(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

any mummies got a spare 1st teeth to sell away?
wanted to change my gal's toothpaste to a cheaper brand but end up she refuse to touch the new one at all so no choice got to get 1st teeth back for her
Then when exploring the thread then discover that 1st teeth has stopped production!

Anyone knows why??

Please PM me if u have any to spare

Jasmine
R is not totally diaperless yet. He still wears them when he goes to sch (my mum insisted he wears coz at times when the teacher is slow to respond to his calls 4 toilet trips, he wets himself), naptime and at night. So i still need abt 3 pcs a day. Though of coz the rate he is using is less than b4. And i am watching out for MP ones coz i am really satisfied wif their diapers.

Babe_ong
that time i needed to get the toothpaste in a hurry so i bought it off guardian instead. its def much more exp but no choice lor.

CAN i oso join here...
my lao da boy is born on 18 oct 06..

Any mommies staying ard queenstown area..i sahm with two boys elder boy's ard 2yr plus n lao er's 8mth old... As i need some or any feedback/suggestion abt the nursery schs-church or Pcf..can anyone help?? b4 i made erollment for my lao da..nursery class next yr..

Plus oso anyone here oleady started toilet training for 2yr old todder oledy?? ha..ha..i haven start yet..

storm,
There's nothing at fisherman's whaft. When we were there, only a few ppl. No rides were functioning cos no ppl. I will suggest you to go for sight seeing and makan and leave this fisherman's whaft as the last stop.

Doreen,
There'a another brand something like tag system selling in those big popular outlets. Whole set, think is going for $79.90. I remember seeing at the outlet at Thomson Plaza. Actually the same function as this leapfrog. I forgot the brand, but is quite a reputable brand. If you dun mind it not being leapfrog, you can consider it.

babe,
The manufacturer mentioned the sales for first teeth is very low, hence stopping the production.
You will need to look for other brand toothpaste.

Crystallized,
If I'm you, I won't care if the teachers respond fast or slow. Let them do the cleaning up. Jaslyn faced the same prob. Teachers responsed too late and she could wet herself at least twice a week. That's the 1st mth and I believed the teachers were too busy with all the new students. One mth later, I wrote in her notebook to ask the teachers to take note. And no more liao. If not, I always got call from my mum nagging at me, telling me to talk to Jaslyn. At first we tot she didn't tell teachers. Then later it came to my mind, that the teachers might not understand Jaslyn's need.

gemini,
desiree pee with her eyes closed... sometime, very funny to see her nodding her head in all directions while peeing.
so def will goes back to sleep after peeing.

Doreen,
Did a search, I think the one selling at Popular is known as Robin Reader. That pen is known as Robin I-Pen.
Tag library is the new reading system that is replacing leappad reading system right? I saw from leapfrog website. Just that it goes without the "base". My gals are not interested with the system pad, only interested with the DVDs.

Dor, I had very bad experience with the leapfrog services in US. They sent to a worng address and then re-send and charged me for all the delivery. They admit that it was their system error that caused the delivery error and will refund me but took ages and never refund me in the end I think I pay more for the items I ordered...and Char's not interested at all. Then this leapfrong till now could still be sending me their communications to other clinets to my inbox...Haiz. Wish you better luck wth the delviery.I'm always tempted to buy such gadgets but looks like I'll just be wasting money. Since Char doesn't like it.

coral,
What a bad experience. That means you are paying a lot.
Charlotte also not interested with teh system pad? My gals too. Or is it it interest parents only huh? Totally a waste of $ cos to save the hassle (plus lazy me to do homework to check), I bought the Learn To Read Complete Phonics System. Take up my storage space

Jenny, I have the system plus another 7-8 different books, also take up space only. Haha. And I gave up on asking them for refund liao, waste my time only.

Hi Mummies, any other toothpaste to recommend now that First tooth is no longer in production? Char's toothpaste abt to run out soon...

Jenny
I believe R had said he wanted to pee but the teachers din hear him coz he talks softly. and classroom env is so noisy mah. Plus their classroom on 2nd level, toilet 1st level. so fr the time R said he needs to go toilet, he needs the teacher to acknowledge immed and bring him there. But fr the numerous experiences, we know the teachers r slow in response and probably R cant control his bladder well yet thus the accidents.

The thing is when R wets himself, teachers might not noticed coz its brown shorts. and poor R is the one suffering coz classroom in aircon. A few times my mum actually commented R felt cold when she fetched him. I put on a white long sleeve for R under his uniform coz of the aircon. I suspect the teachers either dun bother to roll up his sleeves when he washes hands or R himself too playful always end up wetting his sleeves. Then go inside aircon room, his hands will b freezing! So if R kena wet sleeves and wet shorts, so poor thing! So my mum rather put on diaper for him. Even then, more than half the time by the time my mum fetches R, his diaper is gone. Coz nowadays though R wears diapers, he will tell us he wants to pee despite us saying he can pee coz he in diapers. so i guess at times he tells the teachers he wanna pee and insisted they bring him thus they remove his diaper. for us, now we dun let him wear diapers though travelling long distance in car since he always tell us he wanna pee. We carry plastic bags to let him relieve during car trips. He is still not gd at controlling his bladder. kena a few accidents on his car seat liao. But after reminding him a few times, he is now better.

Quite frustrated wif the teachers at times lah. my mum kept complaining but i guess nothing much we can do coz there r so many children. And R's speech not as clear as my niece, so he is often not understood.

I using 1st teeth for R still.

Wah liew, i nvr keep the huggies points leh...

crystallized,
It sounds so bad leh. Have you ever think, even if Reubern wets himself, the teachers may act blur, so don't need to change for him?
Reubern got notebook in his bag right? Write down the notes in the notebook. If no improvement, call up the sch and talk to the teachers. How about meet the parents session or home visit?
How about letting him wear a jacket and you fold the sleeve to 3/4?
I don't think the # of children has anything to do with this. They have a ratio of 1:8, and if need to, church sch has more than 1 assistance teacher for Pre-N class.
Teach Reubern to say it loud with you, "teacher (or ms xxx), I want to go toilet". My mum got so frustrated when Jaslyn first wetted herself in sch, at least twice a week, she taught her tat statement in english and chinese version, loud loud some more. Jaslyn's shorts is dark navy blue and is covered under her shirt (machiam like panty like tat). Her sch uniform is a bit like japanese style. If the teachers can spot Jaslyn wetted herself, and changed her to a new set of clean clothings, I don't see why Reubern's teacher can't see he wets himself. His pants is long and "expose".

I sent you an email on 1st teeth.

Huggies points, I think I may have some leh. You want?

Jenny
Yah its quite bad. My mum v frustrated and keeps grumbling. For my niece, coz she can speak more clearly and loudly, thus chances of her wetting is less but it happens occasionally too.

My mum oso feel the teachers act blur lor! Thats y she always v angry!

Yes, R got notebook. In fact got once happen tt i am on leave, brought R to class. His teacher "complained" to me abt R not being obedient etc. I then explained how they shld handle R and wrote exactly in his notebook on the tips. In the end, the teacher din even dare acknowledge on the notebook.

Yes, i am waiting for the feedback session too.

Initially i let R wear jacket to class. then realised the teachers always take off his jacket, worse! The poor boy ended up wearing his thin uniform. Thats y my mum let both tods wear long sleeve under the uniform coz the teachers wun b so hardwkg to remove their uniforms then their long sleeve mah!

Got this period of time we noticed the teachers kept rolling up R's long sleeve and by the time my mum fetched him, his hands were v cold. So we wrote in his notebook and aft tt, no more rolled up sleeves liao.

R's class got 17 students to 1 teacher & i asst teacher. Aiyah this R hor, talk v softly one. Soft like a mouse!

I saw ur email. But i dun hv tt issue leh. How come u all hv? *puzzled*

Ok i'll check if i wanna redeem anything using the points then let u know.

The first teeth toothpaste today i bought from PD.
She said that they running low also because lots of patients cant get it outside.
Reason being is another company took over so reproduction having some problems but eventually will be resolved.
thats what she said..
Everything will be the same just that packaging might change.

Jenny
Ohhh that 1 good aah??
I saw before briefly only quote long ago but not sure if good n hard to check it out leh.
So now see online got 25% so I tempted lah.....haha

D is diff cos he dun like the DVDs at all leh this weirdo only likes his brainy bb n certain disc only lor. My niece love her reading system alot use until spoil. So the last time I order with my sis cos she get a new set for her.

Babe
U might wanna try the orajel 1 I got from drugstore. Also fruity flavour n its for toddlers, can swallow too. I actually change to this for Damien cos the 1st teeth dun seem to be cleaning his teeth well then I dun want floride guess this is the other choice.

Coral
Huh so jialat aah. D doesn;t really like the little touch till now n I've been trying it for Ember but...sigh
When D see he will take over lor so cannot try at all. He's into books now so tot getting the tag system for him would be a good choice. Atually I only tempted cos after the disc price very attractive. Cos in sg after disc also only okie nia.
So far my only complain is their box is big. I ordered once before but cos with my sis so still okie.
Aiyah how can they still charge you when they r wrong....jialat man.

I let D use Orajel I bought from drugstore. Will be ordering from drugstore soon u wanna tag along??

pups
I also wondering got problem aah??.....hehe
Cos I still have 1 in the cupboard tot of leaving it for Ember's use. When she has more teeth lah.....haha

hi delphine,

haha... must be v cute, peeing while sleeping...

hi jenny,

i'm also using 1st teeth for tricia. have even stock up for tristan...

hi coral,

char same as tricia, not interested in leapfrog too, only interested in turning the pages...

hi crystallised,

if u want the huggies point, let me know. i dun think i will be using it.
aiyo, think u really have to feedback to the teachers ...a few more times. poor R, must be feeling cold but cant express it. i think our kids, not sure for other kids, but for tricia, dun think she can tell us she's feeling cold. but curious, why no toilet on 2nd floor? if a kid really urgent, still have to go 1st floor?

pooh luv elmo

Ur also in the july 08 thread right??
My #1 is toilet trained already. I train him for daytime n he self train night time.....hehe

Gemini
Coz the initial plan was tt kids' classrooms are all on level 1. so the toilets are located at this floor, wif the kiddie urinals and mini toilet bowls. 2nd level only hv adults toilet and 1 cubicle only. So i am not sure where the teachers bring him if he is the only one tt needs to pee. For mass toilet trip, they will go to level 1. but now the church is undergg reno, so all classrooms relocated to level 2.

Yah agree that they cant express they r cold/hot yet. U hv to touch their body/hands to feel it. Thats why my mum is v mad when she feels R's hands so cold at the end of the class. I juz asked my mum this morning, she said now lesser frequency.

And i asked R to use a louder tone when he wants to tell the teachers he needs to pee. It was not to the extent of shouting but louder than usual tone. he so funny, can tell me, "Mommy, cannot shout!"
hahahahaa... i told him we are not shouting but muz speak louder so teacher can hear him. he go "Orh..."

Dor, I'll tag along if this toothpaste is safe when swalloed. Think I'll discard the extra tubes of first teeth at home. This Char still eating her toothpaste I need something that can be swallowed, went to check out oral b , pigeon, darlie, Lion, colgate, but don't think they're that safe for swallowing. Could not find the Pureen ones near my place...Char is very into book since young age, every night must read to her, but somehow she's not interested in the leap pad.

Gemini, looks likes most tods here not interested in the leap pad system.

jRt, poor R. Actually I also dont understand why must their classroom be this cold I've got to put on jacket for Char daily but she usually end up coming home with wet sleeves and feeling cold. And her legs are cold but no long pants. Maybe I shall feedback on the aircon in her note book. Your boy so shi1 wen2.
AS for the first teeth prob., I experience it on the tooth paste tube itself but not on the toothbrush.

BBgrace, thanks for sharing. I'll see who's ordering then tag along for toothpaste.

Delphine, I'm inspired by you, think I'll start to toilet train Char at nite after my confinement if I still need to wake up to feed #2 at nite.

crystallized,
From what you posted, I'm quite sure the teachers act blur.
Hmm so far, I've never get any complaints from sch. Even during the feedback session, those probs that the teachers or we mentioned, the teachers assured us that these are not problems or complaints. They took it as part of growing up, a learning phrase. I know a few classmates in Jolene's nursery class are quite notti and rough. And yes, they push classmates from slides (I witnessed myself). But the teachers dun scold or complain. I can see the teachers in the gals' sch are quite patient. They will talk nicely to the kids as well as the parents. They will not acknowledge kids being notti, instead they said is active. Is me and my hb who lose the patient with the gals. The principle and teachers ended talking to us haha..
Able to write a note to tell the teachers not to remove Reubern's jacket? Or feedback aircon is too strong?
Pre-N max ratio is 18 students (MOE rule). I know Jaslyn's class has 2 teachers (1 form teacher and 1 assistant teacher), but on some days, there are more than 1 assistant teachers if need to be. When the subject changes, the various in charge teachers will take over from the form teacher. It works like a pri sch but with assistant teachers.
Hmm I wonder why, we all face the same issue leh. I didn't know abt it until I read abt 2 postings in various threads (I only pointed out 1 posting). Then thr emails, then realise the rest of the mummies also face the same issue.

pups,
not really a problem lah, nothing to alarm. But I think I'm going to change for Jaslyn cos I've been facing the same issue with the rest of the mummies.
Just that I read from other threads abt it. A dentist recommended to use pureen or oral b kids toothpaste instead.
BTW, does too much enzyme cause tooth decay?

Doreen,
You have the $10 off from drugstore thr email?

Doreen,
Sorry ah, you refer to which one?
If you are talking abt leappad, it's the shipping that is ex lor.
If you are talking abt robin reader, I only saw at popular for a short while, din really "explore" it cos I think for now, it will be a waste of $ like the leappad I bought. I think older kids will love leappad system cos they will know how to function it. So, my intention is to keep and take out maybe next year.

haiz.. both gals down with cough, sian.. everytime like that, once one of them is down, the other will also be down.

Coral,
Good if #2 can sleep through the night soon, if cant, treat it as night toilet training for C. Quite satisfying actually to be able to train her this way. If my #2 were to sleep through, dun think I will be that hardworking to wake up at night to toilet train Desiree.

Jrt,
i think there are too many students in R class leh, that's y, the teacher could not handle so many of them. poor R have suffer in the aircon room.

Dor
pls include me if u doing any spree from drugstore
i might not chk the thread in time so maybe can PM me

the toothpaste that Babygrace recommended can be found at drugstore too??
can it be swallowed like 1st teeth?

so what other toothpaste can replace 1st teeth? need to buy toothpaste for cheyenne's bb sister. cheyenne using kodomo gel toothpaste.. but those cant be used on babies leh...

storm,
Read this thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=36738&post=7385857#POST7385857

Another toothpaste recommend by dentist is pureen kids toothpaste, same as first teeth. Jlyn's boys are using this, and she said it costs only $1++ per tube.

Pigeon children toothpaste, in the box, it indicated as "small pea amt is safe to swallow". This toothpaste is NOT suitable for kids who don't know how to spill out. Do note. BTW, I'm not sure if pigeon children toothpaste is fluoride free, cos not indicated in box.

Jenny
I have but that "$10 off from drugstore email" but I dun have so much to buy to hit $100. So I never order but think should have expired liao bah cos few weeks liao.

The leappad my sis bought(100+) when my niece was abt 4 yo. Then use until now P1 liao. So when order frm US consider cheap liao...haha
I wanna get the Tag cos thinking D can use it to play around n hopefully learn something. N when I'm busy with E n he wants me to read I can make him read himself 1st lor. But then like u say if they really too young then can use forlonger time lah....hahaha

Coral
So the 1st teeth really no good aah??
D likes books when he was very young, then somehow he doesn't wanna read for awhile. Cannot stay still. Then now start again, even wanna keep going library to borrow books.
Until now D still anyhow flip the littletouch book n dun press to make it play on the correct page leh.

babe
Dun think drugstore has it cos I search cannot find.
Will let u know when I order. But anyway I KS at least got 1 stockup 1.....hehe

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=153422&catid=133235&trx=GFI-0-EVGR-MYR&trxp1=133235&trxp2=153422&trxp3=1&trxp4=1&btrx=BUY-GFI-0-EVGR-MYR

bbgrace
the toothpaste u bought direction say put toothpaste on finger or the gumbrush to brush. Wah can use finger to brush aah. But ut kids using toothbrush right??
I got so fedup with D's yellow stain I tot his teeth was gonna decay but pd said its jus food stain. So I used my electric toothbrush with his toothpaste on him n viola!! White teeth.....hahaha

Jenny,
I do not know for sure, but from reasoning, the enzyme (which is meant to "eat up milk residues") should not cause tooth decay. Tooth decay will be due to too much acid or substance produced by bacteria in the mouth.

Dor,
D let you use electric toothbrush on him ah? Hubby bought one for K but he is only interested in playing with the mechanism, not in using it to brush teeth! *faint*

Jlyn,
Where do you buy the Pureen toothpaste from?

pups
D dun like it cos of the sound. But I will do it anyway once in a while when I see his teeth still abit yellow after brushing. K still can play with it? He's not afraid of the loud sound?
D is very scared but now think used to it, when I brush for him he will complain but I still can get it done.
But when we brush he keeps staring at us n now brushing is called "Eeeeeeeeee".....haha

Dor, not sure if 1st teeth no good but i also feel that Char's teeth is yellowish and wonder if the tooth[aste is effective, and I'm worried abt the black mould I see around the tube. Maybe should try Pureen since it's so cheap...but need to know where to find it. Maybe I'll try the electrical tooth brush on CHar tonite. SHe likes to use her own voice to imitate the sound when brushing.

Jenny, just got my mum to check the Pureen toothpaste at home. It was a promo price then- at $2/- per tube. Think normal is $2.35.

pups, i got mine fr kiddy palace. Member got 10% if i remember correctly. I am using quite a bit of pureen products (minus diapers) like their shampoo and shower gel. Not sure why, my elder boy always get a bit of rashes when he used other brands. He's fine with pureen and most importantly, it's cheaper than the cetaphil and qv lor.

Doreen,
The $10 off just expired yesterday.
I received another email on $10 off for payment via paypal with a $75 purchase. Valid till 5 Apr.

pups,
I read in one of the threads, a mother posted saying a dentist told her too much enzyme will cause tooth decay.

pups, coral,
All along, I find first teeth doesn't clean well.
To me, it's just a safe baby toothpaste which helps to intro toothpaste to the kids, so that kids have a mindset when it comes to brushing, they need a toothpaste.
I remember hor, I only started to use cologate when I was 6 or 7. All along, I was brushing with just toothbrush and water, and I think I was intro brushing when I was only in Kindergarten age.

Jlyn,
Oh so the price of $1++ is after yr member discount lah.
My friend was telling me to upgrade Jaslyn's toothpaste to flouride kind since Jas knows how to spill.
She said her kid's dentist dun recommend first teeth. In fact, once the kids know how to spill, should upgrade.
On 1 hand I agree, on the other hand, I "wish" to upgrade only after Jas turns 3.
Now, I don't know if I should start Jas on pigeon children toothpaste, since I have 2 tubes at home. Or get pureen kid toothpaste for her.

Dor,
The sound not very loud leh. We use the cheap Watson's brand one. Didn't want to get something too expensive cos scared he doesn't want to use it.

Jlyn,
Thanks. I supposed compass point KP has it? No chance for me to shop much now so have to direct hubby to go buy. Heh. My boy has slight eczema in his infant days, I had to change to Gaia bath product for him then he is ok. We stick to that till now.

Jenny,
Ok. I am really not familiar with that ;)

As for fluoride toothpaste, I think use only when the child is ready. Singapore's water is already fortified with fluoride, so we all get a dose of it whenever we drink water! ;)

dor dor,
i have the same prob with you, desiree teeth also everytime yellow one. I will ask my maid if she brush her teeth every morn? She say yes and use a lot of 1st teeth toothpaste but still the same.

Jenny, wow, that's late. We were brushing our teeth real young and already visiting dentist every 6 months before Kindergarten. Will soon start this habit for Char too.

May pop by Kiddy Palace this wkend to check out the Pureen tooth paste.

Baby Hand Print
===============
Does anyone has contact to recommend for the above?

Tks babe for sharing. $1.50 gd buy.

Pups, u want I can help u to buy and pass it to u. No prob one. Anything sms me.

Jenny, no leh, promo item cant use membership discount. I also chin chye buy one. Sometimes they use kodomo and pigeon. I am not too worried cos they will spit most of it out.

hi delphine,

same prob as u too, tricia teeth also got a few that's yellow. i realise tricia will eat the toothpaste before i can start brushing, so in a way, may not be effective brushing...

hi jlyn,

KP member is 10%disc. I got the card.
actually, i find that cetaphill not that gd, no foam (i know that the whole idea) but i'm not used to bathing w/o foam. and also not very effective in preventing eczema. now using DermaVeen, v nice smell!

hi jenny/dor,

i got the $10 from drugstore. u need to use it? but hor, i did not check when expired...

talking of brushing teeth, tricia does not really like to brush her teeth in the morning after she wake up, so we give up and only brush during bathing time. and she does not really like us to brush, refuse to open her mouth big big for us to do so.

Gemini,
same lor, Alvis prefer to eat the toothpaste & bite the toothbrush when we ask him to brush teeth. and he refuse to open his mouth too.

Jenny,
hahaha...me too. start brush teeth only when go to school. at the end, i always kena called by nurse who came to our school to their clinic opposite our school.

Coral
Same same......hahaha
D also will keep making the sound "Eeeeeeeeee" when he brushing or when we brush. But when I ask him if he wants to "Eeeee" he will say with his kelian face "I don't want"....hahaha

Oh yes now that u mention I also see black mould on my 1st teeth before. Very uncomfortable hor see those.

pups
I got my OralB 1 from drugstore.....hehe
Very cheap abt $10 sg only refill also cheap. Better then buying normal toothbrush....haha
Watsons selling that for abt $20 the last time I check.

Delphine
Yah lor dunno why hor. I also keep telling my hubby everyday brush teeth still yellow n they only 2 yrs old leh. I dun remember brushing my teeth at all even.....hahaha
Even tot of bringing D to dentist cos so yellow scared the teeth spoil early. Then heng I try use my electric toothbrush. That 1 life saver man....hehe

Drugstore
Anyone wants to tag my drugstore let me know K. Cos my leapfrog shipped liao I will order by tml night.

Babe U still want the toothpaste??

coral,
ya I started brushing v late.
baby hand print => you refer to those prints for charlotte to play?

jlyn,
ha you reminded me, this stupid kiddy palace member card machaim 95% of the stuff no longer entitle for discount. I remembered I used to pay to be member for a year, but ended used less than 5 times.

jasmine,
though I started late but my teeth are ok hee hee, except for 1 tooth, my mum asked me to remove when I was in P2, I refused cos scared pain. That tooth "blocked" the space for another new tooth, ended causing a "protruding" tooth, lucky in the bottom one, so not so bad.
Anyway talk so much, I very scared dentist since young!
My last visit to dentist was like Year 2003/04, that time went to extract 2 wisdom teeth at one go haha... then preggie, so took it as an excuse until now... err... same as paps smear test kekeke...

Gemini, Jasmine,
K also the same. He is more interested in eating the toothpaste than brushing his teeth. Dunno how many tubes of first teeth he has eaten up already!! Jiat lat.

Jlyn,
Thanks for offering your help. Will let you know if I need you to help me get anything

Was feeding baby K as I was reading through these posts here. She finally fell asleep, I better chiong and bath before she wakes up! Nowadays I bath with the baby monitor in the bathroom so that I know when she starts crying :p

Jlyn,
Went kiddy palace and got the pureen toothpaste. Wanted to get strawberry flavour but hb said get the mint. Was a bit concerned if Jas can take the mint. Hb said sooner or later Jas has to get use to it cos those children toothpaste with fluoride will have the mint taste (or rather a bit of 辣 taste) even though they do come in flavours. The one that Jolene is using now, is the kid cologate with strawberry taste, but according to Jolene, she said is 辣.
I tried it just now, got a bit of 辣. What flavour are your boys using?

Anyway Mummies, Pureen Toothpaste:
- Comes in 2 sizes (40g and 70g (I think))
- $1.50 and $2+ (forgot is $2.35 or $2.50)
- 3 flavours : Strawberry, Orange, Mint