(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

doggiemummy,
your boys xiang qing xiang ai ya...

crystallized,
the multiply site is ez to set up. i oso lazy n no knowledge at all to make it interesting. saw 1 really nice one but too bad me not very gd at doing that...

coral, wendy,
me might end up donating or just waste it since donating carries so much documentation etc... wan to donate oso so troublesome...

aspialle,
i can understand cos i witness my sis gone thru that. think 2 or 4 hours after every meal must test your blood sugar right?

Selina, thanks for the confirmation.

Does anyone else know what food to avoid to prevent a decrease in milk supply?

Is it true that if one go for c-section cannot take chicken? I only know cannot take dark soya sauce and seafood.

Sorry for asking because I think most probably I will do my own confinement with the help of my maid since its quite late to get Confinement Lady through recommendation.

Pls advise.

Jackiejon, ya, my Mum and MIL make me avoid chicken, seafood, eggs, liver due to the wound.And for pork, they only buy the rou4 tou2 (if I remember correctly), the less toxic part. Prob can ask the butcher which part better for people with wound. So for the first ten days i only eat fish, vege and pork. Think this time i may ask for only fish and vege for the first week or so.

Hi selina,

thks for the foto. I hope that if really bump into you & vivian, can recognise both of u!

Hi wendy,

dun stress urself too much. has the a/c executive come in already?

Hi doggiemummy,

can imagine the movement that you are feeling every moment....

Hi aspialle,

dun worry too much. at least now u have a better idea of your do/don't food to eat.

Storing of stem cells
=====================
I will be sigining up with StemCord. Cos I may be a thalassemia beta minor, to be on the safe side..

thanks coral and gemini

ya selina
ur rite, every 2 hrs to test blood and have some food. the kkh food taste not bad lah, looks healthy, was having all the tea breaks and main meals there yesterday
ur bb is so chubby heehee..

btw i also have a lot of red dots around my tummy and stretch marks that are v v itchy too

I been having pain on my ribs either on one side or both side if I were to seat very long at my desk area at work.The pain is really very unbearable.....Anyone of you having such pain if you gals were to seat too long?Me reaching my 30 weeks of pregnancy this friday.Been having lower abdomen pain as well if seat too long or lie down too long.I will only be seeing my gynae next week....**sob ** sob** still have to wait for a few more days before seeing him.Anyone of you having similar problem?

jackiejon,
u might wanna go mph to find books on confinement. i bought 1 from mph (chinese & english) and 1 from popular (chinese - taiwanese version). they will tell u what u can eat to increase milk supply, what to eat for those under c-section. have recipes too so can follow. the dishes all looks very good, interesting n nutritious. i will go home check the book title and let u know again.

smileybaby,
i didnt experience that but think mayb your bb growing so pressing on your rib cage ba... try to change position, like stand up and walk around... or seat up straight for a while to relief the pain. as for the lower abs pain, prob call your gynae and check wif him ba... may be due to bb's positioning too.

gadis, I feel lots of pain on my right side. Not exactly the ribs but more towards the back so now can't sleep on my left. The pain has been here for 3 days. And some days so painful i hv to stop walking for a while. Last nite altogether had two contraction on lower tummy. I've been asking around and many expereince Mums told me it's common to hv ache all over. And my massuse told me my lower back already loosen thus I guess that's why the ache for me.

Hi Selina,

Thanks for your quick reply.I'm seeing gynae at SGH,I have called them to have my appointment early but they immediately turn me off by saying im still too early to go into labour or anything so I cannot change my appointment to earlier date as all appointments are fully booked...The customer service is really bad but I have no choice but just have to endure since only left with 2 more months.My gynae is good & patient is just that getting the appointments and seeing him is really very difficult.**sob**sob

Doggiemummy,
So funny! Octopus in ur tummy! hehehe
muz b v exciting. Abt 1 more mth more to seeing ur boys!

Jackiejon,
i noted the list of things to avoid while BFG sometime ago. Need to go and find it. Will post it here later.

gadis
we all suffer fr discomfort one way or the other. i oso get pain here and there aft sitting for too long. i oso get lower abdomen cramps too. haiz... nvm tahan for a few more wks...

Hi Coral,

me too at times I will feel extremely pain on my right rib,I have checked with my gynae during my last checkup he informed that if it is very painful take 1 panadol to ease the pain,I dun want to take panadols at this stage,so I think I will have to endure with all this pain....Still have 2 more months before we give birth.Guess~~ have to endure it....

Hi Crystallized,
You are right guess have to endure till we give birth...now I can really feel the discomfort....

I have gain around 10kg and my current weight is really heavy for me .....I just cannot wait to reduce.

Smileybaby, didn't your gynae give you his pager no.? I went to SGH to see a gynae once, he was very nice on my first visit he gave me his pager and said that I'm now his patient I can page him any time if i have query. So I was rather impressed...

Jackiejon, will keep you ladies posted. Can't wait to see my gal tis Sat. She's getting more responsive nowadays, feel as if she's already here with us. When we chat with her at night my tummy just go up and down or in waves.

hi Ladies, some things to avoid during BFG:

Onion, garlic, cabbage, chives, spring onion, broccoli, cauliflower. Most of this cause gas and might bring discomfort to ur baby.

Also heard tt cold water will make our breast milk decrease. Not sure how true. Perhaps bbgrace can advise.

gadis
tell me abt it man... my tummy is getting rounder and heavier too. feel so clumsy and movements really retarded at times, esp aft meals when tummy is more rounded.

i oso think my lower body cant support my overwhelming tummy!

mind your body
===============
ladies, there's interesting articles in today's mind your body on pregnancy n G6PD condition to read on. go check it out ba...

My paper
========
there's also an interesting story on organic bbs in the chinese 'wo bao' or mypaper today.

Hi Selina

Okay thanks, you let me know when you have check the name of the book you bought from MPH.

I also bought a book from Popular book store also on confinement food but have not take a look at it yet.

Hi Crystallized

Thanks for your posting on what to avoid when BF.

I managed to find the article which Selina told us about in today's Mind Your Body as follows to share with all of you:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Breast-feeding's calming effects seem to be long-lasting.
Years after being weaned, breast-fed children cope better with stressful situations like their parents' divorce than their bottle-fed peers, researchers said recently.

'In children who are breast-fed, there is less of an association between parental divorce and separation and childhood anxiety,' Dr Scott Montgomery, an epidemiologist at the Karolinska Institute in Sweden, said in an interview.

Breast milk is full of nutrients, hormones, enzymes, growth factors and antibodies that are passed from mother to child. Research has shown that breast-feeding reduces infections, respiratory illness and diarrhoea in the child and cuts the risk of after-birth bleeding in the mother.

In an observation study published in the journal, Archives Of Disease In Childhood, Dr Montgomery and his team studied how breast- and bottle-fed 10-year-olds coped with the stress of their parents' marital problems.

The children were among 9,000 youngsters who had been monitored from birth for a major British study. Their teachers were asked to rate their anxiety level on a scale of 0 to 50.

There was a higher level of stress in all the children but the breast-fed youngsters coped better.

'The anxiety was much less obvious in children who were breast-fed,' Dr Montgomery said.

The researchers do not know why breast-fed babies were less anxious. They suggested breast-feeding could be an indicator of other parental factors or the physical contact between the mother and the child may have helped to reduce anxiety.

Breast-feeding could also influence the development of pathways in the body linked with its response to stress.

'The more we look at breast-feeding, the more benefits we see. As this is something that is, in evolutionary terms, normal it is likely to be important in normal human development,' Dr Montgomery said.

There is another article found in Today's Mind Your Body to share with all of you:

Q: Can I rebond or dye my hair during pregnancy?

A: The concern about exposure to hair dye and hair straightening agents is that there may be absorption of chemicals into the bloodstream at the time of use. However, most chemicals are cleared from the bloodstream fairly quickly. Unfortunately, there have been only very few studies on the use of such products during pregnancy to quantify the risk of hair dye to a developing baby.

While no one can provide data about timing and safety, avoid dyeing or rebonding the hair once you have conceived.

Q: Can I perm my hair during pregnancy?

A: Perming hair during the second and third trimesters of pregnancy is a safe procedure and can make caring for hair less time-consuming. There are no studies that indicate perming hair during pregnancy is detrimental to the developing baby.

Q: Can I travel by air during pregnancy?

A: Flying is not contraindicated in an uncomplicated pregnancy.

Domestic travel is usually permitted until 36 weeks, whereas international travel may be curtailed after 32 weeks of pregnancy. This is due to the risk of preterm labour.

You should travel mostly in the second trimester when you are more comfortable and the risk of miscarriage and preterm labour is lower.

It is important to take precautions against deep vein thrombosis (blood clots in the legs) such as getting a seat with more leg room, walking in the aisles or taking toilet breaks, leg massages or wearing thrombosis-deterrent stockings. Avoid dehydration in the plane by taking Cannot distribute vertically enough fluids orally and avoiding alcohol.

Avoid travel to countries that would require immunisation in pregnancy.

Q: Can I go for massage and aromatherapy in pregnancy?

A: Massage is a wonderful way to unwind tired muscles and pamper yourself.

The massage table should have a cut-out for your belly. Otherwise, you can position yourself with pillows so you are slightly on your side, or use a massage chair. However, massage of the tummy or breasts can cause contractions of the womb. If you notice strong contractions, stop that part of the massage.

You may find that you are more sensitive to smells than usual. Aromatherapy is fine as long as it is pleasant for you. However, essential oils are absorbed through your skin into the bloodstream. Until more is known, avoid extensive skin contact with essential oils, especially in the first trimester while the baby's organs are developing.

Q: Can I use the sauna and steam room during pregnancy?

A: High fever in early pregnancy is bad for the developing baby as it increases the chances of a miscarriage and birth defects like spinal cord and brain malformation. Thus, all treatments that raise your body temperature should be off limits during pregnancy. This includes the sauna, steam room and hot tub. Warm baths are fine as long as they are not super hot, since the water cools off fairly quickly.

Q: Can I wear tight clothing?

A: As long as you are comfortable in the clothing and provided the clothing is not too restrictive or tight, it will not impede the development of your baby. Exposing your belly has no known adverse effects on the baby.

Q: Is it safe to have sexual relations?

A: Sex is safe during pregnancy. Try to adopt a position which you are comfortable with, such as lying side-by-side. However, sexual intercourse is best avoided if there are signs of a threatened abortion (vaginal bleeding in early pregnancy) or if there is presence of a low-lying placenta or premature contractions.

Q: Can I begin a weight-loss regime during pregnancy, and would being underweight cause problems?

A: Women who are severely underweight during pregnancy and who are not eating enough are more likely to have a baby who is small and with low birth-weight. This can have serious long-term effects on the baby's health. Most pregnant women should expect a weight gain of 10-12kg throughout the pregnancy.

Take a balanced diet during pregnancy with calories, carbohydrates, proteins and fibre. Dieting is a no-no during pregnancy. Your baby needs you to eat. Your baby depends on you for its nourishment. Remember that if you eat well, your baby eats well and if you starve, your baby starves.

Q: Should I exercise during pregnancy? If yes, how much exercise is appropriate?

A: Unless there are medical reasons to avoid it, pregnant women should exercise moderately for 20 minutes thrice a week. Exercise helps you to feel better and the calories burned help to prevent too much weight gain during pregnancy. Consider brisk walking, dancing and swimming. Aerobics or yoga sessions designed specifically for pregnant women can also be explored.

However, the exercises should be conducted at a sub-threshold level, stopping before you get exhausted. Avoid activities that are at high risk for injury and contact sports such as horseback riding, downhill skating, hockey, kickboxing, soccer or scuba diving.

Q: With symptoms of pregnancy like shortness of breath and constant urination, are there any ways to get a good night's sleep?

A: Pregnancy is demanding both physically and emotionally. The increasing size of belly makes it hard to find a comfortable sleeping position. If you have always been a back or stomach sleeper, it may be difficult to get used to sleeping on your side as recommended by your doctor. Also, as the growing womb presses on your bladder, you experience more trips to the bathroom, day and night.

Try to get into the habit of sleeping on your side early in your pregnancy. Lying on your side with your knees bent is likely to be the most comfortable position as your pregnancy progresses. It also makes your heart's job easier because it prevents the baby's weight from applying pressure to the large vein called the inferior vena cava. Alternatively, use a pillow to keep yourself propped up on one side.

Some doctors specifically recommend that pregnant women sleep on the left side. This is because your liver is on the right side and lying on your left side helps keep the womb off that large organ. Ask what your doctor recommends, but in most cases, lying on either side should do the trick.

Cut out caffeinated drinks like cola, coffee and tea from your diet as much as possible, especially at night. Avoid drinking a lot of fluids or eating a full meal a few hours before going to bed at night - with less trips to the bathroom through the night, you might get better sleep.

Q: Can I smoke in pregnancy?

A: Smoking is associated with adverse effects on both you and your developing baby. It can cause an increased risk of miscarriage, bleeding in the placenta, premature birth and a low birth-weight baby. There is also a long-term relationship with decreased intellectual development of the infant and increased risk of the Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. So please stop smoking.

Q: Do I have to avoid certain foods during pregnancy and confinement?

A: Avoid raw, uncooked food and soft cheese to reduce the risk of food-borne infections such as listeriosis, toxoplasmosis, campylobacteria or salmonella infection. These infections can cause miscarriages, malformations in the baby or even stillbirth.

READ IT

KK Women's and Children's Hospital doctors Tan Thiam Chye, Tan Kim Teng and Tay Eng Hseon have written a book titled Practical Obstetrics And Gynaecology Handbook For The General Practioner. Although the target readers are GPs, says Dr Tan Thiam Chye, the format is such that it makes easy reading for the general public too.

The book can be bought online at http://www.worldscibooks.com/medsci/6035.html

Coral
Yes, broccoli causes gas. Me too, thot of eating tt during confinement but now i think hv to gauge how ur baby responds to it. the list is a guide, guess not every single one might affect us & our babies. But if u noticed some difference in ur bb aft BFG, then this might b it.

Wah jackiejon
thks 4 cutting and paste the info to share wif us.

BFG
====

Was thinking if we hv abdundant supply of BM that we can pump and store it after BFG our baby, do we keep it chilled or frozen then? I juz read somewhere in the forum either tdy or a few days back tt frozen BM juz tastes different fr chilled or fresh BM. The ladies said some feel got fishy or metallic taste.
in this case, then i wonder wats the purpose to freeze BM? And i heard the antibodies r also destroyed during freezing.

And if our babies suckle and respond well to BFG, why we need to store so much BM?
esp for NBs when we dun wanna confuse them wif bottles, all the more we wun introduce btls to them so early.

bbgrace, wonder if u can answer my queries?

Aiyo, my right leg water retention so bad that the upper part swell then lower part two dented holes. All my colleagues say never say this before. Think I should eat less salt and drink more water liao.

Coral
yah shld cut down on salt and drink more water. But then i heard old wives tales saying tt u swell & 'un-swell'(i.e recover) 3 times, then u r gg into labour soon liao. hehee, not sure how true lah.

Hi Aspialle,

So sorry to intrude, I read that KKH had given you a list of the brands of food in supermarket that you can eat, do you mind if you can send it to me via PM?

I'm due in early November 06 and had been diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes since week 24. I've also been pricking myself 7 times a day.

Crystallized, will unswell ah? Tot most pple once they swell they swell all the way till labour...In fact it gets worse towards later stage...

coral,
so u kana water retention too? my hair stylist's assistant also kana very bad WR. so bad that her feet swell like elephant feet. think for her is she stands alot. prob u try to cut down salt n avoid standing too long ba...

crystallized,
a lot of old wives tales ya. i also heard tt once leg swell, due soon. another tale says if carrying girl chances of leg swelling very big is higher? dunno how true all these tales are man...

Hi Coral

I also have very bad water retention on both of my legs.

What some people told me is to avoid drinking more water. But how to avoid drinking more water when I am always feeling hot and thirsty.

Both of my legs look like pig legs (directly translate from chinese) that is why throughout my pregnancy I always wear pants to cover up my legs.

Wendy,
My hb did the research last year lor, not sure if he still remembers or not. I just roughly asked him why we didn't bank that time, and he told me cos not 100% "usable". Some more the charges got to pay every year.

doreen,
Wow didn't know got to fill in so much forms for donation leh. I didn't donate my No. 1 one.

crystallized,
A good news for your snowskin mooncake. You wanna try Mrs Ong's? Quick go join BP for this tasting, 2 pcs only. Very near your place, can self collect. Let me know if the snowskin is nice or not hor, if you are ordering.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/488876.html?1155708889#POST1968107
I tot brococoli is good for confinement women? My CL cooked almost every meal.
Personal view of mine hor, I dun store frozen EBM cos the EBM really got fishy/metallic taste lor. I chilled it and if unused for 2 days (48 hrs), I will throw away. People frozen the EBM cos EBM can only be chilled for up to 48 hrs, after that got to throw. Hence, they frozen it. In fact, I also feel frozen EBM nutrients etc are destroyed. As to why need to store EBM even though bb sucks well. This gives daddy or anyone in the family a chance to build up bonding with bb via bottle feeding. Mummies can rest while others do the feeding lor. Some bbs are very sensitive, used to mummy's feeding and refuse to be fed by others. They rather go hungry.

doggiemummy,
So excited for you! Dun like the effect of GA, very uncomfortable. So is your hb accompany you thr out the c-section? 20 Sep, is like 1 mth from now!!!

jackiejon,
It is said to avoid chicken for 1st 12 days due to wound (even for natural birth), but hor, I got eat chicken during my stay in hospital leh cos I dunno cannot eat.

Hi Selina

Regarding water retention, when I had my boy both of legs about swell till very big.

Now I am carrying a gal, its still the same, no change.

Jenny, my feet also swollen. Now feet length is abt an inch longer than before so can't fit into any shoes need to wear open toes. Very jiat lat. Now I'm using a waste paper basket to elevate legs, seem to help a bit. The dented hole not so obvious, although still there.

Jackiejon, I also feel like I have two pig's trotters. So ugly, I used to be proud of my long slender legs, now looks so ugly.

Selina,
haha... normal lah... breasts very sensitive now.

coral,
Me hor, last pregnancy hor, wore till no shoes/sandals to wear leh. Even I buy those male sandals hor, I must get those w/o cover one, then can squeeze my 2 trotters in, worse got marks on my trotters...

Hi Jenny

I think I am also like you when it comes to water retention.

I basically become very bloated but once I gave birth it slowly went away.

jackiejon,
Same same lor. But heng ah, this round, me not that bloated... have been observing myself since preggie.

Selina,
Deep heat for what lah. Aiyo, my hb last time like to touch my breasts. So painful, I shouted at him dun touch.

Hi Coral

Well what to do...some people will have water retention (which will go away once you give birth) while others have ugly veins on their legs (which will most probably remains throughout their lives).

Hi Jenny

I still remember when I was carrying my son, I need to buy shoes that are size 9 (normally my shoes size is 7).

This is what I heard but dont know how true it is.

Jenny, how you prevent your water retention this time? My feet now bigger than my hb, feel so pai seh. that day he brought me to buy shoes, in the end can't find my size, and I still refuse to buy men's shoes. Vain mah. Ya, now everyday squees feet into shoes and at the end of the day will leave mark lor. And so painful now I put plasters on the blisters lor.

Selina, i also dunno why the pain. I had it very bad during first tri. that was worse. Now it's sharp pain, but at least it comes and goes unlike first tri the pain is there all the time. I don't think hot pack will help ba. During 1st tri when the pain was too much if hb knock into my breast I literally shout out in pain. Well, engorgement will be worse, so this is nothing, just preparing us for later ba. maybe the milk duct expanding???

Coral,
Not sure if everyone will 'unswell' lah. i noe jenny told me hers were like pigs' legs when she was near delivery. i guess diff pple diff rxn bah.

Selina
Dunno leh, all old wives tales. heehe, i juz selectively listen.
how come breasts hurts? sensitive or wat?

Jenny, got BP for snowskin ah? YEAH! thks! am gg to pop by the thread later then.
i oso thot broccoli is gd during confinement leh. so i guess tt list is juz a guide. might not b true for all. gotta trial & error to find out bah.

yah i noe to store extra BM so tt the others can btl feed the baby when mummy is not ard, other family members can still feed. but thing is, if frozen BM got funny smell and antibodies destroyed, abit make no sense to freeze rite? but perhaps its still better to drink frozen BM minus some nutrients than taking FM bah.