(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

blessed..i used to drive my gor gor's volvo... i call it the flying brick.. haha... cos its heavy.. but its damn fast with its twin turbo engine.. woo hoo!!!

i remembered i read the BBDC handbook. the test centre can stop a pregnant lady from taking exam if they deem to be 'dangerous' for the pregnant lady. (esp. if you are heavily pregnant)

coz after all, you do not have a license yet, thus driving is still considered 'dangerous'

but when you are in the early stage or when your tummy small, no1 knows

ling
i noe muz take care of the wrist coz we carry our baby mah... but he wants to me to dance and latch leh, no choice.
and i think my waist oso sng sng liao. i lie down to BF for nite feeds mah. mayb coz position weird, i feel uncomfy leh. thinking to buyt the waist tonic to bu leh, dunno effective anot.
yah lor, aft reading some babies teethed so early, i checked on R's one wif a torchlight in the middle of the nite the other day aft reading one posting the other day and found nothing!
best thing tdy i realised my R got so used to being carried since he has spent quite a few days at home due to CNY as my MIL, FIL & SIL taking their turns to carry him. i was so mad this morning when i realised he wants to b carried (as everyone is out)...
so when my ILs came back, i told them and my MIL got my meaning to not carry him so often. he gg back to my mum's plc tonite liao. my mum will suffer if R is like tt, coz she taking care of my niece oso leh. and there is no one in the hse to help... worse if R kept wanting to b carried! luckily i made a wise decision not to take the whole stretch of 3rd mth ML at 1 shot, else i think R will b super spoilt by the end of this!

blessedmommy
yah super retro. i rem once the exhaust pipe drop out halfway, we had to tie the exhaust pipe back!!! super funny. ok.. not so funny when it happened. nice i like the new mini too. esp the red one n cream one. yummy!

phoebe
i just put in my order for a bumbo too. finally decided to get one for sophie. btw, when will it arrive?

JRT
wah ur milkicinno is so famous i cant wait to see how u dance n latch leh. u mean u REALLY dance?? at times when im doing 1001 things at the same time while latching jo i will be carrying her ard but no dance moves like urs! lol

dumpty

You are rite, my baby have 2 front teeth already, very obivious now. Peachie saw it the other day. I will try to upload a pic to show you all.

ling
that was so hilarious!!! how much did u buy it for? hey come to think of it, ur hubby got a retro look leh. eh u like classic items eh?? haha....

btw, mine is the red one, with white stripes running parallel on the bonnet.

blessedmommy
wah you super... can carry jo around while latching on! wah i can't do that... and sophie is so light. she moves too much when nursing to carry her around man and she'll be so distracted. hmmm... maybe i shd try that see how she reacts...

blessedmommy
got it off a friend for abt 5k i think but that was years ago. shared it w my ex. But yah my hubby n i love vintage/old sch stuff. LOVE. i'm a very 1930s kinda gal. OH I SAW THAT RED ONE RECENTLY! YUMMY! I'd cry if i were you too if i had to give that up!!!!!!!

blessedmommy
no lar. didnt break law

tat time still not heavily pregnant. was only hoping to pass so that i wouldnt have to re-test after delivery. heng heng lor.

ling, saw your order liao.
seems like purple a very popular color ler.

ling
at times i gotta coach kids in their work, or nag at them or firefight their arguments so where i go she follows lah. maybe she develop this weird habit of moving while feeding, now she looves to feed in the car!

ling
so ur hse also v vintage then? hmm.. am trying to imagine now! i agree with u vintage stuffs r nice. u collect them?

hv no choice but to give up tt car cos we need to get an MPV since hubby's car cant accmodate so many of us as well. if i hv a choice next time i will buy it again!!

phoebe
wah u so super. passed at first try!

hmm.. seem like im so free today hor??? keep replying to posts!!

Hi Yuna,

You are here!!! hehe.... Haiz, the current car is a manual gear one and it's so small... So hubby always sigh when we are caught in the infamous CTE jam (which is everyday).... Staying at SengKang can be quite a pain hor? But I like the surroundings, so dun plan to move.

We didn't really plan to change cars, since the current one was only purchased in March 06. Was on half day leave with hubby on Friday, and we got nowhere to go. So we decided to go car showroom to look look... and who knows the "look look" made us $50K poorer within 30mins! Man, unbelievable. Nissan was the FIRST car showroom we went to, and Latio was the FIRST car we saw (since it was parked near the entrance). We didn't even compare it with anything else , or test drive any other car. We just saw the price, got into the car, went for a test drive with the salesman, and we signed on the dotted line. After we left Nissan, I was speechless for a while... Patience is not my greatest virtue....

How's your new year? Tiring or not? I was dog tired!!! Wah biang, I just lay down flat on the bed after we got back from the visiting on Sat and could not move!!!

By the way, my Maclaren stroller broke down leh.... Haiz... Bought it for 3 months only, and I hardly used it. The recline mechanism broke down! To think my friends' Maclarens lasted for 5 years and still counting. Mine is really a lemon.
You know where got stroller repair service or not? Otherwise the stroller will become practically useless.... Getting Clarence to sit in his stroller is tough enough.... getting him to lie down flat and not be able to sit up is impossible... unless he is asleep...
Do you have the same problem with Clarice?

hi 77, i cannot understand why so many pple can stand the cte jam. and the erp just doesnt wrk.

sometimes i travel ard 4pm and it jammed already. alamak.

my in law stay in bishan. i told hb if next time we were to stay together w his parents, pls dun choose anywhere along the cte.

i stay in town, so im used to jam-free travel.

Edksd,

Haiz, tell me about it..... The CTE jam is really bad, and the drivers are worse. Our current car is a Getz (which is small), and there are cars who literally cut into our lane and share the lane (ie 2 cars travelling together in the same lane)!!! My hubby always slow down and let them go first. And there are so many tail-gating specialists who flash and horn at you to go faster!!!
The ERP is simply not working... We pay $6 in ERP and CBD everyday but the jam is still darned bad...

That's why a car seat is very important.... One knock on our car and Clarence could be flying!!! Very scary....

Hi Peachie...

Tat day both out hubbies took the same lift down to move the cars to the carpark and your hubby was complaining that he was very tired, driving to n fro from bukit merah n SK everyday and caught in the jam at the CTE everyday. My hubby said he really pity him :p it is no joke to get stuck in jam EVERYDAY.

My new year is great! Everyday went out from 9-10 plus in the morning and came back ard evening time, quite tiring but i have fun. Clarice is enjoying herself a lot too. She been a good girl for the last few days, din cried at people's house and was playing and laughing with everyone, so glad abt it.

I have the same problem as you when come to putting her in stroller. Can't put her in reclined mode now, she always want to sit upright and KPO around. We have changed the car seat too, now is front facing and had passed the infant car seat to my hubby's fren whose wife is due in Apr.

jRt,
Can u sling R when nursing? maybe can help relieve your wrist abit?

Talking about carseats, my hubby also dun want to bring the car seat/carrier down whenever we go out. So I usually hv to carry G and sit behind and hold him tight tight. During CNY, we went to fetch my MIL, she always so keen to carry G that she told me she want to carry him and sit in front! Wah piangz.... I pretend I never hear and pretend to be trying hard to make G sleep... Hahaha... then she say "Oh baby sleeping ah? I thot want him to sit in front with me"

Actually I was utterly shocked with my MIL during the reunion dinner. She tried to feed G with rice plucked from her plate! And also soup from the steamboat! I almost fainted and luckily G pushed out the rice and soup. Else I'm gonna snatch back my baby and never let her touch him again.
Any of your MIL do that to your babies? Sigh... ...

hi 77, whereabt in bt merah ur in law or ur parent staying?

dumpty, u can explain to her tt bb cannot sit at the front coz of the airbag, think they'll understand.

my mom oso always try to let kai 'taste' food. she says next time he wont be choosy. sigh. i told her if u let him try too early, next time he wont be choosy coz he wont be able to eat it coz he'll hv allergy to it

edksd,
Actually I give up trying to explain to my MIL. She's real stubborn and will choose to forget what she doesn't want to hear. For example I requested her not to always carry G on several occasions. But she totally bo chap me. Even during the reunion dinner, I asked my hubby to bring the stroller up so that G can sit in there while we have the dinner. He say no because his mother wants to carry G! *wave white flag*

Dumpty
my MIL nv do tat...She will onli bring Jayden in front of us while we are eating... everytime have to chase him away... But, i am the naughty one lor.. gave him drank a bit of kopi-o & milo which i know is not allowed to lor... But he seems to enjoy them... Haha... But got scolded by my mum lor... saying that if you let him drink those, next time he dun wan drink milk den c how i cry...

dumpty,

Yes, i miss the toothless smile but now she is very cutie too, always flash out her 2 front teeth when she smile and laugh.

how many teeth did G have now?

June,
U ah.... I'm speechless ler... Actually is not that they'll like the sweet stuff and reject milk. But rather that their kidney still not ready to take in those processed/saltish food yet. So better dun be so naughty again lah

Yuna,
Gabriel has 2 lower teeth. Same as Clarice? Upload the pic quick leh. I'm so keen to see

Dumpty
Haha... Me not the worse.. my dad actually wanna feed Jayden with beer.. But strongly stopped by my mum... haha.... Jayden no teeth yet... still bo gei...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Gong Xi Gong Xi!!</font></font>

jrt,

dancing will get more xiong as R gets bigger.. i read up on baby whisperer before CNY, vowing to let my girl not get used to rocking and sleep by herself on the bed WITHOUT MY BREAST, WITHOUT ROCKING AND SLEEP THROUGH THE NIGHT. I carried out the suggestions with modifications to my own timing.. then, guess what? it worked! Took me only 3 nights!

And after that, Jadelle was on a routine of eat, play, sleep for min 1 hr every 4 hrs! only thing is, i haven't eradicate the night feeding..

Yuna,

Yep, he's been complaining that he is very tired, and I feel sorry for him too! Driving everyday like this is no joke. We get out of SK early every day, but we come home darned late. Not only we are tired, little Clarence is tired as well... haiz... But the flats near my mom's place are old and expensive and cluttered. So we agreed to stick with our current home (although we moved in for 5.5 years by now and can sell). To buy a new place will cost us at least $70K in cash (agent fees on both sides which is about $10K, top up from valuation price since no one in town is willing to sell their flat at valuation which is $15-20K, simple renovation plus furnishing to an old flat which is $40K). Given the money is better spent elsewhere and Anchorvale environment is more conducive to bring up a kid, we decided to stay put.
So we shall be neighbours for a LOOONG time to come and the 2 baby Cs can grow up together! Hehe....

Good to hear Clarice behaved so well during the CNY.
Clarence was fine, except he wants to be carried all the time, so my arms ALMOST broke.

So you changed the car seat already! Wow! Little Clarice has graduated to a front facing one!
Good for her! Does she have any problems changing to a new seat? What brand you got?

Dumpty,

You should see Brenda's earlier posting about car seats! Holding him tight tight no use leh... better get a car seat hor.
Tell your MIL that lah.... Old folks sometimes can be quite stubborn.

Edksd,

My mom looks after Clarence during my office hours, and she stays at the 3 point blocks beside Spring Singapore (at Bt Merah Central). Your mom stay near Bt Merah too?

wow mummies, so many posting liaoz. no time to go thru all.

congrats to mummies who have successfully endured bfg for 6mths. so envy. me not blessed to do that leh. so sad. but i try my best to give watever ss i can squeeze out from my boobs. now only manage 2 feeds a day. pathetic.

crystallized
he milk shake pix so funnie. forgot what i wanna tell u liaoz.

diana
briefly saw your posting on signs to start solids. caleb seems to have most of the signs but when i gave him rice cereals, he will always try to blow them out until super messy lor. not sure if it is right timing yet.

jasmine
That's cool! Sophie has been on baby whisperer method since she's born. Good right?
But hor, she's a super light sleeper so i have trouble w her nap times. SHe'll sleep for an hour n then wake up crying before sleeping more. Does Jadelle cry when she wakes up after her 1 hr nap? Or does she wake up happy? Sophie only wakes up happy in the morning leh.

Btw, don't worry, once Jadelle gets the hang of it, she'll be off the night feed in no time. Sophie's slowly sleeping later n later in the morning already. She's been off her night feeds since 3.5mths. But because she's a light sleeper sometimes still gets up to make noise. Norm i give her pacifier n she goes back to sleep.

selina
so cute! blow away the food?
When i saw that i was laughing, sophie also laugh w me. Heh... i give sophie water w the spoon she also spits everything out leh... heh... wanted to give her cereal on CNY eve but ended up didn't.

Yuna,

By the way forgot to ask you how long it took Clarice to teethe har? Clarence has been having false alarms for so long that I am sian liao. There are 2 white buds at the middle portion of his inner gums on the lower jaw, but the teeth never erupt! This is fine, but he gets cranky pretty frequently these days and keeps chewing on everything and whine in pain. I also dunno why.... Is he teething, or is he in pain elsewhere? Haiz... So now he is still "bo gei"!

Little Clarice is sooo cute with her 2 front teeth! Hehe... You should post a pic of her here leh!!! She is really really very cute!

By the way, has anyone removed the musical mobile (which hangs above the crib) yet? The Tiny Love one which I got mentioned 0-5 months on the box, so really dunno if I should remove them soon...

Ling and Jasmine,
Care to share the baby whispere method? I'm in dire need for that leh. Gabriel dun really want to sleep. Everytime I make him sleep he'll wail like I just gave him a beating... Sigh... ...

Emma,
Sms u alrdy!

dumpty,
actually your MIL not so bad. Mine actually gave my gal preserved mangoes to lick! I was so shocked when she told me.

Teething.
I first noticed Trinity's budding tooth about a month back, but its still just a tiny white spot on her gums. You mean to say that your babies have an actual tooth already?

Experienced mummies,
how do you decide when to replace milk feed with cereal only? I started to give T cereal for lunch, but she still has her full milk feed right after. Actually, once she finishes her 1 - 2 oz of cereal + carrot, she will 'ask' for her milk. Should I increase the amount of cereal I give her? What is a right amount to feed now?

I think shd remove leh... but i also haven't removed. Lazy. Coz i saw sophie pull the whole thing towards herself! She wants to bite the toy! Now that you mention, i better go remove it. But she likes it leh... oh wells. SAFTY FIRST.

Oh yah... has anyone moved the cot one notch downwards? I'm thinking of doing that coz sophie keeps kicking her feet over the cot. So afraid she'll master strength to flip over the cot! ARGH...

June

oh better stop it !

kopi and beer is bad for their brain development ... so stop it right away !! u can be adventurous by introducing fruit juice for eg.

Angeline

i also dunno cos on weekend when I feed Rachel cereal, she dont seem full. Then like half an hour later, she can still drink milk ! so I may incr her cereal. Last Sat, I added FM powder to the cereal so she will be full. Seems ok.

Teething
tiny white spot on gums means teething?!?! Sophie has one small small one... i thot it was a pimple! It's still there! So many days alread.y Hmmmm... but i can't feel if it's a tooth leh.... Never mind going for 5th mth check up soon, will ask PD... blur mummy me.

dumpty
I'm not an expert at it, just trial n error. But you can get the book at any book store, like borders/kino. In summary the book suggests to put baby on an EASY schedule - Eat, Activity, Sleep, You (mummy time). It teaches you how to recognise when baby is sleepy and how to put baby to sleep. You can check out the book on Amazon and see the reviews...

http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Baby-Whisperer-Connect-Communicate/dp/0345479092/sr=8-1/qid=1172132749/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/104-2003713-1620726?ie=UTF8&s=books

dumpty
oh... forgot to mention, sophie also cries before she sleeps. It's ok lah... just 2-5 mins... will seem quite long at first BUT now she only cries a bit and she's asleep. How long does Gabriel cry for? maybe he's like sophie, always fighting sleep...

Ling
The tiny white spot on sophie's gum, is it at the side of the gum ? It could be Epithelial pearls, quite common for new born babies. My Jac got one.

Selina
How old is your bb? Maybe he is not very ready. Can try a few days later?

ilovebabies
I nv give beer... i gave kopi onli once den stop... coz i scared he dun wan his milk, onli wan kopi... Plus, when i drink kopi, he is sleeping or at home.... So.. can totally forget le lor... haiz...

Stupid me..got my head hit against the shelves... now giddy giddy..

Diana
what pearls?!!?? oh dear.. is that bad? It's on top of the gum, bottom gum on the right side. I better go check what kind of pearls sophie has... heh heh...