(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Brenda babe!!! </font></font>got <font size="+2">HUGE</font> mistake.. Enzo is missing!!! muahahahahaa....

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Brenda..</font></font> so the head hole for the bib is juz a circle??? if can go thru the head, wont it be too big at the neck and still stain the clothes???

anyway here's my winning baby

719046.jpg

brenda
u r really creative!! i love the shop n save idea... honestly i'm too lazy to DIY so most of the stuff i will just buy off the shelves :p

Dear mummies

Want to BP for Heinz BB Cereal? At least can do postage. Haha

Bottles food will have to self-collect or via courier.

<table border=1><tr><td>CEREAL</TD><TD>Ea/Ctn</TD><TD>$ </TD></TR><TR><TD>1. Rice Cereal 125g - 4M</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>2.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2. High Protein Cereal 125g - 6M</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>2.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3. Mixed Cereal with Banana 125g - 6M</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>2.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ORGANIC CEREAL</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1. Rice Cereal 125g - 6M</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>3.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2. Vanilla Custard 125g - 6M</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>3.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font size="+1">Brenda</font>

Half a bowl is about 5-6 tablespoon.

He only takes about 1-2 tablespoon when I first started him with porridge. Now is already 1 month, he has been finishing half a bowl of porridge since the 3rd week!

thanks ling n brenda for the info on cereal.

wld like to know is heinz or nestle cereal better har?

125g can last how long normally?

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">Doreen</font></font>, no le.. waited at the taxi stand for almost 20 mins.. aiya forgot that around 5pm is peak period for taxis at that area..

<font size="+1">Wah!</font> how u manage to take bus with Damien?! I'm so impressed!! For me that ONE MRT ride also got problem liao.. then in that case, don get the van la since you've no problem transporting Damien and yourself around..

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, pai seh cos I didn't manage to catch Enzo's pic before it flew away with so many posts here la..

Oh for my Shop&Safe Bib, I didn't mention I do use a peg to hold the circle smaller behind her neck ahh? heehee..

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">Michelle</font></font>, well when you're a bored, home alone with one silly maid at home, you'll be pulling every strand of your hair out just to create 'happenings' in your daily life!!

And toying with the plastic bag is one of them.. heehee..

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, my friend gave me a packet of the cereal so I won't be joining the Heinz BP liao, but thanx for organizing..

Just wanna clarify something I find a bit weird with regards to the <font color="ff0000">Vanilla Custard</font> you've here in the BP chart..

When I make custard for my tarts or pies, I use <font color="ff0000">Raw egg yolks</font>. Well generally the process of making freshly cooked custard is such that you CANNOT cook the yolks (same for ice cream!), have to keep it runny using double boil method. So if that's the case, I don think we should be feeding our babies raw egg yolk right? Unless they use POWDERED custard or it's known as Custard Powder on the shelves but that also means the custard is processed with added preservatives.. maybe I'm wrong, but just not comfy with that idea.. then again, I'm sure Heinz would have thought of that and also all jarred foods (including our sardine can or baked beans etc..) are heated up to a very high temperature (killing all the nutrients that's the setback abt using jar foods for bbs) in order to be bottled so as to attain a longer shelf life la. So that also means the custard in that 'Vanilla Custard' should be very cooked.. just my thoughts..

Maybe <font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">DomesticGoddess</font></font> can share your thoughts on this or <font color="ff0000">any other mummies who bake/cook?</font>

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, u very cute le.. we all just started feeding cereal so I guess you'll have to wait until we finish our packs then we can answer u! heehee.. just kidding. But I seriously have no idea mann.. Also depends on how much Kai is eating and if you're adding any other ingredient in it. Or maybe u also have brown rice powder like me or like some other mummies they make porridge. So there are too many possibilities, really depend on how you do it..

Regards to which one is better, I also don know. Both brands are equally favored by mummies.. but I think Heinz one is organic and not the Nestle one I bought.

<table border=1><tr><td>Amabel Daily Schedule</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Time </TD><TD></TD><TD>Tasks</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0645am</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Go Grandparent house if Daddy and Mummy are working</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0700 am</TD><TD></TD><TD>Good Morning Amabel!!</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Clean face, hands and mouth</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Change Diaper to cloth diaper</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0730 am</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Drink Breast milk (120mL)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0800 am</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Bye... Mummy, if no go grandparent house</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Play / Nap time</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0930 am</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Bath Time</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Play / Nap time</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1030 am</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Eat cereal (Brown rice, 3 tablespoons)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Clean face, hands and mouth</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1230 pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Drink Breast milk (180mL)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Play / Nap time</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0130 pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Clean Body</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Play / Nap time</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0400pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Drink Breast milk (180mL)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0500 pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Eat one cube of fruit puree</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Clean Body</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0545pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Go fetch Mummy home if Daddy off day or night shift</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Play with Daddy and Mummy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0730pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Drink Breast milk (180mL)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0830pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Clean body</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Play with Daddy and Mummy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>0930pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Good Night Amabel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Is your Sleeping Time</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1100pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Drink Formula milk (180mL)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>▫ Continue back to sleep till next day morning. ZZzzzzzz?</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">E-Ling!</font></font>, WOW! Amabel can tank up to 840ml of Milk per 24 hours ahh? cant tell she has such good appetite!

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, as I said lil Enzo ma chiam Chubby lilttle Keanu Reeves in Matrix..

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, are u sure u don use lip liner on Enzo?? how come his lips more shapely than Arianne's?!?!?!?

Brenda,

we starting to drag the feed to 3.5 hrs instead of 3 hrs and i obvious it for afew day. She can drink more when drag to 3.5hrs leh.Like yesterday she drink 125ml+200ml+200ml+160ml+160ml and also brown rice. So total intake for yesterday = 845ml

OK WARNING, this message was meant to be posted this morning but MY STUPID internet connection cannot make it. Thank God i cut n pasted the message first...

brenda
woman! you no need to sleep one is it? After talking to you gals last nite, i konked out man! James wasn't home, was ICT. So i decided to sleep w sophie in her room! Heh, but of course she had no clue lah coz she was already sleeping... haha...

GOOD SATURDAY MORNING EVERYBODY!!!!!!!!!!!! (bet all of you are happily enjoying your babies this morning.....)

selina
welcome back! oh caleb on 2-3 tbs already. That's great!
Yah i just started sophie and she so small sized so go slowly lor, no rush anyway... haha... now more importantly is to let her taste all the yummy different food... that's what i do every 3 days, i change food so that she will get a taste of diff veggies n fruit n i can suss out allegies. Hopefully she won't be fussy about food like me next time... So morning try new food, evening normal cereal.

BUT HOR THE POO POO VERY SMELLY!

<font color="ffff00"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, gosh! Amabel is amazing!! No wonder u were saying she has strong legs! and from the winning pic, I can see her right eye double lid now! heehee..

doreen
you really super power mum, carry damien n take bus!

selina
That's so good! NOw you can plan your holidays for the year already!!!!!

phoebe
er..... one box i think can last quite long, don't think i wanna get another one. And i wanna move onto other things like oat etc... N my friend going to pass me hers too. Her advise is don't stock up too much coz babies will move onto other stuff n eat real food very fast.

edksd
apparently nestle cereal is sweet n heinz is no suger added. i didn't buy the organic one. if you want organic rice cereal, get Healthy Times. But it's super ex, abt $6-7. i only paid 2 sth for heinz. I think agar agar one box can last about a mth or so. But anyway after you open, you need to discard after 28 days, SO...... there you go!

Brenda,
Yah she definitely strong, all of us buay tahan her when carrying her... she use alot of body strenght and perspiring alot. She dun like to sit at all, she used her legs alot. Infact she like to stand and jump (which i normally will control her) alot.

e-ling
Wow! Amabel can eat so much! That means she really got your genes man! I'm also marvelling at sophie this morning. I gave her 60mls FM (Coz i'm trying to get her to switch to bottle!!!), Latch on FULLY (So i donno how much), then 2.5tbs of pumpkin! All one after another....

helo mommies, i just started Jovann on HT brown rice cereal. got a hard time trying to get him to take it. i initially followed the advice to feed him 1/2 hour before he is supposed to be hungry, but

1st try, reunion dinner - he appears to take 2 spoonfuls, then suddenly spit everything out with a disgusteed look on his face
2nd time - took 1 baby spoon full then the rest just refuse to swallow
3rd time - took 2-3baby spoons, the rest just come out of his mouth again
4th time (today). This time fed him only when he is super hungry and crying for milk. He took the ENTIRE amount of cereal hahahaha! finally man. used one tbps of cereal to about 20ml of EBM. so happy now.
seems like diff method works for diff babies!

yeah, going to continue with one tbps for 2 more days, then increase to 2 tbps, then on his 6th mth birthday, going to introduce either spinach or carrots or sweet potato....what do u think mommies? which one shld i introduce first? is avocado taste good with cereal? haahhaa. looking fwd!

<font color="0000ff">emma</font>, enzo is SO CUTE!!! hahahhah! stylo milo leh. see ya tmlw morning yar?

<font color="ff6000">Eh mommies</font>, anyone going to the taka baby fair this afternoon? I may be going alone, coz tmlw whole day out so hubby wants to stay home to do the housework, with jovann. me going alone prob around 4pm? anyone going? sms me yar? hehehee...

<font color="ff0000">edksd</font>. not sure how long can a pack last but the healthy times one said to discard 30days after opening wor. at the rate i am going, i dun think i can finish the pack within 30days coz i opened it on CNY eve and its only jovann's 4th try at it. so for me will be kinda wasted. but i think if ur baby is big oredi, eating about 3tbsp of cereal every bf and lunch, then maybe can finish within 30days. but by then most of them shld be on porridge oredi hor?

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Eling..</font></font> envious.. i wonder when enzo's double eyelids will appear.. if at all..

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Brenda da Bigger B..</font></font> use peg ah.. muz relli give u credit for u ingenious ideas...*applauds*..
enzo and reeves.. <font size="+1">if only!!!</font> lol.. definately no lip liner.. maybe juz some lip gloss from mommy from when i kissed him.. muahahaaaaa...

<font color="0000ff">ling</font> so during that 3days u dun feed her anything except her cereals? i was wondering how to keep to the 3-4 days wait rule? i just let caleb tried apple puree the other day n he loves it. i give him new fruits or veg as desserts mostly in evening cos morning i no time to prepare.

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">DaisyButtons..</font></font> yes yes!!! will see u tmr.. at abt 10ish ya??? maybe closer to 11 if u dun mind.. keke... scared i cant get enzo ready to go out mah..

daisybuttons
YAH! i think just trial n error n have fun while doing it..... coz norm when baby spit out it's not coz they don't like it but coz they are not used to using a spoon. So just scoop it back, after a few spoonfuls they'll get it. Even for sophie, today is day 6, still she will spit out, but after a few spoonfuls, she'll remember how to do it and then happy happy eat.

Wrt which to intro first.... i'm following Gina Ford's The Contented Little Baby Book of Weaning. So i started w rice cereal n then carrots... always intro new foods in the morning and try it for at least 3 days to suss out allegies.

selina
yah for first 3 days, yah just cereal. Haha i very by the book one, heh just follow as the book says. But really i think it's quite flexible one lah.

I'm just a bit more careful coz sophie has eczema n i need to wait to see if she has a reaction to the food. In the morning is coz if anything happens, can go doc in the day i guess. But shd be ok. Just do it the way you're comfortable w, that's the best way, really...

ling
so wait after the 3rd day then give new food? so during that 3 days cannot give even the first new food intro? say i let him try apple today. so must wait till tues than i give him say pear? and during these 3 days best not to give apple? i really blur on this.

selina
ok from the book, generally is like that

Day 1-3
morning - intro cereal

Day 4-6
morning - intro pear
evening - cereal (increase intake if you want)

Day 7-9
morning - intro carrots
evening - cereal + pear

Day 10-12
morning - intro apple
evening - cereal

Day 13-15
morning - intro sweet potato
evening - cereal + pear/apple

Day 16-18
morning - sweet potato/cereal + some veg
evening - cereal + apple/pear

general rule is that once you intro e.g apple to him already and he's ok w it, then you can feed him that anytime you want. But i think best not to do pear n apple on same day coz they are both fruits. Wait lao sia... heh...

hi selina, the rule of thumb is to introduce one new food at a time, and stick to only that food for 3 days.
then u can see if he has allergy u know which food is the culprit. so say u intro cereal purely, then feed purely cereal for 3 days, increasing the amt over 1 week. then u sadd carrots for example, and u feed ONLY cereal and carrots for 3 days. THEN u decide if u wanna change the carrots to spinach. if u do, then ONLY cereal and spinach for 3 days and so on.

Ling, yah so fun! i follow my PD's recc, about the same guidelines too!
i think i may start either spinach or sweet potato. hehehe so fun! i enjoy baby feeding!

daisybuttons
heh you got so many smiley faces, weekend very happy hor? Heh... Jovann sleeping huh?

Btw, did your PD say how to notice if baby's got allegy? Coz sophie norm already has eczema so if she's got allegy does it mean that it'll get worse? But it might also be heat rash. Can be a bit confusing for me....

yep yep jovann napping just now nd now just woke up! hehehee.

no lehh he din say, but i think will be whole body red right? if its just heat rash will be concentrated?

ling, heard high protein foods r high allergy. e.g. fish, meat, eggs etc. so some say if baby oredi sensitive skin, add such foods after 1 yr or so.

<font size="+1">brenda</font>
I was living in London between 2001 and 2003. Hb's Londoner. London certainly has its charms and a breathtaking and exciting city for adults but pity it is going down the dumps. We don't like Bristol and Manchester though. Just not our cup of tea.

there is a montage on sitting babies rite? Er, R's pose is cheating one but i find it so cute. <font color="0000ff">Can anyone photoshop my hubby's hands & head away?</font>

719289.jpg

719290.jpg

emma
thks... i wanna go there leh... but am leaving for work shortly... dun think can go tdy liao... Daisybuttons told me the fair is till 26 mar?

ya.. taka fairs usually lasts quite long... me juz looking forward to the isetan pte sales.. hehe.. so not buying too much this time.. keke..

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>, food rash is usually patchy, bright red and itchy and they are located usually around the folds, like neck eg.. For eczema, dry peeling off skin is the main clue so I guess that's how you can tell the difference..

Oh Nestle Cereal got sugar added ahh? aiya I didnt realise and just bought it!

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">DomesticGoddess</font></font>, thats why there are so many different types of tea! Earl grey, darjeeling, orange pekeo heehee..

Did u see my post up there about the custard thing? Any comments?

Hi Phoebe

Re BP for Heinz baby food, where does one self collect? If there is a demand for the organic Vanilla custard, I will be happy to participate, assuming self-collection location is not too out of place. Thanks!

Brenda/ Ling
Dun envy me lah. I think I am more auntie than u all leh.....hahahaha
D takes the bus n mrt almost everyday leh.
Cos last time only aunties bring bb out mah. Taitais then can leave the bb at home with nanny or maid......kekekeke

The van is must buy one so I might as well use it right??.....hehe

Eling
Not I dun want to take cab leh. I dun even know where's the taxi stand. Wahahahahaha.
Told u all I HV idiot liao. Be glad that I can find the bus stop else I would have to sit there n wait till hubby come n pick us home....hahaha

Just came back from NTUC and would like to share this with you all...

Heinz is selling the following cereals @ $2.20 per box.
1. Rice Cereal 125g - 4M
2. High Protein Cereal 125g - 6M
3. Mixed Cereal with Banana 125g - 6M

Usual price is $2.79.

Hi mommies!

I am a Sept 2006 mommy too! This is such a wonderful thread...am kicking myself for not knowing about this earlier. Wished I had known and joined ages ago seeing that it started early in our pregnancies...

Since I'm such a 'late bloomer', hope the mommies here don't mind me hitching on the exciting ride you're all on right now