into consideration i used lansinoh milk bags which costs quite a bit. My pump is def worth the money coz its manual (i sold off the electric part tt came wif it) and i used for 14 mths DAILY w/o fail. It has served me well

But nevertheless, its the goodness in the milk tt we r determined to BF, regardless of the time spent on pumping & costs involved.

Oh yr gynae doesn't take maternal weight... thats interesting. i guess most do so as to monitor how much weight the mummies gained to see if there r any issues of concern. So how much did u gain for Kaeris?

crystallized,
Maybe my do by "visual inspection" first. And if we fail the visual part then we will be hauled onto the scales? :p
In the end I gained close to 10kg.

crystallized,
Silly me dropped my hp in hb's car w/o knowing, until late midnite then realised, so din reply you, then I flew off very early morning. Just TTed you the refund, you check yr acct hor. Also emailed you the email for the new bp, if you interested then you email to the organiser hor.
Mar - Jun period is very hot mah, imagine doing confinement during this period can die ah, especially those who go by the rules who don't bath.
Hey, Jaslyn's jaundice took abt 7 weeks to go off totally. My mum was very worried then, cos she said mostly will go off at week 4.

Adeline,
this is the stage where the kids will be having wars daily. A stage where yr gals are seeking a lot of attention from you, especially now you are at home. Be more patience with them ya. Hang in there.

Coral,
to make you feel better, Jaslyn is weighed at 13kg+. And 2 weeks ago, she fell sick and lost 1kg+. These few days, she's eating again, so the weight should have increase back to 13kg+.
The tube for ameda pump, I think it cost $30 per pair (pricing is 2 years back). You need to call up the distributor to check.

pups,
not only ginger, sesame oil will also cause jaundice.

Jenny,
I am doing my confinement now... not that bad lah. Haven't die. Haha. I think Jun-July period is worse.

I checked with PD, she said sesame oil is ok. But I have already asked nanny not to add sesame oil in my food since baby K had high jaundice index liao.

Jenny
yea i agree!!
Wah they fight then kim will beat kat.. then kat will sai nai to me and cry cry cry..
Then when kim see kat sai nai.. kim also pretend to cry..
And now kat throw tantrum lying on floor.. Exactly the same as how kim behave last time.

Gemini
they sleeping in same room so they wake each other up in the middle of night. have no space for them to seperate room.
like yday think they woke up 2 to 3 times to play..

Jenny, looks like many fall sick recently. And good thing, I found the tubes over the weekend. Now is to find the extra support for the baby carseat. Every weekend is a treasure hunt for me. Phew! Talk about confinement, it's gonna be damn war for me in May. But good thing they've revised the electricity bill, so can on aircon more often. ;P By the way, Jas looks quite abh bah leh, thought she's at least 15kg for she's quite tall too right? Manage to get Char to drink her milk, by spoon feeding, so her intake now is in the range of 400+ to 540ml per day. Decide to not let her go back to her 630ml/day since the advise is that the other food intake is adequate to supplement that.

Pups, so you gain about the same as last time. I've gain 12kg to date. Gained more initially but lost some recently, think I'll end up 14-15kg, still less than the 17kg I gained the last time. But good thing bb is growing fine and no bad water rention issues like last time.

Adeline, your kiddos will wake up in the middle of the nite to play, then they chio you to play along?? So cute but can be very tiring too...

pups,
mdm naini is the one who told me to avoid sesame oil. I wasn't awared and was very surprised.

Adeline,
This is the phrase that the gals will go thr. Just treat it as watching a movie to entertain yrself.
Dun get angry over them. Sooner or later, they know treat each other like buddy. But of cos when come to quarrel, snatching is another story. No need to sort out for them, let them settle on their own. Very funny one. Sit back and relax ya. You have survived from the toughest period (1st 6mths), so now is nothing to you. You can make it one!

coral,
Jas looks ba ba meh? Her cheeks lah.
After she fell sick and lost her ba ba cheeks, my mum has been nagging.
She ate a lot during the trip, I think her ba ba cheeks are back. Got time then upload pic here. Now need to clear all my outstanding work.

Coral,
So long as baby is growing fine, ya, don't have to worry so much about your own weight. For me, this pregnancy is quite "mythical". Have you ever heard people say that if your legs swell and unswell 3 times it will be time for your delivery? I didn't have it in my first pregnancy but for this pregnancy, my first swelling started in week 35 - 36, and then the third swelling (though mild) was just 2 or 3 days before my delivery! But I had bad swelling after birth both times though.

Jenny,
Mdm Naini was also the one who told me to avoid sesame oil. Looks like our source is the same leh. Need another source to verify! Haha.

Coral
they wont wake me up but hor.. they crawl all over me and hubby.. soooo we also wake up lor.. heee.. it's tiring!

Jenny
yea.. i find now more relax already compared to the initial part when i almost went crazy!
now it's like quite fun to see them fight hahahaa..
Just last weekend, kim gave kat a thunder kick.. and kat knock her head onto the wall.. but not very heavy type.. then kat cry and say pain pain.. i find it hilarious.. not to be bad lah hee.e.

LAdies,

I had a very bad scare today when Ember fell off the bed. According to D she hit his "leapfrog bus". She fell from head down n I'm very guilty cos I fell asleep n she fell.

E didn't cry n when I pick her up she jus wailed. N she arched her back n stopped suddenly. I tot she was distracted by the sight of D but then doesn't seem so. I made her fall back onto me n immediately she close her eyes like sleeping n put her head on my chest. I was scared out of my wits n immediately rubbed her head roughly where I see red n keep asking her to wakeup.
Then she started crying very loudly n it took me awhile to calm her down. But she still looked a bit blur blur. Plus normally she's very smily I jus need to look at her n smile n she will be smiling n laughing all throughout. But after the fall she doesn't laugh I tried so hard a smile at most. But D managed to make her smile abit more.
N I didn't dare to let her sleep only until about 3+pm (she fell at 12pm) when she was so tired she would lie her head on the bed for abit while watching D play. Then I rock her to sleep but still carrying her all the way (cos I'm still scared). After that then she seems more back to normal laughing n smiling alot.

Do you ladies know why?? Did Ember get a shock after her fall that was why she behaved that way??
She actually did make a vomit sound when she started crying n I was so worried she had a concussion. But when I knew she hit the 'bus' n can see that she hit the side of her face(eyebrow n cheek) on it I'm abit fang xing cos means she didn't hit her head directly on the floor. But still her behaviour scared the hell out of me.

hi dor,

indeed it's a scare... i think what you can do is to monitor E these few days, see whether is she eating/sleeping normally.
that's why tristan is sleeping on the floor now, at my parents place and even my own house. dare not put him on the bed liao since he can roll about now.

tricia has contracted HFMD, her dots are getting more by today. *sigh* i really very worried and cos now she does not really want to drink water, we have to think of ways to make her drink more now. even though tristan is now at my parents place and tricia is at my own place, really really crossing my fingers that tristan wont get it...
been feeling very sad and worried, esp recently, the cleannese in my parents house is not up to the normal standard, as no maid. and we just shui bian do... and furthermore, i'm rushing a deadline. now finished my deadline but i'm now with a running nose. arghhh...

Gemini
E's about back to normal after 6pm so I can breath more easily now. Jus crossing fingers that its all over.
Poor Tricia, hope she doesn't feel very uncomfy. Know hw u feel cos that time D sick I was also worried that E will kanna. Even now D's mostly well I still worried when I hear E cough.

Dor, I think E was shocked thus behaved that way, but sometimes could also be mild giddiness after fall. Have to monitor her for the next three days bah. Whenever such things happen to the young ones, we can hardly breathe and will worry for a long long time.

Gemini, just heard on news last nite abt the HFMD and today see a toddler her kena. Haiz. We can only try our best, but they now come in contact with so many others, really hard for us to totally prevent it. Char loves to ut her hands in her mouth so I'm quite worried too.

Jenny, hope you'll clear your work soon cos looking forward to the pics of Jas and your trip.

Pups, the swell after birth should go off after the first few months right? I looked at my old pics, I think I still have that bah bah look mostly water retention after Char's first month, but I think by the 3rd or 4th mth more or less gone.

Gemini,
poor Tricia. Is that because she has ulcer inside her mounth that maje her does not want to drink water? How abt lil bit of cold drink?
yesterday News just mentioned that now is the HFMD peak session.

Dor,
yeah..like Gemini said, monitor Ember for few days. Don't worry, I m sure she is fine.

Jenny,
wow..finally you went hongkong huh? I m sure both girls enjoy their trip, right?
I saw your food pictures till 'lao nua' cos i really din take so much variety of food during my trip.

Crystallized,
hahaha...no worry. I know you are not talking abt me tat ask you when for #2. Actually me been asking this question by so many ppl, so many time liao. I just bo chap them.

Coral,
as why i hesitant for #2. alot of personal issue lor after moving.
even now, A also din stay with me, we only bring him back on friday night frm ILs place.

ok..talk later. rushing for my year end report.

Dor
I wld hv been scared out of my wits oso... somemore alone wif 2 kids... but gd to hear tt she's now back to normal.
v v scary!

Jenny
i thot the hot period meant this is a popular time for pple to do confinement. din know u meant hot literally. heee...
i love yr end. coz weather somewat cooler... but tt mth when we do confinement it was so hazy tt i rem we cant get much sun and couldnt sun R for jaundice.
I tahan for 12 days no bathing... then aft tt bath once every few days. i kiasi but cant stand the heat & stickiness, so will only bath if i cant really tahan. I dunno if i will b so guai the next time.

Jasmine
sometimes i ignore if i am really fed up but sometimes i juz wanna retort back. hahahaha
U will sure not get used to it esp aft hvg to see A all these while. It feels weird and empty rite? Right now i am so used to bringing R back everyday, i cant imagine not doing tt anymore. Somedays when both me & hb work till v late, we dun bring him back (but quite rare-once every few mths), i oso feel uneasy. And this boy can tell if he dun see us by 7+pm... he'll start asking my mum where are mommy & papa?

So u finished moving alrdy?

Jasmine, you must miss A. I can't imagine not having Char home. Think I'll miss her when I go delivery, so far I have never live a single day wothout seeing her. And I really hope to keep it this way so will not consider any job that requires travelling. Hope you'll have a better arrangment soon. And then #2 can come along.

jRt, you very guai hor, I remember bathing he moment I came home from hosp and bath every other day. This time I may try to tahan, but with the hot weather I doubt so. ;p

Dor Dor,
oh dear... that is scary, glad that E is ok now. Denise also falls from sarong yesterday evening, 1 loud cry then stop liao... still a bit worried lor as she has been cranky for whole of last night. still monitoring.

Gemini,
poor tricia, sayang sayang. try diff ways like feeding with spoons or straw? you too take care.

Jasmine,
why after moving, A not staying with you?

Jenny,
must have enjoy your HK trip, did you went disneyland? bet the gals enjoyed the trip.

Doreen,
sounds scary. Do monitor Ember. If not, bring to PD to examine.
I think Ember did get a shock after the fall.

Gemini,
Poor Tricia, hope she gets well soon.
Try ice cream or cold drinks, will make her feel better.

Jasmine,
Actually, this HK/Macau trip was planned last Nov. It's my family trip lah. But then, I changed my views towards HK now. I used to hate HK haha.. Anyway, very enjoyable trip and wasn't rush at all. We managed to cover a lot. I'm just glad everyone enjoyed the trip, especially my mum. But the poor guys gotta took turns to carry Jolene when she's tired or taking nap. Lucky thing, she only nap once. Once again, ergo carrier is my god sender! haha.. I ergo Jaslyn when she napped, and best, we ergo Jolene as well.
If only I booked the tickets in Feb, the fares will be much cheaper!!
BTW, you moved to your place?

crystallized,
Not sure if I mentioned before.. actually for Jaslyn, I planned for Nov bb (same bday mth as hb). But blur me calculate sala haha.. Plus I wanna a cool period for confinement. I had a super hot confinement in Feb 05 (ask babygrace!! That period was the hottest mth that year!)
Aiya I tell you lah, you won't heck a bit when it's yr 2nd confinement.
I bathed right after delivery and all the way thr out the whole confinement. Not once in the morning but once at night too! Until my mum "scolded" me, said I already washed hair and bathed in the morning, at night better dun bath, then I stopped. But that was the last week of confinement liao haha.. My 2 CLs all said I dun look a bit like women in confinement haha..

Delphine,
we went, but only spent 3hours there. Didn't want to go at first but my hk friend kept asking me to bring the gals there.
Anyway it isn't worth to go at all. Not only the theme park is small, but the fireworks... haiz... I have no words to say... Marina Bay fireworks is much better!

Jasmine,
Hee I love to take pics of food, especially when overseas. My sis bf took pic with me. My mum asked us, "you 2 keep taking pics, like wanna open food business" hahaha...

Coral,
some pics of Jaslyn.
Took a lot, only uploaded some to the blog.
I really love the 2nd pic. There's a lot of Jaslyn pics really v nice and cute. Jolene didn't take much cos she didn't wanna take pics, plus she sticked to my sis and sis bf all the time.
2279601.jpg

2279602.jpg

2279603.jpg

Jenny,
nice pics... jaslyn grown up liao. getting prettier and prettier.
Oh really that bad, thought of bringing the gals there when denise is much older.

Dor,
Why don't you bring Ember to a PD for review and at the same time tell the PD about all these symptoms? Of course, I hope it is just a shock and she is totally ok now

Gemini,
I am really worried for K also cos he is the type who lies on the floor in school to play with toys! He likes to lie on his tummy and play and will "swim" acroos to another toy this way. Imagine him cleaning the floor in school and picking up whatever bugs there are on the floor!

Coral,
In my first pregnancy, my swell went off after a few days. This time also in terms of days but longer stretch, I believe.

crystallized,
You so guai! Both times, I bathed even when I was in the hospital :p And when I came home, I bath and wash my hair daily. Cannot tahan the hormonal sweat! Sometimes so tempted to bath a second time but I just wipe myself instead.

Confinement
It is quite a turn of events for me. I booked my nanny through an agency and I must say the nanny assigned to me is really good. She took care of baby K and me very well. She truly loves babies and is so very pro-bfing! But a call from home yesterday said that her hubby got acute memory loss and she has to rush home. Although I can wait for agency to replace a nanny for me, I decided on an early termination and DIY from now on! Reason being I do not want to readjust to another person and getting another person is a hit or miss again, don't know whether good or not... and we were a little uncomfortable to have a stranger around actually no matter how good the nanny is. Hubby and myself grew up without domestic helper and still prefer our own privacy. So, lets see how well I can do with cooking confinement food! Haha. Wish me luck.

Crystallized/ Coral,
I'm definitely miss him!! Never apart frm him especially night time with him. Wherever we go, we sure bring him along. And i think he also used to see me every night. there got once i back late cos need to go to new place. He kept search for me.
so, temporary arrangement will be i will go to ILs place after work to accompany him then back home. definitely tired but at least i can see him daily.
final moving will b this weekend.

coral,
There is another better arrangement which send him to full day cc nearby our place.
But the mission failed so gonna wait till he ready.

Delphine,
As my initial plan was send A to full day CC, so that i can pick him up after work. but the mission was not successful. so, now gotta stick to half day cc or 3hrs playgroup. In this case, he has to stay with ILs where they place quite a distance frm mine.
But i still hope can find a cc nearby my place that can let him stay full day there.

Jenny,
those food that you posted make me want to go there again cos i miss out so much yummy food during mine.
Now i know liao, we waste too much time at Disney. hahahaha...

ergo still can sling your gals? solid lel. tat time i only ergo A once but cant tahan liao.
Actually hor, i find that with kids, go oversseas with family is a glad idea as we need extra hand to handle the kids especially guys ard.

mommies, need your advice her. I really dunno how to handle A now. he in TERRIBLE 2 now.

1) what your kids do at home? for A, he daily activity is watch his favourite dvd. But i heard frm my SIL that watching tv is a very bad to a child as the childs will has very fast movement & not concentract as what A behave now.
2) he will scratch ppl face or hand when we don't allow him to do something tat's not allowed.
3) he still refuse to sit on potty. only pee when he is happy.
4) hate to wash hair. this actually happend after he went to ex-cc. he will jump up or scream when we wash his hair. bath ok.

Help!!

Jenny, Jas looks very different from what I remembered. Her face more grown up and she's grown very much prettier. Her hair so long, Char and I sure envy her. And yap, she doesn't look as bah as what I remember. I love her 2nd pic too, very natural and beautiful smile.

Jasmine, hope you'll succeed soon, cos staying apart is such a cruel thing to both mum and child.

Pups, that's brave of you. Two more weeks to go? That means you'll be touching water and all? How about catering food?

Delphine,
thankie thankie.
err I suggest you save up the $ to go other disneyland.

pups,
cater for your meals? So will be easier for you with the 2 little ones.

Jasmine,
Yes, ergo carrier can used up to 25kg.
Ok lah, I ergo Jaslyn, still managing. And I ergo her to walk thr the forest walk hor, me panting like mad! haha
Go with family is nice but the members must help lor, if not ended we carry ourselves, we will be the one tired out.

coral,
You only saw Jas once right? That's v long ago le.
We trim her hair many times le, if not will be longer.
Erm, I'm staying apart from my gals leh. But I enjoy the freedom from Mon to Thur lah. No choice, unless I move near my mum.

Jasmine,
1) My gals watch TV show from Channel 8/U when my parents on the TV. Usually is like from 4 or 5pm onwards, then off at 6.30pm. Then again from 7pm till they sleep.
Daytime usually play on their own, then go sch, after sch, come back usually nap.
2) Since infant time, we never allow them to scratch or beat us. We beat them back and scold them. So they never scratch/beat our face/hand. You have to let Alvis knows it is wrong for him to do this.
3) Dun force him on potty if he refuses. Stop for a while and re-train in another mth time. Alternative, move him to toilet bowl directly.
4) Try to ask him to lift his head backwards, close his eyes and slowly wash his hair. Jaslyn has this prob during her infant time. Now ok already.

Jenny, saw her once only but you posted her pics before and I saw on your blog before mah. Char's hair still so short. Haiz. Prob if I start off like you, living apart from very young might be easier, but now after 2+yrs, very tough already. Sometimes when i go out with hb without her I still miss her and want to rush home, but much better than the first yr whereby I keep hurrying hb home till he also dont want to come out wiht me. Haha.

Coral/Pups
I kiasee mah! Dun dare to bath... when i am sweating profusely. Will wait till i cool down then ask for the da feng cao to wipe my body then apply lotsa powder. I dunno if i will hv tt kind of regime when i next do confinement. its really tough!

Jenny
Yah i think u did mention to me u calculate wrongly when planning for jaslyn! hahaha... actually i oso planned for Oct baby n thot i was right when i conceived. When i found out my EDD, i was shocked tt it was early Oct instead. so i din really know how to calculate properly then.

Pups
u r so brave to cont wif ur confinement alone! but u r right... better than to hv an incompetent one coming & ruining the rest of ur confinement. Not considered to order catered food? at least save u some time?

Jasmine
i can imagine how tough it is for u! travelling to my mum's aft work, wait for R to sleep then i go back home. super tiring! But yes, at least u get to see him every night. Is the journey long fr ur ILs to ur new place?

1) what your kids do at home? for the 2 tods, they attend 3 hrs playgrp in the morning, come home, lunch, bath then nap. Once they r up, they'll b watching disney channel/DVDs. They oso play wif toys. But more often than not, engage in fights lah. hahaha... Watching TV does not necc means its no gd. For me, so far i feel it helps R.

2) R dun hv this habit to retaliate even till now though my niece hits him everyday. But occasionally he will playfully hit me/hb/my mum. We will reprimand him and say its wrong. He cannot hit ppl. Then he will apologise.

3) Dun force him. I think he is not ready. Dun b stressed by other kids whom r alrdy toilet trained. Else i think he ends up feeling more 反感 wif the potty.

4) Mayb sthg happened at the CC tt made him so terrified of washing hair now esp if he is not like tt b4. Can try jenny's method. Keep reassuring him that its alright when u r shampooing him. Alternatively u can get those shower caps tt prevents water fr getting onto his face.