(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Alicia

How you manage to persuade BJG to take Adele in for their trial class? I called them for a trial lesson for my girl and they rejected me
they said there is a long waiting list and they cant accomodate to my request.

angeline
powerpoint? that's a great idea! you type out then print OR show using computer? Hmmmm... are babies too young to watch computer? Will it spoil their eyes? But actually sophie watched baby einstein on com when she was a newborn... oops. haha... but not too long lah...

brenda
PLASMA TUMMY????? THat's SO FUnNY! More like hum chee pang (w fat filling), not too big but still have tummy...

jasmine
wah you super mum! doing all that for jadelle...
she's very lucky.

orange
YAH!!!!!! That nursing pillow! I think i only used it for like a few weeks, after that, too lei chei... by the time i put it on, she's like wailing for milk! stress man. Thank God someone lent it to me, didn't buy one. Almost did.

Wah. U gals yak so fast, shop so fast! Sounds like many of you already had a go at the Taka Bb fair and a good haul from there! *envy* Me not enough leave. Can only go down weekend. Brenda, E-Ling, I'm also thinking of going on Sunday but not sure what time yet. I buzz you both if I going? E-Ling, later I pm u my mobile ok?

Jasmine, can I have the GD wordlist too? Pleezzzz?

<font color="ff6000">my BROWN MONKEYS</font>
1) Avent ISIS pump and avent bottles (I also use to store my EBM for Gab's feed)
2) cloth diapers
3) bola!

<font color="ff6000">my WHITE ELEPHANTS</font>
1) zoot zoot - Same fate as orange, Gabriel just hates any pacifiers
2) Ameda pump (bought and used for few times then revert back to my manual pump which is so much more efficient)
3) Hubby - now he only useful as driver to both Gab and me.... heheh... other times I'm mostly on my own

Ling, luckily leh! I almost bought a nursing pillow too but can't negotiate to the price I wanted so I gave it up! *heng heng*

<font color="0077aa">Brenda</font>,
hehehe. . no secret mission has been rather diligent these two days. .hahahahaha. . need to clear off some work as I want to go home early as well.

So how many tiles you have in your beautiful toilet??

<font color="119911">Ling</font>,
Your FIL don't carry Sophie just do photo taking? So funny. My FIL do but there was once she poo poo he immediately put her down and let her roll over plus she is wearing a cloth diaper so the poo poo is all over the . . .so angry. both my MIL and SIL. . scold him. . hahahahaha. . MEN really dont get it hor.

<font color="0000ff">Alicia</font>,
You stay in Punggol I go to Punggol every Sat coz my mum stay there. Where in Punggol???

<font color="ff0000">Taka Baby Fair</font>
I am going this weekend with my CFO and CEO. . .if you are wondering who is my CEO, please see below the organization chart of my house :-

CEO = Sherilyn : Main duty is to keep Housekeeper busy with all her needs and wants.
CFO = Hubby : Work with CEO to mange housekeeper, objective keeps cost down.
Housekeeper = Sha : who report directly to CFO and personal assistance to CEO.
Maid = Report directly to Sha, follow all instructions given by Sha.

I think I am going crazy, recently having been dealing with lots of P&C, legal stuff. . .so tedious so need to let go some air. . . hehehehe . . .pardon me of my jokes okie.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">SHA</font></font>
Cannot stand you. I'm sufferring internal injury already!!!!! muahahahaha....

Jasmine, can I have the GD wordlist also? Thanks so much. And where you get the blank Flash Card, how it look like and how to do it?
Wow... u really got a high determination. Peifu you and yet you can look so fresh, you dun look tire to me.

Brenda and dumpty... ok buzz me if you all are going k.

Brenda, i search that row that you pointed, dun have leh.

<font color="119911">ling</font>, i bot the nursing pillow leh coz tt time kai did not put on wt since discharged frm hosp, so PD sent me to LC to chk on my bfg method. ther i used their nursing pillow n find it comfortable so i bot.

after 1 mth, i think it cannot withstand the bb wt well so it tends to slide forward, quite uncomfortable. then my SIL gave birth, i passed to her but she stopped bfg within wks only.

so now it's a her hm, she wanted to pass back to me, i told her nx time. alamak.

Ling,
I will probably show using computer. Print out will have to find place to keep the papers afterwards. Too troublesome.

I think just a few seconds a few times a day shouldn't harm them right?

Brenda,

Haha! I forgot thast there is a 9 year gap between them!!!

Look at it this way - you are her best "toy" lah. You are there to watch her grow, babble with her, create home-made toys to entertain her. This is priceless - no toy in this world can replace that!
Very inspiring to all SAHMs yah?

On the desitin cream, I read from this forum that desitin is darned good when I was pregnant. So KS me decided to stock up.... Who knows later on never use..... Okie lah, I sold them off at $5 per tube.... make a BIG loss but still better than nothing!

Jasmine,

Can share the GD word list with me also??? How you do it har? Just keep flashing is it? Then how does baby know what does the word mean??? Sorry to ask so much....

Hey, you are one determined mommy!!! Jadelle is one lucky baby!

Sha,

Wah biang!!! You jokes really buay tahan!!!

Hey, so many mommies found the bumper playmat to be great! How much is one huh? Where you gals got it?

Actually I have far more elephants than the 3 which I stated...... So many things which I bought and never or hardly use!!! The newborn hats, the many many many pairs of mittens and booties, the Prince Lionheart (BUMBO lookalike), the playpen (2nd hand-given by a friend), the 12kgs HUGE Aprica stroller (2nd hand - also given by a friend and supposed to cost her $800 plus), the TinyLove Gym (Clarence is bored by it), the stroller toy, the massage oils and RUYI oil, the maternal heartbeat CDs, the Pigeon bottle warmer..... Wah biang!!! All the $$$ wasted!!! All collecting dust at home now.....

i oso duno why u all say desitin cream white elephant leh. it was recommended by my PD. im still on the first tube too, when there's no rashes, i dun apply anything. it's v seldom kai gets nappy rashes and when he does, just apply desitin and it's all ok soon.

luckily i bought the bumbo seat 2nd hand at $35. think can re-sell it as kai oso started to be annoyed w it. what abt those who ordered bumbo seat tray? how?

today kai started his first day in the walker coz he no longer stay put in the rocker and bumbo seat. so my mom requested to bring the walker out. hope he's alright w it.

edksd
bumbo tray not finalised yet.
still waiting getting quotes for shipping.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">me packing up and go TAKA now!!</font></font>

hee today got some time to come in here cos boss went on 1 wk leave liao

i'm oso quite surprised u all mention desitin cream as a white elephant! i think we're oredi into our 5th tube! cos each time we change ethan's diaper, we reapply a fresh coat :p kiasu lah scared he got nappy rash so prevention better than cure rite!? didnt know got side effects. but his 'buns' look ok still leh. not like peeling or anything so i guess the cream is not that strong lah...

PHOEBE
are u organising anymore calendula cream BP? cos i need to order more!

i've decided to stop going to all those bb fairs cos i know i will end up spending $ on things that i dun really need. so if i dun go at all, i cant spend at all rite?! "will power" is the key word!!!

angeline
REALLY? WOW then that's cool coz i also don't wanna waste paper and i'm on the com everyday, so much easier to show her stuff on the com. It's a GREAT IDEA. Will try n see if it works.

jasmine
in that case, can ma fan you to also PM me the GD words? Yah i agree w E-ling that you still look so fresh and nicely made up, me sian, like housewife. Oh... i am a housewife, forgot. HAHA

edksd
haha yah yah my friend also sama, passed me hers coz she only used for a while. I think i wanna pass it back to her coz collecting dust.

sha
OH NO! haha... my FIL tried carrying her once or twice lah but once she cries, he quickly pass her back to me. heh... but i don't blame him lah... my dad also like that. I think men are generally afraid of babies. But they are very generous so it's cool w me. heh heh...

michelle
u got 2 tubs and finishing soon???
so fast!!!

not yet ler.
now supplier also no stock.
my spree 3 stock just arrived vpostusa.

spree 4 placed. no stock.
got to wait for new shipment.

this calendula cream become very 'laku' for them since i started to buy in BULK

michelle, i think not gd to apply desitin cream all the time leh. if u want to apply all the time, u shld use something not so strong like maybe johnsons and johnsons or drapolene.

77, why dun u sell away ur white elephants?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jasmine</font></font>, is Jadelle suffering from nappy rash? if not why u using 'all the time'?

I understand that bbs have natural self defense system and these creams will disrupt this system as they're medicinal. Unlike 'vitamins', we eat to maintain, not to cure so if the buttocks are not sick, I think better not apply la..

For my case, Arianne doesn't have nappy rash. I wash her buttocks and the-the-there during each nappy change if we're at home and air-dry then just wear put on a new nappy. But I do keep her buttocks moistened with calendula after her each bath cos water dries their skin and best time to apply moisturizers is after bath when the pores are still open, then allow the calendula to be absorbed by air-drying.

Oh, and I try to avoid applying calendula near her the-the-there.. cos aren't we girls not supposed to use any soap or cream at our the-the-there too? Ahhh and that's how UTI happens! for bbs who kena UTI, usually is due to powder! the main culprit is TALC.. it blocks the pores therefore not allowing the skin to breathe then the urine traps there! errrrr..

And so far this method works well for Arianne, so no nappy rash cream needed!

And yes! I was just sharing with <font color="0077aa">Selina</font> the other day that caretakers are usually the culprit in destroying systems that you've set up.. this one is bo pian one la.. have to bear with it I guess! otherwise will have to be full time caretaker to your bb lo. Even for my case, like yesterday I went out gaigai with some mummies then when I came back my helper gleefully told me she managed to feed Arianne cereal while she laid on the bouncer 180degrees! Asked her if got kena choke, she said no la.. just cough cough only..

urrrrgghhh!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, it's Desitin right? cos it's a nappy rash cream so when use wrap, heat rash develops for me so have to apply the cream in order to tame the rashes..

Well I find Dapolene useless for it's purpose - very thin (means useless if it acts as barrier) and nice smell (means perfume, means create sensitivity for skin). I guess it depend on why u want the rash cream for. If just to moisten the buttocks, use calendula, natural and soft to apply.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, how about the roof? heehee..

what's the benefits of flashing cards to bb har? can enlighten me? and are we supposed to flash v fast since it's called flash cards? can the bb catch it or not?

ling, tt time u bought annabel karmel's book, which one har?

today i bought her "super foods" $32+ after 20% discount it's $25+ at MPH coz got 20% storewide.

everytime i go to raffles city basement, there's always a long queue queuing there. i wonder what are they queuing for? they're queuing along a passage way in between shops so i duno which shop they're queuing for. anyone knows? just curious...

edksd
i've not seen super food but mine has info on how to wean baby n what to do, how to do etc... plus the receipes step by step thru the months. does yours have that?

blessedmommy, oh is it? i didnt even notice there's a donut shop there. maybe the queue blocked my vision?

is it really v nice? how did u get it w/o queuing?

Hi Brenda

Thanks for the head-ups and I will PM Joon in a short while. I think I will certainly be able to appreciate the emotional support and friendship, as will Alexis.

The thread is indeed going very fast, how does one catches up?? Anyway just to let all know, I attended the Shichida's preview yesterday and am convinced enough to register Alexis for the July 2007 intake. Any one else been and will be registering their child?

Lastly, I look forward to meeting all of you.

cheers!

wow! jerene, is shichida suitable for infant below 1 yr??? if im a baby, i'll be pretty scared going to classes so soon!

The Shichida Method is a course originating from Japan, apparently best for kids from 3 months to 10 years old. You may wish to check their website http://www.shichidamethod.com/

It is once a week only for 75 mins. There is another preview on 10 Mar at 11 a.m. - perhaps you can go listen if you can spare an hour or so? I am no salesman so may not be able to express why I think it will be good for Alexis.

BTW I gave Alexis her rice cereal (organic) for the very first time today! Was planning to wait till 27 Sept (exactly 6 mths old) but was too tempted. She gobbled it down as if I have not fed her for weeks!

phoebe,

i also wanna oredr calendula cream again. Let me know if have

<font color="ff0000">Flash card</font>,
GD is Glenn Doman baby flash card. I got the notes on how to teach bb using that flash card and doing the flash card. I am looking for a blank flashcard so i dun have to cut myself. Yah just need to flash the card to the bb about afew second and each day can show her abt 5 words only... and each time can only intro afew words. cant remember liao cause read less than half way only. I got the notes when i am pregnant. till now have finish reading. I am a lazy mummy... i going to start soon again.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Daily Schedule</font></font>

Dearest mummies who have started your bbs on semi-solids, can share your bb's daily activities' schedule? can include feeding times plus quantity? like mine:

Everyday, except Sat/Sun: (a bit of changes since I wrote this 2 days ago..hee)
0900 - Wakey Wakey
0930 - Pom Pom
1000 - Drinks FM 180ml
1030 - Go for a walk
1130 - Clean up
1200 - Nap time
1330 - Wake up
1400 - Cereal Time > 3 milkscoops of rice cereal + brown rice powder, 2 table spoons of 'whatever'(like today is pumpkin), FM 120ml
1430 - Playtime with mummy
1600 - Quiet alone time
1630 - Nap time
1830 - Wakes up
1900 - Drinks FM 180ml
1915 - Playtime with grandparents
2030 - Bath (if very sticky) time / Clean up
2045 - Playtime with Papa
2200 - Change to PJ and chill out with papa & mummy
2230 - Drinks FM 180ml
2245 - zzzzzzzzz..

For those who are DIYing the Glen Doman flash card, you can use Times Giant books of 1000 words. I used that for Malcolm's flashcards.

<font color="ff0000">pig2</font>,

What is Times Giant books?

I just bought a book on Potty Poems-A guide to potty training at my company here. I find it interesting so bought it, it cost me $8.90, after staff discount $8

Princess Emma, yup the one at CDANS. They used to have a branch at Orchid Country Club but they have closed it already.

Yuna, I wanted to try their trial class as well but juz as u mentioned, the waiting list is too long. I spoke to the lady called Annie handling enquiries and she assured me that their program is really good and so far no mummies have ever backed out from their class after joining it. So I decided it a try by signing one full term.

Sha, I am staying at Blk 175D Punggol Field.

Aiyo... blur me. i left my expressed milk at room temperature for 3hrs leh, i just remember and faster put into the fridge. Is it ok to consume or not huh?

Wah wah, so many postings!!!

Joon,

Just saw your email! Will TT $$$ to you tonight. Thanks!

Edksd,

Yep, wanted to sell my white elephants!!! But haven't really found time (or rather I am very lazy) and so have not got down to doing it. But for the playpen and stroller (which takes up loads of space), i feel bad about selling them cos they were given to me in the first place.... So maybe will wait for friends who give birth and pass them on lor...

The queue at Raffles City basement is for Donut Factory's donuts!!!! Man! The people here are simply Nuts about DoNuts.... I work here and the fad simply hasn't died down.... There will be a long queue everyday.

Blessedmommy,

Huccome u dun have to queue??? You know the boss ah?

Brenda,

Paiseh... dunno what Clarence's schedule is like cos he is looked after by my mom.... On weekends his schedule is usually haywire cos we will bring him out and therefore not stick to any schedule.... But he sleeps at 10.30pm everyday though... At least that has been quite constant.

i have one qn:

For BF mothers who supplement bb with FM feed once in while:

Once we open the tin of FM, we have to consume within 4 weeks but becos bb dont take FM consistently means we have to throw it away after 4 weeks ? aiyo so wasted. Even though I bgt a small tin of Enfalac, i dont think my Rachel dont need FM so often.

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Orange</font></font>, I'm not interested in iplay swimsuits liao la cos I realised they have no UV protection.. do u see any other brands there? or any other swim suits that have UV protection type?

iplay is only nice with its design but not a good choice cos UV protection is very important at our bbs' age. That's why I rather pay a bit more and be on the safe side la.. Sorry to spoil the fun..

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Dumpty</font></font>, okie! I shall buzz u too if I do decide to go on Sunday ya.. Maybe 3 of us and our hubs can have coffee somewhere. I insist if we are all happen to be there at the same time, cos there's NO WAY we can kiapkiapkiap if we were to shop at the same time!!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, oooOOoh either your eyes too big so saw too many things at one time so cannot focus or they changed the row liao la.. heehee.. Sorry Sorry I should have stayed and showed u exactly where the yoga tops were! pai seh

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, your destiny with your desitin is the same as my ruyi oil la! all 6 bots sitting in my cupboard don know what to do with them.. I tried asking my mum to use it as perfume since she love the smell (apparently <font color="0077aa">E-Ling</font> too.. hee) but she don wan le.. She commented bbs don have ruyi oil smell means not bb, what kinda of logic is that la?!

Wah u let go at 5 bucks per tube?! That's an enormous loss isn't it? my is somethinglike S$20.00 per tube le! is it the same as yours? mine is desitin creamy..

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Michelle</font></font>, ya la u might not see the effect of the cream now.. but the self-defense system might 'disappear' or u can consider 'immuned' if u use too much of rash cream. So next time when really got rash, the cream is no use liao.. But I seriously not sure about Ethan's the-the-there la cos mine both don have kkj.. but for girl's the-the-there, UTIs are damn common to kena and the main culprits are faeces, baby powder and cream!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, I was told by the recep at Times that the difference between 'Super Foods' and 'Feeding your Baby & Toddler' is their release dates. 'Feeding your Baby & Toddler' is of a later released date and therefore the recipes are updated (maybe some ingredients added or improved) and there're more recipes in this edition too.

I did a brief check and found what the recep told me was right la.. but I didn't do a book to book comparison or recipe comparisons, so exactly which recipe is different or which are new, I'm not sure lo..

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, I've considered Shichida before but it's very school-ish to me and all I want Arianne to do from now till 5 years old is PLAY.. heehee so I don wan her to be exposed to the real world of education yet! Anyway that's only my impression from my very basic knowledge of Shichida, would be delighted if u could share the info after u've attended or it'd nice to hear your forewords if any..

<font color="0000ff">Jerene</font>,
I have heard of The Shichida Method from my previous boss who is from Japan.

So you have been to the preview and you are convinced. I just got one question the class will be conducted by a local trainer or flow in trainer from Japan?

I can't seem to print out the brochure here. Will try it at home and go through it.

Thanks for sharing.