(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Delphine,
BTW, just to inform you the land tour is not included in the cruise package. There's a few itineraries to choose from and you pay according to the one you choose. Though the cruise goes to phuket, you can opt out for land tour and stay onboard to enjoy the cruise faciliates.
No lah, not going to sign up cos the fare increases each year and not by small % leh.

Jasmine,
No go overseas suaku meh? I think many of our parents also din go overseas bah. My aunts only went Msia so far. Bo pian mah, their finance dun allow them to travel. Some ppl just more fortunate than others. To me, overseas trip is just an additional luxury, can go then go.

cyrstallized,
haha... I wonder you more fierce or I more fierce to our kids kekeke...
Actually I used to be very bad tempered. Somehow after having Jolene, my temper improved, then came Jaslyn, improved even more haha... Now I know why they said married woman with kids, temper will be better, perhaps our kids train us.

babygrace,
I agreed lor. Just yesterday, my hb told me we should let the gals move to their own room to sleep. I was like huh, can meh? really or not? I feel my hb now more hard hearted than me leh, last time is the other round. But I dun mind moving them over kekeke....

Vivian,
Re: Jaslyn with daddy play, I think the gym class 1hr each week really plays the trick. Even my hb said so. Jaslyn will now goes to hb to play, wants him to do the stunts in gym class. Then Jolene will follow. Then see the 2 gals play with Daddy like mad, I can have some own time to clear the housework. I've to admit, my hb really puts in a lot of effort to interact with the gals now. Haha perhaps you can ask my hb to show you how he plays with the gals this Sat, then see if you jaw drop or not before you consider asking yr hb to learn from him. They play very rough one kekeke...
Re: My dad. He's a stubborn and selfish man, maybe like what Starz mentioned, traditional man. I respect him as my father, but few mths back, he over step and my limits were up. I just told him nicely and he started the quarrel with me. Since then, I have not been talking to him. As long as he dun find fault with me, we shall maintain the current situation. I feel so sad for him, he did the same thing to his own family member. He and my elder bro fell out 10years+ ago... I think my dad like yrs. I dun have a happy childhood with him...

Sorry no tiem to read posting but received a news that I feel I need to share. Maybe you gals already know but I'll still share.

YOPLAIT YOGHURT FOR BABIES HAS BEEN RECALLED DUE TO TRACES OF METAL.(BANANA AND VANILLA FLAVOUR). I just received this new from another mother, so thought I better share here too. Not sure how true but better safe than sorry. I have no time to verify the news, so please dont blame me if it's a hoax. Just a reminder for all. Cheers!

Oh yea! Forgot to announce today is Kimmy's actual birthday!!!

I'm gonna get a small cake for her to let her eat by herself after work! hehehe..

Here's some pics took last sunday to share.

1027477.jpg

1027478.jpg

1027479.jpg

Here's Char's bday cake from PG. Very similar to my drawing to them. But they need to watch delivery time and becareful during delivery process.
1027485.jpg

1027486.jpg

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KIMMY!

Coral,
I was about to ask whether can view Char's party pix leh... coz I din take any pic that day... hee...
The studio shots so nice!! And also must mention that Char's cake is one of the sweetest I have ever seen... good job, char's mummie!!

Happy Birthday Kimmy!!

Vivien, I didn;t take any pic that day too.The pic is couresy of Jen. I'm still waiting for any Mummy who took pic to email to me :p I'm damn lousy lor never take pic. But good thing we got a 2nd cake, we celebrated again the next day and manage to take some pics.

Shirley, yap, foto-u.

pups
Goodness! U wake up at 5.45am?! then wat time do u sleep? i think u r more super than me. i used to wake up at 6am to pump, then now its 6.30... once i stop bfg, i can sleep till 7am.

Jasmine & Shirley,
yah, i am looking fwd to R surprising me.

Jenny
coz u nvr see me fierce to R b4 so u doubt my ability to b fierce issit?

i think we both got fight lah. each has her own fierce-ness!

my temper was better when R was younger. as he grow older n naughtier, my bad temper went back to normal. at times, i juz cant b patient. but i try lah. i am still trying to attain the cool level of calmness n patience displayed by my mum.

Coral
wat software u used to draw Char's cake n sent to PG? ur illustration is v clear n her cake is done almost exactly like wat u wanted.

The studio pix r v nice too

jRt, I used powerpoint, so are using the cylinder some I use the free hand lines available to draw. Thanks for your compliments. Hehe, all pics with bbs in them look nice.

Never log on for too long, can't join in with the conversation liao cos dunno what you huys are discussing.

Coral
OIC, ppt ah... i din think of it in the 1st plc... thks 4 enlightening.

<font color="0000ff">Cooking Woks</font>
Sorry mummies, side track a bit ah, r Tefal cooking woks gd? i need to get new ones as my ILs are moving out soon, so i wanna revamp my kitchen wif new stuff. i went metro n saw Tefal flat woks. they claimed its non-stick lah. anyone got any comments?

And also, i saw my mum/MIL freezing meat/fish v often. but i am not sure if their practice is correct. usually aft they buy them fresh fr the mkt, they usually either freeze them aft washing or cutting into smaller portions. Correct? i juz noe things cannot b frozen again aft thawing. but my mum says everyone freezes meat/fish this way leh.

jRt,

I also freezes meat/fish this way, wash & cut into smaller portion and pack separately so that I'll thaw only the amount I need.

Agnez
So u do the same way as my mum? Aft buyg fresh fr the mkt, come home, wash & pack into smaller portions then freeze? how long do u store them in the freezer then?

so far i prefer to go down to the wet mkt on, buy fresh fish n finish it on the day itself. same thing repeats on sunday. thus i dun need to freeze usually.

Adeline,
Happy Birthday to Kimberly!!

Coral,
Nice studio pics!
BTW, I feedback to PG on yr cake delivery issue. Told them to watch out. And yrs is not the first case. I read in another thread, there's a same case as yrs! Glad PG delivered the exact design you want. Yrs is very clear liao, if still dun get it right, I dunno wat to say le. PG sent me a delivery of cupcakes to apology last week?? Anyway changed delivery time/date few time. I think their delivery cannot make it lah. If you wanna order from them next time, opt for self collection. Self collect still gotta wait. I waited mine for 25mins. Esther told me she waited hers for 45mins. My heart is weak lah, dun want another heart attack. So if I ever order again, I will collect in morning.
Guess you were too stress up tat day, tats why forgot abt the pic taking. Is ok, enjoy the day. So you got to eat the 2nd cake the next day =P Was thinking wah liew another 3kg cake how ah? This mth is really a mth of eating cakes hahaha...

crystallized,
why? wanna fight ah? hahahaa this kind of fight no need lah, I let you lah kekeke....
Wah, gong xi gong xi, so when you have your own home back huh?
Tefal good, non stick, easy to use provided you dun spoil the first protection layer on it. But I can't remember Tefal one can use those metal xxx (siao liao suddenly forgot the name for that thing we use to fry) hahaha... If you want metal xxx, can recommend you another brand, but I forgot the brand name right now. I bought at the household store at Sun Plaza 2nd level, very big that one, wat Seagulls ah the shop name?
Yes, yr mum/MIL way of freezing is correct. But only from those you buy from wet market. Those from markets, I wash before cutting into smaller portion, pack into a few packet before I freeze them. And I use newpapers to wrap a few layers before I used another few plastic bags to wrap before I put into freezer. This is to prevent blood water to leak out and most impt the smell. I have a tupperware or plastic container to keep the meats/fish. In the way, if got blood water leak out, at least it dun leak all over the whole fridge then you need to wash.
NTUC/Cold Storage all those cannot cos those already thaw, and must be used within 3 days. Anyway 2nd day already got smell, not fresh le.

jRt & Jenny,

I usually buy from NTUC. I only cooks for my gal during weekend, so buy on Fri night for Sat & Sun.

Dun know that those fm NTUC cannot freeze this way

jenny
hahahahaha

i dunno when exactly they will move out, but its in the preps liao. they packing their things alrdy. my new fridge & washing machine arriving tdy! i cant wait 2 use my new fridge. no smelly bloody smell in the freezer! YAY! coz now all my FTGs smelly like hell

ok i ask u more abt those woks when i see u tmrw.

yah this time i am gg to make sure frozen stuff r kept properly so my fridge dun stink. i din hv a chance perviously coz my MIL is the "chef" n i dun wanna interfere in the way she stores her things, though i dun agree n dun like it. coz i noe i cannot chg things. tts y all my FTGs smelly smelly.
think most likely i no need to freeze liao, since i can walk down to the wet mkt during wkends to buy fresh meat/fish. better than freezing rite?

Happy birthday Kim!!!!

Well, CY finito the lat of his yoplait last week too. coz he also suddenly deve loose stools and i thought it was caused by the yogurt, so stopped feeding him...well the loose stools actually caused by teething...

so all for the better lah..phew....

jRt,

U're so lucky, mine the nearest wet market is 2 LRT station away

Seldom buy fm wet market cos' dun know how to bargain price

Swimming
=========

Hi just to check with mummies who have brought their babies for swimming, is it a must for babies to wear those swimwear that look like a wetsuit instead of those cute normal swimwear in order to prevent babies from catching cold?

I bought a cute 2 piece swimwear for my gal, but hubby insist that she can't wear them & want to get her a Thermal swimwear!

Agnez
I also dunno how to bargain but then hor once u buy from the wet market u won't want to buy from NTUC liao cos its really very cheap somemore its fresh leh.....hehehe
My wet market is jus across the road I also lazy to go keep kanna nag from my mum so I started going when Damien started on porridge.
But I only go at 12+pm wahahahha when nearly all the stalls close liao.......kekekkeke

Agnez,
Those meat and fish from supermarket cannot re-freeze hor, they already thaw it. If I buy from NTUC, I usually buy on the day and cook it, if not cook next day. I dun like to cook on the other day, I can smell those smell leh...
I think it depends how comfortable you are with the kind of swimwear your bb wear lah. I let my gal wears normal type, no thermal swimwear since 6 mths old. When out from water, just quickly spread the towel over will do. I dun bath my kids there. I wipe them then go home bath.

crystallized,
I understand yr situation. If I were to stay with my MIL, I tell you 200% I won't pump EBM to store in fridge hahaha... Open her fridge, xia si wo... can see blood water inside the freezer frozen le, and got smell!
So you are throwing away the old fridge? Or your IL moving it over kekeke...
For storing frozen food, the best and clean way is to wrap in several layers of newpaper/kitchen toilet and plastic bag before freezing lor, then place nice nice in container. Save a lot of time no need to wash freezer haha... so far I only wipe my freezer nia.

Coral
Regarding the Yoplaits Baby Yogurt recall its correct. Thanx to Jerene for smsing me.
My blur hubby heard it on the radio news last night n came home to tell me dunno Vitagen or Yakult got banana flavour 1 got recall. But these 2 products dun have banana flavour ma.

SO when I saw Jerene's sms today Hubby kanna from me liao lor. His own son got take the yogurt before he also dunno aah. Jialat man.

Jenny
I agree those gym classes really very good for bonding. Cos D go for gym class his daddy will be the 1 playing with him lor. N last week daddy say he tired ask me to take over. End up he dun wanna join the activities. Keep turning to look at daddy n go to him.

Crystallised
I using tefal woks n pans still working well 4 yrs liao. But hor like jenny say cannot use those metal utensil on it else the coating will be scraped away.
Cos my dad used to those metal ones liao n u see his woks n pans every few mths he keep changing say no good. I buy those none metal ones for him to use for frying but he also seldom use so his poor woks lor hahahaha

Yah u say cannot freeze those already defroze is correct but wet market is all fresh 1 ma. NTUC I think they will have a sticker there to tell u cannot refreeze the items 1 if its frozen before.

Teddyhope & Jenny,

I need to be more "Qing lao" and go wet market to buy meat and fish liao.

I dun like those swimwear that looks like wetsuit, so boring
but scare wait she really kena cold

Jenny
hahahaha....my mum also say cheaper at that time I go. But I always dun manage to grab the organic 'red spinich' cos always finis early morn. So my mum keep nagging me to wake earlier instead of having to go isetan to buy the non organic 1 somemore more expensive.......hahahaha

Doreen,
you know wat I saying hor, I suddenly cannot remember wat that thingy call leh hahahaa..
Anyway to make it sound easy, I DUNNO how to use those non metal "stick" to fry... Dun ask me why, maybe I used to metal "stick". So when I bought woks/frying pans, I will make sure those can used with metal "stick" one.
I remember tefal one cannot use tat metal "stick".

Jenny,
ya i know it's not inclusive in the package and it's not cheap also.
thought of going out for some tours since we dun really gamble a lot on ship.

Coral,
C so sweet... love the pictures taken at studio. where do you took them?

Jenny, they also sent me cupcakes but I wasn't at home and told them I forgive and forget and no need to send me anything else. Infact, we didn't manage to finish all the cake got a little left.

Des, it's from foto-u. I'm still waiting for my album.

Jenny
Now hor I also dunno wat its called hahahhaha
U same as my dad lah like to use the metal 1 but very heavy leh. U eh sai aah.....kekeke
But I love the 1 I bought from WMF. But its not metal lah hehehe. Its black kind but dun think its nylon cos it can withstand heat VERY well I leave it in the frying pan also no problem cos my friend keep complaing to me say hers keep melting so I intro to her she also say good....hahaha

Delphine
U know hor for my HK trip I also brought 1.5L of sg water for D use. N I brought a lot of other rubbish as well......hehehhee
Until my luggage full go there also full come back hahahahha

Agnez
I dunno wat its called leh.

Okie picked my brain n I so boliao go WMF webby to look for the name of the 'thing' hahahha
N surprise surprise its called fish slice......hahahha

Now it's a daily affair that i'll crash out while putting J to sleep and only wake up after midnight. So drained out everyday.

FREEZING
Those frozen thawed meat in the supermarket will have a sticker to indicate that the meat cannot re-freeze. Those without i guess should be ok. Anyway i always buy my pork from Cold Storage where they have a butcher with huge slabs of different parts of pork which i feel is the same as those in the wet market. i dun buy too much at one go but will still freeze those that i cant finish within the day. Freezing preserves its nutrients and does not allow bacteria to breed. But my mum told me not to wash the meat b4 freezing.

Same for fish. I will buy the entire kg of threadfin, get the fishmonger to fillet them into slices for me to freeze.

WOK
Tefal non-stick woks are good but there have been some study to say that the non-stick material, teflon, could be harmful to health.

Teddyhope,
Really surprise me that its called fish slice.

Babygrace,
Me too "knock-out" when patting my gal to sleep and wake up around mid-night to finish up the undone household chores
luckily sometime hubby will help out then I can go back to sleep

hmm...cannot wash the meat before freezing? I usually wash them before cutting into smaller portion... know why can't wash before freezing?
NTUC will have sticker on those leftover frozen meat to indicate these must be consumed within the day of purchase. I dun buy those, I'll get those packed on the day I buy to last over the weekend...lazy to go back each day to buy...
but guess it's better to buy fm wet market so that it can last longer.

Doreen,
The metal 1 I used not very heavy.
Tell you hor, I use the non metal one tat in black one, I dunno how to turn and fry leh, too light?? Or??? I dunno what's wrong leh?
Oh yes, I ever bought one non metal one in black, fried fried, then I leave to take something, the black portion part was in the oil, and later I came back, melted... since that I dun dare to use le.
That thing is called fish slice?? Weird haha

babygrace,
I heard abt Tefal non stick study before.
Not all Cold Storage have the butcher one, those smaller outlet only prepack the meat.

Agnez,
If you get the meat like babgrace (from the butcher), those are ok. But not those prepack one.
I also heard abt cannot wash the meat before freezing, something like will allow bacteria to breed in the freezer. But I still wash, cos usually I use up the meat q fast. I buy only what I require on Fri and make sure it is used up before Sun.

Doreen,
Did a check, it is also called spatula kekeke...
If not for crystallized, I never know what this metal thingy called hahaha...

"A spatula, known as a fish slice in British English, is a kitchen utensil with a long handle and a broad flat edge, used for lifting fish and fried foods.[1][2] Though the word spatula is used in British English, it refers solely to a mixing and spreading implement.[3] In parts of Canada and the United States, spatulas are sometimes called flippers. They are used both in the preparation of food, as a flipping implement, and in the serving of food."

Coral,
Must be waiting eagerly for your album ya...

Doreen,
1.5L water, heavy leh.. but hor think safer also lah. come back full of shopping stuffs?? haha..

crystallised,
I sleep at past 12mn almost all the time :p I do get very tired but I am done with baby and stuff only at 10pm and I can only bath, dry hair and do my own stuff thereafter. That explains why I sleep so late.

Coral,
I love your family photos
Esp the one with Char "upside down" on your hubby's legs.

Delphine
The water hor not heavy lah cos checkin once I reach the airport ma....kekekeke
But actually in HK I also buy distilled water to drink. Dun use mineral water cos u dunno wat mineral is inside n some got taste 1.

Evon
Yes spatula........hahahhahaha
When I found its called fish slice I can't believe it leh cos never heard before hahahaha

Very long since my last post..a lot of issues occurs between me and my hubby.. so sad and tired with my hubby nowadays... talk to me like a slave cum enemy esp ever since i refused to let him go to a tour in Japan... I mean, how safe would you feel if he's going with his male colleagues only and somemore some have history of prostituting? i will be more worried... better be safe than sorry right? And somemore, what the heck.. I'm pregnant and there he is going off for a holiday with his friends.. I also need holiday what.. what's the meaning of leaving the kids in singapore with me? his attitude changed immediately from the day i refused... this is the kind of hubby i am getting after agreeing to help him bear children... Okie.. that's it.. once he push me to the limit.. I'll make sure the Legal letters are ready.. i really dun care about anything anymore... What do he think he is? Just because i am SAHM, doesn't mean i have to stay at home always right? I could have left the kids with him and let him handle all the stuffs himself... I am so sick and tired of a life like that... i am at the brink of breaking down already... sob..sob... even when i am writing this post at this hour... my tears are still running like a tap.. why is it that some ppl can have happy pregnancy and some are just like me... getting treatments from hubby from bad to worse..

haze,
*hugs*
i think you need to have a good talk with your hubby. Let him know how you feel and don't like to be taken for granted. But make sure that you find a time where both of u can talk calmly else if u end up with a shouting match, then it can only make matters worse.

As for him gg on a holiday on his own. Tell him that while you understand that he needs his own breathing space, leaving you and the kids here while he goes off to enjoy himself is too much. And not to mention it could have an impact on finances also. You are a SAHM, this money could have been put to better use be it for a family holiday or for the arrival of the baby.
Work out a compromise with him. He can go out times with his friends and likewise for you, u also need time-off from looking after the family.

He cannot behave like life will remain unchange like what it was when he was a swinging single or without kids. Having kids comes with a price and he just have to accept it.
My hubby had to give up golf and drinking sessions with his friends after bb comes along. Sacrifices have to be made. I expect him to play his part for the family. But at the same time, i give him time to pursue his own interest. It's a compromise. He goes running (he's training for the marathon) for as long as 2 to 3 hrs and i'm fine with it cos it's better than him being away for half a day for golf. And i still encourage him to meet up his friends for drinks but he is quite zi dong lah, he will go after he puts the kids to bed.

Likewise you need a break as a SAHM, let him handle the kids while u take a break for one weekend afternoon.

It's important that a couple view each others as partners in bringing up a family. Everyone has to do his/her part.

Pregnant women tend to be a bit more emotional cos of hormonal overdrive. Take care and come here to vent your frustrations instead of bottling it up.

Hi babygrace

Thanks.. I really find comfort here... i have ben feeling down for quite some time already...
I tried talking to him.. perhaps he hadn't really got over it... dun think he will anyway coz all his colleagues say he's henpeck... go back on his promise la.. this and that.. okie lo.. if this is how he's gonna treat me because of a stupid trip.. i let him go.. just that, i really dunno how to trust him anymore when he comes back from the trip.

I left the kids to him before... he left them to my MIL and my helper..from the moment i stepped out he's reading his damn newspaper until i came back, he is either sleeping if not he is still reading his damn newspaper..that's what my MIL tells me la.. he dunno the hard work of staying home to bring up the children.. He just think because he brings back the bread and butter, he has all the say..

Seriously... only you mummies understand me... gone through the same thing for some.. i think this is the worst thing ever happen to me eversince a scolding on my brithday for nothing... haiz... what bad luck right? perhaps this is not the year for me...

I should yes that i am a little emotional for my pregnancy.. but this is too much for me to take already.. kidss upbringing issues... MIL's nagging issues.. Hubby's dominating and slave-treating issues.... my own family's prob..... his family ppl's sarcastic remarks as always.. all crushing on me.. sometimes i just feel like leaving home and stay out for a couple of weeks... without the kids.. esp without him.

hi haze,

aiyo, quite a major problem u facing down, esp in your preggie state.i cant offer much advise, but my main advise is that before you make any major decisions, now u have to think of the kids and esp with a 3rd kid on the way...
or perhaps is there anyone that both of u can talk to and talk out the problems??

haze..
many hugs....

sorry you are feeling this way.

you may want to leave the kids w your family or ILs for one day, go out take a breather. not sure what your hb is like, and not sure if 'talking' would help at all...but you need to be strong for the children. that's the stuff women are made of, when the world falls apart, they still have us women to rely on..

haze,
sigh.... friends are sometimes such bad influence plus men have a strong ego.

Whatever you do, don't be rash and spare a thought for the kids. But it'll do you good if you can just go take a breather.

Moving forward, would u joining the workforce after bb is out help? That could let u have some interaction with others instead of being cooped up at home and at the same time let u be on par with your hubby and not just have him bring the bacon home on his own.

Gemini, l'l CY, babygrace

Thanks for your concern here.. ya.. three kids to think of when Jan comes... i dunno whether i will still be strong for them to rely on... i am breaking apart myself with no support... Everything is on myself eversince i got married..when i actually had lots of thoughts that i have finally found someone which i can rely on completely.. and all i have got still is myself.. myself and myself... having kids adds on.. a bit of joy.. but rest all agony... haiz.. i have to at as if nothing had happen infront of my MIL and talk and laugh.. and go out with his family.. though i know some are saying about me on i am 'blessed' to be a SAHM... which i know it's somehow or rather sarcastic when they say it coz after that they will say i no need work also got money to spend la.. can go shopping and buy loads of things home... i also dunno which of them saw it with their own eyes i live like a 'Tai tai'..and the spreading of the 'truth' starts... i also dunno where it started..plus i have my probs with my own family.. sometimes i really wish i dun exist in this world...

Babygrace

I will be moving on to join the workforce... definitely.. and leave everything to my helper.. hopefully she can manage which she said she can..haha... and YES i want to be one of the person in the house bringing the bacon home...he made me left my job.. and now he's restricting my movements.. i definitely can't let this go on... i dun want my life to be like a piece of blank paper...

Haze
sigh.....Understand how u feel partially cos I'm also a SAHM. Hope ur hubby will wake up his ideas soon. Dun bother about how other ppl think of you lah wat matters most is how your kids think of you. N u are the best to them no matter wat so jus remember that. N be happy for the little 1 in your tummy okie.

Haze,

Oh dear.. find a time to sit down and talk calmly with him, please dont do anything yet, think of your 3 darlings. you know his temper and he will be alright after a while.
I will be on leave next week for cruise but will be back on wed. give me a ring and we go out for kopi & take a breather. do remember you still have me ok!!