(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, better not if u can afford it.. Even for FM which has 'built-in' immunities to bacteria, the most I keep outside room temp for 1 hour. I cannot imagine how much of bacterium each minute can multiply!

E Ling
There are 1000 words in that "Times Giant Book". I use that as a referece for the words on my flashcards. Those are common words we use everyday! You can get that book from any bookstore. But i can't remember exactly the title, maybe tonight i go back and find out for you.

brenda
wah A can eat so much at her 2pm feed? and still drink 120ml FM?!? how long did she take to reach this "capacity"?

i started ethan on cereal last sat and he can only manage 1 tablespoon now, and after that we give him his milk like an hr later and he still cant finish 150ml...

Brenda,

Wah lau! Fancy you asking your mom to use the Ruyi oil as perfume!!!! I almost fell off my chair! I was trying damn hard to control my laughter! Internal injury liao!!!

Hey hey, I did like the smell of ruyi oil as well when I was young. My mom used to rub my tum tum with the oil right up to my Kindergarten days hor.... She will do so every night, right after the bath and just before story time.... Then I will curl up on her lap for stories. It wasn't really the smell which I like.... But it is the warm, cozy memories they bring back whenever I smell the oil! Amazing right? Humans tend to associate certain smells with certain memories....

Hehe.. mebbe I shall do the same with Clarence, since I am stuck with so many bottles of ruyi oil as well!!! Haha!!! Then 30 years later he can still have nice memories with ruyi oil.... Haha, you died of goose pimples already or not???

But hor, I totally agree with your logic on diaper cream! The lady who bought all 3 tubes of desitin from me told me that her MIL apply 2cm of Desitin on her baby everyday, that's why she is a heavy user. I guess it depends on the individual. I prefer to let natural methods such as airing the baby's butt more frequently and changing his diapers more frequently as well.

There is this book on "Cosmetics Unmasked" which I bought from Borders a couple of years back, written by a group of doctors specialising in skin research. Actually a lot of chemicals are harmful to the skin (especially baby's skin) when applied over the long term, and some of which are downright carcinogenic (cancer causing) or may cause skin to be more allergic for their prolonged usage. Things like parabens, laureth sulphates, PEG are so frequently present in baby's wipes, shampoos, moisturisers and there is so little knowledge on them that it's scary.... For example, Avent bodywash, Mustela shampoos/moisturisers, Pigeon soap etc contain so much parabens and PEG and people are using loads of them on their babies that it is scary.... I am a firm believer of using organic wash for babies, and using baby wipes sparingly.

me in a rush now.. but can those mommies interested in GD, pls PM me instead? as i need ur e-mail to forward..

pig2,
yupz, me also using Times dictionary..

e-ling,
lazy bum u! rainnie sent us so long ago, u still no read the pages?????

Jerene,
pls share with us the cost of shichida? i thinking to sign up too....

Hi June,

Just go back, take the Kodomo bottle and look at the ingredients... Anything from the parabens, sulphates or PEG family???

I can try to type the relevant chapter from the book Cosmetics Unmasked over the weekend. It's actually a great book. The annex also details which chemicals are carcinogenic or harmful, and a tally with our daily bath products, moisturisers and cosmetics will show that many of the substances we come into contact with are harmful.... I guess for adults is bo bian lor... But for babies when their body mass is so small and organs are still maturing (such that 1 unit of harmful substance is spread over a small body mass), it is best to avoid or use sparingly wherever possible.

Babies & Cream
hello mummies, i juz came back, so only glanced thru my emails... din managed to read all but only noe i hv to pay Joon for the class 1st. will do so when i can.

Taka Sale
Seems so good deal leh... u girls talking abt it here while Oct thread oso discussing. looks like i need to make a trip down soon...

ok, i gotta go do laundry liao... catch up later.

Thank you thank you!

<font color="ff0000">Taka bb fair</font>
Tml i am going to the fair!! Hehe... And i am going home in 5 min time!!

<font color="0077aa">Bye</font>

<font color="ff0000">Jasmine</font>,
wahaha... i admitted that i am a lazy bum. Wondering whether anyone of you can just simplify it and tell me how to do it so i dun have to read. I really no time, weekdays working and weekend so many activities plus got to read forum and pump milk... where got time to read.

So you actually printed out the words using printer? Or just use marker to write the word on the blank flashcard?

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>,
I can afford to throw the milk but... it will still make me heartache to see the milk flow into the sink and i am the culprit of it.

Just realised I AM A MEMBER AT LAST!!! Hooray!!! No longer a "JUNIOR Member"! This term sucks....

Wah biang, after 1 YEAR and 1 MONTH, finally!!!

Hey, just went into Oct thread to KPO about the Taka sale.... Hey, I am not the ultimate hor.... There is a Coral there who spent $400 plus!!!

Maybe if I go into Nov thread, I can see someone spending $500 plus... Hehehe...

All mom, have a great weekend!

<font color="ff0000">E-Ling</font>

The content look like this :

718454.jpg

I intend to scan the picture, enlarge it and use it for my picture cards later!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, well what's worse? seeing Amabel drinking THAT milk or seeing it down the drain? torn right? but I'm sure u agree with me your heart will ache less if u do the latter la.. ask Johnnie to 'massage' your heart for u la..

ilovebabies,

You are the ultimate! No need to console myself lah... I am staying away from Taka this weekend to avoid further damage!

Wah, you intermediate member liao! You good sia! Never mind, 5 years later I can also be an intermediate member at this rate I am posting! Haha!

Still in office? Not rushing down to Taka sale ah?

Pig,

Thanks for showing the pic of the book! How much is it har?

I am running off liao... My weekend starts now! Yippee!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, now that u mentioned I just realised that I've also been promoted to MEMBER! Yahoooo! Junior sounds so small ya? hee..

Eh! please don do that to lil Clarence can??? later he smells like ku niang! And also, I WANT TO CARRY HIM when I see him!

2cm thick of cream?! xiao gong gong ahh.. and I always believe washing with water is definitely good enough.. forget about the fancy stuffs!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, what did u buy? fill us in le..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebabies</font></font>, me? a security manager? hahahha! cannot la.. I was already severly underweight, anyone one push I fly to Johor! heehee.. But I had to take care of a building's security as well as filling the bowls of 12 bouncers (a lot of them were ex-cons! but they're very hard working)but me no security manager la, they were just part of my 60 men team.. I was working for a club, as in a place where people chill out with live band.. nightlife industry ya..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Michelle</font></font>, its all within the period of 45 mins or less.. she usually finishes her cereal+2TBSofwhatever about 25-30mins, then the 120ml FM in about 15 or so..
For the semi-solids feeding, I started like that:
Day 1 - 2 Teaspoons of Rice Cereal (my is Frisocrem so got FM in it too) and 180ml FM
Day 2 - 4 Teaspoons of Rice Cereal and 180ml FM
Day 3 - 6 Teaspoons of Rice Cereal and 120ml FM
Day 4 - 2 Milkscoops of Rice Cereal + Brown Rice Powder and 120ml FM
Day 5 - 2 Milkscoops of Rice Cereal + Brown Rice Powder and 120ml FM
Day 6 - 2 Milkscoops Rice Cereal + Brown Rice Powder and 2 Tablespoons Sweet Potato and 120ml FM
The amount of eah items have since stablized and now we're on day 9.

So I think we need to give time to our bbs to stablize with their feeding amount. Eh don forget they still need to be familiarise with spoon feeding first.. so don stress Ethan la.. let him take his fill, ala own time own target.. Also don forget, every bb has different appetite! And also doesn't mean heavier weight bbs eat more than lighter weight ones! I'm a good example! I actually eat 2 bowls of rice for my dinner ok..

I think Angeline's Trinity is eating even more than Arianne le.. right?

<font color="ff0000">No mummies can share with me the schedule ahh.. cos I really wonder if most of us are doing the same for our bbs' daily activities.. can check with your caretaker? would love to read about it..</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">WINNING<font size="-2">(weaning)</font> Babies!</font></font>

Mummies, postpostpost your bb's weaning pics for my nextnextnext montage! can email to me to [email protected] too!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Arianne & her economical, functional Shop&Save bib!</font></font>

718468.jpg

If u look close enough, u might see some banana stains on Xiang Yun's cheeks!

Phoebe, 60++ not that bad !! hahha

Brenda, you sure iplay sunsuit has no UV protection? on the tag, it says UV protection factor UPF 50+ and I went to website, it also says " Stretchy sunsuit with pullover top & pull-up shorts with an Ultimate Swim Diaper built in. UPF 50+ nylon/Spandex with super absorbent terry & wick-away lining. "

Pig2, looks like a good deal u got there!! nice book
thanks for sharing

Ling, i used the nursing pillow only ONCE !! sigh.. anyway, i have lots of white elephants at home! will pass to my sis since she is pregant!!hehehe..

orange, have you checked thru your co directory for ilovebb?

taka damage:

- weaning bowl x1
- spoons x1
- toy stacker x1
- soft book x1
- baby on board car plate x1
- munchkin miller x1

brenda
WAH you move really fast! FRom 2 - 4 - 6 tsp, then to milkscoop, no wonder A is taking so much now! Sophie is still at 2 tsp n today is 5th day! Hahah... i very scared her small small tummy cannot take it. Anyway she's still quite young compared to A so i think i better go slow... heh...

Ok lah, share w you my schedule, if she wakes up earlier/later, i'll shift the schedule accordingly so quite flexi one...

0600 Wake up & Feed
0700 Nap
1000 Feed - latch on fully, then 1 cube puree
1030 Bathe
1100 Play
1130 Nap
1330 Feed
1400 Play, sometimes watch TV
1500 Nap
1630 Wake up, play
1700 Feed - latch on fully, 2 teaspoon of cereal
1730 Walk
1830 Clean up, change to PJs, play w Daddy, read, feed
1900 Sleep
2200 Feed (Last)

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Orange</font></font>, ahhhh u mean iplay has this thing called <font color="ff0000">Sunsuit</font>? Cos all those iplay swimsuits I've come across at Paragon's ocean paradise and also www.kidzloft.com.sg are not with UV protection so I thought those at the fair would be sama sama lo.. so that means I'm wrong la.. okok will go grab some this Sunday! Thanks for the red alert ya! heehee.. so ang gong gong your post..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, no have diapers? what about johnson's stuff like wipes? have?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>, ya Sophie is 3 weeks younger, go slow on her but u did mention that she's taking the cereal well right? that's a good start already.. increase 2 more teaspoons and see what happens la.. cereal not that ex, so can explore la. If she eats them all, that'll be great isn't it!?

This is Malcolm;s schedule

0730 Rise and shine, latch on, play with daddy if he is in town
0800 Goodbye daddy, ah gong and ah ma, car ride to po po house
0830 Good morning po po and cousins, playtime, flash card, rest and relax while mummy gossip with po po
1030 Go for a walk
1100 bath time, latch on, nap time
1300 Lunch - half a bowl of brown rice porridge
1330 Rest and relax, mummy lunch with po po
1400 Nap time with mummy
1530 Latch on, playtime, flash card, mummy coffee break with po po
1600 poo poo time,
1630 playtime with mummy, flashcard
1700 bye bye mummy, nap time
1800 bath time
1830 dinner - half a bowl of brown rice porridge
1900 rest n relax, play time with cousins
2000 change into PJs, play time with own toes
2100 bottle feed by po po
2200 Hello mummy, bye bye popo, car ride home
2230 daddy wait at carpark if he is in town
2240 Goodnight Ah gong and ah ma, latch
2300 zzzzzzzzzzzzz
0300 latch, zzzzzzzz

This is the schedule from Monday to Friday, Saturday, sunday and public holiday different, if daddy in town, will visit fish farms and shoppings.

Hi ilovebabies, I have the same problem you are facing re FM...and choose to keep past 4 weeks, albeit with a racing heart. In fact as I read the postings of Brenda and others, I think I should feed Alexis a little more. She is now downing 120ml if FM, majority of the time on BM (goodness know how much she is drinking!)

Hey Jasmine (and all keen in Shichida), costs of tuition per term (12 weeks with one 75 mins class a week) is $745 (weekdays) or $780 (weekends). Annual registration fee of $50 and there is a $300 refundable deposit.

Lastly, there is a compulsory Parents' Education Course, a 3-hr seminar conducted by Professor Makoto Shichida who is the developer of the Shichida Method ($170 per person or $290 for both Mum and Dad). This $170 or $290 is fully refundable after your child is with Shichida for one year. All prices are before GST.

Though I think it is wonderful for a child to indulge in play during her childhood, there are a couple of compelling reasons why I would consider signing Alexis when she is almost 10 months old (in Jul 2007)...

a) Focus on right brain, which is where we retain our long term memory. In general, schools in Singapore tend to favor left-brain modes of thinking, while downplaying the right-brain ones.

b) The emphasis on the importance of parent-child bonding and how it will impact brain stimulation.

c) Expecting a child to "receive training" for 75mins out of 10080mins (1 week) is pretty reasonable (to me)

d) Shichida is not an enrichment course, it lays the foundations on how to learn

e) Social interaction with peers in her age group in a more structured environment (maximum 6 students per class)

Hope the above helps.

Alexis, hubby and I went swimming just now and we dunk her 3 times!

brenda
er..i never go look at diaper & wipe sections. have alot. but never see.
coz these are bulky items to me. how to carry them? then it wouldnt be cheap for me to buy and take taxi home liao.
also, i currently using nepia diapers and angel wipes. both i buy from supplier in carton. so got free delivery. heehee

Just a little feedback on the baby jumper gym class that I went earlier on. On the whole, personally I find the class interesting and the trainer knows her work well. She started with the flash cards first to get hold of the babies attention. B4 the lesson starts, she has pre-empt us that she will talk very loudly when going thru the flash cards to catch their attention. Initially, Adele started to cry but she got used to it after a while. She not only uses flash cards to teach but also to sing as well. We also had a little bit of dancing and music. Her flashcards not only consists of english words but also chinese and mathemtic dots too. This is wat they call photographic memory. Lastly is the gym activity which includes hanging Adele on a bar with her assistance of coz. Next week she will teach us the method of teaching your babies how to crawl.
I would personally recommend mummies to try if they are interested coz its more like an enrichment cum play lesson.
All the above I mentioned are just my personal views. No commission earned from Baby Jumper Gym..

<font color="aa00aa">phoebe..</font> got munchkin miller? how does it look like.. hmm... sounds useful.. hehe...

<font color="aa00aa">brenda...</font> u realli use plastic bags as bibs???

Here's my WInning Enzo.. eat till he fell asleep.. keke... and.. its looks pretty messy hor.. yeah.. it is.. but muz pardon me cos can see its taken in January right... that time me beginner at feeding.. its much better now... hehe..

718580.jpg

edksd
i use Heinz Rice Cereal, no added sugar, iron fortified. so far so good...

emma
enzo is so funny! how come he can eat until sleep? heh...

ling.. cos at the beginning.. me not v sure of his timing... so juz nice that time was his eat then zzz time... haha.. so eat halfway he fell asleep... funny thing was even thou he was zzzing, he was still opening his mouth and swallowing.. haha.. btw... sophie looks so satisfied.. lol...

hi mummies. me back from cruise liaoz. no time to go thru go the posting. just briefly went thru them.

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>, here's WINNING Caleb...
718826.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Ling</font>, Caleb now takes 2-3 tablespoon of cereal for lunch.

<font color="ff0000">Baby Fair</font>
oh my! so many ppl oredi go and so much damage! and here i am dilly dally thought i will still get good deals if i go during weekends! oh dear, i better be fast! i am interested to buy the leapfrog exersaucer, munchkin food mill, booster seat, but still available a not huh?

<font color="0000ff">peachie</font>, i notice a lot of things u have are all big ticket items wor. i rem u oredi have the evenflo exersaucer (which btw is OOS everywhere in singapore now) and now u just bought the leapfrog. why huh? and the mesg abt carcinogens, i feel such a kinship with u hahahaa coz i am quite paranoid about carcinogens actually, always look out for sodium laureth sulphate in all the products, only organic products dun have actually. i used organice before i preggie, after that i stopped. so which organic bath wash are u using for baby?

and hor, the booster seat, how diff is it from your prince lionheart?

talking about this, i was readin the trans fat contents of the preggie milk powder, considering buying an mum instead of enfamam which i have been drinking so far. and i realised that enfamama contains only less than 0.01g of transfat per 100g of powder, while anmum contains 0.5!!! 50times! gosh.

<font color="119911">alicia!</font> hahahaa.....did they scare you with their bullet train postings? hehehe. oh u asking about bumbo seat? its for babies who dun know how to seat unsupported yet, the shape somehow molds the babies bum and back well such that they can "sit". and the material is soft wor.

we have a lot of bumbo babies here! Brenda sometime back did a lovely montage, here it is!
718893.jpg

and my blog is www.cheekyjovann.blogspot.com

<font color="ff6000">my BROWN MONKEYS</font>
1) Avent ISIS pump and avent bottles (I love my Avent!!!)
2) Rainbow Pooh Bumper playmat! My friend's gift to Jovann, dead useful once he can enjoy tummy time.
3) Swing chair (its actually a rocker convertible to high chair next time, only $140). Jovann takes his afternoon naps in this everyday for 5mths when he is at home!
4) Desitin
5) My Ikea changing table convertible to bookcase in future. Love it! the height, size, orientation, everything is perfect for me.

<font color="ff6000">my WHITE ELEPHANTS</font>
1) My ameda pump. though useful, but lost suction a few times then i gave up on it
2) My Breastfren pillow. so awkward to use!

can't think of any more, hhhmmm seems like din waste a lot of money lah hor?

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font>, hey u rem me? you are the lady i bought the beansprout pillow from right?
we have same EDD, and we end up giving birth on the same day, a day before our EDD! so ciao hahahahhaha!

Phoebe
Ur damage only $60 aah U so good gal.....haha
My damage $150 lor see liao I also shocked....hehe
I think the ppl there more shocked cos I carry 2 big bags of stuff on top of D hanging in the Ergo...hehehe

Eling
If U want A5 flash cards get from me okie. Becos I have 1800 pieces.....hehehe

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Pig2</font></font>, when u say half a bowl is it about 4 tablespoons or 6?

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, thanx for sharing your thoughts about Shichida.. wowww I think I would prefer Arianne to grow up the soil and sun way.. as in more fun play! heehee.. But I might consider Shichida when she reaches 5 or 6 yrs old..

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, <font size="-2">aiya go ask <font color="0000ff">ilovebabies'</font> bouncers la</font> heehee..

Hah! <font color="119911"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, oh and this place is at Bt Batok or somewhere there? Thanx for sharing the class info.. may I know if the instructor is local? and how many bbs in the class? and one accompanying adult? are the rest of the babies local too? sorry ah ask so many qns! just like to find out more la..

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, I'm using Frisocrem currently, it does contain FM. Actually all u need to do is to read the front of the can before u pick up if you're concern if it contains FM. Like I also bought the Nestle one and if I didn't read carefully I'd have gotten the wrong one with FM!

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Emma!</font></font>, aiyo why must lil Enzo be so funny! hahhhahHha! zzZZzz and mumummum at the same time!

Yes! I seriously use those useless shop&safe plastic bags as her bib when I feed food that will stain like bananas! That plastic bag quality is so jia lut that we'll be stupid if we use it for dump, errr always kena leak so might as well use as her bib lo.. all u need to do is to cut a U shape at the plastic's bottom, then snip the 2 handles cos very jor dien and snip the sides up to near the bottom line then poof! u've got a new bib each time!

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>, Ya! Sophie really does look like she enjoys her cereal! good chance for u to increase her intake!

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, did Caleb take the ship ride well? Must be sleeping well rock-a-bye rock-a-bye by the waves ahh..

doreen,
y you got so many. Ok sell to me if you dont need so many. Let me know again k or PM me.

pig2,
thanks for sharing, i will go and get the book

Brenda,
i will post Amabel daily schedule tomorrow k. Lazy bum going to sleep soon so lazy to type. haha

<font color="0000ff">Eling</font>
Sigh cos when ordering the mummy say comes in 1 set 1800 pieces so if we take half set we got to split ourselves lor. So I just take 1 set lah but who knows it comes packed in 900 pieces. Arghhhh....

U just let me know how many pieces U need lor. Urrr I think I paid bout $40+ for it. Quite cheap lah. I haven even started doing my flash cards yet....hehe so lazy.

Brenda/Eling
U know hor that day at HV I supposed to take cab back hor. But dunno is it I so blur dunno where is the good plc to flag I couldn't get any. All changing shift.
In the end I go busstop n racki. Endup take bus hm.....hahaha
So now I know how to go HV liao....hehe
Brenda u got ur cab so fast ahh?

718944.jpg

This montage will be emailed to mummies with a higher resolution.

okok this time I checked like 9 times liao.. I hope there's no mistake in this one ahh..

Just thought I share some pic taking tips:
- Try to use a single color background. Always be mindful of what's within the frame of the pic, espcially eye catching color objects like red blankie or mats with prints for eg..
- Do not take pics directly towards the sunlight
- Prepare a rattle toy and AIM FIRST, then rattle to get bb's attention
- Put on a smile yorself in order to get bb's smiling reflect!
- don have a SLR? it's ok, ask at least 2 fellas to standby with 2 cams and snap away craziliy like paparazzis!

Me been a culprit of these booboos sometimes.. but I will keep trying to achieve flawless pics la cos these memories are so memorable!

GO! SNAPSNAPNSNAP & POSTPOSTPOST!